DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
After reviewing amendments, drawing objection is maintained since process 200 with an arrow is not shown in Fig 2 on the replacement sheet meaning numeral 200 identifying the process illustrated at FIG. 2 has not been added. Objection to specification is withdrawn in view of amendments. Claim objections are withdrawn in view of amendments. Applicant argues on page 11 of the Applicant’s Remarks that “Absent from this, however, is any indication that the particular duty cycle selected for pre-heating is dependent on the difference between the temperature of the sensing element and the target temperature.”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Ives discloses that the magnitude of the duty cycle runs between 0% to 100% for the oxygen sensor to reach the predetermined target temperature which is construed as the magnitude of the duty cycle being dependent on a difference between the temperature of the sensing element and the target temperature (Para [0018]). It is implicitly disclosed in Ives that in order to maintain the 02 sensor 160, 162 at the predetermined target temperature, the temperature of the sensing element and the target temperature needs to be compared to indicate the difference between them and the duty cycle runs between 0% to 100% depending on the difference. Ives depends on Furtner in the rejection for the teachings of the new claims 21 and 22. Therefore, Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-6, 8-17, 19-22 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive or moot in view of new ground of rejection provided below which was necessitated based on Applicant’s amendments to the claims.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because process 200 disclosed in Para [0039], [0047], [0048], [0050], [0051], [0052], [0053], and [0054] of the Specification is not shown in Fig. 2. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-6, 8-13, 15-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ives et al. (US 20250179968 A1) (Hereinafter Ives) in view of Jin et al. (US 20230146868 A1) (Hereinafter Jin).
Regarding Claim 1, Ives teaches a vehicle comprising:
at least a first oxygen sensor, the first oxygen sensor comprising a sensing element and a heating element (See at least Para [0005] “In addition to the foregoing, the described control system may include one or more of the following features: wherein the controller is programmed to initiate the closed loop feedback fuel control as soon as the engine is turned on, without performing an open loop fuel control; wherein the closed loop feedback fuel control includes a targeted fuel-air ratio; wherein the at least one O2 sensor includes a heating element configured to heat the at least one O2 sensor; wherein the at least one O2 sensor includes a first O2 sensor and a second O2 sensor;…”, Para [0018] “In the example embodiment, each O2 sensor 160, 162 includes a heating element 164 (e.g., a resistor) configured to heat the O2 sensor 160, 162 during cold start or cold ambient conditions. The O2 sensor 160, 162 is heated to a predetermined target temperature (e.g., ˜700° C.) in order to enable/provide proper sensor feedback to controller 110 for closed loop fueling control of engine 106. For example, the O2 sensor may be calibrated to be accurate within a tight temperature tolerance since temperature of the O2 sensor affects the concentration and diffusion rate of the oxygen within the sensing element...”);
an electric energy storage system (See at least Para [0014] “Referring now to FIG. 1, a schematic diagram of an example plug-in hybrid electric vehicle (PHEV) 100 is illustrated having a hybrid powertrain 102 and a powertrain control system 104 according to example implementations of the disclosure. In the illustrated example, the powertrain 102 generally includes an internal combustion engine 106 and one or more electric drive modules (EDM) 108 to provide drive torque to the PHEV 100. The hybrid powertrain 102 is controlled by the powertrain control system 104, which generally includes one or more controllers 110, such as a hybrid control processor (HCP) and/or engine control unit (ECU). The controller 110 is a central supervisory control configured to communicate with various components/modules of the hybrid powertrain 102 via a CAN bus 112. The EDM(s) 108, which include an electric traction motor, are powered by a high voltage battery (not shown) to selectively provide drive torque to the vehicle wheels.”);
an internal combustion engine (See at least Para [0014] “Referring now to FIG. 1, a schematic diagram of an example plug-in hybrid electric vehicle (PHEV) 100 is illustrated having a hybrid powertrain 102 and a powertrain control system 104 according to example implementations of the disclosure. In the illustrated example, the powertrain 102 generally includes an internal combustion engine 106 and one or more electric drive modules (EDM) 108 to provide drive torque to the PHEV 100. The hybrid powertrain 102 is controlled by the powertrain control system 104, which generally includes one or more controllers 110, such as a hybrid control processor (HCP) and/or engine control unit (ECU). The controller 110 is a central supervisory control configured to communicate with various components/modules of the hybrid powertrain 102 via a CAN bus 112. The EDM(s) 108, which include an electric traction motor, are powered by a high voltage battery (not shown) to selectively provide drive torque to the vehicle wheels.”);
a controller controllably coupled to the electric energy storage system, the internal combustion engine (See at least Para [0014] “Referring now to FIG. 1, a schematic diagram of an example plug-in hybrid electric vehicle (PHEV) 100 is illustrated having a hybrid powertrain 102 and a powertrain control system 104 according to example implementations of the disclosure. In the illustrated example, the powertrain 102 generally includes an internal combustion engine 106 and one or more electric drive modules (EDM) 108 to provide drive torque to the PHEV 100. The hybrid powertrain 102 is controlled by the powertrain control system 104, which generally includes one or more controllers 110, such as a hybrid control processor (HCP) and/or engine control unit (ECU). The controller 110 is a central supervisory control configured to communicate with various components/modules of the hybrid powertrain 102 via a CAN bus 112. The EDM(s) 108, which include an electric traction motor, are powered by a high voltage battery (not shown) to selectively provide drive torque to the vehicle wheels.”) and in communication with the at least a first oxygen sensor, the controller including an oxygen sensor awakening module configured to respond to the controller … by comparing a temperature of the sensing element of the first oxygen sensor to a target temperature and heating the sensing element until the sensing element is at least the target temperature when the heating element is below the target temperature by providing power to the heater according to a duty cycle, and wherein a magnitude of the duty cycle is dependent on a difference between the temperature of the sensing element and the target temperature (See at least Para [0018] “…Accordingly, if the O2 sensor 160, 162 has not reached the predetermined target temperature, it may be inaccurate or unusable. In one example, controller 110 selectively provides power (e.g., 12V) to the heating element 164 for a duty cycle between 0% and 100% to maintain the O2 sensor 160, 162 at the predetermined target temperature for closed loop operation. In one example, such as during humid or cold conditions, the duty cycle of heating element 164 is lowered (e.g., 50%) to evaporate any condensate on the O2 sensor before operating at 100% duty cycle.”, discloses how the magnitude of the duty cycle runs between 0% to 100% for the oxygen sensor to reach the predetermined target temperature which is construed as the magnitude of the duty cycle being dependent on a difference between the temperature of the sensing element and the target temperature, Para [0021]) and starting the internal combustion engine subsequent to heating the sensing element (See at least Fig 2, Para [0022] “At step 210, control monitors O2 sensors 160, 162 to determine if they have reached the predetermined target temperature such that they are ready for feedback control. For example, control monitors the resistance of O2 sensors 160, 162 to determine if the measured resistance exceeds a predetermined threshold or is within a predetermined range indicating the O2 sensor 160, 162 has reached the predetermined temperature for closed loop feedback control. If no, control returns to step 208. If yes, at step 212, once the engine 106 is turned on, control proceeds directly to closed loop feedback fuel control without having to heat the O2 sensors 160, 162 to the predetermined target temperature or perform an open loop fuel control. Control then ends and is repeated on a cold start.”, Para [0024] “Described herein are systems and methods for reducing exhaust emissions during a cold start of a hybrid electric vehicle. When the vehicle is started and the propulsion system is active for EV mode driving (engine OFF), the system immediately enables the O2 sensor heating. This in turn enables the system to immediately begin closed loop fueling control with a targeted fuel-air ratio when the engine is turned on, which obviates the need for open loop fueling control and dependency on airflow model accuracy. As a result, fuel variations are reduced, thereby leading to reduced tailpipe emissions (e.g., HC, NOx).”).
However, Ives does not explicitly spell out … receiving a prestart notification indicative of an imminent internal combustion engine start …
Jin teaches … receiving a prestart notification indicative of an imminent internal combustion engine start (See at least Para [0015] “The present disclosure provides an electric vehicle state control device, which has states for operation safety related to parking/stopping, the states including a key-on state in which a throttle is inactivated, a startup state in which the throttle is activated, and a traveling state, the electric vehicle state control device including: a driving parameter confirmation unit configured to collect measured values of parameters related to traveling of the electric vehicle; a driving state determination/transition unit configured to determine a driving state of the electric vehicle based on the measured values of the parameters related to the traveling; and a driver notification unit configured to intuitively notify a driver of the determined driving state of the electric vehicle.”, Para [0024] “Another embodiment of the present disclosure provides an electric vehicle state notification method of notifying a driver of a state of an electric vehicle to safely operate the electric vehicle, the electric vehicle state notification method including: collecting measured values of parameters related to traveling of the electric vehicle; determining a driving state of the electric vehicle based on the collected measured values of the parameters related to the traveling; and intuitively notifying the driver of the determined driving state of the electric vehicle, in which the driving state is divided into a key-on state in which a throttle is inactivated, a startup state in which the throttle is activated, and a traveling state.”)…
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Ives with the teachings of Jin and include the feature of receiving a prestart notification indicative of an imminent internal combustion engine start, thereby enhance safety by providing notification to the controller regarding the state of the vehicle which will lead to action taken accordingly (See at least Para [0015] “The present disclosure provides an electric vehicle state control device, which has states for operation safety related to parking/stopping, the states including a key-on state in which a throttle is inactivated, a startup state in which the throttle is activated, and a traveling state…”).
Regarding Claim 2, modified Ives teaches all the elements of claim 1. Ives further teaches the vehicle of claim 1, wherein the at least a first oxygen sensor includes a second oxygen sensor, and wherein the oxygen sensor awakening module controls the first oxygen sensor and the second oxygen sensor (See at least Para [0005] “In addition to the foregoing, the described control system may include one or more of the following features: wherein the controller is programmed to initiate the closed loop feedback fuel control as soon as the engine is turned on, without performing an open loop fuel control; wherein the closed loop feedback fuel control includes a targeted fuel-air ratio; wherein the at least one O2 sensor includes a heating element configured to heat the at least one O2 sensor; wherein the at least one O2 sensor includes a first O2 sensor and a second O2 sensor; …”).
Regarding Claim 4, modified Ives teaches all the elements of claim 1.
However, Ives does not explicitly spell out the vehicle of claim 1, wherein the prestart
notification is a token object entering a predefined proximity of the vehicle.
Jin teaches the vehicle of claim 1, wherein the prestart notification is a token object entering a
predefined proximity of the vehicle (See at least Para [0015] “The present disclosure provides an electric vehicle state control device, which has states for operation safety related to parking/stopping, the states including a key-on state in which a throttle is inactivated, a startup state in which the throttle is activated, and a traveling state, …”, Para [0024] “Another embodiment of the present disclosure provides an electric vehicle state notification method of notifying a driver of a state of an electric vehicle to safely operate the electric vehicle, the electric vehicle state notification method including: collecting measured values of parameters related to traveling of the electric vehicle; determining a driving state of the electric vehicle based on the collected measured values of the parameters related to the traveling; and intuitively notifying the driver of the determined driving state of the electric vehicle, in which the driving state is divided into a key-on state in which a throttle is inactivated, a startup state in which the throttle is activated, and a traveling state.”)…
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Ives with the teachings of Jin and include the feature of prestart notification being a token object entering a predefined proximity of the vehicle, thereby enhance safety by providing notification to the user regarding the state of the vehicle which will lead to action taken accordingly (See at least Para [0015] “The present disclosure provides an electric vehicle state control device, which has states for operation safety related to parking/stopping, the states including a key-on state in which a throttle is inactivated, a startup state in which the throttle is activated, and a traveling state…”).
Regarding Claim 5, modified Ives teaches all the elements of claim 1.
However, Ives does not explicitly spell out the vehicle of claim 1, wherein the prestart
notification is engagement of at least one vehicle system by an operator.
Jin teaches the vehicle of claim 1, wherein the prestart notification is engagement of at least
one vehicle system by an operator (See at least Para [0024] “Another embodiment of the present disclosure provides an electric vehicle state notification method of notifying a driver of a state of an electric vehicle to safely operate the electric vehicle, the electric vehicle state notification method including: collecting measured values of parameters related to traveling of the electric vehicle; determining a driving state of the electric vehicle based on the collected measured values of the parameters related to the traveling; and intuitively notifying the driver of the determined driving state of the electric vehicle, in which the driving state is divided into a key-on state in which a throttle is inactivated, a startup state in which the throttle is activated, and a traveling state.”)…
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Ives with the teachings of Jin and include the feature of prestart notification being engagement of at least one vehicle system by an operator, thereby enhance safety by providing notification to the user regarding the state of the vehicle which will help the operator take action accordingly (See at least Para [0015] “The present disclosure provides an electric vehicle state control device, which has states for operation safety related to parking/stopping, the states including a key-on state in which a throttle is inactivated, a startup state in which the throttle is activated, and a traveling state…”).
Regarding Claim 6, modified Ives teaches all the elements of claim 1. Ives further teaches vehicle of claim 1, wherein starting the internal combustion engine subsequent to heating the sensing element to the threshold temperature comprises starting the internal combustion engine in a closed-loop fuel control (See at least Para [0013] “Accordingly, the systems and methods described herein provide O2 sensor heater control for hybrid vehicles, which is configured to enable closed loop fueling operation for improved emissions during engine starts. The heater control logic enables the O2 sensor heaters once the vehicle propulsion system is Active to ensure closed loop operation is enabled and immediately available once the engine is cold started. This allows the use of a targeted fuel-air ratio to be used for closed loop fueling control, which reduces the dependency of the airflow model accuracy reducing variations in fueling and tailpipe emissions. As such, rather than requiring an open loop fuel control operation while the O2 sensors warm up, the system described herein activates the O2 sensor heaters as soon as the propulsion system is active such that the O2 sensors are ready for closed loop operation immediately upon engine start.”, Para [0018] “In the example embodiment, each O2 sensor 160, 162 includes a heating element 164 (e.g., a resistor) configured to heat the O2 sensor 160, 162 during cold start or cold ambient conditions. The O2 sensor 160, 162 is heated to a predetermined target temperature (e.g., ˜700° C.) in order to enable/provide proper sensor feedback to controller 110 for closed loop fueling control of engine 106…”, Para [0022] “At step 210, control monitors O2 sensors 160, 162 to determine if they have reached the predetermined target temperature such that they are ready for feedback control. For example, control monitors the resistance of O2 sensors 160, 162 to determine if the measured resistance exceeds a predetermined threshold or is within a predetermined range indicating the O2 sensor 160, 162 has reached the predetermined temperature for closed loop feedback control. If no, control returns to step 208. If yes, at step 212, once the engine 106 is turned on, control proceeds directly to closed loop feedback fuel control without having to heat the O2 sensors 160, 162 to the predetermined target temperature or perform an open loop fuel control. Control then ends and is repeated on a cold start.”).
Regarding Claim 8, modified Ives teaches all the elements of claim 1. Ives further teaches the vehicle of claim 1, wherein the target temperature is a dew point of the sensing element (See at least Para [0021] “… At step 208, control initiates an O2 sensor heating mode to operate heating element 164 to thereby heat O2 sensors 160, 162 to the predetermined target temperature for closed loop operation. At step 209, control performs a dewpoint protection, if necessary, to evaporate any water/condensation formed on the O2 sensors 160, 162. This is done by lowering the heating element duty cycle (e.g., to 50%) for a predetermined time period, for example, when vehicle sensors (not shown) indicate a particular temperature (e.g., below 50° F.), humidity, or other suitable condition indicating the presence of water/condensate.”).
Regarding Claim 9, modified Ives teaches all the elements of claim 1. Ives further teaches the vehicle of claim 1, wherein comparing the temperature of the sensing element of the first oxygen sensor to the target temperature is continuously performed until the internal combustion engine is started and wherein the duty cycle is adjusted based on a current difference between the temperature of the sensing element and the target temperature (See at least Fig 2 shows that the temperature of the sensing element of the first oxygen sensor to the target temperature is continuously performed until the internal combustion engine is started, Para [0018] “… In one example, controller 110 selectively provides power (e.g., 12V) to the heating element 164 for a duty cycle between 0% and 100% to maintain the O2 sensor 160, 162 at the predetermined target temperature for closed loop operation. In one example, such as during humid or cold conditions, the duty cycle of heating element 164 is lowered (e.g., 50%) to evaporate any condensate on the O2 sensor before operating at 100% duty cycle.”).
Regarding Claim 10, Ives teaches a vehicle controller comprising a processor and a non-transitory memory (See at least Para [0025] “It will be appreciated that the term “controller” or “module” as used herein refers to any suitable control device or set of multiple control devices that is/are configured to perform at least a portion of the techniques of the present disclosure. Non-limiting examples include an application-specific integrated circuit (ASIC), one or more processors and a non-transitory memory having instructions stored thereon that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the controller to perform a set of operations corresponding to at least a portion of the techniques of the present disclosure. The one or more processors could be either a single processor or two or more processors operating in a parallel or distributed architecture.”), the non-transitory memory storing an oxygen sensor awakening module, wherein the oxygen sensor awakening module is configured to respond … by comparing a temperature of a sensing element of a first oxygen sensor to a target temperature, and causing the sensing element to be heated until the sensing element is at least the target temperature when the sensing element is below the target temperature, and causing the internal combustion engine to be started subsequent to heating the sensing element (See at least Fig 2, Para [0022] “At step 210, control monitors O2 sensors 160, 162 to determine if they have reached the predetermined target temperature such that they are ready for feedback control. For example, control monitors the resistance of O2 sensors 160, 162 to determine if the measured resistance exceeds a predetermined threshold or is within a predetermined range indicating the O2 sensor 160, 162 has reached the predetermined temperature for closed loop feedback control. If no, control returns to step 208. If yes, at step 212, once the engine 106 is turned on, control proceeds directly to closed loop feedback fuel control without having to heat the O2 sensors 160, 162 to the predetermined target temperature or perform an open loop fuel control. Control then ends and is repeated on a cold start.”, Para [0024] “Described herein are systems and methods for reducing exhaust emissions during a cold start of a hybrid electric vehicle. When the vehicle is started and the propulsion system is active for EV mode driving (engine OFF), the system immediately enables the O2 sensor heating. This in turn enables the system to immediately begin closed loop fueling control with a targeted fuel-air ratio when the engine is turned on, which obviates the need for open loop fueling control and dependency on airflow model accuracy. As a result, fuel variations are reduced, thereby leading to reduced tailpipe emissions (e.g., HC, NOx).”).
However, Ives does not explicitly spell out … to receiving a prestart notification indicative of an
imminent start of an internal combustion engine …
Jin teaches … to receiving a prestart notification indicative of an imminent start of an internal
combustion engine (See at least Para [0024] “Another embodiment of the present disclosure provides an electric vehicle state notification method of notifying a driver of a state of an electric vehicle to safely operate the electric vehicle, the electric vehicle state notification method including: collecting measured values of parameters related to traveling of the electric vehicle; determining a driving state of the electric vehicle based on the collected measured values of the parameters related to the traveling; and intuitively notifying the driver of the determined driving state of the electric vehicle, in which the driving state is divided into a key-on state in which a throttle is inactivated, a startup state in which the throttle is activated, and a traveling state.”)…
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Ives with the teachings of Jin and include the feature of receiving a prestart notification indicative of an imminent start of an internal
combustion engine, thereby enhance safety by providing notification to the controller regarding the state of the vehicle which will help take action accordingly (See at least Para [0015] “The present disclosure provides an electric vehicle state control device, which has states for operation safety related to parking/stopping, the states including a key-on state in which a throttle is inactivated, a startup state in which the throttle is activated, and a traveling state…”).
Regarding Claim 11, modified Ives teaches all the elements of claim 10. Ives further teaches the vehicle controller of claim 10, wherein causing the internal combustion engine to be started subsequent to heating the sensing element comprises starting the internal combustion engine in a closed-loop fuel control mode (See at least Para [0013] “Accordingly, the systems and methods described herein provide O2 sensor heater control for hybrid vehicles, which is configured to enable closed loop fueling operation for improved emissions during engine starts. The heater control logic enables the O2 sensor heaters once the vehicle propulsion system is Active to ensure closed loop operation is enabled and immediately available once the engine is cold started. This allows the use of a targeted fuel-air ratio to be used for closed loop fueling control, which reduces the dependency of the airflow model accuracy reducing variations in fueling and tailpipe emissions. As such, rather than requiring an open loop fuel control operation while the O2 sensors warm up, the system described herein activates the O2 sensor heaters as soon as the propulsion system is active such that the O2 sensors are ready for closed loop operation immediately upon engine start.”, Para [0018] “In the example embodiment, each O2 sensor 160, 162 includes a heating element 164 (e.g., a resistor) configured to heat the O2 sensor 160, 162 during cold start or cold ambient conditions. The O2 sensor 160, 162 is heated to a predetermined target temperature (e.g., ˜700° C.) in order to enable/provide proper sensor feedback to controller 110 for closed loop fueling control of engine 106…”, Para [0022] “At step 210, control monitors O2 sensors 160, 162 to determine if they have reached the predetermined target temperature such that they are ready for feedback control. For example, control monitors the resistance of O2 sensors 160, 162 to determine if the measured resistance exceeds a predetermined threshold or is within a predetermined range indicating the O2 sensor 160, 162 has reached the predetermined temperature for closed loop feedback control. If no, control returns to step 208. If yes, at step 212, once the engine 106 is turned on, control proceeds directly to closed loop feedback fuel control without having to heat the O2 sensors 160, 162 to the predetermined target temperature or perform an open loop fuel control. Control then ends and is repeated on a cold start.”).
Regarding Claim 12, Ives teaches a method for awakening an oxygen sensor in a vehicle comprising:
…
comparing a temperature of a sensing element of a first oxygen sensor to a target temperature and heating the sensing element until the sensing element is at least the target temperature when the sensing element is below the target temperature in response to the prestart notification (See at least Fig 2, Para [0022] “At step 210, control monitors O2 sensors 160, 162 to determine if they have reached the predetermined target temperature such that they are ready for feedback control. For example, control monitors the resistance of O2 sensors 160, 162 to determine if the measured resistance exceeds a predetermined threshold or is within a predetermined range indicating the O2 sensor 160, 162 has reached the predetermined temperature for closed loop feedback control. If no, control returns to step 208. If yes, at step 212, once the engine 106 is turned on, control proceeds directly to closed loop feedback fuel control without having to heat the O2 sensors 160, 162 to the predetermined target temperature or perform an open loop fuel control. Control then ends and is repeated on a cold start.”, Para [0024] “Described herein are systems and methods for reducing exhaust emissions during a cold start of a hybrid electric vehicle. When the vehicle is started and the propulsion system is active for EV mode driving (engine OFF), the system immediately enables the O2 sensor heating. This in turn enables the system to immediately begin closed loop fueling control with a targeted fuel-air ratio when the engine is turned on, which obviates the need for open loop fueling control and dependency on airflow model accuracy. As a result, fuel variations are reduced, thereby leading to reduced tailpipe emissions (e.g., HC, NOx).”), wherein heating the sensing element until the sensing element is at least the target temperature when the sensing element is below the target temperature comprises providing power to a heating element according to a duty cycle, and wherein a magnitude of the duty cycle is dependent on a difference between the temperature of the sensing element and the target temperature (See at least Para [0018] “…Accordingly, if the O2 sensor 160, 162 has not reached the predetermined target temperature, it may be inaccurate or unusable. In one example, controller 110 selectively provides power (e.g., 12V) to the heating element 164 for a duty cycle between 0% and 100% to maintain the O2 sensor 160, 162 at the predetermined target temperature for closed loop operation. In one example, such as during humid or cold conditions, the duty cycle of heating element 164 is lowered (e.g., 50%) to evaporate any condensate on the O2 sensor before operating at 100% duty cycle.”, discloses how the magnitude of the duty cycle runs between 0% to 100% for the oxygen sensor to reach the predetermined target temperature which is construed as the magnitude of the duty cycle being dependent on a difference between the temperature of the sensing element and the target temperature, Para [0021]); and
starting the internal combustion engine subsequent to heating the sensing element (See at least Fig 2 shows starting the internal combustion engine subsequent to heating the sensing element, Para [0022] “At step 210, control monitors O2 sensors 160, 162 to determine if they have reached the predetermined target temperature such that they are ready for feedback control. For example, control monitors the resistance of O2 sensors 160, 162 to determine if the measured resistance exceeds a predetermined threshold or is within a predetermined range indicating the O2 sensor 160, 162 has reached the predetermined temperature for closed loop feedback control. If no, control returns to step 208. If yes, at step 212, once the engine 106 is turned on, control proceeds directly to closed loop feedback fuel control without having to heat the O2 sensors 160, 162 to the predetermined target temperature or perform an open loop fuel control. Control then ends and is repeated on a cold start.”, Para [0024] “Described herein are systems and methods for reducing exhaust emissions during a cold start of a hybrid electric vehicle. When the vehicle is started and the propulsion system is active for EV mode driving (engine OFF), the system immediately enables the O2 sensor heating. This in turn enables the system to immediately begin closed loop fueling control with a targeted fuel-air ratio when the engine is turned on, which obviates the need for open loop fueling control and dependency on airflow model accuracy. As a result, fuel variations are reduced, thereby leading to reduced tailpipe emissions (e.g., HC, NOx).”).
However, Ives does not explicitly spell out …
receiving a prestart notification indicative of an imminent start of an internal combustion engine; …
Jin teaches … receiving a prestart notification indicative of an imminent start of an internal
combustion engine (See at least Para [0024] “Another embodiment of the present disclosure provides an electric vehicle state notification method of notifying a driver of a state of an electric vehicle to safely operate the electric vehicle, the electric vehicle state notification method including: collecting measured values of parameters related to traveling of the electric vehicle; determining a driving state of the electric vehicle based on the collected measured values of the parameters related to the traveling; and intuitively notifying the driver of the determined driving state of the electric vehicle, in which the driving state is divided into a key-on state in which a throttle is inactivated, a startup state in which the throttle is activated, and a traveling state.”);…
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Ives with the teachings of Jin and include the feature of receiving a prestart notification indicative of an imminent start of an internal combustion engine, thereby enhance safety by providing notification to the user regarding the state of the vehicle which will help action taken accordingly (See at least Para [0015] “The present disclosure provides an electric vehicle state control device, which has states for operation safety related to parking/stopping, the states including a key-on state in which a throttle is inactivated, a startup state in which the throttle is activated, and a traveling state…”).
Regarding Claim 13, modified Ives teaches all the elements of claim 12. Ives further teaches the method of claim 12, further comprising comparing a temperature of a sensing element of a second oxygen sensor to a target temperature and heating the sensing element of the second oxygen sensor until the sensing element of the second oxygen sensor is at least the target temperature when the heating element of the second oxygen sensor is below the target temperature in response to the prestart notification (See at least Para [0022] “At step 210, control monitors O2 sensors 160, 162 to determine if they have reached the predetermined target temperature such that they are ready for feedback control. For example, control monitors the resistance of O2 sensors 160, 162 to determine if the measured resistance exceeds a predetermined threshold or is within a predetermined range indicating the O2 sensor 160, 162 has reached the predetermined temperature for closed loop feedback control. If no, control returns to step 208. If yes, at step 212, once the engine 106 is turned on, control proceeds directly to closed loop feedback fuel control without having to heat the O2 sensors 160, 162 to the predetermined target temperature or perform an open loop fuel control. Control then ends and is repeated on a cold start.”).
Regarding Claim 15, modified Ives teaches all the elements of claim 12.
However, Ives does not explicitly spell out the method of claim 12, wherein the prestart
notification is a token object entering a predefined proximity of a vehicle.
Jin teaches the method of claim 12, wherein the prestart notification is a token object entering a
predefined proximity of a vehicle (See at least Para [0015] “The present disclosure provides an electric vehicle state control device, which has states for operation safety related to parking/stopping, the states including a key-on state in which a throttle is inactivated, a startup state in which the throttle is activated, and a traveling state, …”, Para [0024] “Another embodiment of the present disclosure provides an electric vehicle state notification method of notifying a driver of a state of an electric vehicle to safely operate the electric vehicle, the electric vehicle state notification method including: collecting measured values of parameters related to traveling of the electric vehicle; determining a driving state of the electric vehicle based on the collected measured values of the parameters related to the traveling; and intuitively notifying the driver of the determined driving state of the electric vehicle, in which the driving state is divided into a key-on state in which a throttle is inactivated, a startup state in which the throttle is activated, and a traveling state.”)…
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Ives with the teachings of Jin and include the feature of prestart notification being a token object entering a predefined proximity of the vehicle, thereby enhance safety by providing notification to the user regarding the state of the vehicle which will help action taken accordingly (See at least Para [0015] “The present disclosure provides an electric vehicle state control device, which has states for operation safety related to parking/stopping, the states including a key-on state in which a throttle is inactivated, a startup state in which the throttle is activated, and a traveling state…”).
Regarding Claim 16, modified Ives teaches all the elements of claim 12.
However, Ives does not explicitly spell out the method of claim 12, wherein the prestart
notification is engagement of at least one vehicle system by an operator.
Jin teaches the method of claim 12, wherein the prestart notification is engagement of at least
one vehicle system by an operator (See at least Para [0024] “Another embodiment of the present disclosure provides an electric vehicle state notification method of notifying a driver of a state of an electric vehicle to safely operate the electric vehicle, the electric vehicle state notification method including: collecting measured values of parameters related to traveling of the electric vehicle; determining a driving state of the electric vehicle based on the collected measured values of the parameters related to the traveling; and intuitively notifying the driver of the determined driving state of the electric vehicle, in which the driving state is divided into a key-on state in which a throttle is inactivated, a startup state in which the throttle is activated, and a traveling state.”)…
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Ives with the teachings of Jin and include the feature of prestart notification being engagement of at least one vehicle system by an operator, thereby enhance safety by providing notification to the user regarding the state of the vehicle which will help the operator take action accordingly (See at least Para [0015] “The present disclosure provides an electric vehicle state control device, which has states for operation safety related to parking/stopping, the states including a key-on state in which a throttle is inactivated, a startup state in which the throttle is activated, and a traveling state…”).
Regarding Claim 17, modified Ives teaches all the elements of claim 12. Ives further teaches the method of claim 12, wherein starting the internal combustion engine subsequent to heating the sensing element comprises starting the internal combustion engine in a closed-loop fuel control (See at least Para [0013] “Accordingly, the systems and methods described herein provide O2 sensor heater control for hybrid vehicles, which is configured to enable closed loop fueling operation for improved emissions during engine starts. The heater control logic enables the O2 sensor heaters once the vehicle propulsion system is Active to ensure closed loop operation is enabled and immediately available once the engine is cold started. This allows the use of a targeted fuel-air ratio to be used for closed loop fueling control, which reduces the dependency of the airflow model accuracy reducing variations in fueling and tailpipe emissions. As such, rather than requiring an open loop fuel control operation while the O2 sensors warm up, the system described herein activates the O2 sensor heaters as soon as the propulsion system is active such that the O2 sensors are ready for closed loop operation immediately upon engine start.”, Para [0018] “In the example embodiment, each O2 sensor 160, 162 includes a heating element 164 (e.g., a resistor) configured to heat the O2 sensor 160, 162 during cold start or cold ambient conditions. The O2 sensor 160, 162 is heated to a predetermined target temperature (e.g., ˜700° C.) in order to enable/provide proper sensor feedback to controller 110 for closed loop fueling control of engine 106…”, Para [0022] “At step 210, control monitors O2 sensors 160, 162 to determine if they have reached the predetermined target temperature such that they are ready for feedback control. For example, control monitors the resistance of O2 sensors 160, 162 to determine if the measured resistance exceeds a predetermined threshold or is within a predetermined range indicating the O2 sensor 160, 162 has reached the predetermined temperature for closed loop feedback control. If no, control returns to step 208. If yes, at step 212, once the engine 106 is turned on, control proceeds directly to closed loop feedback fuel control without having to heat the O2 sensors 160, 162 to the predetermined target temperature or perform an open loop fuel control. Control then ends and is repeated on a cold start.”).
Regarding Claim 19, modified Ives teaches all the elements of claim 12. Ives further teaches the method of claim 12, wherein the target temperature is a dew point of the sensing element (See at least Para [0021] “… At step 208, control initiates an O2 sensor heating mode to operate heating element 164 to thereby heat O2 sensors 160, 162 to the predetermined target temperature for closed loop operation. At step 209, control performs a dewpoint protection, if necessary, to evaporate any water/condensation formed on the O2 sensors 160, 162. This is done by lowering the heating element duty cycle (e.g., to 50%) for a predetermined time period, for example, when vehicle sensors (not shown) indicate a particular temperature (e.g., below 50° F.), humidity, or other suitable condition indicating the presence of water/condensate.”).
Regarding Claim 20. modified Ives teaches all the elements of claim 19. Ives further teaches the method of claim 19, wherein comparing the temperature of the sensing element of the first oxygen sensor to the target temperature is continuously performed until the internal combustion engine is started and wherein the duty cycle is adjusted based on a current difference between the temperature of the sensing element and the target temperature (See at least Fig 2, Para [0018] “… In one example, controller 110 selectively provides power (e.g., 12V) to the heating element 164 for a duty cycle between 0% and 100% to maintain the O2 sensor 160, 162 at the predetermined target temperature for closed loop operation. In one example, such as during humid or cold conditions, the duty cycle of heating element 164 is lowered (e.g., 50%) to evaporate any condensate on the O2 sensor before operating at 100% duty cycle.”).
Claim(s) 3 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ives et al. (US 20250179968 A1) (Hereinafter Ives) in view of Jin et al. (US 20230146868 A1) (Hereinafter Jin), and further in view of Matsuda et al. (US20220274619A1) (Hereinafter Matsuda).
Regarding Claim 3, modified Ives teaches all the elements of claim 1. Ives further teaches the
vehicle of claim 1, wherein the vehicle is a hybrid electric vehicle (See at least Para [0014] “Referring now to FIG. 1, a schematic diagram of an example plug-in hybrid electric vehicle (PHEV) 100 is illustrated having a hybrid powertrain 102 and a powertrain control system 104 according to example implementations of the disclosure…”), and …
However, Ives does not explicitly spell out … wherein the prestart notification is a state of
charge of the electric energy storage system falling below a charge sustaining limit of the electric energy storage system.
Matsuda teaches … wherein the prestart notification is a state of charge of the electric energy
storage system falling below a charge sustaining limit of the electric energy storage system (See at least Para [0030] “In-vehicle notification device 20 is a device for notifying the driver of information indicating an impact of the current driving condition of the driver of electric vehicle 3 on degradation of the secondary battery included in power supply system 40. Infotainment apparatuses such as display audio and car navigation systems can be used as in-vehicle notification device 20...”, Para [0078] “Notification unit 23 notifies the driver of information in accordance with the predicted running life of electric vehicle 3. The information in accordance with the running life may be visually notified to the driver by display unit 231, may be audibly notified to the driver by voice output unit 232, or may be notified to the driver by both of them. For example, display unit 231 displays, on the screen, a scale indicating the standard of the running life of electric vehicle 3 and a bar indicating the running life of electric vehicle 3 predicted based on the current discharge current value.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Ives with the teachings of Matsuda and include the feature of prestart notification when a state of charge of the electric energy storage system falling below a charge sustaining limit of the electric energy storage system, thereby enhance safety by providing notification to the user regarding the state of the vehicle electric energy storage system which will help the user take action accordingly (See at least Para [0124] “processing of notifying a driver of information indicating an impact of a current driving condition by the driver of electric vehicle (3) on degradation of secondary battery (E1 to En) in accordance with an acquired discharge current value.”).
Regarding Claim 14, modified Ives teaches all the elements of claim 12. Ives further teaches … wherein the first oxygen sensor is an oxygen sensor of a hybrid electric vehicle (See at least Para [0024] “Described herein are systems and methods for reducing exhaust emissions during a cold start of a hybrid electric vehicle. When the vehicle is started and the propulsion system is active for EV mode driving (engine OFF), the system immediately enables the O2 sensor heating. This in turn enables the system to immediately begin closed loop fueling control with a targeted fuel-air ratio when the engine is turned on, which obviates the need for open loop fueling control and dependency on airflow model accuracy. As a result, fuel variations are reduced, thereby leading to reduced tailpipe emissions (e.g., HC, NOx)”), and …
However, Ives does not explicitly spell out the method of claim 12, wherein the prestart
notification is a state of charge of an electric energy storage unit falling below a charge sustaining limit of the electric energy storage unit, and …
Matsuda teaches the method of claim 12, wherein the prestart notification is a state of charge
of an electric energy storage unit falling below a charge sustaining limit of the electric energy storage unit (See at least Para [0030] “In-vehicle notification device 20 is a device for notifying the driver of information indicating an impact of the current driving condition of the driver of electric vehicle 3 on degradation of the secondary battery included in power supply system 40. Infotainment apparatuses such as display audio and car navigation systems can be used as in-vehicle notification device 20...”, Para [0078] “Notification unit 23 notifies the driver of information in accordance with the predicted running life of electric vehicle 3. The information in accordance with the running life may be visually notified to the driver by display unit 231, may be audibly notified to the driver by voice output unit 232, or may be notified to the driver by both of them. For example, display unit 231 displays, on the screen, a scale indicating the standard of the running life of electric vehicle 3 and a bar indicating the running life of electric vehicle 3 predicted based on the current discharge current value.”), and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Ives with the teachings of Matsuda and include the feature of prestart notification when a state of charge of the electric energy storage system falling below a charge sustaining limit of the electric energy storage system, thereby enhance safety by providing notification to the user regarding the state of the vehicle electric energy storage system which will help the user take action accordingly (See at least Para [0124] “processing of notifying a driver of information indicating an impact of a current driving condition by the driver of electric vehicle (3) on degradation of secondary battery (E1 to En) in accordance with an acquired discharge current value.”).
Claim(s) 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ives et al. (US 20250179968 A1) (Hereinafter Ives) in view of Jin et al. (US 20230146868 A1) (Hereinafter Jin), and further in view of Furtner et al. (US 20180106686 A1) (Hereinafter Furtner).
Regarding Claim 21, modified Ives teaches all the elements of claim 1.
However, Ives does not explicitly spell out the vehicle of claim 1, wherein the relationship
between the heater duty cycle and the difference between the temperature of the sensing element and the target temperature includes a nonlinear increasing curve as the between the temperature of the sensing element and the target temperature.
Furtner teaches the vehicle of claim 1, wherein the relationship between the heater duty cycle and the difference between the temperature of the sensing element and the target temperature includes a nonlinear increasing curve as the between the temperature of the sensing element and the target temperature (See at least Para [0021] “FIG. 1 is a graph illustrating a temperature induced change of a heater element according to a duty cycle of a power signal Temperature is typically a non-linear function of the duty cycle, since the resistance of the heater changes with temperature, and this influences the amount of energy transferred to the heater…”, Fig 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Ives with the teachings of Furtner and include the feature of the relationship between the heater duty cycle and the difference between the temperature of the sensing element and the target temperature includes a nonlinear increasing curve as the between the temperature of the sensing element and the target temperature, thereby lowers fuel consumption and improves emissions performance (See at least Para [0038] “Separating the measurement current I_REF in the sensing phase from the voltage source 310 providing the normally much higher current in the heating phase avoids a loss of power and efficiency due to voltage drop over an inline current source…”).
Regarding Claim 22, modified Ives teaches all the elements of claim 12.
However, Ives does not explicitly spell out the method of claim 12, wherein the relationship
between the heater duty cycle and the difference between the temperature of the sensing element and the target temperature includes a nonlinear increasing curve as the between the temperature of the sensing element and the target temperature.
Furtner teaches the method of claim 12, wherein the relationship between the heater duty cycle and the difference between the temperature of the sensing element and the target temperature includes a nonlinear increasing curve as the between the temperature of the sensing element and the target temperature (See at least Para [0021] “FIG. 1 is a graph illustrating a temperature induced change of a heater element according to a duty cycle of a power signal Temperature is typically a non-linear function of the duty cycle, since the resistance of the heater changes with temperature, and this influences the amount of energy transferred to the heater…”, Fig 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Ives with the teachings of Furtner and include the feature of the relationship between the heater duty cycle and the difference between the temperature of the sensing element and the target temperature includes a nonlinear increasing curve as the between the temperature of the sensing element and the target temperature, thereby lowers fuel consumption and improves emissions performance (See at least Para [0038] “Separating the measurement current I_REF in the sensing phase from the voltage source 310 providing the normally much higher current in the heating phase avoids a loss of power and efficiency due to voltage drop over an inline current source…”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Glugla et a. (US 20200191083 A1) teaches methods and systems for a battery supplying power to an exhaust oxygen sensor heater.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHAHEDA HOQUE/
Examiner, Art Unit 3658
/Ramon A. Mercado/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3658