DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgement is made that the instant application claims priority from KR10-2023-0193410, filed on 12/27/2023.
Claim Objections
Claims 18 and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 18, line 1, “staked” should be changed to --stacked-- to correct spelling.
Claim 19, line 16, “internal ducting” should be changed to --internal duct-- to correct antecedence.
Appropriate correction is required to place claims in better form.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 18, the claim recites the limitation "the chambers" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 9 introduces “a chamber” in line 2, but neither of the parent claims, claim 9 and claim 10, recite multiple chambers. For the purposes of examination, claim 18 is being interpreted as meaning wherein multiple chambers are stacked in plural. Thus, claim 18 is rejected as being indefinite. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-10, 13-17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishi et al. (US PGPub 2012/0234356, Nishi hereinafter) in view of Nakamura (US PGPub 2014/0352741).
Regarding claim 1, Nishi discloses an air conditioning device for providing downward airflow from an upper portion of a process chamber (Figs. 1-8, 10-15, paras. [0036], [0045]-[0047], [0082], gas supply units 23 and 22 are arranged in the upper portion of the liquid processing system 1 and provide a downward flow into the processing space 21. The fan filter unit 147 supplies the air into gas supply unit 22), having a treatment space in which a first treating unit and a second treating unit are disposed side by side to the treatment space (Figs. 1-8, 10-15, paras. [0031], [0035]-[0037], [0041], liquid processing sections 141 includes multiple processing units 2 that provide a processing solution from a processing solution supply nozzle 35), the air conditioning device comprising:
a case through which air is introduced at one side, and having an opening at a lower surface for the air introduced through the inlet to flow downwardly (Figs. 1-8, 10-15, paras. [0031], [0035]-[0037], [0041], [0045]-[0047], [0082], air is introduced into gas supply unit 22 from the FFU 147 between the liquid processing sections 141, and the air is directed through bottom plate 222 towards the processing space 21); and
an internal duct for guiding air to a center of the case such that the air introduced through is uniformly supplied to an interior space of the case (the limitation “such that the air introduced through the inlet is uniformly supplied to an interior space of the case” is functional language that recites the manner of operating the claimed apparatus that does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from the structure as taught by Nishi. See MPEP 2114, subsection II. Figs. 1-6-8, 10-15, paras. [0036], [0045]-[0047], [0051], [0070], [0082], the FFU 147 is arranged in the center of liquid processing system 1 to provide air through openings 221). Nishi does not appear to explicitly describe the case having an inlet.
Nakamura discloses a case having an inlet through which air is introduced at one side (Figs. 1-2, paras. [020], [0026], [0036], the clean gas supply mechanism includes an air intake port on one side of the supply duct 32).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included an inlet through which air is introduced at one side as taught by Nakamura in the air conditioning device as taught by Nishi since including an inlet through which air is introduced at one side is commonly used to provide a necessary gas flow entrance into a housing to provide clean gas to a liquid treatment module while extending the service life of a filter (Nakamura, paras. [0002], [0007], [0026]).
Regarding claim 2, Nishi as modified by Nakamura discloses wherein the internal duct includes a central duct dividing the interior space of the case into a first space and a second space and supplying air to the first space and the second space (Nishi, Figs. 1-6, 8, 10-15, paras. [0036], [0045]-[0047], [0082], the FFU 147 is arranged centrally and divides the liquid processing system 1 into two spaces arranged above the processing spaces 21. The FFU 147 supplies air to the processing spaces).
Regarding claim 4, Nishi as modified by Nakamura discloses wherein the first space is located on top of the first treating unit, and the second space is located on top of the second treating unit (Nishi, Figs. 1-6, 8, 10-15, paras. [0036], [0045]-[0047], [0082], the FFU 147 is arranged centrally and divides the liquid processing system 1 into two spaces arranged above the processing spaces 21. The FFU 147 supplies air to the processing spaces).
Regarding claim 5, Nishi as modified by Nakamura discloses wherein the first space and the second space have spaces symmetric with respect to the central duct (Nishi, Figs. 1-6, 8, 10-15, paras. [0036], [0045]-[0047], [0082], the FFU 147 is arranged centrally and divides the liquid processing system 1 into two spaces arranged above the processing spaces 21. The FFU 147 supplies air to the processing spaces on either side of the FFU).
Regarding claim 6, Nishi as modified by Nakamura discloses further comprising: an upper air pocket provided on a top surface of the case (Nishi, Figs. 1-6, 8, 10-15, paras. [0036], [0045]-[0047], [0082], the liquid processing units 2 include an air pocket above bottom plate 222).
Regarding claim 7, Nishi as modified by Nakamura discloses further comprising: lateral air pockets provided on both lateral surfaces of the case (Nishi, Figs. 1-6, 8, 10-15, paras. [0031], [0035]-[0037], [0041], [0045]-[0047], [0082], the liquid processing units 2 of the liquid processing sections 141 are separated and form lateral air pockets, and the FFU 147 divides the liquid processing system 1 into two spaces).
Regarding claim 8, Nishi does not appear to explicitly describe a plate-shaped filter installed in the opening; and a perforated plate installed at a bottom end of the filter.
Nakamura discloses a plate-shaped filter installed in the opening (Fig. 1, paras. [0022]-[0023], a ULPA filter is arranged in an opening between duct 32 and chamber 10); and
a perforated plate installed at a bottom end of the filter (Fig. 1, paras. [0022]-[0023], a baffle plate 44 is arranged below the ULPA filter 42).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a plate-shaped filter installed in the opening; and a perforated plate installed at a bottom end of the filter as taught by Nakamura in the air conditioning device as taught by Nishi since including a plate-shaped filter installed in the opening; and a perforated plate installed at a bottom end of the filter is commonly used to provide clean gas to a liquid treatment module while extending the service life of a filter (Nakamura, paras. [0002], [0007], [0026]).
Regarding claim 9, Nishi discloses a substrate treating apparatus (Figs. 1-15, para. [0031], abstract, processing apparatus) comprising:
a chamber having a treatment space (Figs. 1-15, paras. [0031], [0034]-[0035], liquid processing system 1 includes liquid processing block 14);
a first treating unit and a second treating unit arranged in line along a first direction in the treatment space of the chamber (Figs. 1-8, 10-15, paras. [0031], [0035]-[0037], [0041], liquid processing sections 141 includes multiple processing units 2 that provide a processing solution from a processing solution supply nozzle 35); and
an air conditioning device installed in an upper portion of the chamber, and providing downflow airflow into the treatment space of the chamber (Figs. 1-8, 10-15, paras. [0036], [0045]-[0047], [0082], gas supply units 23 and 22 are arranged in the upper portion of the liquid processing system 1 and provide a downward flow into the processing space 21. The fan filter unit 147 supplies the air into gas supply unit 22),
wherein the air conditioning device includes:
a case through which air is introduced at one side, and having an opening at a lower surface for the air introduced through the inlet to flow downwardly (Figs. 1-8, 10-15, paras. [0031], [0035]-[0037], [0041], [0045]-[0047], [0082], air is introduced into gas supply unit 22 from the FFU 147 between the liquid processing sections 141, and the air is directed through bottom plate 222 towards the processing space 21);
an internal duct for guiding the air to a center of the case such that the air introduced is uniformly supplied to an interior space of the case (the limitation “such that the air introduced through the inlet is uniformly supplied to an interior space of the case” is functional language that recites the manner of operating the claimed apparatus that does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from the structure as taught by Nishi. See MPEP 2114, subsection II. Figs. 1-6-8, 10-15, paras. [0036], [0045]-[0047], [0051], [0070], [0082], the FFU 147 is arranged in the center of liquid processing system 1 to provide air through openings 221). Nishi does not appear to explicitly describe the case having an inlet.
Nakamura discloses a case having an inlet through which air is introduced at one side (Figs. 1-2, paras. [020], [0026], [0036], the clean gas supply mechanism includes an air intake port on one side of the supply duct 32).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included an inlet through which air is introduced at one side as taught by Nakamura in the substrate treating apparatus as taught by Nishi since including an inlet through which air is introduced at one side is commonly used to provide a necessary gas flow entrance into a housing to provide clean gas to a liquid treatment module while extending the service life of a filter (Nakamura, paras. [0002], [0007], [0026]).
Regarding claim 10, Nishi as modified by Nakamura discloses the internal duct includes a central duct dividing the interior space of the case into a first space and a second space and supplying air to the first space and the second space (Nishi, Figs. 1-6, 8, 10-15, paras. [0036], [0045]-[0047], [0082], the FFU 147 is arranged centrally and divides the liquid processing system 1 into two spaces arranged above the processing spaces 21. The FFU 147 supplies air to the processing spaces).
Regarding claim 13, Nishi as modified by Nakamura discloses wherein the first space and the second space have spaces symmetric with respect to the central duct (Nishi, Figs. 1-6, 8, 10-15, paras. [0036], [0045]-[0047], [0082], the FFU 147 is arranged centrally and divides the liquid processing system 1 into two spaces arranged above the processing spaces 21. The FFU 147 supplies air to the processing spaces on either side of the FFU).
Regarding claim 14, Nishi as modified by Nakamura discloses further comprising: an upper air pocket provided on a top surface of the case (Nishi, Figs. 1-6, 8, 10-15, paras. [0036], [0045]-[0047], [0082], the liquid processing units 2 include an air pocket above bottom plate 222).
Regarding claim 15, Nishi as modified by Nakamura discloses further comprising: lateral air pockets provided on both lateral sides of the case (Nishi, Figs. 1-6, 8, 10-15, paras. [0031], [0035]-[0037], [0041], [0045]-[0047], [0082], the liquid processing units 2 of the liquid processing sections 141 are separated and form lateral air pockets, and the FFU 147 divides the liquid processing system 1 into two spaces).
Regarding claim 16, Nishi does not appear to explicitly describe further comprising: a plate-shaped filter installed in the opening; and a perforated plate installed at a bottom end of the filter.
Nakamura discloses a plate-shaped filter installed in the opening (Fig. 1, paras. [0022]-[0023], a ULPA filter is arranged in an opening between duct 32 and chamber 10); and
a perforated plate installed at a bottom end of the filter (Fig. 1, paras. [0022]-[0023], a baffle plate 44 is arranged below the ULPA filter 42).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a plate-shaped filter installed in the opening; and a perforated plate installed at a bottom end of the filter as taught by Nakamura in the substrate treating apparatus as taught by Nishi since including a plate-shaped filter installed in the opening; and a perforated plate installed at a bottom end of the filter is commonly used to provide clean gas to a liquid treatment module while extending the service life of a filter (Nakamura, paras. [0002], [0007], [0026]).
Regarding claim 17, Nishi as modified by Nakamura discloses wherein the first treating unit and the second treating unit apply a liquid to the substrate (Nishi, Figs. 1-8, 10-15, paras. [0031], [0035]-[0037], [0041], liquid processing sections 141 includes multiple processing units 2 that provide a processing solution from a processing solution supply nozzle 35).
Regarding claim 19, Nishi discloses a substrate treating apparatus (Figs. 1-15, para. [0031], abstract, processing apparatus) comprising:
a chamber having a treatment space (Figs. 1-15, paras. [0031], [0034]-[0035], liquid processing system 1 includes liquid processing block 14);
a first treating unit and a second treating unit arranged in line along a first direction in the treatment space of the chamber, and applying a liquid to a substrate (Figs. 1-8, 10-15, paras. [0031], [0035]-[0037], [0041], liquid processing sections 141 includes multiple processing units 2 that provide a processing solution from a processing solution supply nozzle 35); and
an air conditioning device installed in an upper portion of the chamber, and providing downflow airflow into the treatment space of the chamber (Figs. 1-8, 10-15, paras. [0036], [0045]-[0047], [0082], gas supply units 23 and 22 are arranged in the upper portion of the liquid processing system 1 and provide a downward flow into the processing space 21. The fan filter unit 147 supplies the air into gas supply unit 22),
wherein the air conditioning device includes:
a case through which air is introduced at one side, and having an opening at a lower surface for the air introduced through the inlet to flow downwardly (Figs. 1-8, 10-15, paras. [0031], [0035]-[0037], [0041], [0045]-[0047], [0082], air is introduced into gas supply unit 22 from the FFU 147 between the liquid processing sections 141, and the air is directed through bottom plate 222 towards the processing space 21);
an internal duct for guiding the air to a center of the case such that the air introduced through is uniformly supplied to an interior space of the case (the limitation “such that the air introduced through the inlet is uniformly supplied to an interior space of the case” is functional language that recites the manner of operating the claimed apparatus that does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from the structure as taught by Nishi. See MPEP 2114, subsection II. Figs. 1-6-8, 10-15, paras. [0036], [0045]-[0047], [0051], [0070], [0082], the FFU 147 is arranged in the center of liquid processing system 1 to provide air through openings 221);
a perforated plate installed at a bottom end (Figs. 1-6, 8, 10-15, paras. [0047], [0079]-[0080], [0082], the bottom plate 222 includes vent holes 223);
an upper air pocket provided on a top surface of the case (Figs. 1-6, 8, 10-15, paras. [0036], [0045]-[0047], [0082], the liquid processing units 2 include an air pocket above bottom plate 222); and
lateral air pockets provided on both lateral surfaces of the case (Figs. 1-6, 8, 10-15, paras. [0031], [0035]-[0037], [0041], [0045]-[0047], [0082], the liquid processing units 2 of the liquid processing sections 141 are separated and form lateral air pockets, and the FFU 147 divides the liquid processing system 1 into two spaces), and
the internal ducting includes a central duct that divides the interior space of the case into a first space located on top of the first treating unit and a second space located on top of the second treating unit and that supplies air to the first space and the second space (Figs. 1-6, 8, 10-15, paras. [0036], [0045]-[0047], [0082], the FFU 147 is arranged centrally and divides the liquid processing system 1 into two spaces arranged above the processing spaces 21. The FFU 147 supplies air to the processing spaces). Nishi does not appear to explicitly describe the case having an inlet through which air is introduced at one side, a plate-shaped filter installed in the opening, the perforated plate installed at the bottom of the filter.
Nakamura discloses a case having an inlet through which air is introduced at one side (Figs. 1-2, paras. [020], [0026], [0036], the clean gas supply mechanism includes an air intake port on one side of the supply duct 32);
a plate-shaped filter installed in the opening (Fig. 1, paras. [0022]-[0023], a ULPA filter is arranged in an opening between duct 32 and chamber 10);
a perforated plate installed at a bottom end of the filter (Fig. 1, paras. [0022]-[0023], a baffle plate 44 is arranged below the ULPA filter 42).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included an inlet through which air is introduced at one side, a plate-shaped filter installed in the opening, the perforated plate installed at the bottom of the filter as taught by Nakamura in the substrate treating apparatus as taught by Nishi since including an inlet through which air is introduced at one side, a plate-shaped filter installed in the opening, the perforated plate installed at the bottom of the filter is commonly used to provide clean gas to a liquid treatment module while extending the service life of a filter (Nakamura, paras. [0002], [0007], [0026]).
Claims 3, 11-12, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishi as modified by Nakamura as applied to claims 2, 10, and 19 above, and further in view of Kusama et al. (US PGPub 2019/0375587, Kusama hereinafter).
Regarding claim 3, Nishi as modified by Nakamura does not appear to explicitly describe wherein the central duct includes a first partition wall that is in contact with the first space and a second partition wall that is in contact with the second space, the first partition wall and the second partition wall are made of perforated plates.
Kusama discloses wherein the central duct includes a first partition wall that is in contact with the first space and a second partition wall that is in contact with the second space (Figs. 1-6, paras. [0022]-[0023], [0027]-[0028], the duct 13 includes inner duct walls 13e and outer duct walls 13f. The inner duct walls 13e are in contact with storage areas 12),
the first partition wall and the second partition wall are made of perforated plates (Figs. 1-6, paras. [0023], [0027]-[0031], the inner duct walls 13e include blowout openings 13c, 3d).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the central duct includes a first partition wall that is in contact with the first space and a second partition wall that is in contact with the second space, the first partition wall and the second partition wall are made of perforated plates as taught by Kusama in the air conditioning device as taught by Nishi as modified by Nakamura since including wherein the central duct includes a first partition wall that is in contact with the first space and a second partition wall that is in contact with the second space, the first partition wall and the second partition wall are made of perforated plates is commonly used to provide efficient airflow to improve cleanliness and to minimize temperature increases throughout the system (Kusama, para. [0006]).
Regarding claim 11, Nishi as modified by Nakamura does not appear to explicitly describe wherein the central duct includes a first partition wall that is in contact with the first space and a second partition wall that is in contact with the second space, and the first partition wall and the second partition wall are made of perforated plates.
Kusama discloses wherein the central duct includes a first partition wall that is in contact with the first space and a second partition wall that is in contact with the second space (Figs. 1-6, paras. [0022]-[0023], [0027]-[0028], the duct 13 includes inner duct walls 13e and outer duct walls 13f. The inner duct walls 13e are in contact with storage areas 12),
the first partition wall and the second partition wall are made of perforated plates (Figs. 1-6, paras. [0023], [0027]-[0031], the inner duct walls 13e include blowout openings 13c, 3d).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the central duct includes a first partition wall that is in contact with the first space and a second partition wall that is in contact with the second space, and the first partition wall and the second partition wall are made of perforated plates as taught by Kusama in the substrate treating apparatus as taught by Nishi as modified by Nakamura since including wherein the central duct includes a first partition wall that is in contact with the first space and a second partition wall that is in contact with the second space, the first partition wall and the second partition wall are made of perforated plates is commonly used to provide efficient airflow to improve cleanliness and to minimize temperature increases throughout the system (Kusama, para. [0006]).
Regarding claim 12, Nishi as modified by Nakamura in view of Kusama discloses wherein the first space is located on top of the first treating unit, and the second space is located on top of the second treating unit (Nishi, Figs. 1-6, 8, 10-15, paras. [0036], [0045]-[0047], [0082], the FFU 147 is arranged centrally and divides the liquid processing system 1 into two spaces arranged above the processing spaces 21. The FFU 147 supplies air to the processing spaces).
Regarding claim 20, although Nishi as modified by Nakamura discloses wherein the first space and the second space have spaces symmetric with respect to the central duct (Nishi, Figs. 1-6, 8, 10-15, paras. [0036], [0045]-[0047], [0082], the FFU 147 is arranged centrally and divides the liquid processing system 1 into two spaces arranged above the processing spaces 21. The FFU 147 supplies air to the processing spaces on either side of the FFU), Nishi as modified by Nakamura does not appear to explicitly describe wherein the central duct includes a first partition wall that is in contact with the first space and a second partition wall that is in contact with the second space, the first partition wall and the second partition wall are made of perforated plates.
Kusama discloses wherein the central duct includes a first partition wall that is in contact with the first space and a second partition wall that is in contact with the second space (Figs. 1-6, paras. [0022]-[0023], [0027]-[0028], the duct 13 includes inner duct walls 13e and outer duct walls 13f. The inner duct walls 13e are in contact with storage areas 12),
the first partition wall and the second partition wall are made of perforated plates (Figs. 1-6, paras. [0023], [0027]-[0031], the inner duct walls 13e include blowout openings 13c, 3d), and
the first space and the second space have spaces symmetric with respect to the central duct (Figs. 1-6, paras. [0023], [0027]-[0031], storage areas 12 are symmetric to duct 13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the central duct includes a first partition wall that is in contact with the first space and a second partition wall that is in contact with the second space, the first partition wall and the second partition wall are made of perforated plates as taught by Kusama in the substrate treating apparatus as taught by Nishi as modified by Nakamura since including wherein the central duct includes a first partition wall that is in contact with the first space and a second partition wall that is in contact with the second space, the first partition wall and the second partition wall are made of perforated plates is commonly used to provide efficient airflow to improve cleanliness and to minimize temperature increases throughout the system (Kusama, para. [0006]).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishi as modified by Nakamura as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Fukutomi et al. (US PGPub 2003/0217695, Fukutomi hereinafter).
Regarding claim 18, as best understood, Nishi as modified by Nakamura does not appear to explicitly describe wherein the chambers staked in plural.
Fukutomi discloses wherein chambers are stacked in plural (Figs. 1-4 and 6, abstract, paras. [0031]-[0038], [0051], [0068], the coating processing units SC1, SC2, SC3, SC4, SC5, SC6 are stacked).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the chambers staked in plural as taught by Fukutomi in the substrate treating apparatus as taught by Nishi as modified by Nakamura since including wherein the chambers staked in plural is commonly used to decrease the footprint of the substrate processing system (Fukutomi, paras. [0007], [0011]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Segawa et al. (US PGPub 2015/0170945) discloses a gas path connected to fan filter units.
Kang et al. (KR20200011290) discloses introducing air from a housing comprising partition plates.
/CHRISTINA A RIDDLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882