Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 6 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang (CN110601399A).
Regarding Claim 1, Yang discloses a rotor (rotor core 5) (Yang Fig. 1), comprising:
a rotor core (also rotor core 5) comprising a plurality of mounting grooves (mounting slots 6) (Yang Fig. 1);
and a plurality of permanent magnets (inner permanent magnets 10 and outer permanent magnets 7) disposed in the plurality of mounting grooves, respectively (Yang Fig. 1),
and materials of the permanent magnets in at least two of the mounting grooves being different (Yang Para [0031] whole paragraph discloses inner permanent magnets 10 are made of ferrite and outer permanent magnets 7 are made of a rare earth material);
wherein the mounting grooves comprise first mounting grooves (inner radial mounting slots 6) (Yang Fig. 1),
and a first permanent magnet (also inner permanent magnet 10) disposed in each of the first mounting grooves comprises a first magnet (see below in annotated Yang Fig. 1) and a second magnet (see below in annotated Yang Fig. 1) that are disposed next to each other (Yang Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 2, Yang discloses the rotor according to claim 1, wherein the first permanent magnet in each of the first mounting grooves comprises ferrite (Yang Para [0031] line 2).
Regarding Claim 3, Yang discloses the rotor according to claim 2, wherein the first mounting grooves are disposed in a circumferential direction of the rotor core (Yang Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 4, Yang discloses the rotor according to claim 2, wherein the mounting grooves further comprise second mounting grooves (outer radial mounting slots 6) (Yang Fig. 1),
and the second mounting grooves are disposed on a radial outer side of the first mounting grooves (Yang Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 5, Yang discloses the rotor according to claim 4, wherein a second permanent magnet (also outer permanent magnet 7) disposed in each of the second mounting grooves comprises a third magnet (see above in annotated Yang Fig. 1) and a fourth magnet (see above in annotated Yang Fig. 1) that are disposed next to each other (Yang Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 6, Yang discloses the rotor according to claim 5, wherein the second permanent magnet disposed in each of the second mounting grooves comprises a rare earth material different from ferrite (Yang Para [0031] lines 3 – 4).
Regarding Claim 20, Yang discloses a motor (spatial permanent magnet motor) (Yang Para [0024] line 1),
comprising a rotor (rotor core 5) (Yang Fig. 1),
the rotor (Yang Fig. 1) comprises:
a rotor core (also rotor core 5) comprising a plurality of mounting grooves (mounting slots 6) (Yang Fig. 1);
and a plurality of permanent magnets (inner permanent magnets 10 and outer permanent magnets 7) disposed in the plurality of mounting grooves, respectively (Yang Fig. 1),
and materials of the permanent magnets in at least two of the mounting grooves being different (Yang Para [0031] whole paragraph discloses inner permanent magnets 10 are made of ferrite and outer permanent magnets 7 are made of a rare earth material);
wherein the mounting grooves comprise first mounting grooves (inner radial mounting slots 6) (Yang Fig. 1),
and a first permanent magnet (also inner permanent magnet 10) disposed in each of the first mounting grooves comprises a first magnet (see above in annotated Yang Fig. 1) and a second magnet (see above in annotated Yang Fig. 1) that are disposed next to each other (Yang Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 – 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Huang et al. (US 20140175932 A1).
Regarding Claim 7, Yang discloses the rotor according to claim 5, wherein in a width direction of each of the first mounting grooves (Yang Fig. 1),
a width of the first magnet is W1 (see above in annotated Yang Fig. 1),
and a width of the second magnet is W2 (see above in annotated Yang Fig. 1);
and in a width direction of each of the second mounting grooves (Yang Fig. 1),
a width of the third magnet is W3 (see above in annotated Yang Fig. 1),
and a width of the fourth magnet is W4 (see above in annotated Yang Fig. 1).
Yang does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the rotor substantially satisfies: 0.1 (W3+W4) ≤ (W1+W2) ≤ 3.3 (W3+W4).
Huang et al. discloses:
the width and length of a permanent magnet can be adjusted (Huang et al. Para [0036] whole paragraph). This shows that the width is a result effective variable crucial in improving the utilization rate of the permanent magnetitic flux and torque of the motor. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have optimized W1, W2, W3, and W4 wherein the rotor substantially satisfies: 0.1 (W3+W4) ≤ (W1+W2) ≤ 3.3 (W3+W4) (see below in annotated Huang et al. Fig. 1 and MPEP 2144.05).
Yang and Huang et al. discloses permanent magnets therefore, Huang et al. constitutes as prior art. Huang et al. discloses that a width and length of a permanent magnet can be adjusted. It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Yang so that the rotor substantially satisfies: 0.1 (W3+W4) ≤ (W1+W2) ≤ 3.3 (W3+W4), as taught by Huang et al. so as to improve the utilization rate of the permanent magnetitic flux and torque of the motor.
Regarding Claim 8, Yang and Huang et al. discloses the rotor according to claim 7.
Yang does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the rotor substantially satisfies: 0.3 (W3+W4) ≤ (W1+W2) ≤ 1.95 (W3+W4).
Huang et al. discloses:
the width and length of a permanent magnet can be adjusted (Huang et al. Para [0036] whole paragraph). This shows that the width is a result effective variable crucial in improving the utilization rate of the permanent magnetitic flux and torque of the motor. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have optimized W1, W2, W3, and W4 wherein the rotor substantially satisfies: 0.3 (W3+W4) ≤ (W1+W2) ≤ 1.95 (W3+W4) (see above in annotated Huang et al. Fig. 1 and MPEP 2144.05).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Yang so that the rotor substantially satisfies: 0.3 (W3+W4) ≤ (W1+W2) ≤ 1.95 (W3+W4), as taught by Huang et al. so as to improve the utilization rate of the permanent magnetitic flux and torque of the motor.
Claims 9 – 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Cui et al. (CN113036965A).
Regarding Claim 9, Yang discloses the rotor according to claim 5.
Yang does not disclose:
wherein the mounting grooves further comprise third mounting grooves,
the third mounting grooves extend in a radial direction of the rotor core,
one of the third mounting grooves is disposed on each of two sides of each of the first mounting grooves along a length direction of each of the first mounting grooves,
and a length direction of each of the third mounting grooves and the length direction of each of the first mounting grooves form an angle.
Cui et al. disclose:
wherein the mounting grooves further comprise third mounting grooves (rectangular slot 2 and irregular air slots 6) (Cui et al. Fig. 1),
the third mounting grooves extend in a radial direction of the rotor core (Cui et al. Fig. 1 discloses rectangular slots 2 and irregular air slots 6 extending in a radial direction on a portion of the rotor core).
Yang and Cui et al. structurally disclose:
one of the third mounting grooves is disposed on each of two sides (of Cui et al. Fig. 2) of each of the first mounting grooves along a length direction of each of the first mounting grooves (of annotated Yang et al. Fig. 1_2 shown above),
and a length direction of each of the third mounting grooves (of annotated Cui et al. Fig. 2 shown above) and the length direction of each of the first mounting grooves (of annotated Yang et al. Fig. 1_2 shown above) form an angle (of Yang et al. Fig. 1_2 and of Cui et al. Fig. 2).
Yang and Cui et al. disclose permanent magnets therefore, Cui et al. constitute as prior art. Cui et al. discloses a rotor having a plurality of magnet grooves with a plurality of permanent magnets mounted within. It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the mounting grooves further comprise third mounting grooves and the third mounting grooves extend in a radial direction of the rotor core of Cui et al., and one of the third mounting grooves is disposed on each of two sides of each of the first mounting grooves along a length direction of each of the first mounting grooves and a length direction of each of the third mounting grooves and the length direction of each of the first mounting grooves form an angle of structurally disclosed Yang and Cui et al. for the purpose of reducing cogging torque, torque fluctuation, and jitter generated during rotation of the rotor.
Regarding Claim 10, Yang and Cui et al. disclose the rotor according to claim 9.
Yang does not disclose:
wherein a third permanent magnet in each of the third mounting grooves comprises a fifth magnet and a sixth magnet that are disposed next to each other.
Cui et al. disclose:
wherein a third permanent magnet (first permanent magnet 2.1 and second permanent magnet 2.2) in each of the third mounting grooves comprises a fifth magnet (also first permanent magnet 2.1) and a sixth magnet (also second permanent magnet 2.2) that are disposed next to each other (Cui et al. Fig. 2).
It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein a third permanent magnet in each of the third mounting grooves comprises a fifth magnet and a sixth magnet that are disposed next to each other of Cui et al. for the purpose of enhancing the overall magnetic field strength in the rotor.
Regarding Claim 11, Yang and Cui et al. disclose the rotor according to claim 10.
Yang does not disclose:
wherein the third permanent magnet in each of the third mounting grooves comprises a rare earth material.
Cui et al. discloses:
wherein the third permanent magnet in each of the third mounting grooves comprises a rare earth material (Cui et al. Para [0069] lines 1 – 2 discloses first permanent magnet 2.1 is made of neodymium iron boron, which is a rare earth material).
It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the third permanent magnet in each of the third mounting grooves comprises a rare earth material of Cui et al. for the purpose of efficiently increasing the overall magnetic field strength in the rotor.
Claims 12 – 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Cui et al. and further in view of Huang et al.
Regarding Claim 12, Yang and Cui et al. disclose the rotor according to claim 10, wherein on a cross section perpendicular to a rotation axis (rotation axis of rotating shaft 9) of the rotor core (Yang Fig. 1),
and L1 is a distance from an outermost side of each of the second mounting grooves to an outer edge of the rotor core (see below in annotated Yang Fig. 1_3),
and L3 is a distance from an outermost side of each of the first mounting grooves to the outer edge of the rotor core (see below in annotated Yang Fig. 1_3.
Yang does not disclose:
the rotor substantially satisfies: 2.5
L
2
L
1
≤
L
3
L
1
≤ 3.1
L
3
L
2
;
L2 is a distance from an outermost side of each of the third mounting grooves to the outer edge of the rotor core.
Cui et al. discloses:
L2 is a distance from an outermost side of each of the third mounting grooves to the outer edge of the rotor core (see above in annotated Cui et al. Fig. 2_1).
Yang and Cui et al. do not disclose:
the rotor substantially satisfies: 2.5
L
2
L
1
≤
L
3
L
1
≤ 3.1
L
3
L
2
.
Huang et al. discloses:
the thickness and length of a permanent magnet can be adjusted. This shows that the thickness and length is a result effective variable crucial in improving the utilization rate of the permanent magnetitic flux and torque of the motor. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have optimized L1, L2, and L3 wherein the rotor substantially satisfies: 2.5
L
2
L
1
≤
L
3
L
1
≤ 3.1
L
3
L
2
. (see below in annotated Huang et al. Fig. 1_2 and MPEP 2144.05).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Yang so that the rotor substantially satisfies: 2.5
L
2
L
1
≤
L
3
L
1
≤ 3.1
L
3
L
2
, as taught by Huang et al. so as to improve the utilization rate of the permanent magnetitic flux and torque of the motor.
Regarding Claim 13, Yang and Cui et al. disclose the rotor according to claim 12.
Yang and Cui et al. do not disclose:
wherein the rotor substantially satisfies: 2.52
L
2
L
1
≤
L
3
L
1
≤ 1.07
L
3
L
1
.
Huang et al. discloses:
the thickness and length of a permanent magnet can be adjusted. This shows that the thickness and length is a result effective variable crucial in improving the utilization rate of the permanent magnetitic flux and torque of the motor. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have optimized L1, L2, and L3 wherein the rotor substantially satisfies: 2.52
L
2
L
1
≤
L
3
L
1
≤ 1.07
L
3
L
1
. (see above in annotated Huang et al. Fig. 1_2 and MPEP 2144.05).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Yang so that the rotor substantially satisfies: 2.52
L
2
L
1
≤
L
3
L
1
≤ 1.07
L
3
L
1
, as taught by Huang et al. so as to improve the utilization rate of the permanent magnetitic flux and torque of the motor.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14 – 19 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding Claim 14, the prior art discloses various rotors having a measured connection line length between a geometric center of a permanent magnet and a center of a rotor core. However, the particular structure in combination with previously recited features, wherein a length of a first connection line between a geometric center of the fourth magnet and a center of the rotor core is L4;
a length of a second connection line between a geometric center of the third magnet and the center of the rotor core is L5; and an angle between the first connection line and a d-axis of the rotor core is α1, an angle between the second connection line and the d-axis is α2, a width of the fourth magnet is W4, a width of the first magnet is W1, and the rotor substantially satisfies: 0.1*L4
c
o
s
3
a
1
c
o
s
3
a
2
≤ W1/W4 ≤ 0.12*L5
c
o
s
3
a
1
c
o
s
3
a
2
is not disclosed/suggested in the prior art. Thus, the invention recited above is neither anticipated nor rendered obvious in the art.
Regarding Claim 15, it has the same allowable structure as presented above in allowable claim 14.
Regarding Claim 16, it has the same allowable structure as presented above in allowable claim 14.
Regarding Claim 17, it is allowable because it is dependent on allowable claim 16.
Regarding Claim 18, the prior art discloses various rotors having a measured connection line length between a geometric center of a permanent magnet and a center of a rotor core. However, the particular structure in combination with previously recited features, wherein a length of a first connection line between a geometric center of the fourth magnet and a center of the rotor core is L4; a length of a second connection line between a geometric center of the third magnet and the center of the rotor core is L5; the length of a third connection line between the geometric center of the fifth magnet and the center of the rotor core is L6; and wherein the rotor substantially satisfies: 1.01
L
4
L
5
≤
L
4
L
6
≤ 1.1
L
5
L
6
is not disclosed/suggested in the prior art. Thus, the invention recited above is neither anticipated nor rendered obvious in the art.
Regarding Claim 19, it is allowable because it is dependent on allowable claim 18.
Conclusion
/THEODORE L PERKINS/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/TERRANCE L KENERLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834