DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-5, 14-18, and 21-29 are pending. Claims dated 08/21/2026 are being examined.
Response to Arguments
Double Patenting:
In p. 10 of remarks filed 08/21/2026, Applicant argues against obviousness-type double patenting. This argument is not persuasive as the claims are rejected under anticipatory-type double patenting.
A comparison was provided in that the instant application claims are broader in scope than the US Patent claims. Applicant’s general assertion that the claims are patentably distinct, without identifying a specific limitation or explaining how the limitations of the instant claims differ from those of the US Patent, is insufficient to overcome the rejection.
The Examiner further provides a tabular claim mapping and further explanation herein to support Examiner’s position that all the claimed elements of the instant application are anticipated by the claims of the US Patent (Instant application claims are broader in scope than the US Patent claims).
35 U.S.C. § 103:
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 14 have been considered but are not persuasive. In p. 12 of remarks, Applicant asserts claim 14 incorporates subject matter of allowable claim 19, but upon review by the Examiner, this is not the case (no limitations from claim 19 were incorporated). The new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
New claims:
Applicant’s arguments with respect to new claims 24-29 have been considered but are not persuasive. Applicant asserts new independent claim 24 incorporates subject matter of allowable claim 6 and is similar to claim 1. The Examiner respectfully disagrees with this assertion since in the Applicant’s response to the species election requirement filed 05/04/2026, Applicant elected without traverse Group I. New claim 24 is directed to a different group, Group II. New claims 24-29 are withdrawn from consideration, being drawn to a non-elected group.
Election/Restrictions
Newly submitted claims 24-29 are directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons: Per the Applicant’s response to the species election requirement filed 05/04/2026, Applicant elected without traverse Group I.
As per the species election requirement mailed 03/05/2026:
Group I is directed to a sequence that causes one or more components associated with a battery to be enabled. This sequence of steps is supported by Applicant’s FIG. 2B and 2C and at least [0032].
[0032] As shown in FIG. 2B, and by reference number 206, the controller 112 may cause one or more components associated with the battery 102 to be enabled (e.g., based on the connection identification and/or the initiation determination).
Group II is directed to a sequence that causes one or more components to be disabled. This sequence of steps is supported by FIG. 2D and at least [0043].
[0043] The controller 112 may cause the one or more components to be disabled in a particular order (e.g., a particular disablement sequence), which may be an opposite order of an order in which the one or more components were enabled (e.g., as described herein in relation to FIGS. 2B-2C).
New claims 24-29 are directed towards a sequence that that causes one or more components to be disabled (Group II). Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention (Group I), this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, new claims 24-29 are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention (Group II). See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5, 14-18, and 21-23 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,296,689.
The claims of the instant application are broader claims than the claims of said U.S. Patent (the entire scope of the patented claim falls within the scope of the examined claims), and therefore the claims of said U.S. Patent anticipate the claims of the application being examined. For example, as per claim 1:
This application (18/980,169)
U.S. Patent No. 12,296,689
A method, comprising:
identifying, by a controller, that a battery of a machine is connected to an electrical power connector component configured to charge the battery;
A method, comprising:
identifying, by a controller of a machine, that a battery of the machine is connected to an electrical power connector component;
causing, by the controller and based on identifying that the battery is connected to the electrical power connector component, one or more battery components of the machine to be enabled;
determining, by the controller and based on identifying that the battery of the machine is connected to the electrical power connector component, that one or more initiation components of the machine are disabled;
causing, by the controller and based on determining that the one or more initiation components of the machine are disabled, one or more charging components of the battery of the machine to be enabled;
causing, by the controller and based on causing the one or more battery components to be enabled, one or more cooling components of the machine to be enabled to cause a cooling functionality to be provided to the battery;
causing, by the controller and based on causing the one or more charging components of the battery of the machine to be enabled, one or more electrical components associated with the battery of the machine to be enabled;
causing, by the controller and based on causing the one or more electrical components associated with the battery of the machine to be enabled, a shutdown timer associated with the battery of the machine to be disabled;
causing, by the controller and based on causing the shutdown timer associated with the battery of the machine to be disabled, one or more cooling components of the machine to be enabled;
causing, by the controller and based on causing the one or more cooling components to be enabled, one or more accumulator components of the machine to bleed;
causing, by the controller and based on causing the one or more cooling components of the machine to be enabled, one or more propulsion components of the machine to be disabled;
causing, by the controller and based on causing the one or more propulsion components of the machine to be disabled, one or more accumulator components of a hydraulic system of the machine to bleed;
and causing, by the controller and based on causing the one or more accumulator components to bleed, the battery to enter into a charging state.
causing, by the controller, and based on causing the one or more accumulator components of the hydraulic system of the machine to bleed, one or more non-accumulator components of the hydraulic system of the machine to be enabled; and
causing, by the controller, and based on causing the one or more non-accumulator components of the hydraulic system of the machine to be enabled, the battery of the machine to enter into a charging state.
While the US Patent includes additional limitations not present in the instant limitation, the bolded features of the US Patent cover all the instant limitations. Furthermore, the dependent claims of the instant application are similarly present in the US Patent claims. For example, instant application claim 2, requires a “particular order” with claim 3 further defining claim 2 to require “one or more electrical components associated with the battery of the machine to be enabled” from the order which is also recited in the US Patent claim 1 underlined above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-5 and 21-22 would be allowable if they were to overcome the double patenting rejection(s), set forth in this Office Action and to include all the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claim 1 incorporates the allowable subject matter of previous claim 6. The dependent claims would be allowable based on their dependence on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14-16, 18, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Neil et al. (US-20040100225-A1), in view of Zou et al. (CN-203503758-U) and herein after will be referred to as Niel and Zou, respectively.
Regarding claim 14, Neil teaches a controller, comprising:
one or more processors, configured to (Fig. 11 controller 22):
identify that a battery of a machine is connected to an electrical power connector component configured to charge the battery ([0016] The controller 22 detects a signal on control line 30 that indicates the charger 18 is connected or beginning to charge the battery 14; [0020] detects the start of the battery charging session when an electrical plug 42 on cable 42 is mechanically or electrically engaged with socket 25);
cause, based on identifying that the battery of the machine is connected to the electrical power connector component, one or more battery components of the machine to be enabled ([0016] Upon detecting the signal on control line 30, the controller 22 activates an electrical interlock switch 20; [0018] A filter 23 may be coupled into line 21 to filter out electrical surges that may be generated by the battery charger 18 while charging battery 14);
cause, based on causing the one or more battery components to be enabled, one or more cooling components of the machine to be enabled, to cause a cooling functionality to be provided to the battery; and ([0016] the controller 22 causes the electrical interlock switch 20 to maintain or connect battery 14 to fan 16 via connection 41B)
cause, […], the battery to enter into a charging state ([0016] The controller 22 detects a signal on control line 30 that indicates the charger 18 is connected or beginning to charge the battery 14).
Niel does not explicitly teach cause, based on causing the one or more cooling components to be enabled, one or more non-accumulator components of a hydraulic system of the machine to be enabled; and cause, based on causing the one or more non-accumulator components to be enabled, the battery to enter into a charging state.
However, Zou teaches cause, based on causing the one or more cooling components to be enabled, one or more non-accumulator components of a hydraulic system of the machine to be enabled; and (FIGs. 2-3: cooling fan 9 on enables at least hydraulic pumps 3,10 prior to charging via charger 15; [0009] Furthermore, if the battery is cooled before charging, the B port of the electromagnetic reversing valve 5 is connected to the C port, and the A port is connected to the C port. The cooling fan 9 is turned on, the electromagnetic shut-off valve 6 is turned on, the hydraulic pump 3 is turned on, and the heating component 4 and the hydraulic pump 10 are turned off; [0029] the power source for both the heating element 4 and the hydraulic pump 10 comes from the charger 15, rather than the battery)
cause, based on causing the one or more non-accumulator components to be enabled, the battery to enter into a charging state ([0020] Only when the temperature is suitable will the power distribution unit start charging the battery).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to modify when the battery enters the charging state as taught in Neil to incorporate the teachings of Zou to include cause, based on causing the one or more cooling components to be enabled, one or more non-accumulator components of a hydraulic system of the machine to be enabled; and cause, based on causing the one or more non-accumulator components to be enabled, the battery to enter into a charging state, with a reasonable expectation of success since doing so would have achieved the benefit of, prior to enabling the charging state, “only when temperature is suitable” (Zou [0020]). Further the inclusion of activation of at least the hydraulic pumps 3, 10 ramps up cooling by “maintaining liquid dynamic circulation” (Zou [0023]).
Regarding claim 15, Neil, as modified, teaches the controller of claim 14.
Neil also teaches wherein, to cause the one or more battery components to be enabled, the one or more processors are configured to: cause a plurality of battery components, including the one or more battery components, of the machine to be enabled in a particular order (FIG. 1 enabling of switch 20, filter 23, converter 49, power lines 41A etc.; [0016] Upon detecting the signal on control line 30, the controller 22 activates an electrical interlock switch 20; [0018] A filter 23 may be coupled into line 21 to filter out electrical surges that may be generated by the battery charger 18 while charging battery 14).
Regarding claim 16, Neil, as modified, teaches the controller of claim 15.
Neil also teaches wherein, to cause the plurality of battery components to be enabled in the particular order, the one or more processors are configured to: cause one or more charging components of the battery to be enabled; and ([0016] Upon detecting the signal on control line 30, the controller 22 activates an electrical interlock switch 20)
cause, based on causing the one or more charging components to be enabled, one or more electrical components of the machine to be enabled (FIG. 1 enabling fan 16 after switch 20 is enabled; [0019] the controller 22 enables interlock switch 20 to supply power from battery 14 or directly from the battery charger 18 to the fan 16).
Regarding claim 18, Neil, as modified, teaches the controller of claim 14.
Neil also teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: cause, based on causing the one or more cooling components to be enabled, one or more propulsion components of the machine to be disabled, wherein the battery is caused to enter the charging state based on causing the one or more propulsion components to be disabled ([0016] the controller 22 causes the electrical interlock switch 20 to maintain or connect battery 14 to fan 16 via connection 41B and disconnect the battery 14 from other electrical equipment in vehicle 12. For example, interlock 20 may disconnect the battery 14 from the vehicle electric motor 9 (FIG. 1)).
Regarding claim 23, Neil, as modified, teaches the controller of claim 14.
Neil, as modified, also teaches wherein the one or more non-accumulator components comprise at least one of a hydraulic pump, a hydraulic motor, a hydraulic valve, a hydraulic cylinder, or a hydraulic piston (see rejection of claim 14 cited to Zou’s non-accumulator components including hydraulic pumps 3,10).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Neil, in view of Zou, in further view of Cheng et al. (US-20180194243-A1) and herein after will be referred to as Cheng.
Regarding claim 17, Neil, as modified, teaches the controller of claim 14.
Neil does not explicitly teach wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: cause, based on causing the one or more battery components to be enabled, a shutdown timer, associated with an amount of time for the battery to remain active prior to shutting down, to be disabled, wherein the one or more cooling components are caused to be enabled based on causing the shutdown timer to be disabled.
However, Cheng teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: cause, based on causing the one or more battery components to be enabled, a shutdown timer, associated with an amount of time for the battery to remain active prior to shutting down, to be disabled ([0005] a vehicle battery management system (BMS) may be configured to start a timer when the vehicle is turned off […] and to switch the battery to a shutdown mode, when the timer reaches a predetermined value (or expires if configured as a countdown timer); [0006] deactivate the shutdown mode based at least in part on the main power monitor determining that the main power between the vehicle and the battery is detected).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to modify Neil, as modified, to incorporate the teachings of Cheng to include wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: cause, based on causing the one or more battery components to be enabled, a shutdown timer, associated with an amount of time for the battery to remain active prior to shutting down, to be disabled, “to manage the performance and operation of a rechargeable battery” (Cheng [0003]).
Neil, as modified, also teaches wherein the one or more cooling components are caused to be enabled based on causing the shutdown timer to be disabled (see rejection of claim 14 where in Neil the fan is enabled after power is provided, and here Cheng [0006] teaches that when power is provided, the timer is deactivated).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
JP-2020051065-A Takashi teaches pre-cooling by activation of a fan prior to charging
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVIN SEOL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3662