DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abstreiter et al. (US 2021/0114304 A1).
As to claim 1, Abstrieter teaches an apparatus for finishing a part produced by an additive manufacturing process (abstract), the apparatus comprising: a tank for holding solid media and into which the part can be smoothed to a desired smoothness by abrasion by the solid media (120 in Fig 2); a motor connected to the tank, wherein said motor is operable to impart motion to the tank and agitate the solid media therein (104/118/103 in Fig 2); and a source of colorant connected to the tank for dispensing the colorant to the solid media in the tank as the part is being smoothed. Abstrieter teaches treating the article with a functionalizing agent. This functionalizing agent can include powders/particles (solid media) in paras 0047 and 0148. The functionalizing agent can also include dyes and colorants in paras 0047 and 0146. The fan is connected to a motor that imparts motion to any solid media therein as shown in Figure 2. Abstrieter modifies the materials in its functionalizing agent in order to create different surfaces as desired (para 0146). Therefore, it would have been obvious to use the various functionalizing materials together, such as the particles and colorant, in Abstrieter as Abstrieter teaches the art recognized suitability and utility of such and the selection is based on the desired aesthetic results.
As to claim 2, the colorant composition is claimed. This constitutes an intended use of the apparatus, as it the composition of the colorant has no bearing on the structure of the apparatus. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987).
As to claims 7-8, in addition to what is taught above, the fan as shown will create a liquid vortex with the fan in Figure 2. The functionalizing agents may be in liquid form (abstract, para 0148).
Claim(s) 3-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abstreiter et al. (US 2021/0114304 A1) in view of Gibson (US 2019/0375009).
Asbstreiter teaches the limitations of claims 3-6 as discussed above, including having sources of the functionalizing material above and below the platform with the object (Fig 1) and pumps (8, 112) and recirculating means (8, 104, para 0192- treatment agent is collected and reused). Abstreiter does not specifically teach that the dispensers 8 in Figure 1 are nozzles. Gibson teaches an apparatus for finishing a part produced by an additive manufacturing process (Figs 1,3-5 for example), the apparatus comprising: a chamber in which the part can be smoothed to a desired smoothness by a spray (para 0057, 0091 applied by nozzle 0091) of solid particles from nozzles located above the part (310 in Fig. 3); and a source of colorant connected to the chamber for dispensing the colorant to the part in the chamber (greater than one nozzle in paras 0089-0096, may include depositing an interface layer that includes color in para 0196). Thus, Gibson teaches using nozzles for its functional material. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Abstrieter to include nozzles as taught by Gibson as Gibson teaches the art recognized suitability and utility of such.
Abstrieter teaches combinations of materials, which could broadly include entraining, or mixing them, and Gibson teaches the nozzles. However, using a liquid over a gas media has no bearing on the structure of the apparatus that requires a nozzle. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
KELLY M. GAMBETTA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1718
/KELLY M GAMBETTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718