DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential structural cooperative relationships of elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the necessary structural connections. See MPEP § 2172.01.
The omitted structural cooperative relationships are: How, and where, the centering sleeve is disposed on the pile and how/where that is in relation to the pile shoe (e.g. what, how and where everything is connected and interacts with the other respective components is critical to the understanding of the invention such that a skilled artisan could re-create it – and that is not the case for the independent claims).
Claims 1-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, it is unclear as to how the pile shoe, centering sleeve, and pile components are positioned and interact – as noted above. Please clarify.
Regarding claims 9-11, 18, 23, 27, 28, 33, 35, 37 and 38, the term “preferably” renders the claims indefinite because it is unclear as to whether the following limitations are a required part of the claim – or not.
Regarding claims 25 and 27, the terms “in particular” and “particularly” render the claims indefinite because it is unclear as to whether the following limitations are a required part of the claim – or not.
Regarding claim 13, the limitation “the radial extensions of the circumferential fins are different” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear as to what this difference is (e.g. positioning, material, size, literally anything, etc.).
Regarding claim 17, the limitation “wherein the sleeve section has the casing surface” renders the claims indefinite because it is unclear as to what/how the sleeve section “has” it (e.g. is there some sort of physical connection, are they the same color, etc.).
Claim 31 recites the limitation "the ramming structure" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 12, 19-21, 26, 29 and 32-38 are similarly rejected for being dependent upon an indefinite claim(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 17-19, 25-27, 30, 31, 39 and 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Bald (US 1969251).
Regarding claims 1 and 39, Bald discloses a centering sleeve [20, 30] for a pile shoe [22-25] to be disposed on a driven pile [90], wherein the centering sleeve is configured to be elongated starting from an upper end of the centering sleeve along a longitudinal axis to a lower end of the centering sleeve, wherein the centering sleeve has an outer casing surface, wherein a centering device [32] projecting from the casing surface is disposed on the casing surface [Figures 1-5].
Regarding claims 2, 3, 30 and 39, Bald further discloses casing surface is rotationally symmetrical with respect to the longitudinal axis and the casing surface along the longitudinal axis has an outer diameter which is substantially constant with respect to the longitudinal axis [casing is a cylindrical tube]; and the pile shoe has a substantially flat support surface for setting up the pile shoe on a subsoil [41]; the driven pile is hollow-cylindrical at least in the region of the ramming end, wherein the centering sleeve is disposed inside the driven pile, wherein the centering device rests against an inner pile wall of the driven pile [Figures 1-5].
Regarding claims 17-19, Bald further discloses the centering sleeve has a sleeve section [20, 30 are tubular] along the longitudinal axis and an adjoining connection section, wherein the sleeve section has the casing surface [Figures 1-6], wherein the connection section comprises at least one connecting device [21] for connecting the centering sleeve to the pile shoe; the at least one connecting device is designed as a recess in the connection section, wherein preferably the at least one recess is designed to correspond to at least one connection device of the pile shoe [connecting device engages apertures between 30]; the connection section has at least one substantially conical outer surface, wherein an outer diameter of the at least one outer surface increases towards the longitudinal axis [bottom of centering device 32 has a conicular shape; Figures 1 & 2].
Regarding claims 31, Bald further discloses the pile shoe comprises a connection device [32] disposed on the ramming structure, wherein the connection device extends from the ramming structure against the ramming direction [lifting/dropping elements associated with ram 51], wherein the connection device comprises a connection section and an adjoining guide section against the ramming direction [Figures 1-5].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 28 and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bald (US 1969251) alone.
Regarding claims 4, 28 and 29, although Bald is silent as to the specific parameters and materials as recited in the claims, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize such values and materials depending on a number of variables including intended application of the invention, design loads, and material parameters as seen fit to minimize costs and maximize profits.
Claim(s) 5-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bald (US 1969251) in view of Lee (KR 20120089896 A).
Regarding claims 5-13, Bald fails to disclose the use of fins on the device.
Lee teaches an apparatus/method for increasing the pile point bearing capacity comprising a series of fins extending horizontally out from, and in an array circumferentially around, the base of a pile, and having a gap between each fin section [Figures 3-5].
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Bald by adding the fins as described by Lee to increase bearing capacity for the pile such that it can support heavier loads, thereby increasing the versatility, applicability and subsequently profitability of the device.
Specifically regarding claim 13, Lee teaches the radial extensions of the circumferential fins are different [e.g. positioned at/extending from different locations].
Claim(s) 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bald (US 1969251) in view of Coulon et al. (US 2015/0023739).
Regarding claims 14-16, Bald fails to disclose further details about the reinforcing for the support sleeve.
Coulon teaches a pile shoe comprising least one support structure [pocket formed from 12, and 13] for reinforcing the centering sleeve is disposed on an inner wall of the centering sleeve, wherein the support structure extends from an upper end of the centering sleeve along a portion of the elongated centering sleeve [Figures 1a, 1b], and the support structure comprises support struts [13], wherein the support struts extend substantially radially to the inner wall of the centering sleeve with respect to the longitudinal axis [Figures 1a, 1b].
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Bald by adding the reinforcement to the sleeve as described by Coulon to increase the strength and rigidity of the device while subsequently reducing the weight such that it can support greater loads increasing profitability and be lighter and therefore cheaper to mobilize to project sites.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 20-24 and 32-38 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record fails to disclose, teach or suggest – either alone or in combination – centering sleeve for a pile shoe additionally having a connecting device and the functional details thereof; as explicitly recited in the instant claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Steinlechner (US 2017/037066) discloses a pile shoe having similar features to that of the claimed invention.
KYLE ARMSTRONG, P.E.
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3678
/KYLE ARMSTRONG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619