DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
New corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in this application because Figures 6, 7, 9A, 9B, 10A, and 10B are illegible. Applicant is advised to employ the services of a competent patent draftsperson outside the Office, as the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office no longer prepares new drawings. The corrected drawings are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The requirement for corrected drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 37-56 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pub. 20100056236 to Rhyne, IV et al (Rhyne) in view of US Pub. 20190303769 to Xie.
Claims 37, 44, and 51. Rhyne discloses a computer-implemented method for controlling a video game, the computer-implemented method comprising:
(as required by claim 44) at least one processor, a memory and a display device coupled to the at least one processor, wherein the memory holds instructions that when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to perform (Fig. 1, ¶24):
receiving, by at least one processor executing a computer game, input from a player to operate an avatar to interact with at least one non-player character, wherein the at least one non-player character is controlled by the at least one processor to respond to and automatically interact with the avatar (¶¶5, 24, 31-32);
determining, by the at least one processor, an outcome of the interaction between the avatar and the at least one non-player character (¶¶10-13, 31);
changing, by the at least one processor, a status of the at least one non-player character based on the outcome (¶¶45, 55-57)
However, Rhyne fails to explicitly disclose:
wherein changing the status affects one or more control parameters for at least one second non-player character; and
controlling, by the at least one processor, the at least one second non-player character based on the one or more control parameters after the changing.
Xie teaches wherein changing the status affects one or more control parameters for at least one second non-player character; and controlling, by the at least one processor, the at least one second non-player character based on the one or more control parameters after the changing (Fig. 7, ¶¶86-90, 100-101). The gaming system of Rhyne would have motivation to use the teachings of Xie in order to provide evolved NPCs during game play which would make the game more interesting and fun.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the gaming system of Rhyne with the teachings of Xie in order to create new NPCs with special abilities related to the predecessor NPCs in doing so would make the defeating the new NPCs more challenging for game player.
Claims 38, 45, and 52. Rhyne in view of Xie teaches wherein the changing the status further comprises:
determining, by the at least one processor, a change of a status of the at least one second non-player character based at least in part on the outcome (see Xie ¶¶86-90).
Claims 39, 46, and 53. Rhyne in view of Xie teaches wherein the changing the one or more control parameters comprises at least one of:
changing a parameter controlling a rendered appearance of the at least one second non-player character, changing a parameter controlling a behavioral personality trait of the at least one second non-player character, changing a parameter controlling a game-playing ability of the at least one second non-player character, changing a player interaction score that increases a probability that the at least one second non-player character will succeed in future interaction with the avatar, or changing a power center attribute (see Rhyne ¶24 “traits or characteristics”; see Xie ¶5 “behavior”).
Claims 40, 47, and 54. Rhyne in view of Xie teaches wherein the status includes one or more ranks in a hierarchy of a faction correlated with game playing power (see Xie ¶12 “military rank”).
Claims 41, 48, and 55. Rhyne in view of Xie teaches the computer- implemented method further comprising:
triggering, by the at least one processor, an initiation of the changing based on the outcome selected from at least one of an avatar death or an entry of the avatar into a new zone of play (see Rhyne ¶6; see Xie ¶47).
Claims 42, 49, and 56. Rhyne discloses the computer-implemented method further comprising:
detecting, by the at least one processor, an occurrence of a predefined game event involving the at least one non-player character (¶¶10-13, e.g., “goal”).
Claims 43 and 50. Rhyne discloses the computer-implemented method further comprising:
changing, by the at least one processor, a set of character parameters corresponding to the at least one non-player character (¶36, e.g., “values”).
Double Patenting
Claims 37-50 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 4, 11, 13-14, 16, 18, and 20 of U.S. Patent No. 12201908. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both cases claim the same and/or similar key limitations related to changing the parameters and status of non-player characters based on game outcome.
Claims 37-50 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 11, 13-17, and 19 of U.S. Patent No. 11660540. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both cases claim the same and/or similar key limitations related to changing the parameters and status of non-player characters based on game outcome.
Claims 37-50 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 11, 13-16, 18, and 20 of U.S. Patent No. 10926179. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both cases claim the same and/or similar key limitations related to changing the parameters and status of non-player characters based on game events.
Conclusion
/DAMON J PIERCE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715