DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Claims 1-20 have been examined in this application. This communication is the first action on the merits. Applicant has not yet filed an Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) for this application.
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 10867003. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
As per claims 1, these claims of the present application contain nearly identical limitations to claim 1 of ‘003 except that claim 1 of ‘003 includes additional narrowing limitations not present in the present claims. Here, claim 1 of the present application recites:
querying a database with the contextual identifier to retrieve enrichment information; and
displaying the enrichment information relevant to the user activities,
yet, in claim 1 of ‘003, these limitations are structured differently to be written as separate limitations that disclose all the elements of claim 1 of the present claims by reciting:
generating a search query including the one or more contextual identifiers associated with the particular entity;
sending the search query to the database;
receiving enrichment information from the database based at least in part on the search query;
formatting the enrichment information for display based on an amount of the enrichment information and an available display area in a sidebar component of the user interface of the network-based application; and
displaying the formatted enrichment information in the sidebar component of the user interface.
Further, claims 2-9 of ‘003 contain nearly identical limitations of claims 2-9 of the present claims and are obvious variants thereof. Accordingly, claims 1-9 of ‘003 teach all of the limitations of claims 1-9 in the present invention.
As per claims 10, these claims of the present application contain nearly identical limitations to claim 10 of ‘003 except that claim 10 of ‘003 includes additional narrowing limitations not present in the present claims. Here, claim 10 of the present application recites:
submitting a query to an enrichment database, the enrichment database being distinct from the CRM, the query comprising a contextual identifier;
receiving enrichment information from the enrichment database based at least in part on the query; and
presenting at least one element of the enrichment information for selection by the user,
yet, in claim 10 of ‘003, these limitations are structured differently to be written as separate limitations that disclose all the elements of claim 10 of the present claims by reciting:
generating a search query including the one or more contextual identifiers associated with the particular entity; submitting the search query to the database;
receiving enrichment information from the database based at least in part on the search query;
formatting the enrichment information for display based on an amount of the enrichment information and an available display area in a sidebar component of the user interface of the CRM application; and
displaying the formatted enrichment information in the sidebar component of the user interface.
Further, claims 11-13 of ‘003 contain nearly identical limitations of claims 11-13 of the present claims and are obvious variants thereof. Accordingly, claims 10-13 of ‘003 teach all of the limitations of claims 10-13 in the present invention.
As per claims 14, these claims of the present application contain nearly identical limitations to claim 10 of ‘003 except that claim 10 of ‘003 includes additional narrowing limitations not present in the present claims. Here, claim 14 of the present application recites:
querying a database with the contextual identifier to retrieve enrichment information; and
displaying the enrichment information relevant to the user activities,
yet, in claim 10 of ‘003, these limitations are structured differently to be written as separate limitations that disclose all the elements of claim 14 of the present claims by reciting:
generating a search query including the one or more contextual identifiers associated with the particular entity;
submitting the search query to the database;
receiving enrichment information from the database based at least in part on the search query;
formatting the enrichment information for display based on an amount of the enrichment information and an available display area in a sidebar component of the user interface of the CRM application; and
displaying the formatted enrichment information in the sidebar component of the user interface.
Accordingly, claim 10 of ‘003 teaches all of the limitations of claim 14 in the present invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites the limitation “the method of claim 6”; however, no there is no previously recited “method of claim 6.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of examination, Examiner interprets “the method of claim 6” to be “the method of claim 10.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claims (claim 10, and similarly claims 1-9 & 11-20) recite “[a] … method for providing enhanced sales support to users of a customer relationship management (CRM) …, wherein the CRM maintains current and historical business-related data relative to customers, the method comprising: identifying a user access activity within the CRM; detecting one or more contextual identifiers based at least in part on the user access activity; submitting a query to an enrichment …, the enrichment … being distinct from the CRM, the query comprising a contextual identifier; receiving enrichment information from the enrichment … based at least in part on the query; and presenting at least one element of the enrichment information for selection by the user.” Claims 1-20, in view of the claim limitations, recite the abstract idea of providing enhanced sales support for customer relationship management when maintaining business related data related to customers comprising identifying user activity within customer relationship management, detecting contextual identifiers of the user activities, searching for and receiving enrichment information based on the contextual identifiers, and presenting the resulting enrichment information relevant to the user activities.
As a whole, in view of the claim limitations, but for the computer components and systems performing the claimed functions, the broadest reasonable interpretation of the recited identifying user activity within customer relationship management, detecting contextual identifiers of the user activities, searching for and receiving enrichment information based on the contextual identifiers, and presenting the resulting enrichment information relevant to the user activities could all be reasonably interpreted as a human using judgment and making observations to identify user activities and detect identifiers of user activities, a human performing evaluations and using judgement based on the observations to search or query enrichment information, a human observing or receiving enrichment information, and a human outputting the resulting enrichment information manually and/or with a pen and paper; therefore, the claims recite a mental process. Further, each of the limitations are directed to providing enhanced sales support for customer relationship management when maintaining business data related to customers, which manages the sales and marketing activity, personal human behavior, and relationships, and thus, the claims recite a certain method of organizing human activity. Further, with respect to the dependent claims, aside from the additional elements beyond the recited abstract idea addressed below under the second prong of Step 2A and 2B, the limitations of dependent claims 2-9, 11-13, & 15-20 recite similar further abstract limitations to those discussed above that narrow the abstract idea recited in the independent claims because, aside from the computer components and systems performing the claimed functions the limitations of claims recite mental processes that can be practically performed mentally by observing, evaluating, and judging information mentally and/or with a pen and paper and recite a certain method of organizing human activity that manages business interactions and relationships and sales and marketing activity. Accordingly, since the claims recite a mental process and a certain method of organizing human activity, the claims recite an abstract idea under the first prong of Step 2A.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application under the second prong of Step 2A. In particular, the claims recite the additional elements beyond the recited abstract idea of “[a] system, comprising: at least one memory storing computer-executable instructions; at least one processor for executing the instructions stored on the memory, wherein execution of the instructions causes the at least one processor to perform operations comprising,” “application,” and database” in claim 1, and similarly claims 10 and 14, and further, “application” and “database” in claims 2, 4, & 5, “application,” “database,” and “web browser” in claim 3, “database” and “web service” in claim 6, “database” and “internet domain name” in claim 7, “database” and “email address” in claim 8, “web pages” in claim 9, “[a] computer-implemented method,” “system,” and “database” in claim 10, “database,” “web service” and “system” in claim 13, “application” and “database” in claim 14, “sidebar” and “web browser” in claim 15, “database” in claim 16,” “sidebar,” “web browser,” and “database” in claim 17, “database” in claims 18, 19, and “user interface” and “email” in claim 20; however, individually and when viewed as an ordered combination, and pursuant to the broadest reasonable interpretation, each of the additional elements are computing elements recited at high level of generality implementing the abstract idea on a computer (i.e. apply it), and thus, are no more than applying the abstract idea with generic computer components. Furthermore, these limitations merely generally link the abstract idea to a technical environment of a computer system comprising a database and web browser interface. Moreover, aside from the aforementioned additional elements, the remaining elements of dependent claims 2-9, 11-13, & 15-20 do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because these claims merely recite further limitations that provide no more than simply narrowing the recited abstract idea.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception under Step 2B. As noted above, the aforementioned additional elements beyond the recited abstract idea, as an order combination, are no more than mere instructions to implement the idea using generic computer components (i.e. apply it), and further, generally link the abstract idea to a field of use, which is not sufficient to amount to significantly more than an abstract idea; therefore, the additional elements are not sufficient to amount to significantly more than an abstract idea. Additionally, these recitations as an ordered combination, simply append the abstract idea to recitations of generic computer structure performing generic computer functions that are well-understood, routine, and conventional in the field as evinced by Applicant Specfication at [0026], [0046], & [0055] (describing that the invention uses conventional CRM systems well-known in the art, conventional web-based email application, and conventional web browsing and implemented using a general purpose computing device). Furthermore, as an ordered combination, these elements amount to generic computer components performing repetitive calculations, receiving or transmitting data over a network, electronic record keeping, storing and retrieving information in memory, and presenting offers, which, as held by the courts, are well-understood, routine, and conventional. See MPEP 2106.05(d); July 2015 Update, p. 7. Moreover, aside from the aforementioned additional elements, the remaining elements of dependent claims 2-9, 11-13, & 15-20 do not transform the recited abstract idea into a patent eligible invention because these claims merely recite further limitations that provide no more than simply narrowing the recited abstract idea.
Looking at these limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing additional that is sufficient to amount to significantly more than the recited abstract idea because they simply provide instructions to use a generic arrangement of generic computer components and recitations of generic computer structure that perform well-understood, routine, and conventional computer functions that are used to “apply” the recited abstract idea. Thus, the elements of the claims, considered both individually and as an ordered combination, are not sufficient to ensure that the claims as a whole amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Since there are no limitations in these claims that transform the exception into a patent eligible application such that these claims amount to significantly more than the exception itself, claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) & (a)(2) as being anticipated by White (US 20090112854 A1), hereinafter White.
Regarding claim 1, White discloses a system comprising ([0005], [0010], [0042], fig. 1A):
at least one memory storing computer-executable instructions;
at least one processor for executing the instructions stored on the memory, wherein execution of the instructions causes the at least one processor to perform operations comprising ([0005], [0010]):
detecting one or more contextual identifiers from user activities within an application associated with a user identifier ([0053], [0056], [0059], [0061]-[0062], fig. 1B, fig. 2A, a user clicks the button of a browser displaying a web page in a browser window of the user device (i.e. the user displaying the web page - activities of the user within the application) to inspect the web page in the first window, the system extracts the contents of a Web page, and then the system extracts primary information, which includes names identifying people, companies, triggers, relationships, associations, and transactions, (i.e. detecting contextual identifiers) captured from the original web page content, and then, the user device 102 requests system 100 for a summary that includes connections from a user to the people and/or companies extracted from the web page content, wherein said request includes authentication information to identify the client and user (i.e. associated with a user identifier));
querying a database with the contextual identifier to retrieve enrichment information ([0049], [0091], fig. 1A, a connection module finds (i.e. queries) connections between (i.e. enrichment information) the user and the people and entities included in the primary information of the web page content (i.e. contextual identifiers) by matching the people and entities (i.e. contextual identifiers) in web page content to people and entities in database 140 and searching third party systems 104, including the internet (i.e. querying databases), [0053], [0063], figs. 1B, 2A system 100 builds the summary page that includes connections from a user to the people and/or companies (i.e. receiving enrichment information) extracted from the web page content based on by searching (i.e. querying) and aggregating the obtained primary information and the related information obtained in relation to the primary information extracted from the original Web page, stored in the database 140 of the system, and further, obtained from third party systems 104, e.g., in an internet search (i.e. query a database with the contextual identifier to receive enrichment information), [0046], fig. 1A, third party databases are referred to herein as third party systems 104); and
displaying the enrichment information relevant to the user activities ([0050], [0053], [0063], [0065], [0093], [0095]-[0096], [0106]-[0107], figs. 1A, 1B, 2A, 3C, 4, the summary page is generated to include the connections between the user and the people and entities and selectable active links, and then the summary page is sent to the client device to be displayed on the user device).
Regarding claim 2, White discloses the system of claim 1 (as above), further comprising a customer relationship management (CRM) application, wherein the CRM maintains data relative to customers and their representatives ([0045], [0047]-[0050], [0059]-[0060], [0101], the invention is implemented as a computer program product and a system 100 used by a sales person to extract primary information of entities, including people and companies mentioned in the web page, in order to obtain related information from content sources based on the primary information, wherein the related information includes connection paths, which is a relationship, between a user and the entities/people/companies and sales triggers that indicate to salespersons, in a sales context, when customers mentioned in the web page content are in a buying cycle (i.e. data relative to customers and their representatives); Examiner interprets a CRM application to include an application that manages relationships with customers, since the program implementing the invention identifies relationship paths between the salesperson user and customers and identifies sales triggers of customers mentioned in the content, the program is a CRM), wherein the CRM is further configured to provide elements of said data to users ([0050], [0053], [0063], [0065], [0093], [0095]-[0096], [0106]-[0107], figs. 1A, 1B, 2A, 3C, 4, the summary page is generated to include the connections between the user and the people and entities and other related information, including the sales triggers, to be displayed in the user device), and wherein the database queried by the application is distinct from the CRM ([0046], [0059], [0063], [0067], fig. 1A, the system 100 includes the connection module 130 and database 140, the functional modules of the system 100 interact with third party databases, referred to as third party systems 104, via network 150, and the connection module finds information related to the primary information from database 140 and other third party systems 104, wherein in fig. 1A third party systems 104 are depicted as not included with in system 100, while database 140 is included within system 100 (distinct from the CRM)).
Regarding claim 3, White discloses the system of claim 2 (as above), wherein the application associated with a user identifier comprises one of an email application and a web browser, and the user identifier is correlated with user access activities within the CRM ([0056], [0059], [0092], in response to a user clicking a button of a web browser window the system extracts the primary information of web page in the web browser window, and then the connection module determines connection paths from the user identified in the web browser session to people and entities mentioned in the original web page, and [0084]-[0085], [0112], [0116], in order to use the button and establish connection paths, the system establishes the identity of the user by registering the user with system 100 by, e.g., the user logging into the system 100).
Regarding claim 4, White discloses the system of claim 1 (as above), further comprising an enrichment database communicating with the application ([0046], [0049], [0063], [0067], [0091], fig. 1A, the system 100 includes the connection module 130 and database 140, the functional modules of the system 100 interact with third party databases, referred to as third party systems 104 (i.e. enrichment database), via network 150, and the connection module finds information related to the primary information of the web page by searching third party systems 104 (i.e. enrichment database)).
Regarding claim 5, White discloses the system of claim 4 (as above), wherein at least a portion of data retrieved from the enrichment database data is obtained independent of user activity within the application ([0046], [0049], [0056], [0063], [0067], [0091], [0094], fig. 1A, the system 100 includes the connection module 130 and database 140, the functional modules of the system 100 interact with third party databases via network 150, wherein the third party databases are referred to as third party systems 104 (i.e. enrichment database), and the connection module finds information related to the primary information of the original web page displayed in the browser window by searching third party systems 104 on the internet (i.e. the third party system is independent of the original web page in the browser)).
Regarding claim 6, White discloses the system of claim 5 (as above), wherein the enrichment database is provided as a web service ([0115], a content provider Web site can be configured to provide users with an option of downloading the button to be installed in a toolbar of the Web in order to extract the people, companies, and events from the Web page).
Regarding claim 7, White discloses the system of claim 4 (as above), wherein the enrichment database responds to queries incorporating an internet domain name comprising corporate business information relevant to an entity represented by the domain name ([0056], the system inspects the web page in the browser window by extracting “all of the contents of a Web page displayed in the browser window,” [0063], [0092]-[0096], [0113], fig. 1B, fig. 2A, based on the primary information extracted from the original web page, the system builds a summary page including primary information and related information, including company information (i.e. corporate business information), for the people and/or companies mentioned in the web page content, by searching third party systems 104, including the internet, [0110]-[0113], the company tab of the summary for a company, e.g. Microsoft, mentioned in the content includes, e.g., a business description of the selected business (i.e. corporate business information), [0109], fig. 6, the web page displayed in the browser window may be a web-mail interface, which includes, content 654, viewing segment/pane with the text of a selected e-mail, and content 654 is processed to generate the summary page, and figure 6 depicts that the viewing segment including the text of the e-mail, the content labeled 654, which is the content processed to generate the summary page, includes the email address (i.e. peter@sheilagreco.com) and a URL (i.e. www.sqaexecutivetracker.com) in the sender’s signature (i.e. Peter Malamas, VP Business Development, SGA Executive Tracker); Examiner notes that both the email address and the URL of the content 654 in fig. 6 processed to generate the summary page both include domain names (i.e. sheilagrco.com and sqaexecutivetracker.com)).
Regarding claim 8, White discloses the system of claim 4 (as above), wherein the enrichment database responds to queries incorporating an email address comprising information associated with an entity represented by the email address ([0056], the system inspects the web page in the browser window by extracting “all of the contents of a Web page displayed in the browser window,” [0063], [0092]-[0096], [0113], fig. 1B, fig. 2A, based on the primary information extracted from the original web page, the system builds a summary page including primary information and related information, including company information (i.e. corporate business information), for the people and/or companies mentioned in the web page content, by searching third party systems 104, including the internet, [0110]-[0113], the company tab of the summary for a company, e.g. Microsoft, mentioned in the content includes, e.g., a business description of the selected business (i.e. corporate business information), [0109], fig. 6, the web page displayed in the browser window may be a web-mail interface, which includes, content 654, viewing segment/pane with the text of a selected e-mail, and content 654 is processed to generate the summary page, and figure 6 depicts that the viewing segment including the text of the e-mail, the content labeled 654, which is the content processed to generate the summary page, includes the email address (i.e. peter@sheilagreco.com)).
Regarding claim 9, White discloses the system of claim 7 (as above), wherein at least a portion of the corporate business information is obtained from public web pages ([0110]-[0113], the system 100 can obtain the data in the company information on selected company, e.g. Microsoft, in real-time from third party systems, including information made publicly available by, e.g., Microsoft, and [0063], [0092]-[0096], [0113], fig. 1B, fig. 2A, based on the primary information extracted from the original web page, the system builds a summary page including primary information and related information, including company information (i.e. corporate business information) by searching third party systems 104, including a web-based or internet search (i.e. public web pages)).
Regarding claim 10, White discloses a computer-implemented method for providing enhanced sales support to users of a customer relationship management (CRM) system, wherein the CRM maintains current and historical business-related data relative to customers, the method comprising ([0005], [0010], [0042], fig. 1A):
identifying a user access activity within the CRM;
detecting one or more contextual identifiers based at least in part on the user access activity ([0053], [0056], [0059], [0061]-[0062], fig. 1B, fig. 2A, a user clicks the button of a browser displaying a web page in a browser window of the user device (i.e. the user displaying the web page - activities of the user within the application) to inspect the web page in the first window, the system extracts the contents of a Web page, and then the system extracts primary information, which includes names identifying people, companies, triggers, relationships, associations, and transactions, (i.e. detecting contextual identifiers) captured from the original web page content, and then, the user device 102 requests system 100 for a summary that includes connections from a user to the people and/or companies extracted from the web page content, wherein said request includes authentication information to identify the client and user (i.e. associated with a user identifier), [0045], [0047]-[0050], [0059]-[0060], [0101], the invention is implemented as a computer program product and a system 100 used by a sales person to extract primary information of entities, including people and companies mentioned in the web page, in order to obtain related information from content sources based on the primary information, wherein the related information includes connection paths, which is a relationship, between a user and the entities/people/companies and sales triggers that indicate to salespersons, in a sales context, when customers mentioned in the web page content are in a buying cycle (i.e. data relative to customers and their representatives); Examiner interprets a CRM application to include an application that manages relationships with customers, since the program implementing the invention identifies relationship paths between the salesperson user and customers and identifies sales triggers of customers mentioned in the content, the program is a CRM);
submitting a query to an enrichment database, the enrichment database being distinct from the CRM, the query comprising a contextual identifier ([0049], [0091], fig. 1A, a connection module finds (i.e. queries) connections between (i.e. enrichment information) the user and the people and entities included in the primary information of the web page content (i.e. contextual identifiers) by matching the people and entities (i.e. contextual identifiers) in web page content to people and entities in database 140 and searching third party systems 104, including the internet (i.e. querying databases), [0053], [0063], figs. 1B, 2A system 100 builds the summary page that includes connections from a user to the people and/or companies (i.e. receiving enrichment information) extracted from the web page content based on by searching (i.e. querying) and aggregating the obtained primary information and the related information obtained in relation to the primary information extracted from the original Web page, stored in the database 140 of the system, and further, obtained from third party systems 104, e.g., in an internet search (i.e. query a database with the contextual identifier to receive enrichment information), [0046], [0059], [0063], [0067], fig. 1A, the system 100 includes the connection module 130 and database 140, the functional modules of the system 100 interact with third party databases, referred to as third party systems 104, via network 150, and the connection module finds information related to the primary information from database 140 and other third party systems 104, wherein in fig. 1A third party systems 104 are depicted as not included with in system 100, while database 140 is included within system 100 (distinct from the CRM));
receiving enrichment information from the enrichment database based at least in part on the query ([0049], [0091], fig. 1A, a connection module matches the people and entities in web page content (i.e. based on the query) to people and entities in database 140 and third party systems 104, including the internet (i.e. receiving enrichment information), [0053], [0063], figs. 1B, 2A system 100 builds the summary page that includes connections from a user to the people and/or companies (i.e. receiving enrichment information) extracted from the web page content based on by searching and aggregating the obtained primary information and the related information obtained in relation to the primary information extracted from the original Web page, stored in the database 140 of the system, and further, obtained from third party systems 104, e.g., in an internet search (i.e. receive enrichment information)); and
presenting at least one element of the enrichment information for selection by the user ([0050], [0053], [0063], [0065], [0093], [0095]-[0096], [0106]-[0107], figs. 1A, 1B, 2A, 3C, 4, the summary page is generated to include the connections between the user and the people and entities and selectable active links, and then the summary page is sent to the client device to be displayed on the user device).
Regarding claim 11, White discloses the method of claim 10 (as above), wherein the enrichment information is offered for user selection from a list ([0050], [0065], [0095]-[0096], [0110]-[0113], figs. 1A, 2A, 3C, 7A, 7B, the generated and displayed summary page includes lists of, e.g. customer names, selectable active links to allow the user to drill down and obtain other information by searching third party systems 104 on the Internet and Web).
Regarding claim 12, White discloses the method of claim 6 (as above), wherein the enrichment information is offered for user selection as at least one autocompletion option to user data entry ([0110]-[0113], figs. 1A, 2A, 3C, 7A, 7B, the summary page includes selectable active links to allow the user to drill down and obtain other information; when the company name, e.g. Microsoft, is selected the system generates window 800 to present more detailed company information, and then the company name, Microsoft, is defaulted into the Enter Company Name or Ticker field 822 because the screen 8000 was generated by selecting the company, Microsoft, from the summary screen).
Regarding claim 13, White discloses the method of claim 10 (as above), wherein the enrichment database is provided as a web service to the CRM system ([0115], a content provider Web site can be configured to provide users with an option of downloading the button to be installed in a toolbar of the Web in order to extract the people, companies, and events from the Web page).
Regarding claim 14, White discloses a method, comprising ([0005], [0010], [0042]):
detecting one or more contextual identifiers from user activities within an application associated with a user identifier ([0053], [0056], [0059], [0061]-[0062], fig. 1B, fig. 2A, a user clicks the button of a browser displaying a web page in a browser window of the user device (i.e. the user displaying the web page - activities of the user within the application) to inspect the web page in the first window, the system extracts the contents of a Web page, and then the system extracts primary information, which includes names identifying people, companies, triggers, relationships, associations, and transactions, (i.e. detecting contextual identifiers) captured from the original web page content, and then, the user device 102 requests system 100 for a summary that includes connections from a user to the people and/or companies extracted from the web page content, wherein said request includes authentication information to identify the client and user (i.e. associated with a user identifier));
querying a database with the contextual identifier to retrieve enrichment information ([0049], [0091], fig. 1A, a connection module finds (i.e. queries) connections between (i.e. enrichment information) the user and the people and entities included in the primary information of the web page content (i.e. contextual identifiers) by matching the people and entities (i.e. contextual identifiers) in web page content to people and entities in database 140 and searching third party systems 104, including the internet (i.e. querying databases), [0053], [0063], figs. 1B, 2A system 100 builds the summary page that includes connections from a user to the people and/or companies (i.e. receiving enrichment information) extracted from the web page content based on by searching (i.e. querying) and aggregating the obtained primary information and the related information obtained in relation to the primary information extracted from the original Web page, stored in the database 140 of the system, and further, obtained from third party systems 104, e.g., in an internet search (i.e. query a database with the contextual identifier to receive enrichment information), [0046], [0059], [0063], [0067], fig. 1A, the system 100 includes the connection module 130 and database 140, the functional modules of the system 100 interact with third party databases, referred to as third party systems 104, via network 150, and the connection module finds information related to the primary information from database 140 and other third party systems 104, wherein in fig. 1A third party systems 104 are depicted as not included with in system 100, while database 140 is included within system 100 (distinct from the CRM)); and
displaying the enrichment information relevant to the user activities ([0050], [0053], [0063], [0065], [0093], [0095]-[0096], [0106]-[0107], figs. 1A, 1B, 2A, 3C, 4, the summary page is generated to include the connections between the user and the people and entities and selectable active links, and then the summary page is sent to the client device to be displayed on the user device).
Regarding claim 15, White discloses the method of claim 14 (as above), comprising: displaying the enrichment information through a sidebar of a web browser during real-time web browsing by a user ([0109], browser window 300 opened to an Outlook, Web-mail interface, which has a main segment 650 within which there is displayed a list of e-mails 652 and a viewing segment or pane with the text of a selected e-mail, as original content 654, and button 310 causes processing of content 654 to generate a summary page 680, [0118], while the summary page is described above as being a distinct page, summary page generator 160 may be configured to generate a summary page that is formatted identically to that of the webpage from which the summary page was generated, and the content included within the original webpage may be annotated to link the content to the related information, and Examiner notes the original content 654, which is can be annotated with related information, of the original webpage in fig. 6 below is formatted to be displayed in a sidebar of a web browser,
,
[0104], in ad segment 382, ads may be presented based on the entities (e.g., companies), etc., mentioned in the original Web page content 354, which Examiner notes is displayed in a sidebar,
).
Regarding claim 16, White discloses the method of claim 14 (as above), wherein the database comprises a customer relationship management database ([0045], [0047]-[0050], [0059]-[0060], a sales person, uses the invention, to extract/find primary and related information from database 140 (i.e. database), wherein primary information includes information of entities, including people and companies mentioned in the web page, in order to obtain related information from content sources based on the primary information, wherein the related information includes connection paths, which is a relationship, between a user and the entities/people/companies and sales triggers that indicate to salespersons, in a sales context, when customers mentioned in the web page content are in a buying cycle (i.e. customer relationship management)).
Regarding claim 17, White discloses the method of claim 14 (as above), comprising: displaying the enrichment information through a sidebar of a web browser ([0109], browser window 300 opened to an Outlook, Web-mail interface, which has a main segment 650 within which there is displayed a list of e-mails 652 and a viewing segment or pane with the text of a selected e-mail, as original content 654, and button 310 causes processing of content 654 to generate a summary page 680, [0118], while the summary page is described above as being a distinct page, summary page generator 160 may be configured to generate a summary page that is formatted identically to that of the webpage from which the summary page was generated, and the content included within the original webpage may be annotated to link the content to the related information, and Examiner notes the original content 654, which is can be annotated with related information, of the original webpage in fig. 6 below is formatted to be displayed in a sidebar of a web browser,
,
[0104], in ad segment 382, ads may be presented based on the entities (e.g., companies), etc., mentioned in the original Web page content 354, which Examiner notes is displayed in a sidebar,
),
wherein the enrichment information is populated within a user interface element ([0065], items of primary information and items of related information may be displayed as active links (i.e. populated within an UI displaying information used to populate information within the database) that allow the user to selectively "drill down" on such items to gain further information or migrate to, for example, a different Web page, search engine, system 100, and/or another site, [0111]-[0112], 7A and 7B also demonstrate the ability to drill down on information presented in a summary page, wherein Microsoft, is defaulted into the Enter Company Name or Ticker field 822 (i.e. populated within an UI) because the screen 8000 was generated by selecting the company, Microsoft, from the summary screen) used to populate information within a customer relationship management database ([0056]-[0060], [0063], user clicks button 210 (i.e. populated information within user interface element) to initiate dynamic Web page analysis by inspecting the Web page HTML, to capture content, extract the primary information, which may be stored in database 140, and obtain information based on information stored in database 140, including related information (i.e. used in the process to populate the database), [0049], [0091], the connection module 130 that finds related information related to the primary information from database 140 is also configured to search the Internet and Web and other third party systems 104 for additional related information, to update the information in database 140 (i.e. used in the process to populate the database), [0045], [0047]-[0050], [0059]-[0060], wherein primary information includes information of entities, including people and companies in the web page, in order to obtain related information from content sources based on the primary information, wherein the related information includes connection paths, which is a relationship, between a user and the entities/people/companies and sales triggers that indicate to salespersons, in a sales context, when customers mentioned in the web page content are in a buying cycle (i.e. customer relationship management)).
Regarding claim 18, White discloses the method of claim 14 (as above), comprising: displaying the enrichment information as an auto completion option ([0065], items of primary information and items of related information may be displayed as active links (i.e. displaying enrichment information as autocomplete options for displaying user data entry) that allow the user to selectively "drill down" on such items to gain further information or migrate to, for example, a different Web page, search engine, system 100, and/or another site, [0111]-[0112], 7A and 7B also demonstrate the ability to drill down on information presented in a summary page, wherein Microsoft, is defaulted into the Enter Company Name or Ticker field 822 (i.e. autocomplete) because the screen 8000 was generated by selecting the company, Microsoft, from the summary screen) for user data entry into a customer relationship management database (0056]-[0060], [0063], user clicks button 210 (i.e. displaying information as an option) to initiate dynamic Web page analysis by inspecting the Web page HTML, to capture content, extract the primary information, which may be stored in database 140, and obtain information based on information stored in database 140, including related information (i.e. for the process of user data entry into the database), [0049], [0091], the connection module 130 that finds related information related to the primary information from database 140 is also configured to search the Internet and Web and other third party systems 104 for additional related information, to update the information in database 140 (i.e. for the process of user data entry into the database), [0045], [0047]-[0050], [0059]-[0060], wherein primary information includes information of entities, including people and companies in the web page, in order to obtain related information from content sources based on the primary information, wherein the related information includes connection paths, which is a relationship, between a user and the entities/people/companies and sales triggers that indicate to salespersons, in a sales context, when customers in the web page content are in a buying cycle (i.e. customer relationship management)).
Regarding claim 19, White discloses the method of claim 14 (as above), comprising: displaying the enrichment information ([0065], items of primary information and items of related information may be displayed as active links (i.e. displaying enrichment information for displaying user data entry) that allow the user to selectively "drill down" on such items to gain further information or migrate to, for example, a different Web page, search engine, system 100, and/or another site, [0111]-[0112], 7A and 7B also demonstrate the ability to drill down on information presented in a summary page, wherein Microsoft, is defaulted into the Enter Company Name or Ticker field 822 (i.e. displaying enrichment information for displaying user data entry) because the screen 8000 was generated by selecting the company, Microsoft, from the summary screen) for user data entry into a customer relationship management database ([0056]-[0060], [0063], user clicks button 210 (i.e. displaying enrichment information for displaying user data entry) to initiate dynamic Web page analysis by inspecting the Web page HTML, to capture content, extract the primary information, which may be stored in database 140, and obtain information based on information stored in database 140, including related information (i.e. for the process of user data entry into the database), [0049], [0091], the connection module 130 that finds related information related to the primary information from database 140 is also configured to search the Internet and Web and other third party systems 104 for additional related information, to update the information in database 140 (i.e. for the process of user data entry into the database), [0045], [0047]-[0050], [0059]-[0060], wherein primary information includes information of entities, including people and companies in the web page, in order to obtain related information from content sources based on the primary information, wherein the related information includes connection paths, which is a relationship, between a user and the entities/people/companies and sales triggers that indicate to salespersons, in a sales context, when customers in the web page content are in a buying cycle (i.e. customer relationship management)).
Regarding claim 20, White discloses the method of claim 14 (as above), comprising: displaying the enrichment information through a user interface element used to compose an email to a recipient ([0109], browser window 300 opened to an Outlook, Web-mail interface, which has a main segment 650 within which there is displayed a list of e-mails 652 and a viewing segment or pane with the text of a selected e-mail, as original content 654, and button 310 causes processing of content 654 to generate a summary page 680,
).
Conclusion
CHARLES GUILIANO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3623
/CHARLES GUILIANO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3623