Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 12, 14, 19 and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 11, 1, 6, 6, 6, 6, 17, 25, 17, 1 and 12, respectively, of U.S. Patent No. 11,077,863. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
The patent claims include all of the limitations of the instant application claims, respectively. The patent claims also include additional limitations. Hence, the instant application claims are generic to the species of invention covered by the respective patent claims. As such, the instant application claims are anticipated by the patent claims and are therefore not patentably distinct therefrom. (See Eli Lilly and Co. v. Barr Laboratories Inc., 58 USPQ2D 1869, "a later genus claim limitation is anticipated by, and therefore not patentably distinct from, an earlier species claim", In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010, "Thus, the generic invention is 'anticipated' by the species of the patented invention" and the instant “application claims are generic to species of invention covered by the patent claim, and since without terminal disclaimer, extant species claims preclude issuance of generic application claims”). The patent claims disclose all of the claimed limitations of the noted instant application claims, as well as additional limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dolgov et al. (hereafter Dolgov)(US PgPub 2014/0303827).
Regarding claim 1, Dolgov discloses a method (see Title and Figure 4A) comprising: receiving, by one or more processors of a vehicle operating in an autonomous driving mode, a user input (Figures 4A-4B, Element 402 and Paragraphs 0093-0099 where the vehicle senses user inputs that indicate transition from an autonomous mode to a manual driving mode); in response to the received user input, changing, by the one or more processors, the autonomous driving mode to a semi-autonomous driving mode or a manual driving mode and providing an initial disengage alert (Figure 4A, Element 412 and Paragraphs 0112-0113 where the vehicle is transitioned from an autonomous mode to a manual driving mode and the user is provided disengage instructions); determining, by the one or more processors, a time when a secondary disengage alert should be provided after the autonomous driving mode is changed; and providing, by the one or more processors, the secondary disengage alert at the determined time (Figures 4A, 4B, Elements 403, 404 and Paragraphs 0088 and 0094-0101 where the vehicle detects if user inputs are above a predetermined threshold and provides a timed alert for rejection of subsequent requests for transition of control if the inputs are below the predetermined threshold. The alert for rejection occurs after an initial driving mode change).
Regarding claim 2, Dolgov discloses wherein the time is determined based on the vehicle's proximity to one or more other vehicles (Figure 4C and Paragraphs 0029, 0035 and 0110 where vehicle environment, such as distances to objects, is determined and alerts are provided to the user).
Regarding claim 3, Dolgov discloses wherein the time is determined based on a current speed of the vehicle (Paragraphs 0100, 0105 and 0110 where alerts are provided to the user based on vehicle speed).
Regarding claim 4, Dolgov discloses wherein the time is determined based on a distance between the vehicle and one or more objects defined by map information (Figure 4C and Paragraphs 0029, 0035 and 0110 where vehicle environment, such as distances to objects, is determined and alerts are provided to the user based on known map information).
Regarding claim 5, Dolgov discloses determining, by the one or more processors, whether the user input was unintentional (Figures 4B-4C and 0093-0110 where inputs below the threshold are deemed to be unintentional).
Regarding claim 6, Dolgov discloses wherein the user input is generated by a user of the vehicle applying a force to one of a plurality of input devices (Figure 4B and Paragraphs 0084 and 0094-0101).
Regarding claim 7, Dolgov discloses wherein the one of the plurality of input devices is a brake pedal (Figure 4B, Element 403c and Paragraph 0096).
Regarding claim 8, Dolgov discloses wherein the one of the plurality of input devices is an accelerator pedal (Figure 4B, Element 403b and Paragraph 0095).
Regarding claim 9, Dolgov discloses wherein the one of the plurality of input devices is a steering wheel (Figure 4B, Element 403a and Paragraph 0094).
Apparatus claims 10-18 are drawn to the apparatus corresponding to the method of using same as claimed in claims 1-9. Therefore apparatus claims 10-18 correspond to method claims 1-9 and are rejected for the same reasons of anticipation as used above.
Regarding claims 19-20, see rejections for claims 1-9 which disclose all of the claimed limitations.
Conclusion
/THOMAS D ALUNKAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2686