DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
2. Claim(s) 1-3, 6-10, 13-17, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Legatski et al. (US Patent/PGPub. No. 20240163123).
Regarding Claim 1,
Legatski et al. teach
a method ([0010], FIG. 1, i.e. methods of the present disclosure allow users to use their hands to activate pre-programmed execution of the various controls) comprising:
connecting ([0012], FIG. 1, i.e. connected to multiple communication networks 120, 130, through which various client devices 140-180 can participate in video conferences), by a virtual conference device ([0012], FIG. 1, i.e. video conference provider 110 … client devices 140-180), to one or more client devices ([0012], FIG. 1, i.e. client devices 140-180; [0031], FIG. 2, i.e. client devices 220-250) associated with one or more remote participants ([0039], FIG. 2, i.e. media servers 212 may not be co-located, but instead may be located at multiple different geographic locations) in a virtual conference ([0039], FIG. 2, i.e. video conference) and one or more user devices ([0032], FIG. 2, i.e. video conference provider 210 uses one or more real-time media servers 212) associated with one or more local participants ([0039], FIG. 2, i.e. one or more of these servers may be co-located … local servers 212) within a common area ([0039], FIG. 2, i.e. a client's premises, e.g., at a business or other organization);
receiving, by the virtual conference device, sensor data ([0056], FIG. 2, i.e. gesture recognition engine 270, a gaze recognition engine 275) related to a local participant ([0039], FIG. 2, i.e. one or more of these servers may be co-located … local servers 212) associated with a user device ([0032], FIG. 2, i.e. video conference provider 210) of the one or more user devices ([0056], FIG. 2, i.e. combination of the servers or clients, for example, depicted in systems 100, 200) within the common area during the virtual conference ([0056], FIG. 2, i.e. user is participating within a virtual meeting);
determining ([0058], FIG. 2, i.e. gesture recognition engine 270 can be configured to track and interpret movements made by a user), by the virtual conference device, a physical action ([0056], FIG. 2, i.e. user's movements can be captured by a digital camera) of the local participant associated with the user device at least based on the sensor data (i.e. please see above citation(s)); and
providing, by the virtual conference device, a representation ([0057], FIG. 2, i.e. user's movements can be captured by a digital camera and the user can view themselves in a video feed) of the physical action to the one or more client devices associated with the one or more remote participants ([0033], FIG. 2, i.e. real-time media servers 212 provide multiplexed multimedia streams to meeting participants, such as the client devices 220-250 … video and audio streams … are transmitted from the client devices 220-250).
Regarding Claim 2,
Legatski et al. teach
the method of claim 1, wherein the physical action (i.e. please see above citation(s)) comprises hand raising (FIG. 4 & 5A, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) user raising his hand 304A), headshaking, head-nodding, hand-waving, standing up, sitting down, or making a thumbs-up gesture (i.e. alternative limitation(s) omitted).
Regarding Claim 3,
Legatski et al. teach
the method of claim 1, wherein the representation of the physical action (i.e. please see above citation(s)) is overlayed on a section of a graphical user interface ([0057], FIG. 4 & 5A, i.e. user can interact with the accessible control panel generated by the overlay engine 265 by using their hands within a video feed to select different controls) of the virtual conference corresponding to the virtual conference device (i.e. please see above citation(s)).
Regarding Claim 6,
Legatski et al. teach
the method of claim 1, wherein the user device of the one or more user devices (i.e. please see above citation(s)) comprises one or more sensors ([0050], FIG. 2, i.e. computing device designed to receive video … from each of the cameras) configured to collect sensor data ([0056], FIG. 2, i.e. gesture recognition engine 270, a gaze recognition engine 275) associated with the local participant (i.e. please see above citation(s)).
Regarding Claim 7,
Legatski et al. teach
the method of claim 1, wherein the sensor data (i.e. please see above citation(s)) comprises motion data ([0056], FIG. 2, i.e. gesture recognition engine 270), location data, biometric data, audio data, or video data (i.e. alternative limitation(s) omitted).
Regarding Claim 8,
Legatski et al. teach
a system ([0031], FIG. 2, i.e. system 200) comprising:
a communications interface ([0090], FIG. 8, i.e. communications buses 802);
a non-transitory computer-readable medium ([0090], FIG. 8, i.e. memory 820); and
one or more processors ([0090], FIG. 8, i.e. processor 810) communicatively coupled to the communications interface and the non-transitory computer-readable medium, the one or more processors (i.e. please see above citation(s)) configured to execute processor-executable instructions ([0090], FIG. 8, i.e. execute processor-executable instructions) stored in the non-transitory computer-readable medium (i.e. please see above citation(s)) to:
connect ([0012], FIG. 1, i.e. connected to multiple communication networks 120, 130, through which various client devices 140-180 can participate in video conferences) to one or more client devices ([0012], FIG. 1, i.e. client devices 140-180; [0031], FIG. 2, i.e. client devices 220-250) associated with one or more remote participants ([0039], FIG. 2, i.e. media servers 212 may not be co-located, but instead may be located at multiple different geographic locations) in a virtual conference ([0039], FIG. 2, i.e. video conference) and one or more user devices ([0032], FIG. 2, i.e. video conference provider 210 uses one or more real-time media servers 212) associated with one or more local participants ([0039], FIG. 2, i.e. one or more of these servers may be co-located … local servers 212) within a common area ([0039], FIG. 2, i.e. a client's premises, e.g., at a business or other organization);
receive sensor data ([0056], FIG. 2, i.e. gesture recognition engine 270, a gaze recognition engine 275) related to a local participant ([0039], FIG. 2, i.e. one or more of these servers may be co-located … local servers 212) associated with a user device ([0032], FIG. 2, i.e. video conference provider 210) of the one or more user devices ([0056], FIG. 2, i.e. combination of the servers or clients, for example, depicted in systems 100, 200) within the common area during the virtual conference ([0056], FIG. 2, i.e. user is participating within a virtual meeting);
determine ([0058], FIG. 2, i.e. gesture recognition engine 270 can be configured to track and interpret movements made by a user) a physical action ([0056], FIG. 2, i.e. user's movements can be captured by a digital camera) of the local participant associated with the user device at least based on the sensor data (i.e. please see above citation(s)); and
provide a representation ([0057], FIG. 2, i.e. user's movements can be captured by a digital camera and the user can view themselves in a video feed) of the physical action to the one or more client devices associated with the one or more remote participants ([0033], FIG. 2, i.e. real-time media servers 212 provide multiplexed multimedia streams to meeting participants, such as the client devices 220-250 … video and audio streams … are transmitted from the client devices 220-250).
Regarding Claim 9,
Legatski et al. teach
the system of claim 8, wherein the physical action (i.e. please see above citation(s)) comprises hand raising (FIG. 4 & 5A, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) user raising his hand 304A), headshaking, head-nodding, hand-waving, standing up, sitting down, or making a thumbs-up gesture (i.e. alternative limitation(s) omitted).
Regarding Claim 10,
Legatski et al. teach
the system of claim 8, wherein the representation of the physical action (i.e. please see above citation(s)) is overlayed on a section of a graphical user interface ([0057], FIG. 4 & 5A, i.e. user can interact with the accessible control panel generated by the overlay engine 265 by using their hands within a video feed to select different controls) of the virtual conference on a virtual conference device (i.e. please see above citation(s)).
Regarding Claim 13,
Legatski et al. teach
the system of claim 8, wherein the user device of the one or more user devices (i.e. please see above citation(s)) comprises one or more sensors ([0050], FIG. 2, i.e. computing device designed to receive video … from each of the cameras) configured to collect sensor data ([0056], FIG. 2, i.e. gesture recognition engine 270, a gaze recognition engine 275) associated with the local participant (i.e. please see above citation(s)).
Regarding Claim 14,
Legatski et al. teach
the system of claim 8, wherein the sensor data (i.e. please see above citation(s)) comprises motion data ([0056], FIG. 2, i.e. gesture recognition engine 270), location data, biometric data, audio data, or video data (i.e. alternative limitation(s) omitted).
Regarding Claim 15,
Legatski et al. teach
a non-transitory computer-readable medium ([0090], FIG. 8, i.e. memory 820) comprising processor-executable instructions ([0090], FIG. 8, i.e. execute processor-executable instructions) configured to cause one or more processors ([0090], FIG. 8, i.e. processor 810) to:
connect ([0012], FIG. 1, i.e. connected to multiple communication networks 120, 130, through which various client devices 140-180 can participate in video conferences) to one or more client devices ([0012], FIG. 1, i.e. client devices 140-180; [0031], FIG. 2, i.e. client devices 220-250) associated with one or more remote participants ([0039], FIG. 2, i.e. media servers 212 may not be co-located, but instead may be located at multiple different geographic locations) in a virtual conference ([0039], FIG. 2, i.e. video conference) and one or more user devices ([0032], FIG. 2, i.e. video conference provider 210 uses one or more real-time media servers 212) associated with one or more local participants ([0039], FIG. 2, i.e. one or more of these servers may be co-located … local servers 212) within a common area ([0039], FIG. 2, i.e. a client's premises, e.g., at a business or other organization);
receive sensor data ([0056], FIG. 2, i.e. gesture recognition engine 270, a gaze recognition engine 275) related to a local participant ([0039], FIG. 2, i.e. one or more of these servers may be co-located … local servers 212) associated with a user device ([0032], FIG. 2, i.e. video conference provider 210) of the one or more user devices ([0056], FIG. 2, i.e. combination of the servers or clients, for example, depicted in systems 100, 200) within the common area during the virtual conference ([0056], FIG. 2, i.e. user is participating within a virtual meeting);
determine ([0058], FIG. 2, i.e. gesture recognition engine 270 can be configured to track and interpret movements made by a user) a physical action ([0056], FIG. 2, i.e. user's movements can be captured by a digital camera) of the local participant associated with the user device at least based on the sensor data (i.e. please see above citation(s)); and
provide a representation ([0057], FIG. 2, i.e. user's movements can be captured by a digital camera and the user can view themselves in a video feed) of the physical action to the one or more client devices associated with the one or more remote participants ([0033], FIG. 2, i.e. real-time media servers 212 provide multiplexed multimedia streams to meeting participants, such as the client devices 220-250 … video and audio streams … are transmitted from the client devices 220-250).
Regarding Claim 16,
Legatski et al. teach
the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, wherein the physical action (i.e. please see above citation(s)) comprises hand raising (FIG. 4 & 5A, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) user raising his hand 304A), headshaking, head-nodding, hand-waving, standing up, sitting down, or making a thumbs-up gesture (i.e. alternative limitation(s) omitted).
Regarding Claim 17,
Legatski et al. teach
the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, wherein the representation of the physical action (i.e. please see above citation(s)) is overlayed on a section of a graphical user interface ([0057], FIG. 4 & 5A, i.e. user can interact with the accessible control panel generated by the overlay engine 265 by using their hands within a video feed to select different controls) of the virtual conference on a virtual conference device (i.e. please see above citation(s)).
Regarding Claim 20,
Legatski et al. teach
the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, wherein the sensor data (i.e. please see above citation(s)) comprises motion data ([0056], FIG. 2, i.e. gesture recognition engine 270), location data, biometric data, audio data, or video data (i.e. alternative limitation(s) omitted).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claim(s) 4, 11, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Legatski et al. (US Patent/PGPub. No. 20240163123) in view of HARO (US Patent/PGPub. No. 20230146178).
Regarding Claim 4,
Legatski et al. teach
the method of claim 1.
However, Legatski et al. do not explicitly teach
the representation of the physical action is inserted to a chat window associated with the virtual conference.
In the same field of endeavor, HARO teaches
the representation of the physical action is inserted to a chat window ([0150], FIG. 1, i.e. the eye movements are represented in the 3D environment in which the clients engage, for example during chat sessions) associated with the virtual conference ([0039], FIG. 1, i.e. environments such as videoconferences, chat sessions, virtual reality environments).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention’s effective date was filed to combine Legatski et al. teaching method of tracking user’s action in a virtual conference with HARO teaching of method of tracking user’s action and presenting user’s representation in a virtual conference to effectively provide seamless, realistic and natural communication feeling due to the corrected eye gaze (HARO’s [0151]).
Regarding Claim 11,
Legatski et al. teach
the system of claim 8.
However, Legatski et al. do not explicitly teach
the representation of the physical action is inserted to a chat window associated with the virtual conference.
In the same field of endeavor, HARO teaches
the representation of the physical action is inserted to a chat window ([0150], FIG. 1, i.e. the eye movements are represented in the 3D environment in which the clients engage, for example during chat sessions) associated with the virtual conference ([0039], FIG. 1, i.e. environments such as videoconferences, chat sessions, virtual reality environments).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention’s effective date was filed to combine Legatski et al. teaching system of tracking user’s action in a virtual conference with HARO teaching of system of tracking user’s action and presenting user’s representation in a virtual conference to effectively provide seamless, realistic and natural communication feeling due to the corrected eye gaze (HARO’s [0151]).
Regarding Claim 18,
Legatski et al. teach
the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15.
However, Legatski et al. do not explicitly teach
the representation of the physical action is inserted to a chat window associated with the virtual conference.
In the same field of endeavor, HARO teaches
the representation of the physical action is inserted to a chat window ([0150], FIG. 1, i.e. the eye movements are represented in the 3D environment in which the clients engage, for example during chat sessions) associated with the virtual conference ([0039], FIG. 1, i.e. environments such as videoconferences, chat sessions, virtual reality environments).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention’s effective date was filed to combine Legatski et al. teaching medium of tracking user’s action in a virtual conference with HARO teaching of medium of tracking user’s action and presenting user’s representation in a virtual conference to effectively provide seamless, realistic and natural communication feeling due to the corrected eye gaze (HARO’s [0151]).
4. Claim(s) 5, 12, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Legatski et al. (US Patent/PGPub. No. 20240163123) in view of Cheung et al. (US Patent/PGPub. No. 10701316).
Regarding Claim 5,
Legatski et al. teach
the method of claim 1.
However, Legatski et al. do not explicitly teach
the user device of the one or more user devices is connected to one or more wearable devices comprising one or more sensors, the one or more sensors are configured to collect sensor data associated with the local participant.
In the same field of endeavor, Cheung et al. teach
the user device of the one or more user devices (Col. 5, Ln. 31-36, FIG. 1, i.e. first video conferencing system 12) is connected to one or more wearable devices (Col. 5, Ln. 16-23, FIG. 1, i.e. variety of devices with video conferencing capabilities, such as … wearable device) comprising one or more sensors (Col. 5, Ln. 31-36, FIG. 1, i.e. image capture systems 20A-20B), the one or more sensors are configured to collect sensor data (Col. 5, Ln. 31-36, FIG. 1, i.e. image capture capabilities) associated with the local participant (Col. 5, Ln. 23-30, FIG. 1, i.e. user 30A).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention’s effective date was filed to combine Legatski et al. teaching method of tracking user’s action in a virtual conference with Cheung et al. teaching method of sensing user’s movement of a wearable device in a virtual conference to effectively provide video conferencing via an increasing popular wearable device by sensing user’s movement (Cheung et al.’s Col. 1, Ln. 11-16).
Regarding Claim 12,
Legatski et al. teach
the system of claim 8.
However, Legatski et al. do not explicitly teach
the user device of the one or more user devices is connected to one or more wearable devices comprising one or more sensors, the one or more sensors are configured to collect sensor data associated with the local participant.
In the same field of endeavor, Cheung et al. teach
the user device of the one or more user devices (Col. 5, Ln. 31-36, FIG. 1, i.e. first video conferencing system 12) is connected to one or more wearable devices (Col. 5, Ln. 16-23, FIG. 1, i.e. variety of devices with video conferencing capabilities, such as … wearable device) comprising one or more sensors (Col. 5, Ln. 31-36, FIG. 1, i.e. image capture systems 20A-20B), the one or more sensors are configured to collect sensor data (Col. 5, Ln. 31-36, FIG. 1, i.e. image capture capabilities) associated with the local participant (Col. 5, Ln. 23-30, FIG. 1, i.e. user 30A).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention’s effective date was filed to combine Legatski et al. teaching system of tracking user’s action in a virtual conference with Cheung et al. teaching of system of sensing user’s movement of a wearable device in a virtual conference to effectively provide video conferencing via an increasing popular wearable device by sensing user’s movement (Cheung et al.’s Col. 1, Ln. 11-16).
Regarding Claim 19,
Legatski et al. teach
the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15.
However, Legatski et al. do not explicitly teach
the user device of the one or more user devices is connected to one or more wearable devices comprising one or more sensors, the one or more sensors are configured to collect sensor data associated with the local participant.
In the same field of endeavor, Cheung et al. teach
the user device of the one or more user devices (Col. 5, Ln. 31-36, FIG. 1, i.e. first video conferencing system 12) is connected to one or more wearable devices (Col. 5, Ln. 16-23, FIG. 1, i.e. variety of devices with video conferencing capabilities, such as … wearable device) comprising one or more sensors (Col. 5, Ln. 31-36, FIG. 1, i.e. image capture systems 20A-20B), the one or more sensors are configured to collect sensor data (Col. 5, Ln. 31-36, FIG. 1, i.e. image capture capabilities) associated with the local participant (Col. 5, Ln. 23-30, FIG. 1, i.e. user 30A).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention’s effective date was filed to combine Legatski et al. teaching medium of tracking user’s action in a virtual conference with Cheung et al. teaching medium of sensing user’s movement of a wearable device in a virtual conference to effectively provide video conferencing via an increasing popular wearable device by sensing user’s movement (Cheung et al.’s Col. 1, Ln. 11-16).
Conclusion
/VINH T LAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2628