DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-5 are pending in this application, which is a DIV of Serial Number 17/915270, now ABN.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
It is noted that the abstract is long and begins with the phrase “Provided is”. The examiner suggests shortening the abstract and deleting said phrase.
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
It is noted that the claimed invention is directed solely to a method. The examiner suggests amending the title to reflect same.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities listed below.
Appropriate correction is required.
In 0001, the lineage should be updated to reflect that the parent application has been abandoned.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1 line 7, from which claims 2-5 depend, the term “precursor thin film” is deemed confusing. It is noted that the preamble is directed to producing a thin film. It is not clear what the difference is between a precursor thin film and a thin film. If there is no difference, the applicant is invited to amend the claims using a single term to avoid confusion.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koh et al. (2014/0335363) in view of Cleary et al. (2014/0329025) or Park (KR 10-1221861).
Koh teaches a method of forming an indium containing oxide film (title) onto a substrate by atomic layer deposition (abstract) using an indium compound gas and an oxygen containing gas (0013). However, the reference fails to teach the appropriate compound.
Cleary teaches indium 1,1,1,5,5,5-hexafluoro-2, 4-pentanedionato-kO2, k-O4) diemthyl- compound (0103, 0207). Park teaches a thin film raw material of claimed formula 1 and Lis of claimed formula L-2 (0094, 0111). R1 and R2 may be methyl (0094, 0111), R3 and R4 are each independently methyl, ethyl, etc. (0044), and M is Ga or In (0094, 0117). It would have been obvious to utilize the indium compound of Cleary or Park in the process of Koh with the expectation of success because Cleary and Park teaches of using indium compounds as precursors.
Regarding claim 2, Koh teaches an oxidizing gas (0013).
Regarding claim 3, Koh teaches oxygen and ozone (0052).
Regarding claim 4, Koh teaches a temperature of room temperature to 500oC (0052).
Regarding claim 5, Koh teaches a temperature of room temperature to 500oC (0052).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 5-9 of copending Application No. 18/039411 (allowed) in view of Park (KR 10-1221861).
Takeda teaches a method of producing a thin-film, comprising forming a thin-film containing an indium atom on a surface of a substrate through use of a raw material gas obtained by vaporizing the thin-film forming raw material of claim 2 (claim 5). However, it fails to teach the appropriate compound.
Park teaches a thin film raw material of claimed formula 1 and Lis of claimed formula L-2 (0094, 0111). R1 and R2 may be methyl (0094, 0111), R3 and R4 are each independently methyl, ethyl, etc. (0044), and M is Ga or In (0094, 0117). It would have been obvious to utilize the indium compound of Park in the process of Takeda with the expectation of success because Park teaches of using indium compounds as precursors.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
/BRET P CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718 01/21/2026