Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
2. Claims 30-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
3. With respect to claims 30-32, “the passive circuit” lacks antecedent basis. It appears that these claims were meant to be dependent upon claim 29 and for the purposes of this office action will be treated as such. Correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 26, 27, 33-35 and 37-45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu et al CN 216903344 U (cited by applicant).
6. Consider claims 26 and 44. Liu et al teaches an antenna system (fig 1) and apparatus operable at least a first operational bandwidth over at least a first frequency range and a second operational bandwidth over at least a second frequency range (LTE mid high 1.7 GHz to 2.5 GHz)), wherein the second frequency range (N77 band 3.3 GHz to 4.2 GHz)) is higher than the first frequency range (see fig 2) comprising: an antenna radiator element (2); at least a first feed (4) for the first frequency range coupled to the antenna radiator element; a second feed (3) for the second frequency range coupled to the antenna radiator element (2) wherein the second frequency range is at higher frequency than the first frequency range; at least one discrete reactive component (switch 6, tuning branches 7) coupled to the antenna radiator element, wherein the at least one discrete reactive component has a self-resonant frequency (…the tuning branches comprises a tuning inductance, the inductance value of the tuning inductance is greater than or equal to 0.5nH and less than or equal to 1.0nH, so as to switch to the off state in multiple groups of the switching switch, the self-resonance frequency introduced by the second feeding end is located out of the working frequency band of the first feeding end….) and wherein the at least one discrete reactive component is configured to tune 9 (with capacitor 14 and inductor 15) the first operational bandwidth of the antenna system (…the first tuning component 14 comprises a first capacitor C1; The second tuning component 15 comprises a first inductor L1. In this embodiment, through the first inductor L1 and the first capacitor C1 to tune the signal of different intermediate frequency band…), and wherein the self resonant frequency is greater than the first frequency range and less than the second frequency range (see fig 2, where the self-resonance frequency of 2.889 GHz is greater than LTE mid band 1.7 GHz and less than N77 band 3.3 GHz-4.2 GHz).
7. Regarding 27. Liu et al teaches comprising a bypass (switch 8) for the second feed around the at least one discrete reactive component.
8. Regarding claim 33. Liu et al teaches wherein the at least one discrete reactive component is configured to tune at least one of a resonance of the antenna radiator element, or an impedance match of the first frequency range, and not tune the impedance match of the second frequency range.
9. Regarding claim 34. Liu et al inherently teaches wherein the antenna system (2) has an electrical length (inherent), for the first frequency range, dependent upon the discrete reactive component (i.e. tuning of the bands).
10. Regarding claim 35. Liu et al teaches wherein a resonance of the antenna radiator element and/or an impedance match of the first frequency range is aperture and/or impedance matched (… the first matching circuit 5 further comprises a second capacitor C2 connected in series with the first tuning component one end of the switch circuit 6 is electrically connected between the first capacitor C1 and the second capacitor C2, so as to be connected with the first main circuit 11 in parallel. A second capacitor C2 is connected in parallel with the switching circuit 6, and the second capacitor C2 is connected in series with the first capacitor C1, which can improve the resonant accuracy of the plurality of intermediate frequency bands in the tuning LTE frequency band of the switching circuit 6, which is good for the improvement of the radiation efficiency and performance of the radiator 2….).
11. Regarding claim 37. Liu et al teaches wherein the second feed (3) is proximal to the at least one discrete reactive component (7) and the first feed (4) is distal from the at least one discrete reactive component (7).
12. Regarding claim 38. Liu et al teaches wherein the discrete reactive component (7) is a component in a first current path (4) at the first frequency range and wherein the discrete reactive component (8) is not a component in a second current path at the second frequency range.
13. Regarding claim 39. Liu et al teaches (fig 5) wherein the discrete reactive component is bypassed (switches 8 and 9) by the second current path at the second frequency range.
14. Regarding claim 40. Liu et al teaches wherein the second current path, where it bypasses the discrete reactive component, has a relatively low impedance at the second frequency range and a relatively high impedance at the first frequency range (depending on the inductors L switched in at 8).
15. Regarding claim 41. Liu et al teaches wherein the discrete reactive component is coupled to a ground plane (See GND in box 5).
16. Regarding claim 42. Liu et al teaches wherein the discrete reactive component (7) is an inductor.
17. Regarding claim 43. Liu et al teaches configured for simultaneous operation using the first operational bandwidth and the second operational bandwidth (…. the second matching circuit 10 comprises a second filter circuit 36. the second filter circuit 36 comprises a fifth tuning component 37 and the sixth tuning component 38, fifth tuning component 37 connected in series with the first feed end 3, the sixth tuning component 38 and the first feed end 3 in parallel and grounded. In this embodiment, the second filter circuit 36 can filter the intermediate frequency band generated by tuning the first resonant circuit 13, to filter the interference of the intermediate frequency signal fed by the second feed end 4. At the same time, the second filter circuit 36 is further used for tuning the radiator 2 to generate the resonance of the N77 frequency band in the 5 G frequency band….)
18. Regarding claim 45. Liu et al teaches (given the frequency bands discussed) it is inherent that the apparatus is a user equipment, UE, or is implemented in a UE.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
20. Claims 28, 29, 30 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al CN 216903344 U (cited by applicant) in view of Li CN-107919523-A.
21. Regarding claim 28. Liu et al fails to teach a current path for the second feed around the at least one discrete reactive component, wherein the current path comprises a high-pass filter. However, Li teaches such (see 105 in fig 5). It would have been obvious substitution of one reactive component for another to use the high pass filter taught by Li in Liu et al in order to minimize the noise introduced in that band.
22. Regarding claim 29. Li teaches (fig 5) a passive circuit configured to couple the least one discrete reactive (105) component to the antenna radiator element for the first frequency range and configured to de-couple (using switch 1061) the least one discrete reactive (105) component from the antenna radiator element (1021) at the second frequency range.
23. Regarding claim 30. Liu et al teaches (fig 5) the passive circuit is arranged in parallel to the at least one discrete reactive (7) component to provide a shunt (using switches 8 and 9) around the at least one discrete reactive component (7).
24. Regarding claim 32. Li teaches wherein the passive circuit (107) comprises a series LC circuit tuned to the second frequency range (…wherein the matching device 107 is a main antenna MB and HB frequency signal matching circuit, can use 0 ohm resistor, capacitor or inductor…). Liu et al also teaches such see matching circuit 13 in figure 1.
25. Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al CN 216903344 U (cited by applicant) in view of Li CN-107919523-A further in view of Examiners Official Notice.
26. Regarding claim 31. The combination of Liu et al and Li fail to explicitly state wherein the passive circuit comprises first and second conductive elements with a partial overlap. However, overlapping electronic elements, even partially is well known in the art and would have been obvious, before the effective date to save space in the manufacturing of the mobile device.
27. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Go WO-2021112512 A1 teaches an electronic device may comprise: a first wireless communication circuit for processing a first radio signal of a first frequency band, and including a first filter for filtering the signal of the first frequency band; a second communication circuit for processing a second radio signal of a second frequency band, and including a second filter for filtering the signal of the first frequency band; an antenna for transmitting or receiving the radio signals of the first frequency band and the second frequency band, and including a first power feeding point and a second power feeding point; a first transmission line for connecting the first power feeding point and the first filter such that a first load impedance at the first power feeding point matches with the first radio signal of the first frequency band, and same is open with respect to the second radio signal of the second frequency band; and a second transmission line for connecting the second power feeding point and the second filter such that a second load impedance at the second power feeding point matches with the second radio signal of the second frequency band, and same is open with respect to the first radio signal of the first frequency band.
Liu WO 2017193939 teaches an antenna tuning method. The antenna comprises: a resonating structure configured to produce a plurality of resonant frequencies in an operational frequency band; and a tuning unit coupled to the resonating structure, and configured to tune the plurality of resonant frequencies. The invention can resolve a problem in the prior art in which an antenna supporting a plurality of frequency bands and occupying a limited space is difficult to realize, implementing an antenna supporting a plurality of frequency bands and occupying a limited space.
Badaruzzaman et al US 9246223 B2 teaches a multiband antenna includes a feed port coupled to each of a first radiating portion and a second radiating portion. Each of the first and second radiating portions defines a respective resonant bandwidth. The multiband antenna also includes at least one adjustable tuning circuit disposed between separate and displaced radiating segments of a respective one of the first and second radiating portions. Adjustment of the tuning circuit alters a corresponding resonant bandwidth allowing the corresponding resonant bandwidth to be tuned independently of the other resonant bandwidth and without affecting performance of the other resonant bandwidth.
Claim Objections
28. Claim 36 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 36. The prior art of record fails to teach or make obvious comprising a low pass filter comprising multiple discrete reactive components, wherein the low pass filter is coupled to the antenna radiator element and has a self-resonant frequency dependent upon a selected reactive component of the multiple discrete reactive components, wherein the discrete reactive components are configured for tuning at the first frequency range and be bypassed at the second frequency range by the high-pass filter.
/CURTIS A KUNTZ/Primary examiner, Art Unit 2646