DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the amendment filed on 06/09/2026. Claims 1-9 are currently pending with claim 1 being amended.
Response to Amendment
The amendments to the claims submitted on 06/09/2026 overcome the claim objections set forth in the previous Office action except for those set forth in the claim objection section.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments, see communications, filed 06/09/2026 with respect to the interpretation of claim limitations “route creator”, “area setter”, and “position setter” under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The interpretation of these claim limitations under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 06/09/2026 with respect the interpretation of claim limitation “working device” under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Examiner disagrees with Applicant’s assertion that a “working device” connotes a known structure in the art. The term is defined in terms of function rather than structure. The term “working device” is a generic placeholder which does not include specific structural meaning. This term is then modified by the functional language of “that performs work by using a material”. Neither the original term, the functional language, or the remaining claim limitations incorporate structure which would be capable of performing the claimed functionality.
Applicant's arguments filed 06/09/2026 with respect to the rejection of claims 1-9 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant has asserted that the cited prior art does not suggest the claimed invention because the “host vehicle” or “central logistical unit (CLU)” is present in the field rather than providing a replenishment site “outside the work area” as claimed. The Examiner disagrees with this assertion because the “host vehicle”/”CLU” which is suggested by Pichlmaier is capable of performing the replenishment of resources at a plurality of locations since it is capable of movement. Ishikawa discloses defining a “replenishment position” (denoted as “PH” in the figure below) within the “replenishment area” (denoted as A5 in the figure below) which is outside of the “work area” (denoted as A2 in the figure below). It would be obvious to combine the “replenishment positions” as taught by Ishikawa with the “host vehicle” as taught by Pichlmaier by performing the replenishment at these positions. This would ensure that the worked area is not disturbed by the host vehicle during replenishment and that the robot performing the work has adequate fuel/material to perform the desired operation. It would be obvious to utilize each of these replenishment positions for both or either refueling or refilling of material according to the needs of the device which is operating in the field. Please also see Ishikawa figure 9 which demonstrates the replenishment position at PH with respect to the total amount of material. For at least these reasons the Examiner believes that the cited prior art does suggest the claimed invention.
Figure 1: Ishikawa Figure 7 Demonstrating relative location of "replenishment area", "replenishment position", and "work area"
Claim Interpretation
Regarding claim 1, “working device” will be interpreted under 112(f) because of the following three-prong analysis:
Prong 1: The claim uses the nonce term “device”.
Prong 2: The claim uses functional language to modify the nonce term.
Prong 3: Sufficient structure for performing the function is not recited within the claim.
This limitation is being interpreted according to the specification (paragraph 0032) as “a fertilizer spreading device for spreading a fertilizer, a pesticide spreading device for spreading a pesticide, a seedling transplanting device for transplanting a seedling, a seeding device for spreading a seed, or the like”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishikawa et al. (US 20220167545 A1), hereinafter Ishikawa in view of Pichlmaier et al. (US 20170336787 A1), hereinafter Pichlmaier.
Regarding claim 1, Ishikawa teaches:
1. (Currently Amended) A working machine comprising:
a traveling vehicle; (Paragraph 0100, "The agricultural machine further includes an automatic operation controller configured or programmed to cause the working device to perform work while automatically operating the traveling vehicle body based on the planned traveling route. When the change reception switch receives the change, the automatic operation controller is configured or programmed to cause, when a remaining amount of the material is not zero, the traveling vehicle body to travel up to a position where the material runs out to end the work and then to cause the traveling vehicle body to return to the changed position.")
…
a working device provided in the traveling vehicle and that performs work by using a material; (Paragraph 0047, “A lifting device 8 including, for example, a three-point linkage mechanism is provided on a rear portion of the traveling vehicle body 3. A working device 2 is detachably attached to the lifting device 8. The traveling vehicle body 3 can tow the working device 2 by coupling the working device 2 to the lifting device 8. The working device 2 performs work using a material. Examples of the working device 2 include a fertilizer spreading device that spreads fertilizer, an agricultural chemical spraying device that sprays agricultural chemicals, a seedling transplanter that transplants seedlings, and a seeder that scatters seeds. That is, the working device 2 supplies an agricultural field with a material such as a fertilizer, an agricultural chemical, seedlings, or seeds.”) and
a controller configured or programmed to define and function (Paragraph 0010, “The agricultural machine further includes an automatic operation controller configured or programmed to cause the working device to perform work while automatically operating the traveling vehicle body based on the planned traveling route. When the change reception switch receives the change, the automatic operation controller is configured or programmed to cause, when a remaining amount of the material is not zero, the traveling vehicle body to travel up to a position where the material runs out to end the work and then to cause the traveling vehicle body to return to the changed position.”) as:
a route creator configured or programmed to create a scheduled travel route of the traveling vehicle in a work area where the working device performs the work by using the material;
an area setter configured or programmed to set a replenishment area in which replenishment with the material and replenishment with the energy source are performed outside the work area; and
a position setter configured or programmed to set a first replenishment position, which is a position for the replenishment with the material, and … in the replenishment area set by the area setter. (Paragraph 0006, "An agricultural machine according to a preferred embodiment of the present invention includes a traveling vehicle body capable of traveling, a route creator to create a planned traveling route for the traveling vehicle body in a work area where a working device provided on the traveling vehicle body performs work using a material, an area setter to set, outside the work area, a replenishment area where the material is replenished, a charge amount acquirer to acquire a charge amount of the material loaded on the working device, a remaining amount calculator to calculate a remaining amount of the material based on the charge amount acquired by the charge amount acquirer and a material consumption of the material consumed by the work, a position setter to set a replenishment position where the material is replenished in the replenishment area set by the area setter based on the remaining amount calculated by the remaining amount calculator, a change reception switch to receive a change of the replenishment position, a position changer to change the replenishment position when the change reception switch receives the change, and a display to display a changed position that is the changed replenishment position.")
Ishikawa does not specifically discuss a second replenishment for replenishing the energy/fuel used during operation of the system. However, Pichlmaier, in the same field of endeavor of robotics and autonomous work vehicles, teaches:
… a storage to store an energy source to drive the traveling vehicle; (Paragraph 0040, "In an alternative or additional variant, the delivered resource includes energy such as fuel for the robot. As represented by FIG. 6, where the robot is electrically driven the resource from the CLU will be an electrical charge from a battery 42 or generator of the CLU. Although shown differently coupled than in FIG. 5, it will be understood that the mutually configured means 36, 38 may additionally be arranged to provide a current path between CLU and robot when engaged to enable battery charging and replenishment of reservoir 40 to be performed simultaneously. In a further alternative, the CLU 10 may provide means to exchange the complete battery instead of recharging it, to minimize down time for a robot. The CLU may then be enabled to recharge the exchanged and recharged battery for the next robot. The CLU may also be provided with means to generate electrical energy such as by means of solar panels, fuel cells or other such means.") … a second replenishment position, (Paragraphs 0023-0024, "A host vehicle 10, also referred to herein as a central logistical unit (CLU), is accompanied in the field by one or more autonomous agricultural machines (AAMs) or robots 12 configurable for performing the agricultural operation, for example as planters, feeders, weeders or sprayers. Preferably a cluster of robots 12A, 12B etc. is provided to allow for dynamic allocation and reallocation of tasks to individual robots, as discussed further below. A control subsystem operable to control the performance of the agricultural operation is suitably provided in a distributed manner (cloud computing) represented by remote server 14.
Positional guidance for the robots 12 is provided by a global navigation satellite system (GNSS) represented by satellite 16, with real-time kinematic (RTK) enhancement to enable centimetre accuracy in the positioning of the robots 12. The RTK reference station or beacon 18 is provided by the host vehicle, preferably carried by the CLU 10 as shown which relays the RTK-derived position correction data 19 to the robots 12. In an alternative arrangement shown in FIG. 2, the CLU 10 may be a further AAM configured to position the RTK beacon 18 at a selected location relative to the field 20 to be worked. Alternatively (referring back to FIG. 1), the CLU 10 may be provided with means to receive correction signals via mobile phone communication from an RTK reference station situated distant to the field (identified as RTK networks 18′) and forward this signal to the robots 12. The RTK reference station or beacon 18 installed on the CLU or positioned by the CLU can then be omitted.") which is a position for the replenishment with the energy source, (Paragraph 0040, "In an alternative or additional variant, the delivered resource includes energy such as fuel for the robot. As represented by FIG. 6, where the robot is electrically driven the resource from the CLU will be an electrical charge from a battery 42 or generator of the CLU. Although shown differently coupled than in FIG. 5, it will be understood that the mutually configured means 36, 38 may additionally be arranged to provide a current path between CLU and robot when engaged to enable battery charging and replenishment of reservoir 40 to be performed simultaneously. In a further alternative, the CLU 10 may provide means to exchange the complete battery instead of recharging it, to minimize down time for a robot. The CLU may then be enabled to recharge the exchanged and recharged battery for the next robot. The CLU may also be provided with means to generate electrical energy such as by means of solar panels, fuel cells or other such means.") …
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the agricultural machine and operation methods as taught by Ishikawa with the ability to replenish multiple resources including energy/fuel for the system as taught by Pichlmaier. It would be obvious to provide both replenishment of energy to power the system and of the material being used during work as taught by Pichlmaier so as to allow the system to efficiently replenish all resources at one reduce the amount of time used when refilling the fuel/material reserves.
Regarding claim 2, where all the limitations of claim 1 are discussed above, Ishikawa further teaches:
2. (original) The working machine according to claim 1, wherein
the route creator is configured or programmed to create a turning route that passes through the replenishment area from the work area, and returns to the work area again; and
the position setter is configured or programmed to set the first replenishment position … in a portion corresponding to the turning route in the replenishment area. (Paragraph 0007, "The route creator is configured or programmed to create a turning route passing through the replenishment area from the work area and returning to the work area again. The position setter is configured or programmed to set the replenishment position in a portion of the replenishment area corresponding to the turning route.")
Ishikawa does not specifically discuss a second replenishment for replenishing the energy/fuel used during operation of the system. However, Pichlmaier, in the same field of endeavor of robotics and autonomous work vehicles, teaches:
… and the second replenishment position (Paragraphs 0023-0024, "A host vehicle 10, also referred to herein as a central logistical unit (CLU), is accompanied in the field by one or more autonomous agricultural machines (AAMs) or robots 12 configurable for performing the agricultural operation, for example as planters, feeders, weeders or sprayers. Preferably a cluster of robots 12A, 12B etc. is provided to allow for dynamic allocation and reallocation of tasks to individual robots, as discussed further below. A control subsystem operable to control the performance of the agricultural operation is suitably provided in a distributed manner (cloud computing) represented by remote server 14.
Positional guidance for the robots 12 is provided by a global navigation satellite system (GNSS) represented by satellite 16, with real-time kinematic (RTK) enhancement to enable centimetre accuracy in the positioning of the robots 12. The RTK reference station or beacon 18 is provided by the host vehicle, preferably carried by the CLU 10 as shown which relays the RTK-derived position correction data 19 to the robots 12. In an alternative arrangement shown in FIG. 2, the CLU 10 may be a further AAM configured to position the RTK beacon 18 at a selected location relative to the field 20 to be worked. Alternatively (referring back to FIG. 1), the CLU 10 may be provided with means to receive correction signals via mobile phone communication from an RTK reference station situated distant to the field (identified as RTK networks 18′) and forward this signal to the robots 12. The RTK reference station or beacon 18 installed on the CLU or positioned by the CLU can then be omitted.") …
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the agricultural machine and operation methods as taught by Ishikawa with the ability to replenish multiple resources including energy/fuel for the system as taught by Pichlmaier. It would be obvious to provide both replenishment of energy to power the system and of the material being used during work as taught by Pichlmaier so as to allow the system to efficiently replenish all resources at one reduce the amount of time used when refilling the fuel/material reserves.
Regarding claim 3, where all the limitations of claim 2 are discussed above, Ishikawa further teaches:
3. (original) The working machine according to claim 2, wherein the position setter is configured or programmed to set the first replenishment position (Paragraph 0006, "An agricultural machine according to a preferred embodiment of the present invention includes a traveling vehicle body capable of traveling, a route creator to create a planned traveling route for the traveling vehicle body in a work area where a working device provided on the traveling vehicle body performs work using a material, an area setter to set, outside the work area, a replenishment area where the material is replenished, a charge amount acquirer to acquire a charge amount of the material loaded on the working device, a remaining amount calculator to calculate a remaining amount of the material based on the charge amount acquired by the charge amount acquirer and a material consumption of the material consumed by the work, a position setter to set a replenishment position where the material is replenished in the replenishment area set by the area setter based on the remaining amount calculated by the remaining amount calculator, a change reception switch to receive a change of the replenishment position, a position changer to change the replenishment position when the change reception switch receives the change, and a display to display a changed position that is the changed replenishment position.") … on turning routes on a same side in a turning direction of the traveling vehicle among a plurality of the turning routes. (Paragraph 0075, "Suppose that the remaining amounts of the material at end positions Z1 to Z6 of the respective straight-ahead routes L1a are as illustrated in FIG. 9. On the turning route L1b leading from the end position Z3 adjacent to the replenishment area A5, the replenishment position PH does not have to be set because the remaining amount is not zero at the end position Z3. On the other hand, at the end position Z5, the remaining amount is small. Thus, as indicated by a virtual line, if the material is not replenished at the end position Z5, the remaining amount becomes zero at the end position Z6 opposite to the replenishment area A5. Thus, the position setting unit 51G sets the replenishment position PH at least on the turning route L1b leading from the end position Z5. Although, in FIG. 9, the replenishment position PH is set on the turning route L1b leading from the end position Z5, the position setting unit 51G may set the replenishment position PH on the turning route L1b leading from the end position Z3. That is, the position setting unit 51G sets the replenishment position PH on any of the turning routes L1b arranged on the same side among the plurality of turning routes L1b. Setting the replenishment positions PH on the turning routes L1b arranged on the same side in this manner can facilitate the replenishment. When the position setting unit 51G sets the replenishment position PH, the replenishment position PH set by the position setting unit 51G is stored in the storage unit 53.)
Ishikawa does not specifically discuss a second replenishment for replenishing the energy/fuel used during operation of the system. However, Pichlmaier, in the same field of endeavor of robotics and autonomous work vehicles, teaches:
… and the second replenishment position (Paragraphs 0023-0024, "A host vehicle 10, also referred to herein as a central logistical unit (CLU), is accompanied in the field by one or more autonomous agricultural machines (AAMs) or robots 12 configurable for performing the agricultural operation, for example as planters, feeders, weeders or sprayers. Preferably a cluster of robots 12A, 12B etc. is provided to allow for dynamic allocation and reallocation of tasks to individual robots, as discussed further below. A control subsystem operable to control the performance of the agricultural operation is suitably provided in a distributed manner (cloud computing) represented by remote server 14.
Positional guidance for the robots 12 is provided by a global navigation satellite system (GNSS) represented by satellite 16, with real-time kinematic (RTK) enhancement to enable centimetre accuracy in the positioning of the robots 12. The RTK reference station or beacon 18 is provided by the host vehicle, preferably carried by the CLU 10 as shown which relays the RTK-derived position correction data 19 to the robots 12. In an alternative arrangement shown in FIG. 2, the CLU 10 may be a further AAM configured to position the RTK beacon 18 at a selected location relative to the field 20 to be worked. Alternatively (referring back to FIG. 1), the CLU 10 may be provided with means to receive correction signals via mobile phone communication from an RTK reference station situated distant to the field (identified as RTK networks 18′) and forward this signal to the robots 12. The RTK reference station or beacon 18 installed on the CLU or positioned by the CLU can then be omitted.") …
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the agricultural machine and operation methods as taught by Ishikawa with the ability to replenish multiple resources including energy/fuel for the system as taught by Pichlmaier. It would be obvious to provide both replenishment of energy to power the system and of the material being used during work as taught by Pichlmaier so as to allow the system to efficiently replenish all resources at one reduce the amount of time used when refilling the fuel/material reserves.
Regarding claim 4, where all the limitations of claim 1 are discussed above, Ishikawa further teaches:
4. (original) The working machine according to claim 1, wherein
the position setter is configured or programmed to set (Paragraph 0006, "An agricultural machine according to a preferred embodiment of the present invention includes a traveling vehicle body capable of traveling, a route creator to create a planned traveling route for the traveling vehicle body in a work area where a working device provided on the traveling vehicle body performs work using a material, an area setter to set, outside the work area, a replenishment area where the material is replenished, a charge amount acquirer to acquire a charge amount of the material loaded on the working device, a remaining amount calculator to calculate a remaining amount of the material based on the charge amount acquired by the charge amount acquirer and a material consumption of the material consumed by the work, a position setter to set a replenishment position where the material is replenished in the replenishment area set by the area setter based on the remaining amount calculated by the remaining amount calculator, a change reception switch to receive a change of the replenishment position, a position changer to change the replenishment position when the change reception switch receives the change, and a display to display a changed position that is the changed replenishment position.") … and
the working machine further comprises an automated driving controller configured or programmed to perform the work by the working device while causing the traveling vehicle to perform automated driving based on the scheduled travel route, the automated driving controller being configured or programmed to move the traveling vehicle (Paragraphs 0009-0011, "The position changer is configured or programmed to set the changed position before the replenishment position in a traveling direction of the planned traveling route in the portion of the replenishment area corresponding to the turning route.
The agricultural machine further includes an automatic operation controller configured or programmed to cause the working device to perform work while automatically operating the traveling vehicle body based on the planned traveling route. When the change reception switch receives the change, the automatic operation controller is configured or programmed to cause, when a remaining amount of the material is not zero, the traveling vehicle body to travel up to a position where the material runs out to end the work and then to cause the traveling vehicle body to return to the changed position.
The agricultural machine further includes an automatic operation controller configured or programmed to cause the working device to perform work while automatically operating the traveling vehicle body based on the planned traveling route. When the change reception switch receives the change, the automatic operation controller is configured or programmed to stop the work performed by the working device to end the work and then to cause the traveling vehicle body to return to the changed position.") … set by the position setter. (Paragraph 0006, "An agricultural machine according to a preferred embodiment of the present invention includes a traveling vehicle body capable of traveling, a route creator to create a planned traveling route for the traveling vehicle body in a work area where a working device provided on the traveling vehicle body performs work using a material, an area setter to set, outside the work area, a replenishment area where the material is replenished, a charge amount acquirer to acquire a charge amount of the material loaded on the working device, a remaining amount calculator to calculate a remaining amount of the material based on the charge amount acquired by the charge amount acquirer and a material consumption of the material consumed by the work, a position setter to set a replenishment position where the material is replenished in the replenishment area set by the area setter based on the remaining amount calculated by the remaining amount calculator, a change reception switch to receive a change of the replenishment position, a position changer to change the replenishment position when the change reception switch receives the change, and a display to display a changed position that is the changed replenishment position.")
Ishikawa does not specifically discuss a second replenishment for replenishing the energy/fuel used during operation of the system. However, Pichlmaier, in the same field of endeavor of robotics and autonomous work vehicles, teaches:
… the second replenishment position based on a remaining level of the energy source in the storage; (Paragraph 0034, "Using data indicative of robot functions may help to sort out problems, at the same time preserving the simplicity approach: if the motor shows low performance but the vehicle should otherwise move fast (detected by the time and position data as above), the energy in the robot may be low, indicating a recharge may be required." This demonstrates that the system determines when to replenish the fuel sources based on the amount of energy remaining. The system will determine the location at which replenishing the fuel will occur.) … to the second replenishment position (Paragraphs 0023-0024, "A host vehicle 10, also referred to herein as a central logistical unit (CLU), is accompanied in the field by one or more autonomous agricultural machines (AAMs) or robots 12 configurable for performing the agricultural operation, for example as planters, feeders, weeders or sprayers. Preferably a cluster of robots 12A, 12B etc. is provided to allow for dynamic allocation and reallocation of tasks to individual robots, as discussed further below. A control subsystem operable to control the performance of the agricultural operation is suitably provided in a distributed manner (cloud computing) represented by remote server 14.
Positional guidance for the robots 12 is provided by a global navigation satellite system (GNSS) represented by satellite 16, with real-time kinematic (RTK) enhancement to enable centimetre accuracy in the positioning of the robots 12. The RTK reference station or beacon 18 is provided by the host vehicle, preferably carried by the CLU 10 as shown which relays the RTK-derived position correction data 19 to the robots 12. In an alternative arrangement shown in FIG. 2, the CLU 10 may be a further AAM configured to position the RTK beacon 18 at a selected location relative to the field 20 to be worked. Alternatively (referring back to FIG. 1), the CLU 10 may be provided with means to receive correction signals via mobile phone communication from an RTK reference station situated distant to the field (identified as RTK networks 18′) and forward this signal to the robots 12. The RTK reference station or beacon 18 installed on the CLU or positioned by the CLU can then be omitted.") …
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the agricultural machine and operation methods as taught by Ishikawa with the ability to replenish multiple resources including energy/fuel for the system as taught by Pichlmaier. It would be obvious to provide both replenishment of energy to power the system and of the material being used during work as taught by Pichlmaier so as to allow the system to efficiently replenish all resources at one reduce the amount of time used when refilling the fuel/material reserves.
Regarding claim 5, where all the limitations of claim 1 are discussed above, Ishikawa further teaches:
5. (original) The working machine according to claim 1, wherein
the position setter is configured or programmed to set the first replenishment position (Paragraph 0006, "An agricultural machine according to a preferred embodiment of the present invention includes a traveling vehicle body capable of traveling, a route creator to create a planned traveling route for the traveling vehicle body in a work area where a working device provided on the traveling vehicle body performs work using a material, an area setter to set, outside the work area, a replenishment area where the material is replenished, a charge amount acquirer to acquire a charge amount of the material loaded on the working device, a remaining amount calculator to calculate a remaining amount of the material based on the charge amount acquired by the charge amount acquirer and a material consumption of the material consumed by the work, a position setter to set a replenishment position where the material is replenished in the replenishment area set by the area setter based on the remaining amount calculated by the remaining amount calculator, a change reception switch to receive a change of the replenishment position, a position changer to change the replenishment position when the change reception switch receives the change, and a display to display a changed position that is the changed replenishment position.") based on a remaining amount of the material in the working device; (Paragraph 0075, "Suppose that the remaining amounts of the material at end positions Z1 to Z6 of the respective straight-ahead routes L1a are as illustrated in FIG. 9. On the turning route L1b leading from the end position Z3 adjacent to the replenishment area A5, the replenishment position PH does not have to be set because the remaining amount is not zero at the end position Z3. On the other hand, at the end position Z5, the remaining amount is small. Thus, as indicated by a virtual line, if the material is not replenished at the end position Z5, the remaining amount becomes zero at the end position Z6 opposite to the replenishment area A5. Thus, the position setting unit 51G sets the replenishment position PH at least on the turning route L1b leading from the end position Z5. Although, in FIG. 9, the replenishment position PH is set on the turning route L1b leading from the end position Z5, the position setting unit 51G may set the replenishment position PH on the turning route L1b leading from the end position Z3. That is, the position setting unit 51G sets the replenishment position PH on any of the turning routes L1b arranged on the same side among the plurality of turning routes L1b. Setting the replenishment positions PH on the turning routes L1b arranged on the same side in this manner can facilitate the replenishment. When the position setting unit 51G sets the replenishment position PH, the replenishment position PH set by the position setting unit 51G is stored in the storage unit 53.") and
the working machine further comprises an automated driving controller configured or programmed to perform the work by the working device while causing the traveling vehicle to perform automated driving based on the scheduled travel route, the automated driving controller being configured or programmed to move the traveling vehicle to the first replenishment position set by the position setter. (Paragraphs 0009-0011, "The position changer is configured or programmed to set the changed position before the replenishment position in a traveling direction of the planned traveling route in the portion of the replenishment area corresponding to the turning route.
The agricultural machine further includes an automatic operation controller configured or programmed to cause the working device to perform work while automatically operating the traveling vehicle body based on the planned traveling route. When the change reception switch receives the change, the automatic operation controller is configured or programmed to cause, when a remaining amount of the material is not zero, the traveling vehicle body to travel up to a position where the material runs out to end the work and then to cause the traveling vehicle body to return to the changed position.
The agricultural machine further includes an automatic operation controller configured or programmed to cause the working device to perform work while automatically operating the traveling vehicle body based on the planned traveling route. When the change reception switch receives the change, the automatic operation controller is configured or programmed to stop the work performed by the working device to end the work and then to cause the traveling vehicle body to return to the changed position.")
Regarding claim 6, where all the limitations of claim 1 are discussed above, Ishikawa further teaches:
6. (original) The working machine according to claim 1, comprising:
… set by the position setter, (Paragraph 0006, "An agricultural machine according to a preferred embodiment of the present invention includes a traveling vehicle body capable of traveling, a route creator to create a planned traveling route for the traveling vehicle body in a work area where a working device provided on the traveling vehicle body performs work using a material, an area setter to set, outside the work area, a replenishment area where the material is replenished, a charge amount acquirer to acquire a charge amount of the material loaded on the working device, a remaining amount calculator to calculate a remaining amount of the material based on the charge amount acquired by the charge amount acquirer and a material consumption of the material consumed by the work, a position setter to set a replenishment position where the material is replenished in the replenishment area set by the area setter based on the remaining amount calculated by the remaining amount calculator, a change reception switch to receive a change of the replenishment position, a position changer to change the replenishment position when the change reception switch receives the change, and a display to display a changed position that is the changed replenishment position.") …
Ishikawa does not specifically discuss the refueling process including the replacement of the energy source with a full energy source. However, Pichlmaier, in the same field of endeavor of robotics and autonomous work, teaches:
… a storage mounting portion on which the storage is mounted; (Paragraph 0013, "Where the agricultural operation is planting, the delivered resource from the AAM may comprises seed. Where it is spraying, the resource may be water, fertilizer, or pesticide or any other liquid, gaseous or solid matter. Alternately or additionally, where the or each autonomous agricultural vehicle is electrically powered, the resource may be energy in form of fuel or an electric charge. By enabling the AAM's to replenish necessary resources in the field, they need not carry for example a full days supply and thus can be made smaller and lighter, reducing the effects of soil compaction." Please also see Figures 5A-7 which demonstrate the refilling process of both material and energy.) wherein
in a case where the replenishment with the energy source is performed at the second replenishment position … the storage mounted on the storage mounting portion is separated, and a new storage to replace the separated storage is mounted on the storage mounting portion. (Paragraph 0040, "In an alternative or additional variant, the delivered resource includes energy such as fuel for the robot. As represented by FIG. 6, where the robot is electrically driven the resource from the CLU will be an electrical charge from a battery 42 or generator of the CLU. Although shown differently coupled than in FIG. 5, it will be understood that the mutually configured means 36, 38 may additionally be arranged to provide a current path between CLU and robot when engaged to enable battery charging and replenishment of reservoir 40 to be performed simultaneously. In a further alternative, the CLU 10 may provide means to exchange the complete battery instead of recharging it, to minimize down time for a robot. The CLU may then be enabled to recharge the exchanged and recharged battery for the next robot. The CLU may also be provided with means to generate electrical energy such as by means of solar panels, fuel cells or other such means.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the agricultural system as taught by Ishikawa with the ability to swap energy sources in order to refuel as taught by Pichlmaier. This would ensure efficient refueling thereby increasing the speed at which the system may perform work.
Regarding claim 7, where all the limitations of claim 4 are discussed above, Ishikawa further teaches:
7. (original) The working machine according to claim 4, wherein
the position setter is configured or programmed to set the first replenishment position (Paragraph 0006, "An agricultural machine according to a preferred embodiment of the present invention includes a traveling vehicle body capable of traveling, a route creator to create a planned traveling route for the traveling vehicle body in a work area where a working device provided on the traveling vehicle body performs work using a material, an area setter to set, outside the work area, a replenishment area where the material is replenished, a charge amount acquirer to acquire a charge amount of the material loaded on the working device, a remaining amount calculator to calculate a remaining amount of the material based on the charge amount acquired by the charge amount acquirer and a material consumption of the material consumed by the work, a position setter to set a replenishment position where the material is replenished in the replenishment area set by the area setter based on the remaining amount calculated by the remaining amount calculator, a change reception switch to receive a change of the replenishment position, a position changer to change the replenishment position when the change reception switch receives the change, and a display to display a changed position that is the changed replenishment position.") based on a remaining amount of the material in the working device; (Paragraph 0075, "Suppose that the remaining amounts of the material at end positions Z1 to Z6 of the respective straight-ahead routes L1a are as illustrated in FIG. 9. On the turning route L1b leading from the end position Z3 adjacent to the replenishment area A5, the replenishment position PH does not have to be set because the remaining amount is not zero at the end position Z3. On the other hand, at the end position Z5, the remaining amount is small. Thus, as indicated by a virtual line, if the material is not replenished at the end position Z5, the remaining amount becomes zero at the end position Z6 opposite to the replenishment area A5. Thus, the position setting unit 51G sets the replenishment position PH at least on the turning route L1b leading from the end position Z5. Although, in FIG. 9, the replenishment position PH is set on the turning route L1b leading from the end position Z5, the position setting unit 51G may set the replenishment position PH on the turning route L1b leading from the end position Z3. That is, the position setting unit 51G sets the replenishment position PH on any of the turning routes L1b arranged on the same side among the plurality of turning routes L1b. Setting the replenishment positions PH on the turning routes L1b arranged on the same side in this manner can facilitate the replenishment. When the position setting unit 51G sets the replenishment position PH, the replenishment position PH set by the position setting unit 51G is stored in the storage unit 53.") and
the working machine further comprises an automated driving controller configured or programmed to perform the work by the working device while causing the traveling vehicle to perform automated driving based on the scheduled travel route, the automated driving controller being configured or programmed to move the traveling vehicle to the first replenishment position set by the position setter. (Paragraphs 0009-0011, "The position changer is configured or programmed to set the changed position before the replenishment position in a traveling direction of the planned traveling route in the portion of the replenishment area corresponding to the turning route.
The agricultural machine further includes an automatic operation controller configured or programmed to cause the working device to perform work while automatically operating the traveling vehicle body based on the planned traveling route. When the change reception switch receives the change, the automatic operation controller is configured or programmed to cause, when a remaining amount of the material is not zero, the traveling vehicle body to travel up to a position where the material runs out to end the work and then to cause the traveling vehicle body to return to the changed position.
The agricultural machine further includes an automatic operation controller configured or programmed to cause the working device to perform work while automatically operating the traveling vehicle body based on the planned traveling route. When the change reception switch receives the change, the automatic operation controller is configured or programmed to stop the work performed by the working device to end the work and then to cause the traveling vehicle body to return to the changed position.")
Regarding claim 8, where all the limitations of claim 4 are discussed above, Ishikawa further teaches:
8. (original) The working machine according to claim 4, comprising
… set by the position setter, (Paragraph 0006, "An agricultural machine according to a preferred embodiment of the present invention includes a traveling vehicle body capable of traveling, a route creator to create a planned traveling route for the traveling vehicle body in a work area where a working device provided on the traveling vehicle body performs work using a material, an area setter to set, outside the work area, a replenishment area where the material is replenished, a charge amount acquirer to acquire a charge amount of the material loaded on the working device, a remaining amount calculator to calculate a remaining amount of the material based on the charge amount acquired by the charge amount acquirer and a material consumption of the material consumed by the work, a position setter to set a replenishment position where the material is replenished in the replenishment area set by the area setter based on the remaining amount calculated by the remaining amount calculator, a change reception switch to receive a change of the replenishment position, a position changer to change the replenishment position when the change reception switch receives the change, and a display to display a changed position that is the changed replenishment position.") …
Ishikawa does not specifically discuss the refueling process including the replacement of the energy source with a full energy source. However, Pichlmaier, in the same field of endeavor of robotics and autonomous work, teaches:
… a storage mounting portion on which the storage is mounted; (Paragraph 0013, "Where the agricultural operation is planting, the delivered resource from the AAM may comprises seed. Where it is spraying, the resource may be water, fertilizer, or pesticide or any other liquid, gaseous or solid matter. Alternately or additionally, where the or each autonomous agricultural vehicle is electrically powered, the resource may be energy in form of fuel or an electric charge. By enabling the AAM's to replenish necessary resources in the field, they need not carry for example a full days supply and thus can be made smaller and lighter, reducing the effects of soil compaction." Please also see Figures 5A-7 which demonstrate the refilling process of both material and energy.) wherein
in a case where the replenishment with the energy source is performed at the second replenishment position … the storage mounted on the storage mounting portion is separated, and a new storage to replace the separated storage is mounted on the storage mounting portion. (Paragraph 0040, "In an alternative or additional variant, the delivered resource includes energy such as fuel for the robot. As represented by FIG. 6, where the robot is electrically driven the resource from the CLU will be an electrical charge from a battery 42 or generator of the CLU. Although shown differently coupled than in FIG. 5, it will be understood that the mutually configured means 36, 38 may additionally be arranged to provide a current path between CLU and robot when engaged to enable battery charging and replenishment of reservoir 40 to be performed simultaneously. In a further alternative, the CLU 10 may provide means to exchange the complete battery instead of recharging it, to minimize down time for a robot. The CLU may then be enabled to recharge the exchanged and recharged battery for the next robot. The CLU may also be provided with means to generate electrical energy such as by means of solar panels, fuel cells or other such means.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the agricultural system as taught by Ishikawa with the ability to swap energy sources in order to refuel as taught by Pichlmaier. This would ensure efficient refueling thereby increasing the speed at which the system may perform work.
Regarding claim 9, where all the limitations of claim 5 are discussed above, Ishikawa further teaches:
9. (original) The working machine according to claim 5, comprising:
… set by the position setter, (Paragraph 0006, "An agricultural machine according to a preferred embodiment of the present invention includes a traveling vehicle body capable of traveling, a route creator to create a planned traveling route for the traveling vehicle body in a work area where a working device provided on the traveling vehicle body performs work using a material, an area setter to set, outside the work area, a replenishment area where the material is replenished, a charge amount acquirer to acquire a charge amount of the material loaded on the working device, a remaining amount calculator to calculate a remaining amount of the material based on the charge amount acquired by the charge amount acquirer and a material consumption of the material consumed by the work, a position setter to set a replenishment position where the material is replenished in the replenishment area set by the area setter based on the remaining amount calculated by the remaining amount calculator, a change reception switch to receive a change of the replenishment position, a position changer to change the replenishment position when the change reception switch receives the change, and a display to display a changed position that is the changed replenishment position.") …
Ishikawa does not specifically discuss the refueling process including the replacement of the energy source with a full energy source. However, Pichlmaier, in the same field of endeavor of robotics and autonomous work, teaches:
… a storage mounting portion on which the storage is mounted; (Paragraph 0013, "Where the agricultural operation is planting, the delivered resource from the AAM may comprises seed. Where it is spraying, the resource may be water, fertilizer, or pesticide or any other liquid, gaseous or solid matter. Alternately or additionally, where the or each autonomous agricultural vehicle is electrically powered, the resource may be energy in form of fuel or an electric charge. By enabling the AAM's to replenish necessary resources in the field, they need not carry for example a full days supply and thus can be made smaller and lighter, reducing the effects of soil compaction." Please also see Figures 5A-7 which demonstrate the refilling process of both material and energy.) wherein
in a case where the replenishment with the energy source is performed at the second replenishment position … the storage mounted on the storage mounting portion is separated, and a new storage to replace the separated storage is mounted on the storage mounting portion. (Paragraph 0040, "In an alternative or additional variant, the delivered resource includes energy such as fuel for the robot. As represented by FIG. 6, where the robot is electrically driven the resource from the CLU will be an electrical charge from a battery 42 or generator of the CLU. Although shown differently coupled than in FIG. 5, it will be understood that the mutually configured means 36, 38 may additionally be arranged to provide a current path between CLU and robot when engaged to enable battery charging and replenishment of reservoir 40 to be performed simultaneously. In a further alternative, the CLU 10 may provide means to exchange the complete battery instead of recharging it, to minimize down time for a robot. The CLU may then be enabled to recharge the exchanged and recharged battery for the next robot. The CLU may also be provided with means to generate electrical energy such as by means of solar panels, fuel cells or other such means.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the agricultural system as taught by Ishikawa with the ability to swap energy sources in order to refuel as taught by Pichlmaier. This would ensure efficient refueling thereby increasing the speed at which the system may perform work.
Conclusion
The Examiner has cited particular paragraphs or columns and line numbers in the referencesapplied to the claims above for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations arerepresentative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested of the Applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. See MPEP 2141.02 [R-07.2015] VI. A prior art reference must be considered in its entirety, i.e., as a whole, including portions that would lead away from the claimed Invention. W.L. Gore & Associates, Inc. v. Garlock, Inc., 721 F.2d 1540, 220 USPQ 303 (Fed. Cir. 1983), cert, denied, 469 U.S. 851 (1984). See also MPEP §2123.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/H.J.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3657
/JONATHAN L SAMPLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3657