CTNF 18/984,362 CTNF 100961 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. DETAILED ACTION 07-30-03-h AIA CLAIM INTERPRETATION 07-30-03 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(f): (f) Element in Claim for a Combination. – An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. The following is a quotation of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph: An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. 07-30-05 The claims in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked. As explained in MPEP § 2181, subsection I, claim limitations that meet the following three-prong test will be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph: (A) the claim limitation uses the term “means” or “step” or a term used as a substitute for “means” that is a generic placeholder (also called a nonce term or a non-structural term having no specific structural meaning) for performing the claimed function; (B) the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is modified by functional language, typically, but not always linked by the transition word “for” (e.g., “means for”) or another linking word or phrase, such as “configured to” or “so that”; and (C) the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. Use of the word “means” (or “step”) in a claim with functional language creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites sufficient structure, material, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Absence of the word “means” (or “step”) in a claim creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is not to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is not interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites function without reciting sufficient structure, material or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Claim limitations in this application that use the word “means” (or “step”) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. § 112(f) interpretation despite the absence of “means.” This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a compensation data selector”, “a compensator”, “an accumulator”, and “an accumulated resolution converter” in claims 7-12 and 19-21., “an intermediate compensation data generator” in claims 10-12, “a compensation resolution converter” in claims 11-12,”, Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han (Pub No. US 20190213949 A1) in view of Choi (Pub No. US 20210201724 A1) and further in view of Nathan (Pub No. US 20200327845 A1) . As per claim 1, Han teaches the claimed: 1. A display device, comprising: a display panel; and a display panel driver configured to generate a data signal based on input image data, ( Han Abstract: “A image sticking compensating device according to example embodiments includes a degradation calculator configured to calculate a degradation weight based on input image data, and to calculate degradation data of a frame, an accumulator configured to accumulate the degradation data, and to generate age data using the accumulated degradation data , and a compensator configured to determine a grayscale compensation value corresponding to the age data and an input grayscale of the input image data, and to output age compensation data by applying the grayscale compensation value to the input image data .” Han [0003]: “A display device (an organic light emitting display device) accumulates age information (e.g., stress information or degradation degree information) using an image sticking compensation technique and eliminates image sticking by compensating the age (or the stress) of every pixel based on the accumulated data. For example, the stress (or the degradation, age) information may be accumulated based on a current flowing into each pixel at each frame, an emission time of each pixel, a temperature of a display panel, and/or the like.”). and generate a data voltage based on the data signal to provide the data voltage to the display panel, wherein the display panel driver is further configured to: ( Han [0023]: “In example embodiments, the image sticking compensating device may further comprise a gamma corrector configured to convert the scaled input grayscale into a gamma voltage represented in a voltage domain for transferring to a data driver . The compensator may be configured to convert the age compensation data into a grayscale voltage in the voltage domain based on the gamma voltage and the age data.”). Han alone does not explicitly teach the remaining claim limitations. However, Han in combination with Choi teaches the claimed: select compensation data from among first to K-th compensation data having different resolutions from each other, where K is a positive integer of 2 or more, the compensation data corresponding to an input resolution of the input image data; ( Han teaches selecting data indices based on temperature, which is a characteristic of the display panel. Han [0076]: “In some embodiments, as illustrated in FIG. 6, the memory 262 may include a plurality of lookup tables LUT. The lookup tables LUT may be set according to emission colors of pixels and temperatures of the display panel . For example, the emission colors (or pixel colors) may include red, green and blue colors. The lookup tables LUT may be divided into a first table group R applied to red pixels, a second table group G applied to green pixels, and a third table group B applied to blue pixels. In addition, each of the first to third tables R, G, and B may include a plurality of lookup tables LUT corresponding to respective predetermined temperatures. For example, each of the first to third tables R, G, and B may include first through k-th lookup tables LUT corresponding to respective first through k-th temperatures T 1 through Tk, where k is an integer greater than 1. Each of the first thro ugh k-th temperatures T 1 through Tk may include a specific temperature range or value. In some embodiments, the grayscale compensation value GCOMP with respect to a specific temperature may be calculated by an interpolation between the lookup tables.” Choi also concerns retrieving compensation data from memory. Choi [0061]: “The memory address change processor 428 changes an address at which compensation data is sampled from the external memory 700 according to the calculated data resolution.” Choi similarly teaches selecting indices based on the display panel attribute of resolution. Choi [0049]: “When compensation data is downloaded, the timing controller 400 may sample compensation data of a certain pixel for each block unit including N* N (N being an integer equal to or greater than 2) pixels from the external memory 700 , download sampled compensation data to the internal memory 440 and compensate for data of corresponding pixels using the downloaded compensation data in consideration of capacity restriction of the internal memory 440 . Accordingly, a data compensation resolution may be lower than a pixel resolution.” The resolution may be lower than the pixel resolution, suggesting it can be a controlled input. This can be combined with selecting the first through k-th indices as taught by Han. ). compensate for the input image data to generate the data signal by using the compensation data corresponding to the input resolution; ( Han Abstract: “A image sticking compensating device according to example embodiments includes a degradation calculator configured to calculate a degradation weight based on input image data, and to calculate degradation data of a frame, an accumulator configured to accumulate the degradation data, and to generate age data using the accumulated degradation data, and a compensator configured to determine a grayscale compensation value corresponding to the age data and an input grayscale of the input image data, and to output age compensation data by applying the grayscale compensation value to the input image data.” As taught above in Choi [0049], the first through k-th data can be selected based on resolution .). accumulate the input image data to generate intermediate accumulated stress data; ( Han [0003]: “A display device (an organic light emitting display device) accumulates age information (e.g., stress information or degradation degree information) using an image sticking compensation technique and eliminates image sticking by compensating the age (or the stress) of every pixel based on the accumulated data. For example, the stress (or the degradation, age) information may be accumulated based on a current flowing into each pixel at each frame, an emission time of each pixel, a temperature of a display panel, and/or the like.” Han [0021]: “In example embodiments , the grayscale scaler may be configured to provide the scaled input grayscale to the accumulator, and the accumulator may be configured to generate the age data by accumulating the degradation data and the scaled input grayscale.” The scaled data is the intermediate data before it is used to generate age data. ). Han alone does not explicitly teach the remaining claim limitations. However, Han in combination with Nathan teaches the claimed: and change a resolution of the intermediate accumulated stress data to a reference resolution to generate accumulated stress data. ( Han [0016]: “In example embodiments, the compensator may comprise a first calculator configured to calculate a target luminance corresponding to the scaled input grayscale using a predetermined referen ce grayscale-luminance function, a function corrector configured to correct the referen ce grayscale-luminance function to a target function for corresponding to the age data and a current temperature of a display panel, and a second calculator configured to calculate the grayscale compensation value corresponding to the target luminance by calculating an inverse function of the target function.” The reference function can be combined with the resolution setting of the display as taught by Nathan. Nathan [0328]: “Referring again to FIG. 3B, which illustrates the operation of the light emitting display system 100 by applying a compensation algorithm to digital data 104 . In particular, FIG. 3B illustrates the operation of a pixel in an active matrix organic light emitting diode (AMOLED) display. The display system 100 includes an array of pixels. The video source 102 includes luminance input data for the pixels . The luminance data is sent in the form of digital input data 104 to the digital data processor 106 . The digital input data 104 can be eight-bit data represented as integer values existing between 0 and 255, with greater integer values corresponding to higher luminance levels. The digital data processor 106 can optionally manipulate the digital input data 104 by, for example, scaling the resolution of the video source 102 to a native screen resolution , adjusting the color balance, or applying a gamma correction to the video source 102 . The digital data processor 106 can also apply degradation corrections to the digital input data 104 based on degradation data 136 . Following the manipulations, the digital data processor 106 sends the resulting digital data 108 to the data driver integrated circuit (IC) 110 . The data driver IC 110 converts the digital data 108 into the analog voltage or current output 112 . The data driver IC 110 can be implemented, for example, as a module including a digital to analog converter. The analog voltage or current 112 is provided to the pixel circuit 114 . The pixel circuit 114 can include an organic light emitting diode (OLED) and thin film transistors (TFTs). One of the TFTs in the pixel circuit 114 can be a drive TFT that applies a drive current to the OLED. The OLED emits visible light 126 responsive to the drive current flowing to the OLED. The visible light 126 is emitted with a luminance related to the amount of current flowing to the OLED through the drive TFT.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the selection of data indices based on resolution as taught by Choi with the system of Han in order to select compensation data based on a display panel characteristic like resolution. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the luminance data to conform the resolution of an edited data stream to a display resolution as taught by Nathan with the system of Han in order to adjust the compensation data of certain indices based on resolution of the screen, which is the interface for the user to view the data. As per claims 13 and 22, these claims are similar in scope to limitations recited in claim 1, and thus is rejected under the same rationale. The display panel implies a device like the one disclosed in claim 22. As per claim 2, Han alone does not explicitly teach the claimed limitations. However, Han in combination with Nathan teaches the claimed: 2. The display device of claim 1, wherein the reference resolution is equal to a resolution of the display panel. ( Nathan teaches capturing luminance data to apply to the data processing. Nathan teaches data based on luminance information [0009]: “FIG. 1B illustrates an operational flow of a conventional AMOLED display 10 . Referring to FIG. 1B, a video source 12 contains luminance data for each pixel and sends the luminance data in the form of digital data 14 to a digital data processor 16 . The digital data processor 16 may perform some data manipulation functions, such as scaling the resolution or changing the color of the display. The digital data processor 16 sends digital data 18 to a data driver integrated circuit (IC) 20 . The data driver IC 20 converts that digital data 18 into an analog voltage or current 22 , which is sent to thin film transistors (TFTs) 26 in a pixel circuit 24 . The TFTs 26 convert that voltage or current 22 into another current 28 which flows through an organic light-emitting diode (OLED) 30 . The OLED 30 converts the current 28 into visible light 36 . The OLED 30 has an OLED voltage 32 , which is the voltage drop across the OLED. The OLED 30 also has an efficiency 34 , which is a ratio of the amount of light emitted to the current through the OLED.” The luminance data, which corresponds to the luminance data related to the target function of Han in the rejection to claim 1, can be combined with scaling resolution based on screen resolution. Nathan [0328]: “Referring again to FIG. 3B, which illustrates the operation of the light emitting display system 100 by applying a compensation algorithm to digital data 104 . In particular, FIG. 3B illustrates the operation of a pixel in an active matrix organic light emitting diode (AMOLED) display. The display system 100 includes an array of pixels. The video source 102 includes luminance input data for the pixels . The luminance data is sent in the form of digital input data 104 to the digital data processor 106 . The digital input data 104 can be eight-bit data represented as integer values existing between 0 and 255, with greater integer values corresponding to higher luminance levels. The digital data processor 106 can optionally manipulate the digital input data 104 by, for example, scaling the resolution of the video source 102 to a native screen resolution , adjusting the color balance, or applying a gamma correction to the video source 102 . The digital data processor 106 can also apply degradation corrections to the digital input data 104 based on degradation data 136 . Following the manipulations, the digital data processor 106 sends the resulting digital data 108 to the data driver integrated circuit (IC) 110 . The data driver IC 110 converts the digital data 108 into the analog voltage or current output 112 . The data driver IC 110 can be implemented, for example, as a module including a digital to analog converter. The analog voltage or current 112 is provided to the pixel circuit 114 . The pixel circuit 114 can include an organic light emitting diode (OLED) and thin film transistors (TFTs). One of the TFTs in the pixel circuit 114 can be a drive TFT that applies a drive current to the OLED. The OLED emits visible light 126 responsive to the drive current flowing to the OLED. The visible light 126 is emitted with a luminance related to the amount of current flowing to the OLED through the drive TFT.” This is the resolution of the display panel. ). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the luminance data to adjust the resolution of the data based on the screen resolution as taught by Nathan with the system of Han in order to generate data that best fits the display being used. As per claim 14, this claim is similar in scope to limitations recited in claim 2, and thus is rejected under the same rationale. As per claim 3, Han alone does not explicitly teach the claimed limitations. However, Han in combination with Nathan teaches the claimed: 3. The display device of claim 1, wherein a resolution of the data signal is equal to the reference resolution. ( Han [0016]: “In example embodiments, the compensator may comprise a first calculator configured to calculate a target luminance corresponding to the scaled input grayscale using a predetermined reference grayscale-luminance function , a function corrector configured to correct the reference grayscale-luminance function to a target function for corresponding to the age data and a current temperature of a display panel, and a second calculator configured to calculate the grayscale compensation value corresponding to the target luminance by calculating an inverse function of the target function.” The target function is applied to the data . It is combined with the resolution of Nathan . Nathan [0169]: “A further technique for programming, extracting time dependent parameters of a pixel and driving the pixel is described in detail with reference to FIGS. 8A-17A. The technique includes a step-calibration driving technique. In the step-calibration driving technique, information on the aging of a pixel (e.g. threshold shift) is extracted. The extracted information will be used to generate a stable pixel current/luminance . Despite using the one-bit extraction technique, the resolution of the extracted aging is defined by display drivers . Also, the dynamic effects are compensated since the pixel aging is extracted under operating condition, which is similar to the driving cycle.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the extraction of the resolution of the data signal as taught by Nathan with the system of Han in order determine the dimensions and format of the data to edit it based on the needs of the user’s display. As per claim 15, this claim is similar in scope to limitations recited in claim 3, and thus is rejected under the same rationale. As per claim 4, Han alone does not explicitly teach the claimed limitations. However, Han in combination with Nathan teaches the claimed: 4. The display device of claim 3, wherein the resolution of the intermediate accumulated stress data is equal to the input resolution. ( Han teaches applying a reference function to the intermediate data, which is the scaled input grayscale. data. Han [0026]: “In example embodiments, the compensator may comprise a first calculator configured to calculate a target luminance corresponding to the scaled input grayscale using a predetermined reference grayscale-luminance function, a function corrector configured to correct the reference grayscale-luminance function to a target function for corresponding to the age data and a current temperature of a display panel, and a second calculator configured to calculate the grayscale compensation value corresponding to the target luminance by calculating an inverse function of the target function.” The grayscale luminance function is combined with resolution change based on display by Nathan. Nathan [0328]: “Referring again to FIG. 3B, which illustrates the operation of the light emitting display system 100 by applying a compensation algorithm to digital data 104 . In particular, FIG. 3B illustrates the operation of a pixel in an active matrix organic light emitting diode (AMOLED) display. The display system 100 includes an array of pixels. The video source 102 includes luminance input data for the pixels. The luminance data is sent in the form of digital input data 104 to the digital data processor 106 . The digital input data 104 can be eight-bit data represented as integer values existing between 0 and 255, with greater integer values corresponding to higher luminance levels. The digital data processor 106 can optionally manipulate the digital input data 104 by, for example, scaling the resolution of the video source 102 to a native screen resolution , adjusting the color balance, or applying a gamma correction to the video source 102 . The digital data processor 106 can also apply degradation corrections to the digital input data 104 based on degradation data 136 . Following the manipulations, the digital data processor 106 sends the resulting digital data 108 to the data driver integrated circuit (IC) 110 . The data driver IC 110 converts the digital data 108 into the analog voltage or current output 112 . The data driver IC 110 can be implemented, for example, as a module including a digital to analog converter. The analog voltage or current 112 is provided to the pixel circuit 114 . The pixel circuit 114 can include an organic light emitting diode (OLED) and thin film transistors (TFTs). One of the TFTs in the pixel circuit 114 can be a drive TFT that applies a drive current to the OLED. The OLED emits visible light 126 responsive to the drive current flowing to the OLED. The visible light 126 is emitted with a luminance related to the amount of current flowing to the OLED through the drive TFT.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the scaling of the accumulated data to the screen resolution as taught by Nathan with the system of Han in order to allow the data to be clearly accessible in a format that matches the interface of the user. As per claim 16, this claim is similar in scope to limitations recited in claim 4, and thus is rejected under the same rationale. As per claim 5, Han alone does not explicitly teach the claimed limitations. However, Han in combination with Nathan teaches the claimed: 5. The display device of claim 4, wherein a resolution of the accumulated stress data is equal to the reference resolution. ( As taught above in the rejection to claim 1, Han [0016] combined with Nathan [0328] teaches scaling the intermediate data to the resolution of the display. The intermediate data is then used to generate accumulated stress data, which will have that resolution. ). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the scaling of the accumulated data to the screen resolution as taught by Nathan with the system of Han in order to allow the data to be clearly accessible in a format that matches the interface of the user. As per claim 17, this claim is similar in scope to limitations recited in claim 5, and thus is rejected under the same rationale. As per claim 6, Han alone does not explicitly teach the claimed limitations. However, Han in combination with Choi and Nathan teaches the claimed: 6. The display device of claim 5, wherein, when the input resolution is changed, the resolution of the data signal and the resolution of the accumulated stress data are constant at the reference resolution, and the resolution of the intermediate accumulated stress data is changed depending on the input resolution. ( The reference resolution is the resolution of the screen to which the input and output data is scaled, as taught by Nathan [0328] in the rejection to claim 1. This is constant as the display panel’s resolution is constant. On the other hand, the input resolution is used to select the data to be used for the calculation, taught by Han [0076] combined with Choi [0049] in the rejection to claim 1. The resolution changes because the data is selected according to the input resolution. ). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the adjustment of resolution to a screen resolution according to resolution data as taught by Nathan with the system of Han in order to change the resolution of the output data to match the resolution of the screen through which the viewer is viewing the data. As per claim 18, this claim is similar in scope to limitations recited in claim 6, and thus is rejected under the same rationale. As per claim 7, Han alone does not explicitly teach the claimed limitations. However, Han in combination with Choi and Nathan teaches the claimed: 7. The display device of claim 1, wherein the display panel driver comprises: a nonvolatile memory configured to store the accumulated stress data and the first to K-th compensation data; ( Han [0051]: “In some embodiments, the accumulated data (e.g., the accumulated degradation data) may be stored in an external flash memory 10 .” Flash memory is non-volatile. Han teaches that the compensation data is indexed in lookup tables, and to select the first through k-th indices. Han [0053]: “ In some embodiments, the compensator may include a memory storing a plurality of lookup tables each having compensation values respectively corresponding to a plurality of predetermined age values and display grayscales implemented by the display panel 100 , a compensation value determiner configured to determine the grayscale compensation value corresponding to the age data and the scaled input grayscale from the lookup tables, and a compensation data output configured to output the age compensation data ACDATA by applying the grayscale compensation value to the scaled input grayscale data. Each of the age values may match a corresponding one of the age data. In this case, since the grayscale compensation value is determined based on the lookup tables, operation burden may be reduced, and compensation value decision logic may be simplified .” Han [0076]: “In some embodiments, as illustrated in FIG. 6, the memory 262 may include a plurality of lookup tables LUT. The lookup tables LUT may be set according to emission colors of pixels and temperatures of the display panel. For example, the emission colors (or pixel colors) may include red, green and blue colors. The lookup tables LUT may be divided into a first table group R applied to red pixels, a second table group G applied to green pixels, and a third table group B applied to blue pixels. In addition, each of the first to third tables R, G, and B may include a plurality of lookup tables LUT corresponding to respective predetermined temperatures. For example, each of the first to third tables R, G, and B may include first through k-th lookup tables LUT corresponding to respective first through k-th temperatures T 1 through Tk, where k is an integer greater than 1. Each of the first through k-th temperatures T 1 through Tk may include a specific temperature range or value. In some embodiments, the grayscale compensation value GCOMP with respect to a specific temperature may be calculated by an interpolation between the lookup tables.”). a compensation data selector configured to select the compensation data corresponding to the input resolution from among the first to K-th compensation data; ( Han [0071]: “The compensation value determiner 264 may determine the grayscale compensation value GCOMP corresponding to the age data A_DATA and the scaled input grayscale IGRAY2 through the lookup tables. In some embodiments, the compensation value determiner selects one of the lookup tables based on a current temperature of the display panel and a pixel color . The compensation value determiner 264 may determine the grayscale compensation value GCOMP corresponding to the age data A_DATA and the scaled input grayscale IGRAY2 through the selected lookup table. Th us, emission color, a degree of degradation (age), and a temperature of the pixel, and a grayscale level to be output from the pixel maybe reflect to the grayscale compensation value GCOMP.” The lookup table includes the indexes. It would be obvious to combine this with looking up based on resolution taught by Choi in the rejection to claim 1. ). a compensator configured to compensate for the input image data to generate the data signal by using the compensation data corresponding to the input resolution; ( Han claim 1 . “A display device, comprising: a display panel including a plurality of pixels; a display panel driving circuit configured to drive the display panel to display an image based on age compensation data which is a compensated version of input image data; and an image sticking compensating circuit configured to generate age data by accumulating degradation data of each frame, to generate a scaled input grayscale of the input image data by scaling an input grayscale of the input image data using a scaling ratio that is determined by the age data, and to generate the age compensation data by applying a grayscale compensation value that is determined by the age data and the scaled input grayscale of the input image data to the scaled input grayscale of the input image data.” The compensation data is selected based on resolution as taught by Han combined with Choi in the rejection to claim 1 .). an accumulator configured to accumulate the input image data to generate the intermediate accumulated stress data; ( Han [0021]: “In example embodiments, the grayscale scaler may be configured to provide the scaled input grayscale to the accumulator, and the accumulator may be configured to generate the age data by accumulating the degradation data and the scaled input grayscale.” The scaled input data is the intermediate data. Han concerns degradation data which corresponds to stress data. Han [0022]: “In example embodiments, the compensator may be configured to provide the age compensation data to the accumulator, and the accumulator may be configured to generate the age data by accumulating the degradation data and a grayscale of the age compensation data. ” ). and an accumulated resolution converter configured to change the resolution of the intermediate accumulated stress data to the reference resolution to generate the accumulated stress data. ( Nathan [0328]: “Referring again to FIG. 3B, which illustrates the operation of the light emitting display system 100 by applying a compensation algorithm to digital data 104 . In particular, FIG. 3B illustrates the operation of a pixel in an active matrix organic light emitting diode (AMOLED) display. The display system 100 includes an array of pixels. The video source 102 includes luminance input data for the pixels. The luminance data is sent in the form of digital input data 104 to the digital data processor 106 . The digital input data 104 can be eight-bit data represented as integer values existing between 0 and 255, with greater integer values corresponding to higher luminance levels. The digital data processor 106 can optionally manipulate the digital input data 104 by, for example, scaling the resolution of the video source 102 to a native screen resolution, adjusting the color balance, or applying a gamma correction to the video source 102 . The digital data processor 106 can also apply degradation corrections to the digital input data 104 based on degradation data 136 . Following the manipulations, the digital data processor 106 sends the resulting digital data 108 to the data driver integrated circuit (IC) 110 . The data driver IC 110 converts the digital data 108 into the analog voltage or current output 112 . The data driver IC 110 can be implemented, for example, as a module including a digital to analog converter. The analog voltage or current 112 is provided to the pixel circuit 114 . The pixel circuit 114 can include an organic light emitting diode (OLED) and thin film transistors (TFTs). One of the TFTs in the pixel circuit 114 can be a drive TFT that applies a drive current to the OLED. The OLED emits visible light 126 responsive to the drive current flowing to the OLED. The visible light 126 is emitted with a luminance related to the amount of current flowing to the OLED through the drive TFT.” The native screen resolution is the reference resolution that is applied to the data. ). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the selection of data indices based on resolution as taught by Choi with the system of Han in order to select compensation data based on a display panel characteristic like resolution. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the luminance data to conform the resolution of an edited data stream to a display resolution as taught by Nathan with the system of Han in order to adjust the compensation data of certain indices based on resolution of the screen, which is the interface for the user to view the data. As per claim 8, Han alone does not explicitly teach the claimed limitations. However, Han in combination with Choi teaches the claimed: 8. The display device of claim 7, wherein the display panel driver further comprises a compensation volatile memory configured to store the compensation data corresponding to the input resolution selected by the compensation data selector. ( Han [0070]: “The memory 262 may store a plurality of lookup tables each having compensation values respectively corresponding to a plurality of predetermined age values and display grayscales implemented by a display panel. Each of the age values may match a corresponding one of the age data. Each of the lookup tables may have compensation values each corresponding to a predetermined age value with a predetermined grayscale level. In some embodiments, the lookup tables may be classified according to pixel colors and predetermined temperatures of a display panel . The memory 262 may include a static random access memory (SRAM) or a dynamic random access memory (DRAM) to store the lookup tables.” Both types of RAM are volatile memory. It will hold the data selected based on the input resolution as taught by Choi above in the rejection to claim 1. ). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the input resolution to select compensation data as taught by Choi with the system of Han in order to select data with a level of detail based suited for the user’s desired processing. As per claim 9, Han alone does not explicitly teach the claimed limitations. However, Han in combination with Nathan teaches the claimed: 9. The display device of claim 8, wherein the display panel driver further comprises: a first accumulated volatile memory configured to store the accumulated stress data generated by the accumulated resolution converter; ( Han [0070]: “The memory 262 may store a plurality of lookup tables each having compensation values respectively corresponding to a plurality of predetermined age values and display grayscales implemented by a display panel. Each of the age values may match a corresponding one of the age data. Each of the lookup tables may have compensation values each corresponding to a predetermined age value with a predetermined grayscale level. In some embodiments, the lookup tables may be classified according to pixel colors and predetermined temperatures of a display panel. The memory 262 may include a static random access memory (SRAM) or a dynamic random access memory (DRAM) to store the lookup tables.” This can be used to store the converted information. Nathan [0328] teaches converting the resolution of the data to the screen resolution as taught above in the rejection to claim 1. Han [0016] then teaches outputting modified accumulated stress data. It would have been obvious to also store this output in RAM.). and a second accumulated volatile memory configured to store the accumulated stress data provided from the nonvolatile memory. ( Han [0051]: “In some embodiments, the accumulated data (e.g., the accumulated degradation data) may be stored in an external flash memory 10 .” The external memory stores the data, but is still accessed by the memory for the general data processing using volatile memory as described above. It would be obvious to have a separate volatile stress data memory connected to the nonvolatile memory to keep the locally kept volatile memory separate serve as a buffer between the external nonvolatile memory and the main volatile memory of the system. ). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the luminance data to conform the resolution of an edited data stream to a display resolution as taught by Nathan with the system of Han in order to adjust the compensation data of certain indices based on resolution of the screen, which is the interface for the user to view the data. As per claim 10, Han teaches the claimed: 10. The display device of claim 7, wherein the display panel driver further comprises an intermediate compensation data generator configured to generate intermediate compensation data corresponding to the accumulated stress data based on the accumulated stress data stored in the nonvolatile memory. ( Han [0051]: “In some embodiments, the accumulated data (e.g., the accumulated degradation data) may be stored in an external flash memory 10 .” The flash memory is nonvolatile memory. This can be accessed to affect the intermediate data . Han [0021]: “In example embodiments , the grayscale scaler may be configured to provide the scaled input grayscale to the accumulator, and the accumulator may be configured to generate the age data by accumulating the degradation data and the scaled input grayscale.” The accumulated data that is the intermediate data before it is scaled. The scaled accumulated data is the intermediate data .). As per claim 19, this claim is similar in scope to limitations recited in claim 10, and thus is rejected under the same rationale. As per claim 11, Han alone does not explicitly teach the claimed limitations. However, Han in combination with Choi and Nathan teaches the claimed: 11. The display device of claim 10, wherein the display panel driver further comprises a compensation resolution converter configured to change the resolution of the intermediate compensation data to the input resolution. ( The input resolution is used to select the compensation data as taught by Han combined with Choi in the rejection to claim 1. Likewise Han combined with Nathan teaches scaling the intermediate data to the resolution of the display panel. It would be obvious to use the display panel resolution of nation is the input resolution taught by Choi. ). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the reference resolution based the display resolution as taught by Nathan with the system of Han in order to adjust the data to be visible to the user. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the input resolution to select compensation data as taught by Choi with the system of Han and Nathan to select the compensation data based on the resolution of the display screen. As per claim 20, this claim is similar in scope to limitations recited in claim 11, and thus is rejected under the same rationale. As per claim 12, Han alone does not explicitly teach the claimed limitations. However, Han in combination with Choi and Nathan teaches the claimed: 12. The display device of claim 11, wherein the compensation data corresponding to the input resolution from among the first to K-th compensation data is updated based on the change of the resolution of the intermediate compensation data. ( The input data adjusted to selected based on resolution is taught above by Han combined with Choi in the rejection to claim 1. Then, after the intermediate data is generated and processed, the data is changed to the resolution of the display panel as taught by Han combined with Nathan is the rejection to claim 1. ). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the selection of data indices based on resolution as taught by Choi with the system of Han in order to select compensation data based on a display panel characteristic like resolution. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the luminance data to conform the resolution of an edited data stream to a display resolution as taught by Nathan with the system of Han in order to adjust the compensation data of certain indices based on resolution of the screen, which is the interface for the user to view the data. As per claim 21, this claim is similar in scope to limitations recited in claim 12, and thus is rejected under the same rationale. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to THOMAS JOHN FOSTER whose telephone number is (571)272-5053. The examiner can normally be reached Mon, Fri 8:30-6. Tues-Thurs 7:30-5. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Daniel Hajnik can be reached at 571-272-7642. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /THOMAS JOHN FOSTER/Examiner, Art Unit 2616 /HAI TAO SUN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2616 Application/Control Number: 18/984,362 Page 2 Art Unit: 2616 Application/Control Number: 18/984,362 Page 3 Art Unit: 2616 Application/Control Number: 18/984,362 Page 4 Art Unit: 2616 Application/Control Number: 18/984,362 Page 5 Art Unit: 2616 Application/Control Number: 18/984,362 Page 6 Art Unit: 2616 Application/Control Number: 18/984,362 Page 7 Art Unit: 2616 Application/Control Number: 18/984,362 Page 8 Art Unit: 2616 Application/Control Number: 18/984,362 Page 9 Art Unit: 2616 Application/Control Number: 18/984,362 Page 10 Art Unit: 2616 Application/Control Number: 18/984,362 Page 11 Art Unit: 2616 Application/Control Number: 18/984,362 Page 12 Art Unit: 2616 Application/Control Number: 18/984,362 Page 13 Art Unit: 2616 Application/Control Number: 18/984,362 Page 14 Art Unit: 2616 Application/Control Number: 18/984,362 Page 15 Art Unit: 2616 Application/Control Number: 18/984,362 Page 16 Art Unit: 2616 Application/Control Number: 18/984,362 Page 17 Art Unit: 2616 Application/Control Number: 18/984,362 Page 18 Art Unit: 2616 Application/Control Number: 18/984,362 Page 19 Art Unit: 2616 Application/Control Number: 18/984,362 Page 20 Art Unit: 2616 Application/Control Number: 18/984,362 Page 21 Art Unit: 2616 Application/Control Number: 18/984,362 Page 22 Art Unit: 2616 Application/Control Number: 18/984,362 Page 23 Art Unit: 2616 Application/Control Number: 18/984,362 Page 24 Art Unit: 2616 Application/Control Number: 18/984,362 Page 25 Art Unit: 2616 Application/Control Number: 18/984,362 Page 26 Art Unit: 2616 Application/Control Number: 18/984,362 Page 27 Art Unit: 2616