DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the election received on 11/20/2025.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I (method of manufacturing a CIGS solar cell, claims 1-12) in the reply filed on 11/20/2025 is acknowledged. Claim(s) 13-20 is/are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) or (f), 365(a) or (b), or 386(a) based upon an application filed in REPUBLIC OF KOREA on 06/28/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 12/17/2024 and 11/17/2025 has/have been considered by the examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "stacking a transparent encapsulation layer on the entire surface including the light-transmitting region (T)" in lines 2-3 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There has been no previous recitation of “an entire surface” in the claims. It is unclear which surface(s) of the various layers of the device may constitute “the entire surface” beyond that which is recited in the claim (i.e. the surface of the light-transmitting region (T)). Therefore, claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor, or a joint inventor, regards as the invention. For the purposes of this examination, any prior art reference which includes an encapsulation layer formed on at least a/the light-transmitting region will be interpreted as reading on the identified limitation. The claim will be interpreted to read as "stacking a transparent encapsulation layer on an [[the]] entire surface including the light-transmitting region (T)"
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Transparent back-junction control in Cu(In,Ga)Se2 absorber for high-efficiency, color-neutral, and semitransparent solar module; Jeong et al.; 12/2021; (“Jeong”) in view of KR 20200080768 A; Kim Je Ha; 07/2020; (“Kim”).
Regarding Claim 1. Jeong discloses A method of manufacturing a CIGS solar cell (section 3.1, cell fabrication including forming a CIGS layer, final device is shown in Figure 1) having transparency (title, “. . .semitransparent solar module”, i.e. the cell has transparency), the method characterized by including the steps of:
preparing a carrier substrate (section 3.1, “glass substrate . . . was cleaned . . .”, i.e. the substrate was prepared for processing);
sequentially stacking a rear transparent electrode (section 3.1, “ITO-coated”, i.e. rear electrode may include a transparent ITO layer), a CIGS light-absorbing layer (section 3.1, “CIGS layer was then deposited by a three-stage co-evaporation process”), and a front transparent electrode (section 3.1, “i-ZnO layer (50 nm) and AZO (500 nm) electrode were then sputtered atop”, i.e. AZO or aluminum doped zinc oxide which is a transparent conductive oxide) on the [carrier substrate];
irradiating a long-wavelength laser to an interface between the rear transparent electrode and the CIGS light-absorbing layer in some areas to remove the CIGS light-absorbing layer and the front transparent electrode, thereby forming a light-transmitting region (T) exposing the rear transparent electrode (sections 2 and 3.4, Figures 1 and 2, P4 laser scribing process to produce see through module includes irradiating a laser to the interface between the ITO and the CIGS layer that may have a long wavelength of 532 nm).
Jeong does not disclose the CIGS solar cell having flexibility with the method including a carrier substrate on which a transparent polymer film is stacked, and
the stack of the rear transparent electrode, the CIGS layer, and the front transparent electrode being formed on the transparent polymer film, and
irradiating a short-wavelength laser to an interface between the carrier substrate and the transparent polymer film to separate the carrier substrate and the transparent polymer film from each other.
However, Kim teaches a method for forming a CIGS solar cell (S100-S400, Figure 1, page 5) having flexibility (page 6, “thin film solar cell of the present invention . . . may have flexibility”), comprising
preparing a carrier substrate (page 5, #101, glass substrate) on which a transparent polymer film (page 5, #110, polymer substrate layer which may be the transparent materials polyimide or PMMA according to page 6) is stacked (page 5, S100, #110 is coated on #101),
sequentially stacking a rear electrode (page 5, S200, p-type back electrode #120 is formed on #110), a CIGS light-absorbing layer (#153, Figure 2, light absorbing layer which may be a CIGS material according to page 14), and a front transparent electrode (#159, Figure 2, transparent conductive film) on the transparent polymer film (S300, Figures 1 and 2, pages 5 and 8, forming the array); and
irradiating a short-wavelength laser to an interface between the carrier substrate and the transparent polymer film to separate the carrier substrate and the transparent polymer film from each other (S400, Figures 1 and 3, pages 5 and 9, peeling off step comprising a short wavelength 308nm laser irradiated to the interface between the glass substrate #101 and the polymer layer #110 to separate the two layers).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider forming the polymer layer on the substrate and subsequently irradiating the interface between the substrate and the polymer layer to separate them, as was done in Kim, in the device of Jeong, in order to form a CIGS solar cell with flexible properties due to the removal of the hard glass substrate (see page 6 of Kim).
Regarding Claim 2. Jeong in view of Kim disclose The method of manufacturing a CIGS solar cell having both transparency and flexibility according to claim 1, characterized in that the short-wavelength laser is transmitted through the carrier substrate and absorbed in the transparent polymer film (Kim, S400, Figures 1 and 3, pages 5 and 9, 308nm laser is irradiated to the interface between the glass substrate #101 and the polymer layer #110 from the direction of, or through, the glass substrate #101 and into, or absorbed by, the polymer layer).
Regarding Claim 3. Jeong in view of Kim disclose The method of manufacturing a CIGS solar cell having both transparency and flexibility according to claim 1, characterized in that the long-wavelength laser is transmitted through the carrier substrate, the transparent polymer film, and the rear transparent electrode and absorbed in the CIGS light-absorbing layer (Jeong, Figure 2 description and section 2, the 532nm laser is transmitted through the glass substrate and the ITO layer, necessarily also passing through the polymer layer incorporated from Kim above, and absorbed by the CIGS layer).
Regarding Claim 4. Jeong in view of Kim disclose The method of manufacturing a CIGS solar cell having both transparency and flexibility according to claim 1, characterized in that the transparent polymer film has transparency and flexibility (Kim, page 5, #110, polymer substrate layer which may be the transparent materials having flexibility such as polyimide or PMMA according to page 6).
Regarding Claim 5. Jeong in view of Kim disclose The method of manufacturing a CIGS solar cell having both transparency and flexibility according to claim 1, characterized in that the transparent polymer film is made of polyimide (Kim, page 5, #110, polymer substrate layer which may be the transparent materials having flexibility such as polyimide according to page 6).
Regarding Claim 6. Jeong in view of Kim disclose The method of manufacturing a CIGS solar cell having both transparency and flexibility according to claim 1, characterized in that the carrier substrate is a glass substrate (Jeong, section 3.1, glass substrate, Kim, page 5, glass substrate #101).
Regarding Claim 7. Jeong in view of Kim disclose The method of manufacturing a CIGS solar cell having both transparency and flexibility according to claim 1, characterized in that the wavelength of the long-wavelength laser is 500 nm or more (Jeong, Figure 2 with description, 532nm laser), and
the wavelength of the short-wavelength laser is greater than or equal to a wavelength corresponding to the bandgap of the carrier substrate and equal to or less than 380 nm (Kim, S400, Figures 1 and 3, pages 5 and 9, 308nm laser, transmission through the glass substrate for the separation in claim 1 requires that the 308 nm wavelength be greater than or equal to a wavelength corresponding to the bandgap of the carrier substrate to prevent absorption by the glass).
Regarding Claim 8. Jeong in view of Kim disclose The method of manufacturing a CIGS solar cell having both transparency and flexibility according to claim 1, characterized in that the rear transparent electrode is formed of a single layer of a transparent conductive oxide (TCO) (Jeong, Figures 1 and 2, section 2, rear transparent electrode may be a single layer of the transparent conductive oxide ITO).
Regarding Claim 9. Jeong in view of Kim disclose The method of manufacturing a CIGS solar cell having both transparency and flexibility according to claim 1, characterized in that the rear transparent electrode has a double-layer structure in which transparent conductive oxide (TCO) and conductive metal are sequentially stacked (Jeong, Figures 1 and 2, sections 2 and 3.1, “forming a 10-nm-thick Ag layer on ITO prior to CIGS deposition effectively removes the kink and tunes the back junction to be more ohmic”, i.e. the transparent electrode may be a layer of transparent ITO coated with Ag in a stack to improve contact with the CIGS layer).
Regarding Claim 10. Jeong in view of Kim disclose The method of manufacturing a CIGS solar cell having both transparency and flexibility according to claim 9, characterized in that the transparent conductive oxide (TCO) is any one selected from indium oxide (In2O3) doped with one or more metals selected from tin (Sn), molybdenum (Mo), tungsten (W), and titanium (Ti); tin oxide (SnO2) doped with fluorine (F) or antimony (Sb); zinc oxide (ZnO) doped with one or more elements selected from elements consisting of aluminum (Al), gallium (Ga), indium (In), boron (B), fluorine (F), and hydrogen (H); a mixed oxide of indium oxide and zinc oxide (IZO); or a mixed oxide of zinc oxide and tin oxide (ZTO) (Jeong, Figures 1 and 2, sections 2 and 3.1, rear transparent electrode TCO is ITO, or indium tin oxide, or indium oxide doped with tin (Sn)), and
the conductive metal is any one of molybdenum (Mo), silver (Ag), gold (Au), platinum (Pt), aluminum (Al), and copper (Cu), or an alloy thereof (Jeong, Figures 1 and 2, sections 2 and 3.1, “forming a 10-nm-thick Ag layer on ITO prior to CIGS deposition effectively removes the kink and tunes the back junction to be more ohmic”, i.e. the conductive metal is silver (Ag)).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Transparent back-junction control in Cu(In,Ga)Se2 absorber for high-efficiency, color-neutral, and semitransparent solar module; Jeong et al.; 12/2021; (“Jeong”) in view of KR 20200080768 A; Kim Je Ha; 07/2020; (“Kim”), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Fabrication of flexible and bifacial Cu(In,Ga)Se2 solar cell with superstrate-type structure using a lift-off process; Hamada et al.; 03/2020; (“Hamada”)
Regarding Claim 12. Jeong in view of Kim disclose The method of manufacturing a CIGS solar cell having both transparency and flexibility according to claim 1.
Jeong in view of Kim do not disclose further including a step of stacking a transparent encapsulation layer on an [[the]] entire surface including the light-transmitting region (T) in a state in which the light-transmitting region (T) is formed, before proceeding with the step of separating the carrier substrate and the transparent polymer film from each other.
However, Hamada teaches fabrication of a CIGS solar cell having flexibility (see title) comprising forming a transparent encapsulation layer (ETFE, Figures 1b and 1c, ethylene tetrafluoroethylene which is a durable, highly transparent polymer material according to the introduction section) on an [[the]] entire surface (Figures 1b and 1c, section 2, ETFE is adhered to the entire top surface of the CIGS solar cell), before proceeding with the step of separating the carrier substrate and the transparent polymer film from each other (section 2, “the ETFE film was adhered to the top surface of the substrate-type CIGS solar cell using transparent epoxy glue as shown in Fig. 1(b) . . . The sample was then followed by cleaving ETFE film/epoxy glue/AZO/ZnO/CdS/CIGS layers from the Mo/SLG substrate as shown in Fig. 1(c), which is the lift-off process”, i.e. the ETFE layer is provided over the entire surface of the solar cell prior to separation from the substrate).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider providing the ETFE encapsulation layer from Hamada over the entire upper surface of the solar cell prior to separation from the substrate in Jeong in view of Kim since the ETFE encapsulation layer since “(ETFE) film is the intriguing polymer film because of its durable, highly transparent and lightweight characteristics” to function as a protective coating and “was developed for new applications such as bifacial PV (BIPV) and vehicle integrated PV” (see introduction section of Hamada). Forming the ETFE encapsulation layer of Hamada to cover the surface including the light-transmitting region (T) in a state in which the light-transmitting region (T) is formed in Jeong in view of Kim would be necessary as forming the ETFE layer prior to formation of light transmitting region in Jeong would prevent the lift off of the CIGS layer (see Figure 2E of Jeong) and would render its function as a protective layer moot if it was not formed over the entire structure.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 11 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: None of the cited prior art, either alone or in combination, teaches “the thickness of the transparent polymer film is 3 μm or less”, as recited in claim 11, in combination with all of the other required elements of the claim.
Regarding Claim 11. Jeong in view of Kim disclose The method of manufacturing a CIGS solar cell having both transparency and flexibility according to claim 1.
Jeong in view of Kim do not disclose that the thickness of the transparent polymer film is 3 μm or less. Kim does not disclose any details about the thickness of the transparent polymer film #110. The closest details in the Kim reference can be found on page 7 which teaches a different polymer layer (#130) as having a thickness of 5 to 10 μm. Even if it were obvious to form the other polymer film #110 to a similar thickness, they still would not be overlapping. This is further not considered by the examiner to be obvious as approaching or similar ranges (see MPEP 2144.05.I) as the applicant has provided evidence of criticality. Experimental example 2 of the instant application (pages 22-23 of the specification and Figures 7A and 7B) details that the polyimide layer should be less than 3 μm thick to enhance light transmission through the device for the achieving transparency. Devices with thicknesses greater than 5 μm (6.5 μm given in the example) are shown in Figure 7B to absorb much more visible light. No other identified prior art teaches a polymer film meeting all of the required claim limitations including the thickness of less than 3 μm. Therefore, claim 11 is interpreted to contain allowable subject matter.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 9,941,423 B2; Jeong et al.; 04/2018 – Figures 7A-7E detail a method of making a CIGS solar cell on a flexible polyimide substrate (#10), however, no details are provided relating to the thickness of the substrate.
US 2021/0135029 A1; Yu et al.; 05/2021 – Figures 1-10 detail a method of making a transparent CIGS solar cell on a flexible polyimide substrate (#90), however, no details are provided relating to the thickness of the substrate.
Enhanced Mechanical Stability of CIGS Solar Module with Glass/Polyimide/Indium Tin Oxide for Potentially Flexible Applications; Jeong et al.; 03/2023 – The experimental and Laser Scribing Processes (P1, P2, and P3) for a Flexible CIGS Module sections detail a method of forming a CIGS solar cell on a flexible polyimide substrate wherein the substrate is 6-8 μm thick.
CIGS thin film solar cells on polyimide foils; Nakada et al.; 11/2010 – Introduction and Experimental sections detail formation of a flexible CIGS solar cell on a polyimide substrate wherein commercially available 25 μm thick foils were used as the substrate.
/TYLER J WIEGAND/Examiner, Art Unit 2812