DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cain US 2020/0409195 in view of Yamaguchi US 2014/0028924.
Regarding claim 1, Cain teaches teaches an adjustable lens, comprising: first and second stacked liquid crystal cells (see fig. 1) wherein the first liquid crystal cell comprises first liquid crystal material (nematic LC material 6) and first electrodes (electrical circuitry 4, 8 concentric conductors 14a-14f see fig. 12) that adjust a phase profile of the first liquid crystal material and wherein the second liquid crystal cell comprises second liquid crystal material (nematic LC material 6) and second electrodes (electrical circuitry 4, 8 concentric conductors 14a-14f see fig. 12) that adjust a phase profile of the second liquid crystal material; a conductive material (conductive links 10a, 10b) interposed between the first liquid crystal cell and the second liquid crystal cell, wherein the conductive material conveys electrical signals between the first liquid crystal cell and the second liquid crystal cell. Cain teaches does not teach a printed circuit coupled to the first liquid crystal cell but does teach driver circuitry (fig. 14-15 driver chip 104) connected to the first cell. Yamaguchi teaches a printed circuit coupled (fig. 20 FPC 310) to first liquid crystal cell to provide power to the cells. Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cain in view of Yamaguchi to provide power to the liquid crystal cells.
Regarding claim 2, Cain in in view of Yamaguchi teach the adjustable lens defined in claim 1 but does not explicitly teach the conductive material is selected from the group consisting of: conductive epoxy, anisotropic adhesive, metal, and solder. However conductive via (holes [0045]-[0046]) are commonly filed with silver epoxy and examiner takes official notice of this for forming electrical connection through vias. Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cain to form electrical connection through vias.
Regarding claim 3, Cain in view of Yamaguchi teach the adjustable lens defined in claim 1 Cain further teaches wherein the first liquid crystal cell comprises first (fig 5 plastic support film 2a) and second substrates (plastic support film 2b) and the second liquid crystal cell comprises third (plastic support film 2a)and fourth substrates (plastic support film 2b).
Regarding claim 4, Cain in view of Yamaguchi teach the adjustable lens defined in claim 3, Cain in view of Yamaguchi teach wherein the printed circuit is coupled to the first substrate (see claim 1 rejection above), Cain further teaches wherein the second substrate comprises first through-substrate-vias (filled with conductvia links 10a, 10b), and wherein the third substrate comprises second through-substrate-vias (filled with conductive links 10a, 10b).
Claim(s) 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cain US 2020/0409195 in view of Yamaguchi US 2014/0028924 and further in view of Lee US 2011/0194062.
Regarding claim 5, Cain in view of Yamaguchi teach the adjustable lens defined in claim 4, Cain does not explicitly teach wherein the first liquid crystal cell comprises first sealant around the first liquid crystal material and the second liquid crystal cell comprises second sealant around the second liquid crystal material, wherein the first sealant comprises first conductive beads electrically coupled to the first through-substrate-vias, and wherein the second sealant comprises second conductive beads electrically coupled to the second through-substrate-vias.
Lee teaches a sealant (fig. 2 seal 180) with conductive bead (conductive ball 180) for forming a seal around the liquid crystal while providing a conductive path between the substrates. Since Cain already discloses a conductive link (12a, 12b) providing a conductive path between the substrates at this position it would have been obvious to substitute the seal and conductive bead of Lee in place of the conductive link of Cain. This would meet the limitation of the first liquid crystal cell comprises first sealant around the first liquid crystal material and the second liquid crystal cell comprises second sealant around the second liquid crystal material, wherein the first sealant comprises first conductive beads electrically coupled to the first through-substrate-vias, and wherein the second sealant comprises second conductive beads electrically coupled to the second through-substrate-vias when substituted for the corresponding conductive links 12a and 12b of Cain. Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cain in view of Lee to form a seal that also provides a conductive path between the substrates.
Regarding 6, Cain further teaches wherein the conductive material is electrically coupled between the first through-substrate-vias (filled with conductive links 10a and 10b) and the second through-substrate-vias (filled with conductive links 10a and 10b).
Regarding claim 7, Cain further teaches the first conductive beads can be electrically insulated from one another and the second conductive beads are electrically insulated from one another to form independent intra-cell connections in each of the first and second liquid crystal cells (see fig 14).
Regarding claim 8, Cain does not explicitly teach the conductive material comprises anisotropic conductive adhesive with groups of conductive particles that are electrically insulated from one another to form independent inter-cell connections between the first and second liquid crystal cells. However conductive adhesive conductive adhesive with groups of conductive particles are commonly used to form electrical connections in vias (see fig. 1 10a 10b) and examiner takes official notice of this. The concept of electrically insulated from one another to form independent inter-cell connections between the first and second liquid crystal cells is also taught by Cain (see fig. 14).
Regarding claim 9, Cain further teaches the conductive material comprises via-to-via bonds that are electrically insulated from one another to form independent inter-cell connections between the first and second liquid crystal cells (see fig. 1 and 14).
Claim(s) 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cain US 2020/0409195 in view of Yamaguchi US 2014/0028924 and further in view of Gill US 11086143
Regarding claim 10, Cain in view of Yamaguchi teaches the adjustable lens defined in claim 1, Cain does not explicitly teach teaches a third liquid crystal cell interposed between the first and second liquid crystal cells, wherein the first liquid crystal cell comprises first and second substrates, wherein the third liquid crystal cell comprises a third substrate and third liquid crystal material, wherein the first liquid crystal material is sandwiched between the first and second substrates, and wherein the third liquid crystal material is sandwiched between the second and third substrates. However Gill teaches a third liquid crystal cell (fig. 8 40 center) wherein the first liquid crystal cell comprises first and second substrates (each cell 40 has substrates 32 and 30 see fig. 2), wherein the third liquid crystal cell comprises a third substrate and third liquid crystal material (each cell 40 has substrates 32 and 30 see fig. 2), wherein the first liquid crystal material (each cell has liquid crystal layer 34) is sandwiched between the first and second substrates, and wherein the third liquid crystal (liquid crystal layer 34) material is sandwiched between the second and third substrates for providing more complex phase profiles. Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cain and Yamaguchi in view of Gill to provide more complex phase profiles.
Regarding claim 11, Gill further teaches some of the first electrodes are located on a first surface of the second substrate and wherein the third liquid crystal cell comprises third electrodes on an opposing second surface of the second substrate (see fig. 2 and 3).
Regarding claim 12, Cain in Yamaguchi and further in view of Gill would teach second substrate has first through-substrate-vias, the third substrate has second through-substrate-vias, and the conductive material forms respective via-to-via connections between the first through-substrate-vias and the second through-substrate-vias as Cain provides a basis for routing through multiple substrates (see fig. 14).
Claim(s) 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cain US 2020/0409195 in view of Yamaguchi US 2014/0028924 in view of Gill US 11086143 and further in view of Lee US 2011/0194062.
Regarding claim 13, Cain, Yamaguchi and Gill teach the adjustable lens defined in claim 11. Cain further teaches in the second substrate has first through-substrate-vias. Cain does not teach the third substrate has second through-substrate-vias, and the third liquid crystal material is surrounded by a sealant, and wherein the conductive material comprises conductive beads in the sealant that form respective via-to-via connections between the first through-substrate-vias and the second through-substrate-vias. Lee teaches a sealant (fig. 2 seal 180) with conductive bead (conductive ball 180) for forming a seal around the liquid crystal while providing a conductive path between the substrates. Since Cain already discloses a conductive link (12a, 12b) providing a conductive path between the substrates at this position it would have been obvious to substitute the seal and conductive bead of Lee in place of the conductive link of Cain. This would render obvious the third substrate has second through-substrate-vias, and the third liquid crystal material is surrounded by a sealant, and wherein the conductive material comprises conductive beads in the sealant that form respective via-to-via connections between the first through-substrate-vias and the second through-substrate-vias. Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cain in view of Lee to form a seal that also provides a conductive path between the substrates.
Regarding claim 14, Cain teaches an adjustable lens, comprising: first and second substrates (fig. 5 plastic support film 2a 2b); liquid crystal material (liquid crystal material 6) sandwiched between the first and second substrates; first and second arrays of electrodes (concentric conductors 14a-14f) configured to adjust a phase profile of the liquid crystal material; and sealant that surrounds the liquid crystal material. Cain also teaches multiple independent signal paths through which signals are conveyed between the first and second substrates (see fig. 14) and a conductive link 12a and 12b in a layer where the seal would appear. Cain does not teach wherein the sealant comprises conductive beads that are electrically insulated from one another to for multiple independent signal paths through which signals are conveyed between the first and second substrates. However Lee teaches forming a seal (fig. 2 180) with conductive bead (conductive ball 185) for sealing a q liquid crystal layer while providing a conductive link between first and second substrate. Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cain in view of Lee to form a seal that also provides a multiple isolated conductive path between the substrates.
Regarding claim 15, Cain teaches further teaches the adjustable lens defined in claim 14 further comprising through-substrate-vias (fig. 5 conductive links 10a and 10b) in the second substrate ((plastic support film 2b) that are electrically coupled to the conductive beads.
Regarding claim 16, Cain further teaches third and fourth substrates (fig. 5 plastic support films 2a 2b bottom) stacked with the first and second substrates; additional liquid crystal material (liquid crystal 6 bottom) sandwiched between the third and fourth substrates; third and fourth arrays (concentric electrodes 14a-14f) of electrodes configured to adjust a phase profile of the additional liquid crystal material; a conductive material (conductive links 10a, 10b) interposed between the second and third substrates; and additional through-substrate-vias in the third substrate that are electrically coupled to the through-substrate-vias through the conductive material.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cain US 20200409195.
Regarding claim 17, Cain teaches a stack of liquid crystal cells including first and second liquid crystal cells (see fig. 5); a printed circuit (driver chip 104 see fig. 14) coupled to the first liquid crystal cell; and interconnections (fig. 14 conductive connections 108 or conductive links 10a, 10b) that pass vertically through the stack of liquid crystal cells and that form multiple independent signal paths (see fig. 14) between the printed circuit, the first liquid crystal cell, and the second liquid crystal cell. Cain does not explicitly teach eyeglasses, comprising: a supporting frame; and left and right adjustable lenses mounted to the supporting frame, wherein each of the left and right adjustable lenses. However Cain does teach these are suited to compensate for astigmatism in the human eye [0056]. Therefore eyeglasses, comprising: a supporting frame; and left and right adjustable lenses mounted to the supporting frame, wherein each of the left and right adjustable lenses would be obvious as astigmatism correction would commonly be corrected through glasses.
Claim(s) 18-20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cain US 2020/0409195 in in view of Lee US 2011/0194062.
Regarding claim 18, Cain does not explicitly teach wherein the interconnections comprise conductive beads in a liquid crystal sealant, through-glass-vias, and a conductive material interposed between the first and second liquid crystal cells. Conductive beads in a liquid crystal sealant, through- vias, and a conductive material interposed between the first and second liquid crystal cells to provide a sealing function that provides a conductive path between the substrates (see fig. 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cain in view of Lee to form a seal that also provides a multiple isolated conductive path between the substrates. The limitation of through glass vias is not explicitly taught as Cain teaches plastic material. However glass is a common substitute as it offers better heat resistance than plastic and can easily be substituted here.
Regarding claim 19, Cain further teaches each of the first and second liquid crystal cells comprises: first and second substrates (see fig. 5); liquid crystal material sandwiched(6) between the first and second substrates; and first and second arrays of electrodes (14 and 14b) respectively located on the first and second substrates and configured to adjust a phase profile of the liquid crystal material.
Regarding claim 20, Cain further teaches wherein the first liquid crystal cell comprises first liquid crystal material (6) sandwiched between first and second substrates (2a and 2b fig. 6), wherein the second liquid crystal cell comprises second liquid crystal material (6) sandwiched between the second substrate and a third substrate (2b and 2b), wherein a electrodes ( 8 and 14a-14f) is located on a first surface of the second substrate and is configured to adjust a phase profile of the first liquid crystal material, and wherein a second array electrodes (4 and 14a-14f) is located on a second surface of the second substrate and is configured to adjust a phase profile of the second liquid crystal material. Cain also does not teach finger electrodes however the shape of the electrodes determines the phase profile adjustment therefore it would have been obvious to modify the shape of the electrodes according to desired phase profile.
Conclusion
/PHU VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871