DETAILED ACTION
This FINAL action is in response to Application No. 18/976,730 originally filed 12/11/2024. The amendment presented on 03/24/2026 which provides amendments to claims 1 and 19 is hereby acknowledged.
Currently Claim(s) 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
In this case, the reference of Park teaches a system unit 640 that generates system dimming signals (i.e. equated to the claimed “a dimming signal”) for adjusting lighting period and illumination of the backlight unit. (Park at [0103]) The system unit 640 supplies the system dimming signals to the inverter unit 632 (e.g to input DIM-IN, see Park [0113])). Performance of the A/D conversion is based upon this dimming signal being supplied to the timing control 632. Thus, the dimming signal is directly supplied to the timing control which includes the remaining elements that perform the A/D conversion. According to Park, the LCD device including the driving system is operated in such a way that power consumption is reduced by reducing the lighting period of the backlight unit and contrast ratio is improved with data conversion. (Park [0115]). Therefore, The Office respectfully disagrees that the references of Pyun in view of Park does not teach “such that a manner of performing analog-to-digital conversion on the sensed panel current is influenced by the dimming value.” and the rejection will be currently maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-8, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pyun et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0274686 A1 hereinafter Pyun in view of Park et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2009/0201244 A1 hereinafter Park.
Consider Claim 1:
Pyun discloses a display device, comprising: (Pyun, See Abstract.)
a display panel including a plurality of pixels; (Pyun, [0040] The display panel 100 may include a plurality of pixels PX. Each of the pixels PX may receive a scan signal SCAN, a data voltage VDATA, and a driving voltage ELVDD. Each of the pixels PX may emit light based on the scan signal SCAN, the data voltage VDATA, and the driving voltage ELVDD.”)
a power management circuit which provides a power voltage to the plurality of pixels through a power line; (Pyun, [0043], “The power supply 400 may generate the driving voltage ELVDD and may provide the driving voltage ELVDD to the pixels PX. A power line PL may electrically connect the power supply 400 to the display panel 100 and the power supply 400 may provide the driving voltage ELVDD to the display panel 100 through the power line PL. In an embodiment, the power supply 400 may be implemented as an integrated circuit IC (e.g., a driver IC) and may be mounted on a flexible circuit board to be connected to the display panel 100.”)
a current sensing circuit which senses a panel current flowing through the power line and performs an analog-to-digital conversion for converting the panel current into a panel current code; and (Pyun, [0051], [0050], “Referring to FIGS. 2, 3, and 4, the current sensor 500 may generate sensing currents ISEN by sampling a current flowing through the power line PL at a sampling frequency SPR, may generate the first current data IDT1 including an average sensing current, a minimum sensing current, and a maximum sensing current of a first period PRD1 based on the sensing currents ISEN, may generate the second current data IDT2 including an average sensing current, a minimum sensing current, and a maximum sensing current of a second period PRD2 based on the sensing currents ISEN, and may transmit the first current data IDT1 and the second current data IDT2 to the timing controller 600. The current sensor 500 may include an analog-to-digital converter 510, a first current data generator 521, a second current data generator 522, a current transmission memory 530, and a first controller 540.”)
Pyun however does not specify a controller which sets at least one of a conversion range, a conversion time, or a conversion sampling count of the analog-to-digital conversion based on a dimming value for controlling a luminance of an image displayed by the display panel such that a manner of performing analog-to-digital conversion on the sensed panel current is influenced by the dimming value.
Park however teaches that it was a known technique to those having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide a controller which converts the current value based on set values. Park therefore teaches a controller which sets at least one of a conversion range, a conversion time, or a conversion sampling count of the analog-to-digital conversion based on a dimming value for controlling a luminance of an image displayed by the display panel such that a manner of performing analog-to-digital conversion on the sensed panel current is influenced by the dimming value. (Park, [0100-0116], [0108], “As shown in FIG. 13, the dimming signal judgment portion 632b includes a sampling clock generation part 662, a scan part 664, and a judgment part 666. The sampling clock generation part 662 supplies a sampling clock having a predetermined frequency, e.g., a frequency within a range of about 100 kHz to about 135 kHz, for judging the kind of the first B type dimming signal VBR-B1. The scan part 664 detects a voltage level of the first B type dimming signal VBR-B1 during a predetermined scan time period, e.g., one vertical synchronization time period or several horizontal synchronization time periods according to the sampling clock. The judgment part 666 determines the kind of the first B type dimming signal VBR-B1 according to detection of a minimum voltage level, e.g., about 0.0V. For example, the scan part 664 scans the voltage level of the first B type dimming signal VBR-B1 according to the frequency of the sampling clock during the scan time period. When the minimum voltage level is not detected, the first B type dimming signal VBR-B1 may be determined as an analog DC voltage signal and may be transmitted to the analog-to-PWM conversion portion 632c. Otherwise, the first B type dimming signal VBR-B1 may be determined as a PWM signal and may be transmitted to the dimming modulation portion 632d.”)
It therefore would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the known technique of setting the analog to digital device as taught in view of Park and would have been used for the purpose of power consumption is reduced and contrast ratio is improved with data conversion. (Park, [0134])
Consider Claim 2:
Pyun in view of Park disclose the display device of claim 1, wherein the controller sets the conversion range such that the conversion range increases as the dimming value increases and the conversion range decreases as the dimming value decreases, sets the conversion time such that the conversion time decreases as the dimming value increases and the conversion time increases as the dimming value decreases, and sets the conversion sampling count such that the conversion sampling count decreases as the dimming value increases and the conversion sampling count increases as the dimming value decreases. (Park, [0108])
As Pyun in view of Park disclose it was a known technique of setting the ADC to those of skill in the art, it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art, In re Antonie, 195 USPQ 6 (C.C.P.A. 1977). In addition, it has been held that the provision of adjustability, where needed, involves only routine skill in the art. In re Stevens, 101 USPQ 284 (CCPA 1954).
Consider Claim 4:
Pyun in view of Park disclose the display device of claim 3, wherein the controller sets the conversion range such that the conversion range increases as the dimming gain value increases and the conversion range decreases as the dimming gain value decreases. (Park, [0108])
As Pyun in view of Park disclose it was a known technique of setting the ADC to those of skill in the art, it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art, In re Antonie, 195 USPQ 6 (C.C.P.A. 1977). In addition, it has been held that the provision of adjustability, where needed, involves only routine skill in the art. In re Stevens, 101 USPQ 284 (CCPA 1954).
Consider Claim 5:
Pyun in view of Park disclose the display device of claim 3, wherein the controller sets the conversion time such that the conversion time decreases as the dimming gain value increases and the conversion time increases as the dimming gain value decreases. (Park, [0212-0127])
As Pyun in view of Park disclose it was a known technique of setting the ADC to those of skill in the art, it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art, In re Antonie, 195 USPQ 6 (C.C.P.A. 1977). In addition, it has been held that the provision of adjustability, where needed, involves only routine skill in the art. In re Stevens, 101 USPQ 284 (CCPA 1954).
Consider Claim 6:
Pyun in view of Park disclose the display device of claim 3, wherein the controller sets the conversion sampling count such that the conversion sampling count decreases as the dimming gain value increases and the conversion sampling count increases as the dimming gain value decreases. (Park, [0108])
As Pyun in view of Park disclose it was a known technique of setting the ADC to those of skill in the art, it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art, In re Antonie, 195 USPQ 6 (C.C.P.A. 1977). In addition, it has been held that the provision of adjustability, where needed, involves only routine skill in the art. In re Stevens, 101 USPQ 284 (CCPA 1954).
Consider Claim 7:
Pyun in view of Park disclose the display device of claim 3, wherein the controller sets the conversion time such that the conversion time decreases as the dimming peak value increases and the conversion time increases as the dimming peak value decreases. (Park, [0108])
As Pyun in view of Park disclose it was a known technique of setting the ADC to those of skill in the art, it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art, In re Antonie, 195 USPQ 6 (C.C.P.A. 1977). In addition, it has been held that the provision of adjustability, where needed, involves only routine skill in the art. In re Stevens, 101 USPQ 284 (CCPA 1954).
Consider Claim 8:
Pyun in view of Park disclose the display device of claim 3, wherein the controller sets the conversion sampling count such that the conversion sampling count decreases as the dimming peak value increases and the conversion sampling count increases as the dimming peak value decreases. (Park, [0108])
As Pyun in view of Park disclose it was a known technique of setting the ADC to those of skill in the art, it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art, In re Antonie, 195 USPQ 6 (C.C.P.A. 1977). In addition, it has been held that the provision of adjustability, where needed, involves only routine skill in the art. In re Stevens, 101 USPQ 284 (CCPA 1954).
Consider Claim 19:
Pyun discloses a method of driving a display device, the method comprising: (Pyun, See Abstract.)
controlling a luminance of an image displayed by the display device using a dimming value;
sensing a panel current; and (Pyun, [0048-0050], [0044], “The current sensor 500 may sense a current flowing through the power line PL to generate current data including a plurality of sensing currents and may provide the current data to the timing controller 600. Configurations and operation of the current sensor 500 will be described below with reference to FIGS. 2 to 6.”)
performing an analog-to-digital conversion on the sensed panel current to provide a panel current code. (Pyun, [0051], “The analog-to-digital converter (“ADC”) 510 may convert a voltage VSEN between opposite terminals of a sensing resistor RSEN connected to the power line PL into the sensing currents ISEN based on the sampling frequency SPR. The sensing resistor RSEN may be disposed between a first portion of the power line PL connected to the power supply 400 and a second portion of the power line PL connected to the display panel 100. The voltage VSEN between the opposite terminals of the sensing resistor RSEN may be proportional to the current flowing through the power line PL. The analog-to-digital converter 510 may convert the analog-type voltage VSEN into the digital-type sensing currents ISEN a number of times corresponding to the sampling frequency SPR. The analog-to-digital converter 510 may provide the sensing currents ISEN to the first current data generator 521 and the second current data generator 522.”)
Pyun however does not specify wherein at least one of a conversion range of the analog-to-digital conversion, a conversion time of the analog-to-digital conversion, or a conversion sampling count of the analog-to-digital conversion is set based on the dimming value such that a manner of performing analog-to-digital conversion on the sensed panel current is influenced by the dimming value.
Park however teaches that it was a known technique to those having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide a controller which converts the current value based on set values. Park therefore teaches wherein at least one of a conversion range of the analog-to-digital conversion, a conversion time of the analog-to-digital conversion, or a conversion sampling count of the analog-to-digital conversion is set based on the dimming value such that a manner of performing analog-to-digital conversion on the sensed panel current is influenced by the dimming value. (Park, [0100-0116], [0108], “As shown in FIG. 13, the dimming signal judgment portion 632b includes a sampling clock generation part 662, a scan part 664, and a judgment part 666. The sampling clock generation part 662 supplies a sampling clock having a predetermined frequency, e.g., a frequency within a range of about 100 kHz to about 135 kHz, for judging the kind of the first B type dimming signal VBR-B1. The scan part 664 detects a voltage level of the first B type dimming signal VBR-B1 during a predetermined scan time period, e.g., one vertical synchronization time period or several horizontal synchronization time periods according to the sampling clock. The judgment part 666 determines the kind of the first B type dimming signal VBR-B1 according to detection of a minimum voltage level, e.g., about 0.0V. For example, the scan part 664 scans the voltage level of the first B type dimming signal VBR-B1 according to the frequency of the sampling clock during the scan time period. When the minimum voltage level is not detected, the first B type dimming signal VBR-B1 may be determined as an analog DC voltage signal and may be transmitted to the analog-to-PWM conversion portion 632c. Otherwise, the first B type dimming signal VBR-B1 may be determined as a PWM signal and may be transmitted to the dimming modulation portion 632d.”)
It therefore would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the known technique of setting the analog to digital device as taught in view of Park and would have been used for the purpose of power consumption is reduced and contrast ratio is improved with data conversion. (Park, [0134])
Consider Claim 20:
Pyun in view of Park disclose the method of claim 19, wherein the setting comprises at least one of setting the conversion range such that the conversion range increases as the dimming value increases and the conversion range decreases as the dimming value decreases, setting the conversion time such that the conversion time decreases as the dimming value increases and the conversion time increases as the dimming value decreases, or setting the conversion sampling count such that the conversion sampling count decreases as the dimming value increases and the conversion sampling count increases as the dimming value decreases. (Park, [0108])
As Pyun in view of Park disclose it was a known technique of setting the ADC to those of skill in the art, it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art, In re Antonie, 195 USPQ 6 (C.C.P.A. 1977). In addition, it has been held that the provision of adjustability, where needed, involves only routine skill in the art. In re Stevens, 101 USPQ 284 (CCPA 1954).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pyun et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0274686 A1 hereinafter Pyun in view of Park et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2009/0201244 A1 as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Han U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0119995 A1 hereinafter Han.
Consider Claim 3:
Pyun in view of Park disclose the display device of claim 1, however does not specify wherein the dimming value includes a dimming gain value for decreasing the luminance of the image in a total load section and a dimming peak value for decreasing the luminance of the image in a local load section.
Han however teaches it was a known technique to consider local and global (ie. total) dimming and therefore teaches wherein the dimming value includes a dimming gain value for decreasing the luminance of the image in a total load section and a dimming peak value for decreasing the luminance of the image in a local load section. (Han, [0139-0147], [0147], “The backlight driver 833 adjusts a voltage level of the light source driving voltage VLED applied to the driving voltage transmission line 855 based on the feedback signal FB applied from the light source controller 827. The backlight driver 833 is configured to increase or decrease an externally applied power signal VCC according to the feedback signal FB applied thereto, thereby controlling a voltage level of the light source driving voltage VLED. A plurality of resistors R1, R2, R3, and R4 and a signal smoothing device 801 are connected to each other in parallel between input and output terminals of the backlight driver 833.”)
It therefore would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide both local and total dimming conventions as this was a known technique in view of Han, as would be recognized by a person of skill in the art, would have been utilized for the purpose of for the extending life of a capacitor and a backlight device. (Han, [0003])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pyun et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0274686 A1 hereinafter Pyun in view of Park et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2009/0201244 A1 applied to claim 1 and further in view of Bong et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0201815 A1 hereinafter Bong.
Consider Claim 13:
Pyun in view of Park discloses the display device of claim 1, however does not specify wherein the current sensing circuit is configured to: a conversion block which converts convert the panel current into the panel current code; a setting register which stores store the conversion range, the conversion time, and the conversion sampling count in a setting register.
Bong however teaches that it was a known technique to those having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide wherein the current sensing circuit is configured to: a conversion block which converts convert the panel current into the panel current code; (Bong, [0061], “The analog-digital converter 202 may receive magnitude of current flowing in shunt resistance (Rs) connected between the power supply (not illustrated) and the display panel 10. The analog-digital converter 202 may convert a magnitude of current input in analog form into a current value in digital form. The converted current value may be stored in the register 204.”)
a setting register which stores store the conversion range, the conversion time, and the conversion sampling count in a setting register. (Bong, [0059-0063], [0062], “The register 204 may store a set value required for an operation of measuring current of the current scan circuit 112. The set values stored in the register 204 may include a current value measuring timing, a current value measuring frequency and the like but not be limited. The current scan circuit 112 may measure a magnitude of current flowing in the shunt resistance (Rs) according to the timing and frequency set on the basis of the set value stored in the register 204.”)
It therefore would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further provide a register and storage as this was a known technique in view of Bong and would have been utilized for the art recognized purpose of improving deterioration of image quality. (Bong, [0004])
Consider Claim 14:
Pyun in view of Park in view of Bong discloses the display device of claim 13, wherein the controller is implemented as a controller integrated circuit, and wherein the current sensing circuit is implemented as a current sensing integrated circuit different from the controller integrated circuit. (Bong, [0059-0063], [0063], “The communication circuit 206 may communicate with the timing controller 102 in accordance with a predetermined standard, and may transmit the current value stored in the register 204 to the timing controller 102. The I2C communication standard for communication between integrated circuits (IC) may be an example of the communication standard for communication between the communication circuit 206 and the timing controller 102 but not be limited.”)
Consider Claim 15:
Pyun in view of Park in view of Bong discloses the display device of claim 14, wherein the controller sets the at least one of the conversion range, the conversion time, or the conversion sampling count by changing a value of the setting register via a bus connecting between the controller integrated circuit and the current sensing integrated circuit. (Bong, [0059-0063], [0062], “The register 204 may store a set value required for an operation of measuring current of the current scan circuit 112. The set values stored in the register 204 may include a current value measuring timing, a current value measuring frequency and the like but not be limited. The current scan circuit 112 may measure a magnitude of current flowing in the shunt resistance (Rs) according to the timing and frequency set on the basis of the set value stored in the register 204.”)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Further Claims 10-12 are objected to as being dependent upon an objected base claim.
Claims 16-18 are allowed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Prior art made of record and not relied upon which is still considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is cited in a current or previous PTO-892. The prior art cited in a current or previous PTO-892 reads upon the applicants claims in part, in whole and/or gives a general reference to the knowledge and skill of persons having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention. Applicant, when responding to this Office action, should consider not only the cited references applied in the rejection but also any additional references made of record.
In the response to this office action, the Examiner respectfully requests support be shown for any new or amended claims. More precisely, indicate support for any newly added language or amendments by specifying page, line numbers, and/or figure(s). This will assist The Office in compact prosecution of this application. The Office has cited particular columns, paragraphs, and/or line numbers in the applied rejection of the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within each claim, however other passages and figures may apply. Applicant, in preparing a response, should fully consider the cited reference(s) in its entirety and not only the cited portions as other sections of the reference may expand on the teachings of the cited portion(s).
Applicant Representatives are reminded of CFR 1.4(d)(2)(ii) which states “A patent practitioner (§ 1.32(a)(1) ), signing pursuant to §§ 1.33(b)(1) or 1.33(b)(2), must supply his/her registration number either as part of the S-signature, or immediately below or adjacent to the S-signature. The number (#) character may be used only as part of the S-signature when appearing before a practitioner’s registration number; otherwise the number character may not be used in an S-signature.” When an unsigned or improperly signed amendment is received the amendment will be listed in the contents of the application file, but not entered. The examiner will notify applicant of the status of the application, advising him or her to furnish a duplicate amendment properly signed or to ratify the amendment already filed. In an application not under final rejection, applicant should be given a two month time period in which to ratify the previously filed amendment (37 CFR 1.135(c) ).
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. Granting of After Final Interviews: “Interviews merely to restate arguments of record or to discuss new limitations which would require more than nominal reconsideration or new search should be denied.” See MPEP § 713.09.
/Michael J Jansen II/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2626