Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/13/2024 has been received and considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,191,185.
A comparison of the subject matter of claim 1 of the instant application with the claim 1 of the Patent shows the following:
Instant Application: 18/981,155
US Patent No. 12,191,185
A semiconductor manufacturing system, comprising:
A semiconductor manufacturing system, comprising:
a processing station configured to perform a semiconductor manufacturing process on a substrate contained within a chamber of the processing station;
a processing station configured to perform an integrated circuit (IC) manufacturing process on a substrate contained within a chamber of the processing station;
a vacuum chuck contained within the chamber and configured to hold the substrate, wherein the vacuum chuck comprises,
a vacuum chuck contained within the chamber and configured to hold the substrate, wherein the vacuum chuck comprises,
at least one vacuum groove located on a top surface of the vacuum chuck, wherein the at least one vacuum groove is associated with a first plurality of pin holes, wherein each of the first plurality of pin holes is vertically aligned with the at least one vacuum groove, and wherein a respective one of the first plurality of pin holes is configured to allow a respective one of a first plurality of pins to extend upwardly and retract through the respective one of the first plurality of pin holes to raise and lower the substrate on the vacuum chuck; and
at least one vacuum groove located on a top surface of the vacuum chuck, wherein the top surface is configured to face the substrate, wherein the at least one vacuum groove is associated with a first plurality of pin holes, wherein each of the first plurality of pin holes is vertically aligned with the at least one vacuum groove, and wherein a respective one of the first plurality of pin holes is configured to allow a respective one of a first plurality of pins to extend upwardly and retract through the respective one of the first plurality of pin holes to raise and lower the substrate on the vacuum chuck; and
at least one flexible seal ring disposed on the vacuum chuck and extending outwardly from the top surface, wherein the at least one flexible seal ring is configured to directly contact a bottom surface of the substrate and is adjacent to the at least one vacuum groove so as to form a vacuum seal between the substrate and the vacuum chuck.
at least one flexible seal ring disposed on the vacuum chuck and extending outwardly from the top surface, wherein the at least one flexible seal ring is configured to directly contact a bottom surface of the substrate and is adjacent to the at least one vacuum groove so as to form a vacuum seal between the substrate and the vacuum chuck,
wherein the at least one flexible seal ring comprises a flexible seal ring that follows a contour of a peripheral edge of the vacuum chuck including a cutout region of the vacuum chuck, wherein the cutout region extends toward a center of the vacuum chuck so as to allow a mechanism to load and unload the substrate onto and from the vacuum chuck.
The claims of the instant application appear to have a similar scope of their corresponding clams in the patent, other than a slight re-wording of the claims, that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize as being obvious variants of each other. Thus, since the subject matter of the Patent claim anticipates the broader subject matter of the instant claims, the aforementioned nonstatutory Double Patenting is deemed necessary.
A comparison of the subject matter of claim 2 of the instant application with the claim 2 of the Patent shows the following:
Instant Application: 18/981,155
US Patent No. 12,191,185
The semiconductor manufacturing system of claim 1,
The semiconductor manufacturing system of claim 1,
wherein the at least one flexible seal ring comprises a plurality of flexible seal rings and at least two of the plurality of flexible seal rings is positioned to surround a respective one of a second plurality of pin holes formed in the vacuum chuck, wherein a respective one of the second plurality of pin holes is configured to allow a respective one of a second plurality of pins to extend upwardly and retract through the respective one of the second plurality of pin holes to raise and lower the substrate on the vacuum chuck.
wherein the at least one flexible seal ring comprises a plurality of flexible seal rings and at least two of the plurality of flexible seal rings is positioned to surround a respective one of a second plurality of pin holes formed in the vacuum chuck, wherein a respective one of the second plurality of pin holes is configured to allow a respective one of a second plurality of pins to extend upwardly and retract through the respective one of the second plurality of pin holes to raise and lower the substrate on the vacuum chuck.
The claims of the instant application appear to have a similar scope of their corresponding clams in the patent, other than a slight re-wording of the claims, that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize as being obvious variants of each other. Thus, since the subject matter of the Patent claim anticipates the broader subject matter of the instant claims, the aforementioned nonstatutory Double Patenting is deemed necessary.
A comparison of the subject matter of claim 3 of the instant application with the claim 3 of the Patent shows the following:
Instant Application: 18/981,155
US Patent No. 12,191,185
The semiconductor manufacturing system of claim 2,
The semiconductor manufacturing system of claim 2,
wherein the vacuum chuck further comprises: a plurality of seal-ring trenches, wherein the plurality of seal-ring trenches is configured to hold the plurality of flexible seal rings on the vacuum chuck; and
wherein the vacuum chuck further comprises: a plurality of seal-ring trenches, wherein the plurality of seal-ring trenches is configured to hold the plurality of flexible seal rings on the vacuum chuck; and
at least one vacuum hole, wherein the at least one vacuum hole is coupled to the at least one vacuum groove and to at least one vacuum source for providing vacuum suction to the substrate through the at least one vacuum groove.
at least one vacuum hole, wherein the at least one vacuum hole is coupled to the at least one vacuum groove and to at least one vacuum source for providing vacuum suction to the substrate through the at least one vacuum groove.
The claims of the instant application appear to have a similar scope of their corresponding clams in the patent, other than a slight re-wording of the claims, that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize as being obvious variants of each other. Thus, since the subject matter of the Patent claim anticipates the broader subject matter of the instant claims, the aforementioned nonstatutory Double Patenting is deemed necessary.
A comparison of the subject matter of claim 4 of the instant application with the claim 4 of the Patent shows the following:
Instant Application: 18/981,155
US Patent No. 12,191,185
The semiconductor manufacturing system of claim 3,
The semiconductor manufacturing system of claim 3,
wherein each of the plurality of flexible seal rings has a first height in a direction perpendicular to the top surface of the vacuum chuck, wherein the first height is in a range of 5-15 millimeters, and wherein the plurality of seal-ring trenches has a depth in the direction perpendicular to the top surface of the vacuum chuck, wherein the depth is in a range of 4-7 millimeters.
wherein each of the plurality of flexible seal rings has a first height in a direction perpendicular to the top surface of the vacuum chuck, wherein the first height is in a range of 5-15 millimeters, and wherein the plurality of seal-ring trenches has a depth in the direction perpendicular to the top surface of the vacuum chuck, wherein the depth is in a range of 4-7 millimeters.
The claims of the instant application appear to have a similar scope of their corresponding clams in the patent, other than a slight re-wording of the claims, that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize as being obvious variants of each other. Thus, since the subject matter of the Patent claim anticipates the broader subject matter of the instant claims, the aforementioned nonstatutory Double Patenting is deemed necessary.
A comparison of the subject matter of claim 5 of the instant application with the claim 5 of the Patent shows the following:
Instant Application: 18/981,155
US Patent No. 12,191,185
The semiconductor manufacturing system of claim 4,
The semiconductor manufacturing system of claim 4,
wherein the first height is at least 2 millimeters greater than the depth.
wherein the first height is at least 2 millimeters greater than the depth.
The claims of the instant application appear to have a similar scope of their corresponding clams in the patent, other than a slight re-wording of the claims, that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize as being obvious variants of each other. Thus, since the subject matter of the Patent claim anticipates the broader subject matter of the instant claims, the aforementioned nonstatutory Double Patenting is deemed necessary.
A comparison of the subject matter of claim 6 of the instant application with the claim 6 of the Patent shows the following:
Instant Application: 18/981,155
US Patent No. 12,191,185
The semiconductor manufacturing system of claim 1,
The semiconductor manufacturing system of claim 1,
wherein the at least one vacuum groove comprises a plurality of vacuum grooves that are concentric and interconnected through at least one vacuum channel passageway in the vacuum chuck.
wherein the at least one vacuum groove comprises a plurality of vacuum grooves that are concentric and interconnected through at least one vacuum channel passageway in the vacuum chuck.
The claims of the instant application appear to have a similar scope of their corresponding clams in the patent, other than a slight re-wording of the claims, that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize as being obvious variants of each other. Thus, since the subject matter of the Patent claim anticipates the broader subject matter of the instant claims, the aforementioned nonstatutory Double Patenting is deemed necessary.
A comparison of the subject matter of claim 7 of the instant application with the claim 7 of the Patent shows the following:
Instant Application: 18/981,155
US Patent No. 12,191,185
The semiconductor manufacturing system of claim 1,
The semiconductor manufacturing system of claim 1,
wherein the at least one flexible seal ring has a zigzag cross section and the zigzag cross section comprises a plurality of line segments, wherein two adjacent line segments are coupled together to form a corner with a variable angle.
wherein the at least one flexible seal ring has a zigzag cross section and the zigzag cross section comprises a plurality of line segments, wherein two adjacent line segments are coupled together to form a corner with a variable angle.
The claims of the instant application appear to have a similar scope of their corresponding clams in the patent, other than a slight re-wording of the claims, that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize as being obvious variants of each other. Thus, since the subject matter of the Patent claim anticipates the broader subject matter of the instant claims, the aforementioned nonstatutory Double Patenting is deemed necessary.
A comparison of the subject matter of claim 8 of the instant application with the claim 8 of the Patent shows the following:
Instant Application: 18/981,155
US Patent No. 12,191,185
A vacuum chuck for handling a warped substrate, comprising:
A vacuum chuck for handling a warp substrate, comprising:
at least one vacuum groove located on a top surface of the vacuum chuck, wherein the top surface is configured to face the warped substrate, wherein the at least one vacuum groove is associated with a first plurality of pin holes, wherein each of the first plurality of pin holes is vertically aligned with the at least one vacuum groove, and wherein a respective one of the first plurality of pin holes is configured to allow a respective one of a first plurality of pins to extend upwardly and retract through the respective one of the first plurality of pin holes to raise and lower the warped substrate on the vacuum chuck; and
at least one vacuum groove located on a top surface of the vacuum chuck, wherein the top surface is configured to face the warp substrate, wherein the at least one vacuum groove is associated with a first plurality of pin holes, wherein each of the first plurality of pin holes is vertically aligned with the at least one vacuum groove, and wherein a respective one of the first plurality of pin holes is configured to allow a respective one of a first plurality of pins to extend upwardly and retract through the respective one of the first plurality of pin holes to raise and lower the warp substrate on the vacuum chuck;
a first flexible seal ring disposed on the vacuum chuck and extending outwardly from the top surface, wherein the first flexible seal ring is configured to directly contact a bottom surface of the warped substrate and is adjacent to the at least one vacuum groove so as to form a vacuum seal between the substrate and the vacuum chuck, wherein the first flexible seal ring is positioned to surround a second pin hole formed in the vacuum chuck, and wherein the second pin hole is configured to allow a second pin to extend upwardly and retract through the second pin hole to raise and lower the warp substrate on the vacuum chuck.
a first flexible seal ring disposed on the vacuum chuck and extending outwardly from the top surface, wherein the first flexible seal ring is configured to directly contact a bottom surface of the warp substrate and is adjacent to the at least one vacuum groove so as to form a vacuum seal between the substrate and the vacuum chuck, wherein the first flexible seal ring is positioned to surround a second pin hole formed in the vacuum chuck, and wherein the second pin hole is configured to allow a second pin to extend upwardly and retract through the second pin hole to raise and lower the warp substrate on the vacuum chuck; and
a second flexible seal ring that follows a contour of a peripheral edge of the vacuum chuck including a cutout region of the vacuum chuck, wherein the cutout region extends toward a center of the vacuum chuck so as to allow a mechanism to load and unload the substrate onto and from the vacuum chuck, and wherein the second flexible seal ring is configured to directly contact the bottom surface of the warp substrate and is adjacent to the at least one vacuum groove so as to form a vacuum seal between the warp substrate and the vacuum chuck.
The claims of the instant application appear to have a similar scope of their corresponding clams in the patent, other than a slight re-wording of the claims, that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize as being obvious variants of each other. Thus, since the subject matter of the Patent claim anticipates the broader subject matter of the instant claims, the aforementioned nonstatutory Double Patenting is deemed necessary.
A comparison of the subject matter of claim 9 of the instant application with the claim 9 of the Patent shows the following:
Instant Application: 18/981,155
US Patent No. 12,191,185
The vacuum chuck of claim 8,
The vacuum chuck of claim 8,
further comprising: a first seal-ring trench configured to hold the first flexible seal ring on the vacuum chuck; and
further comprising: a first seal-ring trench configured to hold the first flexible seal ring on the vacuum chuck; and
at least one vacuum hole, wherein the at least one vacuum hole is coupled to the at least one vacuum groove and to at least one vacuum source for providing vacuum suction to the warped substrate through the at least one vacuum groove.
at least one vacuum hole, wherein the at least one vacuum hole is coupled to the at least one vacuum groove and to at least one vacuum source for providing vacuum suction to the warp substrate through the at least one vacuum groove.
The claims of the instant application appear to have a similar scope of their corresponding clams in the patent, other than a slight re-wording of the claims, that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize as being obvious variants of each other. Thus, since the subject matter of the Patent claim anticipates the broader subject matter of the instant claims, the aforementioned nonstatutory Double Patenting is deemed necessary.
A comparison of the subject matter of claim 10 of the instant application with the claim 10 of the Patent shows the following:
Instant Application: 18/981,155
US Patent No. 12,191,185
The vacuum chuck of claim 9,
The vacuum chuck of claim 9,
wherein the first flexible seal ring has a first height in a direction perpendicular to the top surface of the vacuum chuck, wherein the first height is in a range of 5-15 millimeters, and wherein the first seal-ring trench has a depth in the direction perpendicular to the top surface of the vacuum chuck, wherein the depth is in a range of 4-7 millimeters.
wherein the first flexible seal ring has a first height in a direction perpendicular to the top surface of the vacuum chuck, wherein the first height is in a range of 5-15 millimeters, and wherein the first seal-ring trench has a depth in the direction perpendicular to the top surface of the vacuum chuck, wherein the depth is in a range of 4-7 millimeters.
The claims of the instant application appear to have a similar scope of their corresponding clams in the patent, other than a slight re-wording of the claims, that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize as being obvious variants of each other. Thus, since the subject matter of the Patent claim anticipates the broader subject matter of the instant claims, the aforementioned nonstatutory Double Patenting is deemed necessary.
A comparison of the subject matter of claim 11 of the instant application with the claim 11 of the Patent shows the following:
Instant Application: 18/981,155
US Patent No. 12,191,185
The vacuum chuck of claim 10,
The vacuum chuck of claim 10,
wherein the first height is at least 2 millimeters greater than the depth.
wherein the first height is at least 2 millimeters greater than the depth.
The claims of the instant application appear to have a similar scope of their corresponding clams in the patent, other than a slight re-wording of the claims, that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize as being obvious variants of each other. Thus, since the subject matter of the Patent claim anticipates the broader subject matter of the instant claims, the aforementioned nonstatutory Double Patenting is deemed necessary.
A comparison of the subject matter of claim 12 of the instant application with the claim 12 of the Patent shows the following:
Instant Application: 18/981,155
US Patent No. 12,191,185
The vacuum chuck of claim 8,
The vacuum chuck of claim 8,
wherein the at least one vacuum groove comprises a plurality of vacuum grooves that are concentric with one another and interconnected through at least one vacuum channel passageway in the vacuum chuck.
wherein the at least one vacuum groove comprises a plurality of vacuum grooves that are concentric with one another and interconnected through at least one vacuum channel passageway in the vacuum chuck.
The claims of the instant application appear to have a similar scope of their corresponding clams in the patent, other than a slight re-wording of the claims, that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize as being obvious variants of each other. Thus, since the subject matter of the Patent claim anticipates the broader subject matter of the instant claims, the aforementioned nonstatutory Double Patenting is deemed necessary.
A comparison of the subject matter of claim 13 of the instant application with the claim 13 of the Patent shows the following:
Instant Application: 18/981,155
US Patent No. 12,191,185
The vacuum chuck of claim 8,
The vacuum chuck of claim 8,
wherein the first flexible seal ring has a zigzag cross section comprising a plurality of line segments, wherein two adjacent line segments are coupled together to form a corner with a variable angle.
wherein the first flexible seal ring has a zigzag cross section comprising a plurality of line segments, wherein two adjacent line segments are coupled together to form a corner with a variable angle.
The claims of the instant application appear to have a similar scope of their corresponding clams in the patent, other than a slight re-wording of the claims, that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize as being obvious variants of each other. Thus, since the subject matter of the Patent claim anticipates the broader subject matter of the instant claims, the aforementioned nonstatutory Double Patenting is deemed necessary.
A comparison of the subject matter of claim 14 of the instant application with the claims 1 and 14 of the Patent shows the following:
Instant Application: 18/981,155
US Patent No. 12,191,185
The vacuum chuck of claim 8,
further comprising: a second flexible seal ring that follows a contour of a peripheral edge of the vacuum chuck including a cutout region of the vacuum chuck, wherein the cutout region extends toward a center of the vacuum chuck so as to allow a mechanism to load and unload the warped substrate onto and from the vacuum chuck, wherein the second flexible seal ring is configured to directly contact the bottom surface of the warped substrate and is adjacent to the at least one vacuum groove so as to form a vacuum seal between the warped substrate and the vacuum chuck,
(Claim 1, col. 16 ll. 64-67 and col. 17 ll. 1-8) a second flexible seal ring that follows a contour of a peripheral edge of the vacuum chuck including a cutout region of the vacuum chuck, wherein the cutout region extends toward a center of the vacuum chuck so as to allow a mechanism to load and unload the substrate onto and from the vacuum chuck, and wherein the second flexible seal ring is configured to directly contact the bottom surface of the warp substrate and is adjacent to the at least one vacuum groove so as to form a vacuum seal between the warp substrate and the vacuum chuck.
and wherein when a vacuum is applied to the at least one vacuum groove, the first flexible seal ring is compressed by a first distance, and the second flexible seal ring is compressed by a second distance that is different from the first distance.
(Claim 14) wherein when a vacuum is applied to the at least one vacuum groove, the first flexible seal ring is compressed by a first distance, and the second flexible seal ring is compressed by a second distance that is different from the first distance.
The claims of the instant application appear to have a similar scope of their corresponding clams in the patent, other than a slight re-wording of the claims, that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize as being obvious variants of each other. Thus, since the subject matter of the Patent claim anticipates the broader subject matter of the instant claims, the aforementioned nonstatutory Double Patenting is deemed necessary.
A comparison of the subject matter of claim 15 of the instant application with the claim 15 of the Patent shows the following:
Instant Application: 18/981,155
US Patent No. 12,191,185
A method for handling a semiconductor substrate, comprising:
A method for handling a semiconductor substrate, comprising:
placing the semiconductor substrate on a top surface of a vacuum chuck having at least one vacuum groove formed therein, and at least one flexible seal ring located adjacent to of the at least one vacuum groove and extending upwardly from the top surface, wherein the at least one vacuum groove is associated with a first plurality of pin holes, wherein each of the first plurality of pin holes is vertically aligned with the at least one vacuum groove, and wherein a respective one of the first plurality of pin holes is configured to allow a respective one of a first plurality of pins to extend upwardly and retract through the respective one of the first plurality of pin holes to raise and lower the semiconductor substrate on the vacuum chuck;
placing the semiconductor substrate on a top surface of a vacuum chuck having at least one vacuum groove formed therein, and at least one flexible seal ring located adjacent to of the at least one vacuum groove and extending upwardly from the top surface, wherein the at least one flexible seal ring follows a contour of a peripheral edge of the vacuum chuck including a cutout region of the vacuum chuck, wherein the cutout region extends toward a center of the vacuum chuck so as to allow a mechanism to load and unload the substrate onto and from the vacuum chuck, wherein the at least one vacuum groove is associated with a first plurality of pin holes, wherein each of the first plurality of pin holes is vertically aligned with the at least one vacuum groove, and wherein a respective one of the first plurality of pin holes is configured to allow a respective one of a first plurality of pins to extend upwardly and retract through the respective one of the first plurality of pin holes to raise and lower the semiconductor substrate on the vacuum chuck;
applying a vacuum suction via the at least one vacuum groove on the vacuum chuck so as to form a vacuum seal between the semiconductor substrate and the vacuum chuck within an interior space of the at least one flexible seal ring;
applying a vacuum suction via the at least one vacuum groove on the vacuum chuck so as to form a vacuum seal between the semiconductor substrate and the vacuum chuck within an interior space of the at least one flexible seal ring;
performing a semiconductor manufacturing process on the semiconductor substrate; and
performing a semiconductor manufacturing process on the semiconductor substrate; and
releasing the vacuum suction on the vacuum chuck.
releasing the vacuum suction on the vacuum chuck.
The claims of the instant application appear to have a similar scope of their corresponding clams in the patent, other than a slight re-wording of the claims, that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize as being obvious variants of each other. Thus, since the subject matter of the Patent claim anticipates the broader subject matter of the instant claims, the aforementioned nonstatutory Double Patenting is deemed necessary.
A comparison of the subject matter of claim 16 of the instant application with the claim 16 of the Patent shows the following:
Instant Application: 18/981,155
US Patent No. 12,191,185
The method of claim 15, wherein the vacuum chuck further comprises:
The method of claim 15, wherein the vacuum chuck further comprises:
at least one seal-ring trench configured to hold the at least one flexible seal ring on the vacuum chuck; and
at least one seal-ring trench configured to hold the at least one flexible seal ring on the vacuum chuck; and
at least one vacuum hole, wherein the at least one vacuum hole is coupled to the at least one vacuum groove and to at least one vacuum source for providing vacuum suction to the semiconductor substrate through the at least one vacuum groove.
at least one vacuum hole, wherein the at least one vacuum hole is coupled to the at least one vacuum groove and to at least one vacuum source for providing vacuum suction to the semiconductor substrate through the at least one vacuum groove.
The claims of the instant application appear to have a similar scope of their corresponding clams in the patent, other than a slight re-wording of the claims, that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize as being obvious variants of each other. Thus, since the subject matter of the Patent claim anticipates the broader subject matter of the instant claims, the aforementioned nonstatutory Double Patenting is deemed necessary.
A comparison of the subject matter of claim 17 of the instant application with the claim 17 of the Patent shows the following:
Instant Application: 18/981,155
US Patent No. 12,191,185
The method of claim 16,
The method of claim 16,
wherein the at least one flexible seal ring comprises a plurality of flexible seal rings each having a first height in a direction perpendicular to the top surface of the vacuum chuck, wherein the first height is in a range of 5-15 millimeters, and wherein the at least one seal-ring trench comprises a plurality of seal-ring trenches each having a depth in the direction perpendicular to the top surface of the vacuum chuck, wherein the depth is in a range of 4-7 millimeters.
wherein the at least one flexible seal ring comprises a plurality of flexible seal rings each having a first height in a direction perpendicular to the top surface of the vacuum chuck, wherein the first height is in a range of 5-15 millimeters, and wherein the at least one seal-ring trench comprises a plurality of seal-ring trenches each having a depth in the direction perpendicular to the top surface of the vacuum chuck, wherein the depth is in a range of 4-7 millimeters.
The claims of the instant application appear to have a similar scope of their corresponding clams in the patent, other than a slight re-wording of the claims, that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize as being obvious variants of each other. Thus, since the subject matter of the Patent claim anticipates the broader subject matter of the instant claims, the aforementioned nonstatutory Double Patenting is deemed necessary.
A comparison of the subject matter of claim 18 of the instant application with the claim 18 of the Patent shows the following:
Instant Application: 18/981,155
US Patent No. 12,191,185
The method of claim 17,
The method of claim 17,
wherein the first height is at least 2 millimeters greater than the depth.
wherein the first height is at least 2 millimeters greater than the depth.
The claims of the instant application appear to have a similar scope of their corresponding clams in the patent, other than a slight re-wording of the claims, that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize as being obvious variants of each other. Thus, since the subject matter of the Patent claim anticipates the broader subject matter of the instant claims, the aforementioned nonstatutory Double Patenting is deemed necessary.
A comparison of the subject matter of claim 19 of the instant application with the claim 19 of the Patent shows the following:
Instant Application: 18/981,155
US Patent No. 12,191,185
The method of claim 18,
The method of claim 18,
wherein each of the plurality of flexible seal rings has a zigzag cross section and the zigzag cross section comprises a plurality of line segments, wherein two adjacent line segments are coupled together to form a corner with a variable angle.
wherein each of the plurality of flexible seal rings has a zigzag cross section and the zigzag cross section comprises a plurality of line segments, wherein two adjacent line segments are coupled together to form a corner with a variable angle.
The claims of the instant application appear to have a similar scope of their corresponding clams in the patent, other than a slight re-wording of the claims, that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize as being obvious variants of each other. Thus, since the subject matter of the Patent claim anticipates the broader subject matter of the instant claims, the aforementioned nonstatutory Double Patenting is deemed necessary.
A comparison of the subject matter of claim 20 of the instant application with the claims 17 and 20 of the Patent shows the following:
Instant Application: 18/981,155
US Patent No. 12,191,185
The method of claim 19,
wherein the at least one flexible seal ring comprises a first flexible seal ring and a second flexible seal ring, and
Claim 17: wherein the at least one flexible seal ring comprises a plurality of flexible seal rings
wherein when a vacuum is applied to the at least one vacuum grove, the first flexible seal ring surrounding a respective second pin hole is compressed by a first distance, and the second flexible seal ring that follows a contour of a peripheral edge of the vacuum chuck is compressed by a second distance that is different from the first distance.
Claim 20: wherein when a vacuum is applied to the at least one vacuum grove, the first flexible seal ring surrounding a respective second pin hole is compressed by a first distance, and the second flexible seal ring that follows the contour of the peripheral edge of the vacuum chuck is compressed by a second distance that is different from the first distance.
The claims of the instant application appear to have a similar scope of their corresponding clams in the patent, other than a slight re-wording of the claims, that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize as being obvious variants of each other. Thus, since the subject matter of the Patent claim anticipates the broader subject matter of the instant claims, the aforementioned nonstatutory Double Patenting is deemed necessary.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tran (US Pub. No. 2005/0111161) in view of Boyd (US Pub. No. 2018/0330926) and Balan (US Pub. No. 2018/0108559).
Regarding claim 1, Tran discloses: a semiconductor manufacturing system (Figures 1-7 and see also paragraph 0016), comprising:
a vacuum chuck (element 5) configured to hold the substrate (see paragraph 0018 where the prior art discloses element 5 holds “a wafer (not shown)” (substrate)), wherein the vacuum chuck comprises,
at least one vacuum groove (element 512) located on a top surface (element 510) of the vacuum chuck, wherein the at least one vacuum groove is associated with a first plurality of pin holes (element 518 and see also paragraph 0020 where the prior art discloses having “four” element 518, thus as shown in figure 2 annotated below, the at least one vacuum groove (element 512) is associated with a first plurality of pin holes (Detail A)), wherein each of the first plurality of pin holes is vertically aligned with the at least one vacuum groove (see figure 2 annotated below), and wherein a respective one of the first plurality of pin holes is configured to allow a respective one of a first plurality of pins (element 53 and see also figure 7 annotated below Detail B) to extend upwardly and retract through the respective one of the first plurality of pin holes to raise and lower the substrate on the vacuum chuck (see paragraph 0020 where the prior art discloses element 53 are slideably embedded in element 518 “for lifting and lowering a wafer”, therefore all of the pins (element 53) including the first plurality of pins (Detail B) would necessarily extend upwardly and retract through all of the pin holes (element 518) including the respective one of the first plurality of pin holes (Detail A) in order to raise and lower the substrate (wafer) on the vacuum chuck (element 5)).
However, Tran appears to be silent that the semiconductor manufacturing system comprises a processing station configured to perform an integrated circuit (IC) manufacturing process on a substrate contained within a chamber of the processing station, the vacuum chuck is contained within the chamber, and at least one flexible seal ring disposed on the vacuum chuck and extending outwardly from the top surface, wherein the at least one flexible seal ring is configured to directly contact a bottom surface of the substrate and is adjacent to the at least one vacuum groove so as to form a vacuum seal between the substrate and the vacuum chuck.
Boyd is also concern in providing a semiconductor manufacturing system (Figures 1-7 and see also paragraph 0021) comprising a processing station (figure 1) configured to perform an integrated circuit (IC) manufacturing process on a substrate contained within a chamber of the processing station (see figure 1 and see also paragraph 0021 where the prior art states that the processing station performs plasma processing on the substrate (element 101) that us contained within a chamber (element 100) of the processing station) and further teaches a vacuum chuck (element 170) is contained within the chamber (see figure 1 element 170 is contained inside of the chamber (element 100).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tran to incorporate the teachings of Boyd to provide a processing station configured to perform an integrated circuit (IC) manufacturing process on a substrate contained within a chamber of the processing station and that the vacuum chuck is contained within the chamber. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having a known processing station having the vacuum table within the chamber would necessarily allow the vacuum table to continue hold the workpiece during operations while also providing the added feature of providing an enclosed and secure chamber that allows the user to control the environment/processing type that the work piece is exposed to during operations.
However, Tran modified appears to be silent comprising at least one flexible seal ring disposed on the vacuum chuck and extending outwardly from the top surface, wherein the at least one flexible seal ring is configured to directly contact a bottom surface of the substrate and is adjacent to the at least one vacuum groove so as to form a vacuum seal between the substrate and the vacuum chuck.
Balan is also concern in providing a semiconductor manufacturing system (Figures 1-8 and see also paragraph 0028) comprising a vacuum chuck (element 100) configured to hold the substrate (element 110), wherein the vacuum chuck comprises at least one vacuum groove (elements 120-125) located on a top surface of the vacuum chuck (see figure 1-2), and a plurality of holes (see figures 1 and figure 2 annotated below showing the holes where element 102 resides within as indicated in Detail A) having a plurality of lifting structures (element 102/104/105) that extend upwardly and retract through the respective one of the first plurality of pin holes to raise and lower the substrate on the vacuum chuck (see figures 3-4). Balan further teaches wherein the vacuum chuck comprises at least one flexible seal ring (element 111) disposed on the vacuum chuck and extending outwardly from the top surface (see figures 1-2 showing a plurality of element 111 (at least one flexible seal ring disposed on and extending outwardly from the top surface of the chuck (element 100)), wherein the at least one flexible seal ring is configured to directly contact a bottom surface of the substrate (see figures 1 and 4) and is adjacent to the at least one vacuum groove so as to form a vacuum seal between the substrate and the vacuum chuck (see figures 2-4 elements 111 (flexible seal rings) are configured to directly contact a bottom surface of the substrate (element 110) an is adjacent to the vacuum grooves (elements 120-125), thus forming a vacuum seal between the substrate and the vacuum chuck).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Tran to incorporate the teachings of Balan to provide at least one flexible seal ring disposed on the vacuum chuck and extending outwardly from the top surface, wherein the at least one flexible seal ring is configured to directly contact a bottom surface of the substrate and is adjacent to the at least one vacuum groove so as to form a vacuum seal between the substrate and the vacuum chuck. The resultant combination would have the least one (element 111) residing within each of the plurality of holes (see figures 1 and figure 2 annotated above showing the holes where element 102 resides within as indicated in Detail A) and surrounding the plurality of lifting structures (element 102/104/105) of Balan now having each of the least one flexible seal ring residing within each of the pin holes (element 518) and surrounding each of the plurality of pins (element 53) of prior art Tran. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that providing a plurality of flexible seal rings disposed on the vacuum chuck would necessarily allow the flexible seal rings to easily deform in compliance with the surface irregularity or waviness of the bottom face of the workpiece, thus providing a more even contact support. Additionally, having the seal rings surrounding the lift pin holes would necessarily limit or prevent leakage from the lift pin openings into the vacuum region.
Regarding claim 2, Tran modified discloses: the semiconductor manufacturing system of claim 1, wherein the at least one flexible seal ring comprises a plurality of flexible seal rings (see figure 2 of prior art of Balan showing the at least one flexible seal ring as a plurality of flexible seal rings (element 111)) and at least two of the plurality of flexible seal rings is positioned to surround a respective one of a second plurality of pin holes (see figure 2 annotated below Detail C) formed in the vacuum chuck (As described above in the rejection of claim 1, the resultant combination of the Tran modified would have the plurality of flexible seal rings (element 111) that surround each plurality of lifting structures (see figures 1-2) of Balan now having each of the least one flexible seal ring residing within each of the pin holes (element 518) and surrounding each of the plurality of pins (element 53) of prior art Tran. Thus, as modified, Tran modified would necessarily have at least two of the plurality of flexible seal rings positioned to surround a respective one of the second plurality of pin holes formed in the vacuum chuck, as recited.), wherein a respective one of the second plurality of pin holes is configured to allow a respective one of a second plurality of pins (element 53 and see also figure 7 annotated below Detail D) to extend upwardly and retract through the respective one of the second plurality of pin holes to raise and lower the substrate on the vacuum chuck (see paragraph 0020 where the prior art discloses element 53 are slideably embedded in element 518 “for lifting and lowering a wafer”, therefore all of the pins (element 53) including the second plurality of pins (Detail D) would necessarily extend upwardly and retract through all of the pin holes (element 518) including the respective one of the second plurality of pin holes (Detail C) in order to raise and lower the substrate (wafer) on the vacuum chuck (element 5)).
Regarding claim 3, Tran modified discloses: the semiconductor manufacturing system of claim 2, wherein the vacuum chuck further comprises: at least one vacuum hole (element 513), wherein the at least one vacuum hole is coupled to the at least one vacuum groove (see figure 2 and see also paragraph 0019) and to at least one vacuum source (see paragraph 0021 where the prior art discloses the vacuum chuck (element 5) comprising “a vacuum connect” (element 515) for connecting “a vacuum” (at least one vacuum source) to the element 513) for providing vacuum suction to the substrate through the at least one vacuum groove (see paragraphs 0019/0021).
However, Tran modified appears to be silent wherein the vacuum chuck further comprises: a plurality of seal-ring trenches, wherein the plurality of seal-ring trenches is configured to hold the plurality of flexible seal rings on the vacuum chuck.
Balan is also concern in providing a semiconductor manufacturing system (Figures 1-8 and see also paragraph 0028) comprising a vacuum chuck (element 100) configured to hold the substrate (element 110), wherein the vacuum chuck comprises at least one vacuum groove (elements 120-125) located on a top surface of the vacuum chuck (see figure 1-2), and a plurality of flexible seal rings (element 111). Balan further teaches wherein the vacuum chuck further comprises: a plurality of seal-ring trenches (element 112 and see also figure 1 annotated below Detail A), wherein the plurality of seal-ring trenches is configured to hold the plurality of flexible seal rings on the vacuum chuck (see figure 1 annotated below showing and see also paragraph 0036 where the prior art disclosed element 112 (plurality of seal-ring trenches) are fabricated in the chuck body (element 101) and each sealing element including element 111 (plurality of flexible seal rings) is mounted within element 112), thus the plurality of seal-ring trenches are capable of holding the plurality of flexible seal rings on the vacuum chuck).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Tran to incorporate the teachings of Balan to provide wherein the vacuum chuck further comprises: a plurality of seal-ring trenches, wherein the plurality of seal-ring trenches is configured to hold the plurality of flexible seal rings on the vacuum chuck. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that providing a known connection means including the plurality of trenches would necessarily secure and prevent the plurality of seal-rings from disassembling from the vacuum chuck during holding operations, thus preventing the vacuum chuck or workpiece from being damaged during operations.
Regarding claim 4, Tran modified discloses: the semiconductor manufacturing system of claim 3, wherein each of the plurality of flexible seal rings has a first height (see figure 3 annotated below Detail A of prior art Balan) in a direction perpendicular to the top surface of the vacuum chuck (see figure 3 annotated below of prior art Balan showing the height (Detail A) being perpendicular to the top surface of the vacuum chuck), and wherein the plurality of seal-ring trenches has a depth (see figure 3 annotated below Detail B of prior art Balan) in the direction perpendicular to the top surface of the vacuum chuck (see figure 3 annotated below of prior art Balan showing the depth (Detail B) being perpendicular to the top surface of the vacuum chuck).
However, Tran modified appears to be silent wherein the first height is in a range of 5-15 millimeters and wherein the depth is in a range of 4-7 millimeters.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify the invention with regards to the first height is in a range of 5-15 millimeters and wherein the depth is in a range of 4-7 millimeters, since such modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. Further, one could provide a suitable height and depth as desired by the user depending on the particular work piece being used with the device in order to enable the plurality of flexible rings to accommodate a variety of warped wafers during operations. (See MPEP 2144.04 (IV)). Furthermore, applicant fails to disclose any criticality in having the specific ranges provides any unexpected result (see paragraph 0048 of the specification).
Regarding claim 5, Tran modified discloses all the limitations as stated in the rejection of claims 1-4, but appears to be silent in wherein the first height is at least 2 millimeters greater than the depth.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify the invention with regards to the first height is at least 2 millimeters greater than the depth, since such modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. Further, one could provide a suitable height as desired by the user depending on the particular work piece being used with the device in order to enable the plurality of flexible rings to accommodate a variety of warped wafers during operations. (See MPEP 2144.04 (IV)). Furthermore, applicant fails to disclose any criticality in having the specific height value being greater provides any unexpected result (see paragraph 0048 of the specification).
Regarding claim 6, Tran modified discloses: the semiconductor manufacturing system of claim 1, wherein the at least one vacuum groove comprises a plurality of vacuum grooves (see figure 2 and see also paragraph 0019 where the prior art discloses element 512 as “vacuum grooves”) that are concentric (see figure 2) and interconnected through at least one vacuum channel passageway (see figure 2 annotated below Detail A) in the vacuum chuck.
Regarding claim 7, Tran modified discloses all the limitations as stated in the rejection of claim 1, but appears to be silent wherein the at least one flexible seal ring has a zigzag cross section and the zigzag cross section comprises a plurality of line segments, wherein two adjacent line segments are coupled together to form a corner with a variable angle.
Balan is also concern in providing a semiconductor manufacturing system (Figures 1-8 and see also paragraph 0028) comprising a vacuum chuck (element 100) configured to hold the substrate (element 110), wherein the vacuum chuck comprises at least one vacuum groove (elements 120-125) located on a top surface of the vacuum chuck (see figure 1-2), and a plurality of flexible seal rings (element 111). Balan further teaches wherein the at least one flexible seal ring has a zigzag cross section (see figure 3 annotated below showing the at least one flexible seal ring (element 111) having a zigzag cross section) and the zigzag cross section comprises a plurality of line segments (see figure 3 annotated below Detail A/B), wherein two adjacent line segments are coupled together to form a corner (see figure 3 annotated below Detail C) with a variable angle (see figure 3 annotated below Detail D).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Tran to incorporate the teachings of Balan to provide wherein the at least one flexible seal ring has a zigzag cross section and the zigzag cross section comprises a plurality of line segments, wherein two adjacent line segments are coupled together to form a corner with a variable angle. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having flexible seal rings with the claimed structure (i.e. zigzag cross section) would necessarily allow the device to continue to function as intended in order to provide a plurality of flexible seal rings disposed on the vacuum chuck would necessarily allow the flexible seal rings to easily deform in compliance with the surface irregularity or waviness of the bottom face of the workpiece, thus providing a more even contact support. Additionally, having the seal rings surrounding the lift pin holes would necessarily limit or prevent leakage from the lift pin openings into the vacuum region.
Claims 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tran (US Pub. No. 2005/0111161) in view of Balan (US Pub. No. 2018/0108559).
Regarding claim 8, Tran discloses: a vacuum chuck (Figures 1-7 element 5 and see also paragraph 0016) for handling a warped substrate (Applicant is reminded, a claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim (See MPEP 2114 (II)), comprising:
at least one vacuum groove (element 512) located on a top surface (element 510) of the vacuum chuck, wherein the top surface is configured to face the warped substrate (The examiner indicates that the warped substrate and any associated structure has not been positively recited as the claimed invention (i.e. vacuum chuck). Therefore, given that the prior art discloses element 510 (top surface) is used “for receiving and holding a wafer” (see paragraph 0019), and giving that there is no additional structure or structural difference, thus the prior art would be capable of having the top surface face the warped substrate, as recited.), wherein the at least one vacuum groove is associated with a first plurality of pin holes (element 518 and see also paragraph 0020 where the prior art discloses having “four” element 518, thus as shown in figure 2 annotated below, the at least one vacuum groove (element 512) is associated with a first plurality of pin holes (Detail A)), wherein each of the first plurality of pin holes is vertically aligned with the at least one vacuum groove (see figure 2 annotated below), and wherein a respective one of the first plurality of pin holes is configured to allow a respective one of a first plurality of pins (element 53 and see also figure 7 annotated below Detail B) to extend upwardly and retract through the respective one of the first plurality of pin holes to raise and lower the warped substrate on the vacuum chuck (see paragraph 0020 where the prior art discloses element 53 are slideably embedded in element 518 “for lifting and lowering a wafer”, therefore all of the pins (element 53) including the first plurality of pins (Detail B) would necessarily extend upwardly and retract through all of the pin holes (element 518) including the respective one of the first plurality of pin holes (Detail A) in order to raise and lower the substrate (wafer) on the vacuum chuck (element 5)); and
a second pin hole (see figure 2 annotated below Detail C) formed in the vacuum chuck (see figure 2 annotated below), and wherein the second pin hole is configured to allow a second pin (see figure 2 annotated below Detail D) to extend upwardly and retract through the second pin hole to raise and lower the warp substrate on the vacuum chuck (see paragraph 0020 where the prior art discloses element 53 are slideably embedded in element 518 “for lifting and lowering a wafer”, therefore all of the pins (element 53) including the second pin (Detail D) would necessarily extend upwardly and retract through all of the pin holes (element 518) including the respective one of the second pin holes (Detail C) in order to raise and lower the substrate (wafer) on the vacuum chuck (element 5)).
However, Tran appears to be silent that the vacuum chuck comprises a first flexible seal ring disposed on the vacuum chuck and extending outwardly from the top surface, wherein the first flexible seal ring is configured to directly contact a bottom surface of the warped substrate and is adjacent to the at least one vacuum groove so as to form a vacuum seal between the substrate and the vacuum chuck, wherein the first flexible seal ring is positioned to surround the second pin hole formed in the vacuum chuck.
Balan is also concern in providing a semiconductor manufacturing system (Figures 1-8 and see also paragraph 0028) comprising a vacuum chuck (element 100) configured to hold the substrate (element 110), wherein the vacuum chuck comprises at least one vacuum groove (elements 120-125) located on a top surface of the vacuum chuck (see figure 1-2), and a plurality of holes (see figures 1 and figure 2 annotated below showing the holes where element 102 resides within as indicated in Detail A) having a plurality of lifting structures (element 102/104/105) that extend upwardly and retract through the respective one of the first plurality of pin holes to raise and lower the substrate on the vacuum chuck (see figures 3-4). Balan further teaches wherein the vacuum chuck comprises at least one flexible seal ring (element 111) disposed on the vacuum chuck and extending outwardly from the top surface (see figures 1-2 showing a plurality of element 111 (at least one flexible seal ring disposed on and extending outwardly from the top surface of the chuck (element 100)), wherein the at least one flexible seal ring is configured to directly contact a bottom surface of the substrate (see figures 1 and 4) and is adjacent to the at least one vacuum groove so as to form a vacuum seal between the substrate and the vacuum chuck (see figures 2-4 elements 111 (flexible seal rings) are configured to directly contact a bottom surface of the substrate (element 110) an is adjacent to the vacuum grooves (elements 120-125), thus forming a vacuum seal between the substrate and the vacuum chuck).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Tran to incorporate the teachings of Balan to provide at least one flexible seal ring disposed on the vacuum chuck and extending outwardly from the top surface, wherein the at least one flexible seal ring is configured to directly contact a bottom surface of the substrate and is adjacent to the at least one vacuum groove so as to form a vacuum seal between the substrate and the vacuum chuck. The resultant combination would have the least one (element 111) residing within each of the plurality of holes (see figures 1 and figure 2 annotated above showing the holes where element 102 resides within as indicated in Detail A) and surrounding the plurality of lifting structures (element 102/104/105) of Balan now having each of the least one flexible seal ring residing within each of the pin holes (element 518) and surrounding each of the plurality of pins (element 53) of prior art Tran. Therefore, as modified, Tran modified would necessarily have the first flexible seal ring is positioned to surround the second pin hole formed in the vacuum chuck, as recited. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that providing a plurality of flexible seal rings disposed on the vacuum chuck would necessarily allow the flexible seal rings to easily deform in compliance with the surface irregularity or waviness of the bottom face of the workpiece, thus providing a more even contact support. Additionally, having the seal rings surrounding the lift pin holes would necessarily limit or prevent leakage from the lift pin openings into the vacuum region.
Regarding claim 9, Tran modified discloses: the vacuum chuck of claim 8, further comprising: and at least one vacuum hole (element 513), wherein the at least one vacuum hole is coupled to the at least one vacuum groove (see figure 2 and see also paragraph 0019) and to at least one vacuum source (see paragraph 0021 where the prior art discloses the vacuum chuck (element 5) comprising “a vacuum connect” (element 515) for connecting “a vacuum” (at least one vacuum source) to the element 513) for providing vacuum suction to the warped substrate through the at least one vacuum groove (see paragraphs 0019/0021).
However, Tran modified appears to be silent wherein the vacuum chuck further comprises: a first seal-ring trench configured to hold the first flexible seal ring on the vacuum chuck.
Balan is also concern in providing a semiconductor manufacturing system (Figures 1-8 and see also paragraph 0028) comprising a vacuum chuck (element 100) configured to hold the substrate (element 110), wherein the vacuum chuck comprises at least one vacuum groove (elements 120-125) located on a top surface of the vacuum chuck (see figure 1-2), and a plurality of flexible seal rings (element 111). Balan further teaches wherein the vacuum chuck further comprises: a first seal-ring trench (element 112 and see also figure 1 annotated below Detail A) configured to hold the first flexible seal ring on the vacuum chuck (see figure 1 annotated below showing and see also paragraph 0036 where the prior art disclosed element 112 (first seal-ring trench) are fabricated in the chuck body (element 101) and each sealing element including element 111 (first flexible seal ring) is mounted within element 112), thus the first seal-ring trench is capable of holding the first flexible seal ring on the vacuum chuck).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Tran to incorporate the teachings of Balan to provide wherein the vacuum chuck further comprises: a first seal-ring trench configured to hold the first flexible seal ring on the vacuum chuck. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that providing a known connection means including the plurality of trenches would necessarily secure and prevent the plurality of seal-rings from disassembling from the vacuum chuck during holding operations, thus preventing the vacuum chuck or workpiece from being damaged during operations.
Regarding claim 10, Tran modified discloses: the vacuum chuck of claim 9, wherein the first flexible seal ring has a first height (see figure 3 annotated below Detail A of prior art Balan) in a direction perpendicular to the top surface of the vacuum chuck (see figure 3 annotated below of prior art Balan showing the height (Detail A) being perpendicular to the top surface of the vacuum chuck), and wherein the first seal-ring trench has a depth (see figure 3 annotated below Detail B of prior art Balan) in the direction perpendicular to the top surface of the vacuum chuck (see figure 3 annotated below of prior art Balan showing the depth (Detail B) being perpendicular to the top surface of the vacuum chuck).
However, Tran modified appears to be silent wherein the first height is in a range of 5-15 millimeters and wherein the depth is in a range of 4-7 millimeters.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify the invention with regards to the first height is in a range of 5-15 millimeters and wherein the depth is in a range of 4-7 millimeters, since such modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. Further, one could provide a suitable height and depth as desired by the user depending on the particular work piece being used with the device in order to enable the plurality of flexible rings to accommodate a variety of warped wafers during operations. (See MPEP 2144.04 (IV)). Furthermore, applicant fails to disclose any criticality in having the specific ranges provides any unexpected result (see paragraph 0048 of the specification).
Regarding claim 11, Tran modified discloses all the limitations as stated in the rejection of claims 8-10, but appears to be silent wherein the first height is at least 2 millimeters greater than the depth.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify the invention with regards to the first height is at least 2 millimeters greater than the depth, since such modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. Further, one could provide a suitable height as desired by the user depending on the particular work piece being used with the device in order to enable the plurality of flexible rings to accommodate a variety of warped wafers during operations. (See MPEP 2144.04 (IV)). Furthermore, applicant fails to disclose any criticality in having the specific height value being greater provides any unexpected result (see paragraph 0048 of the specification).
Regarding claim 12, Tran modified discloses: the vacuum chuck of claim 8, wherein the at least one vacuum groove comprises a plurality of vacuum grooves (see figure 2 and see also paragraph 0019 where the prior art discloses element 512 as “vacuum grooves”) that are concentric (see figure 2) and interconnected through at least one vacuum channel passageway (see figure 2 annotated below Detail A)in the vacuum chuck.
Regarding claim 13, Tran modified discloses all the limitations as stated in the rejection of claim 8, but appears to be silent wherein the first flexible seal ring has a zigzag cross section comprising a plurality of line segments, wherein two adjacent line segments are coupled together to form a corner with a variable angle.
Balan is also concern in providing a semiconductor manufacturing system (Figures 1-8 and see also paragraph 0028) comprising a vacuum chuck (element 100) configured to hold the substrate (element 110), wherein the vacuum chuck comprises at least one vacuum groove (elements 120-125) located on a top surface of the vacuum chuck (see figure 1-2), and a plurality of flexible seal rings (element 111). Balan further teaches wherein the first flexible seal ring has a zigzag cross section (see figure 3 annotated below showing the at least one flexible seal ring (element 111) having a zigzag cross section) comprising a plurality of line segments (see figure 3 annotated below Detail A/B), wherein two adjacent line segments are coupled together to form a corner (see figure 3 annotated below Detail C) with a variable angle (see figure 3 annotated below Detail D).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Tran to incorporate the teachings of Balan to provide wherein the at least one flexible seal ring has a zigzag cross section and the zigzag cross section comprises a plurality of line segments, wherein two adjacent line segments are coupled together to form a corner with a variable angle. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having flexible seal rings with the claimed structure (i.e. zigzag cross section) would necessarily allow the device to continue to function as intended in order to provide a plurality of flexible seal rings disposed on the vacuum chuck would necessarily allow the flexible seal rings to easily deform in compliance with the surface irregularity or waviness of the bottom face of the workpiece, thus providing a more even contact support. Additionally, having the seal rings surrounding the lift pin holes would necessarily limit or prevent leakage from the lift pin openings into the vacuum region.
Regarding claim 14, Tran modified discloses all the limitations as stated in the rejection of claim 8, but appears to be silent wherein the vacuum chuck further comprising: a second flexible seal ring that follows a contour of a peripheral edge of the vacuum chuck including a cutout region of the vacuum chuck, wherein the cutout region extends toward a center of the vacuum chuck so as to allow a mechanism to load and unload the warped substrate onto and from the vacuum chuck, wherein the second flexible seal ring is configured to directly contact the bottom surface of the warped substrate and is adjacent to the at least one vacuum groove so as to form a vacuum seal between the warped substrate and the vacuum chuck, and wherein when a vacuum is applied to the at least one vacuum groove, the first flexible seal ring is compressed by a first distance, and the second flexible seal ring is compressed by a second distance that is different from the first distance.
Balan is also concern in providing a semiconductor manufacturing system (Figures 1-8 and see also paragraph 0028) comprising a vacuum chuck (element 100) configured to hold the substrate (element 110), wherein the vacuum chuck comprises at least one vacuum groove (elements 120-125) located on a top surface of the vacuum chuck (see figure 1-2), and a plurality of holes (see figures 1 and figure 2 annotated below showing the holes where element 102 resides within as indicated in Detail A) having a plurality of lifting structures (element 102/104/105) that extend upwardly and retract through the respective one of the first plurality of pin holes to raise and lower the substrate on the vacuum chuck (see figures 3-4), and at least one flexible seal ring (element 111). Balan further teaches wherein the vacuum chuck further comprising: a second flexible seal ring (element 103) that follows a contour of a peripheral edge (see figure 2 annotated below Detail A) of the vacuum chuck including a cutout region (see figure 3 annotated below Detail C) of the vacuum chuck (see annotated figures 2-3 below showing the flexible ring (element 103) following a contour of a peripheral edge (Detail A) of the chuck including a cut out region (Detail C)), wherein the cutout region extends toward a center (see figure 3 annotated below Detail d) of the vacuum chuck (see annotated figure 3 below) so as to allow a mechanism to load and unload the warped substrate onto and from the vacuum chuck (The examiner indicates that the mechanism and any associated structure has not been positively recited as the claimed invention (i.e. vacuum chuck). Therefore, given that the prior art discloses the vacuum chuck including a cutout region (Detail C) extending towards the middle (Detail D) of the vacuum chuck, and giving that there is no additional structure or structural difference, thus the prior art would be capable of having the mechanism to load and unload the warped substrate onto and from the vacuum chuck, as recited.), wherein the second flexible seal ring is configured to directly contact the bottom surface of the warped substrate and is adjacent to the at least one vacuum groove so as to form a vacuum seal between the warped substrate and the vacuum chuck (see figures 2-4 elements 103 (flexible seal rings) is configured to directly contact a bottom surface of the substrate (element 110) an is adjacent to the vacuum grooves (elements 120-121), thus forming a vacuum seal between the substrate and the vacuum chuck), and wherein when a vacuum is applied to the at least one vacuum groove, the first flexible seal ring is compressed by a first distance, and the second flexible seal ring is compressed by a second distance that is different from the first distance (Giving that the prior art meets the structural limitation of the apparatus including having a vacuum (see figures 3-6) being applied to the at least one vacuum groove (elements 120-125) with both the first and second flexible seal rings (elements 103/111) compressing by a distance (see figures 3-4) and there is no additional structure provided or structural difference, thus the prior art would be capable of having wherein when a vacuum is applied to the at least one vacuum groove, the first flexible seal ring is compressed by a first distance, and the second flexible seal ring is compressed by a second distance that is different from the first distance, as recited.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Tran to incorporate the teachings of Balan to provide wherein the vacuum chuck further comprising: a second flexible seal ring that follows a contour of a peripheral edge of the vacuum chuck including a cutout region of the vacuum chuck, wherein the cutout region extends toward a center of the vacuum chuck so as to allow a mechanism to load and unload the warped substrate onto and from the vacuum chuck, wherein the second flexible seal ring is configured to directly contact the bottom surface of the warped substrate and is adjacent to the at least one vacuum groove so as to form a vacuum seal between the warped substrate and the vacuum chuck, and wherein when a vacuum is applied to the at least one vacuum groove, the first flexible seal ring is compressed by a first distance, and the second flexible seal ring is compressed by a second distance that is different from the first distance. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that providing a plurality of flexible seal rings disposed on the vacuum chuck including having one of the plurality of flexible seal rings that follows a contour of a peripheral edge of the vacuum chuck would necessarily allow the flexible seal rings to easily deform in compliance with the surface irregularity or waviness of the bottom face of the workpiece, thus providing a more even contact support. Additionally, having the seal rings surrounding the contour of the peripheral edge would necessarily limit or prevent leakage.
Claims 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tran (US Pub. No. 2005/0111161) in view of Balan (US Pub. No. 2018/0108559) and Hillman (US Patent No. 2005/0035514).
Regarding claim 15, Tran discloses: a method for handling a semiconductor substrate (Figures 1-7 and see also paragraph 0016), comprising:
placing the semiconductor substrate on a top surface (element 510) of a vacuum chuck (element 5 and see also paragraph 0019) having at least one vacuum groove (element 512) formed therein, wherein the at least one vacuum groove is associated with a first plurality of pin holes, wherein each of the first plurality of pin holes (element 518 and see also paragraph 0020 where the prior art discloses having “four” element 518, thus as shown in figure 2 annotated below, the at least one vacuum groove (element 512) is associated with a first plurality of pin holes (Detail A)) is vertically aligned with the at least one vacuum groove (see figure 2 annotated below), and wherein a respective one of the first plurality of pin holes is configured to allow a respective one of a first plurality of pins (element 53 and see also figure 7 annotated below Detail B) to extend upwardly and retract through the respective one of the first plurality of pin holes to raise and lower the semiconductor substrate on the vacuum chuck (see paragraph 0020 where the prior art discloses element 53 are slideably embedded in element 518 “for lifting and lowering a wafer”, therefore all of the pins (element 53) including the first plurality of pins (Detail B) would necessarily extend upwardly and retract through all of the pin holes (element 518) including the respective one of the first plurality of pin holes (Detail A) in order to raise and lower the substrate (wafer) on the vacuum chuck (element 5));
applying a vacuum suction via the at least one vacuum groove on the vacuum chuck (see paragraph 0021).
However, Tran appears to be silent comprising at least one flexible seal ring located adjacent to of the at least one vacuum groove and extending upwardly from the top surface, applying the vacuum suction via the at least one vacuum groove on the vacuum chuck so as to form a vacuum seal between the semiconductor substrate and the vacuum chuck within an interior space of the at least one flexible seal ring, performing a semiconductor manufacturing process on the semiconductor substrate; and releasing the vacuum suction on the vacuum chuck.
Balan is also concern in providing a semiconductor manufacturing system (Figures 1-8 and see also paragraph 0028) comprising a vacuum chuck (element 100) configured to hold the substrate (element 110), wherein the vacuum chuck comprises at least one vacuum groove (elements 120-125) located on a top surface of the vacuum chuck (see figure 1-2), and a plurality of holes (see figures 1 and figure 2 annotated below showing the holes where element 102 resides within as indicated in Detail A) having a plurality of lifting structures (element 102/104/105) that extend upwardly and retract through the respective one of the first plurality of pin holes to raise and lower the substrate on the vacuum chuck (see figures 3-4). Balan further teaches wherein the vacuum chuck comprises at least one flexible seal ring (element 111) disposed on the vacuum chuck and extending outwardly from the top surface (see figures 1-2 showing a plurality of element 111 (at least one flexible seal ring disposed on and extending outwardly from the top surface of the chuck (element 100)),applying the vacuum suction via the at least one vacuum groove (elements 120-125) on the vacuum chuck so as to form a vacuum seal between the semiconductor substrate and the vacuum chuck within an interior space of the at least one flexible seal ring (see figures 3-5), and performing a semiconductor manufacturing process on the semiconductor substrate (see paragraph 0060).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Tran to incorporate the teachings of Balan to provide at least one flexible seal ring located adjacent to of the at least one vacuum groove and extending upwardly from the top surface, applying the vacuum suction via the at least one vacuum groove on the vacuum chuck so as to form a vacuum seal between the semiconductor substrate and the vacuum chuck within an interior space of the at least one flexible seal ring, and performing a semiconductor manufacturing process on the semiconductor substrate. The resultant combination would have the least one (element 111) residing within each of the plurality of holes (see figures 1 and figure 2 annotated above showing the holes where element 102 resides within as indicated in Detail A) and surrounding the plurality of lifting structures (element 102/104/105) of Balan now having each of the least one flexible seal ring residing within each of the pin holes (element 518) and surrounding each of the plurality of pins (element 53) of prior art Tran. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that providing a plurality of flexible seal rings disposed on the vacuum chuck would necessarily allow the flexible seal rings to easily deform in compliance with the surface irregularity or waviness of the bottom face of the workpiece, thus providing a more even contact support. Additionally, having the seal rings surrounding the lift pin holes would necessarily limit or prevent leakage from the lift pin openings into the vacuum region.
However, Tran modified appears to be silent releasing the vacuum suction on the vacuum chuck.
Hillman teaches it was known in the art to have a vacuum chuck (element 300) supporting a substrate (element 99) and a method of processing procedures utilizing a vacuum chuck (Figure 6) including a step of releasing the vacuum suction on the vacuum chuck (step 508 and 514).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tran to incorporate the teachings of Hillman to provide the step of releasing the vacuum suction on the vacuum chuck. Doing so allows the user to remove the work piece without a vacuum suction present in order to prevent the work piece from being damaged after operations.
Regarding claim 16, Tran modified discloses: the method of claim 15, wherein the vacuum chuck further comprises: at least one vacuum hole (element 513), wherein the at least one vacuum hole is coupled to the at least one vacuum groove (see figure 2 and see also paragraph 0019) and to at least one vacuum source (see paragraph 0021 where the prior art discloses the vacuum chuck (element 5) comprising “a vacuum connect” (element 515) for connecting “a vacuum” (at least one vacuum source) to the element 513) for providing vacuum suction to the semiconductor substrate through the at least one vacuum groove (see paragraphs 0019/0021).
However, Tran modified appears to be silent wherein the vacuum chuck further comprises: at least one seal-ring trench configured to hold the at least one flexible seal ring on the vacuum chuck.
Balan is also concern in providing a semiconductor manufacturing system (Figures 1-8 and see also paragraph 0028) comprising a vacuum chuck (element 100) configured to hold the substrate (element 110), wherein the vacuum chuck comprises at least one vacuum groove (elements 120-125) located on a top surface of the vacuum chuck (see figure 1-2), and a plurality of flexible seal rings (element 111). Balan further teaches wherein the vacuum chuck further comprises: at least one seal-ring trench (element 112 and see also figure 1 annotated below Detail A) configured to hold the at least one flexible seal ring on the vacuum chuck (see figure 1 annotated below showing and see also paragraph 0036 where the prior art disclosed element 112 (first seal-ring trench) are fabricated in the chuck body (element 101) and each sealing element including element 111 (first flexible seal ring) is mounted within element 112), thus the first seal-ring trench is capable of holding the first flexible seal ring on the vacuum chuck).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Tran to incorporate the teachings of Balan to provide wherein the vacuum chuck further comprises: at least one seal-ring trench configured to hold the at least one flexible seal ring on the vacuum chuck. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that providing a known connection means including the plurality of trenches would necessarily secure and prevent the plurality of seal-rings from disassembling from the vacuum chuck during holding operations, thus preventing the vacuum chuck or workpiece from being damaged during operations.
Regarding claim 17, Tran modified discloses: the method of claim 15, wherein the at least one flexible seal ring comprises a plurality of flexible seal rings (see figure 2 of prior art Balan showing a of plurality of flexible seal rings (element 111) each having a first height (see figure 3 annotated below Detail A of prior art Balan) in a direction perpendicular to the top surface of the vacuum chuck (see figure 3 annotated below of prior art Balan showing the height (Detail A) being perpendicular to the top surface of the vacuum chuck), and wherein the at least one seal-ring trench comprises a plurality of seal-ring trenches (see prior art Balan element 112 and see also figure 1 annotated above Detail A) each having a depth (see figure 3 annotated below Detail B of prior art Balan) in the direction perpendicular to the top surface of the vacuum chuck (see figure 3 annotated below of prior art Balan showing the depth (Detail B) being perpendicular to the top surface of the vacuum chuck).
However, Tran modified appears to be silent wherein the first height is in a range of 5-15 millimeters and wherein the depth is in a range of 4-7 millimeters.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify the invention with regards to the first height is in a range of 5-15 millimeters and wherein the depth is in a range of 4-7 millimeters, since such modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. Further, one could provide a suitable height and depth as desired by the user depending on the particular work piece being used with the device in order to enable the plurality of flexible rings to accommodate a variety of warped wafers during operations. (See MPEP 2144.04 (IV)). Furthermore, applicant fails to disclose any criticality in having the specific ranges provides any unexpected result (see paragraph 0048 of the specification).
Regarding claim 18, Tran modified discloses all the limitations as stated in the rejection of claims 15-17, but appears to be silent in wherein the first height is at least 2 millimeters greater than the depth.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify the invention with regards to the first height is at least 2 millimeters greater than the depth, since such modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. Further, one could provide a suitable height as desired by the user depending on the particular work piece being used with the device in order to enable the plurality of flexible rings to accommodate a variety of warped wafers during operations. (See MPEP 2144.04 (IV)). Furthermore, applicant fails to disclose any criticality in having the specific height value being greater provides any unexpected result (see paragraph 0048 of the specification).
Regarding claim 19, Tran modified discloses all the limitations as stated in the rejection of claims 15-18, but appears to be silent wherein each of the plurality of flexible seal rings has a zigzag cross section and the zigzag cross section comprises a plurality of line segments, wherein two adjacent line segments are coupled together to form a corner with a variable angle.
Balan is also concern in providing a semiconductor manufacturing system (Figures 1-8 and see also paragraph 0028) comprising a vacuum chuck (element 100) configured to hold the substrate (element 110), wherein the vacuum chuck comprises at least one vacuum groove (elements 120-125) located on a top surface of the vacuum chuck (see figure 1-2), and a plurality of flexible seal rings (element 111). Balan further teaches wherein each of the plurality of flexible seal rings has a zigzag cross section (see figure 3 annotated below showing the at least one flexible seal ring (element 111) having a zigzag cross section) and the zigzag cross section comprises a plurality of line segments (see figure 3 annotated below Detail A/B), wherein two adjacent line segments are coupled together to form a corner (see figure 3 annotated below Detail C) with a variable angle (see figure 3 annotated below Detail D).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Tran to incorporate the teachings of Balan to provide wherein each of the plurality of flexible seal rings has a zigzag cross section and the zigzag cross section comprises a plurality of line segments, wherein two adjacent line segments are coupled together to form a corner with a variable angle. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having flexible seal rings with the claimed structure (i.e. zigzag cross section) would necessarily allow the device to continue to function as intended in order to provide a plurality of flexible seal rings disposed on the vacuum chuck would necessarily allow the flexible seal rings to easily deform in compliance with the surface irregularity or waviness of the bottom face of the workpiece, thus providing a more even contact support. Additionally, having the seal rings surrounding the lift pin holes would necessarily limit or prevent leakage from the lift pin openings into the vacuum region.
Regarding claim 20, Tran modified discloses: the method of claim 19, comprising a second pin hole (see figure 2 annotated below Detail C).
However, Tran modified appears to be silent wherein the at least one flexible seal ring comprises a first flexible seal ring and a second flexible seal ring, and wherein when a vacuum is applied to the at least one vacuum grove, the first flexible seal ring surrounding a respective second pin hole is compressed by a first distance, and the second flexible seal ring that follows a contour of a peripheral edge of the vacuum chuck is compressed by a second distance that is different from the first distance.
Balan is also concern in providing a semiconductor manufacturing system (Figures 1-8 and see also paragraph 0028) comprising a vacuum chuck (element 100) configured to hold the substrate (element 110), wherein the vacuum chuck comprises at least one vacuum groove (elements 120-125) located on a top surface of the vacuum chuck (see figure 1-2), and a plurality of holes (see figures 1 and figure 2 annotated below showing the holes where element 102 resides within as indicated in Detail A) having a plurality of lifting structures (element 102/104/105) that extend upwardly and retract through the respective one of the first plurality of pin holes to raise and lower the substrate on the vacuum chuck (see figures 3-4), and at least one flexible seal ring (elements 103/111). Balan further teaches wherein the at least one flexible seal ring comprises a first flexible seal ring (element 111) and a second flexible seal ring (element 103), and wherein when a vacuum (via element 107 and see also paragraph 0031) is applied to the at least one vacuum grove (elements 120-125), the first flexible seal ring surrounding a respective second pin hole (see figure 2) is compressed by a first distance (see figures 3-4), and the second flexible seal ring that follows a contour of a peripheral edge (see figure 2 annotated below Detail A) of the vacuum chuck is compressed by a second distance (see figures 3-4) that is different from the first distance (Giving that the prior art meets the structural limitation of the apparatus including having a vacuum (see figures 3-6) being applied to the at least one vacuum groove (elements 120-125) with both the first and second flexible seal rings (elements 103/111) compressing by a distance (see figures 3-4) and there is no additional structure provided or structural difference, thus the prior art would be capable of having wherein when a vacuum is applied to the at least one vacuum groove, the first flexible seal ring is compressed by a first distance, and the second flexible seal ring is compressed by a second distance that is different from the first distance, as recited.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Tran to incorporate the teachings of Balan to provide wherein the at least one flexible seal ring comprises a first flexible seal ring and a second flexible seal ring, and wherein when a vacuum is applied to the at least one vacuum grove, the first flexible seal ring surrounding a respective second pin hole is compressed by a first distance, and the second flexible seal ring that follows a contour of a peripheral edge of the vacuum chuck is compressed by a second distance that is different from the first distance. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that providing a plurality of flexible seal rings disposed on the vacuum chuck including having one of the plurality of flexible seal rings that follows a contour of a peripheral edge of the vacuum chuck would necessarily allow the flexible seal rings to easily deform in compliance with the surface irregularity or waviness of the bottom face of the workpiece, thus providing a more even contact support. Additionally, having the seal rings surrounding the contour of the peripheral edge would necessarily limit or prevent leakage.
Conclusion
/A.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/BRIAN D KELLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723