Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Amendments and Arguments
Amendments and arguments provided on 03/13/2026 have been fully considered and are not found to place the application in a condition for allowance.
The applicant asserts that the newly amended limitations are not taught by Kwon or Brown. The applicant, however, provides no reasoning for such an assertion. Accordingly, the arguments are moot and the combination of Kwon in view of Brown is found to teach the limitations. The following Action provides further details.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon et al., US 2013/0128170 A1, hereinafter “Kwon”, in view of Brown Elliott et al., US 2010/0118045 A1, hereinafter “Brown”.
Regarding claim 1, Kwon teaches a display apparatus (fig. 2, DP, ¶ 22) comprising: a first display unit comprising a plurality of first pixels (fig. 2, PX, ¶ 25) and first light-blocking lines (fig. 4, BM, ¶ 38) that are, in a plan view, located only on a first direction side of each of pixels in odd-numbered columns among the plurality of first pixels (fig. 2, note the arrangement of the data lines; fig. 5, ¶ 38 wherein light blocking lines BM correspond to data lines which are provided on a right side of odd-column pixels), the first light-blocking lines extending in a second direction crossing a first direction (see fig. 2 arrangement of data lines), wherein the first direction side is a side in the first direction (fig. 2, see arrangement of data lines corresponding to BM), adjacent ones of the first light-blocking lines being separated by two columns of the first pixels (fig. 2, note that each data line includes a corresponding light blocking line and that two columns of pixels is arranged between two adjacent data lines); a first driving circuit electrically connected to first gate lines configured to provide a first gate signal to the pixels in the odd-numbered columns among the plurality of first pixels (fig. 7, see STG1 and other odd driving units STG; ¶ 46); and a second driving circuit electrically connected to second gate lines configured to provide a second gate signal to pixels in even-numbered columns among the plurality of first pixels (fig. 7, see STG2 and other even driving units STG; ¶ 46).
Kwon does not specifically teach that the plurality of first pixels comprise a plurality of first sub-pixels configured to emit first color light, a plurality of second sub-pixels configured to emit second color light, and a plurality of third sub-pixels configured to emit third color light, wherein the plurality of first sub-pixels are located in a third column and a fourth column, wherein, in the plan view, the plurality of second sub-pixels and the plurality of third sub-pixels are located in a first column and a second column, wherein a set of a pair of second sub-pixels among the plurality of second sub-pixels and a set of a pair of third sub-pixels among the plurality of third sub-pixels are alternately arranged in the second direction such that each pair of second sub-pixels is adjacent to two pairs of third sub-pixels along the second direction, wherein adjacent ones of the first light-blocking lines are separated by only two columns of the first sub-pixels or by only two columns of the second and third sub-pixels.
Brown, however, teaches that the plurality of first pixels comprise a plurality of first sub-pixels configured to emit first color light (fig. 23A, element 2312, ¶ 132), a plurality of second sub-pixels configured to emit second color light (fig. 23A, element 2316, ¶ 132), and a plurality of third sub-pixels configured to emit third color light (fig. 23A, element 2314, ¶ 132), wherein the plurality of first sub-pixels are located in a third column and a fourth column (see fig. 23A), wherein, in a plan view, the plurality of second sub-pixels and the plurality of third sub-pixels are located in a first column and a second column, and wherein a set of a pair of second sub-pixels among the plurality of second sub-pixels and a set of a pair of third sub-pixels among the plurality of third sub-pixels are alternately arranged in the second direction (see fig. 23A) such that each pair of second sub-pixels is adjacent to two pairs of third sub-pixels along the second direction (fig. 23A, see a pair of 2316 sub-pixels which is adjacent to two pairs of 2314 subpixels in the second direction).
Note that the combination of Kwon in view of Brown teaches that adjacent ones of the first light-blocking lines are separated by only two columns of the first sub-pixels or by only two columns of the second and third sub-pixels. Specifically, Kwon teaches that each data line covered by a corresponding light blocking line is disposed between pairs of pixels (see fig. 2, configuration of data lines D1-Dn). Brown teaches pairs of same-colored subpixels in fig. 23A. Accordingly, the combination of Kwon in view of Brown teaches that adjacent ones of the first light-blocking lines are separated by only two columns of the first sub-pixels or by only two columns of the second and third sub-pixels.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Kwon and Brown. Kwon teaches in ¶ 37 that different color pixels are provided on the display device and Brown further teaches different arrangements of such differently colored pixels. As such, one would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to appropriately arrange the different colored pixels.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon and Brown, as applied above, further in view of Kim, US 2007/0052658 A1, hereinafter “Kim”.
Regarding claim 3, Kwon and Brown do not specifically teach that the first driving circuit comprises a 1st-1st driving circuit arranged on the first direction side of the first display unit and a 1st-2nd driving circuit arranged on a third direction side of the first display unit, a third direction being opposite to the first direction, wherein the third direction side is a side in the third direction.
Kim teaches that the first driving circuit comprises a 1st-1st driving circuit (fig. 1, 400L, ¶ 47) arranged on a first direction side of the first display unit and a 1st-2nd driving circuit (fig. 1, 400R, ¶ 47) arranged on a third direction side of the first display unit, a third direction being opposite to the first direction, wherein the third direction side is a side in the third direction.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Kwon, Brown and Kim. The references teach gate driving units for driving odd and even pixels and while Kwon teaches that the driving units are arranged on one side of the display device, Kim teaches that the driving units are arranged on both sides of the display. As such, one would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to arrange the corresponding odd and even pixel driving units on either side of the display device expecting the same result of driving the corresponding pixels.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon and Brown, as applied above, further in view of Xiao et al., US 2023/0082085 A1, hereinafter “Xiao”.
Regarding claim 4, Kwon and Brown do not teach that in a cross-sectional view perpendicular to the second direction, the light-blocking lines have heights gradually decreasing in a third direction which is opposite to the first direction.
Xiao teaches that in a cross-sectional view perpendicular to the second direction, the light-blocking lines have heights gradually decreasing in a third direction which is opposite to the first direction (fig. 18, see light blocking lines 31-33, ¶ 76).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Kwon, Brown and Xiao. The references teach display devices including different pixel units including light blocking lines, and Xiao further teaches gradually changing the heights of such light blocking lines. One would have been motivated to make such a combination because Xiao teaches in ¶ 76 that based on such a configuration “the brightness difference caused by different viewing angles is reduced when viewing different display regions”.
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon and Brown, as applied above, further in view of Eom et al., US 2005/0285827 A1, hereinafter “Eom”.
Regarding claim 5, Kwon and Brown do not specifically teach a controller, wherein, based on a first control signal from the controller, the first driving circuit is configured to provide a turn-on signal to the first gate lines, and the second driving circuit is configured to provide a turn-off signal to the second gate lines.
Eom, however, teaches a controller (fig. 5, element 220, ¶ 104), wherein, based on a first control signal (fig. 9, SP2 high level signal) from the controller, the first driving circuit is configured to provide a turn-on signal to the first gate lines (fig. 9, E1[i] lines are turned on, also see fig. 3), and the second driving circuit is configured to provide a turn-off signal to the second gate lines (fig. 9, E2[i] lines are turned off, also see fig. 3, ¶ 108 and ¶ 111-115).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Kwon, Brown and Eom. The references teach display devices including pixels and pixel driving units. Eom further teaches that each pixel circuit may drive two light emitting units and teaches a method of driving such light emitting units wherein a leakage current is prevented from flowing to the light emitting elements. Accordingly, one would have been motivated to make such a combination expecting the same result of driving the display elements while simplifying the pixel circuit and achieving a high-quality light output by preventing current leakage.
Regarding claim 6, Kwon and Brown do not teach that based on a second control signal from the controller, the first driving circuit is configured to provide a turn-off signal to the first gate lines, and the second driving circuit is configured to provide a turn-on signal to the second gate lines.
Eom teaches that based on a second control signal (fig. 9, SP2 low level signal) from the controller, the first driving circuit is configured to provide a turn-off signal to the first gate lines (fig. 9, E1[i] lines are turned off during 2F, also see fig. 3), and the second driving circuit is configured to provide a turn-on signal to the second gate lines (fig. 9, E2[i] lines are turned on during 2F, also see fig. 3, ¶ 108 and ¶ 111-115).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Kwon, Brown and Eom. The references teach display devices including pixels and pixel driving units. Eom further teaches that each pixel circuit may drive two light emitting units and teaches a method of driving such light emitting units wherein a leakage current is prevented from flowing to the light emitting elements. Accordingly, one would have been motivated to make such a combination expecting the same result of driving the display elements while simplifying the pixel circuit and achieving a high-quality light output by preventing current leakage.
Regarding claim 7, Kwon and Brown do not teach that the first driving circuit and the second driving circuit comprise decoder-type driving circuits that individually drive the first gate lines and the second gate lines.
Eom, however, teaches that the first driving circuit and the second driving circuit comprise decoder-type driving circuits that individually drive the first gate lines and the second gate lines (fig. 8, note the decoder-type driving circuits wherein ER[1] is an input to FF22 and so on).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Kwon, Brown and Eom. The references teach display devices including pixels and pixel driving units. Eom further teaches that each pixel circuit may drive two light emitting units and teaches a method of driving such light emitting units wherein a leakage current is prevented from flowing to the light emitting elements. Accordingly, one would have been motivated to make such a combination expecting the same result of driving the display elements while simplifying the pixel circuit and achieving a high-quality light output by preventing current leakage.
Claims 8, 11-14, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon, Brown and Eom, as applied above, and further in view of Byoun et al., US 2021/0063783 A1, hereinafter “Byoun”.
Regarding claim 8, Kwon, Brown and Eom do not specifically teach a second display unit arranged on a side of the first display unit in the first direction and comprising a plurality of second pixels and second light-blocking lines that are, in the plan view, positioned only on a third direction side of each of pixels in even-numbered columns among the plurality of second pixels, a third direction being opposite to the first direction, the second light-blocking lines extending in the second direction, wherein the third direction side is a side in the third direction; a third driving circuit electrically connected to third gate lines that are configured to provide a third gate signal to pixels in the odd-numbered columns among the second pixels; and a fourth driving circuit electrically connected to fourth gate lines that are configured to provide a fourth gate signal to the pixels in the even-numbered columns among the plurality of second pixels.
Note that Kwon teaches a first display unit comprising a plurality of first pixels (fig. 2, PX, ¶ 25) and light-blocking lines (fig. 4, BM, ¶ 38) that are, in a plan view, located only on a first direction side of each of pixels of first pixels that are in odd-numbered columns (fig. 2, note the arrangement of the data lines; fig. 5, ¶ 38 wherein light blocking lines BM correspond to data lines), the light-blocking lines extending in a second direction crossing a first direction (see fig. 2 arrangement of data lines); a first driving circuit electrically connected to first gate lines configured to provide a first gate signal to the pixels of the first pixels that are in the odd-numbered columns (fig. 7, see STG1 and other odd driving units STG; ¶ 46); and a second driving circuit electrically connected to second gate lines configured to provide a second gate signal to pixels in even-numbered columns among the plurality of first pixels (fig. 7, see STG2 and other even driving units STG; ¶ 46).
Byoun further teaches a second display unit (fig. 1, element 130) arranged on a side of the first display unit in the first direction and comprising a plurality of second pixels (¶ 67-68).
A combination of Kwon in view of Byoun teaches the claim limitations wherein by configuring the display of Kwon as the second display unit of Byoun and rotated 180 degrees, the limitations of the claim are met. In other words, the combination of Kwon, Brown, and Eom, further in view of Byoun teaches a second display unit as claimed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Kwon, Brown and Eom, as applied above, further in view of Byoun in order to configure a second display device as claimed. The references teach display devices and Byoun further teaches the use of a plurality of display devices in a vehicle for a driver and at least a passenger. Accordingly, one would have been motivated to provide such a second display device in order to provide a passenger with appropriate image content thereby providing a pleasant riding experience for a passenger.
Regarding claim 11, Kwon, Brown and Eom do not teach that based on a third control signal from the controller, the third driving circuit is configured to provide a turn-off signal to the third gate lines, and the fourth driving circuit is configured to provide a turn-on signal to the fourth gate lines.
However, note that Eom teaches a controller (fig. 5, element 220, ¶ 104), wherein, based on a first control signal (fig. 9, SP2 high level signal) from the controller, the first driving circuit is configured to provide a turn-on signal to the first gate lines (fig. 9, E1[i] lines are turned on, also see fig. 3), and the second driving circuit is configured to provide a turn-off signal to the second gate lines (fig. 9, E2[i] lines are turned off, also see fig. 3, ¶ 108 and ¶ 111-115).
Byoun teaches a plurality of display devices in fig. 1.
Accordingly, a combination of Kwon, Brown, Eom, and Byoun meets the limitations of the claim. In other words, the combination of Kwon, Brown, Eom and Byoun teaches that based on a third control signal from the controller, the third driving circuit is configured to provide a turn-off signal to the third gate lines, and the fourth driving circuit is configured to provide a turn-on signal to the fourth gate lines.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Kwon, Brown and Eom, as applied above, further in view of Byoun in order to configure a second display device as claimed. The references teach display devices and Byoun further teaches the use of a plurality of display devices in a vehicle for a driver and at least a passenger. Accordingly, one would have been motivated to provide such a second display device in order to provide a passenger with appropriate image content thereby providing a pleasant riding experience for a passenger.
Regarding claim 12, Kwon, Brown and Eom do not teach that based on a fourth control signal from the controller, the third driving circuit is configured to provide a turn-on signal to the third gate lines, and the fourth driving circuit is configured to provide a turn-off signal to the fourth gate lines.
However, note that Eom teaches that based on a second control signal (fig. 9, SP2 low level signal) from the controller, the first driving circuit is configured to provide a turn-off signal to the first gate lines (fig. 9, E1[i] lines are turned off during 2F, also see fig. 3), and the second driving circuit is configured to provide a turn-on signal to the second gate lines (fig. 9, E2[i] lines are turned on during 2F, also see fig. 3, ¶ 108 and ¶ 111-115).
Byoun teaches a plurality of display devices in fig. 1.
Accordingly, a combination of Kwon, Brown, Eom and Byoun teaches that based on a fourth control signal from the controller, the third driving circuit is configured to provide a turn-on signal to the third gate lines, and the fourth driving circuit is configured to provide a turn-off signal to the fourth gate lines.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Kwon, Brown and Eom, as applied above, further in view of Byoun in order to configure a second display device as claimed. The references teach display devices and Byoun further teaches the use of a plurality of display devices in a vehicle for a driver and at least a passenger. Accordingly, one would have been motivated to provide such a second display device in order to provide a passenger with appropriate image content thereby providing a pleasant riding experience for a passenger.
Regarding claim 13, Kwon, Brown and Eom do not specifically teach that the third driving circuit and the fourth driving circuit comprise decoder-type driving circuits that individually drive the third gate lines and the fourth gate lines.
Note that Eom, however, teaches that the first driving circuit and the second driving circuit comprise decoder-type driving circuits that individually drive the first gate lines and the second gate lines (fig. 8, note the decoder-type driving circuits wherein ER[1] is an input to FF22 and so on).
Byoun teaches a plurality of display devices in fig. 1.
Accordingly, a combination of Kwon, Brown, Eom and Byoun teaches that the first driving circuit and the second driving circuit comprise decoder-type driving circuits that individually drive the first gate lines and the second gate lines.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Kwon, Brown and Eom, as applied above, further in view of Byoun in order to configure a second display device as claimed. The references teach display devices and Byoun further teaches the use of a plurality of display devices in a vehicle for a driver and at least a passenger. Accordingly, one would have been motivated to provide such a second display device in order to provide a passenger with appropriate image content thereby providing a pleasant riding experience for a passenger.
Regarding claim 14, Kwon, Brown and Eom do not teach a third display unit arranged between the first display unit and the second display unit and comprising a plurality of third pixels; and a fifth driving circuit arranged on an edge of the third display unit in a direction towards the first display unit or the second display unit, the fifth driving circuit being connected to fifth gate lines configured to provide a fifth gate signal to the plurality of third pixels.
Byoun teaches a third display unit (fig. 1, element 140, ¶ 65) arranged between the first display unit and the second display unit and comprising a plurality of third pixels.
Kwon teaches that the display unit includes a driving circuit (fig. 1, element 200) arranged on an edge of the display unit in a direction towards the first display unit or the second display unit (see fig. 1), the driving circuit being connected to gate lines configured to provide a gate signal to the plurality of pixels (¶ 79; fig. 7, G1-G2n).
Accordingly, a combination of Kwon, Brown, Eom and Byoun teaches a third display unit arranged between the first display unit and the second display unit and comprising a plurality of third pixels; and a fifth driving circuit arranged on an edge of the third display unit in a direction towards the first display unit or the second display unit, the fifth driving circuit being connected to fifth gate lines configured to provide a fifth gate signal to the plurality of third pixels.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Kwon, Brown and Eom, as applied above, further in view of Byoun in order to configure a third display device as claimed. The references teach display devices and Byoun further teaches the use of a plurality of display devices in a vehicle for a driver and at least a passenger. Accordingly, one would have been motivated to provide such a third display device in order to provide a passenger and or a driver with appropriate image content thereby providing a pleasant riding experience for a driver and at least a passenger.
Regarding claim 17, Kwon, Brown, and Eom do not teach a vehicle comprising the display apparatus of claim 14.
Byoun teaches a vehicle comprising the display apparatus of claim 14 (fig. 1, ¶ 63).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Kwon, Brown, and Eom, as applied above, further in view of Byoun in order to configure a third display device as claimed. The references teach display devices and Byoun further teaches the use of a plurality of display devices in a vehicle for a driver and at least a passenger. Accordingly, one would have been motivated to provide such display devices in order to provide a passenger and or a driver with appropriate image content thereby providing a pleasant riding experience for the driver and at least a passenger.
Regarding claim 18, Kwon, Brown and Eom do not teach that the first display unit is arranged on a passenger side dashboard.
Byoun teaches that the first display unit is arranged on a passenger side dashboard (fig. 1, first display unit 150, ¶ 66-67).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Kwon, Brown, and Eom, as applied above, further in view of Byoun in order to configure a third display device as claimed. The references teach display devices and Byoun further teaches the use of a plurality of display devices in a vehicle for a driver and at least a passenger. Accordingly, one would have been motivated to provide such display devices in order to provide a passenger and or a driver with appropriate image content thereby providing a pleasant riding experience for the driver and at least a passenger.
Regarding claim 19, Kwon, Brown, and Eom do not teach that the second display unit is arranged on a cluster in a driver's seat.
Byoun teaches that the second display unit is arranged on a cluster in a driver's seat (fig. 1, display 130, ¶ 64).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Kwon, Brown, and Eom, as applied above, further in view of Byoun in order to configure a third display device as claimed. The references teach display devices and Byoun further teaches the use of a plurality of display devices in a vehicle for a driver and at least a passenger. Accordingly, one would have been motivated to provide such display devices in order to provide a passenger and or a driver with appropriate image content thereby providing a pleasant riding experience for the driver and at least a passenger.
Regarding claim 20, Kwon, Brown and Eom do not teach that the third display unit is arranged between the passenger side dashboard and the cluster in the driver's seat.
Byoun teaches that the third display unit is arranged between the passenger side dashboard and the cluster in the driver's seat (fig. 1, ¶ 65, element 140).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Kwon, Brown and Eom, as applied above, further in view of Byoun in order to configure a third display device as claimed. The references teach display devices and Byoun further teaches the use of a plurality of display devices in a vehicle for a driver and at least a passenger. Accordingly, one would have been motivated to provide such display devices in order to provide a passenger and or a driver with appropriate image content thereby providing a pleasant riding experience for the driver and at least a passenger.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon, Brown, Eom and Byoun, as applied above, and further in view of Kim.
Regarding claim 9, Kwon, Brown, and Eom do not teach that the third driving circuit comprises a 3rd-1st driving circuit arranged on the first direction side of the second display unit and a 3rd-2nd driving circuit arranged on the third direction side of the second display unit.
Byoun teaches a plurality of display devices in fig. 1.
Kim further teaches that a driving circuit comprises a 1st-1st driving circuit (fig. 1, 400L, ¶ 47) arranged on a first direction side of the first display unit and a 1st-2nd driving circuit (fig. 1, 400R, ¶ 47) arranged on a third direction side of the first display unit.
Accordingly, a combination of Kwon, Brown, Eom, Byoun and Kim teaches that the third driving circuit comprises a 3rd-1st driving circuit arranged on a first direction side of the second display unit and a 3rd-2nd driving circuit arranged on the third direction side of the second display unit.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Kwon, Brown, Eom, and Byoun, as applied above, further in view of Kim in order to configure a second display device as claimed. The references teach gate driving units for driving odd and even pixels and while Kwon teaches that the driving units are arranged on one side of the display device, Kim teaches that the driving units are arranged on both sides of the display. As such, one would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to arrange the corresponding odd and even pixel driving units on either side of the plurality of display devices expecting the same result of driving the corresponding pixels.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon, Brown, Eom and Byoun, as applied above, and further in view of Xiao.
Regarding claim 10, Kwon, Brown and Eom do not teach that in a cross-sectional view perpendicular to the second direction, the second light-blocking lines have heights gradually increasing in the third direction.
Byoun teaches a plurality of display devices in fig. 1.
Xiao further teaches that in a cross-sectional view perpendicular to the second direction, the light-blocking lines have heights gradually decreasing in a third direction which is opposite to the first direction (fig. 18, see light blocking lines 31-33, ¶ 76).
Accordingly, a combination of Kwon, Brown, Eom, Byoun and Xiao teaches that in a cross-sectional view perpendicular to the second direction, the second light-blocking lines have heights gradually increasing in the third direction.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Kwon, Brown, Eom, and Byoun, as applied above, further in view of Xiao in order to configure a second display device as claimed. The references teach display devices and Byoun further teaches the use of a plurality of display devices in a vehicle for a driver and at least a passenger. Accordingly, one would have been motivated to provide such a second display device in order to provide a passenger with appropriate image content thereby providing a pleasant riding experience for a passenger. Xiao further teaches gradually changing the heights of such light blocking lines. Accordingly, one would have been motivated to make such a combination because Xiao teaches in ¶ 76 that “the brightness difference caused by different viewing angles is reduced when viewing different display regions”.
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon and Brown, as applied above, further in view of Byoun.
Regarding claim 15, Kwon and Brown do not teach a vehicle comprising the display apparatus of claim 1.
Byoun, however, teaches a vehicle comprising the display apparatus of claim 1 (fig. 1, ¶ 63).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Kwon, Brown and Byoun. The references teach display devices and Byoun further teaches the use of a plurality of display devices in a vehicle for a driver and at least a passenger. Accordingly, one would have been motivated to provide such display devices in order to provide a passenger and or a driver with appropriate image content thereby providing a pleasant riding experience for the driver and at least a passenger.
Regarding claim 16, Kwon and Brown do not teach that the first display unit is arranged on a passenger side dashboard.
Byoun, however, teaches that the first display unit is arranged on a passenger side dashboard (fig. 1, first display unit 150, ¶ 66-67).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Kwon, Brown and Byoun. The references teach display devices and Byoun further teaches the use of a plurality of display devices in a vehicle for a driver and at least a passenger. Accordingly, one would have been motivated to provide such display devices in order to provide a passenger and or a driver with appropriate image content thereby providing a pleasant riding experience for the driver and at least a passenger.
Conclusion
/SEPEHR AZARI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621