DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/14/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Status of Claims
Claims 2-21 are pending in this application.
Double Patenting
Claim 2 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,183,350. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claim in the patent in narrower and could be used to reject the current claim.
Claim 3 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,183,350 in view of Chen et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0233541). Claim 1 of the patent teaches all of the limitations of claim 2 above, while paragraph [0033] of Chen et al. teaches the limitations of claim 3.
Claim 4 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,183,350 in view of Chen et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0233541) and Gupta et al. (U.S. Patent 10,623,403). The combination of claim 1 of the patent and Chen et al. teaches all of the limitations of claim 3 above, while Gupta et al. (Column 5, lines 19-25 & Column 20, lines 26-38) teaches the limitations of claim 4.
Claim 5 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,183,350 in view of Chen et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0233541) and Gupta et al. (U.S. Patent 10,623,403). The combination of claim 1 of the patent and Chen et al. teaches all of the limitations of claim 3 above, while Gupta et al. (Column 5, lines 19-25 & Column 20, lines 26-38) teaches the limitations of claim 5.
Claim 6 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,183,350. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claim in the patent in narrower and could be used to reject the current claim.
Claim 7 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. 12,183,350. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claim in the patent in narrower and could be used to reject the current claim.
Claim 8 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. 12,183,350. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claim in the patent in narrower and could be used to reject the current claim.
Claim 9 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 12,183,350. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claim in the patent in narrower and could be used to reject the current claim.
Claim 10 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,183,350 in view of Chen et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0233541). Claim 1 of the patent teaches all of the limitations of claim 2 above, while paragraph [0033] of Chen et al. teaches the limitations of claim 10.
Claim 11 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,183,350 in view of Randall (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2015/0067822). Claim 1 of the patent teaches all of the limitations of claim 2 above, while Paragraphs [0035-0037], [0045] & [0047] of Randall teaches the limitations of claim 11.
Claim 12 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,183,350. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claim in the patent in narrower and could be used to reject the current claim.
Claim 13 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,183,350 in view of Lopez Espejo (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0125619). Claim 7 of the patent teaches all of the limitations of claim 12 above, while Figure 3 and Paragraphs [0050-0051] of Lopez Espejo teaches the limitations of claim 13.
Claim 14 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,183,350. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claim in the patent in narrower and could be used to reject the current claim.
Claim 15 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,183,350. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claim in the patent in narrower and could be used to reject the current claim.
Claim 16 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,183,350 in view of Chen et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0233541). Claim 1 of the patent teaches all of the limitations of claim 2 above, while paragraph [0033] of Chen et al. teaches the limitations of claim 16.
Claim 17 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,183,350 in view of Chen et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0233541) and Gupta et al. (U.S. Patent 10,623,403). The combination of claim 13 of the patent and Chen et al. teaches all of the limitations of claim 16 above, while Gupta et al. (Column 5, lines 19-25 & Column 20, lines 26-38) teaches the limitations of claim 17.
Claim 18 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,183,350 in view of Chen et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0233541) and Gupta et al. (U.S. Patent 10,623,403). The combination of claim 13 of the patent and Chen et al. teaches all of the limitations of claim 16 above, while Gupta et al. (Column 5, lines 19-25 & Column 20, lines 26-38) teaches the limitations of claim 18.
Claim 19 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,183,350. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claim in the patent in narrower and could be used to reject the current claim.
Claim 20 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,183,350 in view of Gupta et al. (U.S. Patent 10,623,403). Claim 19 of the patent teaches all of the limitations of claim 19 above, while Gupta et al. (Column 5, lines 19-25 & Column 20, lines 26-38) teaches the limitations of claim 20.
Claim 21 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,183,350 in view of Chen et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0233541). Claim 19 of the patent teaches all of the limitations of claim 19 above, while paragraph [0033] of Chen et al. teaches the limitations of claim 21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 2-3, 6-8, 10, 12, 14-16, 19 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0233541).
As per claims 2, 15 and 19, Chen et al. discloses:
A system (Paragraphs [0012], [0073] & [0107]), comprising:
a processor configured to execute computer-executable instructions stored in a computer- readable memory (Paragraphs [0012], [0073] & [0107]), which causes the system to:
determine one or more attributes of voice information associated with a user account (Figure 4, item 408 and paragraph [0078] – embeddings are generated);
determine a first voice resemblance score based on a first comparison of the one or more attributes of the voice information and one or more attributes of a voice print associated with the user account (Figure 4, item 410 and paragraph [0079]); and
in response to the first voice resemblance score being above a first threshold voice resemblance score (Figure 4, item 410 and paragraph [0079] – voice match threshold), determine a second voice resemblance score based on a second comparison of the one or more attributes of the voice information and one or more attributes of a set of previously stored voice prints associated with the user account, wherein the set of previously stored voice prints is different from the voice print (Figure 4, item 412 and paragraph [0079] – these can be done sequentially with the spoof detection done after the voice match).
Claim 15 is directed to the method of using the system of claim 2, so is rejected for similar reasons.
Claim 19 is directed to a computer readable medium containing instructions to cause a processor to act as the system of claim 2, so is rejected for similar reasons.
As per claims 3 and 16, Chen et al. discloses all of the limitations of claims 2 and 15 above. Chen et al. further discloses:
receiving the voice data via a virtual assistant device (Paragraph [0033]).
As per claim 6, Chen et al. discloses all of the limitations of claim 2 above. Chen et al. further discloses:
determine whether the second voice resemblance score is higher than a second threshold voice resemblance score (Figure 4, item 412 and paragraph [0079] – spoof detection threshold).
As per claim 7, Chen et al. discloses all of the limitations of claim 6 above. Chen et al. further discloses:
in response to the second voice resemblance score being higher than the second threshold voice resemblance score, determine that the voice information is not valid; and in response to the voice information not being valid, tag the voice information as not valid (Paragraphs [0079] & [0092-0093] – the voice information is judged to be either spoofed (not valid) or genuine and is labeled as such).
As per claim 8, Chen et al. discloses all of the limitations of claim 7 above. Chen et al. further discloses:
the tag of the voice information as not valid comprises at least one of a first tag indicative that the voice information is a replay of a recording of a voice or a second tag indicative that the voice information is an artificially generated voice (Paragraphs [0007] & [0025] – the spoofing detected is that of an artificially created voice).
As per claims 10 and 21, Chen et al. discloses all of the limitations of claims 2 and 19 above. Chen et al. further discloses:
receive the voice information via a conversational gateway comprising at least one of a conversational or audio interface (Paragraph [0033]).
As per claim 12, Chen et al. discloses all of the limitations of claim 2 above. Chen et al. further discloses:
in response to the second voice resemblance score not being higher than a defined second threshold voice resemblance score, determine that the voice information is verified; and in response the voice information being verified, authenticate the user (Paragraphs [0079] & [0092-0093] – the voice information is judged to be either spoofed (not valid) or genuine and is labeled as such).
As per claim 14, Chen et al. discloses all of the limitations of claim 2 above. Chen et al. further discloses:
perform an artificial intelligence analysis on at least one of the voice information, the set of previously stored voice prints, or a set of previously stored voice information that corresponds to the set of previously stored voice prints; wherein the artificial intelligence analysis determines whether an unidentified user associated with the voice information is to be authenticated based on the voice information; and wherein the artificial intelligence analysis is performed utilizing at least one voice recognition technique relating to at least one of frequency estimation, a hidden Markov model, a Gaussian mixture model, a pattern matching algorithm, a neural network, a matrix representation, a vector quantization, a decision tree, or a cosine similarity technique (Figure 6 and Paragraphs [0007], [0012], [0028-0029] ).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5, 17-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0233541) in view of Gupta et al. (U.S. Patent 10,623,403).
As per claims 4 and 17, Chen et al. discloses all of the limitations of claims 3 and 16 above. Chen et al. fails to disclose but Gupta et al in the same field of endeavor discloses:
solicit a phrase or verbal response from a user of the virtual assistant device, or repeat the phrase or verbal response (Column 5, lines 19-25 & Column 20, lines 26-38).
It would be obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Chen et al. with the conversational virtual assistant methods of Gupta et al. because it is a case of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
As per claims 5 and 18, Chen et al. discloses all of the limitations of claims 3 and 16 above. Chen et al. fails to disclose but Gupta et al in the same field of endeavor discloses:
output an automatically generated voice to speak with a user of the virtual assistant device (Column 5, lines 19-25 & Column 20, lines 26-38).
It would be obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Chen et al. with the conversational virtual assistant methods of Gupta et al. because it is a case of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
As per claim 20, Chen et al. discloses all of the limitations of claim 19 above. Chen et al. fails to disclose but Gupta et al in the same field of endeavor discloses:
receive the voice data via a virtual assistant device, wherein the voice data is generated based on a phrase or verbal response spoken by a user to the virtual assistant device (Column 5, lines 19-25 & Column 20, lines 26-38).
It would be obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Chen et al. with the conversational virtual assistant methods of Gupta et al. because it is a case of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0233541) in view of Tuchman et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2013/0047232).
As per claim 9, Chen et al. discloses all of the limitations of claim 2 above. Chen et al. in the combination further discloses:
in response to determining that the second voice resemblance score is higher than the second threshold voice resemblance score, determining that the voice information potentially is not valid (Paragraphs [0079] & [0092-0093] – the voice information is judged to be either spoofed (not valid) or genuine and is labeled as such);
The combination fails to disclose but Tuchman et al. in the same field of endeavor teaches:
in response to determining that the voice information potentially is not valid, presenting an authentication challenge to an unidentified user that presented the voice information, wherein the unidentified user is the user associated with the user account or a fraudulent user (Figure 4 and paragraphs [0050] & [0051]).
It would be obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Chen et al. with the back up authentication methods of Tuchman et al. because it is a case of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0233541) in view of Randall (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2015/0067822).
As per claim 11, Chen et al. discloses all of the limitations of claim 2 above. Chen et al. fails to disclose but Randall in the same field of endeavor teaches:
the set of previously stored voice prints relate to one or more prior interactions between the system and a user associated with the user account, wherein at least one of the one or more interactions comprises at least one of a previous authentication attempt associated with the user account or a previous customer service related interaction associated with the user account (Paragraphs [0035-0037], [0045] & [0047] – the voice print is iteratively updated from customer service interactions).
It would be obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Chen et al. with the customer service voice print repositories of Randall because it is a case of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0233541) in view of Lopez Espejo (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0125619).
As per claim 13, Chen et al. discloses all of the limitations of claim 12 above. Chen et al. fails to disclose but Lopez Espejo in the same field of endeavor teaches:
the voice print is a first voice print, and wherein the instructions further cause the system to: in response to authentication of the user, determine a second voice print based on the voice information, wherein the second voice print comprises the one or more attributes of the voice information; and update the set of previously stored voice prints to comprise the second voice print (Figure 3 and Paragraphs [0050-0051]).
It would be obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Chen et al. with the update methods of Lopez Espejo because it is a case of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Examiner Notes
The Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the Applicant fully considers the references in its entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or as disclosed by the Examiner.
Communications via Internet e-mail are at the discretion of the applicant and require written authorization. Should the Applicant wish to communicate via e-mail, including the following paragraph in their response will allow the Examiner to do so:
“Recognizing that Internet communications are not secure, I hereby authorize the USPTO to communicate with me concerning any subject matter of this application by electronic mail. I understand that a copy of these communications will be made of record in the application file.”
Should e-mail communication be desired, the Examiner can be reached at Edwin.Leland@USPTO.gov
Conclusion
/EDWIN S LELAND III/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2654