DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 5/12/2026, have been fully considered and the examiner’s responses are given below.
The 35 U.S.C. 112(f) interpretations are partially withdrawn.
Examiner notes that voice assistant architecture is not a generic placeholder because voice assistants are well known pieces of software in the art.
The 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections are withdrawn.
The 35 U.S.C. 102/103 rejections are not withdrawn.
Applicant argues that Hrabak does not teach validating the voice commands are directed to a valid ADAS operation. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Paragraph 0043 of Hrabak teaches receiving voice commands and then determining whether to move the vehicle based on the voice commands. Validation of the requests is based on determining if the utterance has a navigational intent, a destination, and a relative or an absolute maneuver intent. If the validation is successful, the vehicle will maneuver, and is directed to a valid ADAS operation.
Applicant argues that Hrabak does not teach validation of an unambiguous instruction. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Paragraphs 0043 and 0055 of Hrabak teaches clarifying an unrecognized utterance and confirming the utterance with the user. These unambiguous instructions are then validated to determine a maneuver intent and whether to maneuver the vehicle.
Applicant argues that Hrabak does not teach rejecting an ambiguous voice command. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Paragraph 0043 of Hrabak teaches requesting the user to clarify an ambiguous voice command. This means the ambiguous voice command is rejected and overwritten with another voice command.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a “virtual control module” in claims 1, 8, 10, 17, 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-7, 9-12, 15-16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hrabak (US 20210070316 A1).
Claim 1
Hrabak teaches:
A computer-implemented method when executed by data processing hardware causes the data processing hardware to perform operations comprising (Hrabak - Abstract, Paragraphs 0035, 0042-0043)
receiving, at a virtual control module, a voice command (Hrabak - Paragraphs 0035-0036, 0041, 0043) “the processor 220 is operative to receive a vehicle operator utterance”
processing, via a voice assistant architecture of the virtual control module, the voice command (Hrabak - Paragraphs 0035, 0043, 0052) “The processor 420 may be operative to a voice recognition algorithm to recognize a navigational request in response to the received electronic representation of the operator utterance”
validating, via the virtual control module, that the voice command is directed to a valid advanced driver assistance system (ADAS) operation of a vehicle (Hrabak - Paragraph 0043) “If the navigational utterance has a relative or absolute maneuver intent… The processor 220 is then operative to couple the motion path, or a control signal representative of the motion path, to the vehicle controller 230 to execute the requested maneuver”
and includes an unambiguous instruction (Hrabak - Paragraph 0043, 0055) “once the intended maneuver is recognized”
wherein the voice assistant architecture is configured to reject the voice command if the voice command includes an ambiguous instruction (Hrabak - Paragraph 0043) “request a clarification from the operator if any one of the previous steps, such as an unrecognized utterance”
confirming, via the voice assistant architecture, the voice command (Hrabak - Paragraphs 0055, 0059) “The processor 420 may then generate a user request for confirmation”
and executing, via the ADAS of the vehicle , one or more ADAS operations in response to the confirmed voice command (Hrabak - Paragraphs 0043, 0059) “a confirmation of the intended maneuver maybe requested before the motion path or control signal is coupled to the vehicle controller 230”
Claim 2
Hrabak teaches:
confirming the voice command includes projecting, via a speaker system of the vehicle, the voice command (Hrabak – Paragraph 0043) “The clarification requested may be present to the operative via the user interface or an audio alert played via a speaker or the like. In addition, once the intended maneuver is recognized, a confirmation of the intended maneuver maybe requested”
Claim 3
Hrabak teaches:
confirming the voice command includes receiving, from a driver monitoring system, a confirmation command in response to the projected voice command (Hrabak – Paragraph 0055) “receive a user confirmation via the microphone 410”
Claim 6
Hrabak teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as seen above.
Hrabak further teaches:
executing the one or more ADAS operations includes executing at least one of a brake command, a steering command, and a torque command (Hrabak - Paragraphs 0041-0042) “individual steering control signal to couple to the steering controller 270, a braking control signal to couple to the brake controller 260 and a throttle control signal to couple to the throttle controller 255 in order to execute the desired path”
Claim 7
Hrabak teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as seen above.
Hrabak further teaches:
the one or more ADAS operations includes one or more of speed control, lane assist, path follow, lane change, braking assist, and adaptive cruise control (Hrabak - Paragraphs 0041-0042) “lane centering, curve following, lane changes, etc”
Claim 9
Hrabak teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as seen above.
Hrabak further teaches:
executing the one or more ADAS operations includes determining at least one of a vehicle position and a speed profile of the vehicle (Hrabak - Paragraph 0039, 0042, 0052 ) “This desired path information may be determined in response to the vehicle speed, the yaw angle and the lateral position of the vehicle within the lane”
Claim 10
Hrabak teaches:
confirming, via a speaker system of a vehicle, the voice command (Hrabak - Paragraphs 0055, 0059) “The processor 420 may then generate a user request for confirmation”
All of the other limitations have been examined with respect to claim 1. Please see the rejection above.
Claims 11-12
All of the limitations of these claims have been examined with respect to claims 2-3. Please see the rejections above.
Claims 15-16 and 18
All of the limitations of these claims have been examined with respect to claims 6-7 and 9. Please see the rejections above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5, 13-14, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hrabak in view of Cullmann (US 20240208331 A1).
Claim 4
Hrabak teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as seen above.
Hrabak does not teach:
the voice assistant architecture is configured with operation modes, the operation modes including at least one of a wait mode, a process mode, a confirmation mode, and an execution mode.
However, Cullmann teaches:
the voice assistant architecture is configured with operation modes, the operation modes including at least one of a wait mode, a process mode, a confirmation mode, and an execution mode (Cullmann - Paragraph 0036, 0040) “a pausing state currently represented by a first state Z1; a listening state Z2”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Hrabak with the voice assistant architecture configured with operation modes of Cullmann with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that Hrabak and Cullmann are both in the field of vehicle control through speakers and microphones. One would have been motivated to combine as this makes the voice assistant intuitive and understandable (Cullmann – Paragraph 0027).
Claim 5
The combination of Hrabak and Cullmann teaches all of the limitations of claim 4 as seen above.
Hrabak does not teach:
reverting to the wait mode of the voice assistant architecture in response to the executed ADAS operation.
However, Cullmann teaches:
reverting to the wait mode of the voice assistant architecture in response to the executed ADAS operation (Cullmann - Paragraphs 0040, 0044) “if a task is completed, the visualization can also return to the state shown with respect to FIG. 2”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Hrabak with the voice assistant architecture reverting to the wait mode of Cullmann with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that Hrabak and Cullmann are both in the field of vehicle control through speakers and microphones. One would have been motivated to combine as this makes the voice assistant intuitive and understandable (Cullmann – Paragraph 0027).
Claims 13-14
All of the limitations of these claims have been examined with respect to claims 4-5. Please see the rejections above.
Claim 19
Hrabak teaches:
confirming, via a speaker system of the vehicle, the voice command (Hrabak - Paragraphs 0055, 0059) “The processor 420 may then generate a user request for confirmation”
All of the other limitations have been examined with respect to claims 1, 3, and 5. Please see the rejections above.
Claim 20
All of the limitations of this claim have been examined with respect to claim 4. Please see the rejection above.
Claims 8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hrabak in view of Vertegaal (US 20250085774 A1).
Claim 8
Hrabak teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as seen above.
Hrabak does not teach:
confirming the voice command includes receiving gaze data.
However, Vertegaal teaches:
confirming the voice command includes receiving gaze data, at the virtual control module, from a driver monitoring system of the vehicle (Vertegaal - Paragraphs 0037, 0073-0075) “the spoken command must match pre-defined criteria (e.g., a displayed indicia such as text) associated with the display element that is the subject of a point of gaze in order for the command to be executed”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Hrabak with confirming the voice command includes receiving gaze data of Vertegaal with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that both Hrabak and Vertegaal discuss control using voice and gaze inputs. One would have been motivated to combine as this reduces ambiguity and errors with inputs (Vertegaal – Paragraph 0075).
Claim 17
All of the limitations of this claim have been examined with respect to claim 8. Please see the rejection above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
should be directed to Matthew Ho whose telephone number is (571) 272-1388. The examiner can
normally be reached on Mon-Thurs 9:00-5:30 EST.
/MATTHEW HO/ Examiner, Art Unit 3669
/NAVID Z. MEHDIZADEH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3669