Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 13 and 14 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gersten et al. (US 20220200406) in view of Niesen et al. (DE 102021123310).
1. Gersten et al. teach:
A rotor (1) for an electrical machine (for electric motor, see title), comprising:
a rotor arm/rotor support (2) with a radial outer dimension (outer shell 4 is the outer dimension, figs 1 & 2);
a balancing disk/oil guiding disk 21 (the details of the balancing disk have not been disclosed …that being said, the oil guiding disk is being construed as a balancing disk…still further, the prior art disk appears to be the same structure as the claimed and disclosed disk of applicant) with a radial inner dimension (the radially inner dimension sits on the outer surface of the rotor arm, figs 1 & 2); but does not teach a connection arrangement with an outer contour on a side of the rotor arm and an inner contour on a side of the balancing disk; wherein the outer contour and the inner contour correspond to one another for axial and radial support; and wherein the connection arrangement for radial support has a first contour section with a radial connection dimension deviating from the outer dimension and the inner dimension.
Niesen et al. teach that a connection arrangement/retaining ring 3 with an outer contour (the radially inner surface of the retaining ring that rests against the groove 4 is the outer contour, fig 4) on a side of the rotor arm/groove 4 (the groove is a part of the rotor arm, fig 4) and an inner contour (the radially outer surface of the retaining ring that rests against the inner side of the collar 9 is the inner contour, fig 4) on a side of the balancing disk 7; wherein the outer contour and the inner contour correspond to one another for axial and radial support (fig 4); and wherein the connection arrangement for radial support has a first contour section (annotated fig 4 below) with a radial connection dimension (annotated fig 4 below) deviating from the outer dimension and the inner dimension annotated fig 4 below) to stably secure the rotor body to the shaft which prolongs the life of the motor.
As a result, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the invention of Gersten et al. was effectively filed to modify it with a connection arrangement with an outer contour on a side of the rotor arm and an inner contour on a side of the balancing disk; wherein the outer contour and the inner contour correspond to one another for axial and radial support; and wherein the connection arrangement for radial support has a first contour section with a radial connection dimension deviating from the outer dimension and the inner dimension, as taught by Niesen et al. so as to prolong the service life and reliability of the motor.
2. Gersten et al. in view of Niesen et al. teach:
The rotor according to claim 1, wherein the connection arrangement (of Niesen et al.) has an interference fit (snap rings are interference fit onto the shaft prior to the snap activation feature, MPEP 2112) on the first contour section (of Niesen et al.).
3. Gersten et al. in view of Niesen et al. teach:
The rotor according to claim 2, wherein the interference fit is configured to guarantee a predetermined minimum pressure (the minimum pressure is an inherent feature due to the press-fit, MPEP 2112).
4. Gersten et al. in view of Niesen et al. teach:
The rotor (1) according to claim 1, wherein the connection arrangement (6) extends over an axial region corresponding to an axial dimension of the balancing disk (5) and the first contour section (7) extends over an axial sub-region.
5. Gersten et al. in view of Niesen et al. teach:
The rotor according to claim 1, wherein the connection arrangement (of Niesen et al.) has an inner side (the side that faces the oil guiding disk, Niesen et al. fig 4) axially facing a rotor body (of Niesen et al.) and an outer side (the side that faces away from the oil guiding disk, Niesen et al. fig 4) axially facing away from the rotor body (4), and the first contour section (of Niesen et al.) is arranged on the outside.
6. Gersten et al. in view of Niesen et al. teach:
The rotor according to claim 1, wherein the connection arrangement (of Niesen et al.) extends over an axial region (groove 4 is an axial region, Niesen et al. fig 4) corresponding to an axial dimension of the balancing disk (of Niesen et al.), the connection arrangement (of Niesen et al.) bas a second contour section (the sides of the groov 4 of Niesen et al. represent the second contour section, Niesen et al. fig 4) for axial support, and the second contour section (of Niesen et al.) is arranged centrally on the axial region (Niesen et al. fig 4).
13. Gersten et al. teach:
The rotor (1 of Gersten et al.) according to claim 1, wherein the balancing disk (21 of Gersten et al.) has at least one recess/cutouts (19) defining a fluid channel (see para 0096 and fig 2).
14. Gersten et al. in view of Niesen et al. teach:
An electric machine (see Gersten et al. title), comprising the rotor (1 of Gersten et al.) according to claim 1.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/TERRANCE L KENERLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834