DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-9 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al, application no. 2023/0051778, hereinafter known as Lee in view of Kunt et al, application no. 2025/0193965, hereinafter known as Kunt.
As to claim 1, Lee discloses a terminal apparatus comprising: a control unit (Lee, figure 2, terminal 120 with control manager 140); and a receiving unit configured to receive, from a base station apparatus, a radio resource control (RRC) message including a Discontinuous Reception (DRX) configuration, the DRX configuration including information for indicating a value of an on- duration timer for a DRX group (Lee, [0048], terminal receiving DRX cycle configuration from the base station; [0087]-[0088], DRX on-duration timer for DRX group received by terminal from base station;.[0095], [0099], RRC message sent by base station to terminal that includes configuration for DRX cycle), wherein the control unit is configured to monitor a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) in an active time which includes a time while the on-duration timer for the DRX group is running (Lee, [0086], terminal monitors PDCCH grant sent by base station during active time of the DRX cycle), wherein the on-duration timer for the DRX group is started based on a first mathematical expression using a DRX cycle in a case where the terminal apparatus receives information for indicating a non-integer value of a length of the DRX cycle, the DRX configuration including the information for indicating the non-integer value of the length of the DRX cycle (Lee, [0092]-[0099], Terminal receives indication from base station of DRX cycle with non-integer value that further enables computing formula for determination of periodicity and timer of the DRX cycle), the on-duration timer for the DRX group is started based on a second mathematical expression using the DRX cycle in a case where the terminal apparatus does not receive the information for indicating the non-integer value of the length of the DRX cycle (Lee, figure 5, [0071]-[0073], conventional use of DRX cycle timer at 515 and 520 when a non-integer value of the length of DRX is not available). Lee does not expressly disclose however Kunt discloses and the first mathematical expression includes an addition operation of a System Frame Number (SFN) and a first value, the first value being computed based on a second value which is incremented by one in a case where the SFN changes to zero (Kunt,[0021]-[0022], an extend-SFN used to compute DRX formulas that determine the start of subframe of the DRX-onDuration Timer. The SFN is wrapped around and increment by 1 when it reaches zero; SFN indication sent by base station to terminal; [0058]-[0059], [0071], determining DRX cycle formula with n (first number) based on E-SFN (second number)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lee to include the limitations of and the first mathematical expression includes an addition operation of a System Frame Number (SFN) and a first value, the first value being computed based on a second value which is incremented by one in a case where the SFN changes to zero as taught by Kunt. Incrementing the second value by one when it reaches zero helps DRX cycle stay time aligned for low latency application such as XR devices (Lee, [0069]).
As to claim 2, Lee and Kunt disclose the terminal apparatus according to claim 1. Lee does not disclose however Kunt discloses wherein the second mathematical expression does not include the first value computed based on the second value (Kunt, [0022], use of legacy formula when DRX cycle is not a factor of 10240).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lee to include the limitations of wherein the second mathematical expression does not include the first value computed based on the second value as taught by Kunt. The second expression without the first value means legacy DRX cycle computation can be used thereby lowering computational needs.
As to claim 3, Lee and Kunt disclose the terminal apparatus according to claim 1. Lee does not disclose however Kunt discloses wherein the first value is computed based on a multiplication operation of the second value and a predetermined integer value (Kunt, [0059, [0071], first value based on E-SFN multiplied by 10240).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lee to include the limitations of wherein the first value is computed based on a multiplication operation of the second value and a predetermined integer value as taught by Kunt. Use of predetermined value integer DRX Cycle can help align for plural types of devices such XR devices and DRX cycle value (Kunt, [0022]).
As to claims 4-6, the claims are rejected as applied to claim 1-3 respectively above by Lee in view of Kunt.
As to claim 7, Lee discloses a base station apparatus comprising: a control unit (Lee, figure 2, base station 200 with control unit 244); and a transmitting unit configured to transmit, to a terminal apparatus, a radio resource control (RRC) message including a Discontinuous Reception (DRX) configuration, the DRX configuration including information for indicating a value of an on-duration timer for a DRX group (Lee, [0048], terminal receiving DRX cycle configuration from the base station; [0087]-[0088], DRX on-duration timer for DRX group received by terminal from base station;.[0095], [0099], RRC message sent by base station to terminal that includes configuration for DRX cycle), wherein the control unit is configured to control a DRX operation for the terminal apparatus to monitor a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) in an active time which includes a time while the on-duration timer for the DRX group is running (Lee, [0086], terminal monitors PDCCH grant sent by base station during active time of the DRX cycle), wherein the on-duration timer for the DRX group is started based on a first mathematical expression using a DRX cycle in a case where information for indicating a non-integer value of a length of the DRX cycle is configured, the DRX configuration including the information for indicating the non-integer value of the length of the DRX cycle (Lee, [0092]-[0099], Terminal receives indication from base station of DRX cycle with non-integer value that further enables computing formula for determination of periodicity and timer of the DRX cycle), the on-duration timer for the DRX group is started based on a second mathematical expression using the DRX cycle in a case where the information for indicating that the non-integer value of the length of the DRX cycle is not configured (Lee, figure 5, [0071]-[0073], conventional use of DRX cycle timer at 515 and 520 when a non-integer value of the length of DRX is not available). Lee does not disclose however Kunt discloses and the first mathematical expression includes an addition operation of a System Frame Number (SFN) and a first value, the first value being computed based on a second value which is incremented by one in a case where the SFN changes to zero (Kunt,[0021]-[0022], an extend-SFN used to compute DRX formulas that determine the start of subframe of the DRX-onDuration Timer. The SFN is wrapped around and increment by 1 when it reaches zero; SFN indication sent by base station to terminal; [0058]-[0059], [0071], determining DRX cycle formula with n (first number) based on E-SFN (second number).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lee to include the limitations of and the first mathematical expression includes an addition operation of a System Frame Number (SFN) and a first value, the first value being computed based on a second value which is incremented by one in a case where the SFN changes to zero as taught by Kunt. Incrementing the second value by one when it reaches zero helps DRX cycle stay time aligned for low latency application such as XR devices (Lee, [0069]).
As to claims 8-9, the claims are rejected as applied to claim 2-3 respectively above by Lee in view of Kunt.
Conclusion
/GAUTAM SHARMA/ Examiner, Art Unit 2467
/HASSAN A PHILLIPS/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2467