DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
1. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/15/2025 and is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. According, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Examiner.
Claim Objection
2. Claims 4, 9, 12-13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 4, “preferably” should be deleted.
Regarding claim 9, “substantially” and “preferably” should be deleted.
Regarding claims 12-13, “preferably” should be deleted.
Examiner Notes
3. Examiner cites particular paragraphs, columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 1-3 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ippei Kawamoto (US-20170192038; hereinafter “Kawamoto”).
Regarding claim 1, Kawamoto discloses, in Figs. 1-8, a four-terminal current measurement shunt resistor assembly (a four-terminal current measurement shunt resistor assembly 100) comprising a shunt resistor portion (100), a sensing loop (a sensing loop formed by both voltage detection bonding wires 30a-30b, the sensing loop of a sense current in the shunt resistor, see Fig. 3 and paragraphs [0039-40]), and a PCB portion (a board, see [0026]), wherein the shunt resistor portion comprises two low resistance portions ([21a, 22a, 10a] and [21b, 22b, 10b], and [0031]) connected by a high resistance portion (23, and [0031]) and wherein the PCB portion connects the two low resistance portions to each other via two contact points (see Fig 1-3 and [0026]).
Regarding claim 2, Kawamoto discloses the four-terminal current measurement shunt resistor assembly according to claim 1, wherein the low resistance portions are made of copper and/or that the high resistance portion is made of manganin, i.e. an alloy comprising 84.2%±2.0% copper, 12.1%±2.0% manganese, and 3.7%±2.0% nickel (see [0031]).
Regarding claim 3, Kawamoto discloses the four-terminal current measurement shunt resistor assembly according to claim 1, wherein the sensing loop is arranged in a symmetrical manner (see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 9, Kawamoto discloses the four-terminal current measurement shunt resistor assembly according to claim 1, wherein the shunt resistor portion is of a substantially rectangular shape, wherein its external edges are preferably continuous and straight (see Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 10, Kawamoto discloses the four-terminal current measurement shunt resistor assembly according to claim 1, Muhlhausen further teaches wherein one of the contact points (30a-30b) is aligned with the sensing loop (see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 11, Kawamoto discloses the four-terminal current measurement shunt resistor assembly according to claim 2, wherein the sensing loop is arranged in a symmetrical manner (see 30a-30b in Figs. 2-3, 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1-5 and 9-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Felix Muhlhausen (US-20240110945; hereinafter “Muhlhausen”) in view of Ullrich Hetzler (US-20160041206; hereinafter “Hetzler”).
Regarding claim 1, Muhlhausen discloses a four-terminal current measurement shunt resistor assembly (a four-terminal current measurement shunt resistor assembly 10 in Fig. 3b) comprising a shunt resistor portion (a busbar portion 11 comprises conductive connection portions 11a and a resistance portion 11b), a sensing loop (a sensing loop is formed by two measuring lines 7a-7b. The two measuring lines 7a-7b for connecting two measuring contacts 12 to an evaluation circuit 18. The two measuring lines 7a-7b start from the measuring contacts 12, span a measurement line region 8 in the shape of a polygon, and are brought together at a common tapping point 6 via measuring tapping lines 6a-6b. See Figs. 3b, 5a and paragraph [0096]), and a PCB portion (a printed circuit board 2), wherein the shunt resistor portion comprises two low resistance portions (two conductive connection portions 11a have lower resistance than a resistance portion 11b) connected by a high resistance portion (11b) and wherein the PCB portion (2) connects the two low resistance portions to each other via two contact points (see Fig 3b).
Muhlhausen does not specify that wherein the shunt resistor portion comprises two low resistance portions connected by a high resistance portion.
Hetzler discloses a four-terminal current sense resistor device (Figs. 1 and 9) comprising a measuring shunt resistor (1), wherein the shunt resistor comprises two low resistance portions (2, 3) connected by a high resistance portion (4)(see paragraph [0046]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the current detection resistor of Muhlhausen by having the shunt resistor portion included two low resistance portions connected by a high resistance portion as taught by Hetzler for purpose of providing the measuring resistor so tat allows more accurate measurement by taking into account the inhomogeneity of current density in measured resistance (see the summary).
Regarding claim 2, Muhlhausen and Hetzler disclose the four-terminal current measurement shunt resistor assembly according to claim 1, Hetzler further teaches wherein the low resistance portions are made of copper and/or that the high resistance portion is made of manganin, i.e. an alloy comprising 84.2%±2.0% copper, 12.1%±2.0% manganese, and 3.7%±2.0% nickel (see [0013, 46]).
Regarding claim 3, Muhlhausen and Hetzler disclose the four-terminal current measurement shunt resistor assembly according to claim 1, Muhlhausen further teaches wherein the sensing loop is arranged in a symmetrical manner (see Fig. 3b and 5a).
Regarding claim 4, Muhlhausen and Hetzler disclose the four-terminal current measurement shunt resistor assembly according to claim 1, Muhlhausen further teaches wherein the PCB portion is mounted preferably directly to the shunt resistor portion via contact points in the middle of the shunt resistor portion and/or that conductors are routed across the shunt resistor portion at a distance from its edge corresponding to 20%±5% of the width of the shunt resistor portion (see Figs. 3a and 5a).
Regarding claim 5, Muhlhausen and Hetzler disclose the four-terminal current measurement shunt resistor assembly according to claim 1, wherein the PCB portion comprises the sensing loop (the sensing loop 8 on the PCB; see Figs. 3a and 5a), a high frequency compensation network, a Delta-Sigma AD-converter, a current measurement circuitry, an IGBT driver and/or a drive.
Regarding claim 9, Muhlhausen and Hetzler disclose the four-terminal current measurement shunt resistor assembly according to claim 1, wherein the shunt resistor portion is of a substantially rectangular shape, wherein its external edges are preferably continuous and straight (see Fig. 1, 9 of Hetzler).
Regarding claim 10, Muhlhausen and Hetzler disclose the four-terminal current measurement shunt resistor assembly according to claim 1, Muhlhausen further teaches wherein one of the contact points (12) is aligned with the sensing loop (see Fig. 3b).
Regarding claim 11, Muhlhausen and Hetzler disclose the four-terminal current measurement shunt resistor assembly according to claim 2, Muhlhausen further teaches wherein the sensing loop (8) is arranged in a symmetrical manner (see Figs. 3b and 5a).
Regarding claim 12, Muhlhausen and Hetzler disclose the four-terminal current measurement shunt resistor assembly according to claim 2, Muhlhausen further teaches wherein the PCB portion (2) is mounted preferably directly to the shunt resistor portion via contact points in the middle of the shunt resistor portion (see Figs. 3b and 5a) and/or that conductors are routed across the shunt resistor portion at a distance from its edge corresponding to 20%±5% of the width of the shunt resistor portion.
Regarding claim 13, Muhlhausen and Hetzler disclose the four-terminal current measurement shunt resistor assembly according to claim 3, Muhlhausen further teaches wherein the PCB portion (2) is mounted preferably directly to the shunt resistor portion via contact points in the middle of the shunt resistor portion (see Figs. 3b and 5a) and/or that conductors are routed across the shunt resistor portion at a distance from its edge corresponding to 20%±5% of the width of the shunt resistor portion.
Regarding claim 14, Muhlhausen and Hetzler disclose the four-terminal current measurement shunt resistor assembly according to claim 2, Muhlhausen further teaches wherein the PCB portion (2) comprises the sensing loop (8 in Figs. 3a, 5a), a high frequency compensation network, a Delta-Sigma AD-converter, a current measurement circuitry, an IGBT driver and/or a drive.
Regarding claim 15, Muhlhausen and Hetzler disclose the four-terminal current measurement shunt resistor assembly according to claim 3, Muhlhausen further teaches wherein the PCB portion (2) comprises the sensing loop (8 in Figs. 3a, 5a), a high frequency compensation network, a Delta-Sigma AD-converter, a current measurement circuitry, an IGBT driver and/or a drive.
Regarding claim 16, Muhlhausen and Hetzler disclose the four-terminal current measurement shunt resistor assembly according to claim 4, Muhlhausen further teaches wherein the PCB portion (2) comprises the sensing loop (8 in Figs. 3a, 5a), a high frequency compensation network, a Delta-Sigma AD-converter, a current measurement circuitry, an IGBT driver and/or a drive.
8. Claims 6-8 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawamoto in view of Koichi Hirasawa (US-20030020592; hereinafter “Hirasawa”).
Regarding claim 6, Kawamoto discloses the four-terminal current shunt resistor assembly according to claim 1, except for specifying wherein the shunt resistor portion comprises a self-inductive portion (Ls) coupled in series with a resistive shunt portion (Rs).
Hirasawa discloses, in Figs. 1A-1D, a current shunt resistor sensor comprising a self-inductive portion (Ls) coupled in series with a resistive shunt portion (Rs) (see Figs. 1 and 5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the current detection resistor of Kawamoto by having the shunt resistor portion comprises a self-inductive portion coupled in series with a resistive shunt portion as taught by Hirasawa for purpose of enabling efficient compensation of measurement errors to provide stable operation and detection of current at high precision, even if the current to be measured in electronic device varies at high frequencies (see the summary).
Regarding claim 7, Kawamoto discloses the four-terminal current shunt resistor assembly according to claim 5, except for specifying wherein the shunt resistor portion comprises a voltage sensing inductive portion (Lse) coupled in series with the high frequency compensation network.
Hirasawa discloses, in Figs. 1A-1D, a current shunt resistor sensor comprising wherein the shunt resistor portion comprises a voltage sensing inductive portion (Lse) (a voltage sensing inductive portion formed by voltage detection terminal wirings 8-9 and the resistor body 1, see Figs.1E, 4, 12) coupled in series with the high frequency compensation network (Fig. 12 shows a voltage detection circuit provided with a compensating circuit containing CR elements for a low resistance resistor device that exhibits effective inductance).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the current detection resistor of Kawamoto by having the shunt resistor portion comprises a voltage sensing inductive portion (Lse) coupled in series with the high frequency compensation network as taught by Hirasawa for purpose of enabling efficient compensation of measurement errors to provide stable operation and detection of current at high precision, even if the current to be measured in electronic device varies at high frequencies (see the summary).
Regarding claim 8, Kawamoto and Hirasawa disclose the 8. The four-terminal current shunt resistor assembly according to claim 7, Hirasawa further teaches wherein the high frequency compensation network comprises an RC filter (Rc, Cc) to block certain output frequencies (see Fig. 12).
Regarding claim 17, Kawamoto discloses the four-terminal current shunt resistor assembly according to claim 2, except for specifying wherein the shunt resistor portion comprises a self-inductive portion (Ls) coupled in series with a resistive shunt portion (Rs).
Hirasawa discloses, in Figs. 1A-1D, a current shunt resistor sensor comprising a self-inductive portion (Ls) coupled in series with a resistive shunt portion (Rs) (see Figs. 1 and 5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the current detection resistor of Kawamoto by having the shunt resistor portion comprises a self-inductive portion coupled in series with a resistive shunt portion as taught by Hirasawa for purpose of enabling efficient compensation of measurement errors to provide stable operation and detection of current at high precision, even if the current to be measured in electronic device varies at high frequencies (see the summary).
Regarding claim 18, Kawamoto discloses the four-terminal current shunt resistor assembly according to claim 3, except for specifying wherein the shunt resistor portion comprises a self-inductive portion (Ls) coupled in series with a resistive shunt portion (Rs).
Hirasawa discloses, in Figs. 1A-1D, a current shunt resistor sensor comprising a self-inductive portion (Ls) coupled in series with a resistive shunt portion (Rs) (see Figs. 1 and 5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the current detection resistor of Kawamoto by having the shunt resistor portion comprises a self-inductive portion coupled in series with a resistive shunt portion as taught by Hirasawa for purpose of enabling efficient compensation of measurement errors to provide stable operation and detection of current at high precision, even if the current to be measured in electronic device varies at high frequencies (see the summary).
9. Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muhlhausen in view of Hetzler and further in view of Hirasawa.
Regarding claim 19, Muhlhausen and Hetzler disclose the four-terminal current shunt resistor assembly according to claim 4, except for specifying wherein the shunt resistor portion comprises a self-inductive portion (Ls) coupled in series with a resistive shunt portion (Rs).
Hirasawa discloses, in Figs. 1A-1D, a current shunt resistor sensor comprising a self-inductive portion (Ls) coupled in series with a resistive shunt portion (Rs) (see Figs. 1 and 5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the current detection resistor of Kawamoto by having the shunt resistor portion comprises a self-inductive portion coupled in series with a resistive shunt portion as taught by Hirasawa for purpose of enabling efficient compensation of measurement errors to provide stable operation and detection of current at high precision, even if the current to be measured in electronic device varies at high frequencies (see the summary).
Regarding claim 20, Muhlhausen and Hetzler disclose the four-terminal current shunt resistor assembly according to claim 5, except for specifying wherein the shunt resistor portion comprises a self-inductive portion (Ls) coupled in series with a resistive shunt portion (Rs).
Hirasawa discloses, in Figs. 1A-1D, a current shunt resistor sensor comprising a self-inductive portion (Ls) coupled in series with a resistive shunt portion (Rs) (see Figs. 1 and 5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the current detection resistor of Kawamoto by having the shunt resistor portion comprises a self-inductive portion coupled in series with a resistive shunt portion as taught by Hirasawa for purpose of enabling efficient compensation of measurement errors to provide stable operation and detection of current at high precision, even if the current to be measured in electronic device varies at high frequencies (see the summary).
Conclusion
/THANG X LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858
8/30/2026