DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to Applicant’s communication filed on 1/22/25, wherein:
Claims 27-46 are currently pending;
Claims 1-26 have been cancelled;
Claims 27-46 have been added.
Double Patenting
Claims 27, 37, 46 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 10-11, 17-18 of U.S. Patent No. (US 12,194,635). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claims 27, 37, 46 of the copending and claims 1, 10-11, 17-18 of the US Patent (US 12,194,635) show e.g. provide one or more weights associated with a plurality of joint state estimates of the plurality of joints based on one or more weighting scheme parameters associated with the robotic manipulator; wherein the weights are provided to reduce vibrations at a control point; apply the one or more weights to the joint state estimates for the plurality of joints to generate a plurality of weighted joint state estimates; and control the plurality of joints based on the plurality of weighted joint state estimates.
Although claims 1, 10-11, 17-18 of US Patent No. (US 12,194,635) have additional features. However, it has been held that deleting elements when the function of element is not desired is obvious. See MPEP 2144.04 Section II. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify or to omit the additional elements of claims 1, 10-11, 17-18 of the US Patent No. US 12,194,635 to arrive at the claims 27, 37, 46 of the copending because the person would have realized that the remaining element would perform the same functions as before. “Omission of element and its function in combination is obvious expedient if the remaining elements perform same functions as before.” See In re Karlson (CCPA) 136 USPQ 184, decide Jan 16, 1963, Appl. No. 6857, U. S. Court of Customs and Patent Appeals.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 27-30, 32, 34-35, 37-40, 42, 44-46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by HOURTASH ET AL (US 2014/0316431) from Applicant’s IDS filed on 7/29/25. Herein after HOURTASH.
As for claim 27, HOURTASH discloses a system comprising: a robotic manipulator including a plurality of joints :see at least figures 1A, 5A-5C}; and a processing unit including one or more processors {see at least figures 1B, 2-3}, the processing unit configured to:
provide one or more weights associated with a plurality of joint state estimates of the plurality of joints based on one or more weighting scheme parameters associated with the robotic manipulator; wherein the weights are provided to reduce vibrations at a control point; apply the one or more weights to the joint state estimates for the plurality of joints to generate a plurality of weighted joint state estimates;
{see at least abstract, figures 14, 16-17, pars. 0013-0014, 0049, 0083-0086 , 0096 which discloses determine weighted join velocities (interpreted to be weighted joint state estimated) using a weighting matrix in a join space (interpreted to be weighting scheme parameter).
For example, par. 0013 discloses “determining weighted joint velocities by calculating joint velocities within a null-perpendicular-space of a Jacobian matrix and adjusting the calculated joint velocities within a null-space of the Jacobian by applying a weighting within a joint space of the plurality of joints, the weighting corresponding to a desired movement for a first set of joints of the plurality of joints; par. 0072 discloses the reducing the vibration/collision}
Pars. 0049 discloses e.g., “the joint velocities are weighted in a joint space to emphasize motion of the joints anisotropically in a null-space direction, the weighting corresponding to a desired state or movement of a first set of joints, such that driving the joints according to the weighted joint velocities achieves the commanded movement while providing the desired movement of the first set of joints”
Par. 0096 discloses e.g., “determining weighted joint velocities using a weighting matrix that corresponds to a desired movement of a first set of joints in response to a manipulation command input by a user to move the end effector according to a desired end effector movement”;
control the plurality of joints based on the plurality of weighted joint state estimates
{see at least figures 16-17, pars. 0013, 0096 e.g. driving the joints according to the weighted joint velocities so as to effect the desired end effector movement and the desired movement of the first set of joints}.
As for claim 28, HOURTASH discloses, wherein the robotic manipulator is configured to control of motion of a tool connected to the robotic manipulator by pivoting the tool about the control point {see at least figure 6C, pars. 0010, 0049, 0064}
As for claim 29, HOURTASH discloses wherein the control point includes a tool tip or a remote center {see at least figure 6C, pars. 0049, 0088}.
As for claim 30, HOURTASH discloses wherein a first weight of the one or more weights is determined based on a first distance between a first joint of the plurality of joints and the control point {see at least par. 0020, 0049}.
As for claims 32, 34, HOURTASH discloses wherein a first weight of the one or more weights is determined based on a first joint inertia of a first joint of the plurality of joints, wherein the first joint inertia includes a total inertia of the robotic manipulator distal to the first joint, or wherein the first joint inertia includes reflected motor inertia associated with the first joint. {see at least figure 5A, pars. 0013-0014, 0049, 0083}
As for claim 35, HOURTASH discloses wherein a first weight of the one or more weights is determined based on a first physical compliance of a first joint of the plurality of joints {see at least pars. 0013-0014, 0049}.
As for claims 37-40, 42, 44, 45 and 46, the limitations of these claims have been noted in the rejection above. They are therefore rejected for the same reason sets forth above.
Claims 31, 33, 36, 41, 43 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Malackowski et al (US 2015/0374446): System and method for controlling a surgical manipulator based on implant parameters.
Diolaiti (US 12,446,977): Secondary instrument control in a computer assisted teleoperated system.
Dariush (US 2005/0209536): System and method of estimating joint loads using an approach of closed form dynamics.
Kamikawa (US 11,229,498): Medical support arm apparatus, medical system, and surgical microscope system.
Cooper (US 2007/0156122): a linkage and a balancing mechanism coupled to the linkage around a pivotal joint. The linkage couples to a support structure at a first end and support a weight applied to a second end.
/KIRA NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3656