DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10, 14-16, and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,187,308. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of US Patent No. 12,187,308 anticipate the claims of the current application.
Claim 1 of the current application corresponds to claim 1 of US Patent No. 12,187,308.
Claim 2 of the current application corresponds to claim 2 of US Patent No. 12,187,308.
Claim 3 of the current application corresponds to claim 3 of US Patent No. 12,187,308.
Claim 4 of the current application corresponds to claim 4 of US Patent No. 12,187,308.
Claim 5 of the current application corresponds to claim 5 of US Patent No. 12,187,308.
Claim 6 of the current application corresponds to claim 7 of US Patent No. 12,187,308.
Claim 7 of the current application corresponds to claim 8 of US Patent No. 12,187,308.
Claim 8 of the current application corresponds to claim 9 of US Patent No. 12,187,308.
Claim 9 of the current application corresponds to claim 10 of US Patent No. 12,187,308.
Claim 10 of the current application corresponds to claims 11 and 12 of US Patent No. 12,187,308.
Claim 14 of the current application corresponds to claim 13 of US Patent No. 12,187,308.
Claim 15 of the current application corresponds to claim 14 and 15 of US Patent No. 12,187,308.
Claim 16 of the current application corresponds to claim 16 of US Patent No. 12,187,308.
Claim 20 of the current application corresponds to claim 21 of US Patent No. 12,187,308.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6, 10-15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Seder et al. (US Pub No. 2023/0162595), Petit et al. (US pub No. 2023/0111436), and Post et al. (US Pat No. 11,180,159).
Regarding claims 1, 14, and 20, Seder teaches a computer-implemented method for enhanced emergency vehicle warnings via Augmented Reality (AR) (See abstract and [0015]), the method comprising: obtaining a wireless communication signal indicating a position of an emergency vehicle (See [0035]).
Seder does not teach determining a field of view of an occupant of the vehicle associated with an AR viewer; presenting an alert via the AR viewer based upon a comparison of the position of the emergency vehicle and the field of view, or one or more processors of an electronic device on-board a vehicle; and one or more non-transitory memories storing processor-executable instructions.
Petit teaches one or more processors of an electronic device on-board a vehicle; and one or more non-transitory memories storing processor-executable instructions (See [0013]); and determining a field of view of an occupant of the vehicle associated with an AR viewer (See [0093] teaches determining the operator’s direction of gaze and placing an alert in the field of view of the driver.).
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would have been motivated to modify Seder’s method to include Petit’s teaching in order to best ensure operator’s attention. Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made.
Post teaches based upon a comparison of the location of the emergency vehicle and the field of view, presenting, via the one or more processors, an alert via the AR viewer (See Col. 15, lines 26-67 and Fig. 10A-10D teach changing the location of the warning based on its relative location in comparison to the location of the vehicle.).
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would have been motivated to modify Seder’s method to include Post’s teaching to “reduce or eliminate stresses that can lead a driver to make rash or unsafe decisions” (Col. 3 lines 54-57). Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made.
Regarding claims 2 and 15, Seder teaches obtaining the indication comprises: receiving, from an electronic device on-board the emergency vehicle, the indication (See abstract and [0015]).
Regarding claim 3, Seder teaches obtaining the indication comprises: receiving, from a smart infrastructure device, the indication (See abstract, [0035]-[0036], and [0015]).
Regarding claim 6, Seder teaches obtaining the indication comprises: receiving, from a smart infrastructure device, the indication (See Fig. 6 & 7 and [0015]).
Regarding claim 10, Seder teaches presenting the alert comprises: presenting, via the one or more processors, an indication of a location of the emergency vehicle and/or an indication of a maneuver to perform to yield to the emergency vehicle (See Fig. 6 & 7).
Regarding claims 11 and 17, Seder does not teach generating, via a sensor of the vehicle, sensor data indicating an external environment of the vehicle; and presenting, by the one or more processors, information indicating the external environment of the vehicle based upon the sensor data.
Petit teaches generating, via a sensor of the vehicle, sensor data indicating an external environment of the vehicle; and presenting, by the one or more processors, information indicating the external environment of the vehicle based upon the sensor data (See [0024] and [0047]).
Regarding claims 12 and 18, Seder does not teach the sensor includes one or more of an image sensors or a ranging sensor.
Petit teaches the sensor includes one or more of an image sensors or a ranging sensor (See [0045]).
Regarding claims 13 and 19, Seder does not the external environment of the vehicle includes one or more of a road condition or a presence of another vehicle.
Petit teaches the external environment of the vehicle includes one or more of a road condition or a presence of another vehicle (See [0045]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seder, Post, and Petit as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Koravadi (US Pub No. 2019/0102636).
Regarding claim 7, Seder does not explicitly teach the AR viewer is a wearable AR viewer.
Koravadi teaches the AR viewer is a wearable AR viewer (See Abstract and [0039]).
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would have been motivated to modify Seder’s method to include Koravadi’s glasses “to provide a better view of the surrounding for the driver” (See [0039]). Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made.
Conclusion
/THOMAS S MCCORMACK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2686