DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 17 June 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-10 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the Claims overcome each and every objection and 112(b) rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 26 March 2026.
Specification
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “wherein the main rod and the drive rod are connected by nut-screw assemblies functioning as reversible fastening elements” from Claim 7 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a threaded connection for secure attachment” in claim 2.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In Claim 5, line 2 “holes arranged at its vertices” should likely read “holes arranged at the lower stabilizer plate’s vertices”.
In Claim 8, line 2 “the associated fastening rod” should likely read “an associated fastening rod”.
In Claim 9, line 2 “wherein the drive bushing is connected to the main rod to permit freedom of rotation around its axis” should likely read “wherein the drive bushing is connected to the main rod to permit freedom of rotation around the drive bushing’s axis”.
In Claim 10, line 1 “wherein the device is adapted to operate valves varying sizes and pressure ratings” should likely read “wherein the device is adapted to operate valves having varying sizes and pressure ratings”, or similar.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “wherein the main rod and the drive rod are connected by nut-screw assemblies functioning as reversible fastening elements”. This amendment appears to lack support in the application as originally filed and therefore would qualify as new matter. ¶ 32 of the Specification discloses “Connection between the valve's main rod and the device's drive rod is made by means of a set of freely rotating bushings” with ¶ 35 of the Specification disclosing “a drive rod (6) fastened in the center of the upper stabilizing plate (5) by means of a reversible fastening element”.
Therefore, this limitation appears to lack support in the application as originally filed and therefore would qualify as new matter.
Claims 3-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation “wherein the connecting bushing is configured to connect to the drive bushing via a counter nut positioned above the connecting element”. This limitation is unclear because it is unclear if this is the same counter nut of Claim 1, line 17.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the upper stabilizing plate" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination, the upper stabilizing plate will be interpreted as referring to “an upper stabilizer plate” from Claim 1, line 3.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “wherein the drive rod is mounted to a central portion of the upper stabilizing plate via a reversible fastening element”. This limitation is unclear because it is unclear if the drive rod is mounted by a different reversible fastening element from the fastening element of Claim 1, or if the fastening elements are the same. Since Claim 1 recites “a drive rod fastened to a center of the upper stabilizer plate by means of a reversible fastening element”, the reversible fastening element will be interpreted as being the same.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the lower stabilizing plate" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination, the lower stabilizing plate will be interpreted as referring to “an lower stabilizer plate” from Claim 1, line 3.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the upper stabilizing plate" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination, the upper stabilizing plate will be interpreted as referring to “an upper stabilizer plate” from Claim 1, line 3.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the lower stabilizing plate" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination, the lower stabilizing plate will be interpreted as referring to “an lower stabilizer plate” from Claim 1, line 3.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the upper stabilizing plate" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination, the upper stabilizing plate will be interpreted as referring to “an upper stabilizer plate” from Claim 1, line 3.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “wherein the main rod and the drive rod are connected by nut-screw assemblies functioning as reversible fastening elements”. This limitation is unclear because it is unclear how the main rod and the drive rod are connected by nut-screw assemblies as required by the Claim, but also connected via the drive bushing and connecting element as required by Claim 1. Therefore, this limitation is unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonds et al (US 4436279) in view of Bales Jr et al (US 3448771).
Regarding Claim 1, Bonds et al disclose a device (the device generally in Figure 1 with the embodiment for the connection structure of Figures 6-7) for external actuation of valves with damaged bushing1 comprising:
at least two opposing stabilizer plates (see Annotated Figure A) comprising a lower stabilizer plate (see Annotated Figure A) and an upper stabilizer plate (see Annotated Figure A), wherein the lower stabilizer plate is fastened to the upper stabilizer plate (via the fastening rod of Annotated Figure A);
a plurality of fastening rods (see Annotated Figure A) connected by reversible fastening elements (see Annotated Figure A); and
a drive rod (see Annotated Figure B) fastened to a center of the upper stabilizer plate by means of a reversible fastening element (where piston 54 functions as a reversible fastening element by connecting to the top end of the drive shaft 42 as seen in Figure 1 to center the drive rod within both the chamber 58 and the upper stabilizer plate shown in Annotated Figure A), the drive rod (see Annotated Figure A) comprising an upper portion (upper in the orientation of Annotated Figure A) and a lower portion (see Annotated Figure B);
a main rod (see Annotated Figure B) of a valve (24);
a drive bushing (see Annotated Figure B) coupled to the main rod of the valve (see Annotated Figure B);
a connecting bushing (see Annotated Figure B) coupled to the drive bushing (see Annotated Figure B); and
a connecting element (see Annotated Figure B) coupling the drive rod (see Annotated Figure B) and the connecting bushing (see Annotated Figure B),
wherein the lower portion of the drive rod receives the connecting element between the drive rod and the connecting bushing (see Annotated Figure B),
wherein the drive bushing (see Annotated Figure B) is further coupled to the main rod of the valve via a counter nut (see Annotated Figure B) located above the connecting element (see Annotated Figure B; and via the interaction between 76 and 82),
but fails to expressly disclose where the fastening rods are a plurality of pairs of fastening rods, each pair of fastening rods comprising an adjusting lock.
Bales Jr et al teach a device (Figure 2) with a plurality of pairs of fastening rods (4 shown in Figure 3) where each pair of fastening rods comprising in an adjusting lock (56 and 57 which function to lock the tie rods in place by attachment to cables 57).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tie rods of Bonds et al with the adjusting lock as taught by Bales Jr et al for the advantage of providing additional support for the tie rods, as taught by Bales Jr et al (Col 3, lines 39-42).
Annotated Figure A – Bonds et al
Annotated Figure B – Bonds et al
Regarding Claim 2, Bonds et al disclose where the connecting element (see Annotated Figure B) between the main rod and the drive bushing comprises a threaded connection for secure attachment (see Annotated Figure B).
Regarding Claim 3, Bonds et al disclose where the connecting bushing (see Annotated Figure B) is configured to connect to the drive bushing via a counter nut positioned above the connecting element (see Annotated Figure B and via 76 and 82).
Regarding Claim 4, Bonds et al disclose where the drive rod (see Annotated Figure B) is mounted to a central portion of the upper stabilizing plate (see Annotated Figure A) via a reversible fastening element where piston 54 functions as a reversible fastening element by connecting to the top end of the drive shaft 42 as seen in Figure 1 to center the drive rod within both the chamber 58 and the upper stabilizer plate shown in Annotated Figure A).
Regarding Claim 5, Bonds et al disclose where the lower stabilizing plate (see Annotated Figure A) is fastened to the upper stabilizing plate through holes (see Annotated Figure A) arranged at its vertices (see Annotated Figure A).
Regarding Claim 6, Bonds et al disclose where the lower stabilizing plate (see Annotated Figure A) is fastened to the upper stabilizing plate (see Annotated Figure A) via the plurality of pairs of fastening rods (see Annotated Figure A with the plurality of pairs taught by Bales Jr et al).
Regarding Claim 7, Bonds et al disclose where the main rod and the drive rod are connected by nut-screw assemblies (74 and 80 which attach each the main rod and the drive rod to the drive bushing and connecting bushing with then connect the main rod to the drive rod) functioning as reversible fastening elements (see Annotated Figure B).
Regarding Claim 8, Bonds et al disclose all essential elements of the current invention as discussed above but fails to expressly disclose where each pair of fastening rods includes a regulating lock that is adjustable along a length of the associated fastening rod to accommodate different valve diameters.
Bales Jr et al teach a device (Figure 2) with a plurality of pairs of fastening rods (4 shown in Figure 3) where each pair of fastening rods includes a regulating lock (the bracket attached to shell 3) that is adjustable along a length of the associated fastening rod to accommodate different valve diameters (Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fastening rods of Bonds et al with the regulating lock as taught by Bales Jr et al for the advantage of providing additional support for the tie rods, as taught by Bales Jr et al (Col 3, lines 39-42).
Regarding Claim 9, Bonds et al disclose where the drive bushing (see Annotated Figure B) is connected to the main rod to permit freedom of rotation around its axis (see Annotated Figure B; where the main rod is permitted to rotated about the interaction of 218 and the drive bushing).
Regarding Claim 10, Bonds et al disclose where the device is adapted to2 operate valves varying sizes and pressure ratings.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 17 June 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant amends Claim 1 and argues that the prior art fails to teach all limitations of the claim as amended. As discussed above, Bonds et al in view of King et al teach all essential elements of the current invention as discussed above.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., a universal external device attachable to a range of valve; stabilizer plates and tie rods for external actuation; universal external operation of a damaged valves; the specific purpose of a universal, externally mountable actuation device with the safety and adjustability features required in oil and gas field contexts) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Therefore, these arguments are unpersuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICOLE GARDNER/
Examiner, Art Unit 3753
1 The recitation “for external actuation of valves with damaged bushing” has not been given patentable weight because the recitation occurs in the preamble. A preamble is generally not accorded any patentable weight where it merely recites the purpose of a process or the intended use of a structure, and where the body of the claim does not depend on the preamble for completeness but, instead, the process steps or structural limitations are able to stand alone. See In re Hirao, 535 F.2d 67, 190 USPQ 15 (CCPA 1976) and Kropa v. Robie, 187 F.2d 150, 152, 88 USPQ 478, 481 (CCPA 1951).
2 It has been held that the recitation that an element is "adapted to" perform a function is not a positive limitation but only requires the ability to so perform. It does not constitute a limitation in any patentable sense. In re Hutchison, 69 USPQ 138.