DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means”, “step”, or a generic placeholder but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “cleaning device” in Claims 1-14 and “image bearing member” in Claims 1 and 9.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8-12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kitan US 2022/0082986 (hereafter Kitan).
Regarding Claim 1, Kitan anticipates:
1. (Original) A cleaning device comprising:
a blade (cleaning blade 1, 201) in contact with a surface of an image bearing member (photosensitive drum 101, Figure 3) along a longitudinal direction (into and out of page) and configured to remove toner from the surface of the image bearing member in a contacting portion (edge portion E) to the image bearing member (Paragraph [0079]);
a support plate (supporting plate 3) configured to support the blade (Figures 3 and 8);
a reinforcing plate (swing plate 4) fixed to the support plate (Figures 3 and 8);
wherein the support plate is provided with a first flat portion (surface portion labeled in attached Figure 8 below) disposed along the longitudinal direction and including a fixing portion (portion of first flat portion 31 labeled in attached Figure 8 below) to which the blade is fixed, a first one end portion (labeled in attached Figure 8 below) of the first flat portion on a side (upper side shown in attached Figure 8 below) close to the contacting portion (shown in attached Figure 8 below) with respect to a short side direction of the blade (labeled in attached Figure 8 below), and a first the other end portion of the first flat portion (labeled in attached Figure 8 below) on a side (lower side shown in attached Figure 8 below) far from the contacting portion (shown in attached Figure 8 below);
wherein the reinforcing plate is provided with a second flat portion (labeled in attached Figure 8 below) disposed along the longitudinal direction so as to be along the first flat portion (shown in attached Figure 8 below), a second one end portion (labeled in attached Figure 8 below) of the second flat portion on a side (upper side shown in attached Figure 8 below) close to the contacting portion with respect to the short side direction of the blade (shown in attached Figure 8 below), and a second the other end portion (labeled in attached Figure 8 below) of the second flat portion on a side (lower side shown in attached Figure 8 below) far from the contacting portion (shown in attached Figure 8 below); and
wherein as viewed in the longitudinal direction, the second one end portion is provided with a first projecting portion (flat surface projects to form plate thickness as shown in attached Figure 8 below) projecting from the second flat portion in a first direction (labeled in attached Figure 8 below) crossing the short side direction of the blade (shown in attached Figure 8 below) and the second the other end portion is provided with a second projecting portion (labeled portion projects to form L-shape as shown in attached Figure 8 below) projecting from the second flat portion in a second direction (labeled in attached Figure 8 below) opposite to the first direction (shown in attached Figure 8 below).
Regarding Claim 2, Kitan anticipates:
2. (Original) The cleaning device according to Claim 1, wherein the first projecting portion (flat surface projects to form thickness as shown in attached Figure 8 above) is positioned at a side (upper side shown in attached Figure 8 above) closer to the contacting portion (labeled in attached Figure 8 above) than a center position (labeled in attached Figure 8 above) of the support plate (supporting plate 3) with respect to the short side direction (labeled in attached Figure 8 above) of the blade (cleaning blade 1, 201).
Regarding Claim 3, Kitan anticipates:
3. (Original) The cleaning device according to Claim 1, further comprising a container (housing 5 (case (casing), framework (frame), cleaning container)) provided with a support plate fixing portion (portion that accommodates the plurality of screws 20 shown in Figures 3 and 7) to which the first flat portion (labeled in attached Figure 8 above) is fixed.
Regarding Claim 4, Kitan anticipates:
4. (Original) The cleaning device according to Claim 3, wherein the first projecting portion (flat surface projects to form plate thickness as shown in attached Figure 8 above) is positioned at a side (upper side shown in attached Figure 8 above) closer to the contacting portion (labeled in attached Figure 8 above) than the support plate fixing portion (portion that accommodates the plurality of screws 20 shown in Figures 3 and 7) with respect to the short side direction (labeled in attached Figure 8 above) of the blade (cleaning blade 1, 201)(Note: boundary of first projecting portion - flat surface projects to form plate thickness as shown in attached Figure 8 above – can be arbitrarily located to meet this limitation).
Regarding Claim 5, Kitan anticipates:
5. (Original) The cleaning device according to Claim 1, wherein the first the other end portion (labeled in attached Figure 8 above) of the support plate (supporting plate 3) includes a support plate projecting portion (labeled in attached Figure 8 above) provided so as to project (shown in attached Figure 8 above) from the first flat portion (labeled in attached Figure 8 above).
Regarding Claim 6, Kitan anticipates:
6. (Original) The cleaning device according to Claim 1, wherein the reinforcing plate (swing plate 4) is fixed to the support plate (supporting plate 3) so that the second flat portion (labeled in attached Figure 8 above) is in contact with the first flat portion (labeled in attached Figure 8 above)(shown in Figure 8 – assembled state).
Regarding Claim 8, Kitan anticipates:
8. (Original) The cleaning device according to Claim 1, wherein the first projecting portion (flat surface projects to form plate thickness as shown in attached Figure 8 below) and the second projecting portion (labeled portion projects to form L-shape as shown in attached Figure 8 below) are formed by bending (product by process – not limited by bending process as interpreted IAW MPEP 2113, however, swing plate 4 is formed by bending, Paragraph [0047]) the reinforcing plate (swing plate 4).
Regarding Claim 9, Kitan anticipates:
9. (Currently Amended) A cleaning device comprising:
a blade (cleaning blade 1, 201) in contact with a surface of an image bearing member (photosensitive drum 101, Figure 3) along a longitudinal direction (into and out of page) and configured to remove toner from the surface of the image bearing member in a contacting portion (edge portion E) to the image bearing member (Paragraph [0079]);
a support plate (supporting plate 3) configured to support the blade (Figures 3 and 8);
a reinforcing plate (swing plate 4) fixed to the support plate (Figures 3 and 8);
wherein the support plate is provided with a first flat portion (surface portion labeled in attached Figure 8 below) disposed along the longitudinal direction and including a fixing portion (portion of first flat portion 31 labeled in attached Figure 8 below) to which the blade is fixed, a first one end portion (labeled in attached Figure 8 below) of the first flat portion on a side (upper side shown in attached Figure 8 below) close to the contacting portion (labeled in attached Figure 8 below) with respect to a short side direction of the blade (labeled in attached Figure 8 below), and a first the other end portion (labeled in attached Figure 8 below) of the first flat portion on a side (lower side shown in attached Figure 8 below) far from the contacting portion;
a container (housing 5 (case (casing), framework (frame), cleaning container)) provided with a support plate fixing portion (portion that accommodates the plurality of screws 20 shown in Figures 3 and 7) to which the first flat portion of the support plate is fixed;
wherein the reinforcing plate is provided with a second flat portion (labeled in attached Figure 8 below) disposed along the longitudinal direction so as to be along the first flat portion (shown in attached Figure 8 below), a second one end portion (labeled in attached Figure 8 below) of the second flat portion on a side (upper side shown in attached Figure 8 below) close to the contacting portion with respect to the short side direction of the blade (shown in attached Figure 8 below), and a second the other end portion (labeled in attached Figure 8 below) of the second flat portion on a side far (lower side shown in attached Figure 8 below) from the contacting portion; and
wherein as viewed in the longitudinal direction, the second one end portion is provided with a [[first]] projecting portion (flat surface projects to form plate thickness as shown in attached Figure 8 below) projecting from the second flat portion in a first direction (labeled in attached Figure 8 below) crossing the short side direction of the blade (shown in attached Figure 8 below) and the first the other end portion is provided with a support plate projecting portion (labeled portion projects to form L-shape as shown in attached Figure 8 below) projecting from the first flat portion in a second direction (labeled in attached Figure 8 below) opposite to the first direction (shown in attached Figure 8 below).
Regarding Claim 10, Kitan anticipates:
10. (Currently Amended) The cleaning device according to Claim 9, wherein the [[first]] projecting portion (flat surface projects to form thickness as shown in attached Figure 8 above) is positioned at a side (upper side shown in attached Figure 8 above) closer to the contacting portion (labeled in attached Figure 8 above) than a center position (labeled in attached Figure 8 above) of the support plate with respect to the short side direction (labeled in attached Figure 8 above) of the blade.
Regarding Claim 11, Kitan anticipates:
11. (Currently Amended) The cleaning device according to Claim 9, wherein the [[first]] projecting portion (flat surface projects to form thickness as shown in attached Figure 8 above) is positioned at a side closer (upper side shown in attached Figure 8 above) to the contacting portion (labeled in attached Figure 8 above) than the support plate fixing portion (portion that accommodates the plurality of screws 20 shown in Figures 3 and 7) with respect to the short side direction (labeled in attached Figure 8 above) of the blade (cleaning blade 1, 201).
Regarding Claim 12, Kitan anticipates:
12. (Original) The cleaning device according to Claim 9, wherein the reinforcing plate (swing plate 4) is fixed to the support plate (supporting plate 3) so that the second flat portion (labeled in attached Figure 8 above) is in contact with the first flat portion (labeled in attached Figure 8 above)(shown in Figure 8 – assembled state).
Regarding Claim 14, Kitan anticipates:
14. (Currently Amended) The cleaning device according to The cleaning device according to wherein the [[first]] projecting portion (flat surface projects to form plate thickness as shown in attached Figure 8 below) is formed by bending (product by process – not limited by bending process as interpreted IAW MPEP 2113, however, swing plate 4 is formed by bending, Paragraph [0047]) the reinforcing plate (swing plate 4) and the support plate projecting portion (labeled portion projects to form L-shape as shown in attached Figure 8 below) is formed by bending (product by process – not limited by bending process as interpreted IAW MPEP 2113, however, supporting plate 3 is formed by bending, Paragraph [0046]) the support plate (supporting plate 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 7 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kitan US 2022/0082986 (hereafter Kitan) in view of design choice.
Regarding Claim 7, Kitan teaches:
7. (Original) The cleaning device according to Claim 1, wherein the support plate (supporting plate 3) and the reinforcing plate (swing plate 4) are formed of a same material (see discussion below).
Kitan discloses in Paragraph [0046] and [0047] that the supporting plate 3 and swing plate 4 are both formed by bending a metal plate. As shown in Figure 8, both plates appear to be similar in size and thickness. Kitan does not disclose the exact “metal” material, therefore, Kitan does not specifically disclose that both plates are formed from the same material, such as steel, aluminum, etc. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the two adjacent parts out of the same material with the motivation to prevent galvanic corrosion between dissimilar materials, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. See also Ballas Liquidating Co. v. Allied industries of Kansas, Inc. (DC Kans) 205 USPQ 331.
Regarding Claim 13, Kitan teaches:
13. (Original) The cleaning device according to Claim 9, wherein the support plate (supporting plate 3) and the reinforcing plate (swing plate 4) are formed of a same material (see discussion below).
Kitan discloses in Paragraph [0046] and [0047] that the supporting plate 3 and swing plate 4 are both formed by bending a metal plate. As shown in Figure 8, both plates appear to be similar in size and thickness. Kitan does not disclose the exact “metal” material, therefore, Kitan does not specifically disclose that both plates are formed from the same material, such as steel, aluminum, etc. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the two adjacent parts out of the same material with the motivation to prevent galvanic corrosion between dissimilar materials, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. See also Ballas Liquidating Co. v. Allied industries of Kansas, Inc. (DC Kans) 205 USPQ 331.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found in form PTO-892 Notice of References Cited. Specifically, the prior art references include pertinent disclosures of blade cleaning devices.
/MARC CARLSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723