Double Patenting
Claims 17, 21-28, 30-35 and 38 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 7-13, 15-19 and 21 of U.S. Patent No. 12,199,785. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Instant Application
U.S. Patent No: 12,199,785
17. A computer-implemented method, executed by a meeting substitute system, the method comprising:
obtaining information related to a meeting request
received by a first user account, the information including a date and a time associated with a teleconference meeting;
upon determining that a conflict exists between the teleconference meeting and another teleconference meeting associated with the first user account: automatically
accepting the meeting request using a virtual user account associated with the meeting substitute system;
joining the teleconference meeting at the date and the time; and during the joined teleconference meeting,
the virtual user account being different from the first user account
capturing a set of meeting data for the teleconference meeting, the captured set of meeting data comprising at least one of a video recording and an audio recording of the teleconference meeting and a speech-to-text translation; and
generating a meeting summary based at least in part on the captured set of meeting data for the teleconference meeting.
21. (New) The computer-implemented method of Claim 17, wherein the joining the teleconference meeting comprises:
automatically joining the teleconference meeting at the date and the time and capturing the set of meeting data for the teleconference meeting independent of the first user account.
22. The computer-implemented method of Claim 17, wherein the joining the teleconference meeting comprises:
automatically joining the teleconference meeting at the date and the time and capturing the set of meeting data for the teleconference meeting independent of any user account associated with any user that is an intended recipient of the meeting request.
23. The computer-implemented method of Claim 17, wherein generating the meeting summary comprises:
providing the speech-to-text translation of the teleconference meeting to at least one natural language processing model to generate a text-based meeting summary.
24. The computer-implemented method of Claim 23, wherein generating the meeting summary comprises:
determining a domain associated with the teleconference meeting and selecting the at least one natural language processing model to use for the meeting summary based at least in part on the domain.
25. The computer-implemented method of Claim 24, wherein the at least one natural language processing model is configured to use the speech-to-text translation and the determined domain to output at least one of:
at least one key discussion point of the teleconference meeting; at least one action item for the teleconference meeting; and
at least one answer to at least one question asked during the teleconference meeting.
26. (New) The computer-implemented method of Claim 17, wherein generating the meeting summary further comprises:
autonomously selecting a plurality of video segments from the video recording and generating a video meeting summary comprising the selected plurality of video segments.
27. The computer-implemented method of Claim 26, wherein selecting the plurality of video segments comprises:
using the speech-to-text translation to identify at least one of: at least one key discussion point of the teleconference meeting; at least one action item for the teleconference meeting; and at least one answer to at least one question asked during the teleconference meeting; and selecting the plurality of video segments from the video recording corresponding to the at least one of the at least one key discussion point, the at least one action item and the at least one answer.
28. (New) The computer-implemented method of Claim 17, wherein the meeting summary comprises at least one of:
a meeting minutes document based at least in part on the speech-to-text translation; and a video meeting summary based at least in part on the speech-to-text translation.
30. The computer-implemented method of Claim 29, further comprising: storing, in a relational database associated with the meeting substitute system, the plurality of meeting events, including the information related to the meeting request;
determining whether there are duplicate entries in the relational database for a same teleconference meeting; and
based on the determination, joining the same teleconference meeting once and providing a same set of meeting data to each user account associated with the duplicate entries.
31. The computer-implemented method of Claim 17, further comprising: determining that the teleconference meeting is over; and based on the determination, automatically stopping the capturing of the set of meeting data for the teleconference meeting and initiating the generation of the meeting summary.
32. The computer-implemented method of Claim 31, further comprising: when the teleconference meeting is over, providing, to the first user account associated with the first user, access to at least a subset of the set of meeting data for the teleconference meeting and the generated meeting summary, the first user being an intended recipient of the meeting request.
33. The computer-implemented method of Claim 32, wherein the providing comprises:
sending a meeting notification to the first user account associated with the intended recipient of the meeting request, the meeting notification being associated with the meeting request and the meeting notification providing access information.
34. A meeting substitute system comprising processing circuitry, the processing circuitry configured to cause the meeting substitute system to: obtain information related to a meeting request received by a first user account, the information including a date and a time associated with a teleconference meeting;
upon determining that a conflict exists between the teleconference meeting and another teleconference meeting associated with the first user account:
automatically
accept the meeting request using a virtual user account associated with the meeting substitute system;
the virtual user account being different from the first user account
join the teleconference meeting at the date and the time; and during the joined teleconference meeting,
capture a set of meeting data for the teleconference meeting, the captured set of meeting data comprising at least one of a video recording and an audio recording of the teleconference meeting and a speech-to-text translation; and
generate a meeting summary based at least in part on the captured set of meeting data for the teleconference meeting.
35. (New) The system of Claim 34, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to cause the meeting substitute system to generate the meeting summary by being configured to cause the meeting substitute system to:
autonomously select a plurality of video segments from the video recording and generating a video meeting summary comprising the selected plurality of video segments, by: using speech-to-text translation to identify at least one of:
at least one key discussion point of the teleconference meeting; at least one action item for the teleconference meeting; and at least one answer to at least one question asked during the teleconference
meeting; and selecting the plurality of video segments from the video recording corresponding to the at least one of the at least one key discussion point, the at least one action item and the at least one answer.
38. (New) A non-volatile computer readable storage medium storing a computer program containing computer program code configured to, when executed, cause processing circuitry to perform a method comprising:
obtaining information related to a meeting request received by a first user account, the information including a date and a time associated with a teleconference meeting;
upon determining that a conflict exists between the teleconference meeting and another teleconference meeting associated with the first user account:
automatically
accepting the meeting request using a virtual user account associated with the meeting substitute system;
the virtual user account being different from the first user account
joining the teleconference meeting at the date and the time; and during the joined teleconference meeting, capturing a set of meeting data for the teleconference meeting,
the captured set of meeting data comprising at least one of a video recording and an audio recording of the teleconference meeting and a speech-to-text translation; and
generating a meeting summary based at least in part on the captured set of meeting data for the teleconference meeting.
1. A computer-implemented method, the method comprising:
obtaining, by a meeting substitute system, information related to a meeting request, the information associated with a teleconference meeting and the information including a date and a time for the teleconference meeting,
the meeting request being received by a first user account associated with a first user device;
determining whether a conflict exists between the teleconference meeting and another teleconference meeting;
as a result of a trigger, the trigger being based at least in part on the determination of an existence of a conflict, automatically: accepting, by the meeting substitute system, the meeting request using a virtual user account associated with the meeting substitute system, the virtual user account being different from the first user account; joining, by the meeting substitute system, the teleconference meeting at the date and the time; and during the joined teleconference meeting,
capturing, by the meeting substitute system, a set of meeting data for the teleconference meeting, the captured set of meeting data comprising at least one of a video recording and an audio recording of the teleconference meeting and a speech-to-text translation; and generating, by the meeting substitute system, a meeting summary based at least in part on the captured set of meeting data for the teleconference meeting.
7. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the automatically joining and capturing comprises: automatically joining, by the meeting substitute system, the teleconference meeting at the date and the time and capturing the set of meeting data for the teleconference meeting independent of any user device associated with any user that is an intended recipient of the meeting request.
7. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the automatically joining and capturing comprises: automatically joining, by the meeting substitute system, the teleconference meeting at the date and the time and capturing the set of meeting data for the teleconference meeting independent of any user device associated with any user that is an intended recipient of the meeting request.
8. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein generating the meeting summary comprises: providing the speech-to-text translation of the teleconference meeting to at least one natural language processing model to generate a text-based meeting summary.
9. The computer-implemented method of claim 8, wherein generating the meeting summary comprises: determining a domain associated with the teleconference meeting and selecting the at least one natural language processing model to use for the meeting summary based at least in part on the domain.
10. The computer-implemented method of claim 9, wherein the at least one natural language processing model is configured to use the speech-to-text translation and the determined domain to output at least one of: at least one key discussion point of the teleconference meeting; at least one action item for the teleconference meeting; and at least one answer to at least one question asked during the teleconference meeting.
11. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein generating the meeting summary further comprises: autonomously selecting a plurality of video segments from the video recording and generating a video meeting summary comprising the selected plurality of video segments.
12. The computer-implemented method of claim 11, wherein selecting the plurality of video segments comprises: using the speech-to-text translation to identify at least one of: at least one key discussion point of the teleconference meeting; at least one action item for the teleconference meeting; and at least one answer to at least one question asked during the teleconference meeting; and selecting the plurality of video segments from the video recording corresponding to the at least one of the at least one key discussion point, the at least one action item and the at least one answer.
13. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the meeting summary comprises at least one of: a meeting minutes document based at least in part on the speech-to-text translation; and a video meeting summary based at least in part on the speech-to-text translation.
15. The computer-implemented method of claim 14, further comprising: storing, in a relational database associated with the meeting substitute system, the plurality of meeting events, including the information related to the meeting request; determining whether there are duplicate entries in the relational database for a same teleconference meeting; and based on the determination, joining the same teleconference meeting once and providing a same set of meeting data to each user device associated with the duplicate entries.
16. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising: determining, by the meeting substitute system, that the teleconference meeting is over; and based on the determination, automatically stopping, by the meeting substitute system, the capturing of the set of meeting data for the teleconference meeting and initiating the generation of the meeting summary.
17. The computer-implemented method of claim 2, further comprising: when the teleconference meeting is over, providing, to the first user device associated with the first user, access to at least a subset of the set of meeting data for the teleconference meeting and the generated meeting summary, the first user being an intended recipient of the meeting request.
18. The computer-implemented method of claim 17, wherein the providing comprises: sending, by the meeting substitute system, a meeting notification to the first user device associated with the intended recipient of the meeting request, the meeting notification being associated with the meeting request and the meeting notification providing access information.
19. A meeting substitute system comprising processing circuitry, the processing circuitry configured to cause the meeting substitute system to: obtain information related to a meeting request, the information associated with a teleconference meeting and the information including a date and a time for the teleconference meeting, the meeting request being received by a first user account associated with a first user device;
determine whether a conflict exists between the teleconference meeting and another teleconference meeting; as a result of a trigger, the trigger being based at least in part on the determination of an existence of a conflict,
automatically: accept, by the meeting substitute system, the meeting request using a virtual user account associated with the meeting substitute system, the virtual user account being different from the first user account;
join the teleconference meeting at the date and the time; and during the joined teleconference meeting,
capturing a set of meeting data for the teleconference meeting, the captured set of meeting data comprising at least one of a video recording and an audio recording of the teleconference meeting and a speech-to-text translation; and
generate a meeting summary based at least in part on the captured set of meeting data for the teleconference meeting.
21. The system of claim 19, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to cause the meeting substitute system to generate the meeting summary by being configured to cause the meeting substitute system to: autonomously select a plurality of video segments from the video recording and generating a video meeting summary comprising the selected plurality of video segments, by: using speech-to-text translation to identify at least one of:
at least one key discussion point of the teleconference meeting; at least one action item for the teleconference meeting; and at least one answer to at least one question asked during the teleconference meeting; and selecting the plurality of video segments from the video recording corresponding to the at least one of the at least one key discussion point, the at least one action item and the at least one answer.
1.A computer-implemented method, the method comprising:
obtaining, by a meeting substitute system, information related to a meeting request, the information associated with a teleconference meeting and the information including a date and a time for the teleconference meeting,
the meeting request being received by a first user account associated with a first user device;
determining whether a conflict exists between the teleconference meeting and another teleconference meeting;
as a result of a trigger, the trigger being based at least in part on the determination of an existence of a conflict, automatically: accepting, by the meeting substitute system, the meeting request using a virtual user account associated with the meeting substitute system, the virtual user account being different from the first user account; joining, by the meeting substitute system, the teleconference meeting at the date and the time; and during the joined teleconference meeting,
capturing, by the meeting substitute system, a set of meeting data for the teleconference meeting, the captured set of meeting data comprising at least one of a video recording and an audio recording of the teleconference meeting and a speech-to-text translation; and generating, by the meeting substitute system, a meeting summary based at least in part on the captured set of meeting data for the teleconference meeting.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17-23, 29, 34 and 36-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Herrin et al. – hereinafter Herrin (US 10,334,110) in view of Mahmoud (US 2019/0384813) / Brown et al. - hereinafter Brown (US 2020/0252442)
As per claim 17, Herrin discloses a computer-implemented method, executed by a meeting substitute system, the method comprising:
obtaining information related to a meeting request (Col 10 line 5-19; At step 415, the electronic calendar identifies a date and a beginning time of an on-line electronic meeting.)
received by a first user account, (Col 8 lines 8-17; In a further embodiment, server 40 may further provide electronic “e-mail” services infrastructure provided by an e-mail program module 61 of the server 40 (forming a functional e-mail system). In one embodiment, electronic “e-mail” services infrastructure is integrated as part of or within the calendaring system,
the information including a date and a time associated with a teleconference meeting (Col 10 line 5-19; At step 415, the electronic calendar identifies a date and a beginning time of an on-line electronic meeting. At step 420, the electronic calendar automatically calls in or connects to a corresponding on-line electronic meeting system. The user sends the communication signal; e.g., by selecting or pressing a specific button (or icon) (not shown) of a corresponding electronic calendar entry of the meeting, to the corresponding on-line electronic system.; Fig. 4: items 415, 420; )
upon determining that a conflict exists between the teleconference meeting and another teleconference meeting associated with the first account; automatically accepting the meeting request using a virtual user account associated with the meeting substitute system; (Col 8 lines 24-52; At step 220, the user decides which conference call the user attends and which conference calls, or portions thereof, to be recorded and transcribed without an attendance of the user when there exists the detected conflict. For example, if the user chooses not to attend an on-line electronic meeting; e.g., by selecting “no” button or option on the notification, the electronic calendar may automatically send a communication signal that requests that user's bot appears and/or attends during the meeting. The bot records and transcribes in real time the conference call(s) that the user is not attending at step 230)
joining the teleconference meeting at the date and the time; and during the joined teleconference meeting, (Col 10 lines 5-19; At step 420, the electronic calendar automatically calls in or connects to a corresponding on-line electronic meeting system. The user sends the communication signal; e.g., by selecting or pressing a specific button (or icon) (not shown) of a corresponding electronic calendar entry of the meeting, to the corresponding on-line electronic system.; Fig. 4: items 415, 420 )
capturing a set of meeting data for the teleconference meeting, the captured set of meeting data comprising at least one of a video recording and an audio recording of the teleconference meeting and a speech-to-text translation; and(Col 5 lines 30-56; I n FIG. 1, there is provided a further illustrative embodiment of a teleconference call record/playback infrastructure which may be incorporated in the services functionality of the control server 30 or another server device. For purposes of illustration, control server device or computer 30 includes an associated record playback and transcription control module 51 configured to run software that manages recording, transcribing, and storage of audio conference calls, audio or audio/video collaborative presentations, etc., rendering control server 30 as a media server; Col 8 lines 24-52; The bot records and transcribes in real time the conference call(s) that the user is not attending at step 230)
Herrin fails to disclose generating a meeting summary based at least in part on the captured set of meeting data for the teleconference meeting and the virtual user account being different from the first user account.
Mahmoud discloses generating a meeting summary based at least in part on the captured set of meeting data for the teleconference meeting. ([0005]; generating an index associated with the recording, wherein the index identifies a set of terms included in the recording and, for each term in the set of terms, a corresponding location of the term in the recording, creating, based on the index, a timeline of the set of terms in the recording, wherein the timeline identifies contiguous frames in the recording and groupings of locations of the set of terms within the contiguous frames in the recording, identifying a subset of the contiguous frames in the timeline that include a phrase comprising a series of words, and generating a summary of the recording that includes the phrase.)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention for the bot or substitute system to be modified so that the bot or the meeting substitute system, generate a summary of the transcription of the video conference. This would have advantageous because it allows the user to quickly identify key points, topics, decisions, and/or participants in the meeting. The combined teachings of Herrin / Mahmoud fail to disclose the virtual user account being different from the first user account.
Brown discloses the virtual user account being different from the first user account. ([0014] FIG. 3 illustrates a screen shot showing an add bot screen 300, according to an embodiment. When a bot is added, this means that a virtual participant (e.g., that is recording the call) is present. For example, FIG. 5 illustrates how to indicate that a bot is "attending" and recording the meeting. In the top right corner of FIG. 5, an icon appears showing NOTENINJA to be a participant. This indicates that the meeting is being recorded by the bot.; [0029]; Those of ordinary skill in the art will recognize that a user can be: a sales manager, an administrator, or a participant in the electronic conference system meeting, or any other person or entity that interacts with the system. The comment tag module can enable adding and using comment tags, as descried above. The add recording bot module can enable adding a virtual participant bot to record the meeting. The electronic conferencing system 620 can be a connector that ties the user to the meeting and also ties the virtual assistant bot to the meeting.; claim 1; enabling a user to direct a virtual participant bot to join an electronic conference system meeting: accepting a URL from the user; parsing the URL in order to gather meeting details required to join the call; and using the meeting details to enabling a virtual participant bot to join the electronic conference system meeting in order to record electronic information streams related to the electronic conference system meeting; Fig. 3)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention for the combined teachings of Herrin / Mahmoud to be modified so that the meeting request is sent to a virtual participant with an account different from the first user to accept and record the meeting. This would have resulted in predictable results so that the first user is notified of the updates when they indicate that they will not be attending the meeting.
As per claim 18, Herrin / Mahmoud / Brown disclose the computer-implemented method of Claim 17. Herrin discloses wherein: obtaining information related to the meeting request comprises: receiving the meeting request from the first user account, the meeting request being forwarded to the meeting substitute system from the first user account. (Col 8 lines 24-52; For example, if the user chooses not to attend an on-line electronic meeting; e.g., by selecting “no” button or option on the notification, the electronic calendar may automatically send a communication signal that requests that user's bot appears and/or attends during the meeting. The bot records and transcribes in real time the conference call(s) that the user is not attending at step 230; Col 10 line 5-19; At step 415, the electronic calendar identifies a date and a beginning time of an on-line electronic meeting)
As per claim 19, Herrin / Mahmoud / Brown disclose the computer-implemented method of Claim 17. Herrin discloses wherein: obtaining information related to the meeting request comprises: reading an electronic calendar associated with the first user account via an application programming interface (API).(Col 5 lines 18-26; The calendar/e-mail system module 41 via server 40 can also be configured to allow a user; e.g. a host, via a host computing device 20, to operate an electronic calendaring application to organize a meeting by specifying a time, a date, a duration, and a list of invitees, e.g., attendees, for the meeting for the users individual electronic calendars on the invitee's devices 12a, . . . , 12n, and send electronic messages notifying each invitee of the meeting and allowing the invitees to accept or decline participation in the meeting)
As per claim 20, Herrin / Mahmoud / Brown disclose the computer-implemented method of Claim 19. Herrin discloses wherein: determining that the conflict exists between the teleconference meeting and another teleconference meeting associated with the first user account comprises: determining that at least two meetings overlap in time and date in the electronic calendar associated with the first user account. (Col 8 lines 24-52; At step 220, the user decides which conference call the user attends and which conference calls, or portions thereof, to be recorded and transcribed without an attendance of the user when there exists the detected conflict. For example, if the user chooses not to attend an on-line electronic meeting; e.g., by selecting “no” button or option on the notification, the electronic calendar may automatically send a communication signal that requests that user's bot appears and/or attends during the meeting. The bot records and transcribes in real time the conference call(s) that the user is not attending at step 230)
As per claim 21, Herrin / Mahmoud / Brown disclose the computer-implemented method of Claim 17. Herrin discloses wherein the joining the teleconference meeting comprises: automatically joining the teleconference meeting at the date and the time and capturing the set of meeting data for the teleconference meeting independent of the first user account. (Col 9 lines 30-36; In one embodiment, the bot monitors whether or not the user has joined the conference call, e.g., during or beginning of the conference call; e.g., by detecting a voice of the user by using a known voice recognition technique, etc. In one embodiment, the bot automatically calls in the conference call number and fully or partially records the conference call for the user.)
As per claim 22, Herrin / Mahmoud / Brown disclose the computer-implemented method of Claim 17. Herrin discloses wherein the joining the teleconference meeting comprises: automatically joining the teleconference meeting at the date and the time and capturing the set of meeting data for the teleconference meeting independent of any user account associated with any user that is an intended recipient of the meeting request. (Col 8 lines 4-32; the electronic calendar may automatically send a communication signal that requests that user's bot appears and/or attends during the meeting. The bot records and transcribes in real time the conference call(s) that the user is not attending at step 230)
As per claim 23, Herrin/ Mahmoud / Brown disclose the computer-implemented method of Claim 17. Herrin discloses wherein generating the meeting summary comprises: providing the speech-to-text translation of the teleconference meeting ([0024]; For example, the component may use multiple automatic speech recognition (ASR) engines or techniques to generate a number of different transcript lattices 200 from the recording. Each transcript lattice includes a set of terms 210, locations 212 of terms 210 in the recording, and confidences 214 in terms 210.)
to at least one natural language processing model to generate a text-based meeting summary. ([0062] Summarization engine 204 and/or another component may additionally generate insights 224 related to summary 242 and/or the recording. For example, the component may apply natural language processing, topic mining, sentiment analysis, named entity recognition, and/or other types of text-analysis techniques to index 208, timeline 228, and/or summary 242 to assess the inquisitiveness, quantitativeness, contentiousness, sentiment, and/or level of action orientation in the recording and/or identify topics, themes, and/or entities in the recording.)
As per claim 29, Herrin / Mahmoud / Brown disclose the computer-implemented method of Claim 17. Herrin discloses further comprising:
monitoring an electronic calendar comprising a plurality of meeting events scheduled using a virtual user account associated with the meeting substitute system; and ((Col 8 lines 15-23; Alternatively, the electronic calendar may automatically accept electronic conference call invitations regardless of the user's schedules posted on the electronic calendar. At step 210, the electronic calendar automatically detects a conflict between the one or more conference calls and electronic calendar entries.)
wherein the joining the teleconference meeting is based at least in part on the electronic calendar. (Col 10 line 5-19; At step 415, the electronic calendar identifies a date and a beginning time of an on-line electronic meeting. At step 420, the electronic calendar automatically calls in or connects to a corresponding on-line electronic meeting system. The user sends the communication signal; e.g., by selecting or pressing a specific button (or icon) (not shown) of a corresponding electronic calendar entry of the meeting, to the corresponding on-line electronic system.; Fig. 4: items 415, 420)
As per claims 34 and 38, please see the discussion under claim 17 as similar logic applies.
As per claim 36, Herrin / Mahmoud / Brown disclose the system of Claim 34. Herrin discloses wherein: obtaining information related to the meeting request comprises:
reading an electronic calendar associated with the first user account via an application programming interface (API). (Col 9 lines 50-61; The user may determine the priority setting; e.g., by user's preference. The user may be able to change the priority setting anytime; e.g., via a graphical user interface (not shown) of the electronic calendar.)
As per claim 37, Herrin / Mahmoud / Brown disclose the system of Claim 36. Herrin discloses wherein: determining that the conflict exists between the teleconference meeting and another teleconference meeting associated with the first user account comprises: determining that at least two meeting overlap in time and date in the electronic calendar associated with the first account. ((Col 8 lines 15-23; Alternatively, the electronic calendar may automatically accept electronic conference call invitations regardless of the user's schedules posted on the electronic calendar. At step 210, the electronic calendar automatically detects a conflict between the one or more conference calls and electronic calendar entries.)
Claims 24-28, 31-32 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Herrin (US 10,334,110) / Mahmoud (US 2019/0384813) / Brown ((US 2020/0252442) further in view of Boston et al. – hereinafter Boston (US 2013/0325972)
As per claim 24, Herrin / Mahmoud / Brown disclose the computer-implemented method of Claim 23. The combined teachings of Herrin / Mahmoud / Brown fail to disclose determining a domain associated with the teleconference meeting and selecting the at least one natural language processing model to use for the meeting summary based at least in part on the domain.
Boston discloses wherein generating the meeting summary comprises: determining a domain associated with the teleconference meeting and selecting the at least one natural language processing model to use for the meeting summary based at least in part on the domain. ([0033]; The text-based analysis and video-based analysis of the captured meeting data are used to extract selected text and video segments to generate a summary of a meeting. The text-based analysis may include, for example, natural language processing and the video-based analysis may include, for example, automated scene detection; [0048] Moreover, if there is more than one meeting summary in a digest, illustrative embodiments automatically generate a topic-based interactive visual summary of all the meetings, which may include topic content changes within the meetings over time. In other words, illustrative embodiments automatically generate a single summary for each meeting and a combined digest of several meeting summaries, which may possibly include a variety of different topics with different people presenting material on the different topics. [0049]; For example, users may explicitly specify what topic topics they are interested in and how much detail is to be included within a meeting digest.)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention for the combined teachings of Herrin / Mahmoud / Brown to be modified so that the meeting summary contains a text and video clips of topics of interests. This would have been advantageous because it helps the user to catch up on the information they missed. (Boston, [0005])
As per claim 25, Herrin / Mahmoud / Brown / Boston disclose the computer-implemented method of Claim 24. Boston discloses wherein the at least one natural language processing model is configured to use the speech-to-text translation and the determined domain to output at least one of: at least one key discussion point of the teleconference meeting; at least one action item for the teleconference meeting; and at least one answer to at least one question asked during the teleconference meeting. (. ([0033]; The text-based analysis and video-based analysis of the captured meeting data are used to extract selected text and video segments to generate a summary of a meeting. The text-based analysis may include, for example, natural language processing and the video-based analysis may include, for example, automated scene detection; [0048] Moreover, if there is more than one meeting summary in a digest, illustrative embodiments automatically generate a topic-based interactive visual summary of all the meetings, which may include topic content changes within the meetings over time. In other words, illustrative embodiments automatically generate a single summary for each meeting and a combined digest of several meeting summaries, which may possibly include a variety of different topics with different people presenting material on the different topics. [0049]; For example, users may explicitly specify what topic topics they are interested in and how much detail is to be included within a meeting digest.)
As per claim 26, Herrin / Mahmoud / Brown disclose the computer-implemented method of Claim 17. Boston discloses wherein generating the meeting summary further comprises: autonomously selecting a plurality of video segments from the video recording and generating a video meeting summary comprising the selected plurality of video segments. ([0032]; The captured meeting data may include, for example, textual data, such as speech to text transcriptions, documents, and annotations; visual data, such as video clips, slide data, picture data, and graphical data; and audio data. [0033] The meeting digest server may generate meeting summaries 218 by using, for example, a text-based analysis and/or a video-based analysis of the captured meeting data. The text-based analysis and video-based analysis of the captured meeting data are used to extract selected text and video segments to generate a summary of a meeting. The text-based analysis may include, for example, natural language processing and the video-based analysis may include, for example, automated scene detection.)
As per claim 27, Herrin / Mahmoud / Brown / Boston disclose the computer-implemented method of Claim 26. Mahmoud discloses wherein selecting the plurality of video segments comprises:
using the speech-to-text translation to identify ([0024]; For example, the component may use multiple automatic speech recognition (ASR) engines or techniques to generate a number of different transcript lattices 200 from the recording. Each transcript lattice includes a set of terms 210, locations 212 of terms 210 in the recording, and confidences 214 in terms 210.)
at least one of: at least one key discussion point of the teleconference meeting;
at least one action item for the teleconference meeting; and at least one answer to at least one question asked during the teleconference meeting; and (([0045; For example, curated categories for meetings may include, but are not limited to, questions, action items, dates and times, requests, sales, sales processes, introductions, business jargon, numbers, locations, commitments, strong reactions, and/or idioms and sayings. )
Boston discloses selecting the plurality of video segments from the video recording corresponding to the at least one of the at least one key discussion point, the at least one action item and the at least one answer. (([0006]; A computer detects a set of topics of interest to parties to the set of meetings utilizing a user model associated with a user that is based on at least one of communications, relationships, and roles of the parties to the set of meetings. The computer extracts topic-related content associated with the set of topics of interest to the parties from meeting data corresponding to the set of meetings. [0033] The meeting digest server may generate meeting summaries 218 by using, for example, a text-based analysis and/or a video-based analysis of the captured meeting data. The text-based analysis and video-based analysis of the captured meeting data are used to extract selected text and video segments to generate a summary of a meeting. The text-based analysis may include, for example, natural language processing and the video-based analysis may include, for example, automated scene detection.)
As per claim 28, Herrin / Mahmoud / Brown disclose the computer-implemented method of Claim 17. Boston discloses wherein the meeting summary comprises at least one of:
a meeting minutes document based at least in part on the speech-to-text translation; and a video meeting summary based at least in part on the speech-to-text translation. ([0006]; A computer detects a set of topics of interest to parties to the set of meetings utilizing a user model associated with a user that is based on at least one of communications, relationships, and roles of the parties to the set of meetings. The computer extracts topic-related content associated with the set of topics of interest to the parties from meeting data corresponding to the set of meetings. [0033] The meeting digest server may generate meeting summaries 218 by using, for example, a text-based analysis and/or a video-based analysis of the captured meeting data. The text-based analysis and video-based analysis of the captured meeting data are used to extract selected text and video segments to generate a summary of a meeting. The text-based analysis may include, for example, natural language processing and the video-based analysis may include, for example, automated scene detection.)
As per claim 31. Herrin / Mahmoud / Brown disclose the computer-implemented method of Claim 17. The combined teachings of Herrin / Brown / Mahmoud fail to disclose further comprising: determining that the teleconference meeting is over; and
based on the determination, automatically stopping the capturing of the set of meeting data for the teleconference meeting and initiating the generation of the meeting summary.
Boston discloses further comprising: determining that the teleconference meeting is over; and based on the determination, automatically stopping the capturing of the set of meeting data for the teleconference meeting and initiating the generation of the meeting summary. (([0054] Conferencing server device 302 may send meeting recordings 308 to meeting digest server device 304 on a pre-determined time interval basis, such as daily, weekly, or monthly. Alternatively, conferencing server device 302 may send a recording of a meeting to meeting digest server device 304 at the completion of each meeting or on demand by meeting digest server device 304. Upon receiving meeting recordings 308, meeting digest server device 304 generates meetings summarization 310.)
It would have been obvious before the earliest effective filing date for the combined teachings of Herrin/ Mahmoud / Brown to be modified so that it stops capturing data when the meeting is over and generates a summary. This would have been advantageous because This would have been advantageous because it helps the user to save memory resources and to allow users to catch up on the information they missed.
As per claim 32, Herrin / Mahmoud / Brown / Boston disclose the computer-implemented method of Claim 31. Boston discloses further comprising: when the teleconference meeting is over, providing, to the first user account associated with the first user, access to at least a subset of the set of meeting data for the teleconference meeting and the generated meeting summary, the first user being an intended recipient of the meeting request. (([0054] Conferencing server device 302 may send meeting recordings 308 to meeting digest server device 304 on a pre-determined time interval basis, such as daily, weekly, or monthly. Alternatively, conferencing server device 302 may send a recording of a meeting to meeting digest server device 304 at the completion of each meeting or on demand by meeting digest server device 304. Upon receiving meeting recordings 308, meeting digest server device 304 generates meetings summarization 310.)
As per claim 35, Herrin / Mahmoud / Brown disclose the system of Claim 34. Mahmoud discloses wherein selecting the plurality of video segments comprises:
using the speech-to-text translation to identify ([0024]; For example, the component may use multiple automatic speech recognition (ASR) engines or techniques to generate a number of different transcript lattices 200 from the recording. Each transcript lattice includes a set of terms 210, locations 212 of terms 210 in the recording, and confidences 214 in terms 210.) at least one of:
at least one key discussion point of the teleconference meeting; at least one action item for the teleconference meeting; and at least one answer to at least one question asked during the teleconference meeting; and ([0045; For example, curated categories for meetings may include, but are not limited to, questions, action items, dates and times, requests, sales, sales processes, introductions, business jargon, numbers, locations, commitments, strong reactions, and/or idioms and sayings. )
The combined teachings of Herrin / Mahmoud fail to disclose wherein the processing circuitry is configured to cause the meeting substitute system to generate the meeting summary by being configured to cause the meeting substitute system to: autonomously select a plurality of video segments from the video recording and generating a video meeting summary comprising the selected plurality of video segments selecting the plurality of video segments from the video recording corresponding to the at least one of the at least one key discussion point, the at least one action item and the at least one answer.
Boston discloses wherein the processing circuitry is configured to cause the meeting substitute system to generate the meeting summary by being configured to cause the meeting substitute system to: autonomously select a plurality of video segments from the video recording and generating a video meeting summary comprising the selected plurality of video segments. (([0032]; The captured meeting data may include, for example, textual data, such as speech to text transcriptions, documents, and annotations; visual data, such as video clips, slide data, picture data, and graphical data; and audio data. [0033] The meeting digest server may generate meeting summaries 218 by using, for example, a text-based analysis and/or a video-based analysis of the captured meeting data. The text-based analysis and video-based analysis of the captured meeting data are used to extract selected text and video segments to generate a summary of a meeting. The text-based analysis may include, for example, natural language processing and the video-based analysis may include, for example, automated scene detection.)
and selecting the plurality of video segments from the video recording corresponding to the at least one of the at least one key discussion point, the at least one action item and the at least one answer. ([0006]; A computer detects a set of topics of interest to parties to the set of meetings utilizing a user model associated with a user that is based on at least one of communications, relationships, and roles of the parties to the set of meetings. The computer extracts topic-related content associated with the set of topics of interest to the parties from meeting data corresponding to the set of meetings. [0033] The meeting digest server may generate meeting summaries 218 by using, for example, a text-based analysis and/or a video-based analysis of the captured meeting data. The text-based analysis and video-based analysis of the captured meeting data are used to extract selected text and video segments to generate a summary of a meeting. The text-based analysis may include, for example, natural language processing and the video-based analysis may include, for example, automated scene detection.)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention for the combined teachings of Herrin/ Mahmoud / Brown to be modified so that the meeting summary contains a text and video clips of topics of interests and to select the video segments . This would have been advantageous because it helps the user to catch up on the information they missed. (Boston, [0005])
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Herrin (US 10,334,110) / Mahmoud (US 2019/0384813) / Brown (US 2020/0252442) further in view of Kirsch (US 8,825,362)
As per claim 30, Herrin/ Mahmoud / Brown disclose the computer-implemented method of Claim 29. Herrin discloses further comprising: storing, in a relational database associated with the meeting substitute system, the plurality of meeting events, including the information related to the meeting request; (Col 4 lines 55-67; Further shown as running on a separate calendaring server 40 (or in other embodiment, running on the control server 30 itself) is a calendar database system module 41 that enables calendaring server 40 to provide services to allow individual users, invitees who may be persons operating one of clients 12a, . . . , 12n, to maintain individual electronic calendars on system 10. The information regarding each individual user's electronic calendar is maintained as user calendar data in a user calendar database 45. More specifically, user calendar database 45 generally includes one or more data structures that hold data indicating a user/invitee and zero or more appointments for that user, including data indicating a start date and time and stop date and time for the appointment.)
joining the same teleconference meeting once (Col 10 lines 16-30; IG. 4 illustrates a flowchart that describes method steps for automatically recording a conference call in one embodiment. At step 415, the electronic calendar identifies a date and a beginning time of an on-line electronic meeting. At step 420, the electronic calendar automatically calls in or connects to a corresponding on-line electronic meeting system)
and providing a same set of meeting data to each user device. (Col 11 line 48 – Col 12 line 33; If all invitees are not attending Meeting 1 and 2, the method prompts the missing invitees to request a transcript of the meeting in real time at step 650. If an invitee does not request a transcription at step 650, then no further action is taken as shown by step 654. If an invitee does request a transcript of a meeting in real time, the method requests permission to publish the transcript of the meeting of the other attendees or a meeting coordinator at step 656.)
The combined teachings of Herrin / Mahmoud / Brown fail to disclose determining whether there are duplicate entries in the relational database for a same teleconference meeting; and based on the determination, joining the same teleconference meeting once and providing a same set of meeting data to each user account associated with the duplicate entries.
Kirsch discloses determining whether there are duplicate entries in the relational database for a same teleconference meeting; (Col 11 lines 6-60; e mobile device 120 then applies 504 conversion rules to the calendar information received in each of the native formats to convert all the calendar data to a common format (e.g., an ASCII XML format) such that calendar data from different calendar systems can be compared and aggregated. The mobile device 120 then aggregates 506 the calendar data to identify and remove duplicate entries. )
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date for the combined teachings of Herrin / Mahmoud / Brown to be modified so teach “based on the determination, joining the same teleconference meeting once and providing a same set of meeting data to each user device associated with the duplicate entries” as Herrin teaches join the teleconferencing once and proving the same meeting data to each user device associated with the duplicate entries. This would have been advantageous to eliminate conflicts between multiple meetings.
Claim 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Herrin (US 10,334,110) / Mahmoud (US 2019/0384813) / Brown (US 2020/0252442) further in view of Qureshi et al. – hereinafter Qureshi (US 2005/0267975)
As per claim 33, Herrin / Mahmoud / Brown disclose the computer-implemented method of Claim 32. The combined teachings of Herrin / Mahmoud / Brown fail to disclose wherein the providing comprises: sending, by the meeting substitute system, a meeting notification to the first user device associated with the intended recipient of the meeting request, the meeting notification being associated with the meeting request and the meeting notification providing access information.
Qureshi discloses wherein the providing comprises: sending, by the meeting substitute system, a meeting notification to the first user device associated with the intended recipient of the meeting request, the meeting notification being associated with the meeting request and the meeting notification providing access information. ([0080] When client device 1206 receives the meeting acceptance notification (represented by arrow 1604), client device 1206 transmits a request for a meeting summary (represented by arrow 1608) to calendar server 1204. In response to receiving the request for a meeting summary, calendar server 1204 transmits meeting summary data to client device 1206, as represented by arrow 1610. The received meeting summary data may then be displayed, for example, as illustrated in FIG. 10.)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention for the combined teachings of Herrin / Mahmoud / Brown to be modified so that the bot send a notification with a link to access the meeting summary to the participant who could not attend the meeting. This would have been beneficial so the user can quickly review and stay current on relevant portions of the meeting.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from theexaminer should be directed to Chirag R Patel whose telephone number is (571)272-7966. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday to Friday from 9:00AM to 6:00PM. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, theexaminer's supervisor, Glenton Burgess, can be reached on 571-272-3949. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceedingis assigned is 571-273-8300.
/Chirag R Patel/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2454