DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed on 05/06/2026 has been entered and fully considered.
Claims 1-2, 5, 9, 13-15, and 18 have been amended.
Claims 19-20 have been newly added.
Claims 1-20 are pending in Instant Application.
Response to Arguments
Regarding Double Patenting rejection: Applicant’s amendment and arguments regarding the Double Patenting rejection has overcome the Double Patenting rejection raised in the previous action; therefore the Double Patenting rejection is hereby withdrawn.
Regarding 101 rejection: Applicant’s amendment and arguments to claims 1-18 have overcome the 101 rejection raised in the previous action; therefore the 101 rejection is hereby withdrawn.
Regarding 103 rejection: Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 04/27/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered if signed and initialed by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hyun et al. (KR20190100118A), in view of Hum (KR20200015096A), and further in view of Bukhari et al. (USPGPub 2021/0349468). As per claim 1, Hyun discloses a method of generating a map, comprising: receiving a map editing request for a specific floor among a plurality of floors of a building (see at least paragraph 0070; wherein the indoor map creation device (330) can call up a floor plan image of a building stored in a database (350) based on a plan registration request signal input to a user terminal (110, 500) (S110)); providing an editing interface on a display unit of an electronic device in response to the map editing request, the editing interface including at least a part of a specific map corresponding to the specific floor (see at least paragraph 0070; wherein the indoor map creation device (330) may also call up a floor plan image of a building stored in the memory (540) of the user terminal (110). The indoor map creation device (330) can display the above-mentioned called drawing image on the user interface screen of the user terminal (110)); allocating at least one graphic object on the specific map based on editing information received from the electronic device (see at least paragraph 0040; wherein the indoor map creation unit (330) can create an indoor map by drawing major facilities existing indoors (e.g., offices, restrooms, stairs, etc.) on a map corresponding to a specific building using at least one of polygons, polylines, points, nodes, and links). Hyun does not explicitly mention each respective graphic object among the at least one graphic object having a visual appearance based on a corresponding function to be performed by robots; and updating the specific map on a cloud server based on completion of the allocating such that the robots travel through the specific floor according to an attribute of the at least one graphic object. However Hum does disclose: updating the specific map on a cloud server based on completion of the allocating such that the robots travel through the specific floor according to an attribute of the at least one graphic object (see at least paragraphs 0061-0062; wherein the attribute information setting unit (123) sets attribute information to the basic map information adjusted by the scale correction unit. For example, attribute information may include virtual walls within a building, deceleration sections of an autonomous driving device (20), and obstacle information within a building…see at least paragraph 0104; wherein if the update information is generated, transmits the update information to the control server (30) (S260)). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Hum with the teachings as in Hyun. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve loop closure errors, see Hum paragraphs 0006-0009. Hyun and Hum do not explicitly mention each respective graphic object among the at least one graphic object having a visual appearance based on a corresponding function to be performed by robots. However Bukhari does disclose: each respective graphic object among the at least one graphic object having a visual appearance based on a corresponding function to be performed by robots (see at least paragraph 0042; wherein the map may include dimensions and distinguishing characteristics, such as color, shape, texture, and so forth of landmarks, such as columns, walls, corners, windows, poles, and other distinguishable features of the space that act as references for the robot…This information may be used to locate an element to pick-up or to locate another element on which to place—for example, to stack—the element the robot is holding or will hold. Examples of other elements include an element of like type, a compatible interlocking compatible device such as another element of like or different type, or a rack). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Bukhari with the teachings as in Hyun and Hum. The motivation for doing so would have been to detect elements in an environment, see Bukhari paragraph 0001. As per claim 2, Hum discloses wherein the at least one graphic object includes at least one of: an area graphic object for specifying a traveling mode of the robots for a specific area of the specific floor; a travel node graphic object corresponding to a travel node linked to travel of the robots for configuring a traveling path of the robots; an operation node graphic object corresponding to an operation node linked to a specific operation of the robots; or a facility node graphic object corresponding to a facility node linked to a facility on the specific floor (see at least paragraph 0062; wherein a virtual area that the autonomous driving device (20) refers to for driving and operation, a basic entry prevention area, a driving caution area, information on the operation of the autonomous driving device (20), etc). As per claim 3, Hum discloses wherein the at least one graphic object includes the area graphic object; the allocating includes allocating the area graphic object to the specific area; and the updating causes the robots to travel the specific area according to travel characteristics of the traveling mode linked to the area graphic object (see at least paragraph 0102; wherein the device control unit (26) controls the driving unit (23) to initiate autonomous driving (S240)…see at least paragraph 0104; wherein the update information generation unit (25) compares the map information received from the map production device (10) with the spatial information generated by the spatial recognition unit (24), and the device control unit (26) determines whether update information is generated by the update information generation unit (25) (S250), and if the update information is generated, transmits the update information to the control server (30) (S260)). As per claim 4, Hyun discloses wherein the area graphic object is configured to have one type among a plurality of different types, each of the plurality of different types being linked to a different traveling mode (see at least paragraph 0039; wherein the user information collection unit (320) can perform a function of collecting map creation command signals input to the user terminal (110). At this time, the map creation command signals may include, but are not limited to, a building search command, a building add/delete/change command, a floor add/delete/change command, a polygon add/delete/change command, a polyline add/delete/change command, a point add/delete/change command, a node add/delete/change command, and a link add/delete/change command). As per claim 5, Hum discloses wherein the at least one graphic object includes a plurality of area graphic objects, each of the plurality of area graphic objects having a corresponding type among the plurality of different types; the plurality of different types includes a first type of area graphic object and a second type of area graphic object, the first type of area graphic object being linked to a first traveling mode, and the second type of area graphic object being linked to a second traveling mode different from the first traveling mode; and a visual exterior appearance of the first type of area graphic object is different from a visual exterior appearance of the second type of area graphic object (see at least paragraph 0062; wherein the attribute information may include information on a virtual area that the autonomous driving device (20) refers to for driving and operation, a basic entry prevention area, a driving caution area, information on the operation of the autonomous driving device (20), etc. For example, attribute information may include virtual walls within a building, deceleration sections of an autonomous driving device (20), and obstacle information within a building). As per claim 6, Hum discloses wherein the plurality of area graphic objects includes a first area graphic object and a second area graphic object, the first area graphic object being of the first type of area graphic object, and the second area graphic object being of the second type of area graphic object; the allocating includes allocating the first area graphic object to a first specific area of the specific floor, and allocating the second area graphic object to a second specific area of the specific floor; and the updating causes the robots to travel according to the first traveling mode based on entering the first specific area, travel according to a third traveling mode based on exiting the first specific area, the third traveling mode being a traveling mode the robots had before entering the first specific area, travel according to the second traveling mode based on entering the second specific area, and travel according to a fourth traveling mode based on exiting the second specific area, the second traveling mode being a traveling mode the robots had before entering the second specific area (see at least paragraph 0062; wherein the attribute information may include information on a virtual area that the autonomous driving device (20) refers to for driving and operation, a basic entry prevention area, a driving caution area, information on the operation of the autonomous driving device (20), etc. For example, attribute information may include virtual walls within a building, deceleration sections of an autonomous driving device (20), and obstacle information within a building). As per claim 7, Hyun discloses wherein the editing information includes information for specifying at least one of: a placement position of the area graphic object on the specific map; a type of the area graphic object; a size of the area graphic object; or a shape of the area graphic object (see at least paragraph 0050; wherein the drawing image processing unit (333) can perform a function of changing the position, size, shape, etc. of the drawing image displayed on the user terminal (110) based on the drawing control signal of the terminal user. The drawing image displayed on the user terminal (110) can be changed in position, size, shape, etc. so that the outline of the drawing image and the outline of the building corresponding to the drawing image match each other according to the drawing control signal of the terminal user). As per claim 8, Hyun discloses wherein the editing interface includes a first interface area and a second interface area, the first interface area including the specific map, and the second interface area including a setting menu for a setting related to editing of the specific map; and the editing information is based on a user input that is input to at least one of the first interface area or the second interface area (see at least paragraph 0029; wherein the map creation screen (200) displayed on the user terminal (110) may include a first display area (210) for displaying a plurality of main menus for creating an outdoor map and/or an indoor map, a second display area (220) for displaying map data regarding a specific geographic area, and a third display area (230) for displaying detailed information regarding a specific menu). As per claim 9, Hyun discloses wherein the editing information is based on at least one of: a first user input to the first interface area specifying a positioning area where the area graphic object is to be positioned; a second user input to the first interface area specifying the size of the area graphic object; or a third user input to the first interface area specifying the shape of the area graphic object (see at least paragraph 0040; wherein the indoor map creation unit (330) can perform the function of creating an indoor map of a specific building based on map creation command signals transmitted from the user information collection unit (320). That is, the indoor map creation unit (330) can create an indoor map by drawing major facilities existing indoors (e.g., offices, restrooms, stairs, etc.) on a map corresponding to a specific building using at least one of polygons, polylines, points, nodes, and links). As per claim 10, Hyun discloses wherein the editing interface includes a graphic object editing tool in the first interface area, the graphic object editing tool being configured to receive the first user input, the second user input and the third user input (see at least paragraph 0040; wherein the indoor map creation unit (330) can perform the function of creating an indoor map of a specific building based on map creation command signals transmitted from the user information collection unit (320). That is, the indoor map creation unit (330) can create an indoor map by drawing major facilities existing indoors (e.g., offices, restrooms, stairs, etc.) on a map corresponding to a specific building using at least one of polygons, polylines, points, nodes, and links). As per claim 11, Hyun discloses wherein the allocating of the at least one graphic object includes: specifying the area graphic object based on at least one of the first user input, the second user input, or the third user input (see at least paragraph 0040; wherein the indoor map creation unit (330) can perform the function of creating an indoor map of a specific building based on map creation command signals transmitted from the user information collection unit (320). That is, the indoor map creation unit (330) can create an indoor map by drawing major facilities existing indoors (e.g., offices, restrooms, stairs, etc.) on a map corresponding to a specific building using at least one of polygons, polylines, points, nodes, and links); and receiving a selection of the one type of the area graphic object based on a fourth user input to the setting menu (see at least paragraph 0030; wherein a building menu (213) for adding/changing/deleting a building on the map, a floor menu (214) for adding/changing/deleting a floor in a pre-designated building, a polygon menu (216) for adding/changing/deleting a polygon on the map, a polyline menu (216) for adding/changing/deleting a polyline on the map, a point menu (217) for adding/changing/deleting a point on the map, a node menu (218) for adding/changing/deleting a node on the map, a link menu (219) for adding/changing/deleting a link on the map, etc). As per claim 12, Hyun discloses wherein the allocating of the at least one graphic object includes configuring a color of the area graphic object on the specific map to have a color matched to the one type of the area graphic object (see at least paragraph 0101; wherein the indoor map creation device (330) may display the color, size, or shape of the additional node (1330) differently from the color, size, or shape of the points (1340) that constitute the polygon (1310)). As per claim 13, Hum discloses wherein the updating causes the robots to travel along a first traveling path formed by a plurality of travel nodes, each of the plurality of travel nodes corresponding to one among a plurality of travel node graphic objects allocated on the specific map; the allocating includes configuring a travel direction specification to define a traveling direction of the robots between at least a portion of the plurality of travel nodes; and the method further comprises receiving the travel direction specification through the editing interface, the receiving of the travel direction specification includes adding a connecting line that connects adjacent travel node graphic objects among the plurality of travel node graphic objects through the editing interface (see at least paragraph 0062; wherein a virtual area that the autonomous driving device (20) refers to for driving and operation, a basic entry prevention area, a driving caution area, information on the operation of the autonomous driving device (20), etc). As per claim 14, Hyun discloses a method of generating a map, comprising: receiving a map editing request for a specific floor among a plurality of floors of a building (see at least paragraph 0070; wherein the indoor map creation device (330) can call up a floor plan image of a building stored in a database (350) based on a plan registration request signal input to a user terminal (110, 500) (S110)); providing an editing interface on a display unit of an electronic device in response to the map editing request, the editing interface including at least a part of a specific map corresponding to the specific floor (see at least paragraph 0070; wherein the indoor map creation device (330) may also call up a floor plan image of a building stored in the memory (540) of the user terminal (110). The indoor map creation device (330) can display the above-mentioned called drawing image on the user interface screen of the user terminal (110)); allocating at least one node on the specific map based on editing information received from the electronic device (see at least paragraph 0040; wherein the indoor map creation unit (330) can create an indoor map by drawing major facilities existing indoors (e.g., offices, restrooms, stairs, etc.) on a map corresponding to a specific building using at least one of polygons, polylines, points, nodes, and links). Hyun does not explicitly mention each respective node among the at least one node having a visual appearance based on a corresponding function to be performed by robots; and updating the specific map on a cloud server based on completion of the allocating such that the robots travel the specific floor along the at least one node allocated on the specific map, or perform an operation defined at the at least one node on the specific floor. However Hum does disclose: updating the specific map on a cloud server based on completion of the allocating such that the robots travel the specific floor along the at least one node allocated on the specific map, or perform an operation defined at the at least one node on the specific floor (see at least paragraphs 0061-0062; wherein the attribute information setting unit (123) sets attribute information to the basic map information adjusted by the scale correction unit. For example, attribute information may include virtual walls within a building, deceleration sections of an autonomous driving device (20), and obstacle information within a building…see at least paragraph 0104; wherein if the update information is generated, transmits the update information to the control server (30) (S260)). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Hum with the teachings as in Hyun. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve loop closure errors, see Hum paragraphs 0006-0009. Hyun and Hum do not explicitly mention each respective node among the at least one node having a visual appearance based on a corresponding function to be performed by robots. However Bukhari does disclose: each respective node among the at least one node having a visual appearance based on a corresponding function to be performed by robots (see at least paragraph 0042; wherein the map may include dimensions and distinguishing characteristics, such as color, shape, texture, and so forth of landmarks, such as columns, walls, corners, windows, poles, and other distinguishable features of the space that act as references for the robot…This information may be used to locate an element to pick-up or to locate another element on which to place—for example, to stack—the element the robot is holding or will hold. Examples of other elements include an element of like type, a compatible interlocking compatible device such as another element of like or different type, or a rack). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Bukhari with the teachings as in Hyun and Hum. The motivation for doing so would have been to detect elements in an environment, see Bukhari paragraph 0001. As per claim 15, Hum discloses wherein the at least one node corresponds to at least one of: a first type of node that configures a traveling path for the robots, the first type of node corresponding to a travel node linked to the travel of the robots, a second type of node that corresponds to an operation node linked to a specific operation of the robots, or a third type of node that corresponds to a facility node linked to a facility on the specific floor; and the updating causes the robots to perform the operation defined at the at least one node based on the at least one node being allocated to a place where the robots are positioned (see at least paragraph 0062; wherein the attribute information may include information on a virtual area that the autonomous driving device (20) refers to for driving and operation, a basic entry prevention area, a driving caution area, information on the operation of the autonomous driving device (20), etc. For example, attribute information may include virtual walls within a building, deceleration sections of an autonomous driving device (20), and obstacle information within a building). As per claim 16, Hum discloses wherein the at least one node includes the operation node; the specific operation of the robots includes a waiting operation in which the robots stop traveling and wait when positioned at the operation node; and the allocating includes setting the operation node with direction information that defines a direction in which the robots positioned at the operation node face (see at least paragraph 0062; wherein the attribute information may include information on a virtual area that the autonomous driving device (20) refers to for driving and operation, a basic entry prevention area, a driving caution area, information on the operation of the autonomous driving device (20), etc. For example, attribute information may include virtual walls within a building, deceleration sections of an autonomous driving device (20), and obstacle information within a building). As per claim 17, Hyun discloses wherein the at least one node includes a plurality of nodes; the allocating includes grouping a subset of nodes in a same zone on the specific map, the subset of nodes being among the plurality of nodes; and the method further comprising providing identification information in an area of the editing interface in response to selection of one node among the subset of nodes through the editing interface, the identification information including at least one of identification information on the one node or identification information on a zone including the one node (see at least paragraph 0050; wherein the drawing image processing unit (333) can perform a function of changing the position, size, shape, etc. of the drawing image displayed on the user terminal (110) based on the drawing control signal of the terminal user. The drawing image displayed on the user terminal (110) can be changed in position, size, shape, etc. so that the outline of the drawing image and the outline of the building corresponding to the drawing image match each other according to the drawing control signal of the terminal user). As per claim 18, Hyun discloses a system for generating a map, comprising: a communication unit configured to receive a map editing request for a specific floor among a plurality of floors of a building (see at least paragraph 0070; wherein the indoor map creation device (330) can call up a floor plan image of a building stored in a database (350) based on a plan registration request signal input to a user terminal (110, 500) (S110)); and processing circuitry (see at least paragraph 0049; wherein drawing image processing unit (333)) configured to provide an editing interface on a display unit of an electronic device in response to the map editing request, the editing interface including at least a part of a specific map corresponding to the specific floor (see at least paragraph 0070; wherein the indoor map creation device (330) may also call up a floor plan image of a building stored in the memory (540) of the user terminal (110). The indoor map creation device (330) can display the above-mentioned called drawing image on the user interface screen of the user terminal (110)), allocate at least one graphic object on the specific map based on editing information received from the electronic device (see at least paragraph 0040; wherein the indoor map creation unit (330) can create an indoor map by drawing major facilities existing indoors (e.g., offices, restrooms, stairs, etc.) on a map corresponding to a specific building using at least one of polygons, polylines, points, nodes, and links). Hyun does not explicitly mention each respective graphic object among the at least one graphic object having a visual appearance based on a corresponding function to be performed by robots; and update the specific map on a cloud server based on completion of the allocation of the at least one graphic object such that the robots travel through the specific floor according to an attribute of the at least one graphic object. However Hum does disclose: update the specific map on a cloud server based on completion of the allocation of the at least one graphic object such that the robots travel through the specific floor according to an attribute of the at least one graphic object (see at least paragraphs 0061-0062; wherein the attribute information setting unit (123) sets attribute information to the basic map information adjusted by the scale correction unit. For example, attribute information may include virtual walls within a building, deceleration sections of an autonomous driving device (20), and obstacle information within a building…see at least paragraph 0104; wherein if the update information is generated, transmits the update information to the control server (30) (S260)). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Hum with the teachings as in Hyun. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve loop closure errors, see Hum paragraphs 0006-0009.
Hyun and Hum do not explicitly mention each respective graphic object among the at least one graphic object having a visual appearance based on a corresponding function to be performed by robots. However Bukhari does disclose: each respective graphic object among the at least one graphic object having a visual appearance based on a corresponding function to be performed by robots (see at least paragraph 0042; wherein the map may include dimensions and distinguishing characteristics, such as color, shape, texture, and so forth of landmarks, such as columns, walls, corners, windows, poles, and other distinguishable features of the space that act as references for the robot…This information may be used to locate an element to pick-up or to locate another element on which to place—for example, to stack—the element the robot is holding or will hold. Examples of other elements include an element of like type, a compatible interlocking compatible device such as another element of like or different type, or a rack). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Bukhari with the teachings as in Hyun and Hum. The motivation for doing so would have been to detect elements in an environment, see Bukhari paragraph 0001. As per claim 19, Bukhari discloses wherein each respective graphic object among the at least one graphic object has a color based on the corresponding function to be performed by the robots (see at least paragraph 0042; wherein the map may include dimensions and distinguishing characteristics, such as color, shape, texture, and so forth of landmarks, such as columns, walls, corners, windows, poles, and other distinguishable features of the space that act as references for the robot…This information may be used to locate an element to pick-up or to locate another element on which to place—for example, to stack—the element the robot is holding or will hold. Examples of other elements include an element of like type, a compatible interlocking compatible device such as another element of like or different type, or a rack).
As per claim 20, Hum discloses wherein the specific map is configured to be usable by the robots to move via corresponding motors through the specific floor according to the attribute of the at least one graphic object (see at least paragraph 0042; wherein For autonomous driving of the autonomous driving device (20), the map creation device (10) creates map information using various indoor spatial information such as building drawings, floor guide drawings, SLAM (Simultaneous Localization and Map-Building, Simultaneous Localization and Mapping) maps, and point cloud-based spatial information, and transmits the created map information to each autonomous driving device (20)).
Relevant Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure: USPGPub 2017/0031925 – Provides mapping of dynamic spaces, such as building floor plans. USPGPub 2015/0193416 - Provided to allow a user to insert annotations or comments in a map application and place such annotations or comments on a digital map, as desired by the user.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MAHMOUD S ISMAIL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3662