DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-18 are pending in Instant Application.
Priority
Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s claim to priority benefits of International Application No. PCT/KR2023/004438, filed April 3, 2023, which claims priority to Korean Application No. 10-2022-0072464, filed June 14, 2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 12/13/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered if signed and initialed by the Examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
communication unit configured to receive in claim 18
communication unit - Figure 4 - item 110, paragraph 0119
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the "same invention" type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that "whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process ... may obtain a patent therefor ..." (Emphasis added). Thus, the term "same invention," in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957); and In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the conflicting claims so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claims 1, 14, and 18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of non-statutory non-obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 18 of Yoon et al., co-pending Application 18/980,813. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distant from each other because they are drawn to obvious variations.
In view of the above, since the subject matters recited in the claims 1, 14, and 18 of the instant application were fully disclosed in and covered by the claims 1 and 18 of US co-pending application 18/980,813, allowing the claims to result in an unjustified or improper timewise extension of the "right to exclude" granted by a patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The analysis of the claims’ subject matter eligibility will follow the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, 84 Fed. Reg. 50-57 (January 7, 2019) (“2019 PEG”).
With respect to claim 1, 14, and 18.
Claims 1, 14, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 Analysis: Claims 1, 14, and 18 are directed to one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: the claim recites, inter alia:
“allocating at least one graphic object on the specific map based on editing information received from the electronic device": A person of ordinary skill in the art can mentally allocate objects on a map. Thus, this limitation is construed to be directed to the abstract idea of mental processes.
as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers mental processes concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) but for the recitation of generic computer components. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The only limitations not treated above, “receiving a map editing request for a specific floor among a plurality of floors of a building”, “providing an editing interface on a display unit of an electronic device in response to the map editing request, the editing interface including at least a part of a specific map corresponding to the specific floor”, and “updating the specific map on a cloud server based on completion of the allocating such that robots travel through the specific floor according to an attribute of the at least one graphic object”, involves the mere gathering of data, which is insignificant extra-solution activity. See MPEP § 2106.05(g). In particular, the claim only recites additional elements that are mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(f). The additional element of the “electronic device”, “communication unit”, and “processing circuitry” are recited at a high level of generality, and comprises only a processor to simply perform the generic computer functions. Generic computers performing generic computer functions, alone, do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. The generic computer components in these steps are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic computer component performing a generic computer function) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B Analysis: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using generic computer components to perform the abstract idea amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hyun et al. (KR20190100118A) in view of Hum (KR20200015096A). As per claim 1, Hyun discloses a method of generating a map, comprising: receiving a map editing request for a specific floor among a plurality of floors of a building (see at least paragraph 0070; wherein the indoor map creation device (330) can call up a floor plan image of a building stored in a database (350) based on a plan registration request signal input to a user terminal (110, 500) (S110)); providing an editing interface on a display unit of an electronic device in response to the map editing request, the editing interface including at least a part of a specific map corresponding to the specific floor (see at least paragraph 0070; wherein the indoor map creation device (330) may also call up a floor plan image of a building stored in the memory (540) of the user terminal (110). The indoor map creation device (330) can display the above-mentioned called drawing image on the user interface screen of the user terminal (110)); allocating at least one graphic object on the specific map based on editing information received from the electronic device (see at least paragraph 0040; wherein the indoor map creation unit (330) can create an indoor map by drawing major facilities existing indoors (e.g., offices, restrooms, stairs, etc.) on a map corresponding to a specific building using at least one of polygons, polylines, points, nodes, and links). Hyun does not explicitly mention updating the specific map on a cloud server based on completion of the allocating such that robots travel through the specific floor according to an attribute of the at least one graphic object. However Hum does disclose: updating the specific map on a cloud server based on completion of the allocating such that robots travel through the specific floor according to an attribute of the at least one graphic object (see at least paragraphs 0061-0062; wherein the attribute information setting unit (123) sets attribute information to the basic map information adjusted by the scale correction unit. For example, attribute information may include virtual walls within a building, deceleration sections of an autonomous driving device (20), and obstacle information within a building…see at least paragraph 0104; wherein if the update information is generated, transmits the update information to the control server (30) (S260)). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Hum with the teachings as in Hyun. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve loop closure errors, see Hum paragraphs 0006-0009. As per claim 2, Hum discloses wherein the at least one graphic object includes at least one of: an area graphic object for specifying a traveling mode of the robots for a specific area of the specific floor; a travel node graphic object corresponding to a travel node linked to travel of the robots, for configuring a traveling path of the robots; an operation node graphic object corresponding to an operation node linked to a specific operation of the robots; or a facility node graphic object corresponding to a facility node linked to a facility on the specific floor (see at least paragraph 0062; wherein a virtual area that the autonomous driving device (20) refers to for driving and operation, a basic entry prevention area, a driving caution area, information on the operation of the autonomous driving device (20), etc). As per claim 3, Hum discloses wherein the at least one graphic object includes the area graphic object; the allocating includes allocating the area graphic object to the specific area; and the updating causes the robots to travel the specific area according to travel characteristics of the traveling mode linked to the area graphic object (see at least paragraph 0102; wherein the device control unit (26) controls the driving unit (23) to initiate autonomous driving (S240)…see at least paragraph 0104; wherein the update information generation unit (25) compares the map information received from the map production device (10) with the spatial information generated by the spatial recognition unit (24), and the device control unit (26) determines whether update information is generated by the update information generation unit (25) (S250), and if the update information is generated, transmits the update information to the control server (30) (S260)). As per claim 4, Hyun discloses wherein the area graphic object is configured to have one type among a plurality of different types, each of the plurality of different types being linked to a different traveling mode (see at least paragraph 0039; wherein the user information collection unit (320) can perform a function of collecting map creation command signals input to the user terminal (110). At this time, the map creation command signals may include, but are not limited to, a building search command, a building add/delete/change command, a floor add/delete/change command, a polygon add/delete/change command, a polyline add/delete/change command, a point add/delete/change command, a node add/delete/change command, and a link add/delete/change command). As per claim 5, Hum discloses wherein the at least one graphic object includes a plurality of area graphic objects, each of the plurality of area graphic objects having a corresponding type among the plurality of different types; the plurality of different types include a first type of area graphic object and a second type of area graphic object, the first type of area graphic object being linked to a first traveling mode, and the second type of area graphic object being linked to a second traveling mode different from the first traveling mode; and a visual exterior appearance of the first type of area graphic object is different from a visual exterior appearance of the second type of area graphic object (see at least paragraph 0062; wherein the attribute information may include information on a virtual area that the autonomous driving device (20) refers to for driving and operation, a basic entry prevention area, a driving caution area, information on the operation of the autonomous driving device (20), etc. For example, attribute information may include virtual walls within a building, deceleration sections of an autonomous driving device (20), and obstacle information within a building). As per claim 6, Hum discloses wherein the plurality of area graphic objects includes a first area graphic object and a second area graphic object, the first area graphic object being of the first type of area graphic object, and the second area graphic object being of the second type of area graphic object; the allocating includes allocating the first area graphic object to a first specific area of the specific floor, and allocating the second area graphic object to a second specific area of the specific floor; and the updating causes the robots to travel according to the first traveling mode based on entering the first specific area, travel according to a third traveling mode based on exiting the first specific area, the third traveling mode being a traveling mode the robots had before entering the first specific area, travel according to the second traveling mode based on entering the second specific area, and travel according to a fourth traveling mode based on exiting the second specific area, the second traveling mode being a traveling mode the robots had before entering the second specific area (see at least paragraph 0062; wherein the attribute information may include information on a virtual area that the autonomous driving device (20) refers to for driving and operation, a basic entry prevention area, a driving caution area, information on the operation of the autonomous driving device (20), etc. For example, attribute information may include virtual walls within a building, deceleration sections of an autonomous driving device (20), and obstacle information within a building). As per claim 7, Hyun discloses wherein the editing information includes information for specifying at least one of: a placement position of the area graphic object on the specific map; a type of the area graphic object; a size of the area graphic object; or a shape of the area graphic object (see at least paragraph 0050; wherein the drawing image processing unit (333) can perform a function of changing the position, size, shape, etc. of the drawing image displayed on the user terminal (110) based on the drawing control signal of the terminal user. The drawing image displayed on the user terminal (110) can be changed in position, size, shape, etc. so that the outline of the drawing image and the outline of the building corresponding to the drawing image match each other according to the drawing control signal of the terminal user). As per claim 8, Hyun discloses wherein the editing interface includes a first interface area and a second interface area, the first interface area including the specific map, and the second interface area including a setting menu for a setting related to editing of the specific map; and the editing information is based on a user input that is input to at least one of the first interface area or the second interface area (see at least paragraph 0029; wherein the map creation screen (200) displayed on the user terminal (110) may include a first display area (210) for displaying a plurality of main menus for creating an outdoor map and/or an indoor map, a second display area (220) for displaying map data regarding a specific geographic area, and a third display area (230) for displaying detailed information regarding a specific menu). As per claim 9, Hyun discloses wherein the editing information is based on at least one of: a first user input to the first interface area specifying a positioning area where the area graphic object is to be positioned; a second user input to the first interface area specifying a size of the area graphic object; or a third user input to the first interface area specifying a shape of the area graphic object (see at least paragraph 0040; wherein the indoor map creation unit (330) can perform the function of creating an indoor map of a specific building based on map creation command signals transmitted from the user information collection unit (320). That is, the indoor map creation unit (330) can create an indoor map by drawing major facilities existing indoors (e.g., offices, restrooms, stairs, etc.) on a map corresponding to a specific building using at least one of polygons, polylines, points, nodes, and links). As per claim 10, Hyun discloses wherein the editing interface includes a graphic object editing tool in the first interface area, the graphic object editing tool being configured to receive the first user input, the second user input and the third user input (see at least paragraph 0040; wherein the indoor map creation unit (330) can perform the function of creating an indoor map of a specific building based on map creation command signals transmitted from the user information collection unit (320). That is, the indoor map creation unit (330) can create an indoor map by drawing major facilities existing indoors (e.g., offices, restrooms, stairs, etc.) on a map corresponding to a specific building using at least one of polygons, polylines, points, nodes, and links). As per claim 11, Hyun discloses wherein the allocating of the at least one graphic object includes: specifying the area graphic object based on at least one of the first user input, the second user input, or the third user input (see at least paragraph 0040; wherein the indoor map creation unit (330) can perform the function of creating an indoor map of a specific building based on map creation command signals transmitted from the user information collection unit (320). That is, the indoor map creation unit (330) can create an indoor map by drawing major facilities existing indoors (e.g., offices, restrooms, stairs, etc.) on a map corresponding to a specific building using at least one of polygons, polylines, points, nodes, and links); and receiving a selection of the one type of the area graphic object based on a fourth user input to the setting menu (see at least paragraph 0030; wherein a building menu (213) for adding/changing/deleting a building on the map, a floor menu (214) for adding/changing/deleting a floor in a pre-designated building, a polygon menu (216) for adding/changing/deleting a polygon on the map, a polyline menu (216) for adding/changing/deleting a polyline on the map, a point menu (217) for adding/changing/deleting a point on the map, a node menu (218) for adding/changing/deleting a node on the map, a link menu (219) for adding/changing/deleting a link on the map, etc). As per claim 12, Hyun discloses wherein the allocating of the at least one graphic object includes configuring a color of the area graphic object on the specific map to have a color matched to the one type of the area graphic object (see at least paragraph 0101; wherein the indoor map creation device (330) may display the color, size, or shape of the additional node (1330) differently from the color, size, or shape of the points (1340) that constitute the polygon (1310)). As per claim 13, Hum discloses wherein the updating causes the robots to travel along a traveling path formed by a plurality of travel nodes, each of the plurality of travel nodes corresponding to one among a plurality of travel node graphic objects allocated on the specific map; the allocating of the graphic object includes configuring a travel direction specification to define a traveling direction of the robots between at least a portion of the plurality of travel nodes; and the method further comprises receiving the travel direction specification through the editing interface, the receiving of the travel direction specification includes adding a connecting line that connects adjacent travel node graphic objects among the plurality of travel node graphic objects through the editing interface (see at least paragraph 0062; wherein a virtual area that the autonomous driving device (20) refers to for driving and operation, a basic entry prevention area, a driving caution area, information on the operation of the autonomous driving device (20), etc). As per claim 14, Hyun discloses a method of generating a map, comprising: receiving a map editing request for a specific floor among a plurality of floors of a building (see at least paragraph 0070; wherein the indoor map creation device (330) can call up a floor plan image of a building stored in a database (350) based on a plan registration request signal input to a user terminal (110, 500) (S110)); providing an editing interface on a display unit of an electronic device in response to the map editing request, the editing interface including at least a part of a specific map corresponding to the specific floor (see at least paragraph 0070; wherein the indoor map creation device (330) may also call up a floor plan image of a building stored in the memory (540) of the user terminal (110). The indoor map creation device (330) can display the above-mentioned called drawing image on the user interface screen of the user terminal (110)); allocating at least one node on the specific map based on editing information received from the electronic device (see at least paragraph 0040; wherein the indoor map creation unit (330) can create an indoor map by drawing major facilities existing indoors (e.g., offices, restrooms, stairs, etc.) on a map corresponding to a specific building using at least one of polygons, polylines, points, nodes, and links). Hyun does not explicitly mention updating the specific map on a cloud server based on completion of the allocating such that robots travel the specific floor along the at least one node allocated on the specific map, or perform an operation defined at the at least one node on the specific floor. However Hum does disclose: updating the specific map on a cloud server based on completion of the allocating such that robots travel the specific floor along the at least one node allocated on the specific map, or perform an operation defined at the at least one node on the specific floor (see at least paragraphs 0061-0062; wherein the attribute information setting unit (123) sets attribute information to the basic map information adjusted by the scale correction unit. For example, attribute information may include virtual walls within a building, deceleration sections of an autonomous driving device (20), and obstacle information within a building…see at least paragraph 0104; wherein if the update information is generated, transmits the update information to the control server (30) (S260)). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Hum with the teachings as in Hyun. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve loop closure errors, see Hum paragraphs 0006-0009. As per claim 15, Hum discloses wherein the at least one node corresponds to at least one of: a first type of node that configures a traveling path for the robots, the first type of node corresponding to a travel node linked to the travel of the robots, a second type of node that corresponds to an operation node linked to a specific operation of the robots, or a third type of node that corresponds to a facility node linked to a facility on the specific floor; and the updating causes the robots to perform an operation defined at the at least one node based on the at least one node being allocated to a place where the robots are positioned (see at least paragraph 0062; wherein the attribute information may include information on a virtual area that the autonomous driving device (20) refers to for driving and operation, a basic entry prevention area, a driving caution area, information on the operation of the autonomous driving device (20), etc. For example, attribute information may include virtual walls within a building, deceleration sections of an autonomous driving device (20), and obstacle information within a building). As per claim 16, Hum discloses wherein the at least one node includes the operation node; the specific operation of the robots includes a waiting operation in which the robots stop traveling and wait when positioned at the operation node; and the allocating includes setting the operation node with direction information that defines a direction in which the robots positioned at the operation node face (see at least paragraph 0062; wherein the attribute information may include information on a virtual area that the autonomous driving device (20) refers to for driving and operation, a basic entry prevention area, a driving caution area, information on the operation of the autonomous driving device (20), etc. For example, attribute information may include virtual walls within a building, deceleration sections of an autonomous driving device (20), and obstacle information within a building). As per claim 17, Hyun discloses wherein the at least one node includes a plurality of nodes; the allocating includes grouping a subset of nodes in a same zone on the specific map, the subset of nodes being among the plurality of nodes; and the method further comprising providing identification information in an area of the editing interface in response to selection of one node among the subset of nodes through the editing interface, the identification information including at least one of identification information on the one node or identification information on a zone including the one node (see at least paragraph 0050; wherein the drawing image processing unit (333) can perform a function of changing the position, size, shape, etc. of the drawing image displayed on the user terminal (110) based on the drawing control signal of the terminal user. The drawing image displayed on the user terminal (110) can be changed in position, size, shape, etc. so that the outline of the drawing image and the outline of the building corresponding to the drawing image match each other according to the drawing control signal of the terminal user). As per claim 18, Hyun discloses a system for generating a map, comprising: a communication unit configured to receive a map editing request for a specific floor among a plurality of floors of a building (see at least paragraph 0070; wherein the indoor map creation device (330) can call up a floor plan image of a building stored in a database (350) based on a plan registration request signal input to a user terminal (110, 500) (S110)); and processing circuitry (see at least paragraph 0049; wherein drawing image processing unit (333)) configured to provide an editing interface on a display unit of an electronic device in response to the map editing request, the editing interface including at least a part of a specific map corresponding to the specific floor (see at least paragraph 0070; wherein the indoor map creation device (330) may also call up a floor plan image of a building stored in the memory (540) of the user terminal (110). The indoor map creation device (330) can display the above-mentioned called drawing image on the user interface screen of the user terminal (110)), allocate at least one graphic object on the specific map based on editing information received from the electronic device (see at least paragraph 0040; wherein the indoor map creation unit (330) can create an indoor map by drawing major facilities existing indoors (e.g., offices, restrooms, stairs, etc.) on a map corresponding to a specific building using at least one of polygons, polylines, points, nodes, and links). Hyun does not explicitly mention update the specific map on a cloud server based on completion of the allocation of the at least one graphic object such that robots travel through the specific floor according to an attribute of the at least one graphic object. However Hum does disclose: update the specific map on a cloud server based on completion of the allocation of the at least one graphic object such that robots travel through the specific floor according to an attribute of the at least one graphic object (see at least paragraphs 0061-0062; wherein the attribute information setting unit (123) sets attribute information to the basic map information adjusted by the scale correction unit. For example, attribute information may include virtual walls within a building, deceleration sections of an autonomous driving device (20), and obstacle information within a building…see at least paragraph 0104; wherein if the update information is generated, transmits the update information to the control server (30) (S260)). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Hum with the teachings as in Hyun. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve loop closure errors, see Hum paragraphs 0006-0009.
Relevant Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure: USPGPub 2017/0031925 – Provides mapping of dynamic spaces, such as building floor plans. USPGPub 2015/0193416 - Provided to allow a user to insert annotations or comments in a map application and place such annotations or comments on a digital map, as desired by the user.
Conclusion
/MAHMOUD S ISMAIL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3662