DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Japan on June 15th, 2022. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the JP2022-096472 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-7, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bruckman et al. (US Patent No. 10,060,655), hereinafter Bruckman in view of Morie (US Patent No. 10,184,694, hereinafter Morie.
Regarding claim 1, Bruckman discloses a cooling device (Fig. 3, temperature control system (TCS) 300; Col. 5, lines 10-12, FIG. 3 illustrates an example temperature control system (TCS) 300 for a multi-stage cryocooler 310 according to this disclosure) comprising:
a cryocooler that cools equipment to temperatures below 4 K (Fig. 1, cryocooler 100; Fig. 3, multi-stage cryocooler 310; Col. 3, lines 45-54, In some embodiments, the cryocooler 100 is designed to provide cooling to temperatures ranging from about 1.7 K to about 300 K (about -456° F. to about 80° F.). In particular embodiments, the cryocooler 100 is a Stirling cycle cryocooler configured to progress through successive steps of isothermal com pression, isochoric cooling, isothermal expansion, and isochoric heating. The cryocooler 100 can be configured for use in many applications, including infrared detectors, space applications, space infrared sensor systems, and so forth);
an interface configured to receive a selection of a plurality of performance parameters of the cryocooler by a user, and generate an operation mode setting representing the selected plurality of performance parameters (Fig. 3, first stage temperature setpoint 335, second stage temperature setpoint 340; Col. 5, lines 31-37, For example, the temperature controller 305 can receive one or more temperature setpoints 335-340 corresponding to the respective stages of the cryocooler 310, such as from a user via an operator interface including a display, a touchscreen, an audio input, or other input/output device(s). The setpoints 335-340 can be stored in an internal memory of the temperature controller 305; Col. 5-6, lines 64-67 and 1; In response to receiving the temperature information, the temperature controller 305 generates a Decoupler/Sensitivity matrix. The Decoupler/Sensitivity matrix is calculated as the inverse of the measured linearized response data measured from the cryocooler 310); and
a controller configured to receive the operation mode setting from the interface and control a plurality of operation parameters of the cryocooler that affect the selected plurality of performance parameters (Fig. 3, temperature controller 305, compressor stroke setpoint controller (CSSPC) 315, displacer phase setpoint controller (DPSPC) 320, a CSC 325, and a DPC 330; Col. 6, lines 1-17, The temperature controller 305 applies the temperature information to the Decoupler/Sensitivity matrix to calculate a compressor stroke error and a displacement phase error. For example, the temperature controller 305 can apply a temperature differential or temperature error to the Decoupler/Sensitivity matrix to compute an amount to change a compressor stroke (compressor stroke error) and an amount to change a displacement phase (displacement phase error) for each stage. In addition, the Decoupler/Sensitivity matrix can be a function of operating condition. For example, the decoupler matrix can equal A when controlling at 55K and 10K but will equal B when controlling at 85K and 30K and that can be stored or measured as a set of load maps. The temperature controller 305 controls one or more stages of the cryocooler 310 via one or more of the CSC 325 and the DPC 330).
However, Bruckman does not explicitly disclose the cooling device to be a superconducting equipment cooling device and the cryocooler that cools superconducting equipment.
Morie teaches the use of a cryocooler to cool superconducting equipment (Fig. 1, GM refrigerator 10; Col. 7, lines 30-43, According to the embodiment as described above, the GM refrigerator 10 generates cold by converting the driving force of the drive unit such as the motor 31 to reciprocating movement of the high-temperature side displacer 13 and the low-temperature side displacer 14. Thereby, the temperature of the low-temperature side cooling stage 20 becomes a cryogenic temperature of approximately 4K. As an example of the cooling target of the GM refrigerator 10 according to the embodiment, there is a superconducting coil. Generally, the superconducting coil is used for generating a strong magnetic field. Therefore, when the GM refrigerator 10 is used for cooling the superconducting coil, the motor 31 also experiences the magnetic field generated by the superconducting coil).
Bruckman fails to teach disclose the cooling device to be a superconducting equipment cooling device and the cryocooler that cools superconducting equipment, however Morie teaches that it is a known method in the art of cryocoolers to include the use of a cryocooler to cool superconducting equipment. This is strong evidence that modifying Bruckman as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. utilizing the low temperatures generated by a cryocooler to provide cooling to superconducting equipment). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bruckman by Morie and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of utilizing the low temperatures generated by a cryocooler to provide cooling to superconducting equipment.
Regarding claim 2, Bruckman as modified discloses the superconducting equipment cooling device according to claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above).
However, Bruckman as modified does not disclose wherein the operation mode setting includes prioritization of the plurality of performance parameters of the cryocooler by the user,
the selected plurality of performance parameters includes a first performance parameter having a first priority and a second performance parameter having a second priority, based on the prioritization,
the first priority represents a higher priority than the second priority, and
the controller is configured to control the plurality of operation parameters to preferentially improve the first performance parameter compared with the second performance parameter.
Bruckman teaches an interface where a user can set both the first stage temperature setpoint and the second stage temperature setpoint, which correspond to a first performance parameter and a second performance perimeter, respectively, and a controller that controls compressor stroke and displacer phase to achieve the desired first stage temperature setpoint and the desired second stage temperature setpoint (Bruckman, Col 5-6, lines 10-67 and 1-55).
Further, it is noted there are only a finite number of ways to prioritize the first performance parameter and the second performance perimeter. The following finite arrangements including: assigning a first priority to the first performance parameter and a second priority to the second performance perimeter and controlling the plurality of operation parameters to preferentially improve the first performance parameter compared with the second performance parameter; assigning a first priority to the first performance parameter and a second priority to the second performance perimeter and controlling the plurality of operation parameters to preferentially improve the second performance parameter compared with the first performance parameter; or assigning a first priority to the first performance parameter and a second priority to the second performance perimeter and controlling the plurality of operation parameters to with no preference to improve the first performance parameter compared with the second performance parameter. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Bruckman as modified wherein the operation mode setting includes prioritization of the plurality of performance parameters of the cryocooler by the user, the selected plurality of performance parameters includes a first performance parameter having a first priority and a second performance parameter having a second priority, based on the prioritization, the first priority represents a higher priority than the second priority, and the controller is configured to control the plurality of operation parameters to preferentially improve the first performance parameter compared with the second performance parameter because most applications of a multi-stage cryocooler would be better served if the temperature of both stages could be controlled independently (Bruckman, Col. 2, lines 64-67).
Regarding claim 3, Bruckman as modified discloses the superconducting equipment cooling device according to claim 2 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 2 above),
wherein the controller is configured to:
compare a current value of the first performance parameter with a first target value (Bruckman, Fig. 3, first comparator 345; Col. 5, lines 50-63; In some embodiments, the temperature controller 305 includes or is coupled to a number of comparators configured to compare a measured temperature with a temperature setpoint. For example, a first comparator 345 receives and compares the measured temperature of the first stage of the cryocooler 310 with the temperature setpoint 335, and a second comparator 350 receives and compares the measured temperature of the second stage of the cryocooler 310 with the temperature setpoint 340. The comparators 345-350 compute temperature differentials or temperature errors for the stages of the cryocooler 310 based on the result of the comparisons. The temperature errors calculated by the comparators 345-350 are provided to the temperature controller 305), and
control a first operation parameter that affects the first performance parameter, among the plurality of operation parameters, when the first performance parameter does not satisfy the first target value, regardless of whether or not the second performance parameter satisfies a second target value (Bruckman, Col. 6, lines 15-19 and 39-44, The temperature controller 305 controls one or more stages of the cryocooler 310 via one or more of the CSC 325 and the DPC 330. The temperature controller 305 provides the compressor stroke error to the CSSPC 315, which calculates a new compressor stroke setpoint…The CSC 325 determines an amount to adjust the compressor stroke of the cryocooler 310 based on the comparison of the new compressor stroke setpoint and the measured compressor stroke. The CSC 325 then adjusts the compressor stroke of the compressor of the cryocooler 310 by the determined amount; Further, the teachings of Bruckman at least imply controlling the a first operation parameter that affects the first performance parameter when the first performance parameter does not satisfy the first target value, regardless of whether or not the second performance parameter satisfies a second target value since it has been held in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom (MPEP 2144.01)).
Regarding claim 4, Bruckman as modified discloses the superconducting equipment cooling device according to claim 3 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 3 above),
wherein the controller is configured to:
compare a current value of the second performance parameter with the second target value (Bruckman, Fig. 3, second comparator 350; Col. 5, lines 50-63; In some embodiments, the temperature controller 305 includes or is coupled to a number of comparators configured to compare a measured temperature with a temperature setpoint. For example, a first comparator 345 receives and compares the measured temperature of the first stage of the cryocooler 310 with the temperature setpoint 335, and a second comparator 350 receives and compares the measured temperature of the second stage of the cryocooler 310 with the temperature setpoint 340. The comparators 345-350 compute temperature differentials or temperature errors for the stages of the cryocooler 310 based on the result of the comparisons. The temperature errors calculated by the comparators 345-350 are provided to the temperature controller 305), and
control a second operation parameter that affects the second performance parameter, among the plurality of operation parameters, when the first performance parameter satisfies the first target value and the second performance parameter does not satisfy the second target value (Bruckman, Col. 6, lines 19-22 and 44-55, The temperature controller 305 also provides the displacement phase error to the DPSPC 320, which calculates a new displacement phase setpoint…The DPC 330 determines an amount to adjust the displacement phase of the cryocooler 310 based on the comparison of the new displacement phase setpoint and the measured displacement phase. The DPC 330 then adjusts the displacement phase of the displacement cylinder in the cryocooler 310 by the determined amount by adjusting the phase relationship between the pressure waveform and the volume waveform in the cryocooler 310. Accordingly, in response to receiving the temperature information regarding the cryocooler 310, the temperature controller 305 is configured to independently control a temperature of each stage of the cryocooler 310).
Regarding claim 6, Bruckman as modified discloses the superconducting equipment cooling device according to claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above),
wherein the controller includes a plurality of control algorithms respectively corresponding to different operation mode settings (Fig. 3, compressor stroke setpoint controller (CSSPC) 315, displacer phase setpoint controller (DPSPC) 320, a CSC 325, and a DPC 330; Col. 6, lines 15-22, The temperature controller 305 controls one or more stages of the cryocooler 310 via one or more of the CSC 325 and the DPC 330. The temperature controller 305 provides the compressor stroke error to the CSSPC 315, which calculates a new compressor stroke setpoint. The temperature controller 305 also provides the displacement phase error to the DPSPC 320, which calculates a new displacement phase setpoint), and
each control algorithm is configured to control the plurality of operation parameters to improve at least one performance parameter, among the plurality of performance parameters, selected in a corresponding operation mode setting (Bruckman, Col. 6, lines 39-55, The CSC 325 determines an amount to adjust the compressor stroke of the cryocooler 310 based on the comparison of the new compressor stroke setpoint and the measured compressor stroke. The CSC 325 then adjusts the compressor stroke of the compressor of the cryocooler 310 by the determined amount. The DPC 330 determines an amount to adjust the displacement phase of the cryocooler 310 based on the comparison of the new displacement phase setpoint and the measured displacement phase. The DPC 330 then adjusts the displacement phase of the displacement cylinder in the cryocooler 310 by the determined amount by adjusting the phase relationship between the pressure waveform and the volume waveform in the cryocooler 310. Accordingly, in response to receiving the temperature information regarding the cryocooler 310, the temperature controller 305 is configured to independently control a temperature of each stage of the cryocooler 310).
Regarding claim 7, Bruckman as modified discloses the superconducting equipment cooling device according to claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above),
wherein the selected plurality of performance parameters are two performance parameters among a first-stage temperature of the cryocooler, a second-stage temperature of the cryocooler, and power consumption of the cryocooler (Bruckman, Fig. 3, first stage temperature setpoint 335, second stage temperature setpoint 340; Col. 5, lines 31-37, For example, the temperature controller 305 can receive one or more temperature setpoints 335-340 corresponding to the respective stages of the cryocooler 310, such as from a user via an operator interface including a display, a touchscreen, an audio input, or other input/output device(s). The setpoints 335-340 can be stored in an internal memory of the temperature controller 305; Col. 5-6, lines 64-67 and 1; In response to receiving the temperature information, the temperature controller 305 generates a Decoupler/Sensitivity matrix. The Decoupler/Sensitivity matrix is calculated as the inverse of the measured linearized response data measured from the cryocooler 310).
Regarding claim 9, Bruckman discloses an operation method for a cooling device, in which the cooling device includes a cryocooler that cools equipment to temperatures below 4 K (Fig. 1, cryocooler 100; Fig. 3, temperature control system (TCS) 300, multi-stage cryocooler 310; Fig. 4, process 400; Col. 3, lines 45-54, In some embodiments, the cryocooler 100 is designed to provide cooling to temperatures ranging from about 1.7 K to about 300 K (about -456° F. to about 80° F.). In particular embodiments, the cryocooler 100 is a Stirling cycle cryocooler configured to progress through successive steps of isothermal com pression, isochoric cooling, isothermal expansion, and isochoric heating. The cryocooler 100 can be configured for use in many applications, including infrared detectors, space applications, space infrared sensor systems, and so forth; Col. 5, lines 10-12, FIG. 3 illustrates an example temperature control system (TCS) 300 for a multi-stage cryocooler 310 according to this disclosure; Col. 6, lines 60-62, The process 400 shown in FIG. 4 may be utilized with components described in one or more of FIGS. 1 through 3 or with other components), the method comprising:
receiving a selection of a plurality of performance parameters of the cryocooler by a user (Fig. 3, first stage temperature setpoint 335, second stage temperature setpoint 340; Fig. 4, step 405; Col. 5, lines 31-37, For example, the temperature controller 305 can receive one or more temperature setpoints 335-340 corresponding to the respective stages of the cryocooler 310, such as from a user via an operator interface including a display, a touchscreen, an audio input, or other input/output device(s). The setpoints 335-340 can be stored in an internal memory of the temperature controller 305; Col. 5-6, lines 64-67 and 1; In response to receiving the temperature information, the temperature controller 305 generates a Decoupler/Sensitivity matrix. The Decoupler/Sensitivity matrix is calculated as the inverse of the measured linearized response data measured from the cryocooler 310; Col. 6, lines 63-67, At step 405, a temperature controller receives temperature setpoints corresponding to respective stages of a multi-stage cryocooler. In some embodiments, one or more setpoints, such as temperature setpoints, are stored in an internal memory of the temperature controller); and
controlling a plurality of operation parameters of the cryocooler that affect the selected plurality of performance parameters (Fig. 3, temperature controller 305, compressor stroke setpoint controller (CSSPC) 315, displacer phase setpoint controller (DPSPC) 320, a CSC 325, and a DPC 330; Fig. , step 430; Col. 6, lines 1-17, The temperature controller 305 applies the temperature information to the Decoupler/Sensitivity matrix to calculate a compressor stroke error and a displacement phase error. For example, the temperature controller 305 can apply a temperature differential or temperature error to the Decoupler/Sensitivity matrix to compute an amount to change a compressor stroke (compressor stroke error) and an amount to change a displacement phase (displacement phase error) for each stage. In addition, the Decoupler/Sensitivity matrix can be a function of operating condition. For example, the decoupler matrix can equal A when controlling at 55K and 10K but will equal B when controlling at 85K and 30K and that can be stored or measured as a set of load maps. The temperature controller 305 controls one or more stages of the cryocooler 310 via one or more of the CSC 325 and the DPC 330; Col. 7, lines 18-36, At step 430, the CSC and DPC adjust the compressor setting and displacement cylinder phase. One or more sensors can measure the compressor setting, the displacement cylinder phase, or both. The sensors can provide the measured compressor setting, the displacement cylinder phase, or both to the CSC and DPC. In some embodiments, the measured compressor setting and displacement cylinder phase are provided to one or more comparators configured to compare the measured compressor setting and displacement cylinder phase to corresponding setpoints to calculate an amount to adjust the compressor setting and an amount to adjust the displacement cylinder phase. The CSC and DPC use the calculated amounts to adjust the compressor setting and the displacement cylinder phase. For example, the DPC can be configured to receive a pressure-volume (displacement) phase measured at the cryocooler and the pressure-volume (displacement) phase error, adjust a phase relationship between a pressure waveform and a volume waveform in the pressure-volume (displacement) phase of the cryocooler).
However, Bruckman does not explicitly disclose the cooling device to be a superconducting equipment cooling device and the cryocooler that cools superconducting equipment.
Morie teaches the use of a cryocooler to cool superconducting equipment (Fig. 1, GM refrigerator 10; Col. 7, lines 30-43, According to the embodiment as described above, the GM refrigerator 10 generates cold by converting the driving force of the drive unit such as the motor 31 to reciprocating movement of the high-temperature side displacer 13 and the low-temperature side displacer 14. Thereby, the temperature of the low-temperature side cooling stage 20 becomes a cryogenic temperature of approximately 4K. As an example of the cooling target of the GM refrigerator 10 according to the embodiment, there is a superconducting coil. Generally, the superconducting coil is used for generating a strong magnetic field. Therefore, when the GM refrigerator 10 is used for cooling the superconducting coil, the motor 31 also experiences the magnetic field generated by the superconducting coil).
Bruckman fails to teach disclose the cooling device to be a superconducting equipment cooling device and the cryocooler that cools superconducting equipment, however Morie teaches that it is a known method in the art of cryocoolers to include the use of a cryocooler to cool superconducting equipment. This is strong evidence that modifying Bruckman as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. utilizing the low temperatures generated by a cryocooler to provide cooling to superconducting equipment). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bruckman by Morie and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of utilizing the low temperatures generated by a cryocooler to provide cooling to superconducting equipment.
Claims 5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bruckman and Morie as applied to claim 4 and 1 above, respectively, and further in view of Kimura (US Patent No. 9,068,564), hereinafter Kimura.
Regarding claim 5, Bruckman as modified discloses the superconducting equipment cooling device according to claim 4 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 4 above).
However, Bruckman as modified does not disclose wherein the controller is configured to:
issue a first warning, when the first performance parameter does not satisfy the first target value, regardless of whether or not the second performance parameter satisfies the second target value, and
issue a second warning, when the first performance parameter satisfies the first target value and the second performance parameter does not satisfy the second target value.
Kimura teaches a controller configured to issuing warnings when monitored conditions, which include temperatures of the cryocooler stages, based on whether or not the monitored conditions are satisfied (Fig. 3, step s18; Col. 14, lines 24-26, When it is determined that the first monitoring condition is satisfied (S12N), the CP controller 100 outputs a warning (S18)).
Bruckman as modified fails to teach wherein the controller is configured to: issue a first warning, when the first performance parameter does not satisfy the first target value, regardless of whether or not the second performance parameter satisfies the second target value, and issue a second warning, when the first performance parameter satisfies the first target value and the second performance parameter does not satisfy the second target value, however Kimura teaches that it is a known method in the art of cryocoolers to include a controller configured to issuing warnings when monitored conditions, which include temperatures of the cryocooler stages, based on whether or not the monitored conditions are satisfied. This is strong evidence that modifying Bruckman as modified as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. providing increased control of the system based on real time sensor data to improve overall system efficiencies). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bruckman as modified by Kimura and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of providing increased control of the system based on real time sensor data to improve overall system efficiencies.
Regarding claim 8, Bruckman as modified discloses the superconducting equipment cooling device according to claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above),
wherein the cryocooler includes an expander and a compressor that supplies a refrigerant gas to the expander (Bruckman, Fig. 1, compressor 105, displacer 110, compressor piston 115, compressor motor 120, displacer cylinder 125, displacer motor 130, regenerator 135; Col. 3, lines 39-42, The cryocooler 100 of FIG. 1 is a thermal management device configured to extract heat from an object by compressing and expanding a working gas (such as helium, hydrogen, air, or the like) in a thermodynamic cycle; Further, the teachings of Bruckman at least imply a refrigerant gas is supplied from the compressor the expander since it has been held in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom (MPEP 2144.01)),
the expander includes an expander motor that drives the expander (Bruckman, Fig. 1, displacer motor 130; Col. 3-4, lines 66-67 and 1-4; The displacer motor 130 moves the displacer cylinder 125 back and forth at the same frequency as the compressor piston 115. The displacer motor 130 represents any suitable type of motor, such as an electrical motor, a mechanical motor, an electromechanical motor, or a computer-driven motor),
the compressor includes a compressor motor that drives the compressor (Bruckman, Fig. 1, compressor motor 120; Col. 3, lines 57-64, The compressor 105 includes two compressor piston 115 each individually coupled to a respective compressor motor 120. The compressor motors 120 are configured to apply a force to the respective compressor pistons 115 in order to cause the compressor pistons 115 to move back and forth. The compressor motors 120 represent any suitable type of motor, such as an electrical motor, a mechanical motor, an electromechanical motor, or a computer-driven motor), and
the plurality of operation parameters include the operation frequency of the compressor motor and the operation frequency of the expander motor (Col. 6, lines 1-17, The temperature controller 305 applies the temperature information to the Decoupler/Sensitivity matrix to calculate a compressor stroke error and a displacement phase error. For example, the temperature controller 305 can apply a temperature differential or temperature error to the Decoupler/Sensitivity matrix to compute an amount to change a compressor stroke (compressor stroke error) and an amount to change a displacement phase (displacement phase error) for each stage. In addition, the Decoupler/Sensitivity matrix can be a function of operating condition. For example, the decoupler matrix can equal A when controlling at 55K and 10K but will equal B when controlling at 85K and 30K and that can be stored or measured as a set of load maps. The temperature controller 305 controls one or more stages of the cryocooler 310 via one or more of the CSC 325 and the DPC 330).
However, Bruckman as modified does not explicitly disclose an expander inverter that controls an operation frequency of the expander motor, and
a compressor inverter that controls an operation frequency of the compressor motor.
Kimura teaches expander inverter that controls an operation frequency of the expander motor (Fig. 2, refrigerator motor 26, refrigerator frequency convertor 50, refrigerator inverter 52; Col. 11, lines 39-47, The CP controller 100 determines an operating frequency of the refrigerator motor 26 (e.g., rotational speed of the motor) such that the temperature of the cryopanel at the first stage follows the target temperature, and outputs a command value for the motor operating frequency to the refrigerator inverter 52. The CP controller 100 may control an operating frequency of the refrigerator motor 26 such that the temperature of the cryopanel at the second stage follows the target temperature), and
a compressor inverter that controls an operation frequency of the compressor motor (Fig. 2, compressor motor 60, compressor frequency convertor 56, compressor inverter 58; Col. 11, lines 5-18, The CP controller 100 is connected to a compressor frequency converter 56 so as to be operable to communicate therewith. The compressor frequency converter 56 and a compressor motor 60 are connected to each other so as to be operable to communicate with other. The CP controller 100 transmits a control command to the compressor frequency converter 56. The compressor frequency converter 56 is configured to include a compressor inverter 58. The compressor frequency converter 56 is supplied with electric power with the specified voltage and frequency from a compressor power supply 62, and supplies the electric power to the compressor motor 60 after adjusting the voltage and frequency of the supplied electric power based on the control command transmitted by the CP controller 100).
Bruckman as modified fails to teach an expander inverter that controls an operation frequency of the expander motor, and a compressor inverter that controls an operation frequency of the compressor motor, however Kimura teaches that it is a known method in the art of cryocoolers to include an expander inverter that controls an operation frequency of the expander motor, and a compressor inverter that controls an operation frequency of the compressor motor. This is strong evidence that modifying Bruckman as modified as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. providing increase control of the compressor and the expander speeds to improve overall system efficiencies). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bruckman as modified by Kimura and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of providing increase control of the compressor and the expander speeds to improve overall system efficiencies.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bartlett et al. (US Patent No. 11,209,193) discloses similar control of a cryocooler based on user inputs.
Jammu et al. (US Patent No. 7,490,473) discloses similar control of a superconducting equipment cooling device.
/DEVON MOORE/Examiner, Art Unit 3763 July 16th, 2026