DETAILED ACTION
This correspondence is in response to applicant’s reply filed on 05/26/2026. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Berjot et al. (U.S. Pat. 11542025).
Regarding claim 1, Berjot discloses a system for an aircraft, comprising: a turbine engine case 54; and an attachment configured to mount the turbine engine case 54 to a pylon structure 52 and transfer one or more loads between the turbine engine case 54 and the pylon structure 52, the attachment including a bracket 50, a first link 80 and a second link 74; the bracket 50 configured to mount to the pylon structure 52 through a bracket-pylon pin connection 96 such that the attachment is operable to pivot about the bracket-pylon pin connection 96 and move relative to the pylon structure 52 (as seen in Fig. 9), the bracket 50 mounted to the first link 80 through a bracket-first link pin connection 84, and the bracket 50 mounted to the second link 74 through a bracket-second link pin connection 78; the first link 80 mounted to the turbine engine case 54 through a first link-case pin connection 82; and the second link 74 mounted to the turbine engine case 54 through a second link-case pin connection 76.
Regarding claim 2, Berjot discloses the system, where the bracket-pylon pin connection 96 includes a bracket-pylon connection pin 78 and a bracket-pylon connection bearing 102; the bracket-pylon connection pin 78 is configured to mount the bracket-pylon connection bearing 102 to the pylon structure 52; and the bracket-pylon connection bearing 102 is mounted with the bracket 50.
Regarding claim 3, Berjot discloses the system, where at least one of the bracket-first link pin connection 84 includes a bracket-first link connection pin 84 and a bracket-first link connection bearing 102, the bracket-first link connection pin 84 is configured to mount the bracket-first link connection bearing 102 to the bracket 50, and the bracket-first link connection bearing 102 is mounted with the first link 80; or the bracket-second link pin connection 78 includes a bracket-second link connection pin 78 and a bracket-second link connection bearing 102, the bracket-second link connection pin 78 is configured to mount the bracket-second link connection bearing 102 to the bracket 50, and the bracket-second link connection bearing 102 is mounted with the second link 74.
Regarding claim 4, Berjot discloses the system, where at least one of the first link-case pin connection 82 includes a first link-case connection pin 92 and a first link-case connection bearing 102’, the first link-case connection pin 92 is configured to mount the first link-case connection bearing 102’ to the turbine engine case 54 (as seen in Fig. 12), and the first link-case connection bearing 102’ is mounted with the first link 80; or the second link-case pin connection 76 includes a second link-case connection pin 92 and a second link-case connection bearing 102’, the second link-case connection pin 92 is configured to mount the second link-case connection bearing 102’ to the turbine engine case 54 (as shown in Fig. 12), and the second link-case connection bearing 102’ is mounted with the second link 74.
Regarding claim 5, Berjot discloses the system, where the bracket-first link pin connection 84 is a first bracket-first link pin connection, and the bracket 50 is further mounted to the first link 80 through a second bracket-first link pin connection 72.
Regarding claim 6, Berjot discloses the system, where at least one of the first bracket-first link pin connection 70 includes a first bracket-first link connection pin 78 and a first bracket-first link connection bearing 102, the first bracket-first link connection pin 78 is configured to mount the first bracket-first link connection bearing 102 to the bracket 50, and the first bracket-first link connection bearing 102 is mounted with the first link 80 (see Fig. 10); or the second bracket-first link pin connection 72 includes a second bracket-first link connection pin 84 and a second bracket-first link connection bearing 102, the second bracket-first link connection pin 84 is configured to mount the second bracket-first link connection bearing 102 to the bracket 50, and the second bracket-first link connection bearing 102 is mounted with the first link 80 (see Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 7, Berjot discloses the system, where the second bracket-first link pin connection 72 is located laterally between the first bracket-first link pin connection 84 and the bracket-second link pin connection 78 along the bracket 50 (as seen in Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 8, Berjot discloses the system, where a centerline axis of the bracket-pylon pin connection 96 is parallel with a centerline axis of the turbine engine case 54 (as seen in Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 9, Berjot discloses the system, where a centerline axis of the bracket-pylon pin connection 96 is parallel with each of a centerline axis of the bracket-first link pin connection 84; and a centerline axis of the bracket-second link pin connection 78.
Regarding claim 10, Berjot discloses the system, where a centerline axis of the turbine engine case 54 is parallel with each of a centerline axis of the bracket-first link pin connection 84; a centerline axis of the bracket-second link pin connection 78; a centerline axis of the first link-case pin connection 82; and a centerline axis of the second link-case pin connection 76.
Regarding claim 11, Berjot discloses the system, where the bracket 50 is mounted to the turbine engine case 54 through a bracket-case pin connection 104,104’ located laterally between the first link-case pin connection 82 and the second link-case pin connection 76.
Regarding claim 12, Berjot discloses the system, where the bracket-case pin connection 104,104’ includes a bracket-case connection pin mated with an over-sized hole in a mount of the turbine engine case 54 (as seen in Fig. 9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13-16 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berjot in view of Dumas et al. (U.S. Pat. 10385721).
Regarding claims 13-16 and 20, Berjot is discussed above, and teaches the system as claimed. However, Berjot fails to explicitly teach or disclose structural vanes, a propulsor rotor or the specific components of the engine’s stages. Dumas teaches a system for controlling variable pitch blades of a turbine engine, comprising a compressor 10, vanes 12, casing 16, and rotors (see discussion in col. 3, lines 12-21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Berjot to have the compressor, vanes, propulsor rotor, and the corresponding engine stages of Dumas, in order to provide a system to regulate the angular orientation of the vanes in order to optimize the gas flow in the compressor, as taught to be desirable by Dumas et al. (see discussion in col. 3, lines 19-21).
Claim(s) 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berjot in view of Cayssials et al. (U.S. Pat. 11459115).
Regarding claim 17, Berjot discloses a system for an aircraft, comprising: a turbine engine case 54; a pylon structure 52; and an attachment mounting the turbine engine case 54 to the pylon structure 52, the attachment configured to transfer one or more loads between the turbine engine case 54 and the pylon structure 52, and the attachment including a bracket 50, a first link 80, and a second link 74; the bracket 50 fixedly connected to the pylon structure 52, the bracket 50 mounted to the first link 80 through a bracket-first link pin connection 84, the bracket 50 mounted to the second link 74 through a bracket-second link pin connection 78; the first link 80 mounted to the turbine engine case 54 through a first link-case pin connection 82; and the second link 74 mounted to the turbine engine case 54 through a second link-case pin connection 76. Regarding claim 17, Berjot fails to teach a center link mounted to the bracket. Cayssials teaches a system for an aircraft, comprising a bracket 68, first link 78, second link 70, and a center link 82, where the bracket 68 is mounted to the center link 82 through a bracket-center link pin connection (as seen in Fig. 5); and the center link 82 is mounted to a turbine engine case 58 through a center link-case pin connection 74.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Berjot to have a center link, in order to provide a system that results in significant volume in the transverse direction, where the lower part of the primary structure is very wide, adversely affecting the aerodynamic performance of the strut, as taught to be desirable by Cayssials (see discussion in col. 1, lines 63-67).
Regarding claim 18, Cayssials teaches the system, where the bracket-center link pin connection 74 includes a bracket-center link connection pin 82.1 and a bracket-center link connection bearing (as taught by Berjot), the bracket-center link connection pin 82.1 is configured to mount the bracket-center link connection bearing to the bracket, and the bracket-center link connection bearing is mounted with the center link 82; and the center link-case pin connection includes a center link-case connection pin 82.1 mated with an over-sized hole in a mount of the turbine engine case 58 (as seen in Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 19, Berjot and Cayssials teach the system, where the first link 80, the second link 74 and the center link 82 lay in a common reference plane that is perpendicular to a centerline axis of the turbine engine case 54.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With regards to the Applicant’s argument that Berjot fails to disclose: “the attachment including a bracket, a first link and a second link; the bracket mounted to the first link through a bracket-first link pin connection, and the bracket mounted to the second link through a bracket-second link pin connection…” the Examiner submits the following. Berjot discloses the system for an aircraft, where the attachment includes a bracket 50, a first link 80 and a second link 74; the bracket 50 mounted to the first link 80 through a bracket-first link pin connection 84, and the bracket 50 mounted to the second link 74 through a bracket-second link pin connection 78. For the Applicant’s clarity, the bracket 50 can be seen in the exploded view of Fig. 8, of Berjot. Therefore, since Berjot explicitly discloses the limitations of the claimed invention, it is submitted that the rejections stand as stated.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Michael McDuffie/Examiner, Art Unit 3632 4-Aug-26
/TERRELL L MCKINNON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3632