And thank you frDETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/13/2024 & 05/15/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
Fig. 44, both axes should be labeled with both the variables that are being plotted on the axes as well as the units of those variables.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12, 15-16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding “Failure to particularly point out & distinctly claim [indefinite]”:
Claim 1 in lines 3-5 recites the limitation "a first membrane portion comprising a first surface and a second surface opposite to the first surface and including a plurality of first aperture patterns extending from the first surface toward a direction of the second surface" and in lines 10-11 recites the limitation "wherein the first membrane portion comprises a first metal thin film portion having the plurality of first aperture patterns". It is unclear which surface or membrane or film has the first aperture patterns.
Claim 1 in lines 6-9 recites the limitation "and a second membrane portion comprising a third surface, connected to the first surface of the first membrane portion, and a fourth surface opposite to the third surface and including a plurality of second aperture patterns extending from the fourth surface toward a direction of the third surface," and in lines 13-15 recites the limitation "the second membrane portion comprises a second metal thin film portion having the plurality of second aperture patterns;". It is unclear which surface or membrane or film has the second aperture patterns.
Claim 2 in lines 1-3 recites the limitation "a holder portion formed on the second surface of the first membrane portion, which includes a hollow region and is formed on an edge of the first membrane portion.". It is unclear whether the holder portion is formed on the surface or the edge of the first membrane portion.
Claim 3 in lines 1-2 recites the limitation "wherein the first metal thin film portion comprises a 1-1st metal thin film portion and a 1-2nd metal thin film portion". The claim claims a single “metal thin film portion” which comprises two additional “metal thin film portion”; it is not clear how many thin film portions there are.
Claim 3 in lines 4-5 recites the limitation "and the second metal thin film portion comprises a 2-1st metal thin film portion and a 2-2nd metal thin film portion". The claim claims a single “metal thin film portion” which comprises two additional “metal thin film portion”; it is not clear how many thin film portions there are.
Claim 8 in lines 1-2 recites the limitation "protrusion portion is formed to protrude outwardly on the cantilever portion protruding inward". The claim seems to be claiming contrary limitations of ‘protruding outwardly’ and ‘protruding inward’ at the same time.
Claim 15 in lines 2-3 recites the limitation "the step of connecting a holder portion". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim; a step of connecting a holder is not previously recited within the claim or its parent claim 13.
Claim 16 in lines 2-3 recites the limitation "the". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim; a step of connecting a holder is not previously recited within the claim or its parent claim 14.
Note: the first instance of an element should be in the form “a [unique descriptive terminology]” and successive references to that element should be in the form “the [unique descriptive terminology]” where [unique descriptive terminology] is the same throughout the claims. This is necessary because similarly phrased elements can be patentably distinct.
Regarding “terminology inconsistent with accepted meaning”:
Where applicant acts as his or her own lexicographer to specifically define a term of a claim contrary to its ordinary meaning, the written description must clearly redefine the claim term and set forth the uncommon definition so as to put one reasonably skilled in the art on notice that the applicant intended to so redefine that claim term. Process Control Corp. v. HydReclaim Corp., 190 F.3d 1350, 1357, 52 USPQ2d 1029, 1033 (Fed. Cir. 1999). The term “cantilever” in claim 7 & 8 is used by the claim to mean ‘Bump’ or ‘protrusion' (as evidenced by at least instant application's Figure 24: "CT"), while the accepted meaning is “beam supported at one end and carrying a load at the other end or distributed along the unsupported portion”, as evidenced by at least the reference entry from “Encyclopedia Britannica Online” entry for ‘cantilever’ (see NPL_BritannicaAcademicCantilever attached). The term is indefinite because the specification does not clearly redefine the term.
Regarding ‘rejected for inheriting the limitation(s) of a rejected parent claim without rectifying the issue(s) for which the parent claim was rejected’:
Claims 2-12 in line 1(each claim) recites the limitation "The semiconductor test device of claim 1[3][4][6][7][10]".
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 6294837 B1(Akram) in view of US 6661244 B2(McQuade).
Regarding claim 1, Akram teaches a semiconductor test device for testing an electrical connection of a semiconductor (Abstract: “The interconnect can be used to construct test systems for testing semiconductor components”), comprising: a first membrane portion comprising a first surface (Fig. 1B-14: “face side”) and a second surface (Fig. 1B-16: “opposing backside”) opposite to the first surface and including a plurality of first aperture patterns (Fig. 1B-30: “openings”) extending from the first surface toward a direction of the second surface (first surface toward second surface/(“openings”)); and a second membrane portion (Fig. 5-20A, second membrane portion/(“semiconductor component 20A”) comprising a third surface (Fig. 5-18A: “external contacts”, column 10 lines 4-5: “the external contacts 18A comprise thin film bond pads”), connected to the first surface of the first membrane portion (Fig. 5 shows the surfaces connected), and a fourth surface (Fig. 5, 20A has a fourth surface opposite to the third surface 18A) … , wherein the first membrane portion comprises a first metal thin film portion having the plurality of first aperture patterns (column 10 lines 10-13: “In this embodiment the component 20A comprises an unpackaged semiconductor die, and the external contacts 18A comprise thin film bond pads.”, metal thin film/(contacts that are film bond pads); and a first insulating layer portion having an insulating material coated on a surface of the first metal thin film portion (Fig. 4B: “”, column 10 lines 38-40: “With the openings 30 formed, an insulating layer 24E can be formed on the surface of the substrate 10B, and on the sidewalls of the openings 30”), the second membrane portion comprises a second metal thin film portion having the plurality of second aperture patterns (column 10 lines 25-27: “The locations of the projections 48 corresponds to the locations of the external contacts 18A (FIG. 5) on the component 20A”, multiple projections make a pattern and they are metal thin films because they are electrical contacts); and a second insulating layer portion having an insulating material coated on a surface of the second metal thin film portion (column 5 lines 9-12: “As also shown in FIG. 1A, following formation of the recesses 12, an insulating layer 24 can be formed on the surface of the face side 14 of the substrate 10, and on the surfaces of the recesses 12”, has an insulating layer), a contact protrusion portion is formed to protrude outwardly on the fourth surface of the second metal thin film portion (Fig. 4B-48: “projections”, column 10 lines 20-22: “Next, as shown in FIG. 4B, projections 48 and penetrating members 22A can be formed on the substrate 10B using an etch process”, protrusion/(projection”)), and a conductive thin film layer is formed on side surfaces of each of the first aperture patterns and the second aperture patterns (Fig. 5-18A: “external contacts”, column 10 lines 10-13: “In this embodiment the component 20A comprises an unpackaged semiconductor die, and the external contacts 18A comprise thin film bond pads.”, conductive film is in order to make electrical contact).
Akram does not as explicitly teach opposite to the third surface and including a plurality of second aperture patterns extending from the fourth surface toward a direction of the third surface.
McQuade teaches opposite to the third surface and including a plurality of second aperture patterns extending from the fourth surface toward a direction of the third surface (Fig. 4-65: “first surface” & Fig. 4-67: “first surface”, apertures in both sides allows electrical contacts from both sides)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the relevant art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device taught by Akram with the teachings of McQuade. One would have added to the “Semiconductor Interconnect Having Laser Machined Contacts” of Akram the “Nickel Alloy Probe Card Frame Laminate” and in particular the ‘aperture patterns on both surfaces’ of McQuade. The motivation would have been that the two surfaces are for making electrical contacts and the contacts on both sides of the surfaces would need to be connected to electrical the electrical circuit for testing.
Regarding claim 2, Akram in view of McQuade teaches the semiconductor test device of claim 1,
McQuade further teaches further comprising: a holder portion formed on the second surface of the first membrane portion, which includes a hollow region and is formed on an edge of the first membrane portion (Fig. 3 & Fig. 4 & Fig. 5, column 10 lines 21-31: “the improved temperature compensated vertical pin probe head assembly is indicated generally by reference numeral 40 and include a first die member 42 and a second die member 44. … The apertures 52, 54 may be any suitable shape to conform to the IC under test”, the holder/(“die member”) have a hollow region for holding the IC under test).
Regarding claim 3, Akram in view of McQuade teaches the semiconductor test device of claim 1,
Akram further teaches wherein the first metal thin film portion comprises a 1-1st metal thin film portion and a 1-2nd metal thin film portion connected to an upper portion of the 1-1st metal thin film portion, and the second metal thin film portion comprises a 2-1st metal thin film portion and a 2-2nd metal thin film portion connected to a lower portion of the 2-1st metal thin film portion (column 10 lines 10-13: “In this embodiment the component 20A comprises an unpackaged semiconductor die, and the external contacts 18A comprise thin film bond pads.”, the contacts are made of metal/(contacts) thin films for making contact to multiple pins of a semiconductor ).
Regarding claim 4, Akram in view of McQuade teaches the semiconductor test device of claim 3,
Akram further teaches wherein the 1-1st metal thin film portion and the 2-1st metal thin film portion are connected to each other (some of the contacts must be connected to each other in order to complete the electric circuits).
Regarding claim 5, Akram in view of McQuade teaches the semiconductor test device of claim 4,
McQuade further teaches wherein a connecting metal thin film portion is interposed between the 1-1st metal thin film portion and the 2-1st metal thin film portion (Fig. 7-74 & Fig. 7-76, column 5 lines 62-65: “The spacer members 74, 76 are fabricated by chemically etching them from Invar foil or another suitable low CTE metallic foil and adhering the laminations together with an adhesive.”, metal thin film/(“metallic foil”)).
Regarding claim 6, Akram in view of McQuade teaches the semiconductor test device of claim 3,
Akram further teaches wherein a width of a 1-1st aperture pattern of the 1-1st metal thin film portion is greater than a width of a 1-2nd aperture pattern of the 1-2nd metal thin film portion, and a width of a 2-1st aperture pattern of the 2-1st metal thin film portion is greater than a width of a 2-2nd aperture pattern of the 2-2nd metal thin film portion (compare to instant application’s Fig. 58-P21 and P22 & para 335: “The width of a 1-1st aperture pattern P-11 of the 1-1st metal thin film portion 111-1a may be greater than the width of a 1-2nd aperture pattern P-12”, to Akram’s Fig. 4B through Fig. 5-30: “openings”, effectively stating that the surfaces have voids between the surfaces which are connected to the exterior by apertures/(“openings”)).
Regarding claim 7, Akram in view of McQuade teaches the semiconductor test device of claim 6,
Akram further teaches wherein a portion where there is a difference between the 1-1st aperture pattern of the 1-1st metal thin film portion and the 1-2nd aperture pattern of the 1-2nd metal thin film portion is provided as a cantilever portion protruding inward from the first aperture pattern, and a portion where there is a difference between the 2-1st aperture pattern of the 2-1st metal thin film portion and the 2-2nd aperture pattern of the 2-2nd metal thin film portion is provided as a cantilever portion protruding inward from the second aperture pattern (as per instant application’s Fig. 58 claim is directed towards a void which is wider in the center than at the edges, Akram’s Fig. 5-48: “Projections”, Fig. 5 shows that the resulting voids are wider at the center then at the edges).
Regarding claim 8, Akram in view of McQuade teaches the semiconductor test device of claim 7,
Akram further teaches wherein the contact protrusion portion is formed to protrude outwardly on the cantilever portion protruding inward from the second aperture pattern(as per instant application’s Fig. 58 claim is directed towards a void which is wider in the center than at the edges, Akram’s Fig. 5-48: “Projections”, Fig. 5 shows that the resulting voids are wider at the center then at the edges).
Regarding claim 9, Akram in view of McQuade teaches the semiconductor test device of claim 1,
Akram further teaches wherein the conductive thin film layer formed on the first aperture pattern of the first metal thin film portion is capable of making contact with a micro bump of a semiconductor, and the contact protrusion portion of the second metal thin film portion is capable of making contact with a flat pad of the semiconductor (Fig. 5-32E: “contacts”, column 10 lines 7-10: “The interconnect 40A includes contacts 32E (FIG. 5) adapted to electrically engage planar external contacts 18A (FIG. 5) on a semiconductor component 20A.”, electrical connections are made across the surfaces ).
Regarding claim 10, Akram in view of McQuade teaches the semiconductor test device of claim 1,
Akram further teaches wherein the first metal thin film portion and the second metal thin film portion are made of at least one of Invar, Super Invar, nickel-iron alloy, nickel-cobalt alloy, nickel-iron-cobalt alloy, or nickel (column 7 lines 33-36: “The contact balls 38 can be formed of a relatively hard metal such as nickel, copper, beryllium copper, alloys of nickel, alloys of copper, alloys of beryllium copper, nickel-cobalt-iron alloys and iron-nickel alloys”, invar/(“iron-nickel alloy”)).
Regarding claim 11, Akram in view of McQuade teaches the semiconductor test device of claim 10,
Akram further teaches wherein the contact protrusion portion includes a metal material and is formed on the second metal thin film portion by electroforming, or includes a material that is different from that of the second metal thin film portion and is coated on the second metal thin film portion (Fig. 3-38: “contact balls”, column 7 lines 57-62: “The contact balls 38 can also be formed on the pads 36 (or 36B) using a conventional wire bonder apparatus adapted to form a ball bond, and then to sever the attached wire. The contact balls 38 can also be formed by electrolytic deposition or electroless deposition of a metal to form bumps.”, electroforming/(“electrolytic deposition”)).
Regarding claim 12, Akram in view of McQuade teaches the semiconductor test device of claim 1,
Akram further teaches wherein the conductive thin film layer is further formed in a horizontal direction at a top of the side surfaces of each of the first aperture patterns and the second aperture patterns (Fig. 5-18A: “external contacts”, the external contacts are horizontal).
Regarding claim 13, Akram teaches a manufacturing method of a semiconductor test device for testing an electrical connection of a semiconductor (Abstract: “The interconnect can be used to construct test systems for testing semiconductor components”), comprising the steps of: (a) adhering and supporting a first metal thin film portion (column 10 lines 10-13: “In this embodiment the component 20A comprises an unpackaged semiconductor die, and the external contacts 18A comprise thin film bond pads.”, metal thin film/(contacts that are film bond pads) having a plurality of first aperture patterns (Fig. 1B-30: “openings”) on a movable metal portion (column 7 lines 6-8: “The pads 36 (or 36B) can be formed during formation of the conductive members 34 using a suitable mask (not shown),”, patterns are formed on a metal plate/mask); (b) adhering and supporting a second metal thin film portion having a plurality of second aperture patterns on a movable plate (column 10 lines 25-27: “The locations of the projections 48 corresponds to the locations of the external contacts 18A (FIG. 5) on the component 20A”, multiple projections make a pattern and they are metal thin films because they are electrical contacts); (c) connecting the first metal thin film portion and the second metal thin film portion (some of the contacts must be connected to each other in order to complete the electric circuits); (d) separating the movable plate from the second metal thin film portion (metal plate was necessary for creating the aperture patterns); (e) forming a first insulating layer portion on the first metal thin film portion (Fig. 4B-24E: “insulating layer”, column 10 lines 38-40: “With the openings 30 formed, an insulating layer 24E can be formed on the surface of the substrate 10B, and on the sidewalls of the openings 30”) and a second insulating layer portion on the second metal thin film portion(column 5 lines 9-12: “As also shown in FIG. 1A, following formation of the recesses 12, an insulating layer 24 can be formed on the surface of the face side 14 of the substrate 10, and on the surfaces of the recesses 12”, has an insulating layer); … , wherein in the step (b), a contact protrusion portion is formed to protrude outwardly on the second metal thin film portion (Fig. 4B-48: “projections”, column 10 lines 20-22: “Next, as shown in FIG. 4B, projections 48 and penetrating members 22A can be formed on the substrate 10B using an etch process”, protrusion/(projection”)).
Akram does not as explicitly teach and (f) forming a conductive thin film layer on a side surface of each of the first aperture patterns and the second aperture patterns
McQuade teaches and (f) forming a conductive thin film layer on a side surface of each of the first aperture patterns and the second aperture patterns (Fig. 4-65: “first surface” & Fig. 4-67: “first surface”, apertures in both sides allows electrical contacts from both sides).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the relevant art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method taught by Akram with the teachings of McQuade. One would have added to the “Semiconductor Interconnect Having Laser Machined Contacts” of Akram the “Nickel Alloy Probe Card Frame Laminate” and in particular the ‘aperture patterns on both surfaces’ of McQuade. The motivation would have been that the two surfaces are for making electrical contacts and the contacts on both sides of the surfaces would need to be connected to electrical the electrical circuit for testing.
Regarding claim 14, Akram teaches a manufacturing method of a semiconductor test device for testing an electrical connection of a semiconductor(Abstract: “The interconnect can be used to construct test systems for testing semiconductor components”), comprising the steps of: (a) adhering and supporting a first metal thin film portion (column 10 lines 10-13: “In this embodiment the component 20A comprises an unpackaged semiconductor die, and the external contacts 18A comprise thin film bond pads.”, metal thin film/(contacts that are film bond pads) having a plurality of first aperture patterns (Fig. 1B-30: “openings”) on a first movable plate (column 7 lines 6-8: “The pads 36 (or 36B) can be formed during formation of the conductive members 34 using a suitable mask (not shown),”, patterns are formed on a metal plate/mask); (b) adhering and supporting a second metal thin film portion having a plurality of second aperture patterns on a second movable plate (column 10 lines 25-27: “The locations of the projections 48 corresponds to the locations of the external contacts 18A (FIG. 5) on the component 20A”, multiple projections make a pattern and they are metal thin films because they are electrical contacts); (c) connecting the first metal thin film portion and the second metal thin film portion (some of the contacts must be connected to each other in order to complete the electric circuits); (d) separating the second movable plate from the second metal thin film portion (metal plate was necessary for creating the aperture patterns); (e) forming a first insulating layer portion on the first metal thin film portion (Fig. 4B-24E: “insulating layer”, column 10 lines 38-40: “With the openings 30 formed, an insulating layer 24E can be formed on the surface of the substrate 10B, and on the sidewalls of the openings 30”) and a second insulating layer portion on the second metal thin film portion(column 5 lines 9-12: “As also shown in FIG. 1A, following formation of the recesses 12, an insulating layer 24 can be formed on the surface of the face side 14 of the substrate 10, and on the surfaces of the recesses 12”, has an insulating layer); … , wherein in the step (b), a contact protrusion portion is formed to protrude outward from the second metal thin film portion on a surface where the second metal thin film portion faces the second movable plate (Fig. 4B-48: “projections”, column 10 lines 20-22: “Next, as shown in FIG. 4B, projections 48 and penetrating members 22A can be formed on the substrate 10B using an etch process”, protrusion/(projection”)).
Akram does not as explicitly teach and (f) forming a conductive thin film layer on a side surface of each of the first aperture patterns and the second aperture patterns
McQuade teaches and (f) forming a conductive thin film layer on a side surface of each of the first aperture patterns and the second aperture patterns (Fig. 4-65: “first surface” & Fig. 4-67: “first surface”, apertures in both sides allows electrical contacts from both sides)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the relevant art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method taught by Akram with the teachings of McQuade. One would have added to the “Semiconductor Interconnect Having Laser Machined Contacts” of Akram the “Nickel Alloy Probe Card Frame Laminate” and in particular the ‘aperture patterns on both surfaces’ of McQuade. The motivation would have been that the two surfaces are for making electrical contacts and the contacts on both sides of the surfaces would need to be connected to electrical the electrical circuit for testing.
Regarding claim 15, Akram in view of McQuade teaches the manufacturing method of claim 13,
McQuade further teaches further comprising, between the steps (c) and (d), between the steps (d) and (e), between the steps (e) and (f), or after the step (f), the step of connecting a holder portion, including a hollow region, onto the first metal thin film portion (Fig. 3 & Fig. 4 & Fig. 5, column 10 lines 21-31: “the improved temperature compensated vertical pin probe head assembly is indicated generally by reference numeral 40 and include a first die member 42 and a second die member 44. … The apertures 52, 54 may be any suitable shape to conform to the IC under test”, the holder/(“die member”) have a hollow region for holding the IC under test).
Regarding claim 16, Akram in view of McQuade teaches the manufacturing method of claim 14,
McQuade further teaches further comprising, between the steps (c) and (d), between the steps (d) and (e), between the steps (e) and (f), or after the step (f), the step of connecting a holder portion, including a hollow region, onto the first metal thin film portion (Fig. 3 & Fig. 4 & Fig. 5, column 10 lines 21-31: “the improved temperature compensated vertical pin probe head assembly is indicated generally by reference numeral 40 and include a first die member 42 and a second die member 44. … The apertures 52, 54 may be any suitable shape to conform to the IC under test”, the holder/(“die member”) have a hollow region for holding the IC under test).
Regarding claim 17, Akram in view of McQuade teaches the manufacturing method of claim 13,
Akram further teaches wherein the step (a) comprises the steps of: (a1) forming a first trench portion on a first surface of a first support and a second trench portion located below the first trench portion and having a narrower width than the first trench portion(as per instant application’s Fig. 58 claim is directed towards a void which is wider in the center than at the edges, Akram’s Fig. 5-48: “Projections”, Fig. 5 shows that the resulting voids are wider at the center then at the edges); (a2) forming the first metal thin film portion within the first trench portion and the second trench portion (column 10 lines 10-13: “In this embodiment the component 20A comprises an unpackaged semiconductor die, and the external contacts 18A comprise thin film bond pads.”, metal thin film/(contacts that are film bond pads); (a3) adhering the movable metal portion to an upper surface of the first metal thin film portion (column 7 lines 6-8: “The pads 36 (or 36B) can be formed during formation of the conductive members 34 using a suitable mask (not shown),”, patterns are formed on a metal plate/mask); and (a4) removing the first support (it is necessary to remove the semiconductor device from the structures in which it was made).
Regarding claim 18, Akram in view of McQuade teaches the manufacturing method of claim 13,
Akram further teaches wherein the step (b) comprises the steps of: (b1) forming a first trench portion on a first surface of a second support and a second trench portion located below the first trench portion and having a narrower width than the first trench portion (as per instant application’s Fig. 58 claim is directed towards a void which is wider in the center than at the edges, Akram’s Fig. 5-48: “Projections”, Fig. 5 shows that the resulting voids are wider at the center then at the edges); (b2) forming the second metal thin film portion within the first trench portion and the second trench portion (column 10 lines 10-13: “In this embodiment the component 20A comprises an unpackaged semiconductor die, and the external contacts 18A comprise thin film bond pads.”, metal thin film/(contacts that are film bond pads); (b3) forming the contact protrusion portion to protrude outwardly on the second metal thin film portion (Fig. 4B-48: “projections”, column 10 lines 20-22: “Next, as shown in FIG. 4B, projections 48 and penetrating members 22A can be formed on the substrate 10B using an etch process”, protrusion/(projection”)); (b4) adhering the movable plate to an upper surface of the second metal thin film portion via a temporary adhering portion interposed therebetween (column 7 lines 6-8: “The pads 36 (or 36B) can be formed during formation of the conductive members 34 using a suitable mask (not shown),”, patterns are formed on a metal plate/mask); and (b5) removing the second support (it is necessary to remove the semiconductor device from the structures in which it was made).
Regarding claim 19, Akram in view of McQuade teaches the manufacturing method of claim 14,
Akram further teaches wherein the step (a) comprises the steps of: (a1) forming a 1-1st aperture pattern on the first movable plate with a thickness less than that of the first metal thin film portion (as per instant application’s Fig. 58 claim is directed towards a void which is wider in the center than at the edges, Akram’s Fig. 5-48: “Projections”, Fig. 5 shows that the resulting voids are wider at the center then at the edges); and (a2) forming a 1-2nd aperture pattern having a narrower width than the 1-1st aperture pattern, thereby forming the first aperture pattern that penetrates through the first metal thin film portion (the voids such as in Akram Fig. 5 are formed by creating wider openings closer to the center and narrower openings away from the center).
Regarding claim 20, Akram in view of McQuade teaches the manufacturing method of claim 14,
Akram further teaches wherein the step (b) comprises the steps of: (b1) forming the contact protrusion portion to protrude outwardly on the second metal thin film portion (Fig. 4B-48: “projections”, column 10 lines 20-22: “Next, as shown in FIG. 4B, projections 48 and penetrating members 22A can be formed on the substrate 10B using an etch process”, protrusion/(projection”)); (b2) adhering the second metal thin film portion to the second movable plate such that a surface on which the contact protrusion portion is formed faces the second movable plate (Fig. 4B-48: “projections”, column 10 lines 20-22: “Next, as shown in FIG. 4B, projections 48 and penetrating members 22A can be formed on the substrate 10B using an etch process”, protrusion/(projection”)); (b3) forming a 2-1st aperture pattern with a thickness less than that of the second metal thin film portion(as per instant application’s Fig. 58 claim is directed towards a void which is wider in the center than at the edges, Akram’s Fig. 5-48: “Projections”, Fig. 5 shows that the resulting voids are wider at the center then at the edges); and (b4) forming a 2-2nd aperture pattern having a narrower width than the 2-1st aperture pattern, thereby forming the second aperture pattern that penetrates through the second metal thin film portion (the voids such as in Akram Fig. 5 are formed by creating wider openings closer to the center and narrower openings away from the center).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 7768280 B1 "Apparatus For A Low-cost Semiconductor Test Interface System" (Wright) is relevant to the Applicant's disclosure, see Fig. 9 & Fig. 10.
US 20230341436 A1 "T.
US 20230228808 A1 "Test Socket" (Shin) is relevant to the Applicant's disclosure, see Fig. 1 & Fig. 5.
/MARTIN WALTER BRAUNLICH/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/HUY Q PHAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858