DETAILED ACTION
The instant application having application No. 18/980,679 for TAL for “CONTACT SENSING SYSTEM AND METHOD OF USE THEREOF” filed December 13, 2024 has been examined.
Drawings
Drawings Figures 1A-9A submitted on December 13, 2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.121(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1-13 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by the Prior Art of DINGLE et al. U.S. Publication No.2022/0300914 A1 hereafter “Dingle” in view of the Prior Art of HARA U.S. Publication No. 2023/0202594 A1 hereafter “Hara”.
As to claim 1, Dingle discloses a system for motion tracking (a system, method and services for tracking, monitoring, described in Paragraph 0016), capturing, and transmitting a rider contact and input with a movable object (select various tracking and monitoring features, such as turn on a location beacon to share the cyclist's location in real time with others in case of an emergency, activate a video capture device to record, digitally archive, and share videos and other tracking activities. The video capture device includes a camera that functions as an image/video recording device, which can be integral or a separate component. The video capture device can include a microphone and user control device. The microphone can receive audio signals and, for example, relay them to the video recording device for recording along with captured video and send the captured information to the transport facilitation system, described in Paragraphs 0016 and 0078, meet the claimed limitations [i.e. a system for motion tracking, capturing, and transmitting a rider contact and input with a movable object]), wherein the system comprises: (a) one or more sensors that are each removably attachable to the movable object or rider such that the one or more sensor can be placed at one or more locations of the movable object or rider, wherein the one or more sensors are located on the movable object or rider to detect the presence and amount of force applied to the movable object at the one or more locations (one or more impact sensors 220 monitor for the amount of force, meet the claimed [i.e. one or more sensors that are each removably attachable to the movable object or rider such that the one or more sensor can be placed at one or more locations of the movable object or rider, wherein the one or more sensors are located on the movable object or rider to detect the presence and amount of force applied to the movable object at the one or more locations] , described in Paragraph 0043); (b) a tracker removably attachable to the movable object or the rider (activity tracker device 200 can determine physiological characteristics of the user while performing a detected activity, meet the claimed [i.e. a tracker removably attachable to the movable object or the rider], described in Paragraphs 0044-0045 and 0051), wherein the tracker is capable of tracking where the movable object is (using two or more devices 300, 305, 310, 320, to track accident detection, damage bike detection, and bike theft detection. The device(s) 300, 320 attached to or carried by the cyclist can be paired to a device 305, 310 attached to the cyclist's bike. The GPS enabled tracking device sends a signal to the paired bike showing the cyclist's location, the bike's location, or both locations, meet the claimed [i.e. wherein the tracker is capable of tracking where the movable object is], described in Paragraph 0056); (c) a recorder that is operably connected to the one or more sensor devices and the tracker (mobile computing device can generate a control interface to enable the cyclist to select various tracking and monitoring features, such as turn on a location beacon to share the cyclist's location in real time with others in case of an emergency, activate a video capture device to record, digitally archive, and share videos and other tracking activities, meet the claimed [i.e. a recorder that is operably connected to the one or more sensor devices and the tracker], described in Paragraph 0078), and wherein the recorder is operable to record information comprising: (i) the presence and amount of force applied to the movable object at the one or more locations (the system uses the camera to record the cyclist's trip, road location and store the information into the device, meet the claimed [i.e. wherein the recorder is operable to record information comprising: the presence and amount of force applied to the movable object at the one or more locations], described in Paragraphs 0043 and 0080-0081), and (ii) where the movable object is at the time when the presence and amount of force applied to the movable object at the one or more locations (the system uses the camera to record the cyclist's trip, road location and store the information into the device, meet the claimed [i.e. where the movable object is at the time when the presence and amount of force applied to the movable object at the one or more locations], described in Paragraphs 0043 and 0080-0081); and (d) an indicator that is operable to provide real-time feedback to the rider related to the information recorded by the recorder, wherein the indictor is removably attachable to the movable object or the rider (mobile computing device can generate a control interface to enable the cyclist to select various tracking and monitoring features, such as turn on a location beacon to share the cyclist's location in real time with others in case of an emergency, activate a video capture device to record, digitally archive, and share videos and other tracking activities, meet the claimed [i.e. an indicator that is operable to provide real-time feedback to the rider related to the information recorded by the recorder, wherein the indictor is removably attachable to the movable object or the rider], described in Paragraph 0078).
Dingle does not expressly disclose a pressure sensor and the force applied by the rider.
Hara discloses a system and method comprising: a pressure sensor that senses a force applied by a rider (a pressure operated element that detects a pressure applied to the sensor 20 by the sensed element 100. The sensor 20 includes a base member 104, an input portion 106 and an actuator portion 108. The base member 104 is attached to the second part 22, while the input portion 106 is pivotally attached to the base member 104. The input portion 106 of the sensor 20 is configured to be depressed by the sensed element 100 when a rider sits on the saddle 14, described in Paragraph 0125).
Thus, given the system of Dingle and having the teaching of Hara disclosing a pressure sensor that senses a force applied by a rider that is also well-known and conventional in the art, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Dingle by incorporating the teaching of Hara in order to have a system for motion tracking, capturing, and transmitting a rider contact and input with a movable object, wherein the system comprises: (a) one or more pressure sensors, that are each removably attachable to the movable object or rider such that the one or more pressure sensor can be placed at one or more locations of the movable object or rider, wherein the one or more pressure sensors are located on the movable object or rider to detect the presence and amount of force applied by the rider to the movable object at the one or more locations; (b) a tracker removably attachable to the movable object or the rider, wherein the tracker is capable of tracking where the movable object is; (c) a recorder that is operably connected to the one or more pressure devices and the tracker, and wherein the recorder is operable to record information comprising: (i) the presence and amount of force applied by the rider to the movable object at the one or more locations, and (ii) where the movable object is at the time when the presence and amount of force applied by the rider to the movable object at the one or more locations; and (d) an indicator that is operable to provide real-time feedback to the rider related to the information recorded by the recorder, wherein the indictor is removably attachable to the movable object or the rider, for the obvious advantages of adjusting suspension of the movable object as suggested by Hara (Paragraph 0002).
As to claim 2, the combination of Dingle and Hara as set forth above in claim 1, further Hara discloses wherein the one or more pressure sensors are wirelessly connected to recorder (shown in Figures 2, 3 and described in Paragraphs 0101-0102).
As to claim 3, the combination of Dingle and Hara as set forth above in claim 1, further having the disclosure of Hara that discloses pressure operated element that detects a pressure applied to the sensor 20 by the sensed element 100. The sensor 20 includes a base member 104, an input portion 106 and an actuator portion 108. The base member 104 is attached to the second part 22, while the input portion 106 is pivotally attached to the base member 104. The input portion 106 of the sensor 20 is configured to be depressed by the sensed element 100 when a rider sits on the saddle 14, described in Paragraph 0125, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the combination of Dingle and Hara, in order to have wherein the recorder comprises a CPU that is operable to record times of contact and times of non-contact of the one or more pressure devices, for the same motivational reason/s as stated above in claim 1.
As to claim 4, the combination of Dingle and Hara as set forth above in claim 3, further having the disclosure of Dingle that discloses GPS enabled tracking device sends a signal to the paired bike showing the cyclist's location, the bike's location, or both locations, shown in Figure 1 and described in Paragraph 0018, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the combination of Dingle and Hara, in order to have wherein (a) the tracker comprises a GPS system; and (b) the CPU is operable to transmit the information from the one or more pressure sensors and the GPS system to a mobile device, for the same motivational reason/s as stated above in claim 1.
As to claim 5, the combination of Dingle and Hara as set forth above in claim 1, further Dingle discloses wherein the tracker comprises a GPS system (GPS enabled tracking device sends a signal to the paired bike showing the cyclist's location, the bike's location, or both locations, shown in Figure 1 and described in Paragraphs 0018 and 0032).
As to claim 6, the combination of Dingle and Hara as set forth above in claim 1, further Dingle discloses wherein the tracker comprises an accelerometer (accelerometer, described in Paragraph 0032).
As to claim 7, the combination of Dingle and Hara as set forth above in claim 6, further having the disclosure of Hara that discloses the following directional terms “frame facing side”, “non-frame facing side”, “forward”, “rearward”, “front”, “rear”, “up”, “down”, “above”, “below”, “upward”, “downward”, “top”, “bottom”, “side”, “vertical”, “horizontal”, “perpendicular” and “transverse” as well as any other similar directional terms refer to those directions of a human-powered vehicle (e.g., bicycle) in an upright, riding position and equipped with the a saddle sensor assembly, described in Paragraph 0130, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the combination of Dingle and Hara, in order to have wherein the accelerometer tracks tilt of the movable object, for the same motivational reason/s as stated above in claim 1.
As to claim 8, the combination of Dingle and Hara as set forth above in claim 1, further having the disclosure of Dingle that discloses the system can be configured to pair a cyclist device with a bike device to track accident detection, damage bike detection, and bike theft detection. The device attached to or carried by the cyclist can be paired to a device attached to the cyclist's bike. The GPS enabled tracking device sends a signal to the paired bike showing the cyclist's location, the bike's location, or both locations. If the cyclist gets separated from his bike due to an accident or if the bike is stolen, the system can help connect the cyclist to his bike. Although the examples provided in the present teachings mainly describes pairing a cyclist with a bike, it will be apparent to those skilled in the art that the present teachings is not limited to this exemplary embodiment. By way of example, pairing of electronic devices in accordance with the present teachings may include any form of transportation, such as a motorcycle, skateboard, or a scooter, described in Paragraph 0018 and system 100 for sharing user activity tracker data. System 100 can include tracking portal server 110 communicatively coupled to user device 120 via network 105, which can include the Internet, an intranet, or any other wired or wireless public or private network. User device 120, which can be operated by a cyclist, can be configured to securely transmit the activity tracker data and associated metadata stored on the device to tracking portal server 110 for storage in database 115, described in Paragraph 0023 and further having the disclosure of Hara that discloses controller 25 includes one or more processors 26 that executes predetermined control programs. The processor 26 of the controller 25 includes, for example, a central processing unit (CPU) or a micro processing unit (MPU). Here, the processor 26 is provided on a circuit board CB1. While only one processor is illustrated in FIG. 2, it will be apparent from this disclosure that several processors can be used. Thus, the controller 25 can include processors provided at positions separate from each other. In a case where the processors are provided at positions separate from each other, the processors are connected so as to communicate with each other via a wireless communication device. The controller 25 can include one or more microcomputers. Thus, the terms “controller” and “electronic controller” as used herein refer to hardware that executes a software program, and does not include a human being, described in Paragraph 0094, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the combination of Dingle and Hara, in order to have wherein (a) the system comprises a combination of hardware and software, (b) the hardware comprises a GPS receiver, a CPU, and a wireless transmitter, and (c) the software comprises an app or web application that can receive and process data from the CPU and the GPS receiver, wherein (i) the app or web application is operable to chart and display the rider's activities along with a map chart of where the activity occurred based on the GPS data; and (ii) the app or web application is operable to store the data for future use, for the same motivational reason/s as stated above in claim 1.
As to claim 9, the combination of Dingle and Hara as set forth above in claim 1, further having the disclosure of Dingle that discloses various image sensors may be communicatively coupled to the image recording device via a multi-channel cable. In an alternative embodiment, the image sensors may be coupled to a wireless transmitter for wireless transmission of video data. The device can be configured to store video signals that are received simultaneously from the multiple image sensors in an appropriate format for replaying such video. Information indicating a time that video frames are captured is recorded, so that the video feeds remain appropriately correlated in time. In a further embodiment, the device may be programmed to periodically capture images from the image sensors on the helmet camera, described in Paragraphs 0079, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the combination of Dingle and Hara, in order to have wherein the recorder is operable for downloading information recorded by the recorder to a storage device that is not attached to the movable object or the rider, for the same motivational reason/s as stated above in claim 1.
As to claim 10, the combination of Dingle and Hara as set forth above in claim 1, further having the disclosure of Hara that discloses the contact sensor 102 is a pressure operated element that detects a pressure applied to the sensor 20 by the sensed element 100. The sensor 20 includes a base member 104, an input portion 106 and an actuator portion 108. The base member 104 is attached to the second part 22, while the input portion 106 is pivotally attached to the base member 104. The input portion 106 of the sensor 20 is configured to be depressed by the sensed element 100 when a rider sits on the saddle 14, described in Paragraph 0125, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the combination of Dingle and Hara, in order to have wherein at least one of the one more pressure sensors is removably attachable to a part of the movable object selected from the group consisting of a seat, saddle, bicycle peddle, motorcycle peg, horse stirrup, and handlebar of the movable object, for the same motivational reason/s as stated above in claim 1.
As to claim 11, the combination of Dingle and Hara as set forth above in claim 1, further Hara discloses wherein the indicator provides feedback to the rider that is visual response (controller 25 can be conveyed to a rider using a speaker 44 or a haptic device such as a vibrator 46. In the first embodiment, the display 42 via cycle computer 34, shown in Figures 1, 2, 3 and described in Paragraphs 0101 and 0104).
As to claim 12, the combination of Dingle and Hara as set forth above in claim 1, further Hara discloses wherein the indicator provides feedback to the rider that is an audible response (controller 25 can be conveyed to a rider using a speaker 44 or a haptic device such as a vibrator 46. In the first embodiment, the display 42 via cycle computer 34, shown in Figure 3 and described in Paragraph 0104).
As to claim 13, the combination of Dingle and Hara as set forth above in claim 1, further Hara discloses wherein the system provides feedback to the rider that is a tactile response (controller 25 can be conveyed to a rider using a speaker 44 or a haptic device such as a vibrator 46. In the first embodiment, the display 42 via cycle computer 34, shown in Figure 3 and described in Paragraph 0104).
As to claim 18, Dingle discloses a method for motion tracking (a system, method and services for tracking, monitoring, described in Paragraph 0016), capturing, and transmitting a rider contact and input with a movable object (select various tracking and monitoring features, such as turn on a location beacon to share the cyclist's location in real time with others in case of an emergency, activate a video capture device to record, digitally archive, and share videos and other tracking activities. The video capture device includes a camera that functions as an image/video recording device, which can be integral or a separate component. The video capture device can include a microphone and user control device. The microphone can receive audio signals and, for example, relay them to the video recording device for recording along with captured video and send the captured information to the transport facilitation system, described in Paragraphs 0016 and 0078, meet the claimed limitations [i.e. a method for motion tracking, capturing, and transmitting a rider contact and input with a movable object]), wherein the method comprises: (a) selecting a system that comprises (i) one or more pressure sensors that are each removably attachable to the movable object or rider (one or more impact sensors 220 monitor for the amount of force, meet the claimed [i.e. one or more sensors that are each removably attachable to the movable object or rider such that the one or more sensor can be placed at one or more locations of the movable object or rider, wherein the one or more sensors are located on the movable object or rider to detect the presence and amount of force applied to the movable object at the one or more locations] , described in Paragraph 0043), (ii) a tracker removably attachable to the movable object or the rider (activity tracker device 200 can determine physiological characteristics of the user while performing a detected activity, meet the claimed [i.e. a tracker removably attachable to the movable object or the rider], described in Paragraphs 0044-0045 and 0051), (iii) a recorder that is operably connected to the one or more pressure devices and the tracker (mobile computing device can generate a control interface to enable the cyclist to select various tracking and monitoring features, such as turn on a location beacon to share the cyclist's location in real time with others in case of an emergency, activate a video capture device to record, digitally archive, and share videos and other tracking activities, meet the claimed [i.e. a recorder that is operably connected to the one or more sensor devices and the tracker], described in Paragraph 0078), and (iv) an indicator removably attachable to the movable object or the rider; (b) attaching the one or more pressure sensors to the movable object or rider such that the one or more pressure sensor are placed at one or more locations of the movable object or rider (mobile computing device can generate a control interface to enable the cyclist to select various tracking and monitoring features, such as turn on a location beacon to share the cyclist's location in real time with others in case of an emergency, activate a video capture device to record, digitally archive, and share videos and other tracking activities, meet the claimed [i.e. an indicator that is operable to provide real-time feedback to the rider related to the information recorded by the recorder, wherein the indictor is removably attachable to the movable object or the rider], described in Paragraph 0078); (c) attaching the tracker to the movable object or the rider; and (d) utilizing the system when the rider is riding the movable object, wherein utilizing the system comprises (i) the one or more sensors detect the presence and amount of force applied by the rider to the movable object at the one or more locations (the system uses the camera to record the cyclist's trip, road location and store the information into the device, meet the claimed [i.e. attaching the tracker to the movable object or the rider; and utilizing the system when the rider is riding the movable object, wherein utilizing the system comprises, the one or more sensors detect the presence and amount of force applied to the movable object at the one or more locations], described in Paragraphs 0043 and 0080-0081), (ii) the tracker tracks where the movable object is (using two or more devices 300, 305, 310, 320, to track accident detection, damage bike detection, and bike theft detection. The device(s) 300, 320 attached to or carried by the cyclist can be paired to a device 305, 310 attached to the cyclist's bike. The GPS enabled tracking device sends a signal to the paired bike showing the cyclist's location, the bike's location, or both locations, meet the claimed [i.e. wherein the tracker is capable of tracking where the movable object is], described in Paragraph 0056), (iii) the recorder records information comprising (A) the presence and amount of force applied by the rider to the movable object at the one or more locations (the system uses the camera to record the cyclist's trip, road location and store the information into the device, meet the claimed [i.e. the recorder records information comprising, the presence and amount of force applied to the movable object at the one or more locations], described in Paragraphs 0043 and 0080-0081), and (B) where the movable object is at the time when the presence and amount of force applied by the rider to the movable object at the one or more locations (the system uses the camera to record the cyclist's trip, road location and store the information into the device, meet the claimed [i.e. where the movable object is at the time when the presence and amount of force applied by the rider to the movable object at the one or more locations], described in Paragraphs 0043 and 0080-0081), and (iv) the indicator provides real-time feedback to the rider related to the information recorded by the recorder (mobile computing device can generate a control interface to enable the cyclist to select various tracking and monitoring features, such as turn on a location beacon to share the cyclist's location in real time with others in case of an emergency, activate a video capture device to record, digitally archive, and share videos and other tracking activities, meet the claimed [i.e. the indicator provides real-time feedback to the rider related to the information recorded by the recorder], described in Paragraph 0078).
Dingle does not expressly disclose a pressure sensor and the force applied by the rider.
Hara discloses a system and method comprising: a pressure sensor that senses a force applied by a rider (a pressure operated element that detects a pressure applied to the sensor 20 by the sensed element 100. The sensor 20 includes a base member 104, an input portion 106 and an actuator portion 108. The base member 104 is attached to the second part 22, while the input portion 106 is pivotally attached to the base member 104. The input portion 106 of the sensor 20 is configured to be depressed by the sensed element 100 when a rider sits on the saddle 14, described in Paragraph 0125).
Thus, given the method of Dingle and having the teaching of Hara disclosing a pressure sensor that senses a force applied by a rider that is also well-known and conventional in the art, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Dingle by incorporating the teaching of Hara in order to have a method for motion tracking, capturing, and transmitting a rider contact and input with a movable object, wherein the method comprises: (a) selecting a system that comprises (i) one or more pressure sensors that are each removably attachable to the movable object or rider, (ii) a tracker removably attachable to the movable object or the rider, (iii) a recorder that is operably connected to the one or more pressure devices and the tracker, and (iv) an indicator removably attachable to the movable object or the rider; (b) attaching the one or more pressure sensors to the movable object or rider such that the one or more pressure sensor are placed at one or more locations of the movable object or rider; (c) attaching the tracker to the movable object or the rider; and (d) utilizing the system when the rider is riding the movable object, wherein utilizing the system comprises (i) the one or more pressure sensors detect the presence and amount of force applied by the rider to the movable object at the one or more locations, (ii) the tracker tracks where the movable object is, (iii) the recorder records information comprising (A) the presence and amount of force applied by the rider to the movable object at the one or more locations, and (B) where the movable object is at the time when the presence and amount of force applied by the rider to the movable object at the one or more locations, and (iv) the indicator provides real-time feedback to the rider related to the information recorded by the recorder, for the obvious advantages of adjusting suspension of the movable object as suggested by Hara (Paragraph 0002).
As to claim 19, the combination of Dingle and Hara as set forth above in claim 18, further Dingle discloses wherein the method further comprises the rider receives real-time feedback from the indicator while riding the movable object (GPS enabled tracking device sends a signal to the paired bike showing the cyclist's location, the bike's location, or both locations, shown in Figure 1 and described in Paragraph 0018).
Claims 14-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by the Prior Art of DINGLE et al. U.S. Publication No.2022/0300914 A1 hereafter “Dingle” in view of the Prior Art of HARA U.S. Publication No. 2023/0202594 A1 hereafter “Hara” and further in view of the Prior Art of JONES et al. U.S. Publication No. 2024/0242586 A1 hereafter “Jones”.
As to claim 14, the combination of Dingle and Hara as set forth above in claim 1, the combination of Dingle and Hara does not expressly disclose wherein (a) the indicator comprises a plurality of wearable indicators; (b) the plurality of wearable indicators comprise a right-side wearable indicator and a left-side wearable indicator; (c) the right-side wearable indicator is removably attachable to a right wrist or a right arm of the rider; and (d) the left-side wearable indicator is removably attachable to a left wrist or a left arm of the rider.
Jones discloses a system and method for monitoring (described in Abstract) comprising: indicator comprises a plurality of wearable indicators; the plurality of wearable indicators comprise a right-side wearable indicator and a left-side wearable indicator; the right-side wearable indicator is removably attachable to a right wrist or a right arm of the rider; and the left-side wearable indicator is removably attachable to a left wrist or a left arm of the rider (shown in Figures 1-10 and described in Paragraphs 0030-0039).
Thus, given the system of Dingle as modified by Hara and having the teaching of Jones disclosing a system and method for monitoring comprising: indicator comprises a plurality of wearable indicators that is also well-known and conventional in the art, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the system of Dingle as modified by Hara by incorporating the teaching of Jones in order to have wherein (a) the indicator comprises a plurality of wearable indicators; (b) the plurality of wearable indicators comprise a right-side wearable indicator and a left-side wearable indicator; (c) the right-side wearable indicator is removably attachable to a right wrist or a right arm of the rider; and (d) the left-side wearable indicator is removably attachable to a left wrist or a left arm of the rider, for the obvious advantages of providing performance monitoring as suggested by Jones (Paragraphs 0007-0008).
As to claim 15, the combination of Dingle as modified by Hara and Jones as set forth above in claim 14, further having the disclosure of Jones that discloses the electronic device 14 may be embedded into the at least one accessory A. Some non-limiting examples of the at least one accessory A are helmets, gloves, boots, armor suits, chest protectors, jackets, knee pads, elbow pads, portions of the vehicle (e.g., motorcycle), and the like, described in Paragraph 0036 and electronic device 14 may be attached to different accessories/gear of the rider or the vehicle itself and may perform in the same manner as explained with respect to the helmet 40. For instance, FIGS. 15-17 illustrate exemplary accessories such as a chest protector 80, an elbow pad 82, and a knee pad 84, respectively, having electronic device 14 attached therewith, described in Paragraph 0041, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the combination of Dingle, Hara and Jones, in order to have wherein the right-side wearable indicator and the left-side wearable indicator are independently controllable, for the same motivational reason/s as stated above in claim 14.
As to claim 16, the combination of Dingle and Hara as set forth above in claim 1, the combination of Dingle and Hara does not expressly disclose wherein: (a) the one or more pressure sensor comprises a first pressure sensor, a second pressure sensor, and a third pressure sensor, wherein (i) the first pressure sensor is removable attachable at a first location that is at a right knee rest on the movable object or at or by a right knee of the rider, (ii) the second pressure sensor is removable attachable at a second location that is at a left knee rest on the moveable object or at or by a left knee of the rider, and (iii) the third pressure sensor is removable attachable to a seat of the movable object; and (b) the indicator comprises a first wearable indicator and a second wearable indicator, wherein (i) the first wearable indicator is removably attachable to a right wrist or a right arm of the rider; and (ii) the second wearable indicator is removably attachable to a left wrist or a left arm of the rider.
Hara discloses a pressure sensor that attachable to a seat of the movable object (a pressure operated element that detects a pressure applied to the sensor 20 by the sensed element 100. The sensor 20 includes a base member 104, an input portion 106 and an actuator portion 108. The base member 104 is attached to the second part 22, while the input portion 106 is pivotally attached to the base member 104. The input portion 106 of the sensor 20 is configured to be depressed by the sensed element 100 when a rider sits on the saddle 14, described in Paragraph 0125).
Further, Jones discloses a system and method for monitoring (described in Abstract) comprising: one or more sensor comprises a first sensor, a second sensor, and a third sensor, wherein the first sensor is removable attachable at a first location that is at a right on the movable object or at or by a right knee of the rider, the second sensor is removable attachable at a second location that is at a left on the moveable object or at or by a left knee of the rider, and an indicator comprises a first wearable indicator and a second wearable indicator, wherein the first wearable indicator is removably attachable to a right wrist or a right arm of the rider; and the second wearable indicator is removably attachable to a left wrist or a left arm of the rider (electronic device 14 may be embedded into the at least one accessory A. Some non-limiting examples of the at least one accessory A are helmets, gloves, boots, armor suits, chest protectors, jackets, knee pads, elbow pads, portions of the vehicle (e.g., motorcycle), and the like. The electronic device 14 may be inserted or embedded into the at least one accessory A using a holder. The holder may be attached to the at least one accessory A within an interior part of the at least one accessory A. In some embodiments, the electronic device 14 may be a chip that can be inserted into the holder. In other embodiments, the electronic device 14 may be a small circuit enclosed in a box that can be inserted into the holder, described in Paragraph 0035 and electronic device 14 may be attached to different accessories/gear of the rider or the vehicle itself and may perform in the same manner as explained with respect to the helmet 40. For instance, FIGS. 15-17 illustrate exemplary accessories such as a chest protector 80, an elbow pad 82, and a knee pad 84, respectively, having electronic device 14, described in Paragraph 0040).
Thus, given the system of Dingle as modified by Hara and having the teaching of Jones disclosing a system and method for monitoring comprising: a plurality of sensors and wearable indicators that is also well-known and conventional in the art, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the system of Dingle as modified by Hara by incorporating the teaching of Jones in order to have wherein: (a) the one or more pressure sensor comprises a first pressure sensor, a second pressure sensor, and a third pressure sensor, wherein (i) the first pressure sensor is removable attachable at a first location that is at a right knee rest on the movable object or at or by a right knee of the rider, (ii) the second pressure sensor is removable attachable at a second location that is at a left knee rest on the moveable object or at or by a left knee of the rider, and (iii) the third pressure sensor is removable attachable to a seat of the movable object; and (b) the indicator comprises a first wearable indicator and a second wearable indicator, wherein (i) the first wearable indicator is removably attachable to a right wrist or a right arm of the rider; and (ii) the second wearable indicator is removably attachable to a left wrist or a left arm of the rider, for the obvious advantages of providing performance monitoring as suggested by Jones (Paragraphs 0007-0008).
As to claim 17, the combination of Dingle as modified by Hara and Jones as set forth above in claim 16, further having the disclosure of Jones that discloses indicators 26 are configured to indicate each of the one or more plurality of conditions or performance as detected by the plurality of sensors 12 separately, described in Paragraph 0050, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the combination of Dingle Hara and Jones in order to have wherein the system is operable in real time to: (a) provide a first set of indications to the rider, via the first wearable indicator, based upon information recorded from the recorder obtained from the first pressure sensor; (b) provide a second set of indications to the rider, via the second wearable indicator, based upon information recorded from the recorder obtained from the second pressure sensor; and (c) provide a third set of indications to the rider, simultaneously via the first wearable indicator and the second wearable indicator, based upon information recorded from the recorder obtained from the third pressure sensor, for the same motivational reason/s as stated above in claim 16.
As to claim 20, the combination of Dingle and Hara as set forth above in claims 18 and 19, the combination of Dingle and Hara does not expressly disclose wherein, (a) the system when the rider is riding the movable object outside pre-set parameters for the position of a right knee of the rider relative to a right knee rest of the movable object, the first wearable indicator provides an indication to the rider; (c) when the rider is riding the movable object outside pre-set parameters for the position of the left knee of the rider relative to a left knee rest of the movable object, the second wearable indicator provides an indication to the rider; and (d) when the rider is riding the movable object outside pre-set parameters for the position of the rider relative to seat of the movable object, the first wearable indicator and the second wearable indictor simultaneously provide an indication to the rider.
Hara discloses a pressure sensor that attachable to a seat of the movable object (a pressure operated element that detects a pressure applied to the sensor 20 by the sensed element 100. The sensor 20 includes a base member 104, an input portion 106 and an actuator portion 108. The base member 104 is attached to the second part 22, while the input portion 106 is pivotally attached to the base member 104. The input portion 106 of the sensor 20 is configured to be depressed by the sensed element 100 when a rider sits on the saddle 14, described in Paragraph 0125).
Further, Jones discloses a system and method for monitoring (described in Abstract) comprising: one or more sensor comprises a first sensor, a second sensor, and a third sensor, wherein the first sensor is removable attachable at a first location that is at a right on the movable object or at or by a right knee of the rider, the second sensor is removable attachable at a second location that is at a left on the moveable object or at or by a left knee of the rider, and an indicator comprises a first wearable indicator and a second wearable indicator, wherein the first wearable indicator is removably attachable to a right wrist or a right arm of the rider; and the second wearable indicator is removably attachable to a left wrist or a left arm of the rider (electronic device 14 may be embedded into the at least one accessory A. Some non-limiting examples of the at least one accessory A are helmets, gloves, boots, armor suits, chest protectors, jackets, knee pads, elbow pads, portions of the vehicle (e.g., motorcycle), and the like. The electronic device 14 may be inserted or embedded into the at least one accessory A using a holder. The holder may be attached to the at least one accessory A within an interior part of the at least one accessory A. In some embodiments, the electronic device 14 may be a chip that can be inserted into the holder. In other embodiments, the electronic device 14 may be a small circuit enclosed in a box that can be inserted into the holder, described in Paragraph 0035 and electronic device 14 may be attached to different accessories/gear of the rider or the vehicle itself and may perform in the same manner as explained with respect to the helmet 40. For instance, FIGS. 15-17 illustrate exemplary accessories such as a chest protector 80, an elbow pad 82, and a knee pad 84, respectively, having electronic device 14, described in Paragraph 0040).
Thus, given the system and method of Dingle as modified by Hara and having the teaching of Jones disclosing a system and method for monitoring comprising: a plurality of sensors and wearable indicators that is also well-known and conventional in the art, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the system and method of Dingle as modified by Hara by incorporating the teaching of Jones in order to have wherein, (a) the system when the rider is riding the movable object outside pre-set parameters for the position of a right knee of the rider relative to a right knee rest of the movable object, the first wearable indicator provides an indication to the rider; (c) when the rider is riding the movable object outside pre-set parameters for the position of the left knee of the rider relative to a left knee rest of the movable object, the second wearable indicator provides an indication to the rider; and (d) when the rider is riding the movable object outside pre-set parameters for the position of the rider relative to seat of the movable object, the first wearable indicator and the second wearable indictor simultaneously provide an indication to the rider, for the obvious advantages of providing performance monitoring as suggested by Jones (Paragraphs 0007-0008).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following cited arts are further to show the state of related art.
U.S. Publication No. 2016/0046339 A1 of CHEN et al, discloses an apparatus for detecting a riding posture is suitable for detecting a riding posture of a rider riding a bicycle. The apparatus for detecting a riding posture includes a sensor and a controller. The sensor is connected to the bicycle to sense a relationship between the rider and the bicycle and output a sensing signal accordingly.
U.S. Publication No. 2024/0345653 A1 of MENDELSON et al, discloses an attraction capable of incorporating user interactivity. The attraction utilizes a slide for supporting a rider, with a ride vehicle or without. The ride vehicle may support one or multiple riders that allows the riders to manipulate its position or other associated elements while on the attraction. Upon manipulating an element, a signal may be transmitted. This signal may aid in determining whether a rider has successfully manipulated the element, for example, at an appropriate time. Sensors along the attraction may also be configured to track the user and/or ride vehicle via determining vicinity of the user and/or ride vehicle at a known location. Various rewards and/or features may be enabled based upon successful manipulation and/or user position. The attraction may include one or more illuminating features. Statistics or other information may be determined, stored, and/or provided (e.g., using mobile applications and/or scoreboards) relating to user performance.
U.S. Publication No. 2025/0378750 A1 JONES et al, discloses a system and a method for monitoring vehicle riders and vehicles. The system comprises a plurality of sensors associated with a rider and an electronic device. The plurality of sensors detects at least one condition or performance of the rider and generate corresponding first set of signals. The electronic device receives first set of signals and generate a second set of signals. The second set of signals may be sent to one or more user devices for analyzing the detected at least one condition or the performance of the rider. The system further includes some of the plurality of sensors associated with a corresponding vehicle of the rider to detect at least one condition or performance of the corresponding vehicle. The system further indicates the detected at least one condition or the performance of the rider and/or the corresponding vehicle on one or more indicators.
Correspondence
/SISAY YACOB/ April 04, 2026 Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2686