Claim Interpretation
Patentable weight is given to data stored on a computer-readable medium when there exists a functional relationship between the data and its associated substrate. MPEP 2111.05 III. For example, if a claim is drawn to a computer-readable medium containing programming, a functional relationship exists if the programming “performs some function with respect to the computer with which it is associated.” Id. However, if the claim recites that the computer-readable medium merely serves as a support for information or data, no functional relationship exists and the information or data is not given patentable weight. Id.
Claim 7 is directed to a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a bitstream that is generated by an encoding method, wherein the method steps are listed in the claim. These steps are not performed by an intended computer, and the bitstream is not a form of programming that causes functions to be performed by an intended computer. This shows that the computer-readable medium merely serves as support for the bitstream and provides no functional relationship between the steps/elements that describe the generation of the bitstream and intended computer system. Therefore, those claim elements are not given patentable weight.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Han et al. (US 20200169745 A1).
Re claim 7, Han discloses that video encoder 200 may generate a bitstream including encoded video data (Han: Fig. 1; paragraph [0039]). Source device 102 may then output the encoded video data via output interface 108 onto computer-readable medium 110 for reception and/or retrieval by, e.g., input interface 122 of destination device 116 (Han: Fig. 1; paragraph [0039]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (US 20200169745 A1) in view of Xu et al. (US 20200186819 A1).
Re claim 1, Han discloses a moving-picture coding device comprising:
a history-based predictor candidate list update unit configured to add motion information of a coded block to an end of a history-based motion vector predictor candidate list (Han: paragraph [0024]);
a spatial motion information candidate derivation unit configured to add spatial motion information candidates to a motion vector predictor candidate list, the spatial motion information candidates including a first spatial motion information candidate derived from motion information of a block neighboring a left side of a coding target block in a space domain and a second spatial motion information candidate derived from motion information of a block neighboring an upper side of the coding target block in a space domain (Han: paragraph [0022], the motion vector predictor list includes motion vector information of previously coded blocks, such as spatially neighboring blocks (e.g., blocks that neighbor the current block in the same picture as the current block) and collocated blocks (e.g., blocks that are located at particular locations in other pictures); and
a history-based motion information candidate derivation unit configured to add a history-based motion information candidate to the motion vector predictor candidate list, the history-based motion information candidate derived from the history-based motion vector predictor candidate list (Han: paragraph [0025], the video encoder and the video decoder add HMVP candidates from the HMVP candidate history table into the motion vector predictor list),
wherein the history-based motion information candidate derivation unit derives the history-based motion information candidate by referring to motion information in the history-based motion vector predictor candidate list in order from a beginning without making a comparison of the motion information in the history-based motion vector predictor candidate list with the motion information in the motion vector predictor candidate list (Han: paragraph [0084], in one or more examples, video encoder 200 and video decoder 300 may add HMVP candidates from the second subset of HMVP candidates without comparing the HMVP candidates from the second subset of HMVP candidates with entries in the motion vector predictor list).
Han does not specifically disclose wherein the spatial motion information candidate derivation unit adds the second spatial motion information candidate to the motion vector predictor candidate list when the second spatial motion information candidate is different from the first spatial motion information candidate. However, Xu discloses a number of redundancy checks are performed to construct the motion vector prediction list (Xu: paragraph [0045]). In an embodiment, the first number of redundancy checks does not include at least one of a comparison between (i) a possible spatial motion vector predictor and a first existing spatial motion vector predictor in the motion vector predictor list, (ii) a possible temporal motion vector predictor and a first existing temporal motion vector predictor in the motion vector predictor list, (iii) a possible history-based motion vector predictor and the first or another existing spatial motion vector predictor in the motion vector predictor list, and (iv) the possible history-based motion vector predictor and the first or another existing temporal motion vector predictor in the motion vector predictor list (Xu: paragraph [0046]). Thus, the comparison between (i) a possible spatial motion vector predictor and a first existing spatial motion vector predictor in the motion vector predictor list may be included in the first number of redundancy checks when one of the other redundancy checks is omitted. Since Han and Xu relate to constructing motion vector predictor candidate lists, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have found it obvious to combine the redundancy checks of Xu with the system of Han in order to reduce the number of operations and simplify the construction process of the motion vector predictor list (Xu: paragraph [0129]).
Claim 2 recites the corresponding moving-picture coding method implemented by the coding device of claim 1. Therefore, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 1 are applicable to claim 2. Accordingly, claim 2 has been analyzed and rejected with respect to claim 1 above.
Claim 3 recites the corresponding decoding device for decoding the data encoded by the coding device of claim 1. Han discloses that their disclosure refers to a “coding” device as a device that performs coding (encoding and/or decoding) of data (Han: Fig. 1; paragraph [0038]). Thus, video encoder 200 and video decoder 300 represent examples of coding devices, in particular, a video encoder and a video decoder, respectively (Han: Fig. 1; paragraph [0038]). In some examples, devices 102, 116 may operate in a substantially symmetrical manner such that each of devices 102, 116 include video encoding and decoding components (Han: Fig. 1; paragraph [0038]). Therefore, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 1 are applicable to claim 3. Accordingly, claim 3 has been analyzed and rejected with respect to claim 1 above.
Claim 4 recites the corresponding moving-picture decoding method implemented by the decoding device of claim 3. Therefore, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 3 are applicable to claim 4. Accordingly, claim 4 has been analyzed and rejected with respect to claim 3 above.
Claim 5 recites the corresponding method of storing a bitstream on a computer-readable recording medium after encoding by the coding device of claim 1. Therefore, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 1 are applicable to claim 5. Additionally, Han discloses that video encoder 200 may generate a bitstream including encoded video data (Han: Fig. 1; paragraph [0039]). Source device 102 may then output the encoded video data via output interface 108 onto computer-readable medium 110 for reception and/or retrieval by, e.g., input interface 122 of destination device 116 (Han: Fig. 1; paragraph [0039]). Accordingly, claim 5 has been analyzed and rejected with respect to claim 1 above.
Claim 6 recites the corresponding method of transmitting a bitstream generated by a picture encoding device of claim 1. Therefore, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 1 are applicable to claim 6. Additionally, Han discloses that video encoder 200 may generate a bitstream including encoded video data (Han: Fig. 1; paragraph [0039]). Source device 102 may then output the encoded video data via output interface 108 onto computer-readable medium 110 for reception and/or retrieval by, e.g., input interface 122 of destination device 116 (Han: Fig. 1; paragraph [0039]). In one example, computer-readable medium 110 represents a communication medium to enable source device 102 to transmit encoded video data directly to destination device 116 in real-time, e.g., via a radio frequency network or computer-based network (Han: Fig. 1; paragraph [0041]). Accordingly, claim 6 has been analyzed and rejected with respect to claim 1 above.
Contact
/CHRISTOPHER G FINDLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2482