DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-13 are present for examination.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 3, 10, and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 2, “the steps” should be “steps”.
Claim 3, line 2, “the at least one” should be “at least one”.
Claim 10, line 2, “Wherein” should be “wherein”.
Claim 13, line 4, “scanner (38)” should be “scanner”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, it recites, inter alia, “…b) capturing and storing an initial set of 3-dimensional (3D) surface geometry measurement data of an outer surface of the initial layer by moving a 3D surface scanner about the initial layer, … d) capturing and storing a subsequent set of 3-dimensional (3D) surface geometry measurement data of an outer surface of the subsequent layer by moving the 3D surface scanner about the subsequent layer, e) merging the 3D surface geometry measurement data of the subsequent layer with previous 3D surface geometry measurement data by transforming the captured 3D surface geometry measurement data of the layers into a common reference coordinate system to form a merged 3D model of the layers, … and h) repeating steps c) to g) until the factory joint is completed.”
It is not clear what data “previous 3D surface geometry measurement data” is referring to. According to claim 1, it has an initial set of 3-dimensional (3D) surface geometry measurement data captured in step b), and a subsequent set of 3-dimensional (3D) surface geometry measurement data captured in step d). The step e) merges the 3D surface geometry measurement data of the subsequent layer with previous 3D surface geometry measurement data. And the claim further recites a step h) which repeats steps c) to g), which means step d) will be repeated to capture at least another subsequent set of 3-dimensional (3D) surface geometry measurement data. This will make the “initial set of 3D surface geometry measurement data” and the first “subsequent set of 3D surface geometry measurement data” both “previous 3D surface geometry measurement data” when the step d) is performed as steps c) to g) are repeated. It is not clear which 3D surface geometry measurement data will be merged with the newly captured (in step d)) the 3D surface geometry measurement data of the subsequent layer in step e). Therefore, claim 1 is indefinite.
Claims 2-12 depend from claim 1 but fail to cure the deficiencies of claim 1.
Therefore, claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 USC 112(b) for being indefinite. For examination purposes, the “previous 3D surface geometry measurement data” has been interpreted as all the 3D surface geometry measurement data of the previous layers.
Regarding claim 13, it recites “the 3D surface geometry measurement device” in line 8 and “the layer” in line 9. There are insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Therefore, claim 13 is rejected under 35 USC 112(b) for being indefinite. For examination purposes, “the 3D surface geometry measurement device” has been interpreted as the 3D surface scanner, and “the layer” has been interpreted as any surface layer.
Double Patenting
Claim 13 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,560,426 B2 in view of European Patent Publication No. EP3901571 A1 to Doedens.
18/977952 Claim 13
12,560,426 Claim 8
A system for inspecting a factory joint during installation, the system comprising:
A system for inspecting surfaces and/or interfaces of high voltage and/or medium voltage cable components, the system comprising:
a 3D surface scanner, and
a non-contact surface scanner, for capturing at least one set of 3D surface geometry measurement data of an area of interest of a surface of the cable component by moving the non-contact surface scanner over the area of interest, a fixture for arranging around the surface to be scanned for capturing the 3D surface geometry measurement data, said fixture comprising a plurality of positioning markers, a memory unit for storing multiple 3D surface geometry measurement data of the area of interest,
a processing unit couplable with the 3D surface scanner (38),
a processor connected to the non-contact surface scanner,
wherein the processing unit is configured to receive 3D surface geometry measurement data from the 3D surface scanner, and wherein the processing unit is configured to inspect 3D surface geometry measurement data captured by the 3D surface geometry measurement device to determine shape parameters and/or surface texture parameters of the layer, and
configured to inspect the captured 3D surface geometry measurement data to determine smoothness of the surface scanned by the surface scanner, and
to compare the determined shape parameters with expected shape parameters, and/or to compare the determined surface texture parameters with expected surface texture parameters, and
compare the smoothness with threshold data to provide a quality report for the surface scanned by the surface scanner.
to output a deviation signal if the determined shape parameters deviate by more than a predetermined shape tolerance from the expected shape parameters and/or if the determined surface texture parameters deviate by more than a predetermined surface texture tolerance from the expected surface texture parameters.
The smoothness of the surface recited in claim 8 of 12,560,426 can correspond to shape parameters recited in claim 13 of 18/977,951, and the threshold data recited in claim 8 of 12,560,426 can correspond to a predetermined shape tolerance from the expected shape parameters recited in claim 13 of 18/977,951.
However, claim 8 of 12,560,426 does not expressly disclose to output a deviation signal if the determined shape parameters deviate by more than a predetermined shape tolerance from the expected shape parameters and/or if the determined surface texture parameters deviate by more than a predetermined surface texture tolerance from the expected surface texture parameters. On the other hand, Doedens discloses to output a deviation signal if the determined shape parameters deviate by more than a predetermined shape tolerance from the expected shape parameters and/or if the determined surface texture parameters deviate by more than a predetermined surface texture tolerance from the expected surface texture parameters (Doedens, para. [0030], disclosing an analysis part in communication with the non-contact surface scanner, the analysis part comprises a processor adapted to process measurement data from the non-contact surface scanner to create a continuous 3D surface geometry measurement of the surface and comparing the continuous 3D surface geometry measurement with at least one surface geometry acceptance threshold determining the quality of the surface of the high voltage end, para. [0031], disclosing the surface geometry acceptance threshold may be based on a height variation threshold, surface derivative threshold, peeling wave threshold, and/or an area of a cut, a depth of a curt, and a slope of a cut, and an operator may receive a go or a no go after the scan is performed, allowing or disallowing the operator to proceed mount a HV cable accessory, indicating the continuous 3D surface geometry measurement of the surface can correspond to the height variation, surface derivative, peeling wave, area of a cut, depth of a cut, and/or slope of a cut as the shape parameters determined to be compared with the corresponding threshold, and the no go output can correspond to a deviation signal corresponding to the comparison result of the determined shape parameters deviate by more than a predetermined shape tolerance from the expected shape parameters based on the corresponding threshold).
It would have been obvious for a person skilled in the art to combine claim 8 of 12,560,426 with Doedens. The suggestion/motivation would have been to determine a quality of a surface of a high voltage cable end, as suggested by Doedens (see Doedens, Abstract).
Claim 13 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 12 of copending Application No. 19/414,357 in view of Doedens.
18/977952 Claim 13
19/414,357 Claim 12
A system for inspecting a factory joint during installation, the system comprising:
A system for inspecting surfaces and/or interfaces of high voltage and/or medium voltage cable components, the system comprising:
a 3D surface scanner, and
a non-contact surface scanner (40), for capturing at least one set of 3D surface geometry measurement data of an area of interest (45) of the cable component by moving the non-contact surface scanner over the area of interest, wherein the non-contact surface scanner comprises 3D markers, an external camera connected to the non-contact surface scanner, wherein the non-contact surface scanner uses the external camera and the 3D markers to obtain the scanner position in relation to the cable,
a memory unit (44) for storing multiple 3D surface geometry measurement data of the area of interest,
a processing unit couplable with the 3D surface scanner (38),
a processor (43) connected to the non-contact surface scanner,
wherein the processing unit is configured to receive 3D surface geometry measurement data from the 3D surface scanner, and wherein the processing unit is configured to inspect 3D surface geometry measurement data captured by the 3D surface geometry measurement device to determine shape parameters and/or surface texture parameters of the layer, and
configured to inspect the captured 3D surface geometry measurement data to determine smoothness of the surface scanned by the surface scanner, and
to compare the determined shape parameters with expected shape parameters, and/or to compare the determined surface texture parameters with expected surface texture parameters, and
compare the smoothness with threshold data to provide a quality report for the surface scanned by the surface scanner.
to output a deviation signal if the determined shape parameters deviate by more than a predetermined shape tolerance from the expected shape parameters and/or if the determined surface texture parameters deviate by more than a predetermined surface texture tolerance from the expected surface texture parameters.
The smoothness of the surface recited in claim 12 of 19/414,357 can correspond to shape parameters recited in claim 13 of 18/977,951, and the threshold data recited in claim 12 of 19/414,357 can correspond to a predetermined shape tolerance from the expected shape parameters recited in claim 13 of 18/977,951.
However, claim 12 of 19/414,357 does not expressly disclose to output a deviation signal if the determined shape parameters deviate by more than a predetermined shape tolerance from the expected shape parameters and/or if the determined surface texture parameters deviate by more than a predetermined surface texture tolerance from the expected surface texture parameters. On the other hand, Doedens discloses to output a deviation signal if the determined shape parameters deviate by more than a predetermined shape tolerance from the expected shape parameters and/or if the determined surface texture parameters deviate by more than a predetermined surface texture tolerance from the expected surface texture parameters (Doedens, para. [0030], disclosing an analysis part in communication with the non-contact surface scanner, the analysis part comprises a processor adapted to process measurement data from the non-contact surface scanner to create a continuous 3D surface geometry measurement of the surface and comparing the continuous 3D surface geometry measurement with at least one surface geometry acceptance threshold determining the quality of the surface of the high voltage end, para. [0031], disclosing the surface geometry acceptance threshold may be based on a height variation threshold, surface derivative threshold, peeling wave threshold, and/or an area of a cut, a depth of a curt, and a slope of a cut, and an operator may receive a go or a no go after the scan is performed, allowing or disallowing the operator to proceed mount a HV cable accessory, indicating the continuous 3D surface geometry measurement of the surface can correspond to the height variation, surface derivative, peeling wave, area of a cut, depth of a cut, and/or slope of a cut as the shape parameters determined to be compared with the corresponding threshold, and the no go output can correspond to a deviation signal corresponding to the comparison result of the determined shape parameters deviate by more than a predetermined shape tolerance from the expected shape parameters based on the corresponding threshold).
It would have been obvious for a person skilled in the art to combine claim 12 of 19/414,357 with Doedens. The suggestion/motivation would have been to determine a quality of a surface of a high voltage cable end, as suggested by Doedens (see Doedens, Abstract).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Doedens.
Regarding claim 13, Doedens discloses A system for inspecting a factory joint during installation, the system comprising:
a 3D surface scanner (Doedens, para. [0029], disclosing a non-contact surface scanner, which may be a 3D laser scanner), and
a processing unit couplable with the 3D surface scanner (38) (Doedens, para. [0030], disclosing an analysis part in communication with the non-contact surface scanner, the analysis part comprises a processor), wherein the processing unit is configured to receive 3D surface geometry measurement data from the 3D surface scanner (Doedens, para. [0030], disclosing an analysis part in communication with the non-contact surface scanner, the analysis part comprises a processor adapted to process measurement data from the non-contact surface scanner to create a continuous 3D surface geometry measurement of the surface and comparing the continuous 3D surface geometry measurement with at least one surface geometry acceptance threshold determining the quality of the surface of the high voltage end), and wherein the processing unit is configured to inspect 3D surface geometry measurement data captured by the 3D surface geometry measurement device to determine shape parameters and/or surface texture parameters of the layer (Doedens, para. [0030], disclosing an analysis part in communication with the non-contact surface scanner, the analysis part comprises a processor adapted to process measurement data from the non-contact surface scanner to create a continuous 3D surface geometry measurement of the surface and comparing the continuous 3D surface geometry measurement with at least one surface geometry acceptance threshold determining the quality of the surface of the high voltage end, claim 3, disclosing the surface geometry acceptance threshold is a surface derivative threshold, indicating the continuous 3D surface geometry measurement of the surface can correspond to the surface derivative as the shape parameters determined to be compared with the corresponding threshold), and to compare the determined shape parameters with expected shape parameters, and/or to compare the determined surface texture parameters with expected surface texture parameters (Doedens, para. [0030], disclosing an analysis part in communication with the non-contact surface scanner, the analysis part comprises a processor adapted to process measurement data from the non-contact surface scanner to create a continuous 3D surface geometry measurement of the surface and comparing the continuous 3D surface geometry measurement with at least one surface geometry acceptance threshold determining the quality of the surface of the high voltage end, para. [0031], disclosing the surface geometry acceptance threshold may be based on a height variation threshold, surface derivative threshold, peeling wave threshold, and/or an area of a cut, a depth of a curt, and a slope of a cut, indicating the continuous 3D surface geometry measurement of the surface can correspond to the height variation, surface derivative, peeling wave, area of a cut, depth of a cut, and/or slope of a cut as the shape parameters determined to be compared with the corresponding threshold), and to output a deviation signal if the determined shape parameters deviate by more than a predetermined shape tolerance from the expected shape parameters and/or if the determined surface texture parameters deviate by more than a predetermined surface texture tolerance from the expected surface texture parameters (Doedens, para. [0030], disclosing an analysis part in communication with the non-contact surface scanner, the analysis part comprises a processor adapted to process measurement data from the non-contact surface scanner to create a continuous 3D surface geometry measurement of the surface and comparing the continuous 3D surface geometry measurement with at least one surface geometry acceptance threshold determining the quality of the surface of the high voltage end, para. [0031], disclosing the surface geometry acceptance threshold may be based on a height variation threshold, surface derivative threshold, peeling wave threshold, and/or an area of a cut, a depth of a curt, and a slope of a cut, and an operator may receive a go or a no go after the scan is performed, allowing or disallowing the operator to proceed mount a HV cable accessory, indicating the continuous 3D surface geometry measurement of the surface can correspond to the height variation, surface derivative, peeling wave, area of a cut, depth of a cut, and/or slope of a cut as the shape parameters determined to be compared with the corresponding threshold, and the no go output can correspond to a deviation signal corresponding to the comparison result of the determined shape parameters deviate by more than a predetermined shape tolerance from the expected shape parameters based on the corresponding threshold).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-12 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 1, the closest prior art references the examiner have found are US Patent Publication No. 20250389674 A1 to Gustafsson et al. and Doedens, which disclose A method for manufacturing and inspecting a factory joint during installation (Gustafsson, Abstract), the method comprising the steps of: a) preparing an initial layer of the factory joint (Gustafsson, para. [0037], disclosing an inner semiconducting layer is arranged over the conductor joint), b) capturing and storing an initial set of 3-dimensional (3D) surface geometry measurement data of an outer surface of the initial layer by moving a 3D surface scanner about the initial layer (Gustafsson, para. [0039], disclosing a quality inspection of the outer surface of the inner semiconductor layers, the laser scanner is moved over and scans the outer surface of the inner semiconducting layer and the transition areas), c) preparing a subsequent layer of the factory joint (Gustafsson, para. [0041], disclosing the laser scanner is moved over the tapering section of each of the insulation layers), d) capturing and storing a subsequent set of 3-dimensional (3D) surface geometry measurement data of an outer surface of the subsequent layer by moving the 3D surface scanner about the subsequent layer (Gustafsson, para. [0041], disclosing the laser scanner is moved over the tapering section of each of the insulation layers, and scanning the outer surface of the tapering sections, para. [0042], disclosing obtaining the measurements of the outer surface of the tapering sections, from the laser scanner), e) merging the 3D surface geometry measurement data of the subsequent layer with previous 3D surface geometry measurement data to form a merged 3D model of the layers (Gustafsson, para. [0043], disclosing the measurements obtained in step a) and step b) are processed by the processing unit, para. [0044], disclosing the processing involving generating a single or a respective 3-d model of the outer surfaces and evaluating the outer surface quality of the outer surfaces based on the one or more 3-d models, a single 3-d model may be generated, modeling al the scanned outer surfaces), f) analyzing the merged 3D model to determine shape parameters and/or surface texture parameters of the subsequent layer (Doedens, para. [0030], disclosing an analysis part in communication with the non-contact surface scanner, the analysis part comprises a processor adapted to process measurement data from the non-contact surface scanner to create a continuous 3D surface geometry measurement of the surface and comparing the continuous 3D surface geometry measurement with at least one surface geometry acceptance threshold determining the quality of the surface of the high voltage end, claim 3, disclosing the surface geometry acceptance threshold is a surface derivative threshold), g) comparing the determined shape parameters with expected shape parameters, and/or comparing the determined surface texture parameters with expected surface texture parameters (Doedens, para. [0030], disclosing an analysis part in communication with the non-contact surface scanner, the analysis part comprises a processor adapted to process measurement data from the non-contact surface scanner to create a continuous 3D surface geometry measurement of the surface and comparing the continuous 3D surface geometry measurement with at least one surface geometry acceptance threshold determining the quality of the surface of the high voltage end, para. [0031], disclosing the surface geometry acceptance threshold may be based on a height variation threshold, surface derivative threshold, peeling wave threshold, and/or an area of a cut, a depth of a curt, and a slope of a cut), and if the determined shape parameters deviate by more than a predetermined shape tolerance from the expected shape parameters and/or if the determined surface texture parameters deviate by more than a predetermined surface texture tolerance from the expected surface texture parameters outputting a deviation signal Doedens, para. [0030], disclosing an analysis part in communication with the non-contact surface scanner, the analysis part comprises a processor adapted to process measurement data from the non-contact surface scanner to create a continuous 3D surface geometry measurement of the surface and comparing the continuous 3D surface geometry measurement with at least one surface geometry acceptance threshold determining the quality of the surface of the high voltage end, para. [0031], disclosing the surface geometry acceptance threshold may be based on a height variation threshold, surface derivative threshold, peeling wave threshold, and/or an area of a cut, a depth of a curt, and a slope of a cut, and an operator may receive a go or a no go after the scan is performed, allowing or disallowing the operator to proceed mount a HV cable accessory).
However, none of the prior art references on the record, alone or in combination, discloses e) merging the 3D surface geometry measurement data of the subsequent layer with previous 3D surface geometry measurement data by transforming the captured 3D surface geometry measurement data of the layers into a common reference coordinate system to form a merged 3D model of the layers, and h) repeating steps c) to g) until the factory joint is completed.
Claims 2-12 depend from claim 1 with respective additional limitations.
Conclusion
/HAIXIA DU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2611