The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claims 2, 8, 15 and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
claim 2, line 2, and claim 17, line 2, “a” (2nd occurrence) should be --the--;
claim 8, penultimate line, “with” should be --when--;
claim 15, penultimate line, --the-- should be inserted before “shaker” (1st occurrence).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claims {1, 2, 5 and 6} and { 8, 9, 12 and 13} are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 5/4/2/1 and 12/11/9/8, respectively, of copending Application No. 18/755127 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of the claims of the instant application are fully encompassed within the claims of the reference application (i.e., they are merely broader).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 3/1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,168,568. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of the claims sought to be patented are fully encompassed within the scope of the patented claim (i.e., the pending claims are merely broader).
Claims {1-3, 5, 6, 8-10, 12 and 13} and {15, 16, 19 and 20} are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 9/1 and 11/1, respectively, of U.S. Patent No. 12,065,308. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of the claims sought to be patented are fully encompassed within the scope of the patented claims (i.e., the pending claims are merely broader).
Claims {1-3, 5-10 and 12-14} and {15-17, 19 and 20} are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 8/7/1 and 10/7/1, respectively, of U.S. Patent No. 11,414,267. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of the claims sought to be patented are fully encompassed within the scope of the patented claims (i.e., the pending claims are merely broader).
Claims 1-3, 7-10 and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hachenberg (DE 102008013940, cited by applicant).
Hachenberg discloses several embodiments of a tipper assembly comprising:
a base (such as but not necessarily limited to 36; Figs 14-22);
an actuator 34 coupled to the base, the actuator including a transmission (not shown but described in the paragraph spanning pages 5-6 of the English translation provided in the parent application);
an arm 35 coupled to the actuator;
an implement 33/41 coupled to the arm and configured to engage with a container 6 such that operation of the actuator facilitates pivoting the container from a base position to a dump position (Figs. 18-22); and
a shaker assembly configured to facilitate providing a shake function when the container is in the dump position (not separately identified but described in the last full paragraph on page 5 of the above-noted translation).
Hachenberg further discloses one or more linkages (e.g., the lower arm of 33) extending between the transmission and the lower retainer (at least indirectly).
Hachenberg does not explicitly disclose that the shaker assembly is coupled to the actuator and includes the one or more linkages to provide the shake function via movement of the transmission when the container is in the dump position.
However, since the transmission is disclosed as being between the rotation axis of the motor and the pivoting device (as noted in the paragraph spanning pages 5 and 6 of the above-noted translation), and since the shaking function involves moving the waste container back and forth several times, it is believed that one of ordinary skill in the art would logically conclude that repeatedly reversing the output of the actuator through the use of the transmission rather than the actuator itself is implicit within the reference, or at the very least that utilizing movement of the transmission would have been an obvious means for providing the shake function. As such, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus of Hachenberg such that the shaker assembly was coupled to the actuator and included the one or more linkages to provide the shake function via movement of the transmission, as the examiner takes Official Notice that a transmission is a well-known means of converting rotary motion of an output from an actuator into an alternating rotary (i.e., "shaking) motion of a device or implement coupled to the actuator, and would preclude the necessity of repeatedly reversing the motion of the actuator itself, thus simplifying the movement operation and extending the life of the motor.
Re claim 2, the implement includes an upper retainer 33 and a lower retainer 41 that are configured to engage with [a] the container.
Re claim 3, Hachenberg shows at least that the one or more linkages are coupled to the lower retainer.
Re claim 7, Hachenberg further discloses in the above-noted passage of the translation that the transmission is positioned between the arm and the actuator along a pivot axis of the arm.
Re claims 8 and 9, as all the limitations thereof are contained within claims 1 and 2 treated above, no additional analysis is deemed necessary.
Similarly, claims 10 and 14 are treated in the same manner an analogous claims 3 and 7 above.
Re claim 15, at least the portion of the implement with indicia thereon (Figs. 16, 23-25) is considered to be a “shaker plate”, as broadly recited. As such, when treated in the same manner described above with respect to claims 1 and 8, during operation with the container in the dump position, the shaker assembly would be configured to provide the shake function via the shaker plate in response to movement of the transmission.
Claims 16-17 are treated in the same manner as analogous claims 9-10 above.
Claims 4, 11 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hachenberg in view of Heneveld, Jr. et al (US 10,610,429, cited by applicant).
Hachenberg does not disclose that the transmission includes a cycloidal drive.
Heneveld shows an actuator 48 for moving a member 56 (analogous to the claimed arm) relative to a patient support 20 (analogous to the claimed base), wherein the actuator includes a motor 64 and a cycloidal drive 72 (col. 4:25-57 and col. 5:32-59). This results in a compact mechanism and improved packaging within the apparatus.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus of Hachenberg by providing a cycloidal drive as part of the actuator (e.g., the transmission thereof), as suggested by Heneveld, to provide a compact mechanism that would be easily packaged within the confines of the environment in which it operates.
Claims 5, 6, 12, 13, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hachenberg in view of Clergeau (EP 2457850, cited by applicant).
Re claims 5, 12 and 19, Hachenberg does not disclose that the transmission includes a planetary gear set.
Clergeau shows a generally similar tipper assembly for dumping containers wherein “planetary gear motors” 17 are utilized for performing the dumping operation. Although the term transmission is not used with respect to the planetary gears, it is believed, based on what is shown in Fig. 3, that one of ordinary skill would understand that the planetary gears are part of a transmission assembly attached to the motors rather than being part of the motors themselves.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus of Hachenberg by configuring the transmission to include a planetary gear set, as shown by Clergeau, as this would simply be one of a finite number of known types of transmissions from which to choose for the purpose of effectively and reliably transferring power from a motor to effect a tipping motion, the selection of which in the apparatus of Hachenberg would have neither required undue experimentation nor produced unexpected results.
Re claims 6, 13 and 20, insofar as a ring gear is an inherent component of a planetary gear set, the one or more linkages of the modified shaker assembly of Hachenberg would obviously be coupled to such a ring gear to provide the shake function.
/James Keenan/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3652
7/21/26