DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 of the instant application are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of the U.S. Patent 12,200,202 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are broader than the claims in the US Patent 12,200,202 B2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US Patent 11,184,639 B2), (“Lee”), in view of Lim et al. (US Patent 11,218,704 B2), (“Lim”).
Regarding claim 1, Lee meets the claim limitations as follow.
A decoding apparatus for image decoding (an apparatus for decoding a video) [Lee: col. 2, line 7; Fig. 2], the decoding apparatus comprising:
a memory ((a memory) [Lee: col. 4, line 55-56; col. 37, line 36-37; Figs. 1-2]; (a computer-readable recording medium) [Lee: col. 37, line 36]); and at least one processor ((one or more processing units) [Lee: col. 5, line 17]; (computer components) [Lee: col. 37, line 35]) connected to the memory (a memory) [Lee: col. 4, line 55-56; col. 37, line 36-37; Fig. 2], the at least one processor configured to: obtain image information (receive a variety of information, such as prediction unit information) [Lee: col. 10, line 8-9; Fig. 2] for a current block ((obtain a prediction sample of the current block) [Lee: col. 2, line 10-11]; (reference pixel information neighboring to a current block) [Lee: col. 6, line 42-43; Fig. 11]); derive ((derive) [Lee: col. 2, line 9]; (determining) [Lee: col. 37, line 55]) an intra-prediction type for a current block ((determining an intra prediction mode of a current block) [Lee: col. 37, line 55; Fig. 8]; (FIG. 8 is a diagram illustrating types of pre-defined intra prediction) [Lee: col. 18, line 46-47; Fig. 8]) among intra-prediction types based on the image information ((a directional prediction mode having a predetermined angle may be derived using at least one of the 33 pre-defined directional prediction modes) [Lee: col. 18, line 60-62; col. 21, line 1-2; Fig. 8]; ( the number/type of intra prediction) [Lee: col. 21, line 43]),
construct (i.e. constructing) [Lee: col. 12, line 53] an intra-prediction mode candidate list of the current block by performing an intra-prediction mode candidate list construction process (Note: From col. 20, line 59 – col. 21, line 12, Lee describes a process to build the intra-prediction mode candidate list, which is a list of plurality of candidates. Each candidate in the list has an index that is associated with an intra prediction mode. Please also read Lee: col. 19, line 58-64 for additional details on a process how to determine intra prediction modes); select an intra-prediction mode of the current block (selected by applying an intra prediction mode of a current block) [Lee: col. 33, line 37-38]; (the intra prediction mode of the current block may be derived based on a candidate list and an index) [Lee: col. 20, line 59-60]) based on the intra-prediction mode candidate list (The index may specify one of a plurality of candidates in the candidate list. The candidate specified by the index may be set to the intra prediction mode of the current block) [Lee: col. 20, line 66 – col. 21, line 2]) after constructing the intra-prediction mode candidate list ((Specifically, the intra prediction mode of the current block may be derived based on a candidate list and an index. Here the candidate list contains a plurality of candidates, and a plurality of candidates may be determined based on an intra prediction mode of the neighboring block adjacent to the current block) [Lee: col. 20, line 59-64]; (i.e. In addition, the number of intra prediction mode candidates (e.g., the number of MPMs) used for determining an intra prediction mode of a current block to be encoded/decoded may also be determined according to at least one of a color component, a color format, or a size or a shape of a block. In addition, it is also possible to use a larger number of intra prediction modes than shown in FIG. 8) [Lee: col. 19, line 58-64]); wherein the intra-prediction mode includes an intra planar mode, an intra DC mode or at least one intra angular mode (i.e. The candidate list may further include a default mode. The default mode may include at least one of a planar mode, a DC mode, the vertical mode, the horizontal mode, top right diagonal mode, or top left diagonal mode) [Lee: col. 21, line 29-32]; and generate prediction samples of the current block ((i.e. a prediction image (i.e. a prediction sample) for the prediction target sample may be generated) [Lee: col. 27, line 28-29]; (i.e. the prediction sample of the current block may be obtained using the intra prediction) [Lee: col. 23, line 56-57]) based on the intra-prediction type and the intra-prediction mode (i.e. The intra filter may include at least one of the first intra filter applied to a plurality of neighboring samples positioned on the same horizontal line or the second intra filter applied to a plurality of neighboring samples positioned on the same vertical line. Depending on the positions of the neighboring samples, one of the first intra filter and the second intra filter may be selectively applied, or both intra filters may be applied) [Lee: col. 22, line 61- col. 23, line 1],
wherein the intra-prediction types include a first intra-prediction type (Specifically, the intra prediction mode of the current block may be derived based on a candidate list and an index. Here, the candidate list contains a plurality of candidates, and a plurality of candidates may be determined based on an intra prediction mode of the neighboring block adjacent to the current block) [Lim: col. 20, line 59-64], a second intra-prediction type (intra prediction using a plurality of reference samples that is not adjacent to each other in encoding / decoding a video signal) [Lim: col. 1, line 63-65] and a third intra-prediction type (In addition, it is also possible to use a larger number of intra prediction modes than shown in FIG. 8. For example, by further subdividing the directional prediction modes shown in FIG. 8, it is also possible to use 129 directional prediction modes and 2 non-directional prediction modes.) [Lee: col. 19, line 63-67; Fig. 8] – Note: Lee discloses that his invention can support 131 intra prediction modes. Hence the first, second, and third intra prediction types can be one of these), wherein,
based on the intra-prediction type being the first intra-prediction type (Here, the candidate list contains a plurality of candidates, and a plurality of candidates may be determined based on an intra prediction mode of the neighboring block adjacent to the current block) [Lim: col. 20, line 60-64], the prediction samples are generated based on a first reference line which is a reference line adjacent to upper boundary or left boundary of the current block (when the intra prediction mode of the current block is the horizontal mode, differential samples between the top left neighboring sample p(-1, -1) and neighboring samples p(x, -1) adjacent to the left boundary of the current block may be used to obtain the final prediction sample) [Lee: col. 25, line 28-33], based on the intra-prediction type being the second intra-prediction type (Specifically, the intra prediction mode of the current block may be derived based on a candidate list and an index) [Lim: col. 14, line 17-21], the prediction samples are generated based on a second reference line not adjacent to the current block ((Intra prediction using a plurality of reference samples that is not adjacent to each other in encoding / decoding a video signal) [Lim: col. 1, line 63-65]; (i.e. the candidate of the current block may be derived using the intra prediction mode of the collocated block of the neighboring block) [Lee: col. 21, line 10-12; – Note: Collocated block of the neighboring block is not adjacent to the current block]; (In addition, the number of vertical lines or horizontal lines partitioning the coding tree unit or the coding unit may be at least one or more) [Lee: col. 11, line 57-59] – Note: It is clear to readers that when there are two different lines, if one line is adjacent to the current block, then the other line is not adjacent to the current block), and based on the intra-prediction type being the third intra-prediction type ((i.e. Specifically, the intra prediction mode of the current block may be derived based on a candidate list and an index. Here, the candidate list contains multiple candidates, and the multiple candidates may be determined based on an intra prediction mode) [Lee: col. 20, line 59-63]; (i.e. The candidate list may further include a default mode. The default mode may include) [Lee: col. 21, line 29-30]), the prediction samples are generated based on intra sub partitions (ISP) (One block may be partitioned into a plurality of subblocks, and intra prediction may be performed in a unit of a sub-block) [Lee: col. 30, line 3-5],
wherein, a first intra-prediction mode candidate list ((i.e. Specifically, the intra prediction mode of the current block may be derived based on a candidate list and an index. Here, the candidate list contains multiple candidates, and the multiple candidates may be determined based on an intra prediction mode) [Lee: col. 20, line 59-63]; (i.e. The candidate list may further include a default mode. The default mode may include at least one of a planar mode, a DC mode, the vertical mode, the horizontal mode, top right diagonal mode, or top left diagonal mode.) [Lee: col. 21, line 29-32]) for the first intra-prediction type using the first reference line (i.e. the first intra filter applied to a plurality of neighboring samples positioned on the same horizontal line) [Lee: col. 22, line 62-63];
a second intra-prediction mode candidate list ((i.e. Specifically, the intra prediction mode of the current block may be derived based on a candidate list and an index. Here, the candidate list contains multiple candidates, and the multiple candidates may be determined based on an intra prediction mode) [Lee: col. 20, line 59-63]; (i.e. The candidate list may further include a default mode. The default mode may include) [Lee: col. 21, line 29-30]) for the second intra-prediction-type using the second reference line ((i.e. The intra prediction on a current coding block may be performed by using a plurality of reference sample lines. For example, it may be performed by using two or more reference sample lines. Whether to perform an intra prediction using a plurality of reference sample lines may be determined based on a size/shape of the current block, an intra prediction mode, or the like.) [Lee: col. 23, line 39-46]; (i.e. intra prediction using a plurality of reference samples that is not adjacent to each other in encoding/decoding a video signal) [Lee: col. 1, line 64-65]; (i.e. the candidate of the current block may be derived using the intra prediction mode of the collocated block of the neighboring block) [Lee: col. 21, line 10-12]); and
a third intra-prediction mode candidate list ((i.e. Specifically, the intra prediction mode of the current block may be derived based on a candidate list and an index. Here, the candidate list contains multiple candidates, and the multiple candidates may be determined based on an intra prediction mode) [Lee: col. 20, line 59-63]; (i.e. The candidate list may further include a default mode. The default mode may include) [Lee: col. 21, line 29-30]) for the third intra-prediction type to which the ISP is applied ((i.e. One block may be partitioned into a plurality of subblocks, and intra prediction may be performed in a unit of a sub-block) [Lee: col. 30, line 1-5]; (i.e. Whether to perform intra prediction of a current block on the basis of a sub-block may be adaptively determined according to a size, shape, or intra prediction mode of the current block. For example, it may be determined whether intra prediction of the current block is performed on the basis of a sub-block according to whether the intra prediction mode of the current block is a directional mode in a specific direction) [Lee: col. 32, line 36-43]);
are identical ((i.e. The candidate list may further include a default mode. The default mode may include at least one of a planar mode, a DC mode, the vertical mode, the horizontal mode, top right diagonal mode, or top left diagonal mode. The default mode may be adaptively added considering the maximum number of candidates that can be included in the candidate list of the current block. The maximum number of candidates that can be included in the candidate list may be three, four, five, six, seven or more. The maximum number of candidates that can be included in the candidate list may be a fixed value preset in the device for encoding/decoding a video) [Lee: col. 21, line 29-40]; (i.e. sub-blocks belonging to one block may have the same intra prediction mode) [Lee: col. 30, line 5-6]; (i.e. A plurality of sub-blocks may have the same intra prediction mode. For example, an intra prediction mode of the first sub-block and an intra prediction mode of the second sub-block may both be an intra prediction mode in the top right direction) [Lee: col. 31, line 31-35]; (Alternatively, a block including a plurality of sub-blocks may be a predetermined region sharing the same intra prediction mode and the same MPM candidate list) [Lee: col. 30, line 14-16] – Note: Lee discloses that multiple subblocks can share the same intra prediction mode and the same MPM candidate list); (A plurality of sub-blocks may have the same intra prediction mode. For example, an intra prediction mode of the first sub-block and an intra prediction mode of the second sub-block may both be an intra prediction mode in the top right direction) [Lee: col. 31, line 31-35] – Note: Lee also discloses that different subblocks can have a same intra prediction mode), wherein the image information (i.e. Specifically, the intra prediction mode of the current block may be derived based on a candidate list and an index. Here the candidate list contains a plurality of candidates, and a plurality of candidates may be determined based on an intra prediction mode of the neighboring block adjacent to the current block) [Lee: col. 20, line 59-64] includes intra luma reference index information ((i.e. The same numbers of the extended intra prediction modes may be used for a luma component and a chroma component) [Lee: col. 20, line 59-60]; (i.e. IntraPredModeY indicates the intra prediction mode of the luma component) [Lee: col. 22, line 45-46; Table 1]; (i.e. the intra prediction mode of the current block may be derived based on a candidate list and an index) [Lee: col. 20, line 59-60]; (i.e. The index may specify one of a plurality of candidates in the candidate list. The candidate specified by the index may be set to the intra prediction mode of the current block) [Lee: col. 20, line 66 – col. 21, line 2; Figs. 12-13]) specifying an intra prediction reference line index ((i.e. The intra prediction on a current coding block may be performed by using a plurality of reference sample lines) [Lee: col. 23, line 39-46] ; (i.e. The candidate specified by the index may be set to the intra prediction mode of the current block) [Lee: col. 21, line 1-2]; (i.e. FIGS. 12 and 13 are a diagram illustrating a one-dimensional reference sample group in which reference samples are rearranged in a line) [Lee: col. 3, line 48-50; Figs. 12-13]), wherein, based on the intra luma reference index information having a value of 1, the second reference line is a reference line which is one sample away from the upper boundary or the left boundary of the current block (i.e. Intra weighted prediction may be performed using a reference sample in fixed position. For example, at least one of a reference sample adjacent to the left corner of a current block, a reference sample adjacent to the top right comer of a current block, or a reference sample adjacent to the bottom left corner of a current block may be used for intra weighted prediction.) [Lee: col. 33, line 54-60], wherein, based on the intra luma reference index information having a value of 0, the image information includes a flag for the ISP ((partition unit information) [Lee: col. 8, line 10]; (the number of intra prediction mode candidates (e.g., the number of MPMs) used for determining an intra prediction mode of a current block) [Lee: col. 19, line 58-60]), and wherein the flag for the ISP (partition unit information) [Lee: col. 8, line 10] specifies whether the current block is partitioned (i.e. A prediction unit may be one of partitions partitioned into a square or a rectangular shape having the same size in a single coding unit, or a prediction unit may be one of partitions partitioned so that one prediction unit of prediction units partitioned in a single coding unit have a different shape and/or size from other prediction unit) [Lee: col. 5, line 39-44, col. 11, line 45 – col. 17, line 25; Figs. 3-7, 15].
Lee does not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
wherein, based on the intra luma reference index information having a value of 1, the second reference line is a reference line which is one sample away from the upper boundary or the left boundary of the current block
wherein, based on the intra luma reference index information having a value of 0, the image information includes a flag for the ISP
However, in the same field of endeavor, Lim also discloses the claim limitations as follows:
wherein, based on the intra luma reference index information (When the indicator indicates that multiple reference sample lines are used, reference sample line indexes are also signaled. For example, mrl_index is signaled. Therefore, it
is possible to determine which reference sample lines are used) [Lim: col. 2, line 21-24] having a value of 1, the second reference line is a reference line which is one sample away from the upper boundary or the left boundary of the current block (When the indicator mrl_index has a value of 1, a second reference sample line which is second closest to the current block is utilized) [Lim: col. 2, line 21-24; Figs. 9, 20-21] – Note: Figures 9, 20, and 21 show the second reference sample line, which is second closest to the current block, is one sample away from the upper boundary or the left boundary of the current block. Please see more details in Figures 9, 20, and 21).
wherein, based on the intra luma reference index information having a value of 0 (When the indicator mrl_index has a value of 0, a first reference sample line which is closest to the current block is utilized) [Lim: col. 2, line 21-24], the image information includes a flag for the ISP ((a prediction block partition flag) [Lim: col. 13, line 58]; (i.e. In embodiments, each of specific information, data, flag, index, element and attribute, etc. may have a value. A value of information, data, flag, index, element and attribute equal to "0" may represent a logical false or the first predefined value. In other words, a value "0", a false, a logical false and the first predefined value may be replaced with each other. A value of information, data, flag, index, element and attribute equal to "1" may represent a logical true or the second predefined value. In other words, a value "1", a true, a logical true and the second predefined value may be replaced with each other) [Lim: col. 6, line 52-62]).
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lee with Lim to program the system to implement of Lim’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Lee with Lim will enable the system to improve the accuracy of the intra-picture prediction [Lim: col. 55, line 60-61].
Regarding claim 2, Lee meets the claim limitations as follow.
A encoding apparatus for image decoding (an apparatus for encoding a video) [Lee: col. 2, line 16; Fig. 1], the encoding apparatus comprising:
a memory ((a memory) [Lee: col. 4, line 55-56; col. 37, line 36-37; Figs. 1-2]; (a computer-readable recording medium) [Lee: col. 37, line 36]); and at least one processor ((one or more processing units) [Lee: col. 5, line 17]; (computer components) [Lee: col. 37, line 35]) connected to the memory (a memory) [Lee: col. 4, line 55-56; col. 37, line 36-37; Fig. 2], the at least one processor configured to: derive ((derive) [Lee: col. 2, line 9]; (determining) [Lee: col. 37, line 55]) an intra-prediction type for a current block ((determining an intra prediction mode of a current block) [Lee: col. 37, line 55; Fig. 8]; (FIG. 8 is a diagram illustrating types of pre-defined intra prediction) [Lee: col. 18, line 46-47; Fig. 8]) among intra-prediction types ((a directional prediction mode having a predetermined angle may be derived using at least one of the 33 pre-defined directional prediction modes) [Lee: col. 18, line 60-62; col. 21, line 1-2; Fig. 8]; ( the number/type of intra prediction) [Lee: col. 21, line 43]),
construct (i.e. constructing) [Lee: col. 12, line 53] an intra-prediction mode candidate list of the current block by performing an intra-prediction mode candidate list construction process (Note: From col. 20, line 59 – col. 21, line 12, Lee describes a process to build the intra-prediction mode candidate list, which is a list of plurality of candidates. Each candidate in the list has an index that is associated with an intra prediction mode. Please also read Lee: col. 19, line 58-64 for additional details on a process how to determine intra prediction modes); select an intra-prediction mode of the current block (selected by applying an intra prediction mode of a current block) [Lee: col. 33, line 37-38]; (the intra prediction mode of the current block may be derived based on a candidate list and an index) [Lee: col. 20, line 59-60]) based on the intra-prediction mode candidate list (The index may specify one of a plurality of candidates in the candidate list. The candidate specified by the index may be set to the intra prediction mode of the current block) [Lee: col. 20, line 66 – col. 21, line 2]) after constructing the intra-prediction mode candidate list ((Specifically, the intra prediction mode of the current block may be derived based on a candidate list and an index. Here the candidate list contains a plurality of candidates, and a plurality of candidates may be determined based on an intra prediction mode of the neighboring block adjacent to the current block) [Lee: col. 20, line 59-64]; (i.e. In addition, the number of intra prediction mode candidates (e.g., the number of MPMs) used for determining an intra prediction mode of a current block to be encoded/decoded may also be determined according to at least one of a color component, a color format, or a size or a shape of a block. In addition, it is also possible to use a larger number of intra prediction modes than shown in FIG. 8) [Lee: col. 19, line 58-64]); wherein the intra-prediction mode includes an intra planar mode, an intra DC mode or at least one intra angular mode (i.e. The candidate list may further include a default mode. The default mode may include at least one of a planar mode, a DC mode, the vertical mode, the horizontal mode, top right diagonal mode, or top left diagonal mode) [Lee: col. 21, line 29-32]; and generate prediction samples of the current block ((i.e. a prediction image (i.e. a prediction sample) for the prediction target sample may be generated) [Lee: col. 27, line 28-29]; (i.e. the prediction sample of the current block may be obtained using the intra prediction) [Lee: col. 23, line 56-57]) based on the intra-prediction type and the intra-prediction mode (i.e. The intra filter may include at least one of the first intra filter applied to a plurality of neighboring samples positioned on the same horizontal line or the second intra filter applied to a plurality of neighboring samples positioned on the same vertical line. Depending on the positions of the neighboring samples, one of the first intra filter and the second intra filter may be selectively applied, or both intra filters may be applied) [Lee: col. 22, line 61- col. 23, line 1],
encode image information including image information for the current block ((encoding a video) [Lee: col. 9, line 13; Fig. 1]; (method and an apparatus for encoding a video signal according to the present invention, may determine an intra prediction mode of a current block, derive reference samples of the current block, and obtain a prediction sample of the current block using at least one of the reference samples. In this case, when intra weighted prediction is applied to the current block, the prediction sample may be obtained based on a plurality of reference samples that does not neighbor each other) [Lee: col. 2, line 17-24]),
wherein the intra-prediction types include a first intra-prediction type (Specifically, the intra prediction mode of the current block may be derived based on a candidate list and an index. Here, the candidate list contains a plurality of candidates, and a plurality of candidates may be determined based on an intra prediction mode of the neighboring block adjacent to the current block) [Lim: col. 20, line 59-64], a second intra-prediction type (intra prediction using a plurality of reference samples that is not adjacent to each other in encoding / decoding a video signal) [Lim: col. 1, line 63-65] and a third intra-prediction type (In addition, it is also possible to use a larger number of intra prediction modes than shown in FIG. 8. For example, by further subdividing the directional prediction modes shown in FIG. 8, it is also possible to use 129 directional prediction modes and 2 non-directional prediction modes.) [Lee: col. 19, line 63-67; Fig. 8] – Note: Lee discloses that his invention can support 131 intra prediction modes. Hence the first, second, and third intra prediction types can be one of these), wherein, based on the intra-prediction type being the first intra-prediction type (Here, the candidate list contains a plurality of candidates, and a plurality of candidates may be determined based on an intra prediction mode of the neighboring block adjacent to the current block) [Lim: col. 20, line 60-64], the prediction samples are generated based on a first reference line which is a reference line adjacent to upper boundary or left boundary of the current block (when the intra prediction mode of the current block is the horizontal mode, differential samples between the top left neighboring sample p(-1, -1) and neighboring samples p(x, -1) adjacent to the left boundary of the current block may be used to obtain the final prediction sample) [Lee: col. 25, line 28-33], based on the intra-prediction type being the second intra-prediction type (Specifically, the intra prediction mode of the current block may be derived based on a candidate list and an index) [Lim: col. 14, line 17-21], the prediction samples are generated based on a second reference line not adjacent to the current block ((Intra prediction using a plurality of reference samples that is not adjacent to each other in encoding / decoding a video signal) [Lim: col. 1, line 63-65]; (i.e. the candidate of the current block may be derived using the intra prediction mode of the collocated block of the neighboring block) [Lee: col. 21, line 10-12; – Note: Collocated block of the neighboring block is not adjacent to the current block]; (In addition, the number of vertical lines or horizontal lines partitioning the coding tree unit or the coding unit may be at least one or more) [Lee: col. 11, line 57-59] – Note: It is clear to readers that when there are two different lines, if one line is adjacent to the current block, then the other line is not adjacent to the current block), and based on the intra-prediction type being the third intra-prediction type ((i.e. Specifically, the intra prediction mode of the current block may be derived based on a candidate list and an index. Here, the candidate list contains multiple candidates, and the multiple candidates may be determined based on an intra prediction mode) [Lee: col. 20, line 59-63]; (i.e. The candidate list may further include a default mode. The default mode may include) [Lee: col. 21, line 29-30]), the prediction samples are generated based on intra sub partitions (ISP) (One block may be partitioned into a plurality of subblocks, and intra prediction may be performed in a unit of a sub-block) [Lee: col. 30, line 3-5],
wherein,
a first intra-prediction mode candidate list ((i.e. Specifically, the intra prediction mode of the current block may be derived based on a candidate list and an index. Here, the candidate list contains multiple candidates, and the multiple candidates may be determined based on an intra prediction mode) [Lee: col. 20, line 59-63]; (i.e. The candidate list may further include a default mode. The default mode may include at least one of a planar mode, a DC mode, the vertical mode, the horizontal mode, top right diagonal mode, or top left diagonal mode.) [Lee: col. 21, line 29-32]) for the first intra-prediction type using the first reference line (i.e. the first intra filter applied to a plurality of neighboring samples positioned on the same horizontal line) [Lee: col. 22, line 62-63];
a second intra-prediction mode candidate list ((i.e. Specifically, the intra prediction mode of the current block may be derived based on a candidate list and an index. Here, the candidate list contains multiple candidates, and the multiple candidates may be determined based on an intra prediction mode) [Lee: col. 20, line 59-63]; (i.e. The candidate list may further include a default mode. The default mode may include) [Lee: col. 21, line 29-30]) for the second intra-prediction-type using the second reference line ((i.e. The intra prediction on a current coding block may be performed by using a plurality of reference sample lines. For example, it may be performed by using two or more reference sample lines. Whether to perform an intra prediction using a plurality of reference sample lines may be determined based on a size/shape of the current block, an intra prediction mode, or the like.) [Lee: col. 23, line 39-46]; (i.e. intra prediction using a plurality of reference samples that is not adjacent to each other in encoding/decoding a video signal) [Lee: col. 1, line 64-65]; (i.e. the candidate of the current block may be derived using the intra prediction mode of the collocated block of the neighboring block) [Lee: col. 21, line 10-12]); and
a third intra-prediction mode candidate list ((i.e. Specifically, the intra prediction mode of the current block may be derived based on a candidate list and an index. Here, the candidate list contains multiple candidates, and the multiple candidates may be determined based on an intra prediction mode) [Lee: col. 20, line 59-63]; (i.e. The candidate list may further include a default mode. The default mode may include) [Lee: col. 21, line 29-30]) for the third intra-prediction type to which the ISP is applied ((i.e. One block may be partitioned into a plurality of subblocks, and intra prediction may be performed in a unit of a sub-block) [Lee: col. 30, line 1-5]; (i.e. Whether to perform intra prediction of a current block on the basis of a sub-block may be adaptively determined according to a size, shape, or intra prediction mode of the current block. For example, it may be determined whether intra prediction of the current block is performed on the basis of a sub-block according to whether the intra prediction mode of the current block is a directional mode in a specific direction) [Lee: col. 32, line 36-43]);
are identical ((i.e. The candidate list may further include a default mode. The default mode may include at least one of a planar mode, a DC mode, the vertical mode, the horizontal mode, top right diagonal mode, or top left diagonal mode. The default mode may be adaptively added considering the maximum number of candidates that can be included in the candidate list of the current block. The maximum number of candidates that can be included in the candidate list may be three, four, five, six, seven or more. The maximum number of candidates that can be included in the candidate list may be a fixed value preset in the device for encoding/decoding a video) [Lee: col. 21, line 29-40]; (i.e. sub-blocks belonging to one block may have the same intra prediction mode) [Lee: col. 30, line 5-6]; (i.e. A plurality of sub-blocks may have the same intra prediction mode. For example, an intra prediction mode of the first sub-block and an intra prediction mode of the second sub-block may both be an intra prediction mode in the top right direction) [Lee: col. 31, line 31-35]; (Alternatively, a block including a plurality of sub-blocks may be a predetermined region sharing the same intra prediction mode and the same MPM candidate list) [Lee: col. 30, line 14-16] – Note: Lee discloses that multiple subblocks can share the same intra prediction mode and the same MPM candidate list); (A plurality of sub-blocks may have the same intra prediction mode. For example, an intra prediction mode of the first sub-block and an intra prediction mode of the second sub-block may both be an intra prediction mode in the top right direction) [Lee: col. 31, line 31-35] – Note: Lee also discloses that different subblocks can have a same intra prediction mode), wherein the image information (i.e. Specifically, the intra prediction mode of the current block may be derived based on a candidate list and an index. Here the candidate list contains a plurality of candidates, and a plurality of candidates may be determined based on an intra prediction mode of the neighboring block adjacent to the current block) [Lee: col. 20, line 59-64] includes intra luma reference index information ((i.e. The same numbers of the extended intra prediction modes may be used for a luma component and a chroma component) [Lee: col. 20, line 59-60]; (i.e. IntraPredModeY indicates the intra prediction mode of the luma component) [Lee: col. 22, line 45-46; Table 1]; (i.e. the intra prediction mode of the current block may be derived based on a candidate list and an index) [Lee: col. 20, line 59-60]; (i.e. The index may specify one of a plurality of candidates in the candidate list. The candidate specified by the index may be set to the intra prediction mode of the current block) [Lee: col. 20, line 66 – col. 21, line 2; Figs. 12-13]) specifying an intra prediction reference line index ((i.e. The intra prediction on a current coding block may be performed by using a plurality of reference sample lines) [Lee: col. 23, line 39-46] ; (i.e. The candidate specified by the index may be set to the intra prediction mode of the current block) [Lee: col. 21, line 1-2]; (i.e. FIGS. 12 and 13 are a diagram illustrating a one-dimensional reference sample group in which reference samples are rearranged in a line) [Lee: col. 3, line 48-50; Figs. 12-13]), wherein, based on the intra luma reference index information having a value of 1, the second reference line is a reference line which is one sample away from the upper boundary or the left boundary of the current block (i.e. Intra weighted prediction may be performed using a reference sample in fixed position. For example, at least one of a reference sample adjacent to the left corner of a current block, a reference sample adjacent to the top right comer of a current block, or a reference sample adjacent to the bottom left corner of a current block may be used for intra weighted prediction.) [Lee: col. 33, line 54-60], wherein, based on the intra luma reference index information having a value of 0, the image information includes a flag for the ISP ((partition unit information) [Lee: col. 8, line 10]; (the number of intra prediction mode candidates (e.g., the number of MPMs) used for determining an intra prediction mode of a current block) [Lee: col. 19, line 58-60]), and wherein the flag for the ISP (partition unit information) [Lee: col. 8, line 10] specifies whether the current block is partitioned (i.e. A prediction unit may be one of partitions partitioned into a square or a rectangular shape having the same size in a single coding unit, or a prediction unit may be one of partitions partitioned so that one prediction unit of prediction units partitioned in a single coding unit have a different shape and/or size from other prediction unit) [Lee: col. 5, line 39-44, col. 11, line 45 – col. 17, line 25; Figs. 3-7, 15].
Lee does not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
wherein, based on the intra luma reference index information having a value of 1, the second reference line is a reference line which is one sample away from the upper boundary or the left boundary of the current block
wherein, based on the intra luma reference index information having a value of 0, the image information includes a flag for the ISP
However, in the same field of endeavor, Lim also discloses the claim limitations as follows:
wherein, based on the intra luma reference index information (When the indicator indicates that multiple reference sample lines are used, reference sample line indexes are also signaled. For example, mrl_index is signaled. Therefore, it
is possible to determine which reference sample lines are used) [Lim: col. 2, line 21-24] having a value of 1, the second reference line is a reference line which is one sample away from the upper boundary or the left boundary of the current block (When the indicator mrl_index has a value of 1, a second reference sample line which is second closest to the current block is utilized) [Lim: col. 2, line 21-24; Figs. 9, 20-21] – Note: Figures 9, 20, and 21 show the second reference sample line, which is second closest to the current block, is one sample away from the upper boundary or the left boundary of the current block. Please see more details in Figures 9, 20, and 21).
wherein, based on the intra luma reference index information having a value of 0 (When the indicator mrl_index has a value of 0, a first reference sample line which is closest to the current block is utilized) [Lim: col. 2, line 21-24], the image information includes a flag for the ISP ((a prediction block partition flag) [Lim: col. 13, line 58]; (i.e. In embodiments, each of specific information, data, flag, index, element and attribute, etc. may have a value. A value of information, data, flag, index, element and attribute equal to "0" may represent a logical false or the first predefined value. In other words, a value "0", a false, a logical false and the first predefined value may be replaced with each other. A value of information, data, flag, index, element and attribute equal to "1" may represent a logical true or the second predefined value. In other words, a value "1", a true, a logical true and the second predefined value may be replaced with each other) [Lim: col. 6, line 52-62]).
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lee with Lim to program the system to implement of Lim’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Lee with Lim will enable the system to improve the accuracy of the intra-picture prediction [Lim: col. 55, line 60-61].
Regarding claim 3, Lee meets the claim limitations as follow.
An apparatus (an apparatus) [Lee: col. 2, line 16; Fig. 1] for storing data for an image ((storing image data by using a conventional storage medium) [Lee: col. 1, line 29-30; Fig. 1]; (The memory 155 may store the reconstructed block or picture) [Lee: col. 8, line 66-67; Fig. 1]), the apparatus comprising: at least one processor ((one or more processing units) [Lee: col. 5, line 17]; (computer components) [Lee: col. 37, line 35]) configured to obtain a bitstream for the image (a video bitstream is input from the device) [Lee: col. 9, line 12],wherein the bitstream is generated based on deriving ((derive) [Lee: col. 2, line 9]; (determining) [Lee: col. 37, line 55]) an intra-prediction type for a current block ((determining an intra prediction mode of a current block) [Lee: col. 37, line 55; Fig. 8]; (FIG. 8 is a diagram illustrating types of pre-defined intra prediction) [Lee: col. 18, line 46-47; Fig. 8]) among intra-prediction types ((a directional prediction mode having a predetermined angle may be derived using at least one of the 33 pre-defined directional prediction modes) [Lee: col. 18, line 60-62; col. 21, line 1-2; Fig. 8]; ( the number/type of intra prediction) [Lee: col. 21, line 43]),
constructing (i.e. constructing) [Lee: col. 12, line 53] an intra-prediction mode candidate list of the current block by performing an intra-prediction mode candidate list construction process (Note: From col. 20, line 59 – col. 21, line 12, Lee describes a process to build the intra-prediction mode candidate list, which is a list of plurality of candidates. Each candidate in the list has an index that is associated with an intra prediction mode. Please also read Lee: col. 19, line 58-64 for additional details on a process how to determine intra prediction modes); selecting an intra-prediction mode of the current block (selected by applying an intra prediction mode of a current block) [Lee: col. 33, line 37-38]; (the intra prediction mode of the current block may be derived based on a candidate list and an index) [Lee: col. 20, line 59-60]) based on the intra-prediction mode candidate list (The index may specify one of a plurality of candidates in the candidate list. The candidate specified by the index may be set to the intra prediction mode of the current block) [Lee: col. 20, line 66 – col. 21, line 2]) after constructing the intra-prediction mode candidate list ((Specifically, the intra prediction mode of the current block may be derived based on a candidate list and an index. Here the candidate list contains a plurality of candidates, and a plurality of candidates may be determined based on an intra prediction mode of the neighboring block adjacent to the current block) [Lee: col. 20, line 59-64]; (i.e. In addition, the number of intra prediction mode candidates (e.g., the number of MPMs) used for determining an intra prediction mode of a current block to be encoded/decoded may also be determined according to at least one of a color component, a color format, or a size or a shape of a block. In addition, it is also possible to use a larger number of intra prediction modes than shown in FIG. 8) [Lee: col. 19, line 58-64]); wherein the intra-prediction mode includes an intra planar mode, an intra DC mode or at least one intra angular mode (i.e. The candidate list may further include a default mode. The default mode may include at least one of a planar mode, a DC mode, the vertical mode, the horizontal mode, top right diagonal mode, or top left diagonal mode) [Lee: col. 21, line 29-32]; and generating prediction samples of the current block ((i.e. a prediction image (i.e. a prediction sample) for the prediction target sample may be generated) [Lee: col. 27, line 28-29]; (i.e. the prediction sample of the current block may be obtained using the intra prediction) [Lee: col. 23, line 56-57]) based on the intra-prediction type and the intra-prediction mode (i.e. The intra filter may include at least one of the first intra filter applied to a plurality of neighboring samples positioned on the same horizontal line or the second intra filter applied to a plurality of neighboring samples positioned on the same vertical line. Depending on the positions of the neighboring samples, one of the first intra filter and the second intra filter may be selectively applied, or both intra filters may be applied) [Lee: col. 22, line 61- col. 23, line 1] , and
encoding image information including image information for the current block ((encoding a video) [Lee: col. 9, line 13; Fig. 1]; (method and an apparatus for encoding a video signal according to the present invention, may determine an intra prediction mode of a current block, derive reference samples of the current block, and obtain a prediction sample of the current block using at least one of the reference samples. In this case, when intra weighted prediction is applied to the current block, the prediction sample may be obtained based on a plurality of reference samples that does not neighbor each other) [Lee: col. 2, line 17-24]),
a storage medium ((a memory) [Lee: col. 4, line 55-56; col. 37, line 36-37; Figs. 1-2]; (a computer-readable recording medium) [Lee: col. 37, line 36]) configured to store the bitstream ((storing image data by using a conventional storage medium) [Lee: col. 1, line 29-30; Fig. 1]; (The memory 155 may store the reconstructed block or picture) [Lee: col. 8, line 66-67; Fig. 1]),
wherein the intra-prediction types include a first intra-prediction type (Specifically, the intra prediction mode of the current block may be derived based on a candidate list and an index. Here, the candidate list contains a plurality of candidates, and a plurality of candidates may be determined based on an intra prediction mode of the neighboring block adjacent to the current block) [Lim: col. 20, line 59-64], a second intra-prediction type (intra prediction using a plurality of reference samples that is not adjacent to each other in encoding / decoding a video signal) [Lim: col. 1, line 63-65] and a third intra-prediction type (In addition, it is also possible to use a larger number of intra prediction modes than shown in FIG. 8. For example, by further subdividing the directional prediction modes shown in FIG. 8, it is also possible to use 129 directional prediction modes and 2 non-directional prediction modes.) [Lee: col. 19, line 63-67; Fig. 8] – Note: Lee discloses that his invention can support 131 intra prediction modes. Hence the first, second, and third intra prediction types can be one of these), wherein, based on the intra-prediction type being the first intra-prediction type (Here, the candidate list contains a plurality of candidates, and a plurality of candidates may be determined based on an intra prediction mode of the neighboring block adjacent to the current block) [Lim: col. 20, line 60-64], the prediction samples are generated based on a first reference line which is a reference line adjacent to upper boundary or left boundary of the current block (when the intra prediction mode of the current block is the horizontal mode, differential samples between the top left neighboring sample p(-1, -1) and neighboring samples p(x, -1) adjacent to the left boundary of the current block may be used to obtain the final prediction sample) [Lee: col. 25, line 28-33], based on the intra-prediction type being the second intra-prediction type (Specifically, the intra prediction mode of the current block may be derived based on a candidate list and an index) [Lim: col. 14, line 17-21], the prediction samples are generated based on a second reference line not adjacent to the current block ((Intra prediction using a plurality of reference samples that is not adjacent to each other in encoding / decoding a video signal) [Lim: col. 1, line 63-65]; (i.e. the candidate of the current block may be derived using the intra prediction mode of the collocated block of the neighboring block) [Lee: col. 21, line 10-12; – Note: Collocated block of the neighboring block is not adjacent to the current block]; (In addition, the number of vertical lines or horizontal lines partitioning the coding tree unit or the coding unit may be at least one or more) [Lee: col. 11, line 57-59] – Note: It is clear to readers that when there are two different lines, if one line is adjacent to the current block, then the other line is not adjacent to the current block), and based on the intra-prediction type being the third intra-prediction type ((i.e. Specifically, the intra prediction mode of the current block may be derived based on a candidate list and an index. Here, the candidate list contains multiple candidates, and the multiple candidates may be determined based on an intra prediction mode) [Lee: col. 20, line 59-63]; (i.e. The candidate list may further include a default mode. The default mode may include) [Lee: col. 21, line 29-30]), the prediction samples are generated based on intra sub partitions (ISP) (One block may be partitioned into a plurality of subblocks, and intra prediction may be performed in a unit of a sub-block) [Lee: col. 30, line 3-5],
wherein,
a first intra-prediction mode candidate list ((i.e. Specifically, the intra prediction mode of the current block may be derived based on a candidate list and an index. Here, the candidate list contains multiple candidates, and the multiple candidates may be determined based on an intra prediction mode) [Lee: col. 20, line 59-63]; (i.e. The candidate list may further include a default mode. The default mode may include at least one of a planar mode, a DC mode, the vertical mode, the horizontal mode, top right diagonal mode, or top left diagonal mode.) [Lee: col. 21, line 29-32]) for the first intra-prediction type using the first reference line (i.e. the first intra filter applied to a plurality of neighboring samples positioned on the same horizontal line) [Lee: col. 22, line 62-63];
a second intra-prediction mode candidate list ((i.e. Specifically, the intra prediction mode of the current block may be derived based on a candidate list and an index. Here, the candidate list contains multiple candidates, and the multiple candidates may be determined based on an intra prediction mode) [Lee: col. 20, line 59-63]; (i.e. The candidate list may further include a default mode. The default mode may include) [Lee: col. 21, line 29-30]) for the second intra-prediction-type using the second reference line ((i.e. The intra prediction on a current coding block may be performed by using a plurality of reference sample lines. For example, it may be performed by using two or more reference sample lines. Whether to perform an intra prediction using a plurality of reference sample lines may be determined based on a size/shape of the current block, an intra prediction mode, or the like.) [Lee: col. 23, line 39-46]; (i.e. intra prediction using a plurality of reference samples that is not adjacent to each other in encoding/decoding a video signal) [Lee: col. 1, line 64-65]; (i.e. the candidate of the current block may be derived using the intra prediction mode of the collocated block of the neighboring block) [Lee: col. 21, line 10-12]); and
a third intra-prediction mode candidate list ((i.e. Specifically, the intra prediction mode of the current block may be derived based on a candidate list and an index. Here, the candidate list contains multiple candidates, and the multiple candidates may be determined based on an intra prediction mode) [Lee: col. 20, line 59-63]; (i.e. The candidate list may further include a default mode. The default mode may include) [Lee: col. 21, line 29-30]) for the third intra-prediction type to which the ISP is applied ((i.e. One block may be partitioned into a plurality of subblocks, and intra prediction may be performed in a unit of a sub-block) [Lee: col. 30, line 1-5]; (i.e. Whether to perform intra prediction of a current block on the basis of a sub-block may be adaptively determined according to a size, shape, or intra prediction mode of the current block. For example, it may be determined whether intra prediction of the current block is performed on the basis of a sub-block according to whether the intra prediction mode of the current block is a directional mode in a specific direction) [Lee: col. 32, line 36-43]);
are identical ((i.e. The candidate list may further include a default mode. The default mode may include at least one of a planar mode, a DC mode, the vertical mode, the horizontal mode, top right diagonal mode, or top left diagonal mode. The default mode may be adaptively added considering the maximum number of candidates that can be included in the candidate list of the current block. The maximum number of candidates that can be included in the candidate list may be three, four, five, six, seven or more. The maximum number of candidates that can be included in the candidate list may be a fixed value preset in the device for encoding/decoding a video) [Lee: col. 21, line 29-40]; (i.e. sub-blocks belonging to one block may have the same intra prediction mode) [Lee: col. 30, line 5-6]; (i.e. A plurality of sub-blocks may have the same intra prediction mode. For example, an intra prediction mode of the first sub-block and an intra prediction mode of the second sub-block may both be an intra prediction mode in the top right direction) [Lee: col. 31, line 31-35]; (Alternatively, a block including a plurality of sub-blocks may be a predetermined region sharing the same intra prediction mode and the same MPM candidate list) [Lee: col. 30, line 14-16] – Note: Lee discloses that multiple subblocks can share the same intra prediction mode and the same MPM candidate list); (A plurality of sub-blocks may have the same intra prediction mode. For example, an intra prediction mode of the first sub-block and an intra prediction mode of the second sub-block may both be an intra prediction mode in the top right direction) [Lee: col. 31, line 31-35] – Note: Lee also discloses that different subblocks can have a same intra prediction mode), wherein the image information (i.e. Specifically, the intra prediction mode of the current block may be derived based on a candidate list and an index. Here the candidate list contains a plurality of candidates, and a plurality of candidates may be determined based on an intra prediction mode of the neighboring block adjacent to the current block) [Lee: col. 20, line 59-64] includes intra luma reference index information ((i.e. The same numbers of the extended intra prediction modes may be used for a luma component and a chroma component) [Lee: col. 20, line 59-60]; (i.e. IntraPredModeY indicates the intra prediction mode of the luma component) [Lee: col. 22, line 45-46; Table 1]; (i.e. the intra prediction mode of the current block may be derived based on a candidate list and an index) [Lee: col. 20, line 59-60]; (i.e. The index may specify one of a plurality of candidates in the candidate list. The candidate specified by the index may be set to the intra prediction mode of the current block) [Lee: col. 20, line 66 – col. 21, line 2; Figs. 12-13]) specifying an intra prediction reference line index ((i.e. The intra prediction on a current coding block may be performed by using a plurality of reference sample lines) [Lee: col. 23, line 39-46] ; (i.e. The candidate specified by the index may be set to the intra prediction mode of the current block) [Lee: col. 21, line 1-2]; (i.e. FIGS. 12 and 13 are a diagram illustrating a one-dimensional reference sample group in which reference samples are rearranged in a line) [Lee: col. 3, line 48-50; Figs. 12-13]), wherein, based on the intra luma reference index information having a value of 1, the second reference line is a reference line which is one sample away from the upper boundary or the left boundary of the current block (i.e. Intra weighted prediction may be performed using a reference sample in fixed position. For example, at least one of a reference sample adjacent to the left corner of a current block, a reference sample adjacent to the top right comer of a current block, or a reference sample adjacent to the bottom left corner of a current block may be used for intra weighted prediction.) [Lee: col. 33, line 54-60], wherein, based on the intra luma reference index information having a value of 0, the image information includes a flag for the ISP ((partition unit information) [Lee: col. 8, line 10]; (the number of intra prediction mode candidates (e.g., the number of MPMs) used for determining an intra prediction mode of a current block) [Lee: col. 19, line 58-60]), and wherein the flag for the ISP (partition unit information) [Lee: col. 8, line 10] specifies whether the current block is partitioned (i.e. A prediction unit may be one of partitions partitioned into a square or a rectangular shape having the same size in a single coding unit, or a prediction unit may be one of partitions partitioned so that one prediction unit of prediction units partitioned in a single coding unit have a different shape and/or size from other prediction unit) [Lee: col. 5, line 39-44, col. 11, line 45 – col. 17, line 25; Figs. 3-7, 15].
Lee does not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
wherein, based on the intra luma reference index information having a value of 1, the second reference line is a reference line which is one sample away from the upper boundary or the left boundary of the current block
wherein, based on the intra luma reference index information having a value of 0, the image information includes a flag for the ISP
However, in the same field of endeavor, Lim also discloses the claim limitations as follows:
wherein, based on the intra luma reference index information (When the indicator indicates that multiple reference sample lines are used, reference sample line indexes are also signaled. For example, mrl_index is signaled. Therefore, it
is possible to determine which reference sample lines are used) [Lim: col. 2, line 21-24] having a value of 1, the second reference line is a reference line which is one sample away from the upper boundary or the left boundary of the current block (When the indicator mrl_index has a value of 1, a second reference sample line which is second closest to the current block is utilized) [Lim: col. 2, line 21-24; Figs. 9, 20-21] – Note: Figures 9, 20, and 21 show the second reference sample line, which is second closest to the current block, is one sample away from the upper boundary or the left boundary of the current block. Please see more details in Figures 9, 20, and 21).
wherein, based on the intra luma reference index information having a value of 0 (When the indicator mrl_index has a value of 0, a first reference sample line which is closest to the current block is utilized) [Lim: col. 2, line 21-24], the image information includes a flag for the ISP ((a prediction block partition flag) [Lim: col. 13, line 58]; (i.e. In embodiments, each of specific information, data, flag, index, element and attribute, etc. may have a value. A value of information, data, flag, index, element and attribute equal to "0" may represent a logical false or the first predefined value. In other words, a value "0", a false, a logical false and the first predefined value may be replaced with each other. A value of information, data, flag, index, element and attribute equal to "1" may represent a logical true or the second predefined value. In other words, a value "1", a true, a logical true and the second predefined value may be replaced with each other) [Lim: col. 6, line 52-62]).
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lee with Lim to program the system to implement of Lim’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Lee with Lim will enable the system to improve the accuracy of the intra-picture prediction [Lim: col. 55, line 60-61].
Reference Notice
Additional prior arts, included in the Notice of Reference Cited, made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Contact Information