DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
Applicant’s submission of four Information Disclosure Statements on 1/15/2025 has been received and considered. Due to the large quantity of documents in the IDS submission a cursory review of each document was performed.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 1 recites “one or more processors” as it relates to the system and “one or more first processors” as it relates to the EGM. The Examiner requests that Applicant review all recitations with the claims to confirm that the correct processor (system vs. EGM) is properly claimed. The Examiner suggests using clarifying language to better distinguish between the processors. For example, the system processors could be referred to as “one or more system processors” and the EGM processors could be referred to as “one or more EGM processors”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to abstract idea without significantly more.
2019 PEG Analysis
Step 1: Are the claims directed to a statutory category (e.g., a process, machine, etc.)
Claims 1-19 are directed to an apparatus.
Step 2A (Prong 1): Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature or natural phenomenon?
Yes, the claims recite an abstract idea. The following specific limitations in the claims under examination recite an abstract idea:
Determine a win amount (e.g., see claim 1)
Determine a score amount, including a multiplier (e.g., see claims 1-4
Update tournament score and leaderboard (e.g., see claims 1, 7-9, and 16-19)
The above listed identified limitations fall within at least one of the groupings of abstract ideas enumerated in the 2019 PEG:
Mental Processes: concepts performed in the human mind (including on observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion).
Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity: managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions or relationships of interaction between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions.
The claims are primarily directed to rules for playing a game, wherein the game rules align with a method of organizing human activity. The game includes tracking player game performance to create a leaderboard ranking players throughout the tournament. A human can mentally track game scores and generate a leaderboard. The claims do not currently recite steps that are too complex for a human mind to perform. For example, the claims do not require specific rate of data sampling, massive number of players, or complex algorithms used to calculate a score and leaderboard ranking.
Step 2A (Prong 2): Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
Overall, the following additional claim limitations appear to merely implement the abstract idea, add insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, or generally link the judicial exception to a particular environment or field of use, as outlined below:
Receiving data/score updates and graphic content/messages, including event-driven transmissions (e.g., see at least claims 1, 5-7, and 10-15, insignificant extra-solution activity);
Step 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
With regard to claims 1-19 the claims as a whole do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself. The above listed additional claim limitations display and process game data in a well-understood, routine, and conventional way. Further, the computer hardware of claim 1 (e.g., a processor and presentation assembly) are well-understood, routine, and conventional in the art.
In order to satisfy the Berkheimer factual determination of conventional elements in the art, U.S. Patent No. 7,819,742 to Chamberlain is cited for disclosing the conventional features of slot machines including processors (e.g., see at least column 11, lines 14-16) and displays (e.g., see column 7, lines 12-25). Therefore, claims 1-19 are not patent eligible under 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 5-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0089954 to Carpenter (Fig. 6 shown for convenience) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2007/0060325 to Gradek.
Regarding claim 1, Carpenter discloses electronic gaming system (e.g., see at least Figs. 1-6 that show an electronic gaming system) comprising:
a plurality of electronic gaming machines (EGMs)(e.g., see at least Fig. 6 shows four EGMs 103; see also paragraph 47 that discloses the use of “a number of gaming machines 103”); and
one or more processors (e.g., see at least a paragraph 48 that discloses the use of a tournament controller), one or more memory devices (e.g., see at least paragraph 47 that discloses “memory, such as a hard drive, PROM or CD ROM, containing the programming to support the server controlling in-revenue and out-of-revenue operating modes of gaming machines 103”), and one or more network communications interfaces (e.g., see at least paragraphs 47 and 67-68 that disclose “network connections” and “casino server network 1800”), wherein:
the one or more processors, the one or more memory devices, and the one or more network communications interfaces are operably connected (e.g., see at least paragraphs 47 and 48 for disclosure of system 100 that includes a controller, memory and network communications),
the one or more memory devices store computer-executable instructions which, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to receive score update messages from the plurality of electronic gaming machines in association with a tournament session of a multiplayer game tournament (e.g., see Fig. 6 that shows at least six players, including Jane Does 1-6) and via the one or more network communications interfaces and, responsive to each receipt of one of the score update messages from one of the EGMs (e.g., see at least paragraph that discloses that tournament controller maintains “real-time standings and scores” of gaming machines 103):
determine a win amount associated with that score update message from information in that score update message (e.g., see at least paragraph 54 that discloses “players may accumulate virtual points or dollars by playing a game”),
determine, based on information in that score update message, a player entry associated with the score update message (e.g., see at least paragraph 78 for discussion of identifying a player; see also Fig. 6 that shows players identified by name, including Jane Doe 1 to Jane Doe 6),
determine a corresponding score amount for that score update message based, at least in part, on the win amount associated therewith (e.g., see at least paragraph 48 that discloses “real-time standings and scores”; see also Fig. 6 for tournament leaderboard),
update a tournament session score for the player entry associated with that score update message based on the corresponding score amount for that score update message (e.g., see at least paragraph 48 that discloses “real-time standings and scores”; see also Fig. 6 for tournament leaderboard), and
send, via the one or more network communications interfaces, a corresponding win update message to the EGM that sent that score update message, the corresponding win update message including score information defining at least one of: the corresponding score amount for that score update message and the now-updated tournament session score for the player entry associated with that score update message (e.g., see at least paragraph 75 that discloses updating player positions and accumulated totals of the players), and
each EGM includes one or more first processors (e.g., see at least paragraph 175 that discloses that “each participating gaming machine may include programming executed by a processor”) and one or more first memory devices (e.g., see at least paragraph 62 that disclose “gaming machine 103 may further include memory”) and wherein the one or more first memory devices for each electronic gaming machine store computer-executable instructions which, when executed by the one or more first processors of that EGM, cause the one or more first processors of that EGM to:
determine a plurality of game outcomes for a game (e.g., see at least paragraphs 50-52 that discloses determining a game outcome), and
determine, for each game outcome, a win amount associated with that game outcome (e.g., see at least paragraph 59 that discloses that “the processor may pay winning game outcomes by incrementing the credit meters”),
generate and send, to the one or more processors, a corresponding score update message of the score update messages for each game outcome a) where the win amount associated with that game outcome is a non-zero amount or b) where the win amount associated with that game outcome is zero and the win amount associated with the most recent game outcome for that EGM prior to that game outcome is a non-zero amount (e.g., see at least paragraph 48 that discloses real-time standings and score; see also paragraph 215 that discloses continuous player tracking),
receive a win update message from the one or more processors in association with each sent score update message (e.g., see at least paragraph 59 that discloses that “the processor may pay winning game outcomes by incrementing the credit meters”; see also Fig. 6 that shows a leaderboard that is updated), and
cause a score displayed by the electronic gaming machine during the tournament session to update based on the score information in each win update message received by the electronic gaming machine during the tournament session (e.g., see at least paragraph 59 that discloses that “the processor may pay winning game outcomes by incrementing the credit meters”; see also Fig. 6 that shows a leaderboard that is updated);
[claim 5] wherein the one or more memory devices further store additional computer-executable instructions which, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to:
determine, based on a first score update message of the score update messages, that a first electronic gaming machine of the electronic gaming machines that is associated with a first player entry associated with the first score update message is to be caused to display first graphical content on one or more displays thereof, and
send, responsive to determining that the first electronic gaming machine is to be caused to display the first graphical content, a context message to be sent to the first electronic gaming machine, wherein the context message includes information that is configured to cause the display of the first graphical content on the one or more displays of the first electronic gaming machine (e.g., see at least paragraphs 71 and 73 that disclose that game results/content may be displayed on various displays including 111 and EGM display 113);
[claim 6] wherein the first graphical content is selected from the group consisting of: graphical content conveying a congratulatory message, graphical content indicating a large-magnitude win amount, graphical content conveying a motivational message, and graphical content indicating that a player associated with the first player entry experienced a change in ranking within the tournament session (e.g., see at least Fig. 6 that’s a leaderboard, wherein as the game progresses, the playing ranking is likely to change; see also paragraph 54 that discusses “when a lower ranked player overtakes the leader to become the new first place player”); and
[claim 7] wherein: each electronic gaming machine is associated with a corresponding player participating in the tournament session, and the one or more memory devices further store additional computer-executable instructions which, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to:
determine, at multiple times, updated relative rankings of the players participating in the tournament session relative to each other and based on the most recent tournament session score for the player entry associated with each player at each of the multiple times, and send, responsive to each determination of the updated relative ranking of the players in the tournament session at one of the multiple times, a rank score update message to each of the electronic gaming machines that includes information indicating the updated relative ranking of the players of the tournament session (e.g., see at least paragraph 48 that discloses “real-time standings and scores”; see also Fig. 6 for tournament leaderboard);
[claim 8] wherein the one or more memory devices further store additional computer-executable instructions which, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to:
determine an initial relative ranking of the players without reference to any tournament session score for that tournament session associated with any of the players, and
send, prior to receiving any of the score update messages for the tournament session, an initial rank score update message to each of the electronic gaming machines that includes information indicating the initial relative ranking of the players of the tournament session (e.g., see at least paragraph 88 that discloses an “initial (starting) score (e.g. 10,000 points or credits)”);
[claim 9] wherein the one or more memory devices further store additional computer-executable instructions which, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to determine the initial relative ranking according to one or more techniques selected from the group consisting of:
ranking by player first and last name in alphabetical order, ranking by player last and first name in alphabetical order, ranking by player first name in alphabetical order, ranking by player last name in alphabetical order, ranking by overall player tournament score (e.g., see at least paragraph 88 that discloses an “initial (starting) score (e.g. 10,000 points or credits)”), ranking by identification numbers associated with the electronic gaming machines used by each player in order, ranking by serial numbers associated with the electronic gaming machines used by each player in order, ranking by an amount of player loyalty program points associated with each player in order, ranking by player date of birth in order, and ranking by order of player entry into the tournament session;
[claim 10] wherein the one or more memory devices further store additional computer-executable instructions which, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to, prior to receiving any of the score update messages for the tournament session:
receive a command to initiate the tournament session, and
send, responsive to receiving the command to initiate the tournament session, a countdown setup message to client devices in communication with the one or more processors, wherein the countdown setup message is configured to cause each client device of one or more of the client devices that receive the countdown setup message to display a countdown timer on one or more displays thereof and to initialize that countdown timer at a common starting value for the tournament session (e.g., see at least paragraph 219 for disclosure of a “tournament start time”; see also Fig. 28 that shows a countdown timer at “8”; see also paragraph 43 for start countdown);
[claim 11] wherein the one or more memory devices further store additional computer-executable instructions which, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to, prior to receiving any of the score update messages for the tournament session:
send, after or concurrently with sending the countdown setup message to the client devices, a countdown start message to the client devices, the countdown start message configured to cause the countdown timers shown on the one or more displays of each client device of the one or more client devices to start a countdown animation (e.g., see at least paragraph 219 for disclosure of a “tournament start time”; see also Fig. 28 that shows a countdown timer animation at “8”; see also paragraph 43 for start countdown);
[claim 12] wherein the one or more memory devices further store additional computer-executable instructions which, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to send at least two of the countdown start messages to corresponding client devices of the client devices at different times (e.g. see at least paragraph 12 that discloses that “players may play their tournament rounds at different times rather than concurrently as in a standard tournament”);
[claim 13] wherein the one or more memory devices further store additional computer-executable instructions which, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to, prior to receiving any of the score update messages for the tournament session, send a tournament session start message to each of the electronic gaming machines (e.g., see at least paragraph 219 for disclosure of a “tournament start time”; see also Fig. 28 that shows a countdown timer animation at “8”; see also paragraph 43 for start countdown);
[claim 14] wherein the one or more memory devices further store additional computer-executable instructions which, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to:
determine a start time of the tournament session (e.g., see at least paragraph 219 for disclosure of a “tournament start time”; see also Fig. 28 that shows a countdown timer animation at “8”; see also paragraph 43 for start countdown),
determine when a first period of time since the start time has elapsed, wherein the first period of time is less than a duration of the tournament session, and
send, responsive to determining that the first period of time since the start time has elapsed, a final countdown timer message to client devices in communication with the one or more processors, wherein the final countdown timer message is configured to cause each client device of one or more of the client devices that receive the final countdown timer message to display a final countdown timer on one or more displays thereof and to initialize that countdown timer at a common starting value for the tournament session (e.g., see Fig. 6 that shows a timing remaining countdown timer, “Time Left: 0:56”)
[claim 15] wherein the one or more memory devices further store additional computer-executable instructions which, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to:
determine when a second period of time since the start time has elapsed, wherein the second period of time is the duration of the tournament session, and
send, responsive to determining that the second period of time since the start time has elapsed, a session stop message to each of the electronic gaming machines, wherein the session stop message is configured to cause the electronic gaming machines to end participation in the tournament session (e.g., see at least paragraph 90; when the end time counter says 0:00, that is equivalent to stop message);
[claim 16] wherein the one or more memory devices further store additional computer-executable instructions which, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to, after sending the session stop messages:
compare the most recent tournament session score for the tournament session for each player entry of the player entries associated with one or more of the score update messages against a threshold score, and s
store, for each tournament session score that exceeds the threshold score, information identifying at least that tournament session score in a database (e.g., see at least paragraph 10 that discloses “posting a final score”);
[claim 17] wherein the threshold score is selected to be a tournament session score already stored in the database at the time of the comparison (e.g., see at least paragraph 198 that discloses a player’s score; see also leaderboard in Fig. 6 that only shows the top 6 players);
[claim 18] wherein the one or more memory devices further store additional computer-executable instructions which, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to, after sending the session stop messages and for each tournament session score for the tournament session:
identify a player that is associated with that tournament session score,
update an overall tournament score that is associated with the player that is associated with that tournament session score based on that tournament session score, and
store the overall tournament score in a tournament score database after the update thereof (e.g., see at least paragraph 10 that discloses “posting a final score”);
[claim 19] wherein the one or more memory devices further store additional computer-executable instructions which, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to:
determine, after the overall tournament scores for the players associated with the tournament session scores for the tournament session have been updated, a relative ranking of all players that are participating in the multiplayer gaming tournament based on the overall tournament scores associated with those players, and
send a tournament leaderboard update message to one or more of the client devices, the tournament leaderboard update message including information indicating the relative rankings of at least some of the players (e.g., see at least paragraph 10 that discloses “posting a final score”).
Carpenter discloses that player game data may not be a single event but are continuously monitored and updating of player tracking data at a tournament controller, including tracking player points (e.g., see at least paragraph 215). Carpenter fails to expressly disclose only updating when there’s an updating event (e.g., a player game score that changes the overall plyer scoring, that is a non-zero game score). The concept of event-driven uploads or data transmissions in contrast to polling a preset time periods is advantageous to computing because it reduces processing and memory burdens by unnecessarily transmitting data when there’s no change.
Reasonably pertinent to the problem face, Gradek teaches a live scoring system that is event-driven and the update a statistic if “new statistics exist in the updates.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to modify Carpenter with an event-driven score update strategy when new statistics exist (a non-zero score change) as taught by Gradek in order to use a known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way. In this case, event-driven computing updates offer performance, flexibility, and efficiency gains by eliminating unnecessary polling loops and increasing real-time responsiveness.
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carpenter in view of Gradek as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent No. 9,616,331 to Jordan.
Regarding claims 2-4, Carpenter shows all of the recited features (in combination with Gradek) but is silent regarding the use of a score multiplier, including a base rate and a multiplier rate (during certain time periods) and extra multipliers.
In the same field of endeavor, Jordan teaches the use of a tournament where player can implement time-based multipliers of various values (e.g., see at least Fig. 6 that states under “Multiple Jackpot Time” that “a player can choose to apply their multiple jackpot time perk. The pert gives them a random or set multiplier for x of y minutes during the tournament”; see also column 6, lines 47-52 that discloses a multiplier).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to modify Carpenter a score multiplier as taught by Jordan in order to use a known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way. In this case, obtaining a tournament perk, like a multiplier perk, is interesting an entertaining for the players that will increase player enjoyment.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent No. 9,656,174 to McLellan discusses a purchasable tournament multiplier (e.g., see at least the paragraph bridging columns 1 and 2)
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0143825 to Behrendt discusses the use of event-driven updates as opposed to periodic updates (e.g., see at least paragraph 129)
/James S. McClellan/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715