DETAILED ACTION
Non-Final communication in response to communication filed 12/13/24.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
With respect to claim 1, the recitation “an output voltage” in line 14 and 17-18 are indefinite because it’s unclear if it’s the same as or in addition to the “output voltage” of lines 2, 4, 6 and 9.
Claims 2-12 contain the indefiniteness of claim 1.
With respect to claims 7, and 19 the recitation “a DC voltage” is indefinite because it’s unclear if it’s the same as or in addition to the output voltage of claim 1.
With respect to claim 9, the recitation “the first loop further includes a dedicated output component configured to transmit a voltage reference signal configured to provide a setpoint for a voltage regulator control scheme” is indefinite. The specification cites the output component as output voltage 506. Its unclear how that is a reference voltage. The first loop does have a reference voltage generator and reference voltage that would set a point for comparison with the output voltage at the error amplifier.
With respect to claim 20 the recitation “an/the output voltage of the first loop the output voltage of the first loop” is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1-10, 13-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chang et al 20090001952.
With respect to claims 1 and 13, figures 6-8 of Chang et al. disclose an electronic system, comprising: a plurality of voltage regulation loops [616, 618, C2, C3, R3 and 604,608] configured to stabilize [abstract] an output voltage [Vo] of an electronic circuit, including:
a first loop [616, 618, C2,C3,R3] configured to regulate the output voltage within the electronic circuit during transient voltage conditions, comprising:
a feedback path [Vo] configured to sense the output voltage of the electronic circuit;
an error amplifier [616, 618] component configured to determine a voltage difference [VCOMP] between (i) the output voltage fed to the error amplifier component by the feedback path, and (ii) a reference voltage [Vref]; and
a loop compensation network [R3, C2,C3] configured to cause generation of a voltage compensation signal [output from C3,C2,R3] based on the voltage difference determined by the error amplifier component; and
a second loop [604,608] configured to accelerate the stabilization of an output voltage[Vo] when the transient voltage conditions is being compensated for by the first loop, the second loop comprising:
a transition sensor module [604; Fig. 8, 604, RS, 800 detect Vo ] configured to detect a voltage transient in an output voltage [Io/Vo] of the first loop; and
an amplification module [620,608, paragraph 0021, QR changes duty cycle of PWM signal or level of amp output VCOMP; para 0004] configured to generate a regulation-based-adjustment signal [QR] based on an output signal [VIOS] from the transition sensor module.
With respect to claims 2 and 14, figures 6-8 of Chang et al discloses the electronic system of claim 1, further comprising:
a pulse width modulation (PWM) generation module [612,614]; and
a power stage [610] configured to receive a PWM signal [PWM] from the PWM generation module.
With respect to claims 3 and 15, figures 6-8 of Chang et al discloses the electronic system of claim 2, wherein the regulation-based-adjustment signal is used to drive the PWM generation module. [para 0004,0021; the quick response signal QR will signal the controller 606 to perform a quick transient response, during which the duty cycle or the switching frequency of the control signal PWM will change]
With respect to claims 4 and 16, figures 6-8 of Chang et al discloses the electronic system of claim 3, wherein: the first loop is configured to, in accordance with a determination that the output voltage level fed to the error amplifier component has changed [change in VCOMP], adjusting the PWM from the PWM generation module [changes 612 input level], and the second loop realizes the regulation-based-adjustment signal based on the change in the output voltage. [Para 0021]
With respect to claims 5 and 17, figures 6-8 of Chang et al discloses the electronic system of claim 3, wherein: in accordance with a first determination that the transition sensor module detects an adjustment to the output voltage via the first loop, but does not detecting any voltage level adjustment in the output voltage: [Vios does not cross VQR]
forgoing generating the regulation-based-adjustment signal to drive the PWM generation module, and in accordance with a second determination that the transition sensor module does not detect any adjustment to the output voltage level, but does detect a voltage transient value in the output voltage: [Vios does reach VQR]
generating the regulation-based-adjustment signal [QR] to drive the PWM generation module. [604, 608 is for transient detection. Para 0021]
With respect to claim 6 and 18, figures 6-8 of Chang et al discloses the electronic system of claim 1, wherein the plurality of voltage regulation loops is implemented as a transistor-level design. [M1/M2]
With respect to claim 7 and 19, figures 6-8 of Chang et al discloses the electronic system of claim 1, further comprising: an LC filter [L,C of 610] configured to (i) receive a high-current PWM signal from a power stage and (ii) generate a DC voltage [Vo] by filtering the high-current PWM signal.
With respect to claim 8, figures 6-8 of Chang et al discloses the electronic system of claim 1, wherein the regulation-based-adjustment signal bypasses the loop compensation network. [QR does not interact with R3, C3, C2]
Insofar as understood With respect to claim 9, figures 6-8 of Chang et al discloses the electronic system of claim 1, wherein the first loop further includes a dedicated output component [Chang fig. 6, Vo; applicants specification cites 506 of fig. 5] configured to transmit a voltage reference signal [Vref] configured to provide a setpoint for a voltage regulator control scheme [controls regulator output voltage].
With respect to claim 10, figures 6-8 of Chang et al discloses the electronic system of claim 1, wherein the loop compensation network is part of the error amplifier component. [R3, C3,C2 are connected to input and output of error amp 616]
With respect to claim 20, figures 6-8 of Chang et al. disclose a method of stabilizing an output voltage [Vo], comprising:
at a PMIC including (i) a first loop [606,610] comprising a feedback path [Vo], an error amplifier component [616, 618], and a loop compensation component [R3,C3,C2], and (ii) a second loop [608.604] that includes a transition sensor module [604] and an amplification module [608; paragraph 0021, QR changes duty cycle of PWM signal or level of VCOMP; OR paragraph 0004; therefore providing amplification modification in 608]:
sensing, via the feedback path, the output voltage of an electronic circuit in electronic communication with the PMIC;
determining, via the error amplifier component, a voltage difference [VCOMP] between the output voltage fed to the error amplifier component by the feedback path, and a reference voltage [Vref];
causing generation of a voltage compensation signal [signal from R3, C2, C3] based on the voltage difference [ VCOMP] determined by the error amplifier component; and
after generating the voltage compensation signal:
detecting a voltage transient [604, Fig. 8; 604] in an/the output voltage of the first loop the output voltage of the first loop; and
generating a regulation-based-adjustment signal [QR] based on an output signal from the transition sensor module [VISO].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al. 20090001952 in view of Zou et al. 20220247314.
With respect to claim 12, figures 6-8 of Chang et al discloses the electronic system of claim 1, wherein the plurality of voltage regulation loops [616, 618, C2,C3,R3 and 604, 608] is configured to control the output voltage of a respective voltage regulator cell [600].
Chang et al does not disclose “a respective voltage regulator cell of an array of voltage regulator cells.”
However, figures 4A and 6 of Zou et al. discloses voltage regulator cells collectively coupled in a parallel array to provide rail voltage.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to provide an array of the voltage regulators of Chang et al to select a subset of voltage regulators to collectively provide a respective rail and current since it was known technique in the art.
Claims 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al. 20090001952.
With respect to claim 11, figures 6-8 of Chang et al discloses the electronic system of claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the second loop is physically nested within a portion of the first loop.
However, It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to nest the second loop 604, 608 inside the first loop, since it has been held that rearranging parts of in invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4, 6-8, 10-12, 13-16, 18, 19 and 20 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 13-15 and 16 of copending Application No. 18/919,345 in view of Chang et al. 2009/0001952.
Claims 1 and 13 and 20 are disclosed by claims 13-15 in view of claim 16 of 18/919345 disclose a complete voltage regulator with first and second feedback loops except for the loop compensation network. Chang et al. discloses voltage regulator with a first and second feedback loops including a loop compensation network [C2, C3, R3] across the error amplifier, see fig. 6 of Chang et al. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to add compensation network to the error amplifier of application 18/919345 as it’s the closest art and a known technique in the art.
Claim 20 is a method claim of claims 1 and 13 in the current application and as such is obvious in view of claims 13-16 of 18/919345 and figure 6 of Chang et al.
Claims 2 and 14 are disclosed by claims 13-16 in view of Chang et al. specifically 13 and 16 of 18/919,345.
Claims 3 and 15 are disclosed by claim 13-16 in view of Chang et al. specifically claim 15 of 18/919,345.
Claims 4 and 16 are disclosed by claims 13-16 of 18/919,345. Claims 4 and 16 describe the function of a voltage regulator with feedback loops.
Claims 6 and 18 are disclose by claims 13-16 and Chang et al. Chang et al. disclose transistor level design in the power stage 602. Applicant specification cites in regard to a transistor level design, for example power stage 518 includes one or mor power field effect transistors.
Claims 7 and 19 are disclosed by claims 13-16 in view of Chang et al. Fig. 6 of Chang et al discloses the LC filter on the output of a power stage.
Claim 8 is disclosed by claims 13-16 in view of Chang et al. Specifically claim 15 discloses the output of the amplification and modulation module adjusts a pulse width of the periodic signal
Claim 10 is disclosed by claims 13-16 in view of Chang et al. Chang et al. discloses the compensation network C2, C3, R3 across input and output of error amplifier 616.
Claim 11 is disclosed by claims 13-16 in view of Chang et al. and In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 as seen in claim 11 above.
Claim 12 is disclosed by claims 1, 13-16 in view of Chang et al. Specifically claim 1, “an array of voltage regulator cells, … each voltage regulator set is configured to output a respective rail voltage”
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
/Ryan Jager/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836 5/2/26