DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
The following is a Final Office Action. In response to Examiner's communication of February 12, 2026, Applicant, on May 7, 2026, amended claims 1-6, 9, 10, & 12-17. Claims 1-20 are now pending in this application and have been rejected below.
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Response to Amendment
Applicant's amendments are sufficient to overcome the double patenting rejection set forth in the previous action. Therefore, this rejection is withdrawn.
Applicant's amendments are sufficient to overcome the 35 USC 112 rejection set forth in the previous action. Therefore, this rejection is withdrawn.
Applicant's amendments are not sufficient to overcome the 35 USC 101 rejection set forth in the previous action. Therefore, this rejection is updated and maintained below.
Applicant's amendments render moot the 35 USC 102 rejection set forth in the previous action. Therefore, new grounds for rejection under 35 USC 103 necessitated by Applicant’s amendments are set forth maintained below.
Response to Arguments - Double Patenting
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the double patenting rejection have been fully considered, and they are persuasive. Therefore, the double patenting rejection is withdrawn.
Response to Arguments - 35 USC § 112
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 35 USC 112 rejection have been fully considered, and they are persuasive. Therefore, the 35 USC 112 rejection is withdrawn.
Response to Arguments - 35 USC § 101
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the double patenting have been fully considered, but they are now moot in view of new grounds for rejection necessitated by Applicant’s amendments.
Applicant argues that the claims are amended to overcome the current rejections, and therefore, withdrawal of the rejection is respectfully requested. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Pursuant to 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, in order to determine whether a claim is directed to an abstract idea, under Step 2A, we first (1) determine whether the claims recite limitations, individually or in combination, that fall within the enumerated subject matter groupings of abstract ideas (mathematical concepts, certain methods of organizing human activity, or mental processes), and (2) determine whether any additional elements beyond the recited abstract idea, individually and as an ordered combination, integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. 84 Fed. Reg. 52, 54-55. Next, if a claim (1) recites an abstract idea and (2) does not integrate that exception into a practical application, in order to determine whether the claim recites an “inventive concept,” under Step 2B, we then determine whether any of the additional elements beyond the recited abstract idea, individually and in combination, are significantly more than the abstract idea itself. 84 Fed. Reg. 56.
Under Prong 1 of Step 2A, claim 10, and similarly claims 1-9 & 11-20) recite “parsing … address from displayable … content displayed …; detecting one or more contextual identifiers from user activities within an … associated with a user identifier; constructing a query with query terms derived from the … address and the one or more contextual identifiers; querying … using the query to retrieve enrichment information, wherein the sidebar adds the … address to a candidate … address list for addition into the enrichment … as a new record in response to the query not returning a result for the … address; and displaying … the enrichment information relevant to the user activities and information extracted from a customer relationship management (CRM) ….” Claims 1-20, in view of the claim limitations, recite the abstract idea of providing enhanced sales support for customer relationship management when maintaining business related data related to customers comprising parsing an identifier in displayed content, detecting a contextual identifier from user activities, searching for and receiving enrichment information based on the contextual identifiers, and presenting the resulting enrichment information relevant to the user activities and information regarding customer relationship management.
As a whole, in view of the claim limitations, but for the computer components and systems performing the claimed functions, the broadest reasonable interpretation of the recited parsing an identifier in displayed content, detecting a contextual identifier from user activities, searching for and receiving enrichment information based on the contextual identifiers, and presenting the resulting enrichment information relevant to the user activities and information regarding customer relationship management could all be reasonably interpreted as a human observing information from a document and user activities, a human using judgment and making observations to identify user activities and detect identifiers of user activities, a human performing evaluations and using judgement based on the observations to search or query enrichment information, a human observing or receiving enrichment information, and a human outputting the resulting enrichment information manually and/or with a pen and paper; therefore, the claims recite a mental process. Further, each of the limitations are directed to providing enhanced sales support for customer relationship management when maintaining business data related to customers, which manages the sales and marketing activity, personal human behavior, and relationships, and thus, the claims recite a certain method of organizing human activity. Further, with respect to the dependent claims, aside from the additional elements beyond the recited abstract idea addressed below under the second prong of Step 2A and 2B, the limitations of dependent claims 2-9, 11-13, & 15-20 recite similar further abstract limitations to those discussed above that narrow the abstract idea recited in the independent claims because, aside from the computer components and systems performing the claimed functions the limitations of claims recite mental processes that can be practically performed mentally by observing, evaluating, and judging information mentally and/or with a pen and paper and recite a certain method of organizing human activity that manages business interactions and relationships and sales and marketing activity. Accordingly, since the claims recite a mental process and a certain method of organizing human activity, the claims recite an abstract idea under the first prong of Step 2A.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application under the second prong of Step 2A. In particular, the claims recite the additional elements beyond the recited abstract idea of “[a] system, comprising: at least one memory storing computer-executable instructions; at least one processor for executing the instructions stored on the memory, wherein execution of the instructions causes the at least one processor to perform operations comprising,” “by a sidebar implemented by a browser,” “website address,” “browser content displayed through the browser,” “application,” “by the sidebar interacting with an enrichment database as a web service,” and “database” in claim 1, and similarly claims 10 and 14, and further, “application” and “database” in claims 2, 4, & 5, “application,” “database,” and “web browser” in claim 3, “database” and “web service” in claim 6, “database” and “internet domain name” in claim 7, “database” and “email address” in claim 8, “web pages” in claim 9, “[a] computer-implemented method,” “by a sidebar implemented by a browser,” “website address,” “browser content displayed through the browser,” “application,” “by the sidebar interacting with an enrichment database as a web service,” “database,” “by the sidebar,” and “system” in claim 10, “database,” “web service” and “system” in claim 13, “by a sidebar implemented by a browser,” “website address,” “browser content displayed through the browser,” “application,” “by the sidebar interacting with an enrichment database as a web service,” and “database” and “database” in claim 14, “sidebar” and “web browser” in claim 15, “database” in claim 16,” “sidebar,” “web browser,” and “database” in claim 17, “database” in claims 18, 19, and “user interface” and “email” in claim 20; however, individually and when viewed as an ordered combination, and pursuant to the broadest reasonable interpretation, each of the additional elements are computing elements recited at high level of generality implementing the abstract idea on a computer (i.e. apply it), and thus, are no more than applying the abstract idea with generic computer components. Furthermore, these limitations merely generally link the abstract idea to a technical environment of a computer system comprising a database and web browser interface. Moreover, aside from the aforementioned additional elements, the remaining elements of dependent claims 2-9, 11-13, & 15-20 do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because these claims merely recite further limitations that provide no more than simply narrowing the recited abstract idea.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception under Step 2B. As noted above, the aforementioned additional elements beyond the recited abstract idea, as an order combination, are no more than mere instructions to implement the idea using generic computer components (i.e. apply it), and further, generally link the abstract idea to a field of use, which is not sufficient to amount to significantly more than an abstract idea; therefore, the additional elements are not sufficient to amount to significantly more than an abstract idea. Additionally, these recitations as an ordered combination, simply append the abstract idea to recitations of generic computer structure performing generic computer functions that are well-understood, routine, and conventional in the field as evinced by Applicant Specification at [0026], [0046], & [0055] (describing that the invention uses conventional CRM systems well-known in the art, conventional web-based email application, and conventional web browsing and implemented using a general purpose computing device). Furthermore, as an ordered combination, these elements amount to generic computer components performing repetitive calculations, receiving or transmitting data over a network, electronic record keeping, storing and retrieving information in memory, and presenting offers, which, as held by the courts, are well-understood, routine, and conventional. See MPEP 2106.05(d); July 2015 Update, p. 7. Moreover, aside from the aforementioned additional elements, the remaining elements of dependent claims 2-9, 11-13, & 15-20 do not transform the recited abstract idea into a patent eligible invention because these claims merely recite further limitations that provide no more than simply narrowing the recited abstract idea.
Looking at these limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing additional that is sufficient to amount to significantly more than the recited abstract idea because they simply provide instructions to use a generic arrangement of generic computer components and recitations of generic computer structure that perform well-understood, routine, and conventional computer functions that are used to “apply” the recited abstract idea. Thus, the elements of the claims, considered both individually and as an ordered combination, are not sufficient to ensure that the claims as a whole amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Since there are no limitations in these claims that transform the exception into a patent eligible application such that these claims amount to significantly more than the exception itself, claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Response to Arguments - Prior Art
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the prior art rejection have been fully considered, but they are now moot in view of new grounds for rejection necessitated by Applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claims (claim 10, and similarly claims 1-9 & 11-20) recite “parsing … address from displayable … content displayed …; detecting one or more contextual identifiers from user activities within an … associated with a user identifier; constructing a query with query terms derived from the … address and the one or more contextual identifiers; querying … using the query to retrieve enrichment information, wherein the sidebar adds the … address to a candidate … address list for addition into the enrichment … as a new record in response to the query not returning a result for the … address; and displaying … the enrichment information relevant to the user activities and information extracted from a customer relationship management (CRM) ….” Claims 1-20, in view of the claim limitations, recite the abstract idea of providing enhanced sales support for customer relationship management when maintaining business related data related to customers comprising parsing an identifier in displayed content, detecting a contextual identifier from user activities, searching for and receiving enrichment information based on the contextual identifiers, and presenting the resulting enrichment information relevant to the user activities and information regarding customer relationship management.
As a whole, in view of the claim limitations, but for the computer components and systems performing the claimed functions, the broadest reasonable interpretation of the recited parsing an identifier in displayed content, detecting a contextual identifier from user activities, searching for and receiving enrichment information based on the contextual identifiers, and presenting the resulting enrichment information relevant to the user activities and information regarding customer relationship management could all be reasonably interpreted as a human observing information from a document and user activities, a human using judgment and making observations to identify user activities and detect identifiers of user activities, a human performing evaluations and using judgement based on the observations to search or query enrichment information, a human observing or receiving enrichment information, and a human outputting the resulting enrichment information manually and/or with a pen and paper; therefore, the claims recite a mental process. Further, each of the limitations are directed to providing enhanced sales support for customer relationship management when maintaining business data related to customers, which manages the sales and marketing activity, personal human behavior, and relationships, and thus, the claims recite a certain method of organizing human activity. Further, with respect to the dependent claims, aside from the additional elements beyond the recited abstract idea addressed below under the second prong of Step 2A and 2B, the limitations of dependent claims 2-9, 11-13, & 15-20 recite similar further abstract limitations to those discussed above that narrow the abstract idea recited in the independent claims because, aside from the computer components and systems performing the claimed functions the limitations of claims recite mental processes that can be practically performed mentally by observing, evaluating, and judging information mentally and/or with a pen and paper and recite a certain method of organizing human activity that manages business interactions and relationships and sales and marketing activity. Accordingly, since the claims recite a mental process and a certain method of organizing human activity, the claims recite an abstract idea under the first prong of Step 2A.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application under the second prong of Step 2A. In particular, the claims recite the additional elements beyond the recited abstract idea of “[a] system, comprising: at least one memory storing computer-executable instructions; at least one processor for executing the instructions stored on the memory, wherein execution of the instructions causes the at least one processor to perform operations comprising,” “by a sidebar implemented by a browser,” “website address,” “browser content displayed through the browser,” “application,” “by the sidebar interacting with an enrichment database as a web service,” and “database” in claim 1, and similarly claims 10 and 14, and further, “application” and “database” in claims 2, 4, & 5, “application,” “database,” and “web browser” in claim 3, “database” and “web service” in claim 6, “database” and “internet domain name” in claim 7, “database” and “email address” in claim 8, “web pages” in claim 9, “[a] computer-implemented method,” “by a sidebar implemented by a browser,” “website address,” “browser content displayed through the browser,” “application,” “by the sidebar interacting with an enrichment database as a web service,” “database,” “by the sidebar,” and “system” in claim 10, “database,” “web service” and “system” in claim 13, “by a sidebar implemented by a browser,” “website address,” “browser content displayed through the browser,” “application,” “by the sidebar interacting with an enrichment database as a web service,” and “database” and “database” in claim 14, “sidebar” and “web browser” in claim 15, “database” in claim 16,” “sidebar,” “web browser,” and “database” in claim 17, “database” in claims 18, 19, and “user interface” and “email” in claim 20; however, individually and when viewed as an ordered combination, and pursuant to the broadest reasonable interpretation, each of the additional elements are computing elements recited at high level of generality implementing the abstract idea on a computer (i.e. apply it), and thus, are no more than applying the abstract idea with generic computer components. Furthermore, these limitations merely generally link the abstract idea to a technical environment of a computer system comprising a database and web browser interface. Moreover, aside from the aforementioned additional elements, the remaining elements of dependent claims 2-9, 11-13, & 15-20 do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because these claims merely recite further limitations that provide no more than simply narrowing the recited abstract idea.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception under Step 2B. As noted above, the aforementioned additional elements beyond the recited abstract idea, as an order combination, are no more than mere instructions to implement the idea using generic computer components (i.e. apply it), and further, generally link the abstract idea to a field of use, which is not sufficient to amount to significantly more than an abstract idea; therefore, the additional elements are not sufficient to amount to significantly more than an abstract idea. Additionally, these recitations as an ordered combination, simply append the abstract idea to recitations of generic computer structure performing generic computer functions that are well-understood, routine, and conventional in the field as evinced by Applicant Specification at [0026], [0046], & [0055] (describing that the invention uses conventional CRM systems well-known in the art, conventional web-based email application, and conventional web browsing and implemented using a general purpose computing device). Furthermore, as an ordered combination, these elements amount to generic computer components performing repetitive calculations, receiving or transmitting data over a network, electronic record keeping, storing and retrieving information in memory, and presenting offers, which, as held by the courts, are well-understood, routine, and conventional. See MPEP 2106.05(d); July 2015 Update, p. 7. Moreover, aside from the aforementioned additional elements, the remaining elements of dependent claims 2-9, 11-13, & 15-20 do not transform the recited abstract idea into a patent eligible invention because these claims merely recite further limitations that provide no more than simply narrowing the recited abstract idea.
Looking at these limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing additional that is sufficient to amount to significantly more than the recited abstract idea because they simply provide instructions to use a generic arrangement of generic computer components and recitations of generic computer structure that perform well-understood, routine, and conventional computer functions that are used to “apply” the recited abstract idea. Thus, the elements of the claims, considered both individually and as an ordered combination, are not sufficient to ensure that the claims as a whole amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Since there are no limitations in these claims that transform the exception into a patent eligible application such that these claims amount to significantly more than the exception itself, claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over White (US 20090112854 A1), hereinafter White, in view of Swannack, et al. (US 20020087515 A1), hereinafter Swannack.
Regarding claim 1, White discloses a system comprising ([0005], [0010], [0042], fig. 1A):
at least one memory storing computer-executable instructions;
at least one processor for executing the instructions stored on the memory, wherein execution of the instructions causes the at least one processor to perform operations comprising ([0005], [0010]):
parsing, by a sidebar implemented by a browser, a website address from displayable browser content displayed through the browser ([0082], [0085], the system inspects Web page HTML to extract “all of the contents of a Web page displayed in the browser window” of user device 102, and content processor 120 extracts primary information from the page, including people, entities (e.g., companies), etc. from the original Web page content in segment 250 of Web page 200, and the information is indexed to the URL sent to the client device 102 (i.e. first seed URL during a first iteration), [0123], summary page 380 includes a segment 382 that can be used for presenting ads [0104], ads presented in ad segment 382 are based on the entities (e.g., companies), etc., from the original Web page content 354, which Examiner notes is a sidebar,
[0135], fig. 6, the web page displayed in the browser window, which Examiner notes is at the URL https://webmail (i.e. first seed URL during a first iteration), may be a web-mail interface comprising viewing segment with the text of a selected e-mail as original content 654, and original content 654 is processed to generate the summary page, in the manner described above with respect to summary page, Examiner notes, includes information identifying people of the email address (i.e. peter@sheilagreco.com) and a URL (i.e. www.sqaexecutivetracker.com) (i.e. the parsed URL) in the sender’s signature, Peter Malamas,
);
detecting one or more contextual identifiers from user activities within an application associated with a user identifier ([0053], [0056], [0059], [0061]-[0062], fig. 1B, fig. 2A, a user clicks the button of a browser displaying a web page in a browser window of the user device (i.e. the user displaying the web page - activities of the user within the application) to inspect the web page in the first window, the system extracts the contents of a Web page, and then the system extracts primary information, which includes names identifying people, companies, triggers, relationships, associations, and transactions, (i.e. detecting contextual identifiers) captured from the original web page content, and then, the user device 102 requests system 100 for a summary that includes connections from a user to the people and/or companies extracted from the web page content, wherein said request includes authentication information to identify the client and user (i.e. associated with a user identifier));
constructing a query with query terms derived from the website address and the one or more contextual identifiers:
querying, by the sidebar, interacting with an enrichment database as a web service, the enrichment database using the query to retrieve enrichment information ([0049], [0091], fig. 1A, a connection module finds (i.e. queries) connections between (i.e. enrichment information) the user and the people and entities included in the primary information of the web page content (i.e. contextual identifiers) by matching the people and entities (i.e. contextual identifiers) in web page content to people and entities in database 140 and searching third party systems 104, including the internet (i.e. querying databases), [0053], [0063], figs. 1B, 2A system 100 builds the summary page that includes connections from a user to the people and/or companies (i.e. receiving enrichment information) extracted from the web page content based on by searching (i.e. querying) and aggregating the obtained primary information and the related information obtained in relation to the primary information extracted from the original Web page, stored in the database 140 of the system, and further, obtained from third party systems 104, e.g., in an internet search (i.e. query a database with the contextual identifier to receive enrichment information), [0046], fig. 1A, third party databases are referred to herein as third party systems 104), wherein the sidebar adds the website address to a candidate website address list for addition into the enrichment database as a new record in response to the query … ([0079], [0082], [0085], [0087]-[0089], [0115], fig. 1B, fig. 2A, the content processor 120 extracts primary information from the captured page information, which can be stored in a database D2 forming part of database 140, and the output summary page is obtained from the information stored in the database 140 from step D2, which can include the primary information extracted from the original Web page, wherein the information is indexed to the URL, and the related information obtained in relation to the primary information); and
displaying the enrichment information relevant to the user activities ([0050], [0053], [0063], [0065], [0093], [0095]-[0096], [0106]-[0107], figs. 1A, 1B, 2A, 3C, 4, the summary page is generated to include the connections between the user and the people and entities and selectable active links, and then the summary page is sent to the client device to be displayed on the user device).
While White discloses all of the above, including querying, by the sidebar, interacting with an enrichment database as a web service, the enrichment database using the query to retrieve enrichment information, wherein the sidebar adds the website address to a candidate website address list for addition into the enrichment database as a new record in response to the query … (as above), White does not expressly disclose the adding of website address is in response the query not returning a result for the website address in the following remaining limitation, which however, is taught by further teachings in Swannack.
Swannack teaches querying the enrichment database, and the system adds the website address to a candidate website address list for addition into the enrichment database as a new record in response to the query not returning a result for the website address ([0061], the URL extractor unit 94 analyses the HTML data retrieved by the search results retrieval unit 90, and in step S2-10 extracts URLs (Unique Resource Locator) from those pages that refer to pages identified by the search engine as being relevant to the instructed search, each URL is checked in step S2-12 by a duplicate checker 96 against a list of URLs stored in the database 36, and if the URL in question is not contained in the database already, then it is placed in the database in step S2-14 by a list updater 98, and the routine then checks in step S2-16 to establish if any more links exist in the results pages to be extracted).
White and Swannack are analogous fields of invention because both address the problem of obtaining information on webpages by parsing information from webpages. At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the system of White the ability to add a website address to a candidate website address list for addition into the enrichment database as a new record in response to the query not returning a result for the website address, as taught by Swannack, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the combination would produce the predictable results of adding a website address to a candidate website address list for addition into the enrichment database as a new record in response to the query not returning a result for the website address, as claimed. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified White with the aforementioned teachings of Swannack in order to produce the added benefit of monitoring published data sources for relevant information and delivering relevant information as requested. [0013].
Regarding claim 2, the combined teachings of White and Swannack teach the system of claim 1 (as above). Further, White teaches further comprising a customer relationship management (CRM) application providing access to a CRM, wherein the CRM maintains data relative to customers and their representatives ([0045], [0047]-[0050], [0059]-[0060], [0101], the invention is implemented as a computer program product and a system 100 used by a sales person to extract primary information of entities, including people and companies mentioned in the web page, in order to obtain related information from content sources based on the primary information, wherein the related information includes connection paths, which is a relationship, between a user and the entities/people/companies and sales triggers that indicate to salespersons, in a sales context, when customers mentioned in the web page content are in a buying cycle (i.e. data relative to customers and their representatives); Examiner interprets a CRM application to include an application that manages relationships with customers, since the program implementing the invention identifies relationship paths between the salesperson user and customers and identifies sales triggers of customers mentioned in the content, the program is a CRM), wherein the CRM is further configured to provide elements of the data to users ([0050], [0053], [0063], [0065], [0093], [0095]-[0096], [0106]-[0107], figs. 1A, 1B, 2A, 3C, 4, the summary page is generated to include the connections between the user and the people and entities and other related information, including the sales triggers, to be displayed in the user device), and wherein the enrichment database is distinct from the CRM ([0046], [0059], [0063], [0067], fig. 1A, the system 100 includes the connection module 130 and database 140, the functional modules of the system 100 interact with third party databases, referred to as third party systems 104, via network 150, and the connection module finds information related to the primary information from database 140 and other third party systems 104, wherein in fig. 1A third party systems 104 are depicted as not included with in system 100, while database 140 is included within system 100 (distinct from the CRM)).
Regarding claim 3, the combined teachings of White and Swannack teach the system of claim 2 (as above). Further, White teaches wherein the application comprises one of an email application or a web browser, and the user identifier is correlated with user access activities within the CRM ([0056], [0059], [0092], in response to a user clicking a button of a web browser window the system extracts the primary information of web page in the web browser window, and then the connection module determines connection paths from the user identified in the web browser session to people and entities mentioned in the original web page, and [0084]-[0085], [0112], [0116], in order to use the button and establish connection paths, the system establishes the identity of the user by registering the user with system 100 by, e.g., the user logging into the system 100).
Regarding claim 4, the combined teachings of White and Swannack teach the system of claim 1 (as above). Further, White teaches further comprising the enrichment database communicating with the application ([0046], [0049], [0063], [0067], [0091], fig. 1A, the system 100 includes the connection module 130 and database 140, the functional modules of the system 100 interact with third party databases, referred to as third party systems 104 (i.e. enrichment database), via network 150, and the connection module finds information related to the primary information of the web page by searching third party systems 104 (i.e. enrichment database)).
Regarding claim 5, the combined teachings of White and Swannack teach the system of claim 4 (as above). Further, White teaches wherein at least a portion of data retrieved from the enrichment database is obtained independent of user activity within the application ([0046], [0049], [0056], [0063], [0067], [0091], [0094], fig. 1A, the system 100 includes the connection module 130 and database 140, the functional modules of the system 100 interact with third party databases via network 150, wherein the third party databases are referred to as third party systems 104 (i.e. enrichment database), and the connection module finds information related to the primary information of the original web page displayed in the browser window by searching third party systems 104 on the internet (i.e. the third party system is independent of the original web page in the browser)).
Regarding claim 6, the combined teachings of White and Swannack teach the system of claim 5 (as above). Further, White teaches wherein the enrichment database is provided as the web service ([0115], a content provider Web site can be configured to provide users with an option of downloading the button to be installed in a toolbar of the Web in order to extract the people, companies, and events from the Web page).
Regarding claim 7, the combined teachings of White and Swannack teach the system of claim 4 (as above). Further, White teaches wherein the enrichment database responds to queries incorporating an internet domain name comprising information relevant to an entity represented by the domain name ([0056], the system inspects the web page in the browser window by extracting “all of the contents of a Web page displayed in the browser window,” [0063], [0092]-[0096], [0113], fig. 1B, fig. 2A, based on the primary information extracted from the original web page, the system builds a summary page including primary information and related information, including company information (i.e. corporate business information), for the people and/or companies mentioned in the web page content, by searching third party systems 104, including the internet, [0110]-[0113], the company tab of the summary for a company, e.g. Microsoft, mentioned in the content includes, e.g., a business description of the selected business (i.e. corporate business information), [0109], fig. 6, the web page displayed in the browser window may be a web-mail interface, which includes, content 654, viewing segment/pane with the text of a selected e-mail, and content 654 is processed to generate the summary page, and figure 6 depicts that the viewing segment including the text of the e-mail, the content labeled 654, which is the content processed to generate the summary page, includes the email address (i.e. peter@sheilagreco.com) and a URL (i.e. www.sqaexecutivetracker.com) in the sender’s signature (i.e. Peter Malamas, VP Business Development, SGA Executive Tracker); Examiner notes that both the email address and the URL of the content 654 in fig. 6 processed to generate the summary page both include domain names (i.e. sheilagrco.com and sqaexecutivetracker.com)).
Regarding claim 8, the combined teachings of White and Swannack teach the system of claim 4 (as above). Further, White teaches wherein the enrichment database responds to queries incorporating an email address comprising information associated with an entity represented by the email address ([0056], the system inspects the web page in the browser window by extracting “all of the contents of a Web page displayed in the browser window,” [0063], [0092]-[0096], [0113], fig. 1B, fig. 2A, based on the primary information extracted from the original web page, the system builds a summary page including primary information and related information, including company information (i.e. corporate business information), for the people and/or companies mentioned in the web page content, by searching third party systems 104, including the internet, [0110]-[0113], the company tab of the summary for a company, e.g. Microsoft, mentioned in the content includes, e.g., a business description of the selected business (i.e. corporate business information), [0109], fig. 6, the web page displayed in the browser window may be a web-mail interface, which includes, content 654, viewing segment/pane with the text of a selected e-mail, and content 654 is processed to generate the summary page, and figure 6 depicts that the viewing segment including the text of the e-mail, the content labeled 654, which is the content processed to generate the summary page, includes the email address (i.e. peter@sheilagreco.com)).
Regarding claim 9, the combined teachings of White and Swannack teach the system of claim 7 (as above). Further, White teaches wherein at least a portion of the information is obtained from public web pages ([0110]-[0113], the system 100 can obtain the data in the company information on selected company, e.g. Microsoft, in real-time from third party systems, including information made publicly available by, e.g., Microsoft, and [0063], [0092]-[0096], [0113], fig. 1B, fig. 2A, based on the primary information extracted from the original web page, the system builds a summary page including primary information and related information, including company information (i.e. corporate business information) by searching third party systems 104, including a web-based or internet search (i.e. public web pages)).
Regarding claim 10, White discloses a computer-implemented method comprising ([0005], [0010], [0042], fig. 1A):
parsing, by a sidebar implemented by a browser, a website address from displayable browser content displayed through the browser ([0082], [0085], the system inspects Web page HTML to extract “all of the contents of a Web page displayed in the browser window” of user device 102, and content processor 120 extracts primary information from the page, including people, entities (e.g., companies), etc. from the original Web page content in segment 250 of Web page 200, and the information is indexed to the URL sent to the client device 102 (i.e. first seed URL during a first iteration), [0123], summary page 380 includes a segment 382 that can be used for presenting ads [0104], ads presented in ad segment 382 are based on the entities (e.g., companies), etc., from the original Web page content 354, which Examiner notes is a sidebar,
[0135], fig. 6, the web page displayed in the browser window, which Examiner notes is at the URL https://webmail (i.e. first seed URL during a first iteration), may be a web-mail interface comprising viewing segment with the text of a selected e-mail as original content 654, and original content 654 is processed to generate the summary page, in the manner described above with respect to summary page, Examiner notes, includes information identifying people of the email address (i.e. peter@sheilagreco.com) and a URL (i.e. www.sqaexecutivetracker.com) (i.e. the parsed URL) in the sender’s signature, Peter Malamas,
);
detecting one or more contextual identifiers from user activities within an application associated with a user identifier ([0053], [0056], [0059], [0061]-[0062], fig. 1B, fig. 2A, a user clicks the button of a browser displaying a web page in a browser window of the user device (i.e. the user displaying the web page - activities of the user within the application) to inspect the web page in the first window, the system extracts the contents of a Web page, and then the system extracts primary information, which includes names identifying people, companies, triggers, relationships, associations, and transactions, (i.e. detecting contextual identifiers) captured from the original web page content, and then, the user device 102 requests system 100 for a summary that includes connections from a user to the people and/or companies extracted from the web page content, wherein said request includes authentication information to identify the client and user (i.e. associated with a user identifier));
constructing a query with query terms derived from the website address and the one or more contextual identifiers;
querying, by the sidebar interacting with an enrichment database as a web service, the enrichment database using the query to retrieve enrichment information ([0049], [0091], fig. 1A, a connection module finds (i.e. queries) connections between (i.e. enrichment information) the user and the people and entities included in the primary information of the web page content (i.e. contextual identifiers) by matching the people and entities (i.e. contextual identifiers) in web page content to people and entities in database 140 and searching third party systems 104, including the internet (i.e. querying databases), [0053], [0063], figs. 1B, 2A system 100 builds the summary page that includes connections from a user to the people and/or companies (i.e. receiving enrichment information) extracted from the web page content based on by searching (i.e. querying) and aggregating the obtained primary information and the related information obtained in relation to the primary information extracted from the original Web page, stored in the database 140 of the system, and further, obtained from third party systems 104, e.g., in an internet search (i.e. query a database with the contextual identifier to receive enrichment information), [0046], fig. 1A, third party databases are referred to herein as third party systems 104), wherein the sidebar adds the website address to a candidate website address list for addition into the enrichment database as a new record in response to the query … ([0079], [0082], [0085], [0087]-[0089], [0115], fig. 1B, fig. 2A, the content processor 120 extracts primary information from the captured page information, which can be stored in a database D2 forming part of database 140, and the output summary page is obtained from the information stored in the database 140 from step D2, which can include the primary information extracted from the original Web page, wherein the information is indexed to the URL, and the related information obtained in relation to the primary information); and
displaying, by the sidebar, the enrichment information relevant to the user activities and information extracted ([0050], [0053], [0063], [0065], [0093], [0095]-[0096], [0106]-[0107], figs. 1A, 1B, 2A, 3C, 4, the summary page is generated to include the connections between the user and the people and entities and selectable active links, and then the summary page is sent to the client device to be displayed on the user device) from a customer relationship management (CRM) system ([0053], [0056], [0059], [0061]-[0062], fig. 1B, fig. 2A, a user clicks the button of a browser displaying a web page in a browser window of the user device (i.e. the user displaying the web page - activities of the user within the application) to inspect the web page in the first window, the system extracts the contents of a Web page, and then the system extracts primary information, which includes names identifying people, companies, triggers, relationships, associations, and transactions, (i.e. detecting contextual identifiers) captured from the original web page content, and then, the user device 102 requests system 100 for a summary that includes connections from a user to the people and/or companies extracted from the web page content, wherein said request includes authentication information to identify the client and user (i.e. associated with a user identifier), [0045], [0047]-[0050], [0059]-[0060], [0101], the invention is implemented as a computer program product and a system 100 used by a sales person to extract primary information of entities, including people and companies mentioned in the web page, in order to obtain related information from content sources based on the primary information, wherein the related information includes connection paths, which is a relationship, between a user and the entities/people/companies and sales triggers that indicate to salespersons, in a sales context, when customers mentioned in the web page content are in a buying cycle (i.e. data relative to customers and their representatives); Examiner interprets a CRM application to include an application that manages relationships with customers, since the program implementing the invention identifies relationship paths between the salesperson user and customers and identifies sales triggers of customers mentioned in the content, the program is a CRM).
While White discloses all of the above, including querying, by the sidebar interacting with an enrichment database as a web service, the enrichment database using the query to retrieve enrichment information, wherein the sidebar adds the website address to a candidate website address list for addition into the enrichment database as a new record in response to the query … (as above), White does not expressly disclose the adding of website address is in response the query not returning a result for the website address in the following remaining limitation, which however, is taught by further teachings in Swannack.
Swannack teaches querying the enrichment database, and the system adds the website address to a candidate website address list for addition into the enrichment database as a new record in response to the query not returning a result for the website address ([0061], the URL extractor unit 94 analyses the HTML data retrieved by the search results retrieval unit 90, and in step S2-10 extracts URLs (Unique Resource Locator) from those pages that refer to pages identified by the search engine as being relevant to the instructed search, each URL is checked in step S2-12 by a duplicate checker 96 against a list of URLs stored in the database 36, and if the URL in question is not contained in the database already, then it is placed in the database in step S2-14 by a list updater 98, and the routine then checks in step S2-16 to establish if any more links exist in the results pages to be extracted).
White and Swannack are analogous fields of invention because both address the problem of obtaining information on webpages by parsing information from webpages. At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the system of White the ability to add a website address to a candidate website address list for addition into the enrichment database as a new record in response to the query not returning a result for the website address, as taught by Swannack, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the combination would produce the predictable results of adding a website address to a candidate website address list for addition into the enrichment database as a new record in response to the query not returning a result for the website address, as claimed. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified White with the aforementioned teachings of Swannack in order to produce the added benefit of monitoring published data sources for relevant information and delivering relevant information as requested. [0013].
Regarding claim 11, the combined teachings of White and Swannack teach the method of claim 10 (as above). Further, White teaches wherein the enrichment information is offered for user selection from a list ([0050], [0065], [0095]-[0096], [0110]-[0113], figs. 1A, 2A, 3C, 7A, 7B, the generated and displayed summary page includes lists of, e.g. customer names, selectable active links to allow the user to drill down and obtain other information by searching third party systems 104 on the Internet and Web).
Regarding claim 12, the combined teachings of White and Swannack teach the method of claim 10 (as above). Further, White teaches wherein the enrichment information is offered for user selection as at least one autocompletion option to user data entry ([0110]-[0113], figs. 1A, 2A, 3C, 7A, 7B, the summary page includes selectable active links to allow the user to drill down and obtain other information; when the company name, e.g. Microsoft, is selected the system generates window 800 to present more detailed company information, and then the company name, Microsoft, is defaulted into the Enter Company Name or Ticker field 822 because the screen 8000 was generated by selecting the company, Microsoft, from the summary screen).
Regarding claim 13, the combined teachings of White and Swannack teach the method of claim 10 (as above). Further, White teaches wherein the enrichment database is provided as the web service to the CRM system ([0115], a content provider Web site can be configured to provide users with an option of downloading the button to be installed in a toolbar of the Web in order to extract the people, companies, and events from the Web page).
Regarding claim 14, White discloses a method, comprising ([0005], [0010], [0042]):
parsing, by a sidebar implemented by a web browser, a website address from displayable browser content displayed through the web browser ([0082], [0085], the system inspects Web page HTML to extract “all of the contents of a Web page displayed in the browser window” of user device 102, and content processor 120 extracts primary information from the page, including people, entities (e.g., companies), etc. from the original Web page content in segment 250 of Web page 200, and the information is indexed to the URL sent to the client device 102 (i.e. first seed URL during a first iteration), [0123], summary page 380 includes a segment 382 that can be used for presenting ads [0104], ads presented in ad segment 382 are based on the entities (e.g., companies), etc., from the original Web page content 354, which Examiner notes is a sidebar,
[0135], fig. 6, the web page displayed in the browser window, which Examiner notes is at the URL https://webmail (i.e. first seed URL during a first iteration), may be a web-mail interface comprising viewing segment with the text of a selected e-mail as original content 654, and original content 654 is processed to generate the summary page, in the manner described above with respect to summary page, Examiner notes, includes information identifying people of the email address (i.e. peter@sheilagreco.com) and a URL (i.e. www.sqaexecutivetracker.com) (i.e. the parsed URL) in the sender’s signature, Peter Malamas,
);
detecting one or more contextual identifiers from user activities within an application associated with a user identifier ([0053], [0056], [0059], [0061]-[0062], fig. 1B, fig. 2A, a user clicks the button of a browser displaying a web page in a browser window of the user device (i.e. the user displaying the web page - activities of the user within the application) to inspect the web page in the first window, the system extracts the contents of a Web page, and then the system extracts primary information, which includes names identifying people, companies, triggers, relationships, associations, and transactions, (i.e. detecting contextual identifiers) captured from the original web page content, and then, the user device 102 requests system 100 for a summary that includes connections from a user to the people and/or companies extracted from the web page content, wherein said request includes authentication information to identify the client and user (i.e. associated with a user identifier));
constructing a query with query terms derived from the website address and the one or more contextual identifiers;
querying, by the sidebar interacting with an enrichment database as a web service, the enrichment database using the query to retrieve enrichment information ([0049], [0091], fig. 1A, a connection module finds (i.e. queries) connections between (i.e. enrichment information) the user and the people and entities included in the primary information of the web page content (i.e. contextual identifiers) by matching the people and entities (i.e. contextual identifiers) in web page content to people and entities in database 140 and searching third party systems 104, including the internet (i.e. querying databases), [0053], [0063], figs. 1B, 2A system 100 builds the summary page that includes connections from a user to the people and/or companies (i.e. receiving enrichment information) extracted from the web page content based on by searching (i.e. querying) and aggregating the obtained primary information and the related information obtained in relation to the primary information extracted from the original Web page, stored in the database 140 of the system, and further, obtained from third party systems 104, e.g., in an internet search (i.e. query a database with the contextual identifier to receive enrichment information), [0046], fig. 1A, third party databases are referred to herein as third party systems 104), wherein the sidebar adds the website address to a candidate website address list for addition into the enrichment database as a new record in response to the query … ([0079], [0082], [0085], [0087]-[0089], [0115], fig. 1B, fig. 2A, the content processor 120 extracts primary information from the captured page information, which can be stored in a database D2 forming part of database 140, and the output summary page is obtained from the information stored in the database 140 from step D2, which can include the primary information extracted from the original Web page, wherein the information is indexed to the URL, and the related information obtained in relation to the primary information); and
displaying the enrichment information relevant to the user activities ([0050], [0053], [0063], [0065], [0093], [0095]-[0096], [0106]-[0107], figs. 1A, 1B, 2A, 3C, 4, the summary page is generated to include the connections between the user and the people and entities and selectable active links, and then the summary page is sent to the client device to be displayed on the user device).
While White discloses all of the above, including querying, by the sidebar interacting with an enrichment database as a web service, the enrichment database using the query to retrieve enrichment information, wherein the sidebar adds the website address to a candidate website address list for addition into the enrichment database as a new record in response to the query … (as above), White does not expressly disclose the adding of website address is in response the query not returning a result for the website address in the following remaining limitation, which however, is taught by further teachings in Swannack.
Swannack teaches querying the enrichment database, and the system adds the website address to a candidate website address list for addition into the enrichment database as a new record in response to the query not returning a result for the website address ([0061], the URL extractor unit 94 analyses the HTML data retrieved by the search results retrieval unit 90, and in step S2-10 extracts URLs (Unique Resource Locator) from those pages that refer to pages identified by the search engine as being relevant to the instructed search, each URL is checked in step S2-12 by a duplicate checker 96 against a list of URLs stored in the database 36, and if the URL in question is not contained in the database already, then it is placed in the database in step S2-14 by a list updater 98, and the routine then checks in step S2-16 to establish if any more links exist in the results pages to be extracted).
White and Swannack are analogous fields of invention because both address the problem of obtaining information on webpages by parsing information from webpages. At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the system of White the ability to add a website address to a candidate website address list for addition into the enrichment database as a new record in response to the query not returning a result for the website address, as taught by Swannack, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the combination would produce the predictable results of adding a website address to a candidate website address list for addition into the enrichment database as a new record in response to the query not returning a result for the website address, as claimed. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified White with the aforementioned teachings of Swannack in order to produce the added benefit of monitoring published data sources for relevant information and delivering relevant information as requested. [0013].
Regarding claim 15, the combined teachings of White and Swannack teach the method of claim 14 (as above). Further, White teaches comprising: displaying the enrichment information through the sidebar of the web browser during real-time web browsing by a user ([0109], browser window 300 opened to an Outlook, Web-mail interface, which has a main segment 650 within which there is displayed a list of e-mails 652 and a viewing segment or pane with the text of a selected e-mail, as original content 654, and button 310 causes processing of content 654 to generate a summary page 680, [0118], while the summary page is described above as being a distinct page, summary page generator 160 may be configured to generate a summary page that is formatted identically to that of the webpage from which the summary page was generated, and the content included within the original webpage may be annotated to link the content to the related information, and Examiner notes the original content 654, which is can be annotated with related information, of the original webpage in fig. 6 below is formatted to be displayed in a sidebar of a web browser,
,
[0104], in ad segment 382, ads may be presented based on the entities (e.g., companies), etc., mentioned in the original Web page content 354, which Examiner notes is displayed in a sidebar,
).
Regarding claim 16, the combined teachings of White and Swannack teach the method of claim 14 (as above). Further, White teaches comprising: displaying, by the sidebar, the enrichment information relevant to the user activities and information extracted ([0050], [0053], [0063], [0065], [0093], [0095]-[0096], [0106]-[0107], figs. 1A, 1B, 2A, 3C, 4, the summary page is generated to include the connections between the user and the people and entities and selectable active links, and then the summary page is sent to the client device to be displayed on the user device) from a customer relationship management (CRM) system ([0053], [0056], [0059], [0061]-[0062], fig. 1B, fig. 2A, a user clicks the button of a browser displaying a web page in a browser window of the user device (i.e. the user displaying the web page - activities of the user within the application) to inspect the web page in the first window, the system extracts the contents of a Web page, and then the system extracts primary information, which includes names identifying people, companies, triggers, relationships, associations, and transactions, (i.e. detecting contextual identifiers) captured from the original web page content, and then, the user device 102 requests system 100 for a summary that includes connections from a user to the people and/or companies extracted from the web page content, wherein said request includes authentication information to identify the client and user (i.e. associated with a user identifier), [0045], [0047]-[0050], [0059]-[0060], [0101], the invention is implemented as a computer program product and a system 100 used by a sales person to extract primary information of entities, including people and companies mentioned in the web page, in order to obtain related information from content sources based on the primary information, wherein the related information includes connection paths, which is a relationship, between a user and the entities/people/companies and sales triggers that indicate to salespersons, in a sales context, when customers mentioned in the web page content are in a buying cycle (i.e. data relative to customers and their representatives); Examiner interprets a CRM application to include an application that manages relationships with customers, since the program implementing the invention identifies relationship paths between the salesperson user and customers and identifies sales triggers of customers mentioned in the content, the program is a CRM).
Regarding claim 17, the combined teachings of White and Swannack teach the method of claim 14 (as above). Further, White teaches comprising: displaying the enrichment information through the sidebar of the web browser ([0109], browser window 300 opened to an Outlook, Web-mail interface, which has a main segment 650 within which there is displayed a list of e-mails 652 and a viewing segment or pane with the text of a selected e-mail, as original content 654, and button 310 causes processing of content 654 to generate a summary page 680, [0118], while the summary page is described above as being a distinct page, summary page generator 160 may be configured to generate a summary page that is formatted identically to that of the webpage from which the summary page was generated, and the content included within the original webpage may be annotated to link the content to the related information, and Examiner notes the original content 654, which is can be annotated with related information, of the original webpage in fig. 6 below is formatted to be displayed in a sidebar of a web browser,
,
[0104], in ad segment 382, ads may be presented based on the entities (e.g., companies), etc., mentioned in the original Web page content 354, which Examiner notes is displayed in a sidebar,
),
wherein the enrichment information is populated within a user interface element ([0065], items of primary information and items of related information may be displayed as active links (i.e. populated within an UI displaying information used to populate information within the database) that allow the user to selectively "drill down" on such items to gain further information or migrate to, for example, a different Web page, search engine, system 100, and/or another site, [0111]-[0112], 7A and 7B also demonstrate the ability to drill down on information presented in a summary page, wherein Microsoft, is defaulted into the Enter Company Name or Ticker field 822 (i.e. populated within an UI) because the screen 8000 was generated by selecting the company, Microsoft, from the summary screen) used to populate information within a customer relationship management database ([0056]-[0060], [0063], user clicks button 210 (i.e. populated information within user interface element) to initiate dynamic Web page analysis by inspecting the Web page HTML, to capture content, extract the primary information, which may be stored in database 140, and obtain information based on information stored in database 140, including related information (i.e. used in the process to populate the database), [0049], [0091], the connection module 130 that finds related information related to the primary information from database 140 is also configured to search the Internet and Web and other third party systems 104 for additional related information, to update the information in database 140 (i.e. used in the process to populate the database), [0045], [0047]-[0050], [0059]-[0060], wherein primary information includes information of entities, including people and companies in the web page, in order to obtain related information from content sources based on the primary information, wherein the related information includes connection paths, which is a relationship, between a user and the entities/people/companies and sales triggers that indicate to salespersons, in a sales context, when customers mentioned in the web page content are in a buying cycle (i.e. customer relationship management)).
Regarding claim 18, the combined teachings of White and Swannack teach the method of claim 14 (as above). Further, White teaches comprising: displaying the enrichment information as an auto completion option ([0065], items of primary information and items of related information may be displayed as active links (i.e. displaying enrichment information as autocomplete options for displaying user data entry) that allow the user to selectively "drill down" on such items to gain further information or migrate to, for example, a different Web page, search engine, system 100, and/or another site, [0111]-[0112], 7A and 7B also demonstrate the ability to drill down on information presented in a summary page, wherein Microsoft, is defaulted into the Enter Company Name or Ticker field 822 (i.e. autocomplete) because the screen 8000 was generated by selecting the company, Microsoft, from the summary screen) for user data entry into a customer relationship management database (0056]-[0060], [0063], user clicks button 210 (i.e. displaying information as an option) to initiate dynamic Web page analysis by inspecting the Web page HTML, to capture content, extract the primary information, which may be stored in database 140, and obtain information based on information stored in database 140, including related information (i.e. for the process of user data entry into the database), [0049], [0091], the connection module 130 that finds related information related to the primary information from database 140 is also configured to search the Internet and Web and other third party systems 104 for additional related information, to update the information in database 140 (i.e. for the process of user data entry into the database), [0045], [0047]-[0050], [0059]-[0060], wherein primary information includes information of entities, including people and companies in the web page, in order to obtain related information from content sources based on the primary information, wherein the related information includes connection paths, which is a relationship, between a user and the entities/people/companies and sales triggers that indicate to salespersons, in a sales context, when customers in the web page content are in a buying cycle (i.e. customer relationship management)).
Regarding claim 19, the combined teachings of White and Swannack teach the method of claim 14 (as above). Further, White teaches comprising: displaying the enrichment information ([0065], items of primary information and items of related information may be displayed as active links (i.e. displaying enrichment information for displaying user data entry) that allow the user to selectively "drill down" on such items to gain further information or migrate to, for example, a different Web page, search engine, system 100, and/or another site, [0111]-[0112], 7A and 7B also demonstrate the ability to drill down on information presented in a summary page, wherein Microsoft, is defaulted into the Enter Company Name or Ticker field 822 (i.e. displaying enrichment information for displaying user data entry) because the screen 8000 was generated by selecting the company, Microsoft, from the summary screen) for user data entry into a customer relationship management database ([0056]-[0060], [0063], user clicks button 210 (i.e. displaying enrichment information for displaying user data entry) to initiate dynamic Web page analysis by inspecting the Web page HTML, to capture content, extract the primary information, which may be stored in database 140, and obtain information based on information stored in database 140, including related information (i.e. for the process of user data entry into the database), [0049], [0091], the connection module 130 that finds related information related to the primary information from database 140 is also configured to search the Internet and Web and other third party systems 104 for additional related information, to update the information in database 140 (i.e. for the process of user data entry into the database), [0045], [0047]-[0050], [0059]-[0060], wherein primary information includes information of entities, including people and companies in the web page, in order to obtain related information from content sources based on the primary information, wherein the related information includes connection paths, which is a relationship, between a user and the entities/people/companies and sales triggers that indicate to salespersons, in a sales context, when customers in the web page content are in a buying cycle (i.e. customer relationship management)).
Regarding claim 20, the combined teachings of White and Swannack teach the method of claim 14 (as above). Further, White teaches comprising: displaying the enrichment information through a user interface element used to compose an email to a recipient ([0109], browser window 300 opened to an Outlook, Web-mail interface, which has a main segment 650 within which there is displayed a list of e-mails 652 and a viewing segment or pane with the text of a selected e-mail, as original content 654, and button 310 causes processing of content 654 to generate a summary page 680,
).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
CHARLES GUILIANO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3623
/CHARLES GUILIANO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3623