DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12170882 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they an obvious broader wording variation of the patented claim language, as mapped in the table below.
Application 18/981955
US Pat. No. 12170882 B2
Claim 1
See Claim: 1
Claim 2
See Claim: 12
Claim 3
See Claim: 17
Claim 4
See Claim: 17
Claim 5
See Claim: 17
Claim 6
See Claim: 18
Claim 7
See Claim: 1
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
signal decomposer in claim 1;
signal combiner in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Grosche et al (US 20160249151 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Grosche discloses an apparatus for processing an input audio signal (fig.6 #602a,602b) comprising a multi-channel audio signal, the apparatus comprising:
a signal decomposer (fig.6 #601) for deriving, based on the input audio signal, a first signal component (fig.6 #606a) comprising a multi-channel audio signal that represents a focus portion of a spatial audio image conveyed by the input audio signal and a second signal component (fig.6 #606) comprising a multi-channel audio signal that represents a non-focus portion of the spatial audio image (Par.[0098] converter #601 derives a mid-signal #606a component related to a focus portion of the multi-channel signal and left and right side signals SL, SR #606 related to non-focus portion of the multi-channel signal);
a stereo widening processor (fig.6 #609) for processing the second signal component into a modified second signal component wherein the width of the spatial audio image is extended from that of the second signal component (Par.[0025-0026][0099-0101] crosstalk cancellation #609 provides a stereo widening of the surround signal SL,SR); and
a signal combiner (fig.6 #611,613) for combining the first signal component and the modified second signal component into an output audio signal comprising a multi-channel audio signal that represents partially extended spatial audio image (Par.[0098] signal combiners #611,613 combine the modified surround left and right signal with the mid signal to generate output right and left channel signals).
With respect to claim 2, Grosche discloses an apparatus for processing an input audio signal comprising a multi-channel audio signal, the apparatus comprising at least one processor; and at least one memory including computer program code, which when executed by the at least one processor (Par.[0124]), causes the apparatus to:
derive, based on the input audio signal, a first signal component comprising a multi-channel audio signal that represents a focus portion of a spatial audio image conveyed by the input audio signal and a second signal component comprising a multi-channel audio signal that represents a non-focus portion of the spatial audio image (Par.[0098] converter #601 derives a mid-signal #606a component related to a focus portion of the multi-channel signal and left and right side signals SL, SR #606 related to non-focus portion of the multi-channel signal);
process the second signal component into a modified second signal component wherein the width of the spatial audio image is extended from that of the second signal component (Par.[0025-0026][0099-0101] crosstalk cancellation #609 provides a stereo widening of the surround signal SL,SR); and
combine the first signal component and the modified second signal component into an output audio signal comprising a multi-channel audio signal that represents partially extended spatial audio image (Par.[0098] signal combiners #611,613 combine the modified surround left and right signal with the mid signal to generate output right and left channel signals).
With respect to claim 3, Grosche discloses a method for processing an input audio signal comprising a multi-channel audio signal, the method comprising:
deriving, based on the input audio signal, a first signal component comprising a multi-channel audio signal that represents a focus portion of a spatial audio image conveyed by the input audio signal and a second signal component comprising a multi-channel audio signal that represents a non-focus portion of the spatial audio image (Par.[0098] converter #601 derives a mid-signal #606a component related to a focus portion of the multi-channel signal and left and right side signals SL, SR #606 related to non-focus portion of the multi-channel signal);
processing the second signal component into a modified second signal component wherein the width of the spatial audio image is extended from that of the second signal component (Par.[0025-0026][0099-0101] crosstalk cancellation #609 provides a stereo widening of the surround signal SL,SR); and
combining the first signal component and the modified second signal component into an output audio signal comprising a multi-channel audio signal that represents partially extended spatial audio image (Par.[0098] signal combiners #611,613 combine the modified surround left and right signal with the mid signal to generate output right and left channel signals).
With respect to claim 7, Grosche discloses a computer readable non-transitory medium having a computer program stored thereon that comprises computer readable program code configured to cause performing of the method of claim 3 when said program code is run on a computing apparatus (Par.[0124]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and upon filing a Terminal Disclaimer.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Potard (US 20110194712 A1) discloses stereophonic widening.
Warner et al (US 20190306626 A1) discloses a center protection dynamic range control.
Kim (US 20050271213 A1) discloses an apparatus for reproducing wide stereo sounds.
JASON R. KURR
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2695
/JASON R KURR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2695