DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. With respect to claim 1, the limitation requires applying or removing inter-domain security policy to one or more portion of the content of a message according to a protection policy. Contrary to applicant’s argument and giving a broad reasonable interpretation to the limitation, a message by itself includes one portion of the message. The limitation does not explicitly recite or restrict the requirement to multiple parts of a message. The applied reference teaches (Para 47) applying security policy to media or content in a communication. Examiner interprets the policy applied to the media as being applied to a portion of a communication, which directly anticipates the claimed subject matter. With respect to claim 2 and claim 3, by extension, http as a transport protocol is used in transmitting the data. Fridman teaches (Para 49) the communication being http-based, which anticipates the claimed limitations.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-24 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. US-11,729,609. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both set of claims are directed to applying inter-domain security protection to, or removing inter-domain security protection from, one or more portions of the content of a field in the message according to a protection policy that includes information indicating to which one or more portions of the content inter-domain security protection is to be applied or removed..
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a[a][1] as being anticipated by Fridman et al. (US-20080133729).
a. Referring to claims 1, 10, and 20:
Regarding claims 1, 10 and 20, Fridman teaches a method performed by network equipment in one of multiple different core network domains of a wireless communication system, the method comprising: receiving a message that has been, or is to be, transmitted between the different core network domains (Para 43…. message transmission); applying inter-domain security protection to, or removing inter-domain security protection from, one or more portions of the content of a field in the message according to a protection policy that includes information indicating to which one or more portions of the content inter-domain security protection is to be applied or removed (Para 37, 43 and 47…. applying inter-domain security according to a protection policy to media/content of a communication); and forwarding the message, with inter-domain security protection applied or removed to the one or more portions, towards a destination of the message (Para 44 and 47…. domain policy enforcement to apply the policy)
a. Referring to claims 2, 11 and 17:
Regarding claims 2, 11 and 17, Fridman teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the message is a Hypertext Transfer Protocol (HTTP) message and the field is an HTTP field (Para 49 and 39…. HTTP communication).
a. Referring to claims 3 and 18:
Regarding claims 3 and 18, Fridman teaches the method of claim 2, wherein the HTTP message is an HTTP request message and the field is a path field, and wherein the content of the path field is a request Uniform Resource Identifier, URI (See the rejection in claims 1 and 2 and in Para 39…. web-based request comprising URI).
a. Referring to claims 4 and 14:
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Fridman teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the information includes one or more regular expressions that indicate the one or more portions (Para 49 and 39…. information format).
a. Referring to claims 5 and 15:
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Fridman teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the information includes one or more JavaScript Object Notation, JSON, Pointers, that indicate the one or more portions (Para 49…. information format).
a. Referring to claims 6 and 16:
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Fridman teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the protection policy further indicates, for each of the one or more portions, a type of inter-domain security protection to be applied or removed, and wherein, for each of the one or more portions, the type of inter-domain security protection to be applied or removed comprises confidentiality protection and/or integrity protection (Para 37…. protection to be applied includes privacy, security, etc.).
a. Referring to claims 7 and 19:
Regarding claims 7 and 19, Fridman teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the protection policy is included in the message (Para 43…. message including policy).
a. Referring to claims 8 and 12:
Regarding claims 8 and 12, Fridman teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising, responsive to receiving the message, transmitting a discovery request to a network repository function, NRF, requesting discovery of the protection policy for protecting the message, and receiving the protection policy in response to the discovery request (Para 43…. policy mediation module for discovering the protection policy to be enforced/applied).
a. Referring to claims 9 and 13:
Regarding claims 9 and 13, Fridman teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising receiving the protection policy from network equipment in a path that the message takes from a source of the message to the destination of the message (Para 43…. domain policy mediation module).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 21-24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claims 21 and 23 recite the limitation of the protection policy indicating how to parse the content of the field, to identify the one or more portions to which the inter-domain security protection is to be applied or from which the inter- domain security protection is to be removed.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/IZUNNA OKEKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2497