DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed on December 16, 2024; April 9, 2026, August 24, 2026 and September 4, 2026 have been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Murowaki et al (US 6,280,205; hereinafter Murowaki).
Regarding claim 1, Murowaki discloses a wire harness (see figure 1) comprising: a connector (see figure 1) including a plurality of terminals (2) having insertion portions (3), and a terminal holding part (1) that holds the plurality of terminals (2) arranged in a plurality of rows in a state where the insertion portions (3) protrude therefrom; and a planar routing member including a flat plate-shaped flexible printed board part (7) having flexibility, with a plurality of through holes (8) formed therein to be physically and electrically connected to the terminals (2) through the through holes (8), wherein the flexible printed board part (7) is disposed to cover an end surface from which the insertion portions (3) of the plurality of terminals (2) protrude in the terminal holding part (1, see figure 1), and is physically and electrically connected to the insertion portions (3) via solders in a state where the insertion portions (3) of the terminals (11) corresponding to the plurality of through holes (8) are inserted into the plurality of through holes, respectively (see figure 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murowaki et al (US 6,280,205; hereinafter Murowaki) in view of Miura ( JP 2016-58357; cited in the IDS).
Regarding claim 3, Murowaki discloses the claimed invention except for the terminal holding part includes a plurality of flat plate parts having a flat plate shape, each holding the plurality of terminals in one of the rows, and the connector further includes a housing that holds the plurality of flat plate parts stacked in a plate thickness direction of the plurality of flat plate parts in a state where the end surface of the terminal holding part is exposed outward. Miura teaches a connector (1) comping a terminal holding part (11) includes a plurality of flat plate parts having a flat plate shape (see figure 4), each holding the plurality of terminals (12) in one of the rows, and the connector (1) further includes a housing (2) that holds the plurality of flat plate parts (11) stacked in a plate thickness direction of the plurality of flat plate parts in a state where the end surface of the terminal holding part is exposed outward (see figures 1-7). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide to Murowaki’s terminal holding part with plurality of flat plate parts having a flat plate shape, each holding the plurality of terminals in one of the rows, and the connector further includes a housing that holds the plurality of flat plate parts stacked in a plate thickness direction of the plurality of flat plate parts in a state where the end surface of the terminal holding part is exposed outward as taught by Miura to provide a connector that allows for easy modification of the terminal arrangement.
Regarding claim 5, the modified Murowaki discloses the wire harness (see figure 1), wherein the terminal holding part (11; as taught by Miura ) holds the plurality of terminals (12) arranged in such a manner that the plurality of terminals (12) in one of the rows adjacent to each other are shifted in a row direction of the plurality of terminals (12) with respect to the plurality of terminals in the other one of the rows adjacent to each other (as taught by Miura).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 4 and 6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner's statement of reasons for allowance: The primary reason for the indication of the allowability of claims 2, 4 and 6 is:
Regarding claims 2, 4 and 6, the prior art does not teach or fairly suggest in combination with the other claimed limitations the wire harness wherein the planar routing member further includes a flat plate-shaped rigid board part connected to one end of the flexible printed board part and having higher rigidity than the flexible printed board part, with electronic components being physically and electrically connected thereto via solders, and in a state where the flexible printed board part is bent on one end side, the flexible printed board part is positioned to face the terminal holding part in a protruding direction of the insertion portions with respect to the terminal holding part, and the rigid board part is positioned to face the terminal holding part in a direction intersecting the protruding direction.
This limitation is found in claims 2, 4 and 6, and are neither disclosed nor taught by the prior art of record, alone or in combination.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Murakami et al (US 7,354,318), Grek (US 6,719,574), Wu et al (US 5,605,477), Ozaki et al (US 5,295,842), Fukami et al (US 10,931,071), Ohyama et al (US 10,513,231) disclose a wire harness.
September 2, 2026
/ANGEL R ESTRADA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841