DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 14-18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 09/16/2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A, claims 1-13 (Figs. 1-6), in the reply filed on 09/16/2026 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/25/2026 was filed after the filing date of this Application on 12/10/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims.
Therefore, the “a plurality of first water injection nozzles disposed on the first discharge line, … and a plurality of second water injection nozzles disposed on the second discharge line” of claim 6 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “refrigerant” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
For examination purposes, the phrase “an evaporator in which refrigerant circulates” will be interpreted as -- an evaporator in which a refrigerant circulates --
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites “a plurality of pressure regulation units … each of the pressure regulation units includes: … a control valve” and “a plurality of control valves” which render the claim indefinite. As recited, the claim is confusing because it is not entirely clear if the disclosed “a plurality of control valves” is referencing the previously disclosed control valves of each pressure regulation units or something entirely different. More clarity is requested.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the number of rotations of the compressor” in line 16. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
For examination purposes, the phrase “the number of rotations of the compressor” will be interpreted as -- a number of rotations of the compressor --
Regarding claim 2, the claim recites “the pressure regulation unit” which renders the claim indefinite. As recited, claim 2 seems to be referencing only one “pressure regulation unit”. However, claim 1 from which claim 2 depends, discloses “a plurality of pressure regulation units”. Therefore, it is unclear which pressure regulation unit out of the previously disclosed plurality of pressure regulation units claim 2 is referencing. More clarity is requested.
Regarding claim 5, the claim recites “wherein the discharge unit includes a plurality of discharge lines … and the water injection nozzle disposed on the discharge line” which renders the claim indefinite. As recited, the claim seems to indicate that only one “discharge line” is provided with a water injection nozzle. However, it is unclear which discharge line out of the disclosed plurality of discharge lines is provided with the nozzle. More clarity is requested.
Regarding claim 7, the claim recites “wherein the control unit is configured to: control an opening and closing operation of the control valve” which renders the claim indefinite. As recited, claim 7 seems to be referencing only one “control valve”. However, claim 1 from which claim 7 depends, discloses “a plurality of control valves”. Therefore, it is unclear which control valve out of the previously disclosed plurality of control valves claim 7 is referencing. More clarity is requested.
Regarding claim 8, the claim recites “wherein the control unit is configured to repeatedly perform the opening and closing operation of the control valve” which renders the claim indefinite. As recited, claim 8 seems to be referencing only one “control valve”. However, claim 1 discloses “a plurality of control valves”. Therefore, it is unclear which control valve out of the previously disclosed plurality of control valves claim 8 is referencing. More clarity is requested.
Claim 8 recites the limitation “an open state” in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
For examination purposes, the phrase “an open state for a second water injection time” will be interpreted as -- the open state for a second water injection time --
Claim 10 recites the limitation “a water injection module” in lines 6-7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
For examination purposes, the phrase “a water injection module connected to each other in parallel” will be interpreted as -- the water injection module connected to each other in parallel --
Claim 10 recites the limitation “the number of rotations of the compressor” in line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
For examination purposes, the phrase “the number of rotations of the compressor” will be interpreted as -- a number of rotations of the compressor --
Regarding claim 11, the claim recites “wherein the branch water injection line” which renders the claim indefinite. As recited, claim 11 seems to be referencing only one “branch water injection line”. However, claim 10 discloses “a plurality of branch water injection lines”. Therefore, it is unclear which control branch water injection line out of the previously disclosed plurality of branch water injection lines claim 11 is referencing. More clarity is requested.
Claims 3-4, 6, 9, and 12-13 are also rejected due to dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (CN209672652U, herein after referred to as Zhu) in view of Hanks (US 20220034525 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Zhu teaches an air conditioner (corresponds to the refrigeration system illustrated in Fig. 1) comprising: an evaporator (evaporator 8 Fig. 1) in which a refrigerant (paragraph [81]) circulates (Fig. 1), an expansion valve (expansion valve 7 Fig. 1), a compressor (compressor 1 Fig. 1), an evaporative condenser (evaporative condenser 3 Fig. 1), a water injection module (variable frequency water pump 307, low-position water supply valve 308, medium-position water supply valve 309, high-position water supply valve 310, low-position nozzle 314, medium-position nozzle 315, and high-position nozzle 316 Fig. 1) configured to spray water (paragraph [85]) into the evaporative condenser (paragraph [85]), and a control unit (fourth-stage temperature sensor 311, third-stage temperature sensor 312, and second-stage temperature sensor 313 Fig. 1 and paragraph [81]) configured to control an operation of the water injection module (paragraph [81]), wherein the water injection module includes: a supply line (understood to be all the water lines connecting water tank 306 to nozzles 314-316 Fig. 1) including a plurality of pressure regulation units (see below annotated Fig. 1 of Zhu) configured to regulate a water injection pressure (paragraph [80], where the pressure of the sprayed water is reduced since the frequency of water pump 307 can be reduced) of water supplied to the evaporative condenser to different pressures (corresponds to the pressures associated with the different frequency reductions of water pump 307 as described in paragraph [80]) while passing through a plurality of branch water injection lines (see below annotated Fig. 1 of Zhu) branching from a water supply source (water tank 306 Fig. 1), each of the pressure regulation units includes: a branch water injection line (see below annotated Fig. 1 of Zhu); a control valve (supply valves 308-310 Fig. 1) disposed on the branch water injection line (Fig. 1), the control valve configured to open and close a flow path of the branch water injection line (paragraph [80]); and the control unit is connected to the control valve (paragraph [81]), and is configured to open one control valve (corresponds to any of supply valves 308-310 that is controlled to be opened as described in paragraph [80]), among a plurality of control valves (supply valves 308-310 Fig. 1), and to close a remaining control valve (corresponds to any of supply valves 308-310 that is controlled to be closed as described in paragraph [80]), among the plurality of control valves (paragraph [80]), according to a number of rotations of the compressor (paragraph [80] where a person skilled in the art would recognize that the disclosed “discharge pressure of the compressor” is a function of the number of rotations of the compressor over a given period).
Zhu teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “each of the pressure regulation units includes a pressure reducing valve disposed on the branch water injection line”.
However, Hanks teaches each pressure regulation unit (water treatment assembly 14 Fig. 4 corresponds to one of the pressure regulation units of Zhu) includes a pressure reducing valve (flow reducer 32 Fig. 4) disposed on a branch water injection line (Fig. 4 where feed line 22 corresponds to the branch water injection line of Zhu) to provide the proper amount of mist without wasting water (paragraph [0040]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Zhu to include “each of the pressure regulation units includes a pressure reducing valve disposed on the branch water injection line” in view of the teachings of Hanks to provide the proper amount of mist without wasting water.
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu in view of Hanks as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kumagai et al. (US 20170008293 A1, herein after referred to as Kumagai).
Regarding claim 4, the combined teachings teach the water injection module includes a discharge unit (see below annotated Fig. 2 of Zhu), the discharge unit including a water injection nozzle (nozzles 314-316 Fig. 2 of Zhu) configured to spray water into the evaporative condenser (paragraph [80] of Zhu).
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “wherein the supply line includes a joining water injection line in which one ends of the branch water injection lines join each other, and the discharge unit connected to one end of the joining water injection line”.
However, Kumagai teaches wherein a supply line (introduction passages 22 and supply passage 15 Fig. 10 corresponds to the supply line of Zhu) includes a joining water injection line (joint passage 23 Fig. 10) in which one ends of branch water injection lines (Fig. 10 where introduction passages 22 and connection passage 26 correspond to the branch water injection lines of Zhu) join each other (Fig. 10), and a discharge unit (liquid ejector 19 Fig. 1 corresponds to the discharge unit of Zhu) connected to one end of the joining water injection line (Fig. 10) to prevent interrupting the supply of the liquid (paragraph [0008]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “wherein the supply line includes a joining water injection line in which one ends of the branch water injection lines join each other, and the discharge unit connected to one end of the joining water injection line” in view of the teachings of Kumagai to prevent interrupting the supply of the liquid.
Regarding claim 5, the combined teachings teach wherein the discharge unit includes a plurality of discharge lines (see below annotated Fig. 1 of Kumagai) branching from the one end of the joining water injection line (see below annotated Fig. 1 of Kumagai), and the water injection nozzle disposed on the discharge line (Fig. 1 of Kumagai where nozzles 12 correspond to the water injection nozzle of Zhu).
Regarding claim 6, the combined teachings teach wherein the discharge unit includes: a first discharge line (see below annotated Fig. 1 of Kumagai) and a second discharge line (see below annotated Fig. 1 of Kumagai) branching from the one end of the joining water injection line (see below annotated Fig. 1 of Kumagai); a plurality of first water injection nozzles (see below annotated Fig. 1 of Kumagai) disposed on the first discharge line (see below annotated Fig. 1 of Kumagai), the plurality of first water injection nozzles (nozzle 316 Fig. 2 of Zhu corresponds to the plurality of first water injection nozzles of Kumagai) configured to spray water into a portion (first condenser coil 302 Fig. 2 and paragraph [80] of Zhu) of a heat exchange unit of the evaporative condenser (corresponds to the combination of first condensing coil 302, second condensing coil 303, third condensing coil 304, and fourth condensing coil 305 Fig. 2 as described in paragraph [64] of Zhu); and a plurality of second water injection nozzles (see below annotated Fig. 1 of Kumagai) disposed on the second discharge line (see below annotated Fig. 1 of Kumagai), the plurality of second water injection nozzles (nozzle 315 Fig. 2 of Zhu corresponds to the plurality of second water injection nozzles of Kumagai) configured to spray water into another portion of the heat exchange unit of the evaporative condenser (second condenser coil 303 Fig. 2 and paragraph [80] of Zhu).
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu in view of Hanks as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Choi et al. (US 12698908 B2, herein after referred to as Choi).
Regarding claim 7, the combined teachings teach wherein the control unit is configured to: control an opening and closing operation of the control valve (corresponds to the opening and closing of any of valves 308-310 as described in paragraph [80] of Zhu) according to the number of rotations of the compressor (paragraph [80] where a person skilled in the art would recognize that the disclosed “discharge pressure of the compressor” is a function of the number of rotations of the compressor over a given period).
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “wherein the control unit is configured to: control the opening and closing operation of the control valve in an opening and closing pattern of opening the control valve for a preset water injection time and then closing the control valve for a preset water injection stop time, according to the number of rotations of the compressor”.
However, Choi teaches wherein a control unit (processor 210 Fig. 10 corresponds to the control unit of Zhu) is configured to: control an opening and closing operation of a control valve (paragraph Col. 11 lines 41-54 where check valve 422 Fig. 10 corresponds to the control valve of Zhu) in an opening and closing pattern (corresponds to the disclosed “opening time period and an opening cycle” of valve 422 as described in Col. 11 lines 41-54) of opening the control valve for a preset water injection time (corresponds to the disclosed “water injection time period” in Col. 11 lines 41-54) and then closing the control valve for a preset water injection stop time (the disclosed “water injection cycle” in Col. 11 lines 41-54 is understood to be the time period between water injections, a time period during which valve 422 is closed), according to a number of rotations (the disclosed “compressor operating frequency” in Col. 8 lines 26-50 corresponds to the number of rotations of the compressor of Zhu) of a compressor (compressor 234 Fig. 8 corresponds to the compressor of Zhu) to provide a system that would inject the appropriate amount of water (Col. 6 lines 15-20).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “wherein the control unit is configured to: control the opening and closing operation of the control valve in an opening and closing pattern of opening the control valve for a preset water injection time and then closing the control valve for a preset water injection stop time, according to the number of rotations of the compressor” in view of the teachings of Choi to provide a system that would inject the appropriate amount of water.
Regarding claim 8, the combined teachings teach wherein the control unit is configured to repeatedly perform the opening and closing operation of the control valve in a first opening and closing pattern (corresponds to the water injection time period and water injection cycle of nozzle 216 associated with the increased compressor operating frequency as described in Col. 8 lines 26-50 of Choi) of maintaining the control valve in an open state (understood to be during “the water injection time period” when the compressor operating frequency is increased as described in Col. 8 lines 26-50 of Choi) for a first water injection time (corresponds to the disclosed “water injection time period” when the compressor operating frequency is increased as described in Col. 8 lines 26-50 of Choi) and then closing the control valve for a first water injection stop time (corresponds to the disclosed “water injection cycle” when the compressor operating frequency is increased as described in Col. 8 lines 26-50 of Choi) when the number of rotations of the compressor satisfies a first setting value (corresponds to the number of rotations associated with the increased operating frequency of the compressor as described in Col. 8 lines 26-50 of Choi), and to repeatedly perform the opening and closing operation of the control valve in a second opening and closing pattern (corresponds to the water injection time period and water injection cycle of nozzle 216 associated with the decreased compressor operating frequency as described in Col. 8 lines 26-50 of Choi) of maintaining the control valve in the open state for a second water injection time (corresponds to the disclosed “water injection time period” when the compressor operating frequency is decreased as described in Col. 8 lines 26-50 of Choi) and then closing the control valve for a second water injection stop time (corresponds to the disclosed “water injection cycle” when the compressor operating frequency is decreased as described in Col. 8 lines 26-50 of Choi), greater than the first water injection stop time (Col. 8 lines 26-50 of Choi), when the number of rotations of the compressor satisfies a second setting value (corresponds to the number of rotations associated with the decreased operating frequency of the compressor as described in Col. 8 lines 26-50 of Choi), less than the first setting value (Col. 8 lines 26-50 of Choi).
Regarding claim 9, the combined teachings teach wherein the first water injection time is set to be greater than the second water injection time (Col. 8 lines 26-50 of Choi).
Claims 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu in view of Yagi (JP5763469B2).
Regarding claim 10, Zhu teaches a method (corresponds to the method described in paragraph [80]) of controlling a water injection module (variable frequency water pump 307, low-position water supply valve 308, medium-position water supply valve 309, high-position water supply valve 310, low-position nozzle 314, medium-position nozzle 315, and high-position nozzle 316 Fig. 1) of an air conditioner (corresponds to the refrigeration system illustrated in Fig. 1), the method comprising: a driving start step (paragraph [80] where it is understood that in the disclosed “initial state”, compressor 1 Fig. 1 is turned on) of starting driving of a compressor (compressor 1 Fig. 1 and paragraph [80]); a determination step (corresponds to the step of comparing the measured temperature with the disclosed “saturation temperature corresponding to the discharge pressure of compressor 1” as described in paragraph [80]) of determining an opening and closing operation (corresponds to the opening and closing of water supply valves 308-310 Fig. 2 as described in paragraph [80]) that is set to open one branch water injection line (corresponds to when valve 309 is turned off leaving only valve 308 opened as described in paragraph [80]), among a plurality of branch water injection lines (see below annotated Fig. 2 of Zhu) of the water injection module connected to each other in parallel (see below annotated Fig. 2 of Zhu), the plurality of branch water injection lines configured to supply water (paragraph [80]) having a water injection pressure (corresponds to the pressure generated when variable frequency water pump 307 Fig. 2 is running as described in paragraph [80]) regulated to different pressures (in paragraph [80] it is disclosed that the frequency of pump 307 is reduced which would result in different water pressures), and to close a remaining branch water injection line (corresponds to when both valves 309 and 310 are turned off as described in paragraph [80]), among the plurality of branch water injection lines (paragraph [80]), according to a number of rotations of the compressor (paragraph [80] where a person skilled in the art would recognize that the disclosed “discharge pressure of the compressor” is a function of the number of rotations of the compressor over a given period); and a water injection step (corresponds to when any of valves 308-310 are opened as described in paragraph [80]) of injecting water into a heat exchanger (corresponds to the combination of first condensing coil 302, second condensing coil 303, third condensing coil 304, and fourth condensing coil 305 Fig. 2 and paragraph [64]) by performing the opening and closing operation determined in the determination step (paragraph [80]).
Zhu teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “the method comprising: starting driving of the compressor according to a preset number of rotations of the compressor”.
However, Yagi teaches a method (the method described in paragraph [0050] corresponds to the method of Zhu) comprising: starting driving of a compressor (paragraph [0050] where compressor 21 Fig. 2 corresponds to the compressor of Zhu) according to a preset number of rotations of the compressor (first driving step St1 in paragraphs [0048] to [0050]) to provide the require cooling capacity (paragraph [0049]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the method of Zhu to include “the method comprising: starting driving of the compressor according to a preset number of rotations of the compressor” in view of the teachings of Yagi to provide the require cooling capacity.
Regarding claim 12, the combined teachings teach further comprising: a setting step (correspond to the process described in paragraph [0049] of Yagi) of setting the number of rotations of the compressor according to outdoor air temperature (corresponds to the disclosed “outside air temperature” in paragraph [0049] of Yagi), before the driving start step (paragraphs [0049] and [0050] of Yagi).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3, 11, and 13 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons for Indicating Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 2, the prior art of record when consider as a whole, alone or in combination, neither anticipates nor renders obvious “wherein the pressure regulation unit includes: a first pressure regulation unit including a first branch water injection line, a first control valve disposed on the first branch water injection line, and a first pressure reducing valve configured to reduce the water injection pressure to a first pressure; and a second pressure regulation unit including a second branch water injection line, a second control valve disposed on the second branch water injection line, and a second pressure reducing valve configured to reduce the water injection pressure to a second pressure, less than the first pressure, and the control unit is configured to open the first control valve and close the second control valve when the number of rotations of the compressor satisfies a first setting value, and to close the first control valve and open the second control valve when the number of rotations of the compressor satisfies a second setting value, less than the first setting value”.
The closet prior art reference(s), Zhu (CN209672652U) and Hanks (US 20220034525), teach wherein the pressure regulation unit includes: a first pressure regulation unit (see below annotated Fig. 2 of Zhu) including a first branch water injection line (see below annotated Fig. 2 of Zhu), a first control valve (valve 310 Fig. 2 of Zhu) disposed on the first branch water injection line (see below annotated Fig. 2 of Zhu), and a first pressure reducing valve (flow reducer 32 Fig. 4 of Hanks) configured to reduce the water injection pressure to a first pressure (disclosed “40 psi “ in paragraph [0040] of Hanks); and a second pressure regulation unit (see below annotated Fig. 2 of Zhu) including a second branch water injection line (see below annotated Fig. 2 of Zhu), a second control valve (valve 308 Fig. 2 of Zhu) disposed on the second branch water injection line (see below annotated Fig. 2 of Zhu).
However, the reference(s) fail(s) to disclose, suggest or teach “a second pressure reducing valve configured to reduce the water injection pressure to a second pressure, less than the first pressure, and the control unit is configured to open the first control valve and close the second control valve when the number of rotations of the compressor satisfies a first setting value, and to close the first control valve and open the second control valve when the number of rotations of the compressor satisfies a second setting value, less than the first setting value”.
Therefore, dependent claim 2 with dependent claims therefrom (claim 3) are considered allowable.
Regarding claim 11, the prior art of record when consider as a whole, alone or in combination, neither anticipates nor renders obvious “wherein the branch water injection line includes a first branch water injection line having the water injection pressure regulated to a first pressure, and a second branch water injection line having the water injection pressure regulated to a second pressure, less than the first pressure, and in the determination step, the opening and closing operation is determined to open the first branch water injection line and close the second branch water injection line when the number of rotations of the compressor satisfies a first setting value, and is determined to open the second branch water injection line and close the first branch water injection line when the number of rotations of the compressor satisfies a second setting value, less than the first setting value”.
The closet prior art reference(s), Zhu (CN209672652U) and Yagi (JP5763469B2), teach wherein the branch water injection line includes a first branch water injection line (see below annotated Fig. 2 of Zhu) having the water injection pressure regulated to a first pressure (corresponds to the generated pressure by pump 307 at the disclosed “initial state” as described in paragraph [80] of Zhu), and a second branch water injection line (see below annotated Fig. 2 of Zhu) having the water injection pressure regulated to a second pressure (corresponds to the generated pressure by pump 307 when valve 309 is closed as described in paragraph [80] of Zhu), less than the first pressure (paragraph [80] of Zhu where it is disclosed that the frequency of pump 307 is reduced).
However, the reference(s) fail(s) to disclose, suggest or teach “in the determination step, the opening and closing operation is determined to open the first branch water injection line and close the second branch water injection line when the number of rotations of the compressor satisfies a first setting value, and is determined to open the second branch water injection line and close the first branch water injection line when the number of rotations of the compressor satisfies a second setting value, less than the first setting value”.
Therefore, dependent claim 11 with dependent claims therefrom (claim 13) are considered allowable.
Conclusion
/SAMBA NMN GAYE/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JERRY-DARYL FLETCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763