Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hallstig, et al., US 2019/0086518 A1.
As per Claim 31, Hallstig teaches a light detection and ranging (LIDAR) system (¶ 104; “LIDAR system 100” of Figure 6A), the LIDAR system comprising:
one or more processors (¶¶ 102, 106, 118); and
one or more computer-readable storage mediums storing instructions (¶ 129; “stored within the DSPC 268 memory” as in Figure 11) which, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to:
receive an electrical signal generated based on a returned optical signal that is reflected from an object (¶ 121);
determine a first Doppler frequency shift and a second Doppler frequency shift of the returned optical signal over a first duration and a second duration of the electrical signal (¶¶ 111, 115), respectively, wherein the first duration and the second duration partially overlap with each other (¶ 137); and
determine a range to the object based on at least one of the first Doppler frequency shift or the second Doppler frequency shift (¶¶ 121-122).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-30 and 32-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hallstig as applied to Claim 31 above, and further in view of Jeong, et al., US 2018/0024246 A1.
As per Claim 21, Hallstig teaches an autonomous vehicle control system (¶ 93) comprising:
one or more processors (¶¶ 102, 106, 118); and
one or more computer-readable storage mediums storing instructions (¶ 129; “stored within the DSPC 268 memory” as in Figure 11) which, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to:
receive an electrical signal generated based on a returned optical signal that is reflected from an object (¶ 121); and
determine a first Doppler frequency shift and a second Doppler frequency shift of the returned optical signal over a first duration and a second duration of the electrical signal (¶¶ 111, 115), respectively, wherein the first duration and the second duration partially overlap with each other (¶ 137); and
determine a range to the object based on at least one of the first Doppler frequency shift or the second Doppler frequency shift (¶¶ 121-122).
Hallstig does not expressly teach controlling at least one of a steering system or a braking system based on the range. Jeong teaches controlling at least one of a steering system or a braking system based on the range (¶¶ 136-138). At the time of the invention, a person of skill in the art would have thought it obvious to combine the signal measurement mechanism of Hallstig with the vehicle controller of Jeong, in order to expand a field of view over which a vehicle can detect other objects and respond to avoid contact.
As per Claim 22, Hallstig teaches that the one or more processors are further configured to:
transform the electrical signal into a frequency domain to generate a transformed electrical signal (¶¶ 98, 132); and
determine the first Doppler frequency shift of the returned optical signal based on a cross spectrum of the transformed electrical signal (¶¶ 135-138).
As per Claim 23, Hallstig teaches that the one or more processors are further configured to: generate the cross spectrum of the transformed electrical signal by processing the transformed electrical signal and a conjugate of a Fourier transform of a phase code (¶¶ 128, 132).
As per Claim 24, Hallstig teaches that the one or more processors are further configured to: circular shift the phase code (¶¶ 106, 122) to align a direct current (DC) frequency to a Doppler frequency associated with the electrical signal (¶¶ 109-111, 135-136).
As per Claim 25, Hallstig teaches that the one or more processors are further configured to: calculate a cross-correlation (¶ 93; as part of “sophisticated correlation processing techniques”) based on the electrical signal and the Fourier transform of the phase code (¶ 98).
As per Claim 26, Hallstig teaches that the one or more processors are further configured to: re-calculate the cross-correlation (¶ 93; as part of “sophisticated correlation processing techniques”) according to an internal associated with a transmission or reception of an optical signal (¶¶ 98, 102).
As per Claim 27, Hallstig teaches that the one or more processors are further configured to: apply a Doppler compensated signal with at least one of a shifted version of the Fourier transform of the phase code, a scaled version of the Fourier transform of the phase code, or a phased version of the Fourier transform of the phase code (¶ 193).
As per Claim 28, Hallstig teaches that the one or more processors are further configured to:
adjust the electrical signal by removing the first Doppler frequency shift from the electrical signal to generate an adjusted electrical signal (¶ 237; to a “not shifted” beam); and
determine the range to the object based on the adjusted electrical signal (¶ 229).
As per Claim 29, Hallstig teaches that the one or more processors are further configured to: determine, based on the electrical signal, in-phase and quadrature components of the returned optical signal; and determine a separation of the in-phase and quadrature components (¶¶ 105-106).
As per Claim 30, Hallstig teaches that the one or more processors are further configured to: determine a sign of the first Doppler frequency shift based on the separation (¶ 99); and determine movement information indicative of whether the autonomous vehicle is moving closer to or further away from the autonomous vehicle control system based on the sign of the first Doppler frequency shift (¶¶ 114-115; as “sample points” are evaluated).
As per Claim 32, Hallstig teaches an autonomous vehicle (¶¶ 93, 244) comprising:
at least one of a steering system or a braking system (¶ 244; as would be found on “any kind of vehicle, e.g., bus, train, etc.”); and
a vehicle controller comprising one or more processors (¶¶ 102, 106, 118) configured to:
receive an electrical signal generated based on a returned optical signal that is reflected from an object (¶ 121); and
determine a first Doppler frequency shift and a second Doppler frequency shift of the returned optical signal over a first duration and a second duration of the electrical signal (¶¶ 111, 115), respectively, wherein the first duration and the second duration partially overlap with each other (¶ 137); and
determine a range to the object based on at least one of the first Doppler frequency shift or the second Doppler frequency shift (¶¶ 121-122).
Hallstig does not expressly teach controlling the at least one of the steering system or the braking system based on the range. Jeong teaches controlling the at least one of the steering system or the braking system based on the range (¶¶ 136-138). See Claim 21 above for the rationale based on obviousness, motivations and reasons to combine.
As per Claim 33, Hallstig teaches that the one or more processors are further configured to:
transform the electrical signal into a frequency domain to generate a transformed electrical signal (¶¶ 98, 132); and
determine the first Doppler frequency shift of the returned optical signal based on a cross spectrum of the transformed electrical signal (¶¶ 135-138).
As per Claim 34, Hallstig teaches that the one or more processors are further configured to: generate the cross spectrum of the transformed electrical signal by processing the transformed electrical signal and a conjugate of a Fourier transform of a phase code (¶¶ 128, 132).
As per Claim 35, Hallstig teaches that the one or more processors are further configured to: circular shift the phase code (¶¶ 106, 122) to align a direct current (DC) frequency to a Doppler frequency associated with the electrical signal (¶¶ 019-111, 135-136).
As per Claim 36, Hallstig teaches that the one or more processors are further configured to: calculate a cross-correlation (¶ 93; as part of “spophisticated correlation processing techniques”) based on the electrical signal and the Fourier transform of the phase code (¶ 98).
As per Claim 37, Hallstig teaches that the one or more processors are further configured to: re-calculate the cross-correlation (¶ 93; as part of “sophisticated correlation processing techniques”) according to an internal associated with a transmission or reception of an optical signal (¶¶ 98, 102).
As per Claim 38, Hallstig teaches that the one or more processors are further configured to: apply a Doppler compensated signal with at least one of a shifted version of the Fourier transform of the phase code, a scaled version of the Fourier transform of the phase code, or a phased version of the Fourier transform of the phase code (¶ 193).
As per Claim 39, Hallstig teaches that the one or more processors are further configured to:
adjust the electrical signal by removing the first Doppler frequency shift from the electrical signal to generate an adjusted electrical signal (¶ 237; to a “not shifted” beam); and
determine the range to the object based on the adjusted electrical signal (¶ 229).
As per Claim 40, Hallstig teaches that the one or more processors are further configured to: determine, based on the electrical signal, in-phase and quadrature components of the returned optical signal; determine a separation of the in-phase and quadrature components (¶¶ 105-106); and determine a sign of the Doppler frequency shift based on the separation (¶ 99).
Double Patenting
Claims 21-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable: over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,241,978 (“the ‘978 patent”); over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,709,267 (“the ‘267 patent”); and over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 10,838,061 (“the ‘061 patent”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘978 patent, the ‘267 patent and the ‘061 patent each teach an autonomous vehicle with a control system that uses sensors to measure Doppler frequency shifts of a set of returned optical signals in comparison with initially transmitted signals, correlates electrical signals in line with the measured Doppler shifts, determines ranges to detected objects in the environment surrounding the autonomous vehicle, and controls a steering and/or a braking system of the autonomous vehicle based on the determined ranges.
Conclusion
ATUL TRIVEDI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3661
/ATUL TRIVEDI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3661