Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 9, 11, 13-15, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Niwa et al. (2020/0154982).
Regarding claim 1, Niwa discloses a relay adapter, comprising:
a first connector (51) extending in a first direction, the first connector configured to be connected to a first receptacle of a power supply device (40); and
a main body (50) including:
a lateral body extending in a second direction intersecting the first direction (note the layout direction of the converter 50 and the endoscope 22 in Fig. 5),
a second receptacle (52) configured to be connected to a second connector (23) of a medical device (21), and
a grip (body of 50 or 22) provided at least one of (i) in an end surface of the lateral body in the second direction or (ii) between the second receptacle and the end surface (note Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 2, Niwa discloses an entire length of the lateral body in the second direction is longer than an entire length of the lateral body in the first direction (note Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 9, Niwa discloses the lateral body includes: a first lateral portion extending in the second direction, the first lateral portion being at a first side of the lateral body, and a second lateral portion extending opposite to the first lateral portion in the second direction with respect to the second receptacle, the second lateral portion being at a second side of the lateral body, the second direction intersects an axis of the first connector at an intersection portion, and the first side and the second side are on opposite sides of the intersection portion (see Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 11, Niwa discloses the grip is recessed-shape portion (22 or 53).
Regarding claim 13, the endoscope in Niwa is intended to be used once to avoid infections.
Regarding claims 14 and 15, see similar rejections as set forth above.
Regarding claim 19, Niwa discloses that the connector (23) of the medical device (13) has a first shape, the first receptacle (42) has a second shape, and the second receptacle (52) has a third shape, and the second shape prevents the connector of the medical device from being connected to the first receptacle and the third shape allows the connector of the medical device to be connected to the second receptacle (the sizes of 51 and 52 are different from each other as shown in Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 20, see rejection to claim 1 as set forth above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-5, and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niwa et al. (20200154982) in view of Konishi et al. (CN1993078A).
Regarding claim 3, Niwa does not disclose the main body further includes an electrical circuit substrate disposed inside the lateral body, the electrical circuit substrate includes a power supply circuit and a signal conversion circuit, the power supply circuit is configured to supply power transmitted from the power supply device to the medical device, and the signal conversion circuit is configured to: convert a first signal transmitted from the power supply device into a first converted signal compatible with the medical device and transmit the first converted signal to the medical device, and convert a second signal transmitted from the medical device into a second converted signal compatible with the power supply device and transmit the second converted signal to the power supply device as claimed. However, in paragraph 59, Niwa states that various kinds of control signals and image pickup signals are transmitted and received between the endoscopes and the video system through the converter 50.
Konishi, from the similar field of endeavor, discloses a well known endoscopic converter 4 (processor) showing a power supply circuit (11) and a signal conversion circuit (11, 21, 24, 25, 26). The CCD driver 11 provides both a power supply signal and a converted control signal to the CCD sensor 9A.
Therefore, knowing that the converter 50 in Niwa can be any conventional endoscopic converters, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Konishi into Niwa to perform the well known functions as claimed.
Regarding claim 4, Konishi discloses the lateral body includes a sensor (14), and wherein the electrical circuit substrate is mounted with a reading apparatus (14) being configured to read external code information (13) via the sensor.
Regarding claim 5, Konishi discloses the lateral body includes a sensor (14), and wherein the electrical circuit substrate is mounted with a signal input apparatus (14) being configured to receive an external signal (13) via the sensor.
Regarding claims 17-18, see similar rejections as set forth above.
Claim(s) 10 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niwa et al. (20200154982).
Regarding claim 10, Niwa does not disclose the grip includes a plurality of grips, the plurality of grips includes a first grip in a first end surface of the first lateral portion and a second grip in a second end surface of the second lateral portion as claimed. The examiner takes Official Notice that using a plurality of grips as a handling means is well known in the art. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the well known plurality of grips onto Niwa so that the converter 50 as shown in Fig. 5 could be handled by the user readily.
Regarding claim 12, in addition to rejection to claim 10, Niwa does not disclose the finger hook surface grips as claimed. The examiner takes Official Notice that using finger hook surface as grips is well known in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to employ the well known finger hook grips as the grips to perform the well known functions as claimed.
Claim(s) 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niwa et al. (20200154982) in view of Konishi et al. (CN1993078A), and further in view of Ohki (2009/0076327).
Regarding claim 6, Niwa or Konishi does not disclose the electrical circuit substrate further includes: a detection circuit configured to detect whether the second connector is connected to the second receptacle, and a switch circuit configured to stop supplying power from the power supply circuit to the medical device when the detection circuit detects that the second connector is not connected to the second receptacle.
Ohki, from the similar field of endeavor, teaches the detection circuit (26), and the switch circuit (24) as claimed. It should be noted that the cap detection for 15c and 15b is also applied for 14a and 14b as illustrated in Figs. 1a, 1b, and 3 as (14b). The CAP insertion and extraction detecting circuit 26 in Fig. 2 also depends on the two detected signals from 14b and 15b. By using the detecting circuit 26, the power supply and driving signals to the CCD sensor can be disabled automatically when the endoscope is not inserted. Without providing power supply and driving signals to the CCD sensor, the energy consumption of the system can be lowered, and the safety and conveniences of the overall system can be further improved.
Hence, knowing that the power supply and driving signals to the CCD sensor in Niwa is not regulated, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Ohki into the combination of Niwa and Konishi so that the energy consumption, safety, and convenience of the system could be further enhanced.
Regarding claim 7, Niwa discloses a light guide body (23a; 24a) configured to receive an illumination light supplied from the power supply device via the first connector and to transmit the illumination light from the first connector to the second receptacle (note par. 55).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tully et al. (2020/0315432) shows an adapter 300.
/MICHAEL LEE/ Primary Examiner,
Art Unit 2422