Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al (CN 107606211 A) in view of Suzuki et al (JP H09233875 A).
Regarding claim(s) 1, 3, Zhao discloses a motor-operated valve comprising: a motor 10 generating rotational driving force by supply of electric power (necessary supply of motor power); a valve seat 4 having a valve port 101 through which fluid passes; a valve body 17,18 for opening and closing the valve port; a magnetic gear 22 for magnetically transmitting the rotational driving force from an output shaft 11 of the motor to the valve body. Zhao would necessarily have a motor controller to move the valve between fully closed, fully open and intermediate positions.
Zhao fails to disclose the motor as electrically driven motor with a controller adjusting the valve between fully closed, fully open and intermediate positions. Suzuki teaches an electrically driven motor 50 with a controller (CPU) adjusting the valve between fully closed, fully open and intermediate (throttle) positions.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the system disclosed by Zhao with an electrically driven motor with a controller adjusting the valve between fully closed, fully open and intermediate positions as taught by Suzuki in order to enable automatic electrically driven valve control.
Zhao as such modified would have controller configured to control electric current supplied to the motor, wherein the controller is configured to control the electric current supplied to the motor to be equal to an adjusting current value (valve actuation) during a fully-closed operation in which the valve port is to be fully closed by the valve body, and also an adjusting current value (valve actuation) by which an electric current is supplied to the motor during opening adjustment when an opening degree of the valve port is adjusted by the valve body. Zhao fails to disclose limiting the adjusting current value (valve actuation) for fully or partially opening or closing the valve to less than an upper limit (fully-closed/opened current limit value). Suzuki (translation , abstract) teaches limiting the current valve to a valve motor to an upper limit (below an above-limit value). Suzuki teaches controller configured to perform abnormality determination (by current sensor “R”) control to determine that an abnormality (overcurrent) has occurred in operation of the valve body in response to the electric current supplied to the motor reaching a determination current value (limit value), and the determination current value is greater than the adjusting current value (normal valve actuation) and less than the (upper-current-limit value).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the system disclosed by Zhao with detecting motor current and determining the current reaching a limit value and limiting the valve actuation electric current value to less than an upper unsafe limit as taught by Suzuki in order to prevent over speeding of valve.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 2, 4-9 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ATIF H CHAUDRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753