DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 2-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 2-20 each recite “an apparatus according to claim…”, which should read ‘the apparatus according to claim…’ to ensure clarity in the dependence of the claims and antecedent basis of terms therein;
Claim 2 recites “applying a DC voltage to least a subset”, which should read ‘applying a DC voltage to at least a subset’.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-9, 13-14, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites “wherein one, several or all of said separation distances form flow paths through which particles coming from the output can exit the concave ion deflector”, however, claims 1 and 6, on which claim 7 depends, require only a plurality of conducting electrodes. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), such a limitation requires at least two conducting electrodes, but not necessarily more than two. In such a case ‘several’ separation distances is indefinite. As such, it is not possible to adequately determine the metes and bounds of the claim, rendering it indefinite. For purposes of examination, this limitation is interpreted as ‘wherein one or more of said separation distances form flow paths through which particles coming from the output can exit the concave ion deflector’.
Claim 13 recites the limitation “wherein each electrode of the plurality of conducting electrodes of the concave ion deflector is connected to an RF potential”, which is vague and indefinite because the claim does not provide a discernable boundary on what performs the function. The recited function does not follow from the structure recited in the claim i.e. an RF potential is not a structure, and claim 1 requires ‘an RF voltage supply for applying an RF voltage to at least a subset of the plurality of conducting electrodes of the concave ion deflector’, so it is unclear whether the function requires some other structure or is simply a result of operating the apparatus in a certain manner. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would not be able to draw a clear boundary between what is and is not covered by the claim. See MPEP 2173.05(g) for more information. For purposes of examination, this limitation is interpreted as ‘wherein each electrode of the plurality of conducting electrodes of the concave ion deflector is configured to be connected to an RF potential via the RF voltage supply’.
Claim 14 recites the limitation “wherein the RF potential on any electrode of the plurality of conducting electrodes of the concave ion deflector connected to an RF potential is 180 degrees out of phase with the RF potential on an adjacent electrode”, which appears to recite a method step, as the RF potentials applied on particular electrodes is directed toward an implementation of the apparatus, rather than toward the apparatus itself. See MPEP 2173.05(p).II. It does not appear that any modification in structure of the electrodes would be necessary to achieve such an RF potential arrangement, and thus, it is unclear what would be required of the apparatus to achieve such functionality. Additionally, claim 13 recites ‘an RF potential’, and as such the subsequent recitation of ‘an RF potential’ in claim 14 is also unclear. As such, it is not possible to adequately determine the metes and bounds of the claim, rendering it indefinite. For purposes of examination, this limitation is interpreted as ‘wherein the apparatus is configured to control phases of RF potentials on adjacent electrodes of the plurality of conducting electrodes of the concave ion deflector’.
Claim 18 recites the limitation “wherein the directed gas flow comprising ions emanated from the output enters the concave ion deflector via an ion tunnel or ion funnel”, which appears to recite a method step, directed toward the function of the apparatus, rather than toward the apparatus itself. See MPEP 2173.05(p).II. Furthermore, claim 17 requires ‘at least one ion tunnel or ion funnel’, and thus the recitation of ‘an ion tunnel or ion funnel’ is unclear in claim 18. As such, it is not possible to adequately determine the metes and bounds of the claim, rendering it indefinite. For purposes of examination, this limitation is interpreted as ‘wherein the ion tunnel or ion funnel is configured to allowed the directed gas flow comprising ions emanated from the output to enter the concave ion deflector’.
Claim 19 recites “the ion tunnel or ion funnel comprises a constriction along its direction of travel, into which the ions coming from the output are guided and focused on their way towards the inward curved surface”, however, it is not clear what ions are ‘the ions’ as no particular ions are previously recited in the claims, and each previous recitation referred only to general ‘ions’. The limitation ‘their way’ is unclear for similar reasons. Furthermore, it is unclear whether this limitation recites a method step for similar reasons to claim 18 above. As such, it is not possible to adequately determine the metes and bounds of the claim, rendering it indefinite. For purposes of examination, this limitation is interpreted as ‘the ion tunnel or ion funnel comprises a constriction along its direction of travel, configured to guide and focus ions from the output towards the inward curved surface’.
Claim 20 recites the limitation “wherein the directed gas flow comprising ions emanated from the output enters the concave ion deflector via an ion funnel with gradually increasing inner diameter along its direction of travel”, which appears to recite a method step, directed toward the function of the apparatus, rather than toward the apparatus itself. See MPEP 2173.05(p).II. Additionally, the claim depends on claim 17 (through claim 18), which previously required an ion funnel or ion tunnel, and thus, the recitation of ‘an ion funnel’ is unclear. As such, it is not possible to adequately determine the metes and bounds of the claim, rendering it indefinite. For purposes of examination, this limitation is interpreted as ‘wherein the ion tunnel or ion funnel comprises an ion funnel with gradually increasing inner diameter along its direction of travel, the ion funnel configured to allow the directed gas flow comprising ions emanated from the output to enters the concave ion deflector’.
Claims that depend on the above rejected claims are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-19, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kurulugama (U.S. PGPub. No. US 20120298853 A1).
Examiner notes that Kurulugama (USPN US 8698075 B2) is applicant provided prior art via the IDS dated 12/16/2024, and that the PGPub of the provided document was merely used for ease of citation.
Regarding claim 1, Kurulugama teaches an apparatus for an ion spectrometric system that facilitates the transmission of ions (Title; Abstract), said apparatus comprising:
a concave ion deflector (See Figs. 2-3, 5; [0003]-[0004]; [0036]-[0042], e.g. item 10), the concave ion deflector comprising:
a plurality of conducting electrodes forming an inward curved surface (See Figs. 2-3, 5; [0003]-[0004]; [0036]-[0042], e.g. items 12), and
a pusher element for deflecting ions (See Figs. 2-3, 5; [0003]-[0004]; [0036]-[0042], e.g. item 22);
an RF voltage supply for applying an RF voltage to at least a subset of the plurality of conducting electrodes of the concave ion deflector (See Figs. 2-3, 5; [0003]-[0004]; [0036]-[0042]; [0046]; i.e., that which applies the RF voltages to items 12 as described); and
an output configured to emanate a directed gas flow comprising ions (See Figs. 2-3, 5; [0003]-[0004]; [0036]-[0042], e.g. items 18, 20);
wherein
the output and the concave ion deflector are arranged relative to each other in such a way that the directed gas flow comprising ions is directed toward the inward curved surface of the concave ion deflector (See Figs. 2-3, 5; [0003]-[0004]; [0036]-[0042], e.g. items 18, 20 direct gas flow comprising ions toward inward curved surface of item 10);
the output is located outside the concave ion deflector (See Figs. 2-3, 5; [0003]-[0004]; [0036]-[0042], e.g. items 18, 20); and
the concave ion deflector is configured to retain and deflect ions from the output while simultaneously allowing other particles from the output to pass through the inward curved surface (See Figs. 2-3, 5; [0003]-[0004]; [0036]-[0042]; Examiner notes that the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) of such functional limitations in an apparatus claim require only structure capable of the function, and that the device of Kurulugama would allow non-ionized particles through the spacing between the electrodes 12, e.g., see item 24).
Regarding claim 2, Kurulugama teaches an apparatus according to claim 1.
Kurulugama further teaches further comprising a DC voltage supply for applying a DC voltage to least a subset of the plurality of conducting electrodes and/or to the pusher element of the concave ion deflector (See Figs. 2-3, 5; [0003]-[0004]; [0036]-[0042]; [0046]; i.e., that which applies the DC voltages to items 12, 22 as described).
Regarding claim 3, as best understood in view of the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issues identified above, Kurulugama teaches an apparatus according to claim 1.
Kurulugama further teaches wherein the pusher element comprises a repeller electrode ([0004]; [0038]).
Regarding claim 4, as best understood in view of the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issues identified above, Kurulugama teaches an apparatus according to claim 1.
Kurulugama further wherein one or more electrodes of the plurality of conducting electrodes of the concave ion deflector are concave (See Figs. 2-3, 5; [0003]-[0004]; [0036]-[0042], e.g. items 12).
Regarding claim 6, as best understood in view of the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issues identified above, Kurulugama teaches an apparatus according to claim 1.
Kurulugama further teaches wherein the plurality of conducting electrodes of the concave ion deflector are aligned along a common axis such that said electrodes form an ion guiding path (See Figs. 2-3, 5; [0003]-[0004]; [0036]-[0042]; e.g., item 16).
Regarding claim 7, as best understood in view of the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issues identified above, Kurulugama teaches an apparatus according to claim 6.
Kurulugama further teaches wherein adjacent aligned electrodes of the plurality of conducting electrodes of the concave ion deflector are separated from each other by separation distances and wherein one, several or all of said separation distances form flow paths through which particles coming from the output can exit the concave ion deflector (See Figs. 2-3, 5; [0003]-[0004]; [0036]-[0042]; e.g., the spacing between the electrodes 12, and e.g., exiting via item 24).
Regarding claim 8, as best understood in view of the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issues identified above, Kurulugama teaches an apparatus according to claim 6.
Kurulugama further teaches wherein the output and the concave ion deflector are arranged relative to each other in such a way that the directed gas flow comprising ions emanated from the output moves toward and/or enters the concave ion deflector at an angle of 35 to 145° with respect to the common axis along which the plurality of conducting electrodes of the concave ion deflector are aligned (See Figs. 2-3, 5; [0003]-[0004]; [0036]-[0042]; e.g., the angle between items 18, 20 and 10 are between 35 to 145°, the gas being injected according to the angle).
Regarding claim 9, as best understood in view of the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issues identified above, Kurulugama teaches an apparatus according to claim 8.
Kurulugama further teaches wherein the output and the concave ion deflector are arranged relative to each other in such a way that the directed gas flow comprising ions emanated from the output moves toward and/or enters the concave ion deflector in a direction orthogonal to the common axis along which the plurality of conducting electrodes of the concave ion deflector are aligned (See Figs. 2-3, 5; [0003]-[0004]; [0036]-[0042]; e.g., items 18, 20 and 10 are arranged orthogonal, the gas being injected orthogonally).
Regarding claim 10, as best understood in view of the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issues identified above, Kurulugama teaches an apparatus according to claim 1.
Kurulugama further teaches wherein the output is a capillary or an orifice (See Figs. 2-3, 5; [0003]-[0004]; [0036]-[0042], e.g. items 18, 20).
Regarding claim 11, as best understood in view of the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issues identified above, Kurulugama teaches an apparatus according to claim 1.
Kurulugama further teaches further comprising a shield, wherein the shield at least partially surrounds the output (See Figs. 3, 5; [0041]-[0043], e.g. item 21, surrounding items 18, 20).
Regarding claim 12, as best understood in view of the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issues identified above, Kurulugama teaches an apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the shield is located directly in front of the concave ion deflector and/or wherein the shield has the shape of a tube, and the output extends into the tube (See Figs. 3, 5; [0041]-[0043], e.g. item 21, shaped as a tube, having items 18, 20 extending therein).
Regarding claim 13, as best understood in view of the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issues identified above, Kurulugama teaches an apparatus according to claim 1.
Kurulugama further teaches wherein each electrode of the plurality of conducting electrodes of the concave ion deflector is connected to an RF potential (See Figs. 2-5; [0003]-[0004]; [0036]-[0042]; [0046]; i.e., that which applies the RF voltages to items 12 as described).
Regarding claim 14, as best understood in view of the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issues identified above, Kurulugama teaches an apparatus according to claim 13.
Kurulugama further teaches wherein the RF potential on any electrode of the plurality of conducting electrodes of the concave ion deflector connected to an RF potential is 180 degrees out of phase with the RF potential on an adjacent electrode ([0046]; Claim 12).
Regarding claim 15, as best understood in view of the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issues identified above, Kurulugama teaches an apparatus according to claim 1.
Kurulugama further teaches further comprising at least one pumping port (See Figs. 2-3, 5; [0003]-[0004]; [0036]-[0042]; e.g., item 24, or pumping port in prior art embodiment).
Regarding claim 16, as best understood in view of the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issues identified above, Kurulugama teaches an apparatus according to claim 15.
Kurulugama further teaches wherein the concave ion deflector is located between the output and the at least one pumping port (See Figs. 2-3, 5; [0003]-[0004]; [0036]-[0042]; e.g., item 24, or pumping port in prior art embodiment).
Regarding claim 17, as best understood in view of the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issues identified above, Kurulugama teaches an apparatus according to claim 1.
Kurulugama further teaches wherein the concave ion deflector comprises at least one ion tunnel or ion funnel (See Figs. 2-3, 5; [0003]-[0004]; [0036]-[0042]; e.g., item 10).
Regarding claim 18, as best understood in view of the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issues identified above, Kurulugama teaches an apparatus according to claim 17.
Kurulugama further teaches wherein the directed gas flow comprising ions emanated from the output enters the concave ion deflector via an ion tunnel or ion funnel, wherein the ion tunnel or ion funnel is configured to focus ions coming from the output while the ions are moving toward the inward curved surface of the concave ion deflector (See Fig. 5; [0046]; e.g., gas flow from 18, 20 into ion funnel/tunnel 10, which focuses ions en route toward second funnel/tunnel 10).
Regarding claim 19, as best understood in view of the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issues identified above, Kurulugama teaches an apparatus according to claim 18.
Kurulugama further teaches wherein the ion tunnel or ion funnel comprises a constriction along its direction of travel, into which the ions coming from the output are guided and focused on their way towards the inward curved surface (See Fig. 5; [0046]; e.g., ion funnel/tunnel 10 has constriction toward item 48, ions from output 18, 20 are focused and guided in constricted portion, e.g., portion 30, which focuses ions en route toward second funnel/tunnel 10).
Regarding claim 21, as best understood in view of the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issues identified above, Kurulugama teaches an apparatus for an ion spectrometric system that facilitates the transmission of ions (Title; Abstract), said apparatus comprising:
a concave ion deflector (See Figs. 2-3, 5; [0003]-[0004]; [0036]-[0042], e.g. item 10), the concave ion deflector comprising:
a plurality of conducting electrodes forming an inward curved surface (See Figs. 2-3, 5; [0003]-[0004]; [0036]-[0042], e.g. items 12), and
a pusher element for deflecting ions (See Figs. 2-3, 5; [0003]-[0004]; [0036]-[0042], e.g. item 22);
an RF voltage supply for applying an RF voltage to at least a subset of the plurality of conducting electrodes of the concave ion deflector (See Figs. 2-3, 5; [0003]-[0004]; [0036]-[0042]; [0046]; i.e., that which applies the RF voltages to items 12 as described); and
an output configured to emanate a directed gas flow comprising ions (See Figs. 2-3, 5; [0003]-[0004]; [0036]-[0042], e.g. items 18, 20);
wherein
the output is arranged such that a direction followed by the directed gas flow comprising ions intersects the inward curved surface of the concave ion deflector (See Figs. 2-3, 5; [0003]-[0004]; [0036]-[0042], e.g. items 18, 20 direct gas flow comprising ions such that the flow direction intersects the inward curved surface of item 10);
the output is located outside the concave ion deflector (See Figs. 2-3, 5; [0003]-[0004]; [0036]-[0042], e.g. items 18, 20); and
the concave ion deflector is configured to retain and deflect ions coming from the output while simultaneously allowing other particles coming from the output to pass through the inward curved surface (See Figs. 2-3, 5; [0003]-[0004]; [0036]-[0042]; Examiner notes that the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) of such functional limitations in an apparatus claim require only structure capable of the function, and that the device of Kurulugama would allow non-ionized particles through the spacing between the electrodes 12, e.g., see item 24).
Regarding claim 22, as best understood in view of the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issues identified above, Kurulugama teaches a method for facilitating the transmission of ions in an ion spectrometric system (Title; Abstract), the method comprising the steps of:
a) providing an apparatus (See Figs. 2-3, 5; Apparatus is inherently provided by Kurulugama to perform the process therein) comprising:
a concave ion deflector (See Figs. 2-3, 5; [0003]-[0004]; [0036]-[0042], e.g. item 10), the concave ion deflector comprising:
a plurality of conducting electrodes forming an inward curved surface (See Figs. 2-3, 5; [0003]-[0004]; [0036]-[0042], e.g. items 12), and
a pusher element for deflecting ions (See Figs. 2-3, 5; [0003]-[0004]; [0036]-[0042], e.g. item 22);
an RF voltage supply for applying an RF voltage to at least a subset of the plurality of conducting electrodes of the concave ion deflector (See Figs. 2-3, 5; [0003]-[0004]; [0036]-[0042]; [0046]; i.e., that which applies the RF voltages to items 12 as described); and
an output located outside the concave ion deflector and configured to emanate a directed gas flow comprising ions (See Figs. 2-3, 5; [0003]-[0004]; [0036]-[0042], e.g. items 18, 20);
b) emitting a directed gas flow comprising ions from the output and toward the inward curved surface of the concave ion deflector (See Figs. 2-3, 5; [0003]-[0004]; [0036]-[0042]; Claim 21), and
c) retaining and deflecting ions which enter or approach the concave ion deflector while simultaneously allowing other particles coming from the output to pass through the inward curved surface (See Figs. 2-3, 5; [0003]-[0004]; [0036]-[0042]; e.g., see item 24; Examiner notes the Kurulugama discloses allowing non-ionized particles through the spacing between the electrodes 12; Claims 21, 25, and 26).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurulugama, in view of Zhang (U.S. PGPub. No. US 20150206731 A1).
Examiner notes that Zhang (USPN US 9620347 B2) is applicant provided prior art via the IDS dated 12/16/2024, and that the PGPub of the provided document was merely used for ease of citation.
Regarding claim 5, as best understood in view of the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issues identified above, Kurulugama teaches an apparatus according to claim 4.
Kurulugama does not explicitly teach wherein one or more electrodes of the plurality of conducting electrodes of the concave ion deflector are C-shaped, U-shaped and/or horseshoe-shaped electrodes.
However, Kurulugama teaches a ‘funnel’ shape, or functional equivalents, which in this context indicated that the electrodes are ring shaped.
Examiner notes that an ordinarily skilled artisan in the field of ion spectrometry would have an advanced degree (e.g., a PhD) in a physical science/engineering, or equivalent experience, and would thus have a relatively high level of ordinary skill and knowledge.
Accordingly, a mere modification of the shape of such an electrode to one of such shapes would be within the abilities of an ordinarily skilled artisan who would be reasonably apprised of such alternative morphologies, and have the skills necessary to adapt such an electrode to the system of Kurulugama, as suggested by Kurulugama in [0036].
Nevertheless, Zhang teaches wherein one or more electrodes of the plurality of conducting electrodes of the concave ion deflector are C-shaped, U-shaped and/or horseshoe-shaped electrodes (See Figs. 1-7, 9; Abstract; [0023]-[0033]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kurulugama to explicitly include wherein one or more electrodes of the plurality of conducting electrodes of the concave ion deflector are C-shaped, U-shaped and/or horseshoe-shaped electrodes, as taught by Zhang.
Doing so represents combining known prior art elements according to known methods in order to achieve predictable results, as Zhang discloses such morphologies, and an ordinarily skilled artisan could readily adapt such a structure to the apparatus of Kurulugama with a reasonable expectation of success, and having predictable results, which would allow one to create additional field arrangements for controlling the path of the ions, as discussed in Zhang.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurulugama, in view of Smith (U.S. PGPub. No. US 20050092918 A1).
Regarding claim 20, as best understood in view of the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issues identified above, Kurulugama teaches an apparatus according to claim 18.
Kurulugama does not explicitly teach wherein the directed gas flow comprising ions emanated from the output enters the concave ion deflector via an ion funnel with gradually increasing inner diameter along its direction of travel (Emphasis added by Examiner).
Smith teaches the directed gas flow comprising ions emanated from the output enters the concave ion deflector via an ion funnel with gradually increasing inner diameter along its direction of travel (See Fig. 1, item 1, which includes a portion having gradually increasing inner diameter along its direction of travel; [0007]-[0017]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kurulugama to include wherein the directed gas flow comprising ions emanated from the output enters the concave ion deflector via an ion funnel with gradually increasing inner diameter along its direction of travel (Emphasis added by Examiner), as taught by Smith.
Doing so represents combining known prior art elements according to known methods in order to achieve predictable results, as Smith teaches such a structure applied upstream of an additional ion funnel, and the aforementioned ordinarily skilled artisan could readily adapt such a structure to the apparatus of Kurulugama with a reasonable expectation, and having predictable results, which would allow one to create additional field arrangements for controlling the path of the ions and allow for expanding ion flows, as discussed in Smith.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER J GASSEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2881
/DAVID E SMITH/Examiner, Art Unit 2881