Assignee
The Examiner notes that the parent has the assignment to Alclear, LLC but the current application is to Secure Identiy, LLC. However, there is no record regarding the changes to assignment.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a station in claim 1.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 9 (which depends on claim 1) of U.S. Patent No. 12,205,404. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because representative patent system claim 9 requires the additional elements (See the highlighted elements shown in the table below) not required by representative application system claim 1. However, the conflicting claims are not patentably distinct from each other because:
The claims recite common subject matter;
Whereby representative application claim 1 which recite the open-ended transitional phrase "comprising", does not preclude the additional elements recited by representative patent claim 9, and
Whereby the elements of representative application claim 1 is fully anticipated by representative patent claim 9, and anticipation is "the ultimate or epitome of obviousness". (In re Kalm, 154 USPQ 10 (CCPA 1967), also In re Dailey, 178 USPQ 293 (CCPA 1973) and In re Pearson, 181 USPQ 641 (CCPA 1974)).
U.S. Pat. Application No. 18/981,435
U.S. Patent No. 12,205,404
Claim 1. 1. A system, comprising:
Claim 9. A system, comprising:
a server that stores biometric data for a person;
at least one non-transitory storage medium storing instructions; and at least one processor that executes the instructions to: wherein the at least one processor loads the data by communicating with at least one server.
a mobile electronic device that instructs loading of the biometric data for the person from the server to a local gallery in response to information received from the person via an app executing on the mobile electronic device; and
receive an indication from an app executing on a mobile device, the indication provided directly in response to user input and indicating that a person associated with the mobile device has provided the user input to indicate that the person is proximate to a location associated with a station; load data for the person into a local gallery; receive a digital representation of a biometric for the person;
a station that biometrically identifies the person using the local gallery.
perform a biometric identification to determine an identity of the person by comparing the digital representation of the biometric to the local gallery; and initiate processing of a payment for a transaction associated with the station using information associated with the identity of the person.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 15 recites the limitation “ cause biometric data of the person to be copied from a first storage device to a second storage device”, and the specification says nothing about this feature. How is the copying operation carried when copying the biometric data of the person from the first storage device to the second? Thus, was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Since claims 16-20 directly or indirectly depend on claim 15, they are also rejected under35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, for the same reason set forth above for claim 15.
Notice re prior art available under both pre-AIA and AIA
Examiner's Note
Examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers or figures in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-11, and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Metke, et al. (2017/0300678 A1) in view of Rush, et al. (US 10,452,826 B2).
With regard to claim 1, Metke, et al. (hereinafter “Metke”) discloses a system, comprising: a server that stores biometric data, i.e., fingerprint, iris and/or facial, for a person (See for example, paragraph 0025, lines 1-4: server “148”); a mobile electronic device (via second mobile device) that instructs loading of the biometric data for the person, i.e., user 102, from the server to a local gallery, i.e., storage device of the second user device, in response to information biometric data of the user 102 may be conveyed to the service network 140 for storage in the biometric template server 148, or it may be compared to a biometric template downloaded by the mobile device 200 from biometric template server 148 to verify an identity of a user attempting to use the mobile device 200; and paragraphs 0055-0058). While the system of Metke discloses software application (See for example, paragraph 0029), Metke does not expressly call for the above crossed-out limitation. reference image pixels. The problem to be solved by this limitation may therefore be regarded as how to load biometric data of a person from a server in response to information received from a person via a mobile app. Confronted with this mentioned problem the person skilled in the art would look for alternatives in the field of biometric processing. The skilled person would therefore find Rush, et al. disclosing a mobile device (102) and executing a mobile app in order to distribute/receive biometric template data from a trusted circle and/or a mobile app that can receive biometric template data from a remote storage service (108) which can include one or more remote servers (See for example, col. 3, lines 29-47). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching as taught by Rush, et al. into the system of Metke, and to do so would at least allow downloading the biometric template from the server to the mobile device. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Metke with Rush, et al. to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
With regard to claim 3, the system of claim 1, wherein the information comprises an identifier associated with the person (See for example, paragraph 0047 of Metke).
With regard to claim 4, the system of claim 1, wherein the mobile electronic device: determines an identity of the person using the information; and instructs loading of the biometric data for the person from the server to the local gallery by indicating the identity of the person to the server (See for example, paragraphs 0021, 0030, and 0033 of Metke).
With regard to claim 5, the system of claim 1, wherein the information indicates whether the person has a ticket or other authorization (0023-00255, and 0046 of Metke).
6. The system of claim 1, wherein the biometric data corresponds to at least a portion of a face of the person (See for example, paragraph 0025 of Metke.
7. The system of claim 1, wherein the station determines whether to allow the person access (See for example, paragraph 0065 of Metke).
With regard to claim 8, Metke (as modified by Rush, et al.) discloses a method, comprising: storing biometric data for a person at a first storage device (See for example, paragraph 0025, lines 1-4, implicit: server 148); instructing transmission of the biometric data for the person from the first storage device to a second storage device (implicit: second user device) in response to receiving an identifier from the person, i.e., user identifying input, via an app executing on a mobile electronic device (the argument presented above for claim 1 are not repeated herein, but are incorporated by reference) (See for example, paragraphs 0053-0054); and biometrically identifying the person using the second storage device (See for example, paragraph 0033: The collected biometric data of the user 102 may be conveyed to the service network 140 for storage in the biometric template server 148, or it may be compared to a biometric template downloaded by the mobile device 200 from biometric template server 148 to verify an identity of a user attempting to use the mobile device 200; and paragraphs 0053-0058).
Claim 9 is rejected the same as claim 7 except claim 9 is a method claim. Thus, argument similar to that presented above for claim 7 is applicable to claim 9.
With regard to claim 10, the method of claim 8, further comprising: determining an identity of the person using the identifier; and instructing transmission of the biometric data for the person from the first storage device to the second storage device by indicating the identity of the person (See for example, paragraphs 0021, 0030, and 0033 of Metke).
Claim 11 is rejected the same as claim 3 except claim 11 is a method claim. Thus, argument similar to that presented above for claim 3 is applicable to claim 11.
With regard to claim 13, the method of claim 8, wherein the second storage device is located more proximate to the person than the first storage device (See for example, Fig. 1 of Metke, wherein the second user device 106 is located more proximate to the user than biometric template server 148, i.e., server user 102, i.e., first storage device).
With regard to claim 14, the method of claim 8, wherein: the first storage device stores information for more people, i.e., server 148 at least stores each user authorized to use a shared device, such as mobile devices 104 and 106, than the second storage device; and the information includes the biometric data for the person (See for example, paragraphs 0025 and 0051-0052 of Metke ).
Claims 2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Metke in view of Rush, et al. as applied to claims 1, 3-11, and 13-14 above, and further in view of Valenti, et al. (US 10,659,458 B2).
With regard to claim 2, Metke (as modified by Rush, et al.) discloses all of the claimed subject matter as already addressed above in paragraph 14, and incorporated herein by reference. Metke (as modified by Rush, et al.) does not expressly call for wherein the information is associated with a flight. However, Valenti, et al. (See for example, col. 5, lines 55-66) teach this feature. Metke (as modified by Rush, et al.) and Valenti, et al. are combinable because they are from the same field of endeavor, performing biometric registration and authentication of a user to provide access to a secure network based on an enhanced authentication and biometric registration performed with a user device (See for example, col. 1, lines 9-13). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching as taught by Valenti, et al. into the system of Metke (as modified by Rush, et al.) so that it may allow for the purchase of airline tickets as well as providing information on flights. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Metke (as modified by Rush, et al.) with Valenti, et al. to obtain the invention as specified in claim 2.
Claim 12 is rejected the same as claim 2 except claim 12 is a method claim. Thus, argument similar to that presented above for claim 2 is applicable to claim 12.
Claims 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Metke in view of Rush, et al. as applied to claims 1, 3-11, and 13-14 above, and further in view of Sheets, et al. (US 10,846,699 B2).
With regard to claim 15, Metke (as modified by Rush, et al.) discloses all of the claimed subject matter as already addressed above in paragraph 14, and incorporated herein by reference. More particularly, claim 8 encompasses the limitation of this claim except claim 15. Thus, argument similar to that presented above for claim 8 is applicable to claim 15. Metke (as modified by Rush, et al.) further discloses at least one non-transitory storage medium storing instructions; and at least one processor (See for example, Figs. 2-4 and the associated text). :Claim 15 distinguishes from claim 8 only in that it recites causing biometric data of the person to be copied from a first storage device to a second storage device. However, Sheets, et al. (See for example, col. 16, lines 57-59) teach this feature. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching as taught by Sheets, et al. into the system of Metke (as modified by Rush, et al.), if for no other reason than to simply copy biometric data of a user from one storage device to another. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Metke (as modified by Rush, et al.) with Sheets, et al. to obtain the invention as specified in claim 15.
With regard to claim 16, the system of claim 15, wherein the second storage device is faster to access for the biometric identification of the person than the first storage device. This feature is considered inherent because while the server 148 of Metke stores more biometric data and generally requires more processing time, than mobile device 104 or 106 store less biometric data, and as a result minimizes processing time, and thus faster to access the biometric identification of the user (See for example, Figs. 1 and 5 and the associated text).
With regard to claim 17, the system of claim 15, wherein the identifier is received from the person (See for example, paragraph 0025 and 0047of Metke).
With regard to claim 18, the system of claim 17, wherein the identifier is received from the person via an additional mobile electronic device (See for example, mobile device 106 and the associated text of Metke).
With regard to claim 19, the system of claim 15, wherein the mobile electronic device includes at least one of the at least one non-transitory storage medium or the at least one processor (See for example, Fig. 2 and the associated text).
With regard to claim 20, the system of claim 15, wherein at least one of the at least one non-transitory storage medium or the at least one processor are incorporated into an additional electronic device that communicates with the mobile electronic device (See mobile device 106; and Fig. 2 and the associated text of Metke).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0255942 (See for example, Figs. 1-2 , 7 and 16 and the associated text) .
/DANIEL G MARIAM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2675