DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huebner (US 2012/0262580 A1) in view of Liu (US 2004/0001146 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Huebner discloses a video display device (Huebner teaches a video display device (Huebner abstract, fig. 1)) comprising:
a camera with a wide-angle lens configured to capture a two-dimensional wide-angle video around a vehicle (Huebner teaches a surround view system for a vehicle using multiple cameras with fisheye/wide-angle lenses. Huebner states that the surround view system can utilize fisheye cameras having a horizontal opening angle >170° and that the cameras can include image recording devices combined with a wide-angle lens, such as a fisheye lens; and further describes cameras positioned around a vehicle generating image data used for surround view generation (Huebner [0021], [0028]).);
a sensor configured to measure a distance to an object in a real space around the vehicle (Huebner explicitly teaches a sensor that gathers distance information of objects located in the vehicle’s surroundings, including receiving distance information from a 3D sensor such as a PMD-sensor, and also teaches sensors measuring distance such as PMD-sensor, ultrasonic sensor, radar sensor (Huebner [0026], [0028]).);
a controller connected to the camera and the sensor (Huebner teaches an image processing device/processing device that receives image data from the cameras and includes an interface that receives signals from distance sensors (Huebner [0028]).); and
a display device configured to display video based on signals output from the controller (Huebner teaches that the processing device generates the surround view that “can be displayed on a display,” i.e., a display driven by the processing device output (Huebner [0028]).), wherein the controller calculates a position of the object in the wide-angle video captured by the camera based on the distance to the object in the real space measured by the sensor (Huebner teaches using received distance information of objects in the surroundings so that the processing device “can then render the objects in the surround view in a location representative of an actual location with respect to the vehicle,” which is a disclosure of determining/deriving an object’s location/position in the generated view based on measured distance (Huebner [0026]). Additionally, Huebner teaches that additional sensors can be used to “correct positions…of objects…to more accurately reflect spatial realities” (Huebner [0037]).).
However, Huebner does not expressly disclose corrects a distortion of the wide-angle video so that the calculated position of the object in the wide-angle video becomes horizontal on a screen of the display device. Specifically, Huebner teaches that wide-angle lenses generate distorted images and that the system may use additional sensors to “correct positions and distortions of objects…to more accurately reflect spatial realities” (Huebner [0028], [0037]), but does not provide the specific technique for horizontal distortion correction.
In an analogous art, Liu discloses a real-time wide-angle image correction system and method that generates a warp table from pixel coordinates of a wide-angle image and applies the warp table to the wide-angle image to create a corrected wide-angle image (Liu abstract, [0012]). Liu further discloses performing vertical and horizontal scaling using parametric warping functions to produce a preliminary warp table, and then performing a “horizontal distortion correction” on the preliminary warp table to correct for distortion affecting horizontal content (Liu [0012]). Liu expressly explains that the warping approach maintains vertical lines as vertical but causes “slanting and distorted horizontal lines,” and therefore performs horizontal distortion correction to correct the wide-angle image for horizontal distortion and produce a distortion-free corrected wide-angle image (Liu [0066]–[0068]). Liu further discloses a horizontal distortion correction module that outputs a warp table mapping corrected image pixel coordinates to original wide-angle image pixel coordinates (Liu [0058]–[0062]). Accordingly, Liu teaches correcting distortion of a wide-angle image via warp-table based processing including explicit horizontal distortion correction, thereby providing the technique for correcting distortion such that displayed content at the corrected location is horizontally aligned (i.e., not slanted/curved by horizontal distortion).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huebner’s surround view system to implement distortion correction using Liu’s warp-table based wide-angle correction, including Liu’s horizontal distortion correction, because Huebner employs wide-angle/fisheye cameras that generate distorted imagery and expressly teaches correcting positions and distortions of objects to reflect spatial realities (Huebner [0028], [0037]), while Liu provides a known, real-time technique for correcting wide-angle distortion—specifically correcting horizontal distortion artifacts introduced by wide-angle warping—using a warp table (Liu [0012], [0058]–[0062], [0066]–[0068]). Incorporating Liu’s horizontal distortion correction into Huebner’s processing would have been a predictable use of known image correction techniques to improve the fidelity/interpretability of the displayed surround view, including at/around the object location determined using distance information.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huebner (US 2012/0262580 A1) in view of Liu (US 2004/0001146 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gupta (US 2015/0049193 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Huebner in view of Liu discloses the video display device according to claim 1, but does not expressly disclose wherein the controller determines whether the object exists around the vehicle and corrects the distortion of the wide-angle video so that a predetermined position in the wide-angle video becomes horizontal on the screen of the display device when the object does not exist around the vehicle.
In an analogous art, Gupta teaches a vehicular camera system in which a controller (processor) determines whether an object/feature is detected in an overlapping region and compares the detected pixel position to an expected/predetermined pixel position. Gupta further teaches that if the object is not detected at the predicted/expected pixels (i.e., the cue object/feature is absent/not found as expected), the system adjusts/shifts image processing to accommodate the condition (Gupta [0008], [0011], [0150]–[0153]). Gupta also teaches a predetermined reference condition that is horizontal, namely that when properly calibrated a vanishing line is “perfectly horizontal” and located at a preordained vertical pixel height, and that processing may be shifted/re-centered relative to expected pixel locations (Gupta [0072]–[0073], [0148]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huebner's (as modified by Liu) distortion-correction controller to first determine whether an object/feature is present (i.e., exists) in the relevant surrounding scene portion (around the vehicle), and when the object/feature is not present/not detected, to perform the distortion correction using a predetermined/expected reference position as the horizontal alignment basis (i.e., relying on the preordained/expected reference when an object-based cue is unavailable), as taught by Gupta’s use of expected/predetermined pixel locations and preordained pixel positions for calibration/alignment, including a predetermined horizontal reference condition in which the vanishing line is perfectly horizontal at a preordained vertical pixel height (Gupta [0072]–[0073], [0148], [0150]–[0153]). This yields the predictable result of maintaining a stable horizontal dewarping/alignment reference when an object-based cue is unavailable, improving robustness of distortion correction under varying scene conditions.
Conclusion
/RAJSHEED O BLACK-CHILDRESS/Examiner, Art Unit 2685